Model # RYI2200

Internet #203617901

Store SKU #1000026167

Ryobi 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
0046396001924

Ryobi

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

When you need power at the jobsite, at home, or for recreational use, the Ryobi 2,200-Watt Inverter Generator is ready with clean, quiet power for any occasion. Designed with an extra quiet engine, this inverter is whisper quiet and offers 2,200 Starting Watt/1,800 Running Watt and is completely safe for even the most sensitive electronics. Plus, this portable inverter is parallel-kit capable, so for larger power demands you can link 2 Ryobi Inverters together for twice the power. This Inverter also features idle-down technology for better fuel efficiency and rear wheels with extending handle to make transport a breeze. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this Inverter is guaranteed to perform.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 2,200 starting watt, 1,800 running watt
  • 8.67 hours run time at 450-Watt and 5.6 hours at 900-Watt
  • 106cc OHC, 4-cycle engine
  • Super quiet: quieter than a conversation
  • Clean power: safe for sensitive electronics
  • Fuel efficient: auto-idle fuel-saving technology
  • Two 120-Volt outlets and one 12-Volt outlet
  • Parallel kit capable: connect 2 for twice the power
  • Portable: extendable handle and wheels for easy transport
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Ryobi Generator features:

    Ryobi 2,200-Watt Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

133 Questions502 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
1 answer

Type of oil, and number, 30?

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2016
Example: I have looked at the manual and can't figure out what I did wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
St. Louis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 30, 2016
Answer: 
10W-30 oil is packed with new generators, that's what I used.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

How many dbs

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
St. Louis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 30, 2016
Answer: 
Very low. Even at maximum load the noise level doesn't interrupt a normal conversation when standing next to the generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 29, 2016
Answer: 
This product has a 63 decibel noise level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Grey & Green models ?

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2016
What's the difference between the grey and green models ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
St. Louis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 29, 2016
Answer: 
If you would read all of the questions and answers you'll find this question answered several times.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2016
Answer: 
I don't think there is any diffeeence it's just a model change ..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can I turn the generator over to drain the gas tank without damage to it...

This question is from 2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator
Asked by
Marietta Ga.
Read all my Q&A
October 18, 2016
I need to empty the gas tank and replace with fresh fuel....What is the best and least damaging way to do this ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
La Vista, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 18, 2016
Answer: 
What I did was add in a fuel shutoff valve to the fuel line leading to the carb. Really easy. If you wanted to drain it pull the fuel line off the carb and drain it that way then add a fuel shutoff valve. That way I can run the carb dry before putting it away for the winter.
If you do want to dump it on it's side I would strongly recommend draining the oil first.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Midland MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 18, 2016
Answer: 
Twempster, I think you will be alright tilting the generator on its side to empty your tank. I do the same at the end of the race season to lessen the amount of fuel in it for storage. You may loose some oil at the vent but it won't be much. Let the generator sit for a bit and check the oil level prior to starting it up. I hope this will help you out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • 2016-10-31 T01:43:18.131-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203617901, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

2,200-Watt Green Gasoline Powered Digital Inverter Generator is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 458.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sorry it has been raining, and I haven´t had the time to use the generator, other than breaking i... Sorry it has been raining, and I haven´t had the time to use the generator, other than breaking it in, and changing the oil.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perform flawless. Open box and followed instructions and generator started as described in the manual. Ran very quiet and performed flawless.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have one and the service it excellent and run for a long time and never have a problem. Excellent choice.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight and easy to move and start. Not as quite as I was hoping, but got the needed job done. Lightweight and easy to move and start. Not as quite as I was hoping, but got the needed job done.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I purchased this generator to use at my house as a back up power supply for the bare minimum if we ever lost power for an extended period of time. When I initially unboxed it, I followed the directions and it started and ran as expected. I use the Honda variant at work daily, they work excellent and start first pull every time. This one took a few pulls to start. Not very concerned about that. What I am concerned about is the fact that 46 days after I purchased this, is it began leaking fuel from one of the lower connections. I took it apart and there is a plastic box tee that the supply fuel and return fuel line connect to. Then, there is a third tee that is hooked up to nothing. I have run this generator 3 times. The first time to break it in per directions. The second time was just to run it. The third was again, just to run it. The third time after running it and letting it sit before putting it away, I came back to find a puddle of fuel under it. I have followed all directions to a tee. I will be returning this, probably with issues especially after the 30-day window. But as far as I am concerned this is a piece of garbage and should not have these issues after less than 60 days.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product perfect for offsite jobs. The noise level much less then a typical generator. Great product perfect for offsite jobs. The noise level much less then a typical generator.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased It's a good little generator. I am very pleased and content with this purchase. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great performance Excellent performance. Gas tank las 8 hours powering refrigerator. lights and two fans
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start. Very quite. Fraction of the price of the quite red one. Easy to start. Very quite. Fraction of the price of the quite red one.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy!! Nice for tailgating sporting events, camping or around to house!
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great camping generator Easy to operate great price and fast shipping. Great design
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi 2200 WTT generator Works good. Fired right up. Hope it lasts. Could be quieter
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent Is an exellent equipment, light, low noise and powerfull.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars Light weight and runs my 18 ft camper ac with no problems
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Generator Until today 10 hrs of use and no problemas with it use.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact, easy to store. Quite and does what I need. Compact, easy to store. Quite and does what I need.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD BUT HAS PROBLEMS Have had 4 replacement generator in 2 yrs.........
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Product! Easy to use. Excelent Product! Easy to use.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! Awesome for the price!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied! Very satisfied!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very convenient very convenient
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked fine worked fine
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator! Picked up one of these last week for running/charging the electronics on my ice castle. Brought it home, took it out of the box and was instantly impressed with the overall look, weight, and setup of the whole unit. Put the provided oil in it, and ran it at about 50% load for three hours for break in, then changed the oil out, and replaced. The next day I brought it out to the ice! I ran all of my lights, the Tv, the heater, charged the battery and even a crock pot all while it stayed on a low enough idle that it couldn't be heard over the heater blower motor even though the generator was just 25' away! Had it out all day long with -10 to -20 below wind chill with absolutely no issues at all. Let it run for about 6 hours while running all aforementioned electronics before it ran out of gas, ran outside, filled it back up, and it fired right off again on the second pull! So far I couldn't be happier with this generator with about 12 hours use out of it so far. I've got numerous other friends researching different units as well and I will be inviting them out to see this in use and talking them in to buying their own for their own castles/work needs. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for a good deal on another one, but will for sure be buying a second one eventually no mater what. At $599 you CANNOT go wrong with this genny!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good! This product was purchased to run a 6200-8000BTU AC window unit. It does great as long as you leave the auto idle off until the compressor kicks in. After settling down, you can turn the economy button on(auto idle) and this unit will run for 5-5.5 hrs. on .5 gal. of gasoline. I would recommend using alcohol free 93 octane gasoline if you can find. (NOTE: if the compressor kicks off then comes back on, the generator will not start the compressor motor once switched to economy mode, this is not a design flaw, just the motor cant rev. up fast enough from a near idle speed to generate the near triple wattage required to start the compressor. When the auto idle if off this is a non-issue.)
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product runs very well and is affordable I purchased this unit a few months back and after reading current negative reviews, I took the challenge. I started my unit for the first time today. After oil and gas filling, it took about nine easy pulls and voila! I added an extension cord with a multiple outlet strip including a TV, TV decoder, room air fan, another room fan, an electric clock, and a water kettle. This unit perked up with the use of water kettle; but after the water boiled, the unit calmed right down and continued to run all of those other appliances at a super quiet steady pace.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good little generator The reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because we haven't really given it the real test yet, only a test run. We purchased this for the boat. During the test run it was found to be much quieter than most generators, just like we had seen in other reviews. We liked that. It is also about the size of a medium-sized cooler, which is a plus when it comes to storing it on the boat. It did the job as far as running the coffee maker, microwave, etc. The only problem we had was the air conditioner kept tripping off after a few seconds. We don't believe it is a problem with the generator, but the AC. We will do further testing in that area. Other than that, we are very pleased with the product.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice unit except handle and wheels are just OK. I will start off with the negative and there is only one that I have found. Compared to the same size Honda that I have rented before, I thought the wheels would be a good thing...and, well, not so much. On flat smooth ground or pavement... they are great. Add in the retractable handle that is also just fine....and together they work, but again, just OK. There is no "rest" on the back of the generator so when you use the wheels and retractable handle, you cannot set the generator on the back side without scraping it. It does have two carry handles, one at at either end, and when compared to the Honda, I am mixed about it. I like the single handle on the Honda as I am more than strong enough to carry it that way...but then when trying to hoist it up into my truck bed... the two handles on the Ryobi make the task much easier. Carrying from place to place, I seem to prefer the single handle. Again, all small quibbles and simply personal preferences. Now with that out of the way... it runs fantastic. Buy a funnel that is long as filling the oil is a bit confined in the housing, but other than that--- added oil, gas, and gave it a couple of pulls and it fired right up. Surged a little for about 2-3 minutes and then settled out and ran smooth from that point on. Normal, expected, and no surprises. Break-in is important for any piece of equipment, especially engines and gearboxes. Since I knew my loads would be varied and not more than 2/3 its capacity at the max with it averaging about 1/3 its capacity... I just went straight to using it and considered a workday worth of use as break-in. One more day like that and I am going to change the oil and should be good to go. In the end for the amount that I will use it for what I need which includes remote power tool use, tailgating, and power outages where I want to hook up a refrigerator....it is perfect. I do have a larger 4500w generator... it is great, much louder, much heavier, and can power more.... but in the last 10-years I have used it a half dozen times. In those number of incidents, I would have been able to use one of these for more than half of them. If I didn't have my other one, I would buy a second one of these with the parallel kit.... would do what I need and be super portable to boot!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator at a good price Most people have had good luck with this generator. I must be one of them. It starts on the first or second pull. It is very quiet and compact. And I must add light in weight. The oil fill is not a big problem if you have a real funnel not the paper one that comes with the generator . I have had no leaks. Gas or oil, I think it's better to use Mobil one oil. Now the main thing is when you start the generator make sure the auto idle is off. That is very important ! After the generator is running then switch over to auto idle. In the past I have owned other small generators. Colman and Honda ........ And I like this ryobi For its features and ease of operation.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If they had an hour meter installed.... Bought two of these, one in Nov 2014 and one in Spring 2015. We use theses professionally on construction sites. If they had an hour meter they would probably be 500-700 hours each. Not one issue with either one. They guys love them, easy to carry, quiet and powerful. Nothing but good to say about these units. I would buy another without hesitation.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product exceeded my expectations. What a great addition to my north woods tools! Out of the box it was easy to set up and get running and has been exceeding all my expectations. Recently I needed to relocate my travel trailer (I call it my hunting shack, my wife calls it the mouse hotel) and needed to construct a semi-permanent roof to prevent leaking. The Riobi not only powered the saws I used to build the roof frame but it easily managed the operation of my heat gun I used to shrink wrap the poly cover for the roof. Now that the work is complete the generator is used to keep my trailer batteries fully charged and gives me the confidence that I can safely charge my personal electronics (lap top for work, cell phone and electronic book). This is a great tool and good value for the money!
Date published: 2013-12-10
  • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_458
  • loc_, sid_203617901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT