Model # HG600

Internet #100661423

Ryobi 11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun
0000011111115

Discontinued Ryobi

11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Ryobi Variable Temperature Heat Gun features a 2-speed fan for a variety of applications. With temperature selections from 200°-1050°F, you have the perfect temperature for any material and surface. Easily remove paint, adhesives, caulk, putty and more with the concentrated heat output. This product is also ideal for thawing frozen pipes, drying plaster, loosening rusted bolts, and forming and bending metals.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can you use to unfreeze pcv water pipes

Asked by: julls
Yes, but at low heat and very slowly, you could burn threw it or bend it
Answered by: SpyFtw
Date published: 2015-09-20

no local pick?

Asked by: oakieville
order online
Answered by: SpyFtw
Date published: 2015-09-20

Does this gun work also with PVC pipes?

I am trying to get this as a present for someone who works a lot with PVC pipes and they want to be able to use it to bend them and such. I am just not so familiar with heat guns so I wanted to make sure that it would work. Thank you!
Asked by: Lacie5
Yes and it comes with an attachment to bend pipe
Answered by: SpyFtw
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_, sid_100661423, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 153ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

11 Amp Variable-Temperature Heat Gun is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A bit pricey but worth it My uses for a heat gun go beyond the normal. I use it wax sealing wood products that I make. So far I've found a number of other uses beyond this and have found this tool to be very valuable. Its a bit pricey but the variable temperature control rocks!
Date published: 2009-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't Even Needed The Highest Setting Yet I tried all of the temperature settings, and found that the 500 degree setting was all I needed for the job. I have a house from 1926, and decided to strip all of the paint from the exterior side of the front door. At first I used my sander, but found that this heat gun did a much quicker job. I used this heat gun almost continuously for 4 hours, and it worked great. And now for a fresh coat of paint.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great heatgun! I purchased a cheaper heatgun first (different brand too) and it quit working after a few short hours. I am stripping the paint off of old woodwork. I have put more hours on this one, and feel pretty sure that its gonna last a very long time. You can see and feel the difference in quality. The best thing about it is that you can control the heat. Much better than just a "high" or "low" which was either too hot or not enough. And you stand it up on end for cool down or to clean up your tools. The other gun didn't have that, which caused me to burn a small spot on my hardwood floor (negligence on my part). Hope this helps.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality & versatile Purchased to replace a discount store brand heat gun that failed far to soon. This unit is well made and extremely versatile with variable heat settings and stand alone feature for hands free use. Great value for the $$. Would purchase again.
Date published: 2011-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from just okay A bit disappointed with this one. The fan has some vibration and excess noise at the high setting (more than other models I've tried). Compared the the $15 heat gun I got at HF, this doesn't have higher quality although the Ryobi has adjustable heat which is a plus. Only recommended if you need the adjustable heat.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great...so far. I've used it to remove all the decals from the front of my RV and to refurb 6 of my plastic patio/lawn chairs. Each project required 1+ hrs. of continuous use and so far I've not had one single issue. The unit seems fairly sturdy, heats up quickly and is as comfortable as can be expected. My only complaint is the pic on the box shows a stand but it doesn't actually include one. As with anythings else, only time will tell.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good tool, low on attachments considering high price. The tool has lots of easily adjustable heat. I was disappointed with the lack of attachments --- no carry case, no scraper, etc. It was a high price item. Dollar for dollar, one could do better. Lots of good heat guns out there for a lower price. It will do the job but nothing special about it!
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool, adjustable heat ranges Great little heat gun. I have a doors in my house with about 10 layers of paint on them. I started with chemical strippers, but after wasting a lot of money and aggravation with the strippers, I bought this little gem. You can set the heat to the proper range to peel off paint, without burning the wood underneath. Great buy!
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Justy what I needed The winter weather in PA froze my downspouts this year. I used the Ryobi heat gun to melt the ice and avoid water/ice damage. The ability to control the variable temperature proved to be handy while melting the ice. The sale price made this purchase all the better!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great heat gun I have had this heat gun for a few weeks and like it a lot. It is used to shrink-wrap items and remove stickers. It is replacing a hair dryer
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi Heat Gun The product worked great. It was used to heat plexiglass, in order to form it into a oval shape. Got the job done.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use works great in windy conditions i used it to bend conduit
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Heat Gun I've used a number of different heat guns, the Ryobi was the worst. It died in 4 months, just after the exchange warranty expired, and i had to pay shipping cost to get it fixed.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product! Bought this one on sale. Much better than the dual temperature one I had before. Also a lot safer too! The attachments are useful to have and the fact you can prop it up for hands free use is also totally a great feature. Having the adjustable variable temperature control means I get total control of the unit and it also has a fail safe in there to protect the heat gun itself. I would recommend this to anyone. The only thing I wish it did had was maybe an LED readout gauge for the temperature but the old fashioned analog dial is good too. Sometimes simple is the way to go.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and a good value. I burned out a cheap heat gun, that seemed well built but didn't last for more than just a few small light duty projects. Also it had only minimal features. This Ryobi was on sale and it has some pretty nice features, so I ordered it on line and had it sent for me to pick up at a local Home Depot store, which worked out fine for me. I've only used it for a couple of projects, but it seems to be holding up pretty well. The variable temp control is working great for my applications, being that I don't need crazy high heat, and I like how I can set it down to stand on its own.
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Five minute life Looks great, has three tips and hot air. Lasted about five minutes and it died. Bought a Wagner that was great.
Date published: 2009-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Heat Gun! This is a great buy! The best feature about this is that you can adjust the temperature setting in a continuous fashion verses discrete settings. The quality of this gun is exceptional. It feels very sturdy and well made. I recommend this one.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Have bought cheaper ones but they don't last. This one works well and doesn't stop working after extended use.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful item This is my first time to use this item and repair my car rear bumper. it is very easy to use, and quick to heat up.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Great price. Got this when it was on sale for half off. Definitely a great purchase. Very good quality. This thing works great! I would recommend this over other industrial heat guns that come in a carry case and all that. You can buy a soft case for this one, which is what I did. There is a company on eBay who sells them. I love these newer green Ryobi products. Their Tek4 line is very innovative.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit the bill The heat gun has 2 fan settings and the heat is adjustable.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great, took paint off and bent pvc pipe great works great, took paint off and bent pvc pipe great
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from died after a year I have two of these heat guns and one died the other day. The thermostat failed so the heat gun only get's luke warm. The heat gun maybe has a dozen hours on it. It doesn't get used very often. Generally I like ryobi but this is the first time something has failed. The 2nd one seems to be holding up.
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi Heat Gun Purchased from sale online only. Excellent product, excellent price. Needed one to remove automotive adhesive trim, and it worked as I hoped. Still consider it a very quality product at regular price. Has only been used once so far.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed The variable temperature feature has been very useful in removing everything from paint to window glass. This was an excellent purchase and I have a feeling it will get more use than expected.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well This gun shoots air powerfully. It's adjustable heat settings are convenient, and wow-- does it get hot. It isn't light weight, but isn't horribly heavy either.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for a great price! This is the heat gun I'd been waiting for. The ability to micro-adjust the heat to the desired temperature was an important function. The gun is both quick to heat up and cool down. The other very nice feature is that you can stand it up and use it hands-free. Not qualities you'll find in many other heat guns.
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent happy with this so far! first time I have purchased or even used a heat gun. would not have paid full price. sale price was a good deal.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I have not used it yet. I believe it to be a good product that is why I bought it. HD ask for a review so here it is!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has very good investment! I love this heat gun. It has several different temperature settings, that all work perfectly. This is amazing.
Date published: 2014-04-29
  • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_, sid_100661423, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 163ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT