Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /box
Was $799.00
$719.10 /each
Save $79.90 (10%)
$999.00 /each
Name 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator 2,400-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator with Parallel Capabilities iQ 2,000-Watt Ultra Quiet Gasoline Powered Inverter Portable Generator 2,000-Watt Super Quiet Gasoline Powered Portable Inverter Generator with Eco-Throttle and Oil Alert
Brand Ryobi Westinghouse Generac Honda
Ratings (490) (5) (108) (100)
Continuous Wattage 1800 2100 1600 1600
Fuel type Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline Gasoline
Engine Make OEM Branded OEM Branded OEM Branded Honda
Generator Features Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,No Additional Features,Overload Protection Fuel Gauge,Hour Meter,Low Oil Shutdown Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown
CA (CARB) Compliant CARB Compliant CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant CARB Compliant
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will it run my microwave in my rv

heard that it wont run a microwave
Asked by: bob1
It will run a microwave. You might have to watch what other items you run at the same time though, so that you don't exceed the max wattage the unit can provide.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

How much run time before changing oil?

What about oil changes? How often?
Asked by: Glenn
Most of the answers here are perfect. I like to change the original oil at 10 hours, (a tank at low idle) then because im "that way" I change it every 40 - 50 hours. Viscosity differs with temps as Im in Northern New England, winter temps can be minus 20-30, and summer temps as hot as 80!! So 0-30 in winter and 10W 40 most other times. Penzoil is my choice as I figure at 40 -50 hours.. I wont need a synthetic.
Answered by: Serbie
Date published: 2016-11-13

IS THERE AN ELECTRIC START OPTION?

Asked by: JESTER
It is pull start only.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

u can invert how much wattage?

Asked by: mrrigsby
The "Inverter " is actually the process that creates the power, its a system of SMPS -switched mode processors that supply a clean sine wave for power by rapidly switching on and off power semi-conductors to convert power with the advantage of being less weight and size and producing less noise as well as heat. . Being an "Inverter" means its a DC to AC power inverter and this one is rated at "2,200 STARTING amps ".
Answered by: edprocoat
Date published: 2017-02-16
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_165
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 30ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 488.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact, easy to store. Quite and does what I need. Compact, easy to store. Quite and does what I need.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, quite generator at 1/2 the price of a Honda.... Great, quite generator at 1/2 the price of a Honda.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Product! Easy to use. Excelent Product! Easy to use.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! Awesome for the price!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied! Very satisfied!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very convenient very convenient
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A lot of potential but falls short This went on a one day sale for $430 and after having it on my wishlist for 3 years I decided to pick one up. The reviews were very encouraging and I couldn't wait to get it. When I opened the box I noticed that the bottom was saturated in oil. There is a tag that says it doesn't ship with oil in it but this was clearly not the case. The unit was shipped in a bag so the bottom of the generator was also covered in oil. Very disappointing and unprofessional. I filled it will the included oil and as others have said, the oil full location is in a very dumb, hard to reach place. Not impossible, but a hassle. I filled it with ethenol free fuel and after several pulls it fired up. The volume didn't blow me away but it was reasonable. Unlike others, this wouldn't run my RV AC unit or my microwave. I didn't really expect the AC to work but some said they got lucky so I was hoping for luck on that one. I did expect the microwave to run though so that was disappointing. Everything else ran as expected for a test run. The rubber flap covering the outlets is very flimsy and doesn't secure closed very well. also, I wish there was a storage location for the 12v cable and screwdriver included to open the side panel. Having to unscrew that panel is also a disappointment.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked fine worked fine
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I own two of these generators. They are quiet and reliable. Manly used them (typically one at a time) for powering our travel trailer when we "boondock" (camping without power hookup). One will power everything in our trailer besides the ac. Two in parallel will power everything + the ac no problem. I now use these in place of my 5000 watt portable gas generator to power house during power outages. I purchased a Wen parallel kit online and it works great. I've modified a generator transfer switch cord, so i can connect them to my house via a manual transfer switch. I can connect either one to power lights, frig, TV, WiFi, laptops etc) or two in parallel to power my furnace and everything else mentioned before. Just can't run big appliances like electric dry, electric range etc. I think they are great for the $! My only complaint would be that the handle and wheels rattle a bit during heavy loads, but I was able to fix that with a few washers. A fuel shutoff would be nice as well, however there is a pretty easy way to drain the fuel from the carb for long storage. As far as the noise level, the Ryobi 2200 is a tad louder on low idle than the Honda EU2000i, but it's so minimal that you wouldn't know the difference in a camping setting. All things considered these generators are solid for the $.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator! Picked up one of these last week for running/charging the electronics on my ice castle. Brought it home, took it out of the box and was instantly impressed with the overall look, weight, and setup of the whole unit. Put the provided oil in it, and ran it at about 50% load for three hours for break in, then changed the oil out, and replaced. The next day I brought it out to the ice! I ran all of my lights, the Tv, the heater, charged the battery and even a crock pot all while it stayed on a low enough idle that it couldn't be heard over the heater blower motor even though the generator was just 25' away! Had it out all day long with -10 to -20 below wind chill with absolutely no issues at all. Let it run for about 6 hours while running all aforementioned electronics before it ran out of gas, ran outside, filled it back up, and it fired right off again on the second pull! So far I couldn't be happier with this generator with about 12 hours use out of it so far. I've got numerous other friends researching different units as well and I will be inviting them out to see this in use and talking them in to buying their own for their own castles/work needs. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for a good deal on another one, but will for sure be buying a second one eventually no mater what. At $599 you CANNOT go wrong with this genny!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this item is pure garbage. it runs fine, but leaks all the oil from the crankcase. i purchased th... this item is pure garbage. it runs fine, but leaks all the oil from the crankcase. i purchased this item early march 2017, per instructions i filled it with oil to the proper level, you cannot really overfill it with the provided oil due to the fact that they provide you with 12 oz of 10w-30 and the specified crankcase capacity is 12.32 oz, i ran it for about an hour with no load on it to seat the rings and valves. I then put it in my house after it cooled down and found a space where i wanted to keep it so it was out of the elements and readily available when the situation would arise that i needed to use this item. After 3 weeks of sitting there i decided to run it again, it would not start, so i took the cover off and checked the oil. nothing in the crankcase and the bottom of the unit was full of oil and so was the carpet. I went back to the store where i purchased the item and they exchanged it. my paranoia got the better of me and i did not sleep at all that night, because i read many reviews online about this item and was rather upset with myself, at about 6 in the morning i went and checked for oil leaks on the new exchanged unit and not to my surprise there was oil on the bottom of the new unit. I have since brought the new exchanged unit to the store and proceed to get my money back for a full refund... do not purchase this unit
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Because we lost power for 2 days due to hurricane Mathew last Fall, I decided to purchase a power... Because we lost power for 2 days due to hurricane Mathew last Fall, I decided to purchase a power generator. I purchased this Ryobi generator because I trust that Home Depot would not sell a poor quality generator in their stores and the online reviews were very positive. All that I have done with the generator so far is to remove it from the box, perform the initial startup procedure, and run it for about 20 minutes. Performance wise, it started with the third pull and ran smoothly and quietly until it ran out of gas. I did connect one electric device to the generator and the automatic throttle control worked as advertised. The generator is very quiet, not disturbing when standing near it and I couldn’t hear it from inside my house. The generator is very well made, no cheap components or panels and all of the switch gear is of top quality. The generator only weighs about 50 lbs and can easily be picked up with the sturdy handles on the top. It also has a retractable handle that works very well with the wheels to pull the generator rather than lift it. I would have to reserve final judgement until I will need to run the unit for several hours due to a power loss. I do, however, pray that I will never have to use it. One small nit is that you have to lay the generator on its side to fill the oil. It would have been nice if Ryobi included a funnel that would make oil filling more convenient (I have a few funnels and none would fit the small access to the filler).
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought two of these to hook together. On initial start up, one unit took 17 pulls to start and th... Bought two of these to hook together. On initial start up, one unit took 17 pulls to start and the other took 18 pulls. Starter rope pulls easy so it was no big deal. After initial start up units restarted with just a couple of pulls. After start up I let both units run for 45 minutes to check if they ran like they should. Connected some different power tools to each one to make sure they were producing a/c power. Both were working properly. Have checked units several times over the last couple of weeks to make sure there wasn't any gas or oil leaks. Owners manual recommends draining float bowl on carb for long term storage. Drain plug is hard to get to and almost impossible to get something under float bowl to catch gasoline that drains out. I bought a fuel shutoff valve at my local auto supply store and put in the fuel supply line from tank to carb. Now when I shut down unit for storage I close the shutoff valve and let the unit run out of gas and then slide the stop lever over on the control panel. Beats getting gas all over everything. Procedure for changing oil is messy. Went to local lawnmower shop and bought one of the yellow oil caps without a dipstick attached to it. Drilled a hole in it and threaded in a brass nipple. Now when I change oil I screw in the cap and slip a length of rubber hose on the nipple and tip the unit up to drain the oil thru the hose. Keeps drain oil from getting down inside of unit. Other than listed service issues units seem to be a great buy at this price point. Auto idle works as designed and noise level is acceptable. Will provide update after units have more run time on them.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product runs very well and is affordable I purchased this unit a few months back and after reading current negative reviews, I took the challenge. I started my unit for the first time today. After oil and gas filling, it took about nine easy pulls and voila! I added an extension cord with a multiple outlet strip including a TV, TV decoder, room air fan, another room fan, an electric clock, and a water kettle. This unit perked up with the use of water kettle; but after the water boiled, the unit calmed right down and continued to run all of those other appliances at a super quiet steady pace.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good! This product was purchased to run a 6200-8000BTU AC window unit. It does great as long as you leave the auto idle off until the compressor kicks in. After settling down, you can turn the economy button on(auto idle) and this unit will run for 5-5.5 hrs. on .5 gal. of gasoline. I would recommend using alcohol free 93 octane gasoline if you can find. (NOTE: if the compressor kicks off then comes back on, the generator will not start the compressor motor once switched to economy mode, this is not a design flaw, just the motor cant rev. up fast enough from a near idle speed to generate the near triple wattage required to start the compressor. When the auto idle if off this is a non-issue.)
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good little generator The reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because we haven't really given it the real test yet, only a test run. We purchased this for the boat. During the test run it was found to be much quieter than most generators, just like we had seen in other reviews. We liked that. It is also about the size of a medium-sized cooler, which is a plus when it comes to storing it on the boat. It did the job as far as running the coffee maker, microwave, etc. The only problem we had was the air conditioner kept tripping off after a few seconds. We don't believe it is a problem with the generator, but the AC. We will do further testing in that area. Other than that, we are very pleased with the product.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good purchase for the money. This review is going to be long so please bare with me. This is what I have learned while using these units and I hope it helps someone else make a informed buying decision. So I finally decided to enter the digital inverter generator age. After much research over the last month I decided to finally buy the RYOBI ryi2200 series. Since this unit is parallel capable, I decided to buy two units for a time when I might need more than one unit can provide. I went ahead and ordered these units online since they had free shipping and received them amazingly fast. 1 of them arrived in 2 days and the other 2 days later. While unboxing, the units looked very secure in their boxes and I did not see any damage to the units. Included with each unit was a container of oil, a screw driver, and a cable to hook up to charge the batteries with. When I weighed the units they weighed the quoted weight of 57lbs. Which is very manageable. After reading the manual I learned that the units used a 10w-30 oil and the spark plug gap needed to be .024-.028. Access to both the spark plug and oil fill station are really easy to get to. 4 bolts and you have both covers off. I filled the oil up, with the supplied oil and paper funnel that was provided, fairly easily. That being said the oil fill area is in an awkward area and will require the use of a funnel every time you have to change the oil. Another problem I see is when you go to empty the oil it will be hard not to spill oil inside the unit with out some careful planning. I also decided to check the spark plug gap while I was at it and discovered the gap on both units to be incorrect. It was below .024 that was stated in the manual. I went ahead and corrected this on both units. FYI make sure that spark plug cap *clicks* down on the spark plug. If not properly seated down, the unit will not start. At this time, I also installed a hobbs hr meter/rpm gauge on both units so I would be able to keep track of the hours the unit has ran. This was very simple to do and it took 15 mins per unit see picture below. I highly recommend this to anyone who purchases these units because the maintenance schedule in the manual is in hours. If interested in doing this, here is a link to a hour meter you could use. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Toro-Hourmeter-Kit-for-TimeCutter-SS-116-5461/202770903. I did not use this exact meter but it could be helpful to someone else. I do not know if it will fit the bill exactly but they are easy to come by. I also checked the manual to see if there was a suggested break in period and I found none. I also called Ryobi customer service to see if they knew of a break in period and the person I talked to had no idea what that was. This is no surprise since these units are considered disposable when they break down. Finding parts for this unit would be hard. That being said I also believe you should try to get the most life out of something you purchased and I decided to do a break in period I believe adequate. (This is my personal opinion and something I chose to do. As far as ryobi is concerned there is no suggested break in period other than change the oil for the first time at 20hrs.) Now after putting all the covers in place and filling the units with fuel for the first time. (I also recommend having a funnel for this too to minimize gas being spilled.) I cranked both units. The first unit took about 7 pulls to get it to crank and the second unit only took 4. At this point I decided for a break in to run both units 5 mins at low idle to warm up then turned auto idle off and let them run for 1 hr at high rpms. Then 1 hr at low idle for a total of 2 hrs. During this time I checked the db level of both units from 10 ft away at a slight angle to the units. At low idle I measured the units to be 79 db together. While at high idle I measured both units at 82 db. I also checked one unit by its self from the same location and came up with 74 db at low idle and 79 at full speed see pics below for single unit db test. I know this is on a phone but I have found it to be pretty close to an actual db meter at work. This is above the manufactured stated amount but nothing that I would say is unbearable by no means. After running 2 hrs, I let both units cool down to outside temp (about 72 degrees outside) then fired both units back up to exercise them with a load for another half hour. During this time I also did a load test to see how the units would do compared to their rated running watts of 1800. During this test I attached various loads up to the load rating of 1800 watts and found that both units would only hold a maximum of about 1650 watts before going into overload and then shutting down. During this test I was only able to get up to 15.3 amps. The unit is rated for 20 amps so I feel they would handle all 20. I tried this multiple times on both units with similar results. See posted video below for overload happening. This unit would run 1650 watts all day long, but take it much over that and the unit would overload and shut down. I thought this might be a fluke on one unit but both units exhibited this problem. After 2 1/2 hrs I changed the oil in both units and the oil came out very cloudy with metal flakes shining in the oil. On a side note you will need a table or two people to empty the oil out of this unit. See pic below for oil color/cloudiness. I got the best pic i could but you can see how cloudy the oil is. Also in the pic you will see a napkin where I ran a magnet through the oil and pulled the metal shavings out of the oil. THIS IS NOT A BAD THING..... I just show you these pictures so you can see why I opted to break the engine in. There will be wear on anything new. Again this is my opinion and you can take it how you want. But I think you should break a motor in and change the oil. I personally do not want that floating around in the engine for 20 hrs. I hope this review helps you make an informed buying decision. I give these units a 4 out of 5 rating. The fact that 2 units could not keep there advertised running/surge watts is a failure on RYOBI's part. The second failure is not reaching the advertised db rating. I do not know how they tested the unit so I am unable to run the units through the exact process. The last issue I have with the information page is it states there is a 3 yr warranty on the product. This does not include the engine it only comes with a 2 yr warranty. This is not really a failure just some information I believe you should be aware of since it can be kind of misleading. That being said I still think these will be amazing units that will provide me years of continuing service for any need I will have. For the quality I give ryobi props for coming up with a very inventive idea with the handle and wheels it makes the unit very portable and easy to maneuver. Even though they don't reach the stated 1800/2200 running/surge watts, I don't see any issues with these units providing plenty of power for any light duty uses you may have. I hope you find this review helpful and may you have a good shopping experience. As I get more run time on these units I will write another review.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money! DO NOT buy this unit if you plan on using it on a regular basis. I bought one to use to charge up my RV battery and to run the heater at night. I was temporarily living in my RV during construction of a permanent residence so was using it every night. The first unit I bought lasted about 80 days before running rough and then quitting. HD did an even swap for another one and that lasted about a month before doing the same thing. Took it back and swapped for a third unit. I ran it one night. The second night it would not stay running. I brought it back and got my money back. Went to Lowe's and bought a Generac which I have had no issues with. Another issue I ran into with the Ryobi is the outlets on the unit. The plug converter on my RV would not plug into the generator as the outlets are slightly raised on the unit. I had to cut off half of the insulation on the plug to make it fit. I found the spark plug difficult to get to. It's at an odd angle and a tight place. The dipstick for the oil is also a bit awkward to get to as well. In case you're wondering, I kept up on all maintenance; changed the oil and spark plugs regularly, checked the air cleaner, even went so far as to use non-ethanol gas. Overall I would NEVER recommend this generator and am, in fact, telling friends and family just how bad it is.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little generator Great little generator. I have 70 + hours on mine in particular and can give some pointers if you want to keep one alive and get your moneys worth out of it. These are not a Honda or Yamaha, but they are also 1/2 the price. If you treat them right - you can stack a LOT of reliable hours on them. My experience below comes from my own generator use but also keeping alive many cheap china engines. - Service your generator on a regular basis. Change the oil after the first 3-4 hours and then again in 3-4 hours. If loaded heavy and run hard during this time, change it every 2 hours of use for at least 3 changes - it will be surprisingly dirty with a lot of metal particulates from break in and will also be quite black. Typical with the cheap engines, generators and compressors. Failure to change the oil quickly and constantly during break in will result in drastically shorter engine life. Once you have performed your initial break in and multiple oil changes, it will be good to go for the normal service schedule. Do not complain, it is only 12oz of oil - not a big deal to change the oil and takes just a few minutes of your time. - Keep the original oil container. I simply use a scale and put back 12-13oz of oil after each change so I have the exact amount ready to go - Before changing oil, let the unit run for 5 minutes or so... the oil will be warm and all will run out easily. Best to have a second person help you flip the unit so the oil runs out the drain hole in the bottom plastic. Keep it LEVEL when rotating it so oil does not run around the inside and make a mess. - I recommend Shell rotella T-6 5w40. These little motors love it - they run very smooth on this oil. - If the generator is to be stored for any length of time, use sta-bil gas additive. What most FAIL TO DO, is put the additive in properly. You DO NOT just add it to the tank and close the lid - put the generator away. You add a pack to the tank, pick up the generator and shake it around for a bit and let it mix. Wait 5-10 minutes and shake it again. Then start the generator and let it run for 15 minutes to get the additive into the carb which will prevent it from being damaged / gumming up over time. These carbs SIP gas so it takes a while for the carb to cycle in the new fuel with the additive. OR if you think ahead, add the sta-bil to the gas container and shake around prior to adding it to your generator or other small engines. - When you first start the generator, it will smoke a LOT from assembly lube. This is normal. Let it run and break in. It is not defective and will burn off / seal up properly in a 5-10 minutes - Turn off the auto idle when starting. Makes for an easy start (mine starts 1st to 2nd pull every time) - Let the generator warm up a bit before loading it down heavy. 5 minutes is plenty. Some people already have a heavy load connected, they start the generator and load it up immediately. Use some common sense. - Change the junk stock spark plug if you want an easy starting engine, use a Denso 5383 IUF22 iridium plug. These fine wire plugs will make starting a breeze in any conditions. Heck, you can soak them in oil, put them in and fire the thing right up! They are terribly hard to foul and will fire in the worst cylinder conditions imaginable. The alternate is a nickle tip NGK CR7HSA, however there is no comparison in engine starting vs the denso iridium. Also the iridium plug will last the life of the generator - no need to change the plug constantly. Hope this helps some of you - enjoy!
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator at a good price Most people have had good luck with this generator. I must be one of them. It starts on the first or second pull. It is very quiet and compact. And I must add light in weight. The oil fill is not a big problem if you have a real funnel not the paper one that comes with the generator . I have had no leaks. Gas or oil, I think it's better to use Mobil one oil. Now the main thing is when you start the generator make sure the auto idle is off. That is very important ! After the generator is running then switch over to auto idle. In the past I have owned other small generators. Colman and Honda ........ And I like this ryobi For its features and ease of operation.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good-if it will start. I bought this to power a refrigerator on a boat trip. Started it several times prior to leaving with no problems. Ran it 3 hours to the first destination. Upon departure the next day the unit would not stay running. It would start for a second then stop. After 1/2 hour trying it finally stayed running. The next day the same scenario except it took almost 45 minutes to get it running. When operating performance was adequate. When I went to return it to the store after draining the gas, it started on the second pull. Bought a Honda.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good motor I took this generator to Burning Man, where it worked away through dust storms and very hot weather without complaint. I used about 4 gallons of gas over the week to run the generator about 4 hours a day. Started easily every time. No complaints at all.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2nd One- Both Leak Fuel This is a nice little unit- quiet and easy to use. They seem to have a chronic fuel leaking issue with these though. Bought the first one and got it home. Unpacked it and followed the instructions for initial start up- no problems there- fired right up and ran fine. The shut off for the unit is also the fuel shut-off. The next day my pole barn stunk of gas- it had leaked out about half the tank worth. Exchanged it for a new one the next day and this one also leaks fuel although not as bad. This one has leaked about a quarter cup in the past week- I've kept this one in my trailer on cardboard as to not have a repeat. I'll be returning this one as well- third times a charm hopefully!!
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't fix under warranty! Beware. Buy a Briggs&Stratton or Honda. I had to send the unit back several times and the last time they wouldn't fix it, still before the 3 year warranty. My friend also bought one and returned it a week later.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Has spent almost half of it's life in the shop I have had this generator for a little over a year now with it spending 6 months in the shop to replace the broken plastic cam gear that was on back order. Now it will not start again. We've only gotten use out of it 1 time when brand new, since then there has been one issue after another with it.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product exceeded my expectations. What a great addition to my north woods tools! Out of the box it was easy to set up and get running and has been exceeding all my expectations. Recently I needed to relocate my travel trailer (I call it my hunting shack, my wife calls it the mouse hotel) and needed to construct a semi-permanent roof to prevent leaking. The Riobi not only powered the saws I used to build the roof frame but it easily managed the operation of my heat gun I used to shrink wrap the poly cover for the roof. Now that the work is complete the generator is used to keep my trailer batteries fully charged and gives me the confidence that I can safely charge my personal electronics (lap top for work, cell phone and electronic book). This is a great tool and good value for the money!
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quiet, runs great, started first pull bought for my 26' travel trailer, works great, it will even run the 15,000 btu central air conditioner, it powers a 24" led tv, dvd player, subwoofer , the refridgerator and the converter while only requireing about 570 watts(per my kilawatt meter)and it does this at idle! however, it will not power my 1000 watt microwave, I think the 1800 watts continuous is overrated, my buddys honda 2000 powers it just fine. I guess you pay for what you get,overall, I think quality is on par, if not better than the honda, and it is very quiet.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6 day power outage!!! worked flawless I do not write many reviews but this little generator demands it. I live in Oklahoma and we recently had an Ice storm that took our our power for 6 days. I bought this generator to keep in my travel trailer for camping in places that do not have power, it is light weight, simple and totally enclosed. It is super quite and starts on the second pull. I loved everything about it, then the power went out. I grabbed the generator and started plugging stuff in. Not sure i am suppose to but I was in a bind so I started plugging stuff in. It ran my refrigerator, freezer, 50" tv, fan and chargers. When we cooked we unplugged the fridge and plugged in the griddle for cooking. this thing ran for 6 days, i changed the oil one time ( because you are suppose to change it every 100 hours) and that was super simple. But here is the best part I would dare to guess but I bet i did not run through 4 gallons of gas. this thing will run on 1/4 gallon of gas forever.. It would run 6-7 hours per tank with the Idle switch on. it would idle up when the fridge kicked on and then return to idle. I really cannot say enough about this little generator. Flawless start to finish, light, love the handle and wheels... seems like no matter how hard you try you always overfill it , well they covered that also with the overfill pocket at the top. the cap is attached so you cannot lose it, the muffler enclosed and quite. rolls easy, change the oil easy.. whoever designed it has used one in the dark covered in ice and frozen... Buy it!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My girlfriend and I bought this generator for our travel trailer. VERY IMPRESSED with it. We used it on a four day trip and it ran great. The first day it ran 7 hours on Auto Idle mode on one gallon of gas. I was also impressed how easy it was to start. We knew going in to buying it that it would not run the A/C or Microwave because of not enough running watts but powered the Fridge, outlets, radio and lights with no problem. The unit is quiet and light weight. I read a lot of the reviews on here and is one of the reasons we went this way instead of buying the bigger louder ones. Cannot wait to buy the second one and the parallel unit so we could run the A/C for our trip in April. If you are reading these reviews I recommend this generator and you will not go wrong buying it.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, quiet, solid I bought this portable gen set after doing considerable research of online owner experiences. I had the unit shipped to my home. It arrived well factory-packed in good condition. Initial setup took about five minutes. There is no primer bulb and the initial pulls draw in fuel for the first run. The motor started and ran smoothly after about a dozen short, light pulls. (Some credible online reviews warn against pulling the recoil cord to hard or too far!) So far the unit has been used half a dozen times for various jobs running outdoor power equipment. It's been perfect. It starts on the first or second pull. It's quiet enough to easily talk over. The materials and assembly are solid -- no lose parts, no rattles. The telescoping pull behind handle is ingenious, and it makes carting the unit around very convenient, although the built-in wheels should be larger. Construction of the pull handle feels very light and I think it will hold up only with gentle use. The carry grab handles are solid. This afternoon I will pick up another identical unit at the local HD, to run them in parallel. Have already sold my 7,500 watt generator, as it took up too much valuable space, and it was way too loud to use in a residential area. Two of the Ryobi units will store stacked in a corner of the shed. Nice that both together cost the same as one of the popular Honda or Yamaha gens. Recommended.
Date published: 2014-09-26
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_488
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT