0046396001924

Ryobi

Model # RYI2200

Internet # 203617901

Store SKU # 1000026167

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

$599.00 /each
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency, and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting Watt, 1,800 running Watt
  • 8.75 hours run time at 400-Watt and 5 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • 4.5 hours run time at 50% load
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
18 
Product Height (in.) 
24 
Product Length (in.) 
18 
Product Width (in.) 
13 

Details

Built-in inverter 
Yes 
CA (CARB) Compliant 
CARB Compliant 
Continuous Wattage 
1800 
Engine Displacement (cc) 
106 
Engine Make 
OEM Branded 
Fuel tank capacity (gallons) 
Fuel type 
Gasoline 
Full load fuel consumption (gallons/hour) 
.5 
Generator Features 
Auto Idle Control,Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Overload Protection,Wheel Kit 
Horsepower (hp) 
Muffler 
Yes 
Number of circuits/outlets 
Operational volume (dB) 
63 
Osha Required GFCI Outlets 
No 
Peak Wattage 
2200 
Product Weight (lb.) 
57 lb 
Returnable 
30-Day 
Run time at 50% load (hours/tank) 
Voltage (volts) 
120 
Wheel Kit Included 
Yes 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
CARB Compliant 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year Limited Warranty 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

89 Questions264 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Why is it so hard to start

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Massapequa NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 23, 2016
Answer: 
there can be many answers for that question.....
assuming there is gas in the tank and the unit is brand new, and you added the oil!
it might take a few pulls to get the gas down trough the system,
I drain my down to the last drop and when I refilled it, it took a lot of pulls on that cord to get it restarted!
you do have it in the start position, and the energy saver switch on off ?
if you Read More
there can be many answers for that question.....
assuming there is gas in the tank and the unit is brand new, and you added the oil!
it might take a few pulls to get the gas down trough the system,
I drain my down to the last drop and when I refilled it, it took a lot of pulls on that cord to get it restarted!
you do have it in the start position, and the energy saver switch on off ?
if you have used it a few times could be a fouled spark plug ! Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis County, MO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
Mine isn't hard to start at all. 2 to 3 pulls will start it when cold after not being used for almost a year when following the starting instructions.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
I would go back over starting procedure and maybe change the plug. I have 2 and both start with in a couple of pulls
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
Mine starts no problem are you using the choke?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Oregon Cascades
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
That’s a bit of a loaded question, yet lacking important info.
So, I’m gonna assume your unit is new, and you’ve done or not done a couple things;
Turn the auto idle off
Unplug anything to power (never start any genny under load)
Give it a few pulls without choking it (you may have flooded it)
Walk away for a few minutes (let it clear its throat)
Oh, make sure you have gas and oil in it…
That’s a bit of a loaded question, yet lacking important info.
So, I’m gonna assume your unit is new, and you’ve done or not done a couple things;
Turn the auto idle off
Unplug anything to power (never start any genny under load)
Give it a few pulls without choking it (you may have flooded it)
Walk away for a few minutes (let it clear its throat)
Oh, make sure you have gas and oil in it…
A new genny will take a few pulls, but after initial running should only take a couple.
I’ve had two of these, and that’s been the case for both.
Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

Will it run a 220 welder

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2016
Answer: 
No it wont only 110 draw when they are Piggy backed two together it may, depends on the welder and its amp draw.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2016
Answer: 
not even close i would guess the amperage of the welder is waayy over 15 amps
not sure the exact welder model so its hard to give a solid answer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

July 16, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the generator will run a 220 welder.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Oregon Cascades
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 16, 2016
Answer: 
With the limited info, gonna say no. Look at the peak watts of your welder. If it's over 2200, then you'll probably cook something.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
St. Louis County, MO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 16, 2016
Answer: 
The output of this generator is 120 volts so no, it won't run a 220 welder. 220 volt services haven't been available in the US for at least 60 years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

will it run a typical home refrigerator/freezer

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
sierra madre ca
Read all my Q&A
July 12, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2016
Answer: 
Yes. During storms I've run my Samsung 257 Side by side, along with my LED TV, fan and Blu-Ray player without any problems.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Grand Rapidsk, MI USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2016
Answer: 
Easily. I ran a 22 cubic ft whirlpool fridge plus a lamp fan and charged our wireless devices
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis County, MO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, a typical home refrigerator/freezer is not a problem at all. That was the primary reason I bought one 3 years ago. I also found that it will run the 1/3 HP blower motor on my natural gas furnace so I won't be without heat in the winter should I lose power during the cold months again.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Can this generator be used in cold conditions(10F degrees above to 10F degrees below)?

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Minneapolis, MN
Read all my Q&A
July 11, 2016
I would like to use this for hunting in northern Minnesota where it will be exposed to snow and cold temperatures. Will it run under these conditions?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Oregon Cascades
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
We used ours at -40°F.
It's wise to go to a more accommodating grade of oil at low temps.
We used 5/30 all winter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis County, MO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the generator can be run in cold temperatures. Check the manual for the proper weight oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

July 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the generator can be used in cold conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • 2016-07-27 T13:47:26.617-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203617901, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 354 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gotta have it I purchased this generator this past fall I had no idea it was this powerful to be so compact. Quite as a mice , excellent run time at full capacity. I recommend this generator for outside handy jobs, picnic, parties or power outages. I take it with me everywhere and people are so amaze every home needs one go ryobi April 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY LIGHT AND EASY TO TRANSPORT I bought this generator several months ago and I am very pleased with this one. I have gone through 2 or 3 of these generators and finally got one that works right. I love this as it runs everything for our deer hunting trips and also at home for charging battery banks for solar power systems and running several things at home. April 29, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product Great product great value and very quiet what a great value for the price!! April 18, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great generator for the price. I've been very pleased with this generator. I use it during camping trips to power my camper, run power tools, and use it for backup power at home during long power outages. I hope to purchase another one & the parallel kit for even more versatility in the future. April 29, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Met my expectations Very easy to set up and started with just a few pulls. Purchased as a back up in case power goes out and for sump pump and I think it will be just fine for this purpose. A little under powered but it does what it is spec'd to do. May 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little generator Operates with 1 or 2 pulls every time. Nicely portable and pretty quiet. 2nd one I've purchased...only wish they could be connected/ganged together for greater capacity. April 18, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good, but not great. Out of the box I was confused over the first startup routine, set choke, put in gas, pull starter rope 5 times, then put in oil, then pull starter rope 5 times. Just never seen gas go before oil. Also the Hulk himself put the machine together, the supplied screw driver was not enough torque to unscrew without stripping heads, used a multi torque level electric screw driver which speeds up door opening anyway. Runs quiet, definitely is fuel efficient, I have 4 five gallon gas (ethanol free 90 grade w/ stablil) cans which should last near 4 days of constant use. Have tested it with a 6,000 btu window A/C (max watts around 550) and our full size fridge (max watts around 500). Great generator for emergency power, since it can be put in any vehicle and brought were power is needed. Now the issues, one of the U-clips M5 x 0.8" that hold the front cover on fell off and into the bottom of the case, managed to get it out. Came to find out that they are held in there with no glue, just tension from being bent around a piece of plastic. The telescoping handle gives no confidence, rather pick it up. I feel that with having to check the oil every time before use a better solution should have been used for the front door, some sort of latching box style lock. Overall its a good generator if you are correct in your needs. There are much more powerful ones for less money, but there are more expensive ones with even less wattage. June 7, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great Followed instructions, Started right up with no problems. Purchased as a backup generator for power failures. After 1 week sitting in the garage pulled the cord and started on the second pull. So far Im impressed with this unit. Its pretty quiet. May 6, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Works great Works great once it finally starts, after first 20 hours run time it is very hard to get running. It starts and dies once it finally runs it works great. I am thinking it is a problem with all Ryobi products the diaphragm in the fuel pump is cracked. I am in the process of getting warranty to repair or replace it. April 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recently Purchased Finally decided to purchase this generator although i feel a little pricey. i mainly bought this to power a craftsman 18" bar chainsaw. Well i fired it up after 4 pulls it started up. i ran it for 20 min to break it in. Then off to cutting pretty big trees down all day without one issue. Light weight and quiet are what sold me on this. I also run my Makita M700 2hp compressor outside with no issues. So far so good. March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lightweight It maybe a 'LIGHTWEIGHT', but it is a real 'HEAVYWEIGHT when it comes to performance. Very QUIET, when in operation and economical to run. Cannot wait to purchase a second unit to run tandem for more power. Maneuverability was main reason for the purchase, 1 person operation. April 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for the race track, quiet and powerful I have used this at the drag strip for one season now, it has been trouble free, it runs the battery charger, fan, lights, microwave, and power to spare,what e great little generator, and Gerry quiet to!!! April 18, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super product Bought this to tailgate at football games. People were always wanting to know the brand because it ran so quite and was no where near the price of a Homda. April 18, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for trips! I brought this device a year ago and it's still working as advertised, love it April 18, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BAD BOY MACHINE THIS THING DOES THE JOB BUT USES A LOT OF GAS OTHERWISE A WINNER ! April 18, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Powerful as advertised!!! Ryobi 2,200-watt green gasoline powered digital inverter generator passes our test! We purchased it when our built in generator on the motorhome quit. It has enough power to run all of our basic appliances including the microwave oven. Easy start and quieter than most portable generators. Easy to set up and store. Good price and value. April 21, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tailgate option! Went looking for a small portable generator that wouldn't irritate all the other tailgaters in our area. The best option? Honda. That's a lot of money for a generator that gets used 6-8 times a year. Came across a review of this Ryobi and decided to give it a shot. It ran all day powering a 37" TV, 2 crock pots and all our phones/accessories and never once did i hear it. And we still had gas in the tank at the end of the day. Overall very happy with the purchase. if you need a small portable quite generator give this guy a shot. i think you you'll be happy to. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best bang for the buck! Used this generator for outdoor shows and works great runs all day on one tank of fuel, quiet nobody even knew we had a generator running. April 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth the price and then some Started up easily, even the very first time. Runs quiet. Roller wheels and telescoping handle make moving it around very easy. Ran rope lights, stereo, and even a coffee maker all at once with no problem. April 7, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor design poor performance Poor design, location of oil fill doesn't make sense, unit started OK first day. It would not power a 1000 watt heater and 150 work light. Had to put heater on low setting to keep unit from tripping off. By second use it would not run. Checked oil and had to run out and buy another pint, seems to be excessive amount to add after only 4 hours of use. Back to the store it went February 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bought for our boon docking camping trips. Excellent product filled with gas pulled the cord 3 times purrs like a kitten. I was hoping to carry in my camper but fumes will prevent this. I've ran all my light along with a 1500 watt heater, furnace, and the tv going. I'm very impressed with pure power this little green giant produces at such a low whisper. Great product! February 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So Far So Good...Ryobi Inverter does as advertised! I bought a returned unit from Home Depot and I am very pleased with it thus far. I fired it up the day I got it and ran several test on it. It started right up after few pulls. I read the manual before using and I have taken all of the precautions to make sure it will run well (hopefully) for a long time. It is easy on fuel and I have decided to run mostly True Fuel (or equivalent ethanol free gas) and it really seems to run well on the high octane, ethanol free fuel. I metered the output with my volt meter and it is putting out 123 volts consistently. For a test I used my wife's 1875 watt Conair hairdryer (wide open and with high heat) and it ran without issues (The warning LED remained green the whole time) Just to text it further I plugged in an orbital sander and it actually stayed in the green for an extended period of time (this would be very close to a MAX start up load) It does exactly what it says it can do...zero issues thus far! February 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for RV Quiet enough to be used in RV park without causing too much angst. Very pleased to have it when ice storm knocked out power for 24 hours and outside temp dropped to 6 degrees... Kept the furnace running. Oil access is inconvenient! March 10, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worked great for 3 months then... I bought this one to replace one I'd purchased previously that quit working in the middle of a work day. Took it to Home Depot repair department so they could evaluate whether or not I'd get a replacement... it's been several weeks and they've not made a decision. So, before my 30 day return limit is up, I'm returning it and buying the Honda. I require a quiet generator for the jobs I do in certain neighborhoods. I have used Ryobi tools in the past and have had no problems. Let's face it, they are inexpensive and good enough for that tool you need only once in awhile. My biggest problem is this was a 600 dollar purchase that I need back asap but home depot is in no hurry to help. Adios home depot. I'll have the one being fixed back at some point. It's going to be up for sale. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2,200-WATT GREEN GASOLINE POWERED DIGITAL INVERTER GENERATOR I was looking at the Honda eu 2000. I saw this for half the price. I fly Radio Control helicopters and needed a good quick , not too loud way to charge my batteries at the field. I sit this under my tailgate and charge on the tailgate and can easily carry on a conversation right at the charger. I do think the Honda is probably a little bit quieter, but not by much. Honda advertises, i think, 59 db .....I don't know where they take this measurement, but it is not anywhere near the generator, normal conversation is over 80 db. Standing right at the generatoe the reading is 86, three feet away with your ack to it, it's 72. Anyhow...I would get it again in a heart beat.....Happened to loose electricity too, and it charged cell phones, ran flat screen t.v.s and supplied enough light to keep everyone happy. November 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worked great for 4 months... Bought this generator after having good luck with other Ryobi products. After a short period of time the generator would shut off under even a small load. After the course of a year, the generator became impossible to start and now snaps the pull starter out of your hand so hard that is has given me numerous bruises and welts on arms/ legs. I have a Makita G6100 from ten years ago still running strong and also a Generac 1400 from 1985 that also still runs. Neither have half the problems of the one year old Ryobi. This thing was supposed to be quiet and portable and I purchased for home use. Used it a dozen times or so with luck and now this thing is destined for the repair center. Save an extra $300-400 and put it towards buying a yamaha or honda. MUCH better built than the Ryobi. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice geny nice little unit does all I have asked of it. Charging my Model aircraft batttery packs (5500 ma packs 4 at a time) vary ez on the ears too March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by well worth the $$ We purchased ours while staying at a RV park that was having electrical problems. This generator keeps our batteries charged, Runs the micro wave oven, toaster and hair dryer... one item at a time Well worth the money. Very quiet, starts in 3-pulls and good looking too. About 10% noisier than a Honda...but 10% more running watts It's running right and it is going to be 23F degrees tonight December 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by do not buy got almost one tank of gas through it before it died home depot would not stand behind it after 37 days ryobi has sent me to 4 repair shops before I could find one that would work on it now its been 5 months had to go buy a different generator(Honda) and I still have a 600$ boat anchor do not buy do not buy January 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does the Job quietly. I purchased the Ryobi Generator primarily for my travel trailer. It works like a charm. On first start it took about 15 pulls. After that only one or two pulls got it started. Almost as quiet as the Honda. maybe a couple of Db's higher, at a much lower cost. I did take someone's advice and put in a premium grade synthetic oil instead of the oil that came with it. Seems to be pretty easy on the gas consumption, too. Overall all I give this unit high marks. October 28, 2014
  • 2016-07-27 T14:46:02.876-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_354, tr_354
  • loc_en_US, sid_203617901, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 13 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT