Model # CSB124

Internet #100634339

Store SKU #720623

Ryobi 12-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
0033287143214

Ryobi

12-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Ryobi 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw features a 12-Amp motor that delivers up to 5000 RPM to help you cut through tough materials. It has a durable 7-1/4 in. 20-tooth blade. The blade is equipped with a spindle blade lock for easy, keyless blade changes.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$39.97 /each
$47.97 /each
$69.00 /each
null /null
Name 13-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw 14-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw with Laser 15 Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw with Laser 12-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
Brand Ryobi Ryobi Ryobi Ryobi
Ratings (160) (133) (58) (143)
Blade Diameter 7.25 7.25 7.25 7.25 in
Reconditioned No No No No
Power Tool Features Depth Adjustment,Spindle Lock Depth Adjustment,Laser Guide,Spindle Lock Depth Adjustment,Laser Guide,Spindle Lock Spindle Lock
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Blade Diameter
7.25 in
Maximum Cut Depth @ 90 Deg.
2.438 in
Product Depth (in.)
9.5 in
Product Height (in.)
9.5 in
Product Width (in.)
12 in

Details

Amperage (amps)
12
Bevel Capacity
51.5
Blade Location
Right
Color Family
Blue
Cord Length (ft.)
10
Corded Tool Type
Circular Saw
Cordless/ Corded
Corded
Depth Adjustment
Yes
Electrical brake
No
Keyless/keyed blade change
Keyless
Maximum Cut Depth @ 45 Deg.
1.875 in
Maximum Speed (rpm)
5000
Power Tool Features
Spindle Lock
Product Weight (lb.)
7 lb
Reconditioned
No
Returnable
90-Day
Spindle Lock
Yes
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
3 Year Warranty.

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

my fairly new ryobi circular saw just quit on me yesterday when I was sawing through a thin piece of shelving. Is there a reset button?

Asked by: Commander
likely defective assuming you are talking about laminated particleboard you did not hit a nail if your within the return policy period return it or exchange if not you might be able to exchange it for an another identical unit or for store credit or you could make use of the warranty
Answered by: electronicsgeek
Date published: 2017-03-27

Use converter

Drawing 1440 watts, will this saw work well using a converter attached to the truck battery for a power source? JT
Asked by: JT
you need a surge current capacity equal to at least double the motor running current sometimes triple then your battery and cables on the low voltage side must be able to supply that current witch is gonna be a lower efficiency so my advice if you have a problem even if you got the start up current on your invertor would be to add a capacitor in parallel with the invertor say something to the tune of 5 farads to give you the starting current you could likely do with less but more is better in this case other wise it causes more ware on your electrical system and do not forget to leave the truck running or you will kill the battery less the 10 minutes invetor stops and then the truck wont start done you might want to think about an alternator upgrade anything less then 200 amps is just risky really 300 amps would not be over kill
Answered by: electronicsgeek
Date published: 2017-03-27

How many watts does this saw draw?

I will be using a generator to power this saw and I need to know how many watts that it draws. Thanks.
Asked by: Bud
i would figure 1440 based on it being 12 amp multiplied 120 if the voltage dropped to 110 it would be 1320 I would figure it for 1500 for the ease of the math and a small safety margin always best to over estimate your draw a bit on this type of thing
Answered by: electronicsgeek
Date published: 2017-03-27

saw starts as soon as i plug it inwithout using start trigger.

I don't have the manual.
Asked by: Rosie
the triger switch is likely shorted could also be the wires that attach to the trigger but 99.99 percent its the trigger switch its a mechanical issue most likely not an electrical one but rather its the actual switch or the plastic trigger that pushes on the switch its an easy fix if you have the skill to take it apart and put it back together I would advise against using it in the current condition as its a bit unsafe but unlikely to to over heat and or catch fire or shock you if used for short cuts using the plug as a power switch in a pinch on a job site you could still use it if you really had to but get it repaired or use another saw is the best option http://www.ereplacementparts.com/switch-assembly-p-977889.html?gclid=Cj0KEQjwzd3GBRDks7SYuNHi3JEBEiQAIm6EI0_GP_orklqbeA4zjHAlri6DwJvIMVlurK7qd8qVrJwaAp8A8P8HAQ this might the part and DO NOT test until completely reassembled and make sure its unplugged before you attempt any service or make sure the battery is removed
Answered by: electronicsgeek
Date published: 2017-03-27
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_100634339, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 28ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

12-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw, Bad Blade As with other reviewers, don't even bother with the blade included! Right out of the box, I used it to test cut a 2x4, and it seemingly worked well, but when I went to do a crosscut along the bottom of a door that I was trimming, it jammed about 6 inches in. Then I remembered all of the reviews and warnings about the saw blade. So when you are purchasing this saw, which I do recommend, buy a new blade while you are at the store!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just expect to spend another $10 on a Blade. It's a cheap saw, but it works provided you know what you are getting into.The saw itself is fine, but the Stock blade it comes with is terrible. Had trouble cutting through a single 2x4. Went Back to Home Depot and got a Diablo Blade for $10. it now cuts through wet 2x4s like they were butter. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for the money I bought this saw to use around the house for various things. I am not a contractor or tradesman, but have worked in construction for years off and on - mostly for extra cash or to help out friends. I found the saw online, and then went to the store to check it out. It seemed heavy enough for my needs and the price was right so I went ahead and bought it, and also picked up a fine tooth blade as well as I expected to be cutting finish work as well. The balde that comes with the saw isnt good for much at all - so needless to say Im glad I bought the other one. So far, the saw has served well. I have used it on 2x3s, 2x4s, various plywoods, and other similar things. It is heavy enough to do what I have asked of it. I dont care for the onboard wrench storage however, as I am worried about losing it as its designed. Blade change is easy however. The guide needs to be reworled a bit, however I do like that depending on which side of the saw you are on, or which side of the guide you line up on, will determine the side of the cut. Overall a decent saw for the money, but not heavy enough for contractor or heavy uses. The vibration is a pain - once you line up your cut and then hit the power, it means you have to line it up again. It has good balance, and its easy to guide and to hold on to. A good saw for those who need one for around the house. (Invest in a couple good blades however - a rough cut and a fine cut and scrap the one that comes with it.)
Date published: 2010-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price Great saw for the price, works great. Good power, as for the blade.... Not so good. The first thing u need to do after purchasing this product is to put a better blade in it. Other than the blade this saw works great and it's at a good price.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The price looked right but looks are ..... I purchased this saw because I needed to stop borrowing my dad's. The price was very attractive at $40. However, had I read the previous reviews of this product I would have spent the extra $10 and bought the B & D; thus saving myself a trip back to home depot wasting gas, time and another $10 anyway. The machine itself works fine however the blade it comes with is absolute garbage. My first project was to trim a 2X2 3/8" plywood board down to 18"X18" not a lot of cutting for a brand new saw. The blade on this saw could not even cut a full foot before jamming. In addition the guide line is about an 1/8th of an inch off so you have to watch for that. Between the blade and the guide line this lost its cost efficiency for me.
Date published: 2010-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw, Okay Blade I really do love this saw! While being affordable, it is a very good bargain for the money. The only problem I have with it is that the blade it comes with is not a high quality one, but this can be easily remedied by buying a higher quality blade. However, it's standard blade is still usable, just not ideal.
Date published: 2011-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the money! For the price, it is an excellent saw! Beware... this is not exactly a precision instrument! You get what you pay for, don't trust the guides on this thing, you have to follow your line with the blade, and the base is a little cheap and flimsy. The Blade lasted 2 jobs and is now completely warped. But for 30 bucks new in box , I can't complain, it does the job without breaking the bank!
Date published: 2011-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Basic Circular Saw I needed a dedicated tool to share and leave at a remodelling project so I would not have to pack up and move tools around. Everything is nice and tight. Blade changing is direct and easy. The tool is a good size and weight. My primary saw is heavier with a larger base plate. Cutting 2 by material felt unbalanced, but cutting sheet goods was great. My hand felt more in position if I used my middle finger, rather than my index finger, for the trigger switch. For $40, a good basic saw.
Date published: 2011-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Throw the blade away I’ve had this saw for about 3 years and have used it to build a screen-room and an 8x8 shed. It has plenty of power and works great for the price. I would give it a better rating but the blade that comes with it is junk unlike my other Ryobi saws, which came with good blades. The first thing I tried to cut with it was a sheet of plywood and the blade jammed and made my cut extremely wavy. With a good blade it ripped plywood just fine and has worked great ever since.
Date published: 2010-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disaster Cheap blade provided with saw had to be replaced after one use.Saw does not cut square when set at 0 degrees.The bracket that does all of the adjustments such as cut depth and angle of cut is poorly made and was bent. I hope I can return this and buy something a little sturdier.I have been happy with other RYOBI products in the past but this one was a DUD.
Date published: 2010-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from flimsy but will do basic jobs If you just need something cheap to make basic cuts, this is your tool. If you're working on something where the precision scale is pretty high... Spend a little more on something nicer. The depth adjustment is flimsy, hard to adjust for accuracy.
Date published: 2011-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw fir tge price I needed a circular saw for a home improvement project and finally decided instead of borrowing one that I would buy one as I could use it later on as well. Since I will not use it for heavy use I bought the lowest price one at HD. I looked in between the Ryobi 12 and 13 amp. They wanted an extra $20 for the extra amp and I could not see spending the money for light use. So far has been a great saw! Have used it from small cuts to cutting an eight foot plywood the entire length and has performed good. About the only recommendation I could give is to buy a replacement blade when you buy the saw. The blade that come with it is a steel blade that is not carbide tipped. It will cut but noticed more resistance then I liked while making cuts.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hands On I like the Ryobi circular saw and my first experience with that saw was demonstrated at a Girls night out at Home Depot with Tom Joyner. I bought one after I watch them used it. I find the product very easy to use. There was small things I just wanted to do for myself and this saw was an easy handle for me being a female and living along. I am a hands on kind of person, so I invested in that sawI.
Date published: 2010-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw......HORRIBLE STOCK BLADE! I purchased this saw for the simple reason of cutting up skids for firewood kindling. I almost returned it when it couldn't even cut through thin skid wood. I read a review stating that the stock blade was junk and to upgrade to a better blade.....couldn't have had better advice. I bought an Irwin Marathon 24T twin pack blade set for $10 and the saw now goes through the skids like butter. MAKE SURE YOU BUY A BLADE WITH THE SAW AND THROW OUT THE STOCK BLADE THAT COMES WITH IT!!!!
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product. my old saw, well, way past its prime, this ryobi 12 amp 7 1/2" saw is smooth, fairly quiet, and very well built, its also not my first roybi product, and it won;t be the last, love it excellent product, great price. sam
Date published: 2011-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice saw - bad blade Saw works nicely but the blade is terrible and needed to be replaced after working through a small project.
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy it! I bought this saw after reading the reviews thinking that it would serve my purposes fine. Unfortunately this saw is woefully inadequate. I agree with the other reviewers that the blade that ships with the saw is junk, so don't even install it. I used a nice dewalt blade. There are two major faults to this saw: 1. It's underpowered. The blade bind very easily. This was mostly a problem when I was using the junk blade that came with it, but even with a nice blade you can tell that it doesn't quite have enough power. Honestly if this were the only fault I would probably think it was a decent value. 2. It's *crazy* inaccurate. If you want even remotely accurate cuts this saw is not for you. The problem is that the guide and the blade have a lot of slack. You can twist the blade back and forth while keeping the guide in one direction. For example: I just tried to make a straight four foot cut. I clamped a guide board along the wood I was cutting and firmly placed the saw guide against the "fence". After cutting the wood I put a straight edge against my cut. The cut was off from straight by 1/2 inch over four feet. The guide fence was perfectly straight. Cutting stair stringers with this saw was a nightmare.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 12 Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw It is very light and convenient to use. And it was a reasonable price.
Date published: 2011-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad for the $ Asked for a circular saw for Christmas, shoulda known Pops would have went the cheap route! But seriously, this thing is a beast for 40 bones. I had the original blade on there for about 1-2 years, cutting some boards here, and some plywood there, but nothing major. Then when I just bought a house and started redoing the back deck(500+sq.ft.) I finally broke down and bought a 2 for 1 pack of cheap Avanti blades from the depot and slapped one on her....she flies threw lumber now....5/4 decking, 2x4&6's...and 4x4's......Listen to every one and chunk that starter blade....and for $40 bucks you will be happy. And for the people saying it's too heavy, well be glad it comes w/ a 12amp motor and enjoy that weight! Mine also came with a metal blade guard which I do like...not the clear plastic one I see now on them, I'm sure that has it's pro's and cons also.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saw - buy a new blade Like others here, I didn't even bother with the blade that came with it. Bought a Diablo 24T, 40T and 60T (one each). So far I only used the 40T to cut some 2x4s - smooth cuts, plenty of power with a good blade. I also cut some relcaimed boards, some of which were 2" thick oak; these were part of an old barn that was at least 60 years old. With the 40T Diablo blade, this saw cut through the old oak with no problems whatsoever. Just let the blade do the work, and you're fine. For someone who doesn't pay my bills with this saw, i.e. homeowner with projects around the house/garage/yard, you can't beat $40 for this saw, and another $15 (avg.) for a good blade. I only bought the 3 blades, so I'd have 'em, and wouldn't have to run out for them when I needed them. It's not super rugged, the blade guard is plastic, so I wouldn't go throwing it in the back of a truck or toolbox with other tools - set it down gently. But I can't complain. Again, buy a good blade.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value saw Cant beat this saw for the price. This saw has the power any DIY user will need. Definitely not contractor grade but what do you expect for 30$. The blade this saw comes with is garbage but spend 10$ and get a nice new carbide blade and your good to go. The saw does vibrate a bit on long rips and can cause some of the locking screws for depth/angle to come loose or even fall out if you not careful.
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi circular saw I have this saw and am about to buy a second one. (first one was stolen - I guess someone else liked it too.) This is a ruggid saw for any guy, but this girl has found it to be very easy to use. It is well balanced and easy to control. I am able to make fast accurate cuts. I've used it for home improvement projects and some decorative wall arts.
Date published: 2009-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good starter saw The saw was very easy to use. This is the first time I used this type of saw. The price is great too
Date published: 2010-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi 12 amp circular saw Good circular saw for the money. My only two complaints: 1) the retractable blade guard is made of plastic instead of aluminum (no big deal considering price point), and 2) the alignment sight at front of saw is definitely inaccurate. Other than that it works like a champ. Used it with a diamond blade to cut stone, and with a wood blade to cut over a hundred 2x4s and dozens of plywood sheets. Still running well.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good qaulity for the price I have owned mine for two years now and used it every day. it still works and noly need to replace due to me droping it from a ladder. great tool.
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Got the job done. Easy to assemble and use. For the price it is the perfect saw to have around for small needs and projects.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value in a capable, lightweight saw My old Skillsaw bit the dust during a project with a lot of heavy, wet two-by treated lumber still to be cut. I needed a replacement the same day. Home Depot didn't have any of the higher-end saws I would have liked to buy, so I went cheap and got the Ryobi, along with the $10 Freud 24 tooth blade that everyone seems to like, hoping they would get me thru the project. I was shocked at how much I liked using this saw. It was quieter than my old Skill, has a nice, positive switch, and had no trouble powering through dense, wet 2x6s. It's lightweight, which makes it easy to use. Will it last? Hard to say. Three year warranty is reassuring. Overall, a great value for the money. It's not a pro's saw, but don't let the low price fool you. Put a good blade on it, and it will easily build decks and frame houses.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets the job done I purchased this to mainly cut 2x4's and plywood which it did just fine. Only problem is when I tried to use it to cut a countertop it started to angle the cut due to a loose shaft. I still use this saw for framing but not for countertops.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Circular Saw Bought this saw for my son to put down my new flooring which I also purchased from home depot. This was a good purchase and for the price it was a great buy.
Date published: 2014-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw, great price. Bought this for simple house hold DIY projects, and it's perfect.
Date published: 2014-10-31
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_141
  • loc_, sid_100634339, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT