Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
$549.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

133 Questions502 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
1 answer

Type of oil, and number, 30?

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2016
Example: I have looked at the manual and can't figure out what I did wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
St. Louis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 30, 2016
Answer: 
10W-30 oil is packed with new generators, that's what I used.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

How many dbs

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
St. Louis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 30, 2016
Answer: 
Very low. Even at maximum load the noise level doesn't interrupt a normal conversation when standing next to the generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 29, 2016
Answer: 
This product has a 63 decibel noise level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Grey & Green models ?

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2016
What's the difference between the grey and green models ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
St. Louis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 29, 2016
Answer: 
If you would read all of the questions and answers you'll find this question answered several times.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2016
Answer: 
I don't think there is any diffeeence it's just a model change ..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can I turn the generator over to drain the gas tank without damage to it...

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Marietta Ga.
Read all my Q&A
October 18, 2016
I need to empty the gas tank and replace with fresh fuel....What is the best and least damaging way to do this ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
La Vista, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 18, 2016
Answer: 
What I did was add in a fuel shutoff valve to the fuel line leading to the carb. Really easy. If you wanted to drain it pull the fuel line off the carb and drain it that way then add a fuel shutoff valve. That way I can run the carb dry before putting it away for the winter.
If you do want to dump it on it's side I would strongly recommend draining the oil first.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Midland MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 18, 2016
Answer: 
Twempster, I think you will be alright tilting the generator on its side to empty your tank. I do the same at the end of the race season to lessen the amount of fuel in it for storage. You may loose some oil at the vent but it won't be much. Let the generator sit for a bit and check the oil level prior to starting it up. I hope this will help you out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • 2016-10-31 T01:43:18.131-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203617901, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 404 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your money! DO NOT buy this unit if you plan on using it on a regular basis. I bought one to use to charge up my RV battery and to run the heater at night. I was temporarily living in my RV during construction of a permanent residence so was using it every night. The first unit I bought lasted about 80 days before running rough and then quitting. HD did an even swap for another one and that lasted about a month before doing the same thing. Took it back and swapped for a third unit. I ran it one night. The second night it would not stay running. I brought it back and got my money back. Went to Lowe's and bought a Generac which I have had no issues with. Another issue I ran into with the Ryobi is the outlets on the unit. The plug converter on my RV would not plug into the generator as the outlets are slightly raised on the unit. I had to cut off half of the insulation on the plug to make it fit. I found the spark plug difficult to get to. It's at an odd angle and a tight place. The dipstick for the oil is also a bit awkward to get to as well. In case you're wondering, I kept up on all maintenance; changed the oil and spark plugs regularly, checked the air cleaner, even went so far as to use non-ethanol gas. Overall I would NEVER recommend this generator and am, in fact, telling friends and family just how bad it is. April 4, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I am now a happy camper I plan to do more camping at locations not providing electrical hookups. The elevation at my house is 6,000' and my favorite sites are between 9K and 10K feet. I first tried a 2000W portable generator from a wholesale warehouse but it only started twice in more than 100 tries with the starter rope. I called the manufacturer's support number twice and was advised that 6K feet was (1st call) too high for the generator to operate and (2nd call) at the limit of its operating range, and that I'd have to get the carb re-jetted for a higher altitude (at my expense). That generator was returned to the warehouse. I did not think to look for a generator at Home Depot but spotted the Ryobi 2200W while looking for lawn mower parts. I decided to give it a try and I couldn't be happier with this purchase. It took 10 or 12 pulls to start it the first time as expected, but has started on the first or second pull every time since then, even at elevations up to 10K feet and temps as low as the high 30s on a camping trip last week. It did struggle with a 1600W coffee pot while camping (high altitude affects power output), but it handed the camper furnace and water pump while recharging the camper battery with no sweat. I like the generator's two-handle configuration and it appears to be better constructed that the first generator I tried. The Ryobi is a keeper! September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by worked well on our first power outage pull started easily after i refilled with gas. mainly use for refrigerator, but extra plug for phone charge,.... March 17, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Doesn't Provide 1,800 Watts I have yet to get more than 1,300 Watts out of this without tripping the internal breaker, and even then it's right on the edge because the little red light is flickering. If I run it drawing 1,100 to 1,200 Watts it's fine. Poor tools will trip it so don't even bother trying to run a saw. Because the gas tank is so small, perhaps 1.5 gallons, I can only get about 3 hours run time. There is no gas primer so you have to pull it, a lot, before it starts. The quickest I've ever had mine start is after 15 hard pulls. Once I pulled so many times that I wore the skin off my fingers and gave up. My advice is simple; if you require 1,200 Watts or less, this might work for you, if you require more, don't bother with this machine. December 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by If they had an hour meter installed.... Bought two of these, one in Nov 2014 and one in Spring 2015. We use theses professionally on construction sites. If they had an hour meter they would probably be 500-700 hours each. Not one issue with either one. They guys love them, easy to carry, quiet and powerful. Nothing but good to say about these units. I would buy another without hesitation. February 17, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable and does the job it was intended for my experience with this generator is based on a comparison with a 2000 watt Generac generator. It's definitely quiet and operates great on eco mode. It seems to have a much better fuel efficiency than the generac as it runs longer. The only 2 negatives I have found so far is the HORRIBLE placement of the oil. To fill it, check it, or drain it. It's very challenging and you need to remove the lid. Hard for my boyfriend to get at it since he doesn't have small hands. It runs great though... starts right away. We use it to power a fish house and found issues with it wanting to stay running when we left it outside in the blowing snow. Threw it in the back of the truck out of the snow though and it ran great. It also does take a while to shut off ....it'd be nice to have an immediate kill swtich instead of basically starving it of fuel and it gradually turning off. Overall though for the price...this is a great product. February 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good looking and reliable Very simple to use. Turned out how I expected product to work. March 1, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK, but Generac IQ2000 Recommended Instead. I returned this in favor of the Generac IQ2000 which is quieter, made in USA, 50% longer warranty, easier to start, readout features, etc. The Ryobi seemed to have intermittent gas leaks and sputter. It is also not very sturdy due to the weird underbody design. . It runs, but not that great. The IQ2000 is better than a Honda (the only portable generator that is better than a Honda). I found an IQ2000 in stock at Lowes. January 20, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by leaks oil when cold I bought this generator a year and a half ago. When using the generator for camping it works great starts easily and powers the things that I expected it to power. When it gets below 20 degrees it begins to leak oil when down around 0 it will run for a couple hours before the low oil light indicator comes on and oil begins spewing out underneath the generator and shuts off. I have looked all over for a remedy to this problem and have called Ryobi directly however there's nothing they have for a cold weather kit and suggest just sending it in which I know will not help. I have even tried wrapping it to keep some of the warmth inside the generator however it may run longer before it leaks oil but will still do it. Only does this when cold outside. Changing the oil is also a pain since it is hard to get at it and there are no markings on the dipstick indicating what the oil level should be. I will just go back to Yamaha or Honda like I should have done in the first place. January 13, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great quality Generator works fantastic ,quite and work very well, especially when black out occur , my major important is the refrigerator and one or two outlets, for lights , but diffinitly well worth it, compact and reliable .and other connection like radio and charing phones and laptop January 15, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ?? Product might be good but we received a repackaged used generator that we had to return. January 19, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy this generator So, let me start with the fact that I read lots of online reviews. I purchased a pair of these! I've taken them out six times camping. On the sixth trip one of them died. The piston came off the crank shaft and totally ruined the motor! Home Depot won't return it, had to send to manufacture service center. 10 weeks to get a replacement. While I was at Home Depot trying to return it, another gentleman returned his with a seized motor too. Although many reviews are good about this product, the bad one are really bad!!! In the owners manual it warns " not for use above 2000 feet of altitude ". Just go buy the Honda! I spent 1200 bucks to learn my lesson, now I have spent another 2000 for the Honda that will probably last my lifetime! October 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JUST WHAT I NEEDED Thanks to all of the past reviews of this product, I purchased this one a few months ago. I have used it for various projects since my property is lacking in power where I need it for various construction projects. This generator has powered miter saws, drills, lights, etc. for several projects and has done a fine job. I payed attention to past reviews about not using the auto idle switch when initially starting the machine, so I have had no problems. The only thing I don't like is how to check and add oil. The space is cramped so it is not convenient, but other than that this is a great machine and I highly recommend it. June 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as good as the Honda at half the price. I purchased my first Ryobi RYI2200 almost 2 years ago, and it has worked flawlessly. I do a yearly camping event in the woods, and use this to power a bunch of LED lighting, laptop, DJ equipment, monitor speakers and a projector for the show, as well as a fridge and freezer. The rest of the year it runs an air compressor while camping. Recently I decided I wanted to use my air conditioner on my camper and purchased a second Ryobi RYI2200 and parallel cable. Running both allows me to run th eAC in my camper wiht no problems. I've purchased everything from Home Depot and have less into the entire setup than I would have a single Honda. August 30, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy so far After reading a bunch of reviews I decided to give this generator a try. I tapproached thi purchase with the understanding that NO mass produced machine is ever going to be perfect. But, with a little knowledge I was ready to deal with minor issues if they came up. So far I'm happy to say the generator has worked great. I've only used it for one weekend of family camping but it did the job. No leaks (even with the guy from Home Depot warning me that these all got returned with leaks), starts easy and provides clean power. We'll see how it goes but I'm hopeful that things will work out for the best. August 18, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by BAD BAD new this stop working within 50 hr. i was charging my batteries at deer camp and can not get money back had to ship it back for repair going to 4to 8 weeks to get it back and i had to pay to ship GET A HONDA""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""" December 20, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd One- Both Leak Fuel This is a nice little unit- quiet and easy to use. They seem to have a chronic fuel leaking issue with these though. Bought the first one and got it home. Unpacked it and followed the instructions for initial start up- no problems there- fired right up and ran fine. The shut off for the unit is also the fuel shut-off. The next day my pole barn stunk of gas- it had leaked out about half the tank worth. Exchanged it for a new one the next day and this one also leaks fuel although not as bad. This one has leaked about a quarter cup in the past week- I've kept this one in my trailer on cardboard as to not have a repeat. I'll be returning this one as well- third times a charm hopefully!! July 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best tailgate ever! Used the generator at both a college football tailgater and a college crew regatta to keep the slow cookers warm. Great product - very quiet! Can't wait to get a blender going with it! December 11, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Has spent almost half of it's life in the shop I have had this generator for a little over a year now with it spending 6 months in the shop to replace the broken plastic cam gear that was on back order. Now it will not start again. We've only gotten use out of it 1 time when brand new, since then there has been one issue after another with it. November 22, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great investment Primary use is for tailgate but great for fundraisers when you need power on the go. Pays for itself in no time at all December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 6 day power outage!!! worked flawless I do not write many reviews but this little generator demands it. I live in Oklahoma and we recently had an Ice storm that took our our power for 6 days. I bought this generator to keep in my travel trailer for camping in places that do not have power, it is light weight, simple and totally enclosed. It is super quite and starts on the second pull. I loved everything about it, then the power went out. I grabbed the generator and started plugging stuff in. Not sure i am suppose to but I was in a bind so I started plugging stuff in. It ran my refrigerator, freezer, 50" tv, fan and chargers. When we cooked we unplugged the fridge and plugged in the griddle for cooking. this thing ran for 6 days, i changed the oil one time ( because you are suppose to change it every 100 hours) and that was super simple. But here is the best part I would dare to guess but I bet i did not run through 4 gallons of gas. this thing will run on 1/4 gallon of gas forever.. It would run 6-7 hours per tank with the Idle switch on. it would idle up when the fridge kicked on and then return to idle. I really cannot say enough about this little generator. Flawless start to finish, light, love the handle and wheels... seems like no matter how hard you try you always overfill it , well they covered that also with the overfill pocket at the top. the cap is attached so you cannot lose it, the muffler enclosed and quite. rolls easy, change the oil easy.. whoever designed it has used one in the dark covered in ice and frozen... Buy it! December 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome generator and great portability Small, lightweight and I can store it behind the front seat of my pickup. November 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING! Purchased this unit for tailgating at our undefeated CAROLINA PANTHERS games and it has worked out perfectly. Extremely quiet and powers all our essentials. At one point in time during the tailgate we had two crock pots, 37" tv, nintendo, and a heater running off of it. The auto feature works great for drawing what power it needs at the time. Took about 6 pulls to crank the first time but after that it cranks first pull every time. I know Honda is the standard when it comes to small engines and only time will really tell, but this thing rivals Honda for sure and has more features. I think the design Ryobi came up with when it comes to gas spill is genius as it diverts the gas away from the plug area. The wheels work great but I would say the ONLY downfall to this gem is that the handle for pulling is a bit weak. It hasn't broken but it just feels a little flimsy. Aside from that, I can't find anything I would change. I would love to see a similar design build in a bit larger model, but for what I need it for it works perfectly. If you're considering the Honda, save your money and give this a try! Oh, and it got ran over by my buddy leaving the tailgate in his Chevy 1500 and was still running. I turned it off and gave it a pull and it cranked right back up! DURABLE! November 18, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Works great-For 1 week-DON"T BUY IT This is great product for a week or two then it won't start. Took the whole thing apart, did everything the instructions recommended, but still will not start. Don't waste your money!!! November 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Only one in the store I needed a smaller generator than i had for an art project to fit in a certain size box. I tried the similar one from Harbor Freight. It was basic heavy and a few inches to big, with not a lot of features. i was thinking to buy a similar one from Costco (smart tools)... But i looked this one for a awhile and bought it. Took it home , looked at all the features... This thing is a Beauty, Features Galore, well designed, with wheels and a tow handle, and dual handles .... Better than a Honda at half the price. The genny just sipps gas ... About 6 hours on a Gallon.... best looking and handling genny i have seen in a long time... December 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Tailgating - As Quiet As They Say In researching generators for tailgating, the one consistent note of feedback I received was "Get a Honda or else." Honda generators were the gold standard as far as one of the major features, i.e. noise level. I just purchased this generator with the hopes that I wouldn't be disappointed. While I knew the Hondas were the most quiet, I just couldn't justify the $1,000+ investment for a maximum six time per year use with tailgating. I am absolutely thrilled with the Ryobi. We pulled the generator less than 100 feet away from our tailgating tent and heard absolutely NO noise. It was easy to start, and the pull handle made it very easy to transport. September 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by do not buy Run/start switch lever broke after two weeks of buying it. customer service said not cover under warranty after it sat in there service center for six weeks. Plastic run/start lever. do not buy October 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ryobi generator perfect for the camper but won't run microwave. I'm ready for deer camp now. October 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great Quiet and does what I want. Great for tailgating or around the house October 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing little generator I purchased my first ryobi a few months back after I sold my regular loud 3,000 watt champion generator. I wanted something that was quiet and small but could still run power tools and such. So far ive been able to run my angle grinder, 2hp chop saw, and a harbor freight 110v inverter arc welder. After I purchased my 32' race car trailer I needed something bigger to run all the appliances in it, including the 15,000 btu roof top a/c unit. I went ahead and bought a second ryobi and the parallel kit. Then to tie it all into my trailer that has a 50 amp plug I bought the plug that ties a 15amp and a 30 amp plug together then runs it to a 50amp plug. It worked. So I can run my roof top A/C and some small appliances so far and the generators barely kick it up to high idle (I leave the auto idle on which is an amazing feature.) The generators are very light and easy to pick up to move around. A neat feature is the expandable handle to turn it into a roller backpack for transport. The two grab handles are nice for tieing the generators down too. Starting is very easy with these, One good pull on choke starts it, switch it over to run and your set. One thing that they are a little temperamental about is they dont like to have stuff plugged into them when you go to start it. So I usually have to unplug the stuff before starting which gets annoying. One thing I would invest in would be an hour meter so you can track when you need to do maintenance on these. You can get one for $8 off ebay and they are easy to install. Just wrap the lead around the plug wire and mount the meter in an easy to see area. It took me a whole 10 minutes to install my hour meter. November 1, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T16:38:12.911-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_404, tr_404
  • loc_en_US, sid_203617901, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 15 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 120ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT