The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Push Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery
  • Ryobi
  • Model RY40180
  • Internet #206481611
  • Store SO SKU #1002078743

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Push Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery

$299.00 /each
Discontinued Model:

Model # RY14110A

Internet #202042176

Ryobi 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
0046396490346

Discontinued Ryobi

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Removable and rechargeable 48-Volt battery for convenience
  • Rear-wheel drive reduces fatigue while mowing
  • 20 in. cutting path offers optimal mowing
  • 1-1/2 - 4 in. adjustable height for a manicured lawn
  • Side and rear discharge and mulch options meet your seasonal needs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$329.79 /each
$369.00 /each
$429.00 /each
$599.00 /each
Name 21 in. Electric Start Gas Self Propelled Mower with Kohler Engine 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED 21 in. 56-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Self Propelled Mower-Battery and Charger Not Included 21 in. 56-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Self Propelled Mower
Brand Lawn-Boy Ryobi EGO EGO
Ratings (288) (460) (315) (924)
Power Type Gas Battery Battery Battery
Size of Yard 1/4 - 1/2 Acre 1/2 - 1 Acre 1/4 - 1/2 Acre 1/4 - 1/2 Acre
Cutting Width (in.) 21 20 21 21
Features Bagger,Foldable handle,Mulching Capable,Tool-free adjustments Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Mulch Switch,Mulching Capable,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments Adjustable Handlebar,Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Headlights,Mulching Capable,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments Adjustable Handlebar,Bagger,Battery level indicator,Headlights,Mulching Capable,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments
Drive type Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive
Refurbished No No No No
Start Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

1 Question1 Answer

Customer Questions & Answers

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
 
1 answer

where can i get a charger at for my ryobi self propell lawn mower 48v iran over mine

This question is from 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Asked by
pennsauken nj
Read all my Q&A
April 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

April 28, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Oscar! This battery can be purchased from homedepot.com only. The Model # is OP401A.
Thanks for your question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-30 T23:17:17.965-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202042176, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 141ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 460.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Need to buy a new battery every year I bought my lawnmower in April 2010 had to buy a new battery every year the battery dies after a year of use no matter how often you use it or not Would not recommend buying this lawnmower if you want a lawnmower that you want the battery to last because it does not
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for elderly people My yard is only 16 x 45. If I use the self propelled feature, it runs too fast to keep up with and skips cutting the grass completely. If I don't use the self propelled, it's like pushing a wheel barrow full of dirt.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Paid big bucks for a mower that lasted two years :( Like many other folks on here, I took a chance and ordered this mower. It's pretty and starts easily! It's also VERY heavy and, after exactly two years, is now worthless. The battery leaks and no longer holds a charge. The warranty for the mower itself says three years... but the battery is only covered for a year and is a third of the total cost. :( My bad.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective batterry that still has not been replaced. I bought this product in the Spring of 2011, and for almost the entire summer it was at the Ryobi service center because the battery was not working properly. When I finally received the lawn mower back it still did not work. Then I was told (in September, 2011) that I would be sent a new battery and charger. Since then I have called every month for an update, and as of today (January 2012) I still do not know when the battery will be sent. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. Go with another company offering a better product and better customer service.
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Best to find another option As fas as an electric mower goes, this Ryobi is OK. Has enough power to mow even tall grass relatively well (though it bogs down when wet, as most mowers do). The self-propelled capability works fairly well also, allowing my wife and son to use the mower with ease. Two big "buts" though. First, the battery charge does not last long. When I mow, I don't use the self-propelled capability, and can only mow just over half of our 1/2 acre property (obviously, it's not all lawn). It's quite the workout, given how heavy the mower is. When using it self-propelled, the battery drains much faster, and two charges barely get the job done. The second issues is with the battery itself. We're already on our second battery (almost $190 retail from Ryobi, less expensive here at HD) after the first one failed completely. And sometimes this one just won't charge. Half of last summer, it refused to charge, and I ended up paying someone to mow the lawn. Towards the end of the summer, I finally got around to bringing it in for another replacement, and it magically started working again. It's the second week of April, I mowed the lawn 1 1/2 times (need to re-charge between halves) and again the battery won't charge. If the battery issues weren't so prevalent, this would be a great non-gas option. But I'd say stay away.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality The charger has died for the 3rd time in 3 years. Ryobi insists they do not have a problem with the chargers. What are the chances that every charger I received had a 1 year lifespan? Interesting that many people have complained about this same issue yet the rating on Home Depot is 4 stars.
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Decent mower, bad charger and bad Ryobi support. Before you buy this call Ryobi and make sure they stock chargers. My charger went bad after six mowings of a small yard (2 months or less). I am now paying for lawn service due to the chargers being "backordered"at Ryobi. In other words, the three year warranty only works when they have parts. Otherwise you wait, and wait, and wait. Decent mower with a third world quality power system and charger. You might want to try other brands. BTW the Ryobi website lists NO support or parts for this model. I suspect it will be dropped soon.
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do NOT but this mower. The mower worked great for one year and then the battery diedd. I took it to the local Ryobi repair shop and he had four others with bad batteries. The battery has been on back order for five months and there is no shipping date available. Save your money and buy a different mower. The listed three year warranty is useless if the company does not not stock replacement parts.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from warranty no good when parts not available I purchased this mower last fall, the battery life was poor and could not get more than 20 minutes run time. Used for areas where the riding mower would not work. Battery overheated this summer so bad I thought it would explode!Sent battery and charger in for warranty Aug.31 and still waiting for replacement.Ryobi says no date available for replacement battery.
Date published: 2011-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for what it's intended to do I have a half acre, and I have to mow in 2 sessions. Recharges (enough) in 3-4 hr so I can do my lawn in a day. That said, it's great! Forget the whole ecology thing; this is clean and quiet. No gas, no air filter, no spark plug, no oil, no grease no hassles. It's clean enough that I can get out of my car and go mow in my office clothing. I want to clean out under the deck, I just flip the thing over! Add to that that's it's quiet enough to mow lawn with your mp3 player and it's a real winner. I am thinking of buying a 2nd battery so I can do my lawn in one shot.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER. The charger and battery are no good. The mower is dead again just like last spring. After six weeks in the repair shop, they fixed it and gave us a new charger and said it overcharges the battery? This spring, we mow the lawn once and the battery and charger die. This will last you exactly one summer as many other reviewers have stated. Go with something else. Next year I won't have a warranty and I'm out of luck. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER.
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from a waste of money Bought this mower with high hopes. First time I mowed my yard (~2/10 acres) had to recharge 4 times to finish. After two mowings, the battery/charger just quit completely. Ryobi did provide a replacement battery and charger, to their credit. Self-propelled feature was useless to me. It was more work to hold it back than it was to push through the grass without it. Much to powerful to be useful to me. Last week, mower got bogged down in high grass and just died. Now will not start. I am sorry I ever bought this machine. I would never recommend it to a friend.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Mower if it works I bought this mower from Home Depot and loved it until the battery decided not to charge (or overcharge)... When it worked it was a great mower that was a breeze to start and cut/bagged wonderfully. I now have no idea of how long it will run before losing power each use, making it very difficult to mow my relatively small lawn. I hope that I will eventually get some help replacing the battery but have heard a number of horror stories... I own several of their other power tools and would hate to have to start replacing all of them.
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth it, do NOT buy this mower While great in theory, this mower fails to live up to it's promise. It does not cut grass very well due to the weak motor. I assumed wrongly that 48V would be sufficient power to do the job. The battery died within a year of ownership and replacements cannot be found anywhere. If a replacement battery were to be found, it would run me a little less than half of what I paid for the mower. When the battery did work, the charge only held for about 30 minutes, making cutting the lawn an all day affair having to wait for the battery to charge. I'm very upset as this was one of the more expensive mowers on the market. It clearly does not perform. My problem now is how to get this piece of garbage out of my garage.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Handle Broke in Under 6 Months of Light Use I love the concept - it's quieter than gas, easier to maintain, easy to start. However, the battery doesn't last long enough for my 1/3 acre yard and it takes overnight to recharge. The worst thing - the upper handle snapped after less than 6 months of residential use! There isn't a service center anywhere near my house and no other option to fix it. I would not buy this product again.
Date published: 2011-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from :( I really really really wanted this to work and I'm still trying to get it to work. When I first got it, the charger didn't light up like it was charging the battery. I tried to call Ryobi but you have to wait on the phone forever. So I emailed them. They eventually emailed me back saying they'd send out a new charger. That one is the same. So I just emailed them maybe its my battery? In the meantime, I ordered a battery on homedepot.com and hoping that will work. Otherwise, the mower and the battery are going back to Home Depot. I was able to mow using the battery - it had been somewhat charged when I got it. I love it - it basically drags me along which I love because I have no strength to push it without the self-propel. To me, it is as loud as a regular mower but doesn't bother me. I really like it if the battery would work/charge. It is so frustrating.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a REAL lawn mower! Don't let the fact that this thing is battery powered make you think it is any less of a lawn mower. I took it right out of the box and had it ready to go in 2 minutes, the battery was charged and ready to go. I mowed my front and side yard at all once, using the self propelled feature and bagged all the clippings. It cleans up real good. I had to empy it about 4 times. It never did die on me, it still had some juice when I put it away to recharge. It was strong and never bogged down once. This thing has a lot of torque, instant on and instant off. Very low noise, sounds like a box fan like you would put in your garage. Just the blade noise without the sound of an engine. The self propelled clutch is a little fast, it takes off like a rocket but once it gets going it is not to fast. It would be nice if it started off slow and then the speed could be adusted, but it worked fine. One of the reasons I wanted this was the noise issue. I like to work in the evening when it is cool out. You could mow your grass at midnight and no one would here you!!! If only they has installed LED head lights!!! My suggestions to Ryobi would be: * LED Headlights for evening use * Larger rear wheels for more traction (wider). * Optional extra battery for longer continuous mowing. * Optional Lithium Ion Battery instead of lead acid. * Charging dock / cradle for battery * Adjustable speed control * Fuel gauge on handle to monitor use, "minutes left". * Colored lights instead of all green, use red, yellow, etc. * Water hose attachment on deck for cleaning. All that said, this is a great lawn mower and works great. I think that this is a great option for anyone who does not want to deal with gasoline and pull starting a mower. It only weighs 100 lbs and it moves itself around pretty easy so anyone should be able to handle it. I own ALL of Ryobi's cordless lawn products. I have the blower, trimmer, hedge clippers, paint gun, etc. However for my power tools I prefer Makita's Lithium Ion tools, but if Ryobi keeps making good stuff like this I might just move on over to them if they make the same stuff. Final word, If you are looking into a cordless lawn mower, ORDER THIS ONE. You will not be dissapointed. - Videobob
Date published: 2010-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ***WARNING*** JUNK ALERT You pay $400 for a mower then have to replace the charger ($75.00) and/or battery (if you can find one for $185) each year. You can buy a really nice gas mower each year for the cost of maintaining this mower. Don't buy it, you'll be sorry.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from problems - but they fixed it We purchased the mower in the summer of 2010. We had a very short summer season in 10 and 11 but had no complaints during that period. We didn't have a large yard but were able to cut it a few times on a single charge. We moved to Guam in the spring of 2012 and when we went to charge the battery for the first time at our new house - the charger failed to shut off and the battery over charged. We went online and saw many negative reviews discussing a similar problem. We didn't have much confidence that we would get a new battery here in Guam. (The local HD does not carry the mower or the batteries.) We called Ryobi directly and explained the situation. After reviewing the serial numbers - turns out our charger was part of a defective batch. That was 2 weeks ago - today the mailman delivered a brand new battery and a new charger. It cost Ryobi over $80 in postage to ship us the battery - but they did. We were concerned but were very pleasantly surprised to get such good customer service....
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery died after 9 months of use- bad customer service at Ryobi We live in Oregon & only use this mower from June-ish-Sept...we keep it indoors and maintain it meticulously. The mower worked great up until the battery completely died. I called the Ryobi customer service dept which proved to be completely unhelpful and just downright frustrating. They didn't seem to care at all and just directed me to buy a new battery. Why would I want to buy a new battery (when it costs half as much as a new mower) when there isn't a guarantee that it will last a while? So now i'm stuck with a bad taste in my mouth about Ryobi and unsightly long grass in the middle of summer. Time to switch brands...
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery weak: buyer beware!! Like the other reviewers, we are disappointed to have to replace the battery at the beginning of year 3, given that it is one-third the cost of the machine. We liked the mower just fine though we only used it for touch-ups between our mowing service, and based on what we saw that's the best use as the battery- when fully charged- only lasted about 30 minutes. All in all I think this machine is flawed and I would NOT recommend it to others.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressive First of all, you have to charge the battery overnight before you use it, so anyone who states that the battery does not last long enough did not charge it long enough. My yard is large, almost 3/4 of an acre, and this thing started to slow down at the end after over an hour of cutting and using the self propel function the entire time. The most impressive part about it was that I filled up the rear clippings catcher five times and cut some pretty thick grass and this mower did not skip a beat. I asked before I left the store if I could return it after I used it once or twice, but I threw out the box after the first use because there is no way I am getting rid of it. Best part about the mower: no gas and I can actually have a conversation with someone while it is running, incredibly quiet. Highly recommend it.
Date published: 2011-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad I need a new battery charger. I ordered from distributor 6 weeks ago. I was told it will not arrive until sometime in september. I am using my nighbors mower. You pay $400 for a mower and cannot get a replacement part. You cannot get throught to Ryobi. do not buy from Ryobia. No customer service. I wonder if i will ever get the replacement battery charger.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor quality Mower only lasted 2years. This year 2013 I took it out to use and the start switch would not work. The cable stretched or something. Could not find any adjustment. I am very experienced with machines so I fixed it my self. Got it working and realized the other cable was not fully engaging the drive wheels. Same problem. Fixed that ! Cut the grass and plugged it in to recharge and next 2 days went to use it again and the battery only charged less then half way even though the charger shows green. What do you do now?? Every part of this mower has failed. Its just plain sad. I have many Ryobi products and they work good enough but this mower is an insult to the consumer. STAY AWAY.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice power, great cutting, a bit heavy when push only This is a cool way to go as far as lawnmowers go. Love the quiet sound, compared to a gas engine. Some people don't like the pace, but I find it perfect to keep up with. Feels heavy if the self-propelled motor is not engaged. This is because of the heavy battery, which goes about 45 min or so before it gives up. Charge up is simple. Shipping was free (even though it probably cost a bundle for Home Depot to ship). Got it in 3 days. Completely satisfied at this point after 3 lawn cuttings.
Date published: 2011-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from an amazing lawnmower Have had this lawnmower for only a few weeks, but so far it's met all of the criteria on my wish list - except mowing by remote control while I sit on the patio. It starts with a simple push button (bliss personified), no more lugging around gas cans, no more oil changes, spark plugs or pull ropes that I can't pull. The yard is sloped and about 3000 sq ft.- no problem !! Charged the battery per instructions and it holds full power for over half an hr of mowing. I'm 68, female and have no trouble walking with self propel on. It moves right along tho - no dawdling in self propel mode! Wheel adj and grass catcher are easy to use.I sure was skeptical when I ordered it but am really happy I did. Try it-you'll like it !! If not you can even return it, get a refund and go back to a gas mower. It's a "no lose" situation.
Date published: 2011-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery horrible Liked it at first although pretty heavy on hills. Had for 2 seasons now the battery doesn't hold a charge. I stored the battery inside the house for winter. Takes 4 days to mow my lawn...inexcusable!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good, not great but its getting better bought mine in 2011 and the battery just started leaking. Ryobi said that the battery is still under warranty and will send me another battery and charger. at the time, i wouldnt pay full price for the mower, but i caught a great sale of around 40% discount so i bought it. Mower works well but you also have to consider that the battery is lead-acid, not a very advanced technology. So, its heavy and doesnt hold as much energy as other battery types. fast forward to today - i would get the 40v lithium version of this mower. I dont know why they are priced the same, assuming the mower itself is similar, the lithium battery is all around much better than the lead-acid. Plus you get TWO lithium batteries. And i think you can use these lithium batteries in ryobi's other tools like the weed trimmer
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Plenty of power and good run time. Poor self propelled system and plastic wheels get no traction. This mower has plenty of power so long as you keep the blade sharp and are not mowing thick moss filled grass. The run time is good. The self propelled system worked for a bit then stopped. I took it apart and found the lugs that are suppose to drop in and engage the wheels keep hanging up. I made a fix and it worked for a bit but now it won't work again. Kind of a pain to keep taking the wheels off and fix them. I finally gave up because the cheap plastic wheels don't get any traction anyways. Wheels also squeak like crazy. Overall not sure I would buy it again but for the price it's not terrible.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Battery Powered Push Mower My property is a little over an acre so I bought an extra battery. Each battery lasts about 45 minutes even if the dry grass is a little high. The self-propel mode makes the mowing quite easy, especially since my property isn't completely flat. It comes with the options of mulch, bag or side distribution. Another one of the great features is that I don't have to put up with the loud noise or mess of a gas mower. It's probably a notch above a large box fan. I'm very pleased with this mower.
Date published: 2011-09-24
  • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_460
  • loc_, sid_202042176, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 108ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT