The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Push Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery
  • Ryobi
  • Model RY40180
  • Internet #206481611
  • Store SO SKU #1002078743

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Push Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery

$299.00 /each
Discontinued Model:

Model # RY14110A

Internet #202042176

Ryobi 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
0046396490346

Discontinued Ryobi

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Removable and rechargeable 48-Volt battery for convenience
  • Rear-wheel drive reduces fatigue while mowing
  • 20 in. cutting path offers optimal mowing
  • 1-1/2 - 4 in. adjustable height for a manicured lawn
  • Side and rear discharge and mulch options meet your seasonal needs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$339.99 /each
$369.00 /each
$429.00 /each
$599.00 /each
Name 21 in. Electric Start Gas Self Propelled Mower with Kohler Engine 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED 21 in. 56-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Self Propelled Mower-Battery and Charger Not Included 21 in. 56-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Self Propelled Mower
Brand Lawn-Boy Ryobi EGO EGO
Ratings (288) (460) (320) (944)
Power Type Gas Battery Battery Battery
Size of Yard 1/4 - 1/2 Acre 1/2 - 1 Acre 1/4 - 1/2 Acre 1/4 - 1/2 Acre
Cutting Width (in.) 21 20 21 21
Features Bagger,Foldable handle,Mulching Lawn Mower,Tool-free adjustments Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Mulch Switch,Mulching Lawn Mower,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments Adjustable Handlebar,Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Headlights,Mulching Lawn Mower,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments Adjustable Handlebar,Bagger,Battery level indicator,Headlights,Mulching Lawn Mower,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments
Drive Type Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive
Refurbished No No No No
Start Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

where can i get a charger at for my ryobi self propell lawn mower 48v iran over mine

Asked by: oscar
Hi Oscar! This battery can be purchased from homedepot.com only. The Model # is OP401A. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: RYOBIOutdoors
Date published: 2016-04-29
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_, sid_202042176, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 460.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lawn mower is excellent, The battery is junk The battery will not last, keep that in mind when you buy the mower. Just look at the reviews for the replacement battery for this mower. A new battery is $140. Anyway, we used this mower for the first year and it is a great mower, easy to start and does a great job on the lawn. Second year, even with storing the battery in the basement, the battery is dead.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from don't waste your money Bought this mower from Home Depot last May. It worked for 2 months before the charger died. It took 4 months to get a new charger because it was backordered. Or I could pay for one if I didn't want to get a free one under my warranty. So they had chargers to sell but none to honor their warranty? So I've used it 2 times and now the charger is not charging again. Wish I could get my money back. Don't waste yours.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi self-propelled electric lawnmower This mower is great! No more expensive servicing, no more gas and oil to worry about and less noise and vibration than my last mower. I have a large yard and one charge on the battery gets me only about half way through the job, so I ordered a second batttery pack. This mower is lightweight, extremely easy to use and has plenty of power even when the grass is thick and tall. I love it!
Date published: 2011-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beware of extremely poor customer service from Ryobi I bought this mower because it was self propelled and battery operated. It had all the features I was looking for. I used it three times and the battery would not charge. I took it to the warranty center and the battery was bad and also the charger. Two months later, still waiting for parts. Home Depot put me in contact with Ryobi customer service and I was told that the charger would not be available until probably the end of May (4 Months of waiting). The batteries are available, but they have to ship together. Don't make the same mistake that I made!!
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well - I have had bought a different brand that was not self propelled, and returned it. Having that feature really makes it a better product. I have mowed some very tall grass, and I feel it does just as well as a 3 HP gas mower. It sure starts easy also, just push the button and away you go! it is more expensive, but i bet in gas alone it will pay for the additional cost in one season.
Date published: 2011-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you cant go wrong with this ryobi 48 volt mower its great, i love it, i have a medeum size yard frount and back and the ryobi 48 volt mower works great. nevers runs low on power for both yards. the self-propelled mower makes it a faster job with less work. all so i have all ryobi 18volt hand tools and garden tools. i love them all, mike .
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery is the weak link Bought this last year and was pleased with it initially, but later the season, the battery started to lose its charge. Now can only mow for 30 minutes top, down from 45-50. Need to add the cost of new battery yearly instead of just the charge from the outlet.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great until the self-propulsion died This mower was honestly a great mower. I could mow my yard twice on a single charge (not a huge yard, but average sized for a newly built home). However the last time I went to use it, the back-left wheel make a "ker-chunk" sound and no longer operated to push the mower forward. Some investigation allowed me to discover that the wheel was spinning freely on the axel/driveshaft that turned it when you were using the self-propelling feature. I could kind of tell that whatever used to be in place to lock the wheel to the axle was no longer there. Home Depot was fantastic about the whole issue and allowed me to switch to a different mower due to the difficulty I've had with a Ryobi trimmer - I'm done with Ryobi Products :-\
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very capable 'real' lawn mower Have owned it for a month and have cut about a 1/4 acre lot 10 times. The lawn mower has performed flawlessly so far. Fully charged, it's powerful....almost as much as a standard gas mower. The charge will wane about 30 minutes in however, and it will struggle if you try to cut grass that's too high. My only issue with the mower is that it does not appear very durable. 99% of the money you pay for battery mowers is for the battery technology. The rest of the mower just doesn't seem like it's going to last more than 2 years. Speculation of course...hope I'm wrong.
Date published: 2011-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This lawnmower is awesome! I highly recommend it to anyone but especially to older people that are not able to start a gas one.
Date published: 2011-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for lawn under 1/2 acre I have been using this product for about a month now, and it is working very well. The mower folds down for storage in a small space, which is great for smaller garages. The self propelled feature makes this one of the best cordless mowers out there. As with most electric mowers, if you have a hilly lawn, or a lawn over 1/2 acre, don't expect to do the whole yard on one charge. I have just shy of 1/2 acre, and a large hill in my backyard. Once the charge gets low, I let it recharge for about an hour while weed eating, and then I can finish the yard no problem.
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good till it lasts Here is my synopsis after 1 year of usage: The good: - it does a quite good job cutting and mulching the lawn The not so good: - quite heavy - the battery does not last as advertised; mine does about 35-40 minutes - handle foam cracked in 2 months; the wheels are annoyingly squeaking The really bad: - it stopped working after 1 year. I contacted one of the RYOBI authorized servicers, and they said that the charger overcharges the battery and renders it defective after a while. The servicer didn't have the parts and so they ordered it from RYOBI. 3 weeks later and still didn't arrive. I called RYOBI directly and I got a very nasty customer support representative which told me I had no grounds to complain cuz the normal wait time is at least 14 business days. I am still waiting for the parts to arrive.
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good product when it works, but would not buy again. I bought this product two years ago. It took a little while getting used to with its weight and the rear wheel propulsion. Also, it would not do the whole yard unless fully charged. After using it, I have begun to really like it - except - The battery has stopped working and the service centers cannot tell me if I need a new battery or new charger in less than one or two weeks. If the battery is bad, and I buy a new one at $130, it will take another week to have it shipped. So the grass is getting longer and if I wait to resolve the issue, it is at least 3 more weeks. At an initial cost of $400, and only lasting two years, this mower has less value than other mowers of similar price. Also, I used to be able to get a mower fixed in days, where this one takes weeks. Two weeks ago I would have recommended it. Now, I definitely would not.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great This came in a big box and weighed a lot (free shipping was great), but we cut the sides of the box, folded up the handle and pushed it right out. The battery came full, we stuck in the key, and it started it right up. (battery was full) We are very happy with it. The charger is nice and its very simple to use. It cut/mulches fine, and the battery was sufficient for my yard. Mostly, I am so thrilled not have to yank a cord anymore! The only issues are that it is very heavy and when you engage the power drive it takes off very quickly.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery Charger is made in China and is defective The mower is convenient and easy to use; happy to avoid using gas. However, three cooked batteries and two battery chargers later, I have to give this mower a low rating. It turns out that the automatic cutoff for the charger does not work, the charger continues in full-charge mode and the batteries get cooked. I have now replaced two cooked batteries and one bad charger. The second charger has lost its cutoff/trickle charge feature after two weeks.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice features, bad battery issues I purchased this mower from HD on 5/14. I charged it and used it once to mow the lawn, it worked well, but seemed to run out of juice quickly. The grass was a tad tall, and this is my first electric mower, so I wasn't sure if that was normal or not. When I got the mower out a week later to use it again, it would only cut two small strips in the yard before dying (the lot is less than .16 acres, only a small portion is grass). From reading the other reviews, clearly Ryobi knows there is an issue with the battery/charger. Regardless of whether they send you a new one or not, they should be fixing the problem on newly produced mowers instead of continuing to sell defective equipment. I am returning it tonight, it isn't worth the trouble. Very disappointing!
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great powerful mower. Used it today. I did the whole yard on one charge. The grass was high 3"-5" and wet with mixed weeds. My yard is flat, not sure the size (maybe 1/3 acre in 4 areas) but the whole job takes about 40 mins. Unloaded 4 bags total. 2 stuffed, 2 were 3/4 full. After the front yard which is larger than the back it said full charge still. The back yard was much thicker and wetter. I was able to kill the mower in a section of 7" thick wet grass with weeds and the bag was over full. So any mower would have quit. (you have to push the reset key to restart.) I cleared it out and it finished the yard with 1 charge bar left out of 4. The removable battery is very nice, its held in only by dead weight, so you just lift, its a little lighter than a car battery, you can charge it in or out. Note, when I did the above yard, I only used propel on the back. This mower is heavy, the propel works nice, a little choppy, I imagine it kills the battery much quicker. If the yard was shorter I could have used propel the whole time. Without propel its a workout, and my yard is flat. The re-charge seemed quick it was at full level in an hour. Pros: Everything.., no gas smell, easy to clean, strong as any mower i've used. Cons: Heavy, can't run with cord in. Fuse key a little hard to insert. Wheels a little low budget and squeaked, yard was wet. Propel drive a little choppy. Note when starting, 1st push the button, then pull the throttle. I'm glad I paid extra, you don't have to be eco friendly to love this mower. You only sacrafice the downtime for re-charging, which probably won't matter in most yards. I also have to Ryobi cordless weed wacker, it's awesome.
Date published: 2010-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from $400 piece of junk I've had two Ryobi mowers go out on me in less than a month. I thought the first one was just a fluke since it died on me a little over half-way of mowing my lawn for a second time. I returned it for the exact same model since I really loved all the features and ease-of-use. I took the new one home, charged it, then finished mowing my lawn the next day. I managed to cut my front yard one more time, then went to the back yard. After one full pass and 1/2 of a second pass through the back yard, the mower died and would not restart. I cleaned everything, checked all connections, and it didn't do a thing other than sit there. I don't know how or where Ryobi tests the reliability of their mowers but it isn't in the real world. Save yourself the time, money, and hassle of having to transport this thing back and forth to Home Depot when it dies and just buy another mower.
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 11 Months Old, 7 Months Use, Battery Dead I read the reviews before I bought this and loved it....until my last mow where it really struggled, even under what I thought was a full charge. I went out to mow today and it wouldn't start. I had 4 lights on the indicator and the charger said it was charged, but no go. I called Ryobi and they are sending me to a local repair shop, but I am worried they won't have a battery replacement. I will update this tomorrow.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This mower exceeds expectations I am female, a senior, and have a double city lot to mow. I have owned many gas powered mowers. With some reservations, I purchased this product. What a terrific investment. The lever that easily elevates all four wheels allows one to quick cut higher grass. Then, quickly detail the cut, if necessary. Follow directions and this mower purrs. There is no single detail I would wished changed. The blade cuts cleanly; the battery charges efficiently; the charge holds well. Patience in removing the key, which I always do, provides easy start up. 'Strain' the cut, if grass is too high ( 8" ) and the fuse trips. Great! Raise the wheels and go! Highly recommend!
Date published: 2011-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lawn mower I love how easy it is to start. The self-propelled feature is great, but it is hard to go backwards to get away from a fence. It cuts easily through tall grass and the charge is more than enough to last through my front and back yardsl
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If it works, may be a good mower... if you need warranty help, good luck During the first 10 months of ownership, the mower worked well; mowing about 70 minutes with frequent propulsion before needing a recharge. However, at around 10 months, the mower wouldn't hold a charge. We took the mower to the local Ryobi service center and they diagnosed it as the charger unit -- which was backordered for two months. After those two months, we had to bring the entire mower back to the service center, and they tested the new charger (and old charger again) and determined they had made the wrong diagnosis - the problem was now the battery. The battery, too, was backordered for about a month. We are now waiting on that. We contacted Ryobi directly by phone and were told that the warranty states that it may take 90 days to repair and there was nothing that they would do; the warranty says nothing of a 90 day repair timeline.
Date published: 2011-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I'm impressed! Easy set up. Charged the battery overnight and put the mower to work. Cut a fairly tall and dense lawn cleanly and efficiently. My lawn is about 1/3 of an acre and quite hilly. I was able to finish half of the lawn on the initial charge; then finished the next day after recharging. The next week I completed 2/3 of the lawn with a full charge. I'll be interested in seeing whether the run time will crank up a bit more but at my age having the self-propelled feature, mulching and the ease of operation are acceptable trade-offs for splitting the task into two sessions. The 45 volt battery seems to provide plenty of power to handle my mowing needs.
Date published: 2011-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery died. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT I have had the same experience as other users. The mower worked great for about 6 months. Then, all of a sudden, the battery burst and died. I was out of warranty and out of luck. Piece of junk cost me $400.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Of Breed Bought this mower after reading the reviews of others. It was a great choice. I already have other Ryobi lawn tools and they are the best I've ever used. This mower is the same. The others complained about the self propelled speed. That is a problem. Way too fast. It's gear driven, so I was thinking about trying to install a smaller gear on the drive wheel. But overall, it's well worth the money and very quiet (almost "fun", almost)
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Heavy, awkward turning, rear wheel drive Turning becomes an issue due to weigth and rear wheel drive. It couldn't make it thru our corner lot on one charge and the lot is not that big. When adjusted to the lowest setting it could not push itself thru the back yard grass. I did extensive research prior to purchase and thought this was the right one but the first cutting proved otherwise.
Date published: 2011-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from battery life I have used this mower twice and both times the battery expired within 20 minutes. I have a small yard and expected to get it done on one charge. It will take at least three charges, which is a lot of time. It uses a lot of power in self propel mode and is difficult to manage if you have a lot of shrubs and trees in your yard. After about 10 minutes as the power winds down the mower becomes tamer. It is quiet and cuts well during the short time that it worked. They say that the battery will last longer after three or four charges...I hope so. If not I will seek a refund or credit on this unit because it is not as advertised.
Date published: 2011-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This electric mower works well! This is my second electiric lawnmower and I like the Ryobi better than the first one I had. It is easy to charge and I can mow my entire yard in about 40 minutes and there is still battery power left. I have a slight rise in the front yard and it easily handles it. When engaging the self propel feature, it sometimes tends to jerk or pull but settles in quickly -- sometimes I think it could be me. The self propel feature sets an easy pace to walk with. One of my neighbors has watched me with it and just ordered one. I have only used it five times, but so far am extremely pleased with its mowing and handling. I am a 61 year old who enjoys doing her own yard work.
Date published: 2011-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Value for the money I live in southwest BC and our grass cutting season is usually around 6 months. This mower lasted one and a half seasons before the battery died. My lawn is a city sized lot and not a huge area When new, the mower did an effective job. I followed the battery charging directions carefully since new, so having the battery last for only 9 months of actual useage is pathetic.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Self-propelled feature broke <1yr, Battery life is terrible Started out ok from the package and then downhill from there. Just under a year of use (not heavy, just standard yard) and the self-propelled feature no longer seems to work no matter what I do. The battery is supposed to be a 48V which should mean more power or longer life (i.e. bigger yard) however it routinely only cuts about half of our yard or about 1/6 of an acre. If the grass is super short during the dry part of the season we might get lucky and be able to cut the whole thing on a single charge, but we are talking maybe twice. Otherwise it is back in the house for an extended charge and then back out again. Basically this turns what should be an hour long process into a day project or spread out over two days. I have been very happy with other Riyobi products but this one falls way short. From other reviews of electric mowers I just don't think they are ready for primetime yet.
Date published: 2012-04-15
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_460
  • loc_, sid_202042176, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 103ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT