Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super Quiet Operation for User Convenience
  • Clean power: Safe for Sensitive Electronics
  • Fuel Efficient: Auto-Idle Fuel-Saving Technology
$54900 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
Was $599.00
$549.00 /each
Save $50.00 (8%)
$599.00 /each
$799.00 /each
$999.00 /each
Name 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator Bluetooth 2,300-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator iQ 2,000-Watt Ultra Quiet Gasoline Powered Inverter Portable Generator 2,000-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Portable Inverter Generator with Eco-Throttle and Oil Alert
Brand Ryobi Ryobi Generac Honda
Ratings (542) (50) (123) (123)
Engine Make OEM Branded Ryobi OEM Branded Honda
Generator Features Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Auto Idle Control,Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown
Continuous Wattage 1800 1800 1600 1600
CA (CARB) Compliant CARB Compliant CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant CARB Compliant
Fuel type Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
18
Product Height (in.)
24
Product Length (in.)
18
Product Width (in.)
13

Details

Built-in inverter
Yes
CA (CARB) Compliant
CARB Compliant
Continuous Wattage
1800
Engine Displacement (cc)
106
Engine Make
OEM Branded
Fuel Tank Capacity (gallons)
1
Fuel type
Gasoline
Full load fuel consumption (gallons/hour)
.5
Generator Features
Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit
Horsepower (hp)
0
Muffler
Yes
Number of circuits/outlets
3
Operational volume (dB)
63
Osha Required GFCI Outlets
No
Peak Wattage
2200
Product Weight (lb.)
57lb
Returnable
30-Day
Run time at 50% load (hours/tank)
5.6
Voltage (volts)
120
Wheel Kit Included
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
CARB Compliant
Manufacturer Warranty
3 Year Limited Warranty

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will it run my microwave in my rv

heard that it wont run a microwave
Asked by: bob1
Thank you for asking, Bob1. As long as your microwave does not exceed the 2,200 watts that this generator is designed to put out, your microwave will work. I hope this helps and we appreciate your interest in Ryobi! -Keri
Answered by: RYOBIOutdoors
Date published: 2017-08-02

How much run time before changing oil?

What about oil changes? How often?
Asked by: Glenn
Thank you for asking, Glenn. We recommend changing the oil on this inverter generator after 1 month or after 20 hours of operation. I hope this helps and we appreciate your interest in Ryobi! -Keri
Answered by: RYOBIOutdoors
Date published: 2017-06-24

IS THERE AN ELECTRIC START OPTION?

Asked by: JESTER
Thank you for asking, JESTER. This engine does not have an electric start option as it is pull start only. I hope this helps and we appreciate your interest in Ryobi! -Keri
Answered by: RYOBIOutdoors
Date published: 2017-08-02

u can invert how much wattage?

Asked by: mrrigsby
The "Inverter " is actually the process that creates the power, its a system of SMPS -switched mode processors that supply a clean sine wave for power by rapidly switching on and off power semi-conductors to convert power with the advantage of being less weight and size and producing less noise as well as heat. . Being an "Inverter" means its a DC to AC power inverter and this one is rated at "2,200 STARTING amps ".
Answered by: edprocoat
Date published: 2017-06-09
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_183
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 23ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 542.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, works as advertised. Very good on fuel! Easy to move around and store; it's quit... Easy to start, works as advertised. Very good on fuel! Easy to move around and store; it's quite small. I ran one "leg" of the house electric (some lights, outlets, electric ignition on stove, refrigerator/freezer) from one outlet, and ran the furnace (electronic ignition and fan) and sump pump off the other side during a four-day power outage. Kept us warm and dry. Not as powerful as my former (non-inversion) generator, but adequate for emergencies. It's incredibly portable--a one-hand carry.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as good as the Honda at half the price. I purchased my first Ryobi RYI2200 almost 2 years ago, and it has worked flawlessly. I do a yearly camping event in the woods, and use this to power a bunch of LED lighting, laptop, DJ equipment, monitor speakers and a projector for the show, as well as a fridge and freezer. The rest of the year it runs an air compressor while camping. Recently I decided I wanted to use my air conditioner on my camper and purchased a second Ryobi RYI2200 and parallel cable. Running both allows me to run th eAC in my camper wiht no problems. I've purchased everything from Home Depot and have less into the entire setup than I would have a single Honda.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good. Got it on sale so that made it extra sweet. Could have done a little bit better j... So far so good. Got it on sale so that made it extra sweet. Could have done a little bit better job on oil fill location but not a big deal whatsoever. Hard to beat the price even if it isn't on sale as it is at least 400.00 cheaper than the Honda 2000. great idea with the wheels and extendable handle, a big plus. comes with battery charger cables. Again, great item. I currently own a Honda 3000 Inverter gen and a trailer mounted 4000 watt. both are nice but this one is extremely portable. PS, Use a small amount of SEA FOAM ( the best I have ever used) additive in the fuel and always drain the carb if you are going to store more than two weeks!! takes 1 minute and will avoid main jet clogs, TRUST ME ON THIS. Don't be lazy. The alcohol in our fuel these days is the enemy of all small carbureted engines.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to get up and running, quiet in auto-idle mode,... Easy to get up and running, quiet in auto-idle mode, worked great for what we purchased it for!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty good while it lasts We bought this in the early spring of 2015. It was temperamental to start at times but once you got it going it ran fine. We race off road motorcycles and this was used to power a space heater when it was cold and a fan when it was hot. At the first race of the year in 2016, it quit at 2AM and it was about 32 outside. It has not started since. I have checked the oil level, changed spark plugs, etc. but no luck. We where planning on going with the Honda 2000 when we saw this at Home Depot. I own some other power tools by Ryobi so I trusted the name and at $400 less than the Honda I thought i had found a good deal. We have a Honda 2000 on the way now.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaking oil :( Well it arrived, I opened the box and picked up the generator and see oil leaking from it so I put it right back in the box and returned it to the store. This is where it got even more disappointing. The home Depot told me it was an online sale only and they could not replace the unit there and could not do an exchange at all. I would have to return it and go home and buy another online and wait for it to be shipped to me. I am just not willing to do it all over again in the event it happened again, once is enough, they should have let me exchange it for the model they sell in the store that is exactly the same but it's been green instead of white.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Previous to purchasing this generator, I'd bought one from Harbor Freight that I took back becaus... Previous to purchasing this generator, I'd bought one from Harbor Freight that I took back because I thought it performed poorly. The Ryobi did a much better job and did it a lot quieter than the HF generator. The inverter let the generator slow to an idle after bringing the batteries in my motorhome back up. We watched TV all evening for a week plus recharged the batteries morning and evening on only 3 gallons of gas. I don't like the oil fill arrangement because the housing partially blocks the oil fill opening. Changing oil is likely to be a problem because of this. Other than that design flaw, I'm completely pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought two of these to hook together. On initial start up, one unit took 17 pulls to start and th... Bought two of these to hook together. On initial start up, one unit took 17 pulls to start and the other took 18 pulls. Starter rope pulls easy so it was no big deal. After initial start up units restarted with just a couple of pulls. After start up I let both units run for 45 minutes to check if they ran like they should. Connected some different power tools to each one to make sure they were producing a/c power. Both were working properly. Have checked units several times over the last couple of weeks to make sure there wasn't any gas or oil leaks. Owners manual recommends draining float bowl on carb for long term storage. Drain plug is hard to get to and almost impossible to get something under float bowl to catch gasoline that drains out. I bought a fuel shutoff valve at my local auto supply store and put in the fuel supply line from tank to carb. Now when I shut down unit for storage I close the shutoff valve and let the unit run out of gas and then slide the stop lever over on the control panel. Beats getting gas all over everything. Procedure for changing oil is messy. Went to local lawnmower shop and bought one of the yellow oil caps without a dipstick attached to it. Drilled a hole in it and threaded in a brass nipple. Now when I change oil I screw in the cap and slip a length of rubber hose on the nipple and tip the unit up to drain the oil thru the hose. Keeps drain oil from getting down inside of unit. Other than listed service issues units seem to be a great buy at this price point. Auto idle works as designed and noise level is acceptable. Will provide update after units have more run time on them.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Regret not turning it in. This has been a bust for my company. I am an electrical contractor and ... Regret not turning it in. This has been a bust for my company. I am an electrical contractor and need a small generator during service changes or work before power is available or too far away. I read a lot of reviews that it was not an easy start and some who are happy with it. The initial start up procedures when new did work although after that it was disappointing. When it eventually does start it is very good and quiet but getting it to start has now become almost impossible. I live in SW Florida so not a temp problem. I almost returned it during the 30 day policy and wish I had. I really miss my old Coleman 1850 that ran for 10 years every time.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serendipity We bought one of these a few weeks ago so I could work during power outages...then Hurricane Matthew came. We took it out of the box and got it ready. The instructions were really easy and it started immediately. We lost power Saturday morning at 11am and ran this thing until Sunday morning at 7am. It powered a small compact refrigerator, 2 large flat screens, 2 Directv receivers, 3 lamps, a laptop, cable modem, wireless router, and charged all of our phones -- at the same time. It didn't even feel like our power was out! We bought several gallons of gasoline, but only needed about 2.5.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from was worth it's money I have been using both of the generators I have almost everyday for more than a year, they are on use at a construction site. Easy on fuel, very quiet and very reliable. The issue I have had in the past is the throttle control arms snap off. This has happened on both of them, easy part to get from the internet, really difficult to change. The fuel filter is hard to change also, requires a full disassembly of the housing, which is a real bear. I keep extra control arms, plugs, fuel filters and air filters on hand and do everything at one time when needed. Both machines have close to 1500 est. Hours and have never missed a beat, with regular maintenance. Much better than my 40 hour hondas, or yamahas.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little generator I got this generator mostly for camping but i also use it for power outages very rarely also use it for tailgates and small party's. The problems i had with it is that the extendable handle and wheels would vibrate really bad but i tightened the screws on the wheels and put a small washer on the back of one of the wheels. I also have a fuel leak whenever i fill it up to the top witch wasn't even the brim so less run time but other than that i have done frequent oil changes because its new. Other than that it starts in 1 to 3 good pulls and runs B A utifly.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Quite I purchased one Royabi 2200 generator for my new trailer with a 13500BTU A.C.. That wasn't enough, so I purchased a second Royabi 2200 and a parallel kit. At 4400 rated starting watts and 3600 running watts, I figured it would be enough to run everything. I was wrong. While both generators running parallel will run the A.C., nothing else (small coffee maker, microwave, etc) will run at the same time. While one generator running is fairly quiet, both running is pretty loud. I'm going to have to shield for public campgrounds. At about $1300 total for both generators and the kit ($100), I feel like I could have done better. Just not sure the avtual output is as high as advertised.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, light weight, quiet generator. Use it doing light construction projects. It wiill run a s... Good, light weight, quiet generator. Use it doing light construction projects. It wiill run a skill (circular) saw, 10 inch miter saw, rotary hammer, etc (not at the same time). It also will power the chargers for my cordess tools. It is quiet enough that you can carry a conversation while standing next to it. It also only weighs about 60 pounds. The only reason, two really, I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it doen't have a pet cock (gasoline valve) separate from the start/run control. On my big generator, I shut off the gas while it is running to use all the fuel in the carburator before storing it. Also, it can be a little hard to start when The engine is still warm.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from off grid living So.I bought this unit as it had the only eco system of the ones in stock at the time. I use almost every ryobi tool there is and have had great luck with all of them. Except the gas weedeater. I have well over 2500 hours on my unit and I still run the factory spark plug and air filters. I am very maintenance savvy and do it when necessary and on schedule. Its not the most powerful unit but it runs my full size fridge.. my lights. Charges all my ryobi batteries for radio and fans. I love it so far... it still runs perfect just like new. I guess I should get it a new spark plug someday....
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Generator Great generator for Camping. Quiet was what the campground host said. I was impressed after buying a cheap piece of junk made by Lifan that failed in 2 days. This guy was quiet and ran all day on a tank of gas. Just as good as a honda or Yamaha at almost half the price. I used it for a month straight and it was perfect. Purchase this generator with no fear of trouble. Great Quality better price!
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome generator Very good product The wheels make it very easy to move it around you don't have to break your back it starts very easy fairly easy to change the oil on and get to the spark plug it has two modes one is the quiet mode and it is very quiet we use this all summer for cooking products for camping and for a heater it's the exact same as the Honda when their side by side and in the field I'd recommend this over the Honda for the price we used ours in a very dusty and dirty environment at a racetrack
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator and very quiet running. Able to run and hold a 2178W load This is a great little generator. Runs quiet and strong. Able to run my 8000# Hydrohoist (1458 running watts, 1657 startup watts) and 5x120w flood lights and 2x60w nav lights (2178w total) without tripping breaker. This full load definitely pushes the generator to edge (lights and hoist on but cycling/dimming), but glad to know it will deliver all the advertised capacity. Also pretty easy to start, not a one pull start, but usually 3-5 pulls and it fires right up.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi 2200 watt inverter generator Researched many other units for use as a camping and tailgating generator. Is not the cheapest, but compares the best to the Honda. Almost as quiet but 40% cheaper. Just placed into service during a storm caused power outage. Powered a fridge a freezer and some lights for 3 days straight without a hiccup. Starts very easy. Controls are simple and straightforward. Like the USB and 12volt charging options makes it very versatile for tailgating and camping. One shortcoming that I found frustrating was the lack of any type of fuel level indication. Would highly recommend they add some type of indicator or sight glass. Looking down into the tank is hard to gauge. It appears the new model has a Bluetooth link to your phone with a fuel gauge. If true, nice touch. Would still prefer a visual indicator.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for the price I bought 1st unit at Home Depot and it leaked fuel. Returned and received replacement with good customer service from the store in Carson city. It might have been damaged from shipping, I'm not sure. 2nd unit works fine, starts on one pull. It will run 6-8 hours without refueling and seems very efficient. It is fine for recharging my rv battery but doesn't have much additional capacity. I have a 1500 watt space heater, which it run will run on low settings. The generator is quiet at idle speed but much louder under a load. given the price, it seems like an ok purchase for those like me but I'm doubtful it generate 1800 watts based on testing.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only one in the store I needed a smaller generator than i had for an art project to fit in a certain size box. I tried the similar one from Harbor Freight. It was basic heavy and a few inches to big, with not a lot of features. i was thinking to buy a similar one from Costco (smart tools)... But i looked this one for a awhile and bought it. Took it home , looked at all the features... This thing is a Beauty, Features Galore, well designed, with wheels and a tow handle, and dual handles .... Better than a Honda at half the price. The genny just sipps gas ... About 6 hours on a Gallon.... best looking and handling genny i have seen in a long time...
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this on a trip last week because my onboard RV generator died and I needed something tha... I bought this on a trip last week because my onboard RV generator died and I needed something that was in stock that would run the AC. Although it did the job, I kind of regret not ponying up for the Honda. I found this one to be kind of loud, both mechanically and exhaust-wise. I know it's cheaper than a Honda 2000, but compared side by side, I immediately had buyer's remorse. It's okay, just not great. It will run my 7100BTU RV air conditioner, but it sounds like a lawn mower at anything over idle. My microwave doesn't like it and the controls on the microwave just display gibberish. Will not run the 12 v on-board converter and a 1400W water heater at the same time. The 1800 watt rating seems optimistic to me. I'll keep it, since I've already used it, but I would not buy again. It starts easy and the wheels are handy, though.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrated and Disappointed I bought this generator in October and used it once for a couple hours. I noticed it was leaking, so I took it back to the store. They returned it and ordered a new unit to be shipped. The new unit was used a few hours and I was pleased with it. A few weeks later, I noticed it had leaked a lot of oil in my storage shed. I took it back for repair. They kept it over a month and returned it to me still leaking. I sent it back for repair and they replaced it. I am on my third unit at this point. I added oil per the instructions, but didn't add fuel. A day later, there are puddles of oil under the unit. I have never seen a product that has been so consistently bad.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice unit at a great price! While not as quiet as I would like, it is pretty good (better than my other standard 3000 watt generators) sound wise, but it isn't as quiet as those that cost twice the money. Easy to set up (pour in the oil and off you go), starts easily, and with the connection kit I hook up two and can run my camper!! For just over $1000 I have two inverters and the parallel kit for the camper! The extended handle and wheels (all built in) make it very easy to go over most surfaces (not so much on the lawn, but sidewalk and gravel are easy enough to roll across) just like a suite case. I have and would recommend this unit to my friends!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2200 watt inverter generator On our first camping trip with the new generator, the batteries in our camp trailer went bad. the little generator saved the day, without it we would have had to go home. It worked great, and it is small enough to tuck under the trailer when not in use. It starts easily, and doesn't use much gas, simply plug the camper in and go.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little power house My Son has one in his bowfishing boat in TN, 3 years old, runs like new, stars on one pull, great for his custom LED lights. I bought this as a second generator for sensitive electronics that my larger generator can damage, so far im very pleased, not as quiet as a Honda but has more bells & whistles and watts. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2200W generator Have had the generator for 3 days and so far it has met my every expectation. I am using it as backup power for my solar batteries and it is very quiet especially when running on a low load condition. It does have some faults, the oil fill/dipstick is behind a screwed cover and a little difficult to get to. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic!!!!! my second one. i have owned and had the... fantastic!!!!! my second one. i have owned and had the other 5 yrs no problems at all used for fishing lights hrs and hrs of use i sold my boat and it went with it bought a new one for the new boat and very quite. great value compared to honda its right up there!! without the coast of a honda and comes with battery charger cable
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this generator was designed by a very inexperienced design team,... this generator was designed by a very inexperienced design team, To fill it with fuel requires a magic act to not over fill because you can see how much fuel is in it. to put oil in to it requies a special funel only somebody that works on cars has, and you have to lean in on its side. the dip stick
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this thing! I bought this a few years ago and it still runs great! I replaced the spark plug last year and that was it. It is fairly quiet, more so than other models I've heard. The wheels make it relatively portable. Seriously, it's a very good product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-04-14
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_542
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 175ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT