Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will it run my microwave in my rv

heard that it wont run a microwave
Asked by: bob1
It will run a microwave. You might have to watch what other items you run at the same time though, so that you don't exceed the max wattage the unit can provide.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

How much run time before changing oil?

What about oil changes? How often?
Asked by: Glenn
Most of the answers here are perfect. I like to change the original oil at 10 hours, (a tank at low idle) then because im "that way" I change it every 40 - 50 hours. Viscosity differs with temps as Im in Northern New England, winter temps can be minus 20-30, and summer temps as hot as 80!! So 0-30 in winter and 10W 40 most other times. Penzoil is my choice as I figure at 40 -50 hours.. I wont need a synthetic.
Answered by: Serbie
Date published: 2016-11-13

IS THERE AN ELECTRIC START OPTION?

Asked by: JESTER
It is pull start only.
Answered by: fernbark
Date published: 2016-10-10

u can invert how much wattage?

Asked by: mrrigsby
The "Inverter " is actually the process that creates the power, its a system of SMPS -switched mode processors that supply a clean sine wave for power by rapidly switching on and off power semi-conductors to convert power with the advantage of being less weight and size and producing less noise as well as heat. . Being an "Inverter" means its a DC to AC power inverter and this one is rated at "2,200 STARTING amps ".
Answered by: edprocoat
Date published: 2017-02-16
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_154
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 33ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 460.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy!! Nice for tailgating sporting events, camping or around to house!
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great camping generator Easy to operate great price and fast shipping. Great design
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi 2200 WTT generator Works good. Fired right up. Hope it lasts. Could be quieter
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent Is an exellent equipment, light, low noise and powerfull.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars Light weight and runs my 18 ft camper ac with no problems
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Generator Until today 10 hrs of use and no problemas with it use.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact, easy to store. Quite and does what I need. Compact, easy to store. Quite and does what I need.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD BUT HAS PROBLEMS Have had 4 replacement generator in 2 yrs.........
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Product! Easy to use. Excelent Product! Easy to use.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! Awesome for the price!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied! Very satisfied!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very convenient very convenient
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked fine worked fine
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator! Picked up one of these last week for running/charging the electronics on my ice castle. Brought it home, took it out of the box and was instantly impressed with the overall look, weight, and setup of the whole unit. Put the provided oil in it, and ran it at about 50% load for three hours for break in, then changed the oil out, and replaced. The next day I brought it out to the ice! I ran all of my lights, the Tv, the heater, charged the battery and even a crock pot all while it stayed on a low enough idle that it couldn't be heard over the heater blower motor even though the generator was just 25' away! Had it out all day long with -10 to -20 below wind chill with absolutely no issues at all. Let it run for about 6 hours while running all aforementioned electronics before it ran out of gas, ran outside, filled it back up, and it fired right off again on the second pull! So far I couldn't be happier with this generator with about 12 hours use out of it so far. I've got numerous other friends researching different units as well and I will be inviting them out to see this in use and talking them in to buying their own for their own castles/work needs. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for a good deal on another one, but will for sure be buying a second one eventually no mater what. At $599 you CANNOT go wrong with this genny!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good! This product was purchased to run a 6200-8000BTU AC window unit. It does great as long as you leave the auto idle off until the compressor kicks in. After settling down, you can turn the economy button on(auto idle) and this unit will run for 5-5.5 hrs. on .5 gal. of gasoline. I would recommend using alcohol free 93 octane gasoline if you can find. (NOTE: if the compressor kicks off then comes back on, the generator will not start the compressor motor once switched to economy mode, this is not a design flaw, just the motor cant rev. up fast enough from a near idle speed to generate the near triple wattage required to start the compressor. When the auto idle if off this is a non-issue.)
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product runs very well and is affordable I purchased this unit a few months back and after reading current negative reviews, I took the challenge. I started my unit for the first time today. After oil and gas filling, it took about nine easy pulls and voila! I added an extension cord with a multiple outlet strip including a TV, TV decoder, room air fan, another room fan, an electric clock, and a water kettle. This unit perked up with the use of water kettle; but after the water boiled, the unit calmed right down and continued to run all of those other appliances at a super quiet steady pace.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good little generator The reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because we haven't really given it the real test yet, only a test run. We purchased this for the boat. During the test run it was found to be much quieter than most generators, just like we had seen in other reviews. We liked that. It is also about the size of a medium-sized cooler, which is a plus when it comes to storing it on the boat. It did the job as far as running the coffee maker, microwave, etc. The only problem we had was the air conditioner kept tripping off after a few seconds. We don't believe it is a problem with the generator, but the AC. We will do further testing in that area. Other than that, we are very pleased with the product.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice unit except handle and wheels are just OK. I will start off with the negative and there is only one that I have found. Compared to the same size Honda that I have rented before, I thought the wheels would be a good thing...and, well, not so much. On flat smooth ground or pavement... they are great. Add in the retractable handle that is also just fine....and together they work, but again, just OK. There is no "rest" on the back of the generator so when you use the wheels and retractable handle, you cannot set the generator on the back side without scraping it. It does have two carry handles, one at at either end, and when compared to the Honda, I am mixed about it. I like the single handle on the Honda as I am more than strong enough to carry it that way...but then when trying to hoist it up into my truck bed... the two handles on the Ryobi make the task much easier. Carrying from place to place, I seem to prefer the single handle. Again, all small quibbles and simply personal preferences. Now with that out of the way... it runs fantastic. Buy a funnel that is long as filling the oil is a bit confined in the housing, but other than that--- added oil, gas, and gave it a couple of pulls and it fired right up. Surged a little for about 2-3 minutes and then settled out and ran smooth from that point on. Normal, expected, and no surprises. Break-in is important for any piece of equipment, especially engines and gearboxes. Since I knew my loads would be varied and not more than 2/3 its capacity at the max with it averaging about 1/3 its capacity... I just went straight to using it and considered a workday worth of use as break-in. One more day like that and I am going to change the oil and should be good to go. In the end for the amount that I will use it for what I need which includes remote power tool use, tailgating, and power outages where I want to hook up a refrigerator....it is perfect. I do have a larger 4500w generator... it is great, much louder, much heavier, and can power more.... but in the last 10-years I have used it a half dozen times. In those number of incidents, I would have been able to use one of these for more than half of them. If I didn't have my other one, I would buy a second one of these with the parallel kit.... would do what I need and be super portable to boot!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator at a good price Most people have had good luck with this generator. I must be one of them. It starts on the first or second pull. It is very quiet and compact. And I must add light in weight. The oil fill is not a big problem if you have a real funnel not the paper one that comes with the generator . I have had no leaks. Gas or oil, I think it's better to use Mobil one oil. Now the main thing is when you start the generator make sure the auto idle is off. That is very important ! After the generator is running then switch over to auto idle. In the past I have owned other small generators. Colman and Honda ........ And I like this ryobi For its features and ease of operation.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good-if it will start. I bought this to power a refrigerator on a boat trip. Started it several times prior to leaving with no problems. Ran it 3 hours to the first destination. Upon departure the next day the unit would not stay running. It would start for a second then stop. After 1/2 hour trying it finally stayed running. The next day the same scenario except it took almost 45 minutes to get it running. When operating performance was adequate. When I went to return it to the store after draining the gas, it started on the second pull. Bought a Honda.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2nd One- Both Leak Fuel This is a nice little unit- quiet and easy to use. They seem to have a chronic fuel leaking issue with these though. Bought the first one and got it home. Unpacked it and followed the instructions for initial start up- no problems there- fired right up and ran fine. The shut off for the unit is also the fuel shut-off. The next day my pole barn stunk of gas- it had leaked out about half the tank worth. Exchanged it for a new one the next day and this one also leaks fuel although not as bad. This one has leaked about a quarter cup in the past week- I've kept this one in my trailer on cardboard as to not have a repeat. I'll be returning this one as well- third times a charm hopefully!!
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't fix under warranty! Beware. Buy a Briggs&Stratton or Honda. I had to send the unit back several times and the last time they wouldn't fix it, still before the 3 year warranty. My friend also bought one and returned it a week later.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Has spent almost half of it's life in the shop I have had this generator for a little over a year now with it spending 6 months in the shop to replace the broken plastic cam gear that was on back order. Now it will not start again. We've only gotten use out of it 1 time when brand new, since then there has been one issue after another with it.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product exceeded my expectations. What a great addition to my north woods tools! Out of the box it was easy to set up and get running and has been exceeding all my expectations. Recently I needed to relocate my travel trailer (I call it my hunting shack, my wife calls it the mouse hotel) and needed to construct a semi-permanent roof to prevent leaking. The Riobi not only powered the saws I used to build the roof frame but it easily managed the operation of my heat gun I used to shrink wrap the poly cover for the roof. Now that the work is complete the generator is used to keep my trailer batteries fully charged and gives me the confidence that I can safely charge my personal electronics (lap top for work, cell phone and electronic book). This is a great tool and good value for the money!
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, quiet, solid I bought this portable gen set after doing considerable research of online owner experiences. I had the unit shipped to my home. It arrived well factory-packed in good condition. Initial setup took about five minutes. There is no primer bulb and the initial pulls draw in fuel for the first run. The motor started and ran smoothly after about a dozen short, light pulls. (Some credible online reviews warn against pulling the recoil cord to hard or too far!) So far the unit has been used half a dozen times for various jobs running outdoor power equipment. It's been perfect. It starts on the first or second pull. It's quiet enough to easily talk over. The materials and assembly are solid -- no lose parts, no rattles. The telescoping pull behind handle is ingenious, and it makes carting the unit around very convenient, although the built-in wheels should be larger. Construction of the pull handle feels very light and I think it will hold up only with gentle use. The carry grab handles are solid. This afternoon I will pick up another identical unit at the local HD, to run them in parallel. Have already sold my 7,500 watt generator, as it took up too much valuable space, and it was way too loud to use in a residential area. Two of the Ryobi units will store stacked in a corner of the shed. Nice that both together cost the same as one of the popular Honda or Yamaha gens. Recommended.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BAD BOY MACHINE THIS THING DOES THE JOB BUT USES A LOT OF GAS OTHERWISE A WINNER ! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quiet, runs great, started first pull bought for my 26' travel trailer, works great, it will even run the 15,000 btu central air conditioner, it powers a 24" led tv, dvd player, subwoofer , the refridgerator and the converter while only requireing about 570 watts(per my kilawatt meter)and it does this at idle! however, it will not power my 1000 watt microwave, I think the 1800 watts continuous is overrated, my buddys honda 2000 powers it just fine. I guess you pay for what you get,overall, I think quality is on par, if not better than the honda, and it is very quiet.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems to meed my needs I was looking for an alternative to paying over $1000 for a new lighter & quiet generator to use with our travel trailer to take instead of the 40 year old workhorse contractor generator I have been using. Based on reviews, both the good and the bad, I decided to give this one a try. I have found that Honda and Yamaha have their share of problems also, so I am of the mind that good prep of the generator before starting will help things along. I read that several people had issues with oil leaks and hard starting, so let me address those. Some of the boxes appeared that they had been dropped, so I picked on that was unmarked. Being dropped could crack the crankcase and cause an oil leak, so be careful there. I have my own method for starting a new small engine, which includes removing the spark plug, putting an ounce or so of oil into the cylinder and turn the engine over a few times without the spark plug in. On taking out the plug, I checked the gap and it was .21. The book calls for .30. If this was the case on other machines, this would account for hard starting and rough running. I have had neither problem since using the generator, and I suspect that it will run better when I replace the stock plug with an NGK or Autolite. The stock plug looks cheap, in my opinion, and cheap Chinese plugs tend to have an iron core than a copper core. Yes, I do know that NGK and Autolite have their names on plugs made in China, but they have copper cores. It makes a huge difference in spark quality. Next, get rid of the oil that comes with it, and go get a good synthetic oil in the proper weight to use in it. Only God knows where the oil in the box came from. I will also put a little two stroke oil in with the fuel for the first couple of tanks, but a small engine run for the first time can have the cylinder walls scored until the oil gets up there to lubricate. This helps, in my opinion. Reminder that the book says never to mix oil in the gas. I'm just an old guy that does things based on experience. As far as draining and refilling with oil, it's not any more difficult than other generators I have used or not any harder than changing the oil on your typical lawnmower. Another tip, when you are not going to use it for a while, meaning a couple of months or more, DRAIN THE FUEL AND RUN IT DRY! If you know it's going to be your last tank for a while, run it with some fuel stabilizer, but don't count on stabilizer to keep the fuel fresh for too long. I don't know how many times I have had people come to me and complain that they used a good fuel stabilizer in their stored engine. Maybe for a month or so, but with the quality of fuel we have to put up with these days, don't count on it. If you have bought the generator for an emergency, then store your fuel in a well sealed steel OSHA approved container and change that out every three months or so. It doesn't take that long to put fuel in the generator if you need it for emergency power. After using it now for a couple of trips, I find that it meets our needs and runs everything we need it to run. It will not run the roof - top air conditioner, but then again, we didn't buy it for that. Battery charging, microwaves, coffee pots, cooking appliances of all kinds if that's your thing, all good. I put a meter on the power output and it's clean and consistent at all power levels. It starts on the second or third pull when cold, first pull when warm, just remember to turn off the auto-idle function. Otherwise, it will take you several pulls to start it. You can re-engage it after it starts, however if you are going to use a high draw appliance, such as a microwave, it's better to turn off the auto - idle function before you do. I find that it is somewhat louder than a Honda and about the same as the Yamaha of the same output for similar loads, but it's much quieter than the non-inverter style of generators with similar loads. Walk a few feet away from it and you are unaware of it. I gave it only a 3 star rating, because with a generator with a name brand on it, you shouldn't have to re-gap the plug to get it to start and run well and have to buy a good quality oil to put in it. It would probably help to have an NGK plug from the factory. It would cost an extra buck?? I realize this is made in China for Ryobi, but if you have any pride in your name, you should show it a little better.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6 day power outage!!! worked flawless I do not write many reviews but this little generator demands it. I live in Oklahoma and we recently had an Ice storm that took our our power for 6 days. I bought this generator to keep in my travel trailer for camping in places that do not have power, it is light weight, simple and totally enclosed. It is super quite and starts on the second pull. I loved everything about it, then the power went out. I grabbed the generator and started plugging stuff in. Not sure i am suppose to but I was in a bind so I started plugging stuff in. It ran my refrigerator, freezer, 50" tv, fan and chargers. When we cooked we unplugged the fridge and plugged in the griddle for cooking. this thing ran for 6 days, i changed the oil one time ( because you are suppose to change it every 100 hours) and that was super simple. But here is the best part I would dare to guess but I bet i did not run through 4 gallons of gas. this thing will run on 1/4 gallon of gas forever.. It would run 6-7 hours per tank with the Idle switch on. it would idle up when the fridge kicked on and then return to idle. I really cannot say enough about this little generator. Flawless start to finish, light, love the handle and wheels... seems like no matter how hard you try you always overfill it , well they covered that also with the overfill pocket at the top. the cap is attached so you cannot lose it, the muffler enclosed and quite. rolls easy, change the oil easy.. whoever designed it has used one in the dark covered in ice and frozen... Buy it!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tailgate option! Went looking for a small portable generator that wouldn't irritate all the other tailgaters in our area. The best option? Honda. That's a lot of money for a generator that gets used 6-8 times a year. Came across a review of this Ryobi and decided to give it a shot. It ran all day powering a 37" TV, 2 crock pots and all our phones/accessories and never once did i hear it. And we still had gas in the tank at the end of the day. Overall very happy with the purchase. if you need a small portable quite generator give this guy a shot. i think you you'll be happy to.
Date published: 2014-09-23
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_460
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 161ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT