Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super Quiet Operation for User Convenience
  • Clean power: Safe for Sensitive Electronics
  • Fuel Efficient: Auto-Idle Fuel-Saving Technology
$49900 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
Was $799.00
$719.10 /each
Save $79.90 (10%)
$999.00 /each
Name 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator Bluetooth 2,300-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator iQ 2,000-Watt Ultra Quiet Gasoline Powered Inverter Portable Generator 2,000-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Portable Inverter Generator with Eco-Throttle and Oil Alert
Brand Ryobi Ryobi Generac Honda
Ratings (520) (10) (119) (107)
Generator Features Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Auto Idle Control,Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown
Engine Make OEM Branded OEM Branded OEM Branded Honda
Continuous Wattage 1800 1800 1600 1600
CA (CARB) Compliant CARB Compliant CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant CARB Compliant
Fuel type Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will it run my microwave in my rv

heard that it wont run a microwave
Asked by: bob1
it runs my microwave and air conditioning but I never tried them together. I only tried one at a time. I am very pleased with this generator. seem like the more I use it the better it performs.
Answered by: c17
Date published: 2017-05-21

How much run time before changing oil?

What about oil changes? How often?
Asked by: Glenn
Thank you for asking, Glenn. We recommend changing the oil on this inverter generator after 1 month or after 20 hours of operation. I hope this helps and we appreciate your interest in Ryobi! -Keri
Answered by: RYOBIOutdoors
Date published: 2017-06-24

IS THERE AN ELECTRIC START OPTION?

Asked by: JESTER
It is pull start only.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

u can invert how much wattage?

Asked by: mrrigsby
The "Inverter " is actually the process that creates the power, its a system of SMPS -switched mode processors that supply a clean sine wave for power by rapidly switching on and off power semi-conductors to convert power with the advantage of being less weight and size and producing less noise as well as heat. . Being an "Inverter" means its a DC to AC power inverter and this one is rated at "2,200 STARTING amps ".
Answered by: edprocoat
Date published: 2017-06-09
  • y_2017, m_6, d_25, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_178
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 519.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, works as advertised. Very good on fuel! Easy to move around and store; it's quit... Easy to start, works as advertised. Very good on fuel! Easy to move around and store; it's quite small. I ran one "leg" of the house electric (some lights, outlets, electric ignition on stove, refrigerator/freezer) from one outlet, and ran the furnace (electronic ignition and fan) and sump pump off the other side during a four-day power outage. Kept us warm and dry. Not as powerful as my former (non-inversion) generator, but adequate for emergencies. It's incredibly portable--a one-hand carry.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as good as the Honda at half the price. I purchased my first Ryobi RYI2200 almost 2 years ago, and it has worked flawlessly. I do a yearly camping event in the woods, and use this to power a bunch of LED lighting, laptop, DJ equipment, monitor speakers and a projector for the show, as well as a fridge and freezer. The rest of the year it runs an air compressor while camping. Recently I decided I wanted to use my air conditioner on my camper and purchased a second Ryobi RYI2200 and parallel cable. Running both allows me to run th eAC in my camper wiht no problems. I've purchased everything from Home Depot and have less into the entire setup than I would have a single Honda.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good. Got it on sale so that made it extra sweet. Could have done a little bit better j... So far so good. Got it on sale so that made it extra sweet. Could have done a little bit better job on oil fill location but not a big deal whatsoever. Hard to beat the price even if it isn't on sale as it is at least 400.00 cheaper than the Honda 2000. great idea with the wheels and extendable handle, a big plus. comes with battery charger cables. Again, great item. I currently own a Honda 3000 Inverter gen and a trailer mounted 4000 watt. both are nice but this one is extremely portable. PS, Use a small amount of SEA FOAM ( the best I have ever used) additive in the fuel and always drain the carb if you are going to store more than two weeks!! takes 1 minute and will avoid main jet clogs, TRUST ME ON THIS. Don't be lazy. The alcohol in our fuel these days is the enemy of all small carbureted engines.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work good for my needs It's excellent for alternate with other generators and rest. Works for my needs at home. Preserving my refrigerator and the fans and lights working including the tv with my antenna and the box.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to get up and running, quiet in auto-idle mode,... Easy to get up and running, quiet in auto-idle mode, worked great for what we purchased it for!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty good while it lasts We bought this in the early spring of 2015. It was temperamental to start at times but once you got it going it ran fine. We race off road motorcycles and this was used to power a space heater when it was cold and a fan when it was hot. At the first race of the year in 2016, it quit at 2AM and it was about 32 outside. It has not started since. I have checked the oil level, changed spark plugs, etc. but no luck. We where planning on going with the Honda 2000 when we saw this at Home Depot. I own some other power tools by Ryobi so I trusted the name and at $400 less than the Honda I thought i had found a good deal. We have a Honda 2000 on the way now.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaking oil :( Well it arrived, I opened the box and picked up the generator and see oil leaking from it so I put it right back in the box and returned it to the store. This is where it got even more disappointing. The home Depot told me it was an online sale only and they could not replace the unit there and could not do an exchange at all. I would have to return it and go home and buy another online and wait for it to be shipped to me. I am just not willing to do it all over again in the event it happened again, once is enough, they should have let me exchange it for the model they sell in the store that is exactly the same but it's been green instead of white.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Previous to purchasing this generator, I'd bought one from Harbor Freight that I took back becaus... Previous to purchasing this generator, I'd bought one from Harbor Freight that I took back because I thought it performed poorly. The Ryobi did a much better job and did it a lot quieter than the HF generator. The inverter let the generator slow to an idle after bringing the batteries in my motorhome back up. We watched TV all evening for a week plus recharged the batteries morning and evening on only 3 gallons of gas. I don't like the oil fill arrangement because the housing partially blocks the oil fill opening. Changing oil is likely to be a problem because of this. Other than that design flaw, I'm completely pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from was worth it's money I have been using both of the generators I have almost everyday for more than a year, they are on use at a construction site. Easy on fuel, very quiet and very reliable. The issue I have had in the past is the throttle control arms snap off. This has happened on both of them, easy part to get from the internet, really difficult to change. The fuel filter is hard to change also, requires a full disassembly of the housing, which is a real bear. I keep extra control arms, plugs, fuel filters and air filters on hand and do everything at one time when needed. Both machines have close to 1500 est. Hours and have never missed a beat, with regular maintenance. Much better than my 40 hour hondas, or yamahas.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little generator I got this generator mostly for camping but i also use it for power outages very rarely also use it for tailgates and small party's. The problems i had with it is that the extendable handle and wheels would vibrate really bad but i tightened the screws on the wheels and put a small washer on the back of one of the wheels. I also have a fuel leak whenever i fill it up to the top witch wasn't even the brim so less run time but other than that i have done frequent oil changes because its new. Other than that it starts in 1 to 3 good pulls and runs B A utifly.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Luck for me I had some bad luck with this generator. The first one i bought didnt work at all. It started but didnt power the outlets. I brought it back and exchanged (hoping it was a fluke). The next one i got worked great but was a beast to start. In addition, if i ran the generator for ten minutes, shut it off for about an hour, it would be almost impossible to start. The folks at home depot were great about the return but for me, the unit didnt work. I ended up buying a Champion generator that was less expensive and super easy to work.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, light weight, quiet generator. Use it doing light construction projects. It wiill run a s... Good, light weight, quiet generator. Use it doing light construction projects. It wiill run a skill (circular) saw, 10 inch miter saw, rotary hammer, etc (not at the same time). It also will power the chargers for my cordess tools. It is quiet enough that you can carry a conversation while standing next to it. It also only weighs about 60 pounds. The only reason, two really, I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it doen't have a pet cock (gasoline valve) separate from the start/run control. On my big generator, I shut off the gas while it is running to use all the fuel in the carburator before storing it. Also, it can be a little hard to start when The engine is still warm.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from off grid living So.I bought this unit as it had the only eco system of the ones in stock at the time. I use almost every ryobi tool there is and have had great luck with all of them. Except the gas weedeater. I have well over 2500 hours on my unit and I still run the factory spark plug and air filters. I am very maintenance savvy and do it when necessary and on schedule. Its not the most powerful unit but it runs my full size fridge.. my lights. Charges all my ryobi batteries for radio and fans. I love it so far... it still runs perfect just like new. I guess I should get it a new spark plug someday....
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serendipity We bought one of these a few weeks ago so I could work during power outages...then Hurricane Matthew came. We took it out of the box and got it ready. The instructions were really easy and it started immediately. We lost power Saturday morning at 11am and ran this thing until Sunday morning at 7am. It powered a small compact refrigerator, 2 large flat screens, 2 Directv receivers, 3 lamps, a laptop, cable modem, wireless router, and charged all of our phones -- at the same time. It didn't even feel like our power was out! We bought several gallons of gasoline, but only needed about 2.5.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used daily to power a shop trailer. This generator runs as well as my Honda did. Everyday use for six months now without a problem. There are a few things I do differently than most. Only run rec90 (alchohol free 90oct). There are no small engines that will run 10% ethanal long term without issues. Buy the highest quality small engine spark plug you can and install it when you take the generator out of the box. If using a small engine daily, change the oil every other week. So far this generator has been great. Any business or personal user that takes care of thier equipment will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome generator Very good product The wheels make it very easy to move it around you don't have to break your back it starts very easy fairly easy to change the oil on and get to the spark plug it has two modes one is the quiet mode and it is very quiet we use this all summer for cooking products for camping and for a heater it's the exact same as the Honda when their side by side and in the field I'd recommend this over the Honda for the price we used ours in a very dusty and dirty environment at a racetrack
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator and very quiet running. Able to run and hold a 2178W load This is a great little generator. Runs quiet and strong. Able to run my 8000# Hydrohoist (1458 running watts, 1657 startup watts) and 5x120w flood lights and 2x60w nav lights (2178w total) without tripping breaker. This full load definitely pushes the generator to edge (lights and hoist on but cycling/dimming), but glad to know it will deliver all the advertised capacity. Also pretty easy to start, not a one pull start, but usually 3-5 pulls and it fires right up.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi 2200 watt inverter generator Researched many other units for use as a camping and tailgating generator. Is not the cheapest, but compares the best to the Honda. Almost as quiet but 40% cheaper. Just placed into service during a storm caused power outage. Powered a fridge a freezer and some lights for 3 days straight without a hiccup. Starts very easy. Controls are simple and straightforward. Like the USB and 12volt charging options makes it very versatile for tailgating and camping. One shortcoming that I found frustrating was the lack of any type of fuel level indication. Would highly recommend they add some type of indicator or sight glass. Looking down into the tank is hard to gauge. It appears the new model has a Bluetooth link to your phone with a fuel gauge. If true, nice touch. Would still prefer a visual indicator.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for the price I bought 1st unit at Home Depot and it leaked fuel. Returned and received replacement with good customer service from the store in Carson city. It might have been damaged from shipping, I'm not sure. 2nd unit works fine, starts on one pull. It will run 6-8 hours without refueling and seems very efficient. It is fine for recharging my rv battery but doesn't have much additional capacity. I have a 1500 watt space heater, which it run will run on low settings. The generator is quiet at idle speed but much louder under a load. given the price, it seems like an ok purchase for those like me but I'm doubtful it generate 1800 watts based on testing.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick easy setup, exact oil included in the package. Add gas, pull the cord and it's running! Q... Quick easy setup, exact oil included in the package. Add gas, pull the cord and it's running! Quiet enough to have a conversation over. Long lasting - 1 gallon lasts over 4 hours running a fridge. Light weight with wheels and a great extending pull bar. Purchased today for a power outage and used for about 8 hours. Easy storage too - drain tank, quickly drain carbs and you're good. Required philips / flat head screwdriver included in the packaging. Very nice touch. Includes 12v recharge to top off your CPAP battery or your RV battery. Can be connected in parallel to multiple 2200's for more power! When over-driven (say, and AC and fridge), it simply pops a red light and continues running. A simple push of a button resets it and you're back in business. Winning combination of price, features and weight.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only one in the store I needed a smaller generator than i had for an art project to fit in a certain size box. I tried the similar one from Harbor Freight. It was basic heavy and a few inches to big, with not a lot of features. i was thinking to buy a similar one from Costco (smart tools)... But i looked this one for a awhile and bought it. Took it home , looked at all the features... This thing is a Beauty, Features Galore, well designed, with wheels and a tow handle, and dual handles .... Better than a Honda at half the price. The genny just sipps gas ... About 6 hours on a Gallon.... best looking and handling genny i have seen in a long time...
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this on a trip last week because my onboard RV generator died and I needed something tha... I bought this on a trip last week because my onboard RV generator died and I needed something that was in stock that would run the AC. Although it did the job, I kind of regret not ponying up for the Honda. I found this one to be kind of loud, both mechanically and exhaust-wise. I know it's cheaper than a Honda 2000, but compared side by side, I immediately had buyer's remorse. It's okay, just not great. It will run my 7100BTU RV air conditioner, but it sounds like a lawn mower at anything over idle. My microwave doesn't like it and the controls on the microwave just display gibberish. Will not run the 12 v on-board converter and a 1400W water heater at the same time. The 1800 watt rating seems optimistic to me. I'll keep it, since I've already used it, but I would not buy again. It starts easy and the wheels are handy, though.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrated and Disappointed I bought this generator in October and used it once for a couple hours. I noticed it was leaking, so I took it back to the store. They returned it and ordered a new unit to be shipped. The new unit was used a few hours and I was pleased with it. A few weeks later, I noticed it had leaked a lot of oil in my storage shed. I took it back for repair. They kept it over a month and returned it to me still leaking. I sent it back for repair and they replaced it. I am on my third unit at this point. I added oil per the instructions, but didn't add fuel. A day later, there are puddles of oil under the unit. I have never seen a product that has been so consistently bad.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice unit at a great price! While not as quiet as I would like, it is pretty good (better than my other standard 3000 watt generators) sound wise, but it isn't as quiet as those that cost twice the money. Easy to set up (pour in the oil and off you go), starts easily, and with the connection kit I hook up two and can run my camper!! For just over $1000 I have two inverters and the parallel kit for the camper! The extended handle and wheels (all built in) make it very easy to go over most surfaces (not so much on the lawn, but sidewalk and gravel are easy enough to roll across) just like a suite case. I have and would recommend this unit to my friends!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2200 watt inverter generator On our first camping trip with the new generator, the batteries in our camp trailer went bad. the little generator saved the day, without it we would have had to go home. It worked great, and it is small enough to tuck under the trailer when not in use. It starts easily, and doesn't use much gas, simply plug the camper in and go.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2200W generator Have had the generator for 3 days and so far it has met my every expectation. I am using it as backup power for my solar batteries and it is very quiet especially when running on a low load condition. It does have some faults, the oil fill/dipstick is behind a screwed cover and a little difficult to get to. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this generator was designed by a very inexperienced design team,... this generator was designed by a very inexperienced design team, To fill it with fuel requires a magic act to not over fill because you can see how much fuel is in it. to put oil in to it requies a special funel only somebody that works on cars has, and you have to lean in on its side. the dip stick
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this thing! I bought this a few years ago and it still runs great! I replaced the spark plug last year and that was it. It is fairly quiet, more so than other models I've heard. The wheels make it relatively portable. Seriously, it's a very good product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seen a lot of reviews about it being hard to... Seen a lot of reviews about it being hard to crank, but I didn't find that to be the case out of the box. The instructions say to cut the auto-idle off and pull the cord slowly a few times to prime it before attempting to pull and start it. Forgetting to do so once, I had to prime it a 2nd time
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inverter Our Cub Scout Pack just acquired one for camping. We had a young boy who required a breathing tube at night. This allowed us to be mobile and get away from the commercial camping. Great running and easy start. Never had to pull more than twice. I highly recommend this quiet and mobile generator.
Date published: 2017-04-26
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_519
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 268ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT