Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /box
Was $799.00
$719.10 /each
Save $79.90 (10%)
$999.00 /each
Name 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator 2,400-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator with Parallel Capabilities iQ 2,000-Watt Ultra Quiet Gasoline Powered Inverter Portable Generator 2,000-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Portable Inverter Generator with Eco-Throttle and Oil Alert
Brand Ryobi Westinghouse Generac Honda
Ratings (490) (5) (108) (100)
Continuous Wattage 1800 2100 1600 1600
Fuel type Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline
Engine Make OEM Branded OEM Branded OEM Branded Honda
Generator Features Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,No Additional Features,Overload Protection Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown
CA (CARB) Compliant CARB Compliant CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant CARB Compliant
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will it run my microwave in my rv

heard that it wont run a microwave
Asked by: bob1
It will run a microwave. You might have to watch what other items you run at the same time though, so that you don't exceed the max wattage the unit can provide.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

How much run time before changing oil?

What about oil changes? How often?
Asked by: Glenn
Most of the answers here are perfect. I like to change the original oil at 10 hours, (a tank at low idle) then because im "that way" I change it every 40 - 50 hours. Viscosity differs with temps as Im in Northern New England, winter temps can be minus 20-30, and summer temps as hot as 80!! So 0-30 in winter and 10W 40 most other times. Penzoil is my choice as I figure at 40 -50 hours.. I wont need a synthetic.
Answered by: Serbie
Date published: 2016-11-13

IS THERE AN ELECTRIC START OPTION?

Asked by: JESTER
It is pull start only.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

u can invert how much wattage?

Asked by: mrrigsby
The "Inverter " is actually the process that creates the power, its a system of SMPS -switched mode processors that supply a clean sine wave for power by rapidly switching on and off power semi-conductors to convert power with the advantage of being less weight and size and producing less noise as well as heat. . Being an "Inverter" means its a DC to AC power inverter and this one is rated at "2,200 STARTING amps ".
Answered by: edprocoat
Date published: 2017-02-16
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_165
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 197ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 488.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont buy it!! Bad decision. It broke down after the six time I used it. Not with it.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome generator Very good product The wheels make it very easy to move it around you don't have to break your back it starts very easy fairly easy to change the oil on and get to the spark plug it has two modes one is the quiet mode and it is very quiet we use this all summer for cooking products for camping and for a heater it's the exact same as the Honda when their side by side and in the field I'd recommend this over the Honda for the price we used ours in a very dusty and dirty environment at a racetrack
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator and very quiet running. Able to run and hold a 2178W load This is a great little generator. Runs quiet and strong. Able to run my 8000# Hydrohoist (1458 running watts, 1657 startup watts) and 5x120w flood lights and 2x60w nav lights (2178w total) without tripping breaker. This full load definitely pushes the generator to edge (lights and hoist on but cycling/dimming), but glad to know it will deliver all the advertised capacity. Also pretty easy to start, not a one pull start, but usually 3-5 pulls and it fires right up.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrated and Disappointed I bought this generator in October and used it once for a couple hours. I noticed it was leaking, so I took it back to the store. They returned it and ordered a new unit to be shipped. The new unit was used a few hours and I was pleased with it. A few weeks later, I noticed it had leaked a lot of oil in my storage shed. I took it back for repair. They kept it over a month and returned it to me still leaking. I sent it back for repair and they replaced it. I am on my third unit at this point. I added oil per the instructions, but didn't add fuel. A day later, there are puddles of oil under the unit. I have never seen a product that has been so consistently bad.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serendipity We bought one of these a few weeks ago so I could work during power outages...then Hurricane Matthew came. We took it out of the box and got it ready. The instructions were really easy and it started immediately. We lost power Saturday morning at 11am and ran this thing until Sunday morning at 7am. It powered a small compact refrigerator, 2 large flat screens, 2 Directv receivers, 3 lamps, a laptop, cable modem, wireless router, and charged all of our phones -- at the same time. It didn't even feel like our power was out! We bought several gallons of gasoline, but only needed about 2.5.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not impressed I use mine daily for work. It usually runs 3-4 hours a day. The first went 2 months before the engine blew, the second went 3 months. Both times, it was idling with no load, made a banging noise and stalled. No compression.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for tailgating or any portable power needs. I have now had this generator for 2 LSU football seasons and it has performed wonderfully. I only use ethanol free gas and i changed the oil after the first season. I always run it out if gas when storing so as not to mess up anything. It is not as quiet as the honda but is very close. For the price you cant beat it. I caught it on sale for $449 so I am very pleased with my purchase. I do take particular care of all my equipment so i expect this to last a while.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for the price I bought 1st unit at Home Depot and it leaked fuel. Returned and received replacement with good customer service from the store in Carson city. It might have been damaged from shipping, I'm not sure. 2nd unit works fine, starts on one pull. It will run 6-8 hours without refueling and seems very efficient. It is fine for recharging my rv battery but doesn't have much additional capacity. I have a 1500 watt space heater, which it run will run on low settings. The generator is quiet at idle speed but much louder under a load. given the price, it seems like an ok purchase for those like me but I'm doubtful it generate 1800 watts based on testing.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Provide 1,800 Watts I have yet to get more than 1,300 Watts out of this without tripping the internal breaker, and even then it's right on the edge because the little red light is flickering. If I run it drawing 1,100 to 1,200 Watts it's fine. Poor tools will trip it so don't even bother trying to run a saw. Because the gas tank is so small, perhaps 1.5 gallons, I can only get about 3 hours run time. There is no gas primer so you have to pull it, a lot, before it starts. The quickest I've ever had mine start is after 15 hard pulls. Once I pulled so many times that I wore the skin off my fingers and gave up. My advice is simple; if you require 1,200 Watts or less, this might work for you, if you require more, don't bother with this machine.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far very happy I bought this to utilize in the winter to run my travel trailer at the deer lease instead of dragging my larger generator. From a convenience and ease of use standpoint it is great. It struggled a bit with the microwave - I turned the microwave power down and it did fine. It may be just that with the inverter and microwave it was just slightly too much. Anyway it ran all night with light load - kept battery charged for furnace and etc.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expensive Honda I have owned this generator for a few years and I can't recommend it enough. I use it to power my rv at NASCAR races and other off-grid trips. It is easy to start and is very economical. As long as you turn on the auto idle, which will adjust motor based on power needs, it will last 8 hours on a tank of gas. I plan on buying a second one to run in parallel very soon [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Generator started easily (took about 10 pulls out of the box, but only a couple after that first ... Generator started easily (took about 10 pulls out of the box, but only a couple after that first time). It is as quiet as I expected, and as someone else noted, the wheels rattle a bit and if you can silence them, then it is even more quiet. Auto idle works great and I tested it with a circular saw. Overall, I am happy and I like the size / features / value. This is for use during hurricanes and occasional camping.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice unit at a great price! While not as quiet as I would like, it is pretty good (better than my other standard 3000 watt generators) sound wise, but it isn't as quiet as those that cost twice the money. Easy to set up (pour in the oil and off you go), starts easily, and with the connection kit I hook up two and can run my camper!! For just over $1000 I have two inverters and the parallel kit for the camper! The extended handle and wheels (all built in) make it very easy to go over most surfaces (not so much on the lawn, but sidewalk and gravel are easy enough to roll across) just like a suite case. I have and would recommend this unit to my friends!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The auto idle is so great money saver I actually love this generator the auto auto feature saves you so much money, I'd recommend this generator for anyone I run my saws and tools on it all day long no issues.I actually love this generator the auto auto feature saves you so much money I'd recommend this generator for anyone I run my saws and tools on it all day long no issues [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2200 watt inverter generator On our first camping trip with the new generator, the batteries in our camp trailer went bad. the little generator saved the day, without it we would have had to go home. It worked great, and it is small enough to tuck under the trailer when not in use. It starts easily, and doesn't use much gas, simply plug the camper in and go.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for what it was designed for. I bought this for Hurricane Mathew recovery. It powered / recharged tool batteries, coffee maker and other odd things I "needed" until the power was restored by Alabama Power helping out their GA brothers in a time of need. It is quiet, and capable. I'm glad the temperature wasn't too hot....it would only power a small A/C, nothing more. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a Charm! Bought this unit for camping, nothing major charge up cell phones and for some camp lights! Ran Quiet - roughly 55 to 60 db standing over it, not a problem for the campsite. Started Very Easily - never more than 2 pulls and takes no strength to pull the cord used it for 4 day and 3 nights no problems as of yet, I am going to change the motor oil ASAP when i can, and use Mobile 1 SYNTH V twin formula which has different properties for an air cooled engine. It's not too heavy but not light either, (60'lbs roughly) I ran 89 octane and Star Tron Enzyme Fuel Treatment through it so the insides don't get gummed up! it was a good investment and we plan on using it a bunch this year ! So Far * I would recommend to a friend !
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2200W generator Have had the generator for 3 days and so far it has met my every expectation. I am using it as backup power for my solar batteries and it is very quiet especially when running on a low load condition. It does have some faults, the oil fill/dipstick is behind a screwed cover and a little difficult to get to. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I followed the initial starting instructions and the unit started as expected, after that it alwa... I followed the initial starting instructions and the unit started as expected, after that it always started on the second pull. I was very pleased with the way it only ran fast enough to provide the amount of power that was being used at any one time, only running at full throttle when its full power was demanded. This is a fairly quiet generator.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around user friendly! So far the best I've ever seen or used. Had a little trouble when I first started it due to me not reading directions. (I hate reading directions) Have used it several times in deer woods. I can recharge my cell phone or anything that plugs into a USB port. It's very quiet, clean electricity that won't cause spikes and burn out sensitive equipment like tv or cell phones. I operate several things but not all of them at once. I like using a microwave, tv, charger, camper lights, and several other items and it's very energy efficient because it only puts out what voltage you need instead of running wide open all of the time. The wheels on it are a good idea but are virtually useless in a wooded area. On the plus side it's light weight so I can carry it but would recommend for two people to carry it. Compare the price of Ryobi to a Honda and you'll be pleasantly surprised at the savings! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this over a year ago for camping, This little generator ran my whole trailer with no pro... I bought this over a year ago for camping, This little generator ran my whole trailer with no problems at all. Very quiet and one tank full of gas will get you 7 hours running time before you have to fill up again. Wish it did have some kind of window to look in and see how much is in it or when your almost filled. Best thing I have gotten to date!
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, affordable and reliable. Use it primarily for tailgating and on my first use I was next t... Quiet, affordable and reliable. Use it primarily for tailgating and on my first use I was next to someone who had the Honda 2000 watt generator. They came over and commented on how this Ryobi was just as quiet as theirs yet when I told them what the Ryobi cost.....let's just say they became quite envious since they had paid 2x what I did.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this generator was designed by a very inexperienced design team,... this generator was designed by a very inexperienced design team, To fill it with fuel requires a magic act to not over fill because you can see how much fuel is in it. to put oil in to it requies a special funel only somebody that works on cars has, and you have to lean in on its side. the dip stick
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seen a lot of reviews about it being hard to... Seen a lot of reviews about it being hard to crank, but I didn't find that to be the case out of the box. The instructions say to cut the auto-idle off and pull the cord slowly a few times to prime it before attempting to pull and start it. Forgetting to do so once, I had to prime it a 2nd time
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator I have had this generator for 2 years now, and we use it at least twice a month for 10-14 hours at a time,it's hard to start after it gets hot, but what a great product.its very quiet and makes more than enough power to charge our car battery and run trailer lights and fans.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi inverter generator Got a great price online and picked it up in a week at the store. Unit was intact no damage unpacked added the provided oil and treated gas. Steps for first start easy, primed it and then it started. Used it for a weekend camping ran it for about 8 hours no issues.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little generator This item was purchased for use after Hurricane Matthew, it works great, easy to move around. The only regret is that it is sometimes a little hard to start, the addition of a priming bulb would be a nice feature. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tailgate Supper Star We used the Ryobi 2200-watt Inverter Generator to power hot food servers, a radio, and various electronics at the 2016 Georgia-Florida game in Jacksonville, Florida. The Ryobi was super quiet and ran for 5 hours without a single issue. We love this little guy!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great so far and easy to use. It is a bit louder than the Hondas, but no where near loud e... Works great so far and easy to use. It is a bit louder than the Hondas, but no where near loud enough to justify spending double the money on the Honda. The only downside is that you have to unscrew the side panel and use a small funnel to put the oil in.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The generator came with oil, but I purchased another small one just to have on hand. I put gas i... The generator came with oil, but I purchased another small one just to have on hand. I put gas in it and it started right up. The pull start was easy enough for me to use; I don't have a lot of upper body strength.
Date published: 2016-10-25
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_488
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT