Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$549.00 /each
$599.00 /box
$799.00 /each
$999.00 /each
Name 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator 2,400-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator with Parallel Capabilities iQ 2,000-Watt Ultra Quiet Gasoline Powered Inverter Portable Generator 2,000-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Portable Inverter Generator with Eco-Throttle and Oil Alert
Brand Ryobi Westinghouse Generac Honda
Ratings (494) (5) (108) (102)
Continuous Wattage 1800 2100 1600 1600
Fuel type Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline
Engine Make OEM Branded OEM Branded OEM Branded Honda
Generator Features Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,No Additional Features,Overload Protection Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown
CA (CARB) Compliant CARB Compliant CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant CARB Compliant
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will it run my microwave in my rv

heard that it wont run a microwave
Asked by: bob1
It will run a microwave. You might have to watch what other items you run at the same time though, so that you don't exceed the max wattage the unit can provide.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

How much run time before changing oil?

What about oil changes? How often?
Asked by: Glenn
Most of the answers here are perfect. I like to change the original oil at 10 hours, (a tank at low idle) then because im "that way" I change it every 40 - 50 hours. Viscosity differs with temps as Im in Northern New England, winter temps can be minus 20-30, and summer temps as hot as 80!! So 0-30 in winter and 10W 40 most other times. Penzoil is my choice as I figure at 40 -50 hours.. I wont need a synthetic.
Answered by: Serbie
Date published: 2016-11-13

IS THERE AN ELECTRIC START OPTION?

Asked by: JESTER
It is pull start only.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

u can invert how much wattage?

Asked by: mrrigsby
The "Inverter " is actually the process that creates the power, its a system of SMPS -switched mode processors that supply a clean sine wave for power by rapidly switching on and off power semi-conductors to convert power with the advantage of being less weight and size and producing less noise as well as heat. . Being an "Inverter" means its a DC to AC power inverter and this one is rated at "2,200 STARTING amps ".
Answered by: edprocoat
Date published: 2017-02-16
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_166
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 154ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 492.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My girl friend and I have bought one of these generators and we love it. We bought one of them in... My girl friend and I have bought one of these generators and we love it. We bought one of them in August and it worked great on running our travel trailer and they work great. One would not power the A/C and Microwave so we bought this one to pair with our other one so we could power everything on the trailer. We were very surprised the first one ran for 7 hours on one gallon of gas. I am looking forward to running them both together so we can have enough power to run the A/C during the hot months during camping. They are not to noisy when they are running and a lot cheaper then the really quiet ones. We are very happy with this Generator and if you are looking for one that does not cost as much as the Honda or Yamaha generators this is the one to buy!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought my unit 2 years ago, looked at Honda as i wanted a quite unit, ran across reviews for this... Bought my unit 2 years ago, looked at Honda as i wanted a quite unit, ran across reviews for this generator and way cheaper than a Honda so I bit and went and picked one up, 0 trouble for 2 years, i use it a race track to power battery charger, lights and fan in trailer and runs everything in the motorhome except for the roof air unit, good on gas and i've probably sold a few to others checking it out at the track.. next sale going on i'm going to grab a second one for the other trailer and car..
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We used this tailgating the weekend after we got it and could not be happier. It performed excep... We used this tailgating the weekend after we got it and could not be happier. It performed exceptional. We ran a TV, Satellite dish, sound bar, fan, crock pot, and multiple phones charging and had no issues at all. It was exceptionally quiet compared to others I have used. You literally can stand with 4-5 feet of it and carry on a conversation. One piece of information when you first get it. Make sure you have a funnel that has a long spout on it when putting in the oil. Where it is located is a little hard to get to with a short spout funnel. I made the mistake of trying to use one and got oil down in the bottom of the casing. Made for some inconvenient clean-up but that was due to my haste and not the product. Just passing that on to help someone else avoid the same mistake.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as good as the Honda at half the price. I purchased my first Ryobi RYI2200 almost 2 years ago, and it has worked flawlessly. I do a yearly camping event in the woods, and use this to power a bunch of LED lighting, laptop, DJ equipment, monitor speakers and a projector for the show, as well as a fridge and freezer. The rest of the year it runs an air compressor while camping. Recently I decided I wanted to use my air conditioner on my camper and purchased a second Ryobi RYI2200 and parallel cable. Running both allows me to run th eAC in my camper wiht no problems. I've purchased everything from Home Depot and have less into the entire setup than I would have a single Honda.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good. Got it on sale so that made it extra sweet. Could have done a little bit better j... So far so good. Got it on sale so that made it extra sweet. Could have done a little bit better job on oil fill location but not a big deal whatsoever. Hard to beat the price even if it isn't on sale as it is at least 400.00 cheaper than the Honda 2000. great idea with the wheels and extendable handle, a big plus. comes with battery charger cables. Again, great item. I currently own a Honda 3000 Inverter gen and a trailer mounted 4000 watt. both are nice but this one is extremely portable. PS, Use a small amount of SEA FOAM ( the best I have ever used) additive in the fuel and always drain the carb if you are going to store more than two weeks!! takes 1 minute and will avoid main jet clogs, TRUST ME ON THIS. Don't be lazy. The alcohol in our fuel these days is the enemy of all small carbureted engines.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad from the start! Bought two of them both were bad from the start. . I bought one to use when camping the first one stated just one time would not start after one use. Then had to take it back to the store got a different one. Only used this one four times had the same issue would not start. Also Home Depot will not back up their product they sell. No good not reliable buy a Honda for the money they charge for the Ryobi plus the Honda works and is reliable.
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great. I use it at night specially for the fridge, 3 low watts fans and a few lights. For s... Works great. I use it at night specially for the fridge, 3 low watts fans and a few lights. For something else, I unplug the fridge if necessary, then when finish I plug it back before I go to sleep. During the day I use a more power full generator for all the house so I can operate all the equipment (microwave, washing machine, water heater, etc..).
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy starting, provides required power. One caution I have is that on setup they want you to put ... Easy starting, provides required power. One caution I have is that on setup they want you to put gas in it, then slowly pull the starter cord to prime the carburetor. This is before you put in the oil. If it should start up, you have just run it without oil and ruined the engine.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from save your money- this unit is cheap junk that isn't cheap cost to buy. The box says "quieter tha... save your money- this unit is cheap junk that isn't cheap cost to buy. The box says "quieter than a conversation" which unless you're 100 feet away is false. It's as loud as your angry stepfather yelling at you after tripping over your toys he told you to put away. Especially under load- it's no quieter than the standard 3500 watt genny I wanted to replace. And it's hard to start, stumbles when doing so, and indicates overload with no load on it. The oil is in a difficult place to add without spilling everywhere, the plastics feel chintzy cheap, and if it's anything like their cordless tools I wouldn't expect it to last. I'm going to get a champion one instead.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work good for my needs It's excellent for alternate with other generators and rest. Works for my needs at home. Preserving my refrigerator and the fans and lights working including the tv with my antenna and the box.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have one gray and one green colores. Very quiet at a football game. Easy to crank. I have ha... I have one gray and one green colores. Very quiet at a football game. Easy to crank. I have had mine for 2 years with no issues. Runs better on pure gas...
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK, but definitely not as quiet as the Honda EU2000 I have 9 other generators that I use for my business, including an ultra-quiet Honda EU2000. I was looking to add another quiet inverter-type generator to my stock and decided to try this Ryobi. On the good side, the wheels and slide-out handle are handy, but the build quality definitely doesn't match the more expensive Honda unit, Lots of loose hardware shakes and rattles add to the noise. The engine generates LOTS more noise than the Honda, both from the exhaust and the engine mechanical noise. In hindsight, I wish I had paid the extra $400 for another Honda generator.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaking oil :( Well it arrived, I opened the box and picked up the generator and see oil leaking from it so I put it right back in the box and returned it to the store. This is where it got even more disappointing. The home Depot told me it was an online sale only and they could not replace the unit there and could not do an exchange at all. I would have to return it and go home and buy another online and wait for it to be shipped to me. I am just not willing to do it all over again in the event it happened again, once is enough, they should have let me exchange it for the model they sell in the store that is exactly the same but it's been green instead of white.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Previous to purchasing this generator, I'd bought one from Harbor Freight that I took back becaus... Previous to purchasing this generator, I'd bought one from Harbor Freight that I took back because I thought it performed poorly. The Ryobi did a much better job and did it a lot quieter than the HF generator. The inverter let the generator slow to an idle after bringing the batteries in my motorhome back up. We watched TV all evening for a week plus recharged the batteries morning and evening on only 3 gallons of gas. I don't like the oil fill arrangement because the housing partially blocks the oil fill opening. Changing oil is likely to be a problem because of this. Other than that design flaw, I'm completely pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased my Ryobi 4 days ago. It was a reconditioned one. I changed oil and put in fresh treat... I purchased my Ryobi 4 days ago. It was a reconditioned one. I changed oil and put in fresh treated gas. I took a gallon of fresh gas and added stabilizer and ethanol treatment then poured it into the tank. It starts with 3 pulls. I let it warm up for a few minutes then turned on auto idle.I plugged in a small shop vac. No problem. I then plugged in my sawzall while the shop vac was still running. Again, no problem. I then plugged in my air compressor and started and stopped each tool to test the surge capability. Worked well. I have had my eye on this generator for several years and finally made the purchase because I need to vacuum and battery charge my boat located remote on my property. I've read many reviews where folks have complained about the difficulty with removing oil and gas from the generator. The solution to this problem is the purchase of a small hand siphon available at the Home Depot . This works very well with empty coffee cans for collection. I have separate siphons for gas and oil. Fresh oil can be easily added with the use of a long narrow funnel. It takes 13.5 oz. of oil. No tipping of the generator is necessary for either removal. I choose to start and run my generator once or twice a month rather than put it away for storage. I do however treat my gas with stabilizer and ethanol treatment year round. The generator is compact in size. Pleasing to the eye and fairly easy to transport. It has 2 top handles for lifting as well as a extendable handle for pulling. The small wheels only allow pulling on hard , flat surfaces. Very user friendly compared to other generators. The noise level is low. This is due to the auto idle. I believe that this unit will work very well provided you change oil frequently and treat your gas all year long. Don't try to use this generator beyond its intended design and you will be O.K. I 'am looking forward to using this generator during the coming year and will update this review later.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from was worth it's money I have been using both of the generators I have almost everyday for more than a year, they are on use at a construction site. Easy on fuel, very quiet and very reliable. The issue I have had in the past is the throttle control arms snap off. This has happened on both of them, easy part to get from the internet, really difficult to change. The fuel filter is hard to change also, requires a full disassembly of the housing, which is a real bear. I keep extra control arms, plugs, fuel filters and air filters on hand and do everything at one time when needed. Both machines have close to 1500 est. Hours and have never missed a beat, with regular maintenance. Much better than my 40 hour hondas, or yamahas.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product arrived in three days after placeing order. Took it out of the box and there was some oil... Product arrived in three days after placeing order. Took it out of the box and there was some oil in the shipping box. So I was a little worried, but found that the oil dip plug was loose and had a little oil around it. I put the oil that came with it in the generator. I pulled the cord about three times very slow and then pulled once to crank. It fired up and ran great. I plugged in a Hilti ST1800 screw gun and it didn't even idle up any. I have only fired it up three or four times just to see how it will crank after sitting for a week or so and it cranks on first or second pull. So far I am happy with my purchase. Hilti
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty good while it lasts We bought this in the early spring of 2015. It was temperamental to start at times but once you got it going it ran fine. We race off road motorcycles and this was used to power a space heater when it was cold and a fan when it was hot. At the first race of the year in 2016, it quit at 2AM and it was about 32 outside. It has not started since. I have checked the oil level, changed spark plugs, etc. but no luck. We where planning on going with the Honda 2000 when we saw this at Home Depot. I own some other power tools by Ryobi so I trusted the name and at $400 less than the Honda I thought i had found a good deal. We have a Honda 2000 on the way now.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chances are this genny isn't enough for you. I purchased this to power a small camper. Initially everything ran fine. The generator started the AC. Went on a three day camping trip in the mountains. Generator developed an inconsistent idle, I was not using the air-conditioner as it was winter. I did try to use my hairdryer and generator went into overload. Even though this generator is rated higher than the Honda, it does not outperform the Honda. The 2000 Honda that my friends were using powered the hairdryer. Your satisfaction with this product depends on how hard you need it to work, I didn't not expect a hairdryer to trip the system.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little generator I got this generator mostly for camping but i also use it for power outages very rarely also use it for tailgates and small party's. The problems i had with it is that the extendable handle and wheels would vibrate really bad but i tightened the screws on the wheels and put a small washer on the back of one of the wheels. I also have a fuel leak whenever i fill it up to the top witch wasn't even the brim so less run time but other than that i have done frequent oil changes because its new. Other than that it starts in 1 to 3 good pulls and runs B A utifly.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Luck for me I had some bad luck with this generator. The first one i bought didnt work at all. It started but didnt power the outlets. I brought it back and exchanged (hoping it was a fluke). The next one i got worked great but was a beast to start. In addition, if i ran the generator for ten minutes, shut it off for about an hour, it would be almost impossible to start. The folks at home depot were great about the return but for me, the unit didnt work. I ended up buying a Champion generator that was less expensive and super easy to work.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, light weight, quiet generator. Use it doing light construction projects. It wiill run a s... Good, light weight, quiet generator. Use it doing light construction projects. It wiill run a skill (circular) saw, 10 inch miter saw, rotary hammer, etc (not at the same time). It also will power the chargers for my cordess tools. It is quiet enough that you can carry a conversation while standing next to it. It also only weighs about 60 pounds. The only reason, two really, I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it doen't have a pet cock (gasoline valve) separate from the start/run control. On my big generator, I shut off the gas while it is running to use all the fuel in the carburator before storing it. Also, it can be a little hard to start when The engine is still warm.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from off grid living So.I bought this unit as it had the only eco system of the ones in stock at the time. I use almost every ryobi tool there is and have had great luck with all of them. Except the gas weedeater. I have well over 2500 hours on my unit and I still run the factory spark plug and air filters. I am very maintenance savvy and do it when necessary and on schedule. Its not the most powerful unit but it runs my full size fridge.. my lights. Charges all my ryobi batteries for radio and fans. I love it so far... it still runs perfect just like new. I guess I should get it a new spark plug someday....
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just bought, just returned. Bought this as a backup to our Honda eu200i. Ryobi states that this has 2200 starting Watts and 1800 running Watts. Neither are true. The Honda is 200 Watts less on each spec and the Ryobi won't run the same blowers that the Honda does. It overloads immediately. The stated Watts simply aren't true. Its impossible for them to be true if another generator that has less wattage can run the same item without any issues. Also, the box states "quieter than a conversation". Lol, I don'y know how loud they talk at Ryobi but this is NOT a quiet unit.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This generator is WAY over rated. I have a small trailer with a 1000 watt microwave in it. If I t... This generator is WAY over rated. I have a small trailer with a 1000 watt microwave in it. If I turn on my microwave, this generator kicks off every time. I had a cheap Harbor Freight 1000 watt generator that was stronger. This Ryobi is only good to recharge batteries. Otherwise, worthless.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MOST DISAPPOINTED WITH HOMEDEPOT ON THIS ONE!! USED UNIT IN THE BOX ONCE OPENED AT QUITE S... MOST DISAPPOINTED WITH HOMEDEPOT ON THIS ONE!! USED UNIT IN THE BOX ONCE OPENED AT QUITE SOME DISTANCE FROM PURCHASE POINT. WOULD NOT START!! IF I CAN FINS MY RECIEPT I WILL RETURN TO ALHAMBRA CA STORE FOR EXCHANGE....VERY UPSETTING BUYING ON LINE AND BEING DECIEVED BY HOME DEPOT.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used daily to power a shop trailer. This generator runs as well as my Honda did. Everyday use for six months now without a problem. There are a few things I do differently than most. Only run rec90 (alchohol free 90oct). There are no small engines that will run 10% ethanal long term without issues. Buy the highest quality small engine spark plug you can and install it when you take the generator out of the box. If using a small engine daily, change the oil every other week. So far this generator has been great. Any business or personal user that takes care of thier equipment will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only one in the store I needed a smaller generator than i had for an art project to fit in a certain size box. I tried the similar one from Harbor Freight. It was basic heavy and a few inches to big, with not a lot of features. i was thinking to buy a similar one from Costco (smart tools)... But i looked this one for a awhile and bought it. Took it home , looked at all the features... This thing is a Beauty, Features Galore, well designed, with wheels and a tow handle, and dual handles .... Better than a Honda at half the price. The genny just sipps gas ... About 6 hours on a Gallon.... best looking and handling genny i have seen in a long time...
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well Purchased as a precaution for an imminent storm. Didn't need to use it, so I can't say for sure that it works for long term use. I tested it out for an hour or so, trying various loads. It had no trouble running our full sized fridge, several LED lights, and a small ceramic heater. I didn't try adding more load, as this is all I really need it to do, but it seems like it could handle some more if necessary. The note on the box says something like "Quieter than a conversation", which is only believable if you are used to having a conversation at a rock concert. It's definitely noisy when under heavy load. Not terrible when idling, but not what I'd call 'quiet'. Anyway, I'm happy with this generator for my purposes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, works as advertised. Very good on fuel! Easy to move around and store; it's quit... Easy to start, works as advertised. Very good on fuel! Easy to move around and store; it's quite small. I ran one "leg" of the house electric (some lights, outlets, electric ignition on stove, refrigerator/freezer) from one outlet, and ran the furnace (electronic ignition and fan) and sump pump off the other side during a four-day power outage. Kept us warm and dry. Not as powerful as my former (non-inversion) generator, but adequate for emergencies. It's incredibly portable--a one-hand carry.
Date published: 2017-03-24
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_492
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT