Ryobi 2.5-Amp Band Saw-BS904 - The Home Depot
Discontinued

Ryobi

Model # BS904

Internet # 100593258

Store SKU # 496766

2.5-Amp Band Saw


Ryobi 2.5-Amp Band Saw
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$129.00 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # BS904

Internet # 100593258

Store SKU # 496766

This Ryobi band saw was designed for a variety of woodworking applications. It features a blade-tracking window for greater accuracy and a rack and pinion blade support adjustment system. It's also equipped with a built-in dust collection port and engineered for reduced vibration.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.)  31.3 in  Assembled Height (in.)  29 in 
Assembled Width (in.)  17.4 in  Cutting Capacity Height / Height under Guide (In.)  3.5 
Dust Port Size (In.)  2.25  Maximum Blade Length  62 
Maximum Blade Width  0.25 In.  Minimum Blade Width  .025 In. 
Product Depth (in.)  31.3  Product Height (in.)  12 
Product Width (in.)  17.4  Table Length (in.)  14.75 
Table Width (in.)  11.75 
Details
Amperage (amps)  2.5  Bench & Stationary Tool Type  Band Saw 
Bench or Stationary  Bench  Color Family  Blue 
Cord Length (ft.)  Depth of Cut  3.5 
Dust Blower  No  Dust Collection Method  None 
Horsepower (hp)  1 hp  Maximum Speed (rpm)  3000 
No Tool Blade Change  Yes  Power Tool Product Type  Bench & Stationary 
Product Weight (lb.)  44.17 lb  Quick-Release Tension  Yes 
Reconditioned  No  Returnable  90-Day 
Table Tile Left Max (degrees)  Table Tile Right Max (degrees)  45 
Table-Top Material  Aluminum  Tools Product Type  Power Tool 
Voltage (volts)  110 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings  1-UL Listed  Manufacturer Warranty  3 Year 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great value and good features I bought this saw to be used in my basement work shop. It took me a while to adjust the blade and roller bearings but once I had it adjusted to the manufacture's specs it works great. Cuts staight if you have it adjusted right. I will try to adapt a fence. The light is a good idea. This is not a professional model but for a beginner it is well worth the money. December 23, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good saw for the money! I bought one of these a few years back (for the price) and was surprised at how well it operated. It did require some tweeking before getting to work with it and a bit during the running/ working with it. I do quite a bit of woodworking, nic-nacs, furniture, dressers, wall decor, etc... but after doing some necessary adjustments, worked great for me. The blade issues, yea, it's hard to find GOOD blades but, knowing this don't force your cuts, let the saw do the work. I'm now in need of another saw. (sold last one, moved) I will be getting another one of these for sure. More bang for your buck! November 2, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, fussy to adjust The only reason I could justify getting such a cheap bandsaw was the low price and because it had several features I liked: The integral light, extension table, tension release lever and the miter gauge. I did not expect the tool to be superb at this price point. As expected, it was tedious to set up. After about an hour of fiddling, I got the table square to the blade, the wheels co-planer, the tracking straight, the guide-bearings adjusted and the slop out of the miter-gauge. The biggest hassle was adjusting the bearings and getting the wheels co-planer. The blade was not good, so i replaced it with a Morse blade from another store. Once that was installed and I stoned the edges to remove uneven set, I started making test cuts. Surprise! If you know how to set up this little toy, it cuts surprisingly well! obviously, it won't do an heavy re-sawing, but i can get wander-free cuts, right to my layout lines every time. When i cut softwoods, it is smooth. Hardwoods take more effort, and the slight imbalanced of the wheels and drive belt show up. The saw shakes more than is acceptable. i solved that by bolting the saw to a massive table, and tightening every bolt, screw and nut on the machine. The motor mounts are especially vulnerable to vibration-loosening, so I used lock-tite on those. Bottom line... After all the hassle to get this thing tuned-up, it works well, but i would only recommend it to someone who knows how to adjust bandsaws and is very very patient. December 22, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed in service and replacement parts availablity BS902 ; the first one before BS904, parts not available for replacements with no subs for blade guide. they never return my e-mail. the upper blade guide broke and was replaced last year but now the upper or lower blade guides are not available. looks like i got a $129.00 anchor for my boat. will they quit making replacement parts anymore? most of my power tools are Ryobi because of Rigid Tool makes them but not the warranty or replacement parts, December 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works great, easy to use and doesn't take much space Very good for the price. I use it for light work, mostly cutting masonite for painting panels and does a very good job. Was skeptical at first, don't usually buy any tool made from China, but for the money where else would it be made. I had a large band saw for many years so I knew how to make all the necessary adjustment to make it run correctly. If the motor seems to run or sound like its not up to speed you probably have the tension on the blade to tight. Once I loosened it up a bit it runs at full speed. If you never had a band saw it helps if you have a friend that does have one to help make all the adjustments. You have to have all the adjustments correct or it won't run well. Good buy for light work. March 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value For the price you can't beat this saw. Requires very little assembly and setup. Blade tracking was dead on right out of the box. However there is one issue with this saw. In the description, it states that the saw comes with a rip fence. It does not. I did a little research and discovered that Ryobi makes 2 versions of this band saw. The RS903 and RS902. This is the RS903 model. The RS903 model comes with the work light and table extension. The RS902 comes with the rip fence but not the work light and table extension. A previous reviewer said he was having trouble finding a fence for this saw. All you have to do is go to Ryobi's website and go to the parts section and look up parts and accessories for the RS902 model. There you can easily purchase the rip fence assembly as I did. Hopefully Home Depot will correct this on their website. August 31, 2008
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is NOT Plug and Play....great after you truly understand this. At first I was disappointed after trying this bandsaw out... But after a YouTube video or two and finding out how to CORRECTLY tighten and align the bearing guides and stuff now there is no wobble and cuts surprisingly straight lines. Very happy with this bandsaw now and the price beats out any other one i looked at. Make sure the upper and lower bearings are tightened and not quite touching the blade but should hold a piece of paper between them.... October 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value I researched these quite a bit before buying a table top band saw for a school project for my son. I highly recommend this one. It sets up easily and worked great as I cut out 30 blanks from 3/4" white pine. The pattern was pretty intricate and it handled it well. No problems with tension or tracking. Great little unit. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great saw The Ryobi 2.5Amp Band Saw is a great saw. It's easy to use. The bendable work light helps make precision cuts. I'm sure I will be using it for many projects. I feel it is a very safe saw with great features. I have had mine for a couple of years now and I purchased this one as a gift for my son. March 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Little Unit I was skeptical about the quality and performance of this saw before I bought it, basing my assessment upon some of the reviews I saw of it. I needed a small, light-duty saw to replace an old Delta bench top unit that had served me pretty well for years. I work with hand tools, so most of my curved work can be done with my bow saw, so I wasn't looking for a Jet-quality saw, just an adjunct for repetitive work. I was enticed by the price, which is probably about the lowest on the market. I really didn't have high hopes for the saw at all when I saw the plastic front panel and chintzy- looking clips that hold the front in place. After a few minor adjustments, I had the saw up and running about as well as I could expect it to ever run, so I tried it out on some 4/4 rock maple, cutting a contoured shape and it sliced through it without hesitation. I next tried some 8/4 cherry scraps. The going was a little slower than with the rock maple, but the saw made it through the cuts without any significant problems. If you want to get into re-sawing or cutting anything thicker and harder, I suggest you look for a higher-priced saw with more power and capacity, but since that is beyond the scope of what I do, I am just fine with this little saw. If you're looking for a small bench top unit that is easy to adjust and tune, I would recommend this saw, largely for the low price and the performance. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value my needs are light so this one fit the bill. A good combination of value for the money. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw I read the review about the table not level, it comes with a stop screw that has to be adjusted to make it level, also the saw came with a guide that the last review said it didn't come with? Paid for it's self with one use. May 18, 2008
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great quality and value I read several reviews on this product, and they were mostly positive. The main comment was that you needed to take your time configuring the tension and aligning the blade in order for it to perform well. That is what I did, and they were right. It works like a charm. I am very pleased. October 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Works OK but too much vibration First of all... despite the fact that the description on the HD website mentions a rip fence, THERE IS NO RIP FENCE WITH THIS SAW. In fact, my local HD where I bought this had a rip fence on the display model so I was really surprised when I got it home and discovered it didn't come with one. As others have mentioned, you MUST take time to get the blade aligned properly and, VERY IMPORTANTLY, get the thrust bearing and side bearings set properly on both the upper and lower blade guides. And the settings for these vary with the width of blade (I put on an 1/8" rather than the 1/4" that it came with) so you will have to readjust the guides if you change blades. My biggest complaint about the saw is that when running it vibrates much more than I was expecting. I'm assuming it's caused by one of the pulleys being either out of balance or out of round. Regardless the reason, there's a decent bit of vibration when it's running. For what I paid for it I'm not completely dissatisfied but was hoping for better. July 7, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw for small jobs I have owned larger Delta band saws and this one works really good for the price. I needed a smaller saw. It is not a $700 saw but it works great for smaller jobs. The dust collection port works. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD FOR THE PRICE NICE SAW EXCEPT FOR THE 62 IN BLADE SHOULD HAVE BEEN MADE 59 1/2 TRY TO FIND 62 IN BLADES FOUND ONE ON LINE 3/8 X6 TOOTH NOT THE BEST August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great saw for the price with the right blade for your application, this saw cant be beat for the price, great for thin metal and wood, not recommended for cutting 2x4's July 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Price, BUT NOT WORTH THE MONEY First I'd like to say, I'm not a professional woodworker but I’m not an amateur either. Before I moved I had a used full size bandsaw. It could cut anything I threw at it. When I started making hardwood bowls (the kind you use a pattern and a router to cut out the inside) I needed a bandsaw. Money was tight and I saw this bandsaw at Home Depot. The specs seemed to fit my needs so I purchased it, mainly at least a 3” deep cut (as in how thick a cut). My first unit would not “track” and jammed up from the start. Within 30-35 mins of using it the drive belt was tore up. I got a 2nd unit. I was able to finally get this unit adjusted. I was able to cut the outside of 2 entire bowls (about 12” in diameter and 2.75” deep, made of Birch plywood) before it started to give me problems. Now, I can’t cut more than 1/8” into a bowl without the motor quiting. I then have to “back out” and go forward again. My “feed rate” is VERY slow. I don’t know what to do now. I’m about to give up on this bandsaw and start saving up money for a real bandsaw. Overall, if you are only cutting soft wood and NOT very thick, it should be worth the money. BUT if you plan to do anything more, DON’T BUY THIS BANDSAW. February 21, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This is not the band saw you are looking for Read carefully... 2.5 AMPS! not horsepower. So looking at the 2.5 it looks like a monster of a deal, but who the heck rates their bandsaw in amps?!? Someone who doesn't want to tell you the horsepower of their product. With that said, this saw is cheap and will work well for little hobby projects. But if you are looking into any thick or hard to cut material, better come up with some more $$$ to get a heavier saw. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 good value for the money I purchased this tool today.It was a reconditioned unit,which had seen some store use.After cleaning it up,it ran well..other than the dull blade.The store sold me a new one at a 10% discount.It cuts well on small non ferrous materials,as well as wood.I made my own rip fence,as one is not provided. June 3, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not very straight this is an overall good machine for its price.i have only had a few troubles with it.one has been the blade always running off to the right but its easy to run off with it to still follow your lines. but also the work table is just a td slanted at zero and it wont let u turn it any further so all of your cuts are beveled at about 2 degrees. also i am having a very hard time finding a fence for it when the one in the store showed that it had a fence when it is actually an accesory. April 27, 2008
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smooth. Easy. I was cutting my guitar shape with in mins of opening. I wish the blade could be smaller but I knew 1/4 was it when I bought it. I'm happy. February 15, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Quality I have bought other Ryobi power tools in the past and had no issue so I was surprised when I bought this one. I bought this saw because of the price and also it was the only one offered at the store. If I would have known about the poor quality and the problems the machine has, I would have looked around for a better quality unit. The original one I bought had a broken saw wheel tire which made the unit useless. I exchanged it for a second one (the one I kept) and it is unbalanced and vibrates when running. Because of this vibration, it makes it very difficult to cut a straight line much less cutting different shapes... I use my jig-saw more for shape cutting and a powered hand saw to cut straight lines... Also it does not come with a fence, Ryobi sell one on their web site. I bought one with hopes that it will help but with the vibrations the machine produces, I have better luck eye balling my cut then using the fence... When I can afford a better one, I will replace it. Be cautious when looking for a good band saw, I think you would be better off paying a little more for a better unit. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a really good product For the price, this was a pretty good buy. The only problem I had was with the guide. The plate is made of aluminum and a groove is provided for a guide. The piece of the guide, also made of aluminum, that slides inside the groove is too tight of a fit, so the slide does not move fluidly. Also, that entire piece is junky. But other than that, the bandsaw is constructed well. It is very portable. I really like it and am very pleased with the purchase. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful tool I bought this saw for instrument building ect, if you take the time to set it up correctly it will work GREAT ! I expect it to last a long time. October 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Blade guide adjustment inadequate This BS903 is a feature-rich, quality product for the price, but it is completely unusable. The saw I purchased does not allow adjustment of the blade guides sufficient to allow any sort of useful curved cut, even in the thinnest stock. I have been a band saw user for over 30 years - that is to say, I know my way around a band saw. My next step is to find one set up somewhere that actually works, then contact Ryobi if I find a significant variance to get replacement parts - if available. I like my other Ryobi brand tools. January 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by What a total piece of junk. Total junk toy. This thing wobbles and shimmies like nothing i've ever seen. All band saws i've ever used wobble a little, but this thing is terrible. I bought the first and it wobbled so bad it was totally unusable. I returned it and got another. Same problem, but intermittent! So i took it apart. The root of the issue is the pulley gear on the motor shaft. It's grossly milled / filed on. The shaft is filed down to get the keyed gear/pulley onto the shaft. The gear doesn't seat flat and no matter what you do, it will never be flat. I filed the nasty bits down as much as i could, but it never was flat enough. If you take too much off, the gear will not snug onto the shaft since a screw holds it onto the shaft. And the screw hole was not tapped anywhere close to center, so more out of balance there. The wheels were okay, nothing special. They did not appear balanced as they wobbled a little during free hand spinning as well. The table top was gritty and not flat out of the box both times, but okay enough for something this cheap. The miter guage is laughable. I don't know why they even throw it in the box. If you want a small band saw, go to Craftsman brand. The 9" is much better quality, but still chinsey. The 10" is much higher quality and is serving me well after several months of weekly use and only costs a little more. There seem to be many people who have had some good times with this. I don't see how. The floor model and the 2 i owned all have the same issue. The design is totally flawed. By the way, this is the same manufacturer as every other 9" band saw on the market... Skil, Harbor Freight, and others, even the 'good' brands. The only exception i found was the Craftsman 9", which seemed to have the same main parts, but a different pully system. These are all junk. Just stay away. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I really like my bandsaw Worked straight out of the box. Still learning about bandsaws. My husband has a big one, the little one is perfect for me. SAFETY is IMPORTANT> May 28, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THE RYOBI 9 in BAND SAW GOOD QUALITY LIKE MY OTHER 6 RYOBI TOOLS TOOK THE TIME TO SET UP THE SAW PER THE MANUAL AND THE SAW WORKS EXCELLENT February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good little hobby band saw. I purchased the band saw because I have four children in the church AWANA program. One of their activities was a Pinewood Derby where they race homemade cars down an incline. The kit provided is a block of wood, axle pins, and wheels. It is up to the child (read father) to fabricate a race car. The Ryobi was easy to set up and operate. I had all four cars cut into shape in less than an hour. The setup instructions are not 'step-by-step', but after a few readings I was able to get the band saw operating. April 1, 2014
  • 2015-03-31T11:30:26.894-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_114, tr_114
  • loc_en_US, sid_100593258, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Store Exclusive. This item is available for purchase in select stores only.