0046396490346

Suggested Replacement

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Electric Lawn Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery
  • Ryobi
  • Model RY40180
  • Internet # 206481611
  • Store SKU #1002078743

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Electric Lawn Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery

$299.00 /each

Compare to Discontinued Model View Product

Discontinued Model

Discontinued

Ryobi

Model RY14110A

Internet #202042176

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Removable and rechargeable 48-Volt battery for convenience
  • Rear-wheel drive reduces fatigue while mowing
  • 20 in. cutting path offers optimal mowing
  • 1-1/2 - 4 in. adjustable height for a manicured lawn
  • Side and rear discharge and mulch options meet your seasonal needs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

1 Question1 Answer

Customer Questions & Answers

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
This question is from 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
 
1 answer

where can i get a charger at for my ryobi self propell lawn mower 48v iran over mine

This question is from 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Asked by
pennsauken nj
Read all my Q&A
April 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

April 28, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Oscar! This battery can be purchased from homedepot.com only. The Model # is OP401A.
Thanks for your question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-09-08 T13:09:25.489-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202042176, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 461 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice concept, poor execution Loved it at first - quiet, no bad smell, no vibration. The self-propel was grabby & too fast for me. battery lasted long enough to get either front or back yard (not both) couldn't buy an extra one at that time. It was like vacuuming the lawn. The foam handle cover tore off within the first couple uses (I duct-taped it). after a while, the battey would not charge enough to complete the yard. The self-propel function stopped working. Grass packed up around the drive belt & was hard to clean off. then the batter leaked. took it to Home Depot this past Monday, they sent it to the local authorized service shop. not having fun with this... February 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This mower exceeds expectations I am female, a senior, and have a double city lot to mow. I have owned many gas powered mowers. With some reservations, I purchased this product. What a terrific investment. The lever that easily elevates all four wheels allows one to quick cut higher grass. Then, quickly detail the cut, if necessary. Follow directions and this mower purrs. There is no single detail I would wished changed. The blade cuts cleanly; the battery charges efficiently; the charge holds well. Patience in removing the key, which I always do, provides easy start up. 'Strain' the cut, if grass is too high ( 8" ) and the fuse trips. Great! Raise the wheels and go! Highly recommend! August 18, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great looking machine. I ordered this lawnmower on in April. When I unpacked it, the fuse key (which starts the mower) was missing, as well as the mulcher. There was no owner manual enclose nor were there any warranty papers enclosed. I contacted Home Depot about the missing parts and received them on May 19. I read the instructions, tried to charge the battery but as per the manual, didn't get a "red light" when the battery was charging; rather, got a green light - and the battery didn't charge. I called the manufacturer and was told that I had 30 day to return it; Well - by the time I got all the parts, today is day 30; but you can bet I'm returning it tonight. Never used it. May 20, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An average product The self-propelled is great when up hill, but there is no speed control. I bought 1st one it is too fast, I bought 2nd one, it is too slow. I broke the 1st one after the blade incidentally chopped an iron pipe cover on ground. After a year or two, you need to buy a new battery. Each time you buy new battery, it come with new charger. Now I have two set of them. The battery is heavy, 45 lbs. the machine is also 45 lbs., so total is 90 lbs. With full charge, it only last less than a hour, not enough for my 0.25 acre lawn, so it is good to have 2 sets of battery. You can easily change a new blade by yourself. May 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Battery died after 9 months of use- bad customer service at Ryobi We live in Oregon & only use this mower from June-ish-Sept...we keep it indoors and maintain it meticulously. The mower worked great up until the battery completely died. I called the Ryobi customer service dept which proved to be completely unhelpful and just downright frustrating. They didn't seem to care at all and just directed me to buy a new battery. Why would I want to buy a new battery (when it costs half as much as a new mower) when there isn't a guarantee that it will last a while? So now i'm stuck with a bad taste in my mouth about Ryobi and unsightly long grass in the middle of summer. Time to switch brands... August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Battery Failure Purchased this mower in the spring of 2011. Worked reasonably well for the first summer - squeaky wheels, very heavy to push, porr "suction" of fine grass - had to run over some spots 3 times. Battery stored over the winter as per directions - inside, charged regularly. Battery died July of 2012; battery warranty is only 1 year. Replacement cost nearly the cost of the mower. Have replaced with a gas mower which I should have bought in the first place. Would not recommend this product under any circumstance!!! October 6, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ryobi 48v self propell lawn mower I just bought this lawn mower last week and for a battery operated lawn mower it performed well. I have a 1/4 acre lot and I mowed my front and back yard with a single charge and with one led power light left.It charges pretty quickly and if I can get a couple of years off this lawn mower I will buy another one. Pros, no gas or oil smell, the self propell works better than my gas one except it might be a little to strong as when you turn it on it kicks hard. Cons, cannot cut on the lower setting which I do not use but try to to adjust my height of my grass because it sinks down into the grass do to the weight of the battery. The shipping weight was 150 lbs. September 18, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase I'm impressed! Easy set up. Charged the battery overnight and put the mower to work. Cut a fairly tall and dense lawn cleanly and efficiently. My lawn is about 1/3 of an acre and quite hilly. I was able to finish half of the lawn on the initial charge; then finished the next day after recharging. The next week I completed 2/3 of the lawn with a full charge. I'll be interested in seeing whether the run time will crank up a bit more but at my age having the self-propelled feature, mulching and the ease of operation are acceptable trade-offs for splitting the task into two sessions. The 45 volt battery seems to provide plenty of power to handle my mowing needs. May 1, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Heavy weight, low battery life Battery life diminished significantly within a month of use to only 2/3 original capacity. We had to purchase a second battery to accommodate our lawn, which could be mowed with one charge of one battery when we first got the mower. Trying to extend battery life by not using self propelled feature not an option due to the overall weight of machine. Needs a better battery! We also had a screw fall off while mowing, so the drive belt slipped off it's pulley, necessitating a replacement screw be found. We are just waiting for it to fully fall apart, or the second battery to fail to abandon the electric market and go back to gas. August 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This electric mower works well! This is my second electiric lawnmower and I like the Ryobi better than the first one I had. It is easy to charge and I can mow my entire yard in about 40 minutes and there is still battery power left. I have a slight rise in the front yard and it easily handles it. When engaging the self propel feature, it sometimes tends to jerk or pull but settles in quickly -- sometimes I think it could be me. The self propel feature sets an easy pace to walk with. One of my neighbors has watched me with it and just ordered one. I have only used it five times, but so far am extremely pleased with its mowing and handling. I am a 61 year old who enjoys doing her own yard work. June 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Mower I purchased this as a gift for my Father who didn't want to mess with gas or electrical cords for mowing his yard. He loves this mower so much that he went out and bought the Cordless Weed Trimmer the next week. The rear wheel drive is a bit of an adjustment after years of front wheel drive mowers, but once you get the hang of that, it's really easy to control. I was concerned about the weight that the battery might add, but this is not noticable while mowing. It feels like a Gas mower when you are driving it around the yard. The Cut is great as well. Pleanty of power. After using it once myself, I think it has more cutting power than my 5 year old gas mower. July 9, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by battery life I have used this mower twice and both times the battery expired within 20 minutes. I have a small yard and expected to get it done on one charge. It will take at least three charges, which is a lot of time. It uses a lot of power in self propel mode and is difficult to manage if you have a lot of shrubs and trees in your yard. After about 10 minutes as the power winds down the mower becomes tamer. It is quiet and cuts well during the short time that it worked. They say that the battery will last longer after three or four charges...I hope so. If not I will seek a refund or credit on this unit because it is not as advertised. April 30, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What is taking so long for batteries to come in?! It looks as though I am in the same boat as some others when it comes to the battery. I bought the mower in Mar 11 and the battery charger ended up being defective and caused the battery to become defective. I've been waiting for about 6 weeks now and Ryobi said its going to be another 3 weeks. Not happy at all. Was happy at first but how can I be happy now when I can't even use it? I do love all their the other Ryobi products especially the One + system so the lawn owner debacle will not deter me from buying more Ryobi products. I do believe Ryobi needs to compensate us for our inconvenience. A free tool or something. November 8, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mower of the future Decided to get this based on several independent reviews. Plus- lower noise (neighbors report), no smoke or oil pollution, low electric cost, cuts grass, sticks and anything else on the ground, battery removable, one handle to adjust the cutting height, self propelled & one hand control. Minus- last 45 minutes, recharges overnight ie 8-10 hours. Tip- open box and remove the battery first; lift handle and pull battery up, there are no clamps or screws; then you can lift the rest of the mover from the box. Wish list- buy second battery, Ryobi produces a snow blower using the same 48V battery so I can use it all year round. June 21, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good product, battery life isn't so great I love that we don't have to worry about gas and oil for this lawn mower. It's really quiet, which is also awesome. The wheels easily adjust to the height desired. It starts so fast, and I love that you don't have to pull start it. The drive power is really strong, which makes for quick moving on long stretches. There are 3 things I don't like about this mower. 1. Battery life isn't that great, and our yard isn't even that big. So halfway through we have to stop and recharge it. 2. The bag isn't that big so you have to empty it a lot, which really annoys me. 3. There is a gap at the top of the bag so when you are mowing with the bag on glass clippings fly up at you. May 15, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I would not purchase a Ryobi again! With the large battery, this mower is relatively powerful for a cordless mower. It is also quiet and looks good. However, after only 3 seasons, the motor or battery overheated with smoke coming out of the body/battery cavity. The side rails are connected very poorly which required me to put bolts through the side rails to reattach them to the mower body. If you have a flat yard, great mower; but to heavy and cumbersome for hills or obstacles. The battery lasted for about 3 seasons before it began to wane and require a second charging for less than a 1/4 acre lot. So overall, good mower for about 2 years, minus its shortcomings, but I will not replace it with another Ryobi. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Does a great job - as advertised, the equivalent of any gasoline mower in its class. It seems very solid, and I expect it to last quite a few years. In addition to mowing grass it does a wonderful job of mulching leaves. The self-propelled feature is if anything a bit too powerful - until you get used to it it can feel as if you're taking a big dog for a walk. Only real downside is that the machine is HEAVY. However nearly half of the weight is in the battery pack, which can be removed when not in use. So the weight isn't as much of a disadvantage for transport and storage as you might think. Strongly recommended! April 3, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor quality Mower only lasted 2years. This year 2013 I took it out to use and the start switch would not work. The cable stretched or something. Could not find any adjustment. I am very experienced with machines so I fixed it my self. Got it working and realized the other cable was not fully engaging the drive wheels. Same problem. Fixed that ! Cut the grass and plugged it in to recharge and next 2 days went to use it again and the battery only charged less then half way even though the charger shows green. What do you do now?? Every part of this mower has failed. Its just plain sad. I have many Ryobi products and they work good enough but this mower is an insult to the consumer. STAY AWAY. July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by BAD PRODUCT, BAD SERVICE I purchased this mower at Home Depot. Had the mower for about 90 days, maybe, the battery went out. Talked to Home Depot, needed to talk to the Ryobi company. Talked to the company. First two people I talked to gave me the run around. Third person seemed to know what to do, told me she was sending me a new battery and charger, two weeks. After four weeks and serveral more calls, I was told another two weeks, back order and all. Long story short, this was November, I was told that I was on the list to get a battery in LATE FEBUARY, MAYBE. You have to be kidding, no customer service at all, bad company, bad product. January 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good cordless mower I traded in my 10 year old black and decker cordless mower for this ryobi self propeled model. Black and decker did not have one at the time. This has been a great mower from day one, here is why: 1) very easy to set up.2) easy to charge and to check charge; 4 little green lights tell you how full the charge is. 3) grass catcher easy to put on and take off. 4) side discharge and mulching plug very easy to put on mower. 5) self propel is great, no longer need to push an 85 lb mower around. Only down size is weight at 95 lbs. heavy to push when not using self propel option. But for the 5-10% of the time I am not using the self propel option I can live with the extra weight. May 18, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A spunky self-propelled mower This mower performs quite well. I have a steep sloped backyard, pushing a lawnmower up slope is never fun. The self-propel feature made almost effortless, sometime the back wheel doesn't bite hard enough for traction, you have to push the back wheel down enough to get traction to move forward. This cordless replaces my older corded B&D lawnmower, it used to take me 50 min to mow my lawn, with this cordless, it is done in 30 min. For the price (on sale for $100.00 less than competing model), Ryobi has a winning product. I also like to note that Home Depot delivered my order within the same week that i placed it. Great service people, pat yourself in the back and keep it up. April 30, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Electric Mower I purchased this product because it did not emmit fuse, does not require an extension cord or buying gas. Like the electric trimmer I own, this product is missing alot of torque, especially when it comes to high grass areas. It tends to slow down and almost shuts off when the grass is higher than normal (anything over 12 in). It is a bit heavy, mainly because of the rechargable battery. The battery charge indicator is very confusing. It seem to always read full until you start using it. I have owned it over a month but it seems sturdy. It gets the job done, but it lacks power when compared to the gas models. Not bad if you don't want to deal with buying gas or the exhaust fumes. September 8, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent mower, great value I was a little nervous about a cordless mower...I have a 1/5 acre lot, but its hilly and I was worried the battery wouldn't cover front and back. I have mowed 5 times already and the charge lasted the whole time with no lag or issue. I had 2 lights left on the charge meter. It is heavy, but no heavier than my gas mower...I try not to use the power assist until i get a better idea of battery life, but I use it about 15% of the time with no problems. Overall very happy not having to worry about gas or oil or tune ups. One thing to echo an earlier review, it isn't as quiet as I thought. Certainly not as loud as a gas mower, but not a whole lot quieter either. Start/stop is a cynch! June 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower! I lived in a condo for the past few years and truly enjoyed not doing yard work. Times have changed and I now work a job where I don't get outside as much as I'd like. I recently got into a house and needed to start doing the yard or hire someone to take care of it. The things I used to dislike about yard work related mainly to the loud, unreliable, annoying gas engines that all of my old tools had. My new gear is all electric- with this mower being the star of the fleet. This thing is sweet! It moves at a great pace and makes short work of my 1/2 acre, hilly yard. The battery holds charge well (though I have a small yard, admittedly) and I have no complaints. Highly recommended! September 27, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by good power, poor battery charging system Mower has great power when battery is fully charged. I've only had for one year, used maybe 10 times to cut 1/4 acre grass and ran battery down each time. Left the battery on charger for 16 hours and killed it. Battery cannot be charged for more than half a day or it will overcharge since the charging power block does not have a regulator built into it. After reading about all the battery issues, I ordered a new battery($129) since the thought of having a $399 brick didn't sit well with me. I would not recommend this product to anyone cause of having to babysit the battery while it charges. October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This product is perfect for my mother. Bought this lawnmower for my mother thinking ahead to the future. She had an electric lawn mower in the past, but this is cordless and self-propelling, which makes it a lot easier to use. It sometimes goes too fast for her and isn't as easy to turn with the self-propelling feature, but small price to pay since it takes her much less time to mow the whole lawn and she isn't expending as much effort as pushing it herself. She takes it out more often if she noticed that one area needs a "touch up" and it's not a big ordeal for her to do so. Overall great lawnmower with many different features. October 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Plenty of power and good run time. Poor self propelled system and plastic wheels get no traction. This mower has plenty of power so long as you keep the blade sharp and are not mowing thick moss filled grass. The run time is good. The self propelled system worked for a bit then stopped. I took it apart and found the lugs that are suppose to drop in and engage the wheels keep hanging up. I made a fix and it worked for a bit but now it won't work again. Kind of a pain to keep taking the wheels off and fix them. I finally gave up because the cheap plastic wheels don't get any traction anyways. Wheels also squeak like crazy. Overall not sure I would buy it again but for the price it's not terrible. March 4, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs improvement I bought this at the beginning of the 2010 mowing season (snows in winter here), and it did fairly well. My lot is 0.14 acre and it woulld just barely have enough juice to mow on one charge. It can struggle a little at the end of a charge in dense grass. I left the battery in an attached garage over the winter and now it has half the battery capacity; It now takes two charges and I have to run it beyond recommended charge state to get it done in two charges (lowers the battery life further). Cutting got uneven toward the end of the season and had I to sharpen the blade for this year. Overall, I'd recommend not purchasing a cordless electric mower until lithium-Ion becomes the standard. April 11, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unless your lawn is really small, stay away If you are looking for a battery-powered mower, you should know than none of them yet use lithium batteries, so they just don't have much juice even with very heavy batteries. This is supposedly one of the best mowers you can get, but it still will only mow for about 15 minutes on a charge. It was very pleasant to use and did an OK job, but the blade speed is a bit low compared to a gas mower, so the grass wasn't cut as cleanly. When lithium-powered mowers show up, I'd look again, but right now you are better off with gas or corded mowers if you have more than a very small patch of grass to mow. May 23, 2010
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower for a small yard This mower is nice and quiet. It has powered through the tall grass that our amazingly rainy spring has brought this year. The only issue I have with the mower is the battery. Although I fully charged it for 18 hours before first use and followed all the instructions the battery barely had enough juice to mow my front lawn. I had to charge it again to do the back and it couldn't do the entire back yard on one charge. The manual says the battery will reach it's maximum capacity after 2 or 3 full charges. I didn't see any improvement. My lot is a half acre and my lawn is probably a third of an acre. May 29, 2011
  • 2016-09-08 T14:47:14.473-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_461, tr_461
  • loc_en_US, sid_202042176, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 103ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT