Model # FG2215H2MICBL

Internet #100644802

Store SKU #383321

Rubbermaid 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
0071691413622

Rubbermaid

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote

  • Storage Capacity of 18-gal
  • Snap-on Lid
  • Built in Handles
$8.97 /each

Choose Your Options

Pack Size
1

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rubbermaid designed this 16.5 in. H x 23.9 in. W x 15.9 in. D Roughneck 18 Gal. Storage Tote to keep items out of the way and free up valuable floor space. This container can withstand areas with harsh temperatures of hot and cold, such as attics and basements. Roughneck containers are made with a durable material that's built to last.

  • Storage capacity of 18 Gal.
  • Sturdy polyethylene plastic construction
  • Room for all your linens, tools, sports equipment and more
  • Snap-on lid for secure storage
  • Built-in handles for safe transportation
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

What type of plastic is the bin constructed from? Is it archival quality?

Asked by: Anonymous
Don't know the chemical composition of the container. The plastic is somewhat soft but very tough. Have used them for about 20 years to store and transport just about anything, clothing, tools, stuffed animals, business documents. Never had any problems.
Answered by: Ronh
Date published: 2016-01-07

Will this take on water if it floods?

Asked by: Teri
Thanks for your interest in our products! The 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is made of polyethylene material for durability and strength. We cannot guarantee protection against acts of nature such as a flood.
Answered by: Rubbermaid
Date published: 2016-10-17

Will these hold water?

I need something this size for my swamp cooler to drain into.
Asked by: bry22
Yes they will hold water. I use mine for a pondless waterfall that i have had for 3 years. No problem. I drain it in the winter. Mine is in the ground with earth holding the sides. If you were going to use this freestanding I would double it.
Answered by: AVMAN
Date published: 2016-06-25

Is there a discount for purchasing 20 Rubbermaid 18gallon totes? model FG2215H2MICBL

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes check on line shopping for discounts on multiple item purchase.
Answered by: tomatogirl99
Date published: 2016-05-26
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_, sid_100644802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 348.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multipurpose Wonders I love all the roughneck totes. I have just about every size and I use them all over my house inside and out. The 3 gallon totes are perfect for crafts and kids toys. The larger sizes are great for storage of clothes and all my christmas stuff. They stand up to being dragged across my attic floor and stack neatly. I use them in my basement too which was helpful when it flooded. Anything that was in a roughneck was unharmed. I use the really big ones for soil out in my garden. It's been outside for several years and still hanging in there. I'm sad that some of my favorite stores are no longer carrying the roughneck totes.
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, I have a wall full of them but... I have dozens of the 18 gal bins lining a wall in my gerage. The only thing stopting me from finishing my orgzination masterpeice is finding a way to get a label to stick to the freakin bin for more then a few hours.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10-gallon totes We are a motorcoach company and we use these totes for all our Bingo supplies. They work wonders and they last a very long time. We have about 6-7 of them that have been here and used for 17 years now. We love them.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Storage Containers I have about 60 of these. They are great for moving, organizing, and an even storing stuff on your outdoor deck. I even use them to tote wood in the winter for the fireplace. They have lasted for over 20 years.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What can you say.... These totes are great for so many purposes and I wanted a black one but dark blue is good and it should last for ever! You can find this size in big box hardware type stores but not always in this dark a color.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as durable as most Roughneck 18gal containers. These containers are not as durable as other colored Roughneck containers. As another reviewer said, they are far too rubbery. Being a long time Roughneck user, I found the lack of quality on these somewhat disconcerting. Compare the thickness of the plastic on these to other Rubbermaid roughneck 18 gal storage totes in stock and you'll see a discernible difference in thickness of plastic and in rigidity. Good as a cheap low cost alternative to store lightweight items, but if you plan on stacking over 3 high, I would recommend the other colored Roughneck containers.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK overall Disappointed that the handles don't seem to lock as tightly as I'd hoped, but overall the quality of the storage boxes is OK. Pretty much what I expected except that the covers don't fit as snugly.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size and sturdy! Was able to find exactly the size I needed directly from Rubbermaid... Using them to organize my husband's workshop supplies so needed something sturdy.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck Tote This product is very good quality and very durable. I had the containers for 20 years they change the caller a little but still serving it's purpose .
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful Containers, But..... I use these for many things, they are the perfect size for me. But, they do not hold up to sunlight! I wish they were made in BLACK. I have some other brands that are black, and they last forever outside, but these are only good for a few months in the sun, then they start cracking. I have bought at least 20 of these in the past three years. They are a perfect fit to cover a Honda 2000 generator, by the way!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough bins! We love our bins. We bought over 30 of them for our basement storage shelves we built. The bins are awesome and very durable!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my storage needs Love the fact that they are so tall - perfect size for storage in the back of my Rav 4.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed Bought this to store my robotic pool cleaner outdoors. It is perfect. Highly recommend
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 18 Gal Roughneck Tote Great product and great service with Home Depot in Benton Harbor, thank you!
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and cheap It works very well for storage of clothes. We would buy it again.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great container I bought this for liquid, and it doesn't hold 14 gallons.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not the quality of my older ones. Great for storage. Great for storage. Great for storage.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Plastic Rubbermaid Plastic Totes are worth the extra money
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Useful Storage Box Over the years we have probably bought 100 of these boxes for both our nonprofit wildlife organizations and personally. The pros are that they are affordable and very space efficient. The cons are that when stuffed full they do bulge out a bit making it a challenge to close the box. But if stuffed properly they fit good and tight. We live in a very buggy area so for for long-term attic storage, we duct tape the holes in the handles and duct tape the top down. Rodents can chew into them if they are determined enough so we no longer leave dog food in them. Cons: We have not had good success with long term stacking of them as the tops are flexible and the weight of the box on top will eventually crack them. The tops do get brittle over time. And not surprisingly, the color will fade in the sun (I use some of my older boxes outside for composting and fish raising bins.) Also we sent back the gray ones as they had a tacky residue and smell to them that we weren't comfortable with and we did get our money back. We have not had that with the other colors that we have bought (light blue, dark blue, light green, dark green). As they don't stack well, we have built shelving systems that fit one box high. I do wish that they came with a label that you could write on as taped label don't stick too well on them and I don't like to write directly on them as we might reuse them for something else but we have resorted to Magic Marker to label them and just cross it out when we change contents. Overall, they are our box of choice for pricing and space efficiency.
Date published: 2008-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just can't kill them..... I own at least 60 of the RoughNeck 18 gallon totes. I have stacked them, dropped them, dragged them, thrown them, exposed them to 100F+ weather & -22F weather, put them through 3 floods, 2 blizzards and 1 angry skunk. I've even used one to wash a dog....the same one who found the angry skunk. And yet everything stays clean, dry and safe inside oblivious to the torment I put the totes through. Haven't managed to destroy a tote yet. Pretty impressive!
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great storage box! I'm just putting away my Christmas decorations in my Rubbermaid storage boxes. Have been using the same storage boxes for many years and have found it to really keep my labor time to a minimum, plus the added advantage of storing my decorations in a clean, waterproof, rodent proof (yes, sometimes we've had the creatures break-in to our crawlspace!), and good-sized Rubbermaid unit has been a great help! I highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2011-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME product! Finally, a place to sing the praises of the Rubbermaid Roughneck Storage Box! I've been using these for over 20 years, both for personal storage and in my used book business. I've got well over 500 of them now, and I have seen exactly one of them ever fail (more on that below). They are not only the best tote for the money, they are the best tote in existance, bar none, and possibly the best product of any kind I've ever bought. Strong praise, I know; I don't generally rave like this, but they deserve it! Here's why: They're strong and durable. They last and last. They're flexible, so if they get bent out of shape you just pop them back into shape. If they've been bent for awhile they'll hold that shape a little for a few days or weeks, but soon you can't see the difference. Most of my old ones you can't tell from my new ones; they get a bit scuffed but basically they stay the same. I've used mine in a traveling setup for 20 years, loading and unloading, packing and unpacking them many times a year, and they are still going strong. They perform as well in very cold weather as they do in very hot weather; I use them in northern Canada in winter, and outdoors in hot Mid-Atlantic U.S.A. summers. They're stackable. I use the ten gallon size for books and magazines, and as long as the boxes are full they stack six or more high and are very stable. To be safe I'd not stack more than four or so without a wall or other stacks to keep them upright, but you could; if they are full and not overfilled they stack quite high and the stack stays stable. The totes are well-designed not to crush even when several are stacked on top of each other when they're holding lightweight to medium-weight things, such as clothes or yard sale items, but if you're storing books you have to be sure the bottom boxes of your stack are full; otherwise you will get the Leaning Tower of Storage! I have shelves that fit two stacked totes, and that works well also. Plus, the empty totes stack well, which helps to conserve space. They are water-resistant. Moisture is the enemy of books, and I never have to worry when my books are in these totes. I once accidentally left two stacked totes full of magazines in the yard for 2 months, through several bad storms, and the magazines were still in perfect condition. The totes are waterproof, but of course the lid does not make a waterproof seal, so as long as you don't actually submerge the whole tote in water, the water's not going to get in. Rain is no problem, no matter how hard it rains or in what direction. They look nice. My show booth is hunter green, and the hunter green totes look classy. In the storage sheds, the stacks of totes arranged neatly on shelves are so much more attractive than odd boxes or other tacky-looking totes. Even in the house, they look nice enough that you don't have to hide them in closets and under beds (as long as your stack is all the same color). They keep my stuff free of dirt, bugs, and critters. Mice and such can't get in unless they chew through the box, which they are capable of doing, but I've never had that happen, though I haven't stored food in them long-term. We have had mice, and they have gotten into drawers and shelves and made nests and pooped on things and ruined things; we switched to storing things in those shelves and drawers in totes; no more problem. Dust and dirt, like rain, don't get in. Little bugs could get in, but they don't seem to; I've never had a problem with them. I throw a few silverfish baits in the book totes, and a few mothballs in the sweater totes, just in case. They are comfortable to move and carry, too. The handles fit my hands well, and the sizes are not unweildy. The lids are not prone to popping off. They are the perfect fit for my needs. For books and magazines, I use the 10-gallon size. The larger totes are too heavy when filled with books and magazines, and their narrower bases aren't ideal. Two stacks of magazines or large books, or four stacks of ordinary size books fit perfectly in one 10-gallon tote. Plus, you can mail them; on book-buying trips, I can mail books home in the totes to save space in the van. I also use the totes, mostly still the 10-gallon, which are the most convenient size for me, but also the 14-gallon, for other purposes. Besides the ordinary household uses (clothes, linens, holiday decorations), I use them for dogsledding and horse-camping trips, and in the tack room. One tote each for dog harnesses, sled bags, dog booties, baggies of pre-measured dog or horse food, horse blankets, saddle pads, etc., etc. We do pack people food in the totes for camping trips and have never had a problem. We pretty much just use them for everything! Drawbacks and problems: These are very minor, few and far between. Labels don't stick well on them, and will fall off eventually. You can write on the totes themselves, but I don't like to, as I re-use them. I had one tote that just completely disintegrated once, which was very weird; you could just crumble it in your hands. It had been in a storage space for several years. I'd love to know what the deal was on that one, Rubbermaid; I figured it was just one from a bad batch of plastic; all the other totes in the stack were fine, and are still fine. But I'd say that one tote out of well over 500 in constant use for 20 years is a pretty good average! In conclusion (finally!), thank you so, so much, Rubbermaid, for this wonderful product! I recommend these to everyone. I've tried the others, and they simply don't hold a candle to these. Never stop making them; there is no replacement!
Date published: 2011-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Storage Boxes I purchased the 10 gal storage boxes in the past through a local retailer and was very satisfied with the boxes. My last purchase was made recently through this website. These were the 14 gal storage boxes. I was somewhat dissatisfied when I unpacked them from the cardboard box they were shipped in and noticed a very strong burnt plastic smell. I separated the storage boxes and kept them in my garage for two weeks before I used them. The smell was reduced significantly, but is still there. I hope Rubbermaid is able to improve their molding process because these are good storage boxes by design.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Belongings Stayed Dry and Clean We rented a ground floor storage room to store our seasonal decorations and seasonal clothing and we put them in these Roughnecks. They stacked nicely in a small space. Over the course of a couple of years that they were stored there the sewer backed up into the storage room and a pipe in the ceiling burst. Our belongings stayed dry and safe inside. If we hadn't stored them in these our treasured decorations and expensive clothing would have been ruined. We were able to easily disinfect the outsides of the Roughnecks after the floods and many years later we are still using them with satisfaction.
Date published: 2008-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product with one caveat... These things are just great overall. However, one caveat is in order. These storage boxes, especially the lids, do not bear up well in hot climates. Heat seems to make the plastic go brittle over the course of a few years. I'm in Arizona, and have found the conditions in an un-cooled storage unit to take a nasty toll on these things. I wish I could buy the lids separately.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Containers, but need variety of colors I really like the Roughneck containers, just wish you had a few more size and a lot more color choices.
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality is a lot cheaper, material much thinner. I bought 5 of this roughneck on line and when I got them they where of much cheaper material that some I had bought before on stores, they where the exact same match but the plastic was a lot thinner so they would bend a lot easier specially if you stack them.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck These totes are awesome. I like the way the lids seal on the totes. I like the way the totes stack. I am glad the totes are still available at Home Depot but very disappointed they are not available at any other stores.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make great under bed boxes Bought a bunch of these to fit under my platform bed. Hold SOOOOO much more than the usual under bed boxes. Too bad they aren't sold in this size in stores much, but great that you can get them online. Hold up forever!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for storage I have many RoughneckAndamp;#174; Storage Box - 14 gal. They are wonderful for storing items in the garage. The storage box prevents the items from getting wet, dirty, dusty and keeps the bugs out. I live in apartment and there isn't enough room to store everything inside, so thank goodness for Rubbermaid. I recommend them to friends all the time.
Date published: 2008-09-28
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_348
  • loc_, sid_100644802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 217ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT