The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Push Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery
  • Ryobi
  • Model RY40180
  • Internet #206481611
  • Store SO SKU #1002078743

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Push Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery

$299.00 /each
Discontinued Model:

Model # RY14110A

Internet #202042176

Ryobi 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
0046396490346

Discontinued Ryobi

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Removable and rechargeable 48-Volt battery for convenience
  • Rear-wheel drive reduces fatigue while mowing
  • 20 in. cutting path offers optimal mowing
  • 1-1/2 - 4 in. adjustable height for a manicured lawn
  • Side and rear discharge and mulch options meet your seasonal needs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$339.99 /each
$369.00 /each
$429.00 /each
$599.00 /each
Name 21 in. Electric Start Gas Self Propelled Mower with Kohler Engine 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED 21 in. 56-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Self Propelled Mower-Battery and Charger Not Included 21 in. 56-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Self Propelled Mower
Brand Lawn-Boy Ryobi EGO EGO
Ratings (288) (460) (320) (944)
Power Type Gas Battery Battery Battery
Size of Yard 1/4 - 1/2 Acre 1/2 - 1 Acre 1/4 - 1/2 Acre 1/4 - 1/2 Acre
Cutting Width (in.) 21 20 21 21
Features Bagger,Foldable handle,Mulching Lawn Mower,Tool-free adjustments Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Mulch Switch,Mulching Lawn Mower,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments Adjustable Handlebar,Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Headlights,Mulching Lawn Mower,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments Adjustable Handlebar,Bagger,Battery level indicator,Headlights,Mulching Lawn Mower,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments
Drive Type Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive Rear-wheel Drive
Refurbished No No No No
Start Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

where can i get a charger at for my ryobi self propell lawn mower 48v iran over mine

Asked by: oscar
Hi Oscar! This battery can be purchased from homedepot.com only. The Model # is OP401A. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: RYOBIOutdoors
Date published: 2016-04-29
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_, sid_202042176, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 57ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 460.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Opinions Change The first summer of use we had no problems with this mower, it was easy to use and worked great! Now it is a year later and we are regretting ever spending money on this mower. The battery doesn't even hold a charge long enough to finish half of our backyard before it dies! I've mowed three times so far this summer, and it seems every week the battery has less of a charge than the week before. UGHHH!!!!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not too heavy I wanted to add to my review and respond to what some other people keep mentioning. Several people have complained that it is too heavy at 95 lbs. One reviewer said it was too heavy so they bought a Honda mower. The Honda mover weighs in at 97 lbs.!!!! Some of the cheaper small mowers weigh in at a little over 70 lbs., EMPTY but when you fill them with gas and oil the weight goes up. Weight just isn't an issue with a self propelled mower. The mowing deck is the same as used on every other mower with 4 wheels. The battery and bag are in the back to it is easy to lift up and turn where as a gas engine sits more forward and makes it harder to lift up. I think some people just complain about everything and are not pleased. If you have a really large yard and plan to mow for several hours then you will need a gas mower. If you have a small yard and can mow it quickly then this is a great option.
Date published: 2010-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good but.... I loved the fact that there was no oil to change or gas to purchase. The fact that these mowers, electric, weigh in at 80 plus pounds required a self propelled model. For the first three months I cannot complain. I have learned just how far the battery will take me and how I can assist in extending by pushing on the flats. However, from day one, the drive train seemed a bit strange. The unit does not like to turn either with self propel or without. The wheels just did not like to free flow in a direction other than straight which makes turning around a bit hard. Then last week, one of the rear wheels stopped working. Now I am left with an 85 pound machine that wants to drive itself in circles and a company that expects me to pay for freight to and from their repair facility. So the $400+ for this mower is already increasing and who know how long I will be without a mower. Choose another mower.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointing handling capability I am very disappointed. I wanted to stop paying for gas and stop polluting the air, but this machine handles so terribly I had to take it back today. I am a healthy 57 YO woman who has been cutting her own grass for decades without a problem. This "self-propelled" electric Ryobi had me exhausted each time I tried it. It has only 1 speed=too fast! Plus only one of the hard plastic rear wheels is actually propelled while the other rear wheel just follows along; making it hard to turn corners. I have my lawn designed in curves so I don't have to stop at the end of a row and go back. So I tried the round course and it was so fast I was exhausted chasing after it. So then I tried a row by row approach; but because you can't slow down when you get to the end of a row, you have to struggle to get it onto the next row and then throw your body against the handle to get it moving again since the 1 plastic wheel that actually moves often gets hung up on slippery blades of grass or any small bump in the lawn and just spins in place. I gave up and bought a gas Toro Personal Pace mower today and am quite happy with it. Sorry atmosphere :-( Good news is that Home Depot accepted the return without a problem; not even a restocking fee.
Date published: 2011-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice mower I have a fairly small yard and have been researching electric mowers for the past 2 months. Although there are several models out there worth looking at very few are self-propelled and even fewer that are 48V if any. I would say if you have 1/2 an acre to 3/4 of an acre that this mower is more than up to the task. Ease of use, fairly quiet operation, no oil, no gas, no spark plugs, no pull cords to start, plenty of cutting level adjustments. I found this mower on sale as a return for $270 because the previous owner could not start the thing. I have no idea why - it has started every single time I have tried. If you can find this thing on sale - BUY IT!!! Anything around $300 is a steal. As I mentioned, there are not many (if any) 48v electric mowers let alone self-propelled. The only thing I think could be better our of the box is a sharper blade. We will see how this thing holds up after repeated use.
Date published: 2011-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cuts more accurately than gas mower I've used gas mowers for most of my teenage years. I've even cut greens professionally for our local golf course. There are definitely certain types of mowers for certain types of jobs, however, as battery technology advances, we may find more of these in our neighborhoods and golf ranges. The things I look for in a mower, are accuracy in the way it cuts, along with maintainability. This mower has a more accurate cut than my residential gas lawn mower, and I was surprised at how long the battery lasts. I cut my entire 1/4 acre lawn on one charge with spare power left over. Even if I had run out of power, I could easily just swap out the battery, rather than spend money on gas. There is no mess too, as there is no oil to change, filters to replace or spark plugs to clean. Just charge it over night, and you're ready to go the next day. The charge really only takes about an hour or two, to fully charge however.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor battery I bought this lawn mower in the spring. Having a great deal of problems with the battery. I charge it and the 4 lights come on but not long after I start mowing the charge is gone. I wish I had read some of the other reviews before purchasing this mower. It takes me about 3 days to complete the yard and my yard is not that large.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from After Two and Half Years... I DO NOT and CAN NOT Recommend ! Okay, after two and a half summers cutting a small yard (about 2400 sq feet) here are the issues. The battery died after the first half summer. It took A LOT of work on my part to get a new battery, had to make A LOT of phone calls and wait months. This thing is VERY poorly made with cheap plastics and steel that bends like aluminum foil. The lever that adjusts the height, the plastic ball handle broke to pieces. The padded handle (padding at top) wore away after 1.5 summers, it's gone. The flimsy metal bar you pull back on to engage the self propelled, snapped like a twig this summer (so it lasted almost two full summers). It's very heavy and difficult to pull back when you're cutting in a place you need to manually go back and forth. When everything worked right and you were moving forward, it was actually pretty darn good and I was very happy. It cost $400 and I got less than three summers out of it. I am right now in the process of buying another lawn mower, and guess what? It ain't gonna be a Roybi electric. It's going to be a HONDA or JOHN DEER. Roybi has lost my business forever.
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Product, Great Ryobi Customer Service I purchased the mower on 9/7/10 and have not had any problems...until 2 weekends ago. The mower usually works great and I can usually mow my lawn 4 times without the need to recharge the battery. Now for the downside...like many other reviews, the battery charger malfunctioned and overcharged the battery. The battery got very hot, emitted a sulfur smell, and leaked a clear fluid which I assumed to be battery acid. Since the mower is still under warranty, I contacted Ryobi customer service to inquire about obtaining a replacement battery. The online support was user friendly and I received a response the same night. I received my new battery and charger today, free of charge, 10 days after my initial inquiry to Ryobi. I think the mower works well, and Ryobi customer service is great. However, due to this recurring problem, I would not recommend this particular model to a friend. On the other hand, I have other Ryobi products and wouldn't hesitate buying other Ryobi products in the future.
Date published: 2012-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Undependable, does not always start, quirky and wouldn't recommend this mower. Self-propelling features is good idea if the mower would ever work.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lawn mower will tear the grass when turning Design of transmission causes rear wheels to slide, not turn while making a turn. Very hard to manuver, and the rear wheels dig in when making a turning because of the transmission design. Try this product before purchasing. I would not recomend buying this. I did, and now regret it.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent mower, great value I was a little nervous about a cordless mower...I have a 1/5 acre lot, but its hilly and I was worried the battery wouldn't cover front and back. I have mowed 5 times already and the charge lasted the whole time with no lag or issue. I had 2 lights left on the charge meter. It is heavy, but no heavier than my gas mower...I try not to use the power assist until i get a better idea of battery life, but I use it about 15% of the time with no problems. Overall very happy not having to worry about gas or oil or tune ups. One thing to echo an earlier review, it isn't as quiet as I thought. Certainly not as loud as a gas mower, but not a whole lot quieter either. Start/stop is a cynch!
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a reliable mower Two months after using this mowere- the starter sytem failed. It was fixed finally by Home Depot. Now , one year later and with very light use , the battery has failed. Wish I had stayed with Neuton!!!
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Electric Mower I purchased this product because it did not emmit fuse, does not require an extension cord or buying gas. Like the electric trimmer I own, this product is missing alot of torque, especially when it comes to high grass areas. It tends to slow down and almost shuts off when the grass is higher than normal (anything over 12 in). It is a bit heavy, mainly because of the rechargable battery. The battery charge indicator is very confusing. It seem to always read full until you start using it. I have owned it over a month but it seems sturdy. It gets the job done, but it lacks power when compared to the gas models. Not bad if you don't want to deal with buying gas or the exhaust fumes.
Date published: 2011-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quit working after one day! Had trouble with it the first time I used it and it quit completely the second time. Flat lawn, only a few inches high. No reason for the failure other than workmanship. And the fuse door spring fell off, too.
Date published: 2011-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The mower couldn't be started. Had to return it. I was very disappointed: Following step by step of the manual, the mower wouldn't start. Took it to Home Depot to get help. Four men tried but to no avail. Had to return it. Customer service at Ryobi stinks.
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, long battery life, great product We are very happy with the mower. Lawn is 5000 square feet and we are able to mow the entire lawn on one charge. Easy to push, nice grip, one button start is so much nicer than trying to start a gas mower.
Date published: 2011-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mower! I lived in a condo for the past few years and truly enjoyed not doing yard work. Times have changed and I now work a job where I don't get outside as much as I'd like. I recently got into a house and needed to start doing the yard or hire someone to take care of it. The things I used to dislike about yard work related mainly to the loud, unreliable, annoying gas engines that all of my old tools had. My new gear is all electric- with this mower being the star of the fleet. This thing is sweet! It moves at a great pace and makes short work of my 1/2 acre, hilly yard. The battery holds charge well (though I have a small yard, admittedly) and I have no complaints. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent lawn mower I love this lawn mower. It exceeds my expectations.....This is equivalent to the gas mowers. Great product. The battery lasts for 30 minutes non stop use which is plenty for my lawn.
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great--easy to, use i'm 70 yeard old and i can handle this mower easier than any mower i've .owned it does my hole yard on one 90-x150 charge.i highly recommend this product A. Waxman .
Date published: 2011-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs improvement I bought this at the beginning of the 2010 mowing season (snows in winter here), and it did fairly well. My lot is 0.14 acre and it woulld just barely have enough juice to mow on one charge. It can struggle a little at the end of a charge in dense grass. I left the battery in an attached garage over the winter and now it has half the battery capacity; It now takes two charges and I have to run it beyond recommended charge state to get it done in two charges (lowers the battery life further). Cutting got uneven toward the end of the season and had I to sharpen the blade for this year. Overall, I'd recommend not purchasing a cordless electric mower until lithium-Ion becomes the standard.
Date published: 2011-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unless your lawn is really small, stay away If you are looking for a battery-powered mower, you should know than none of them yet use lithium batteries, so they just don't have much juice even with very heavy batteries. This is supposedly one of the best mowers you can get, but it still will only mow for about 15 minutes on a charge. It was very pleasant to use and did an OK job, but the blade speed is a bit low compared to a gas mower, so the grass wasn't cut as cleanly. When lithium-powered mowers show up, I'd look again, but right now you are better off with gas or corded mowers if you have more than a very small patch of grass to mow.
Date published: 2010-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Built and Durable I wanted this mower for my wife actually who likes mowing the yard for some reason. We live on a ranch and I have acres to mow with a farm tractor and riding mowers. I fenced off an area behind the house and planted high end Bermuda grass for the (small) dogs and family recreation. It is probably twice the size of a city dwellers front and back yard combined. This powerful little mower cut it with power to spare. Even using the well performing self-propelled (and it's not too fast) feature it held it's charge. I just didn't want another engine, oil change, gas hole to maintain. This fits the bill.
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Ryobi I am thrilled that we purchased this, and I have already recommended it to my parents and to my cousin. It is the easiest thing to push (brisk acceleration, 7 levels of grass height dial, and one button/one bar to push down starting). It works great. We bought this mower after skepticism over the concept of battery operated/recharging and reading reviews of this and another option. We have to recharge the battery after every forty minutes of mowing (the battery is heavy but removable), and we have a .73 acre lot....so, there is a lot of grass to mow, but it is a quiet mower, and it does a great job easily. Also, I like the excuse for a break and can usually do two or three sessions in a day after plugging in to recharge. (Our yard takes four hours to mow with a push mower, but we don't want a riding mower for the cost and hilly areas.) Finally, the only glitch we had is that the diagram in the directions shows the plug for the battery placed in one direction...the input area on the battery was upside down of that....if yours doesn't begin charging (a light will glow if working at recharging), then you might want to turn the plug upside down..... :-). Hope you enjoy as much as we do....great not to pull start a mower or run out to fill up a gas can! Where has this Ryobi been all my life?!
Date published: 2011-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, but not ready for prime time I just bought this from HD yesterday. I was optimistic because rechargeable mowers are clearly the future. The idea of not dealing with gas and oil, adding smog to my city and reducing noise pollution is awesome. Alas, the current generation of mowers all use lead acid batteries, a technology that dates back to the 19th century. As a result, the battery capacity is about 50% as long as is needed for a typical lawn. And, lead acid batteries have further reduced capacity if they are discharged below ~20% of their capacity. As a result, the real world battery life is about 20-30 minutes. Worst of all, you can't even find a spare battery to swap in. Given the cost of the unit, they really should be using fast charge lithium ion batteries. This is a mature technology that would double the operating endurance and cut charge time from 12h to <2. So, listen up HD any Ryobi!
Date published: 2010-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery problems, Do not buy! Bought this in August 2011, here I am 8 months later and my mower is broken. Used for very normal use in a very small yard (0.15 acre). It appears there is something wrong with the battery, it will not turn on. Ryobi is of no help, and because we did not save the receipt they will not honor the alleged 3 year warranty. Long story short, if I could turn back time I would just have bought an old fashioned gas powered mower. Now that this one is dead that is exactly what we will do. Almost $400 wasted on a mower to only last 8 months? Will NEVER buy Ryobi product again.
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoy this mower! I used the Ryobi yesterday for the first time - and it was a joy; I had received it the day before and charged it so that it would have a full charge. As others have mentioned, there was little assembly required; also the battery arrived with a 50% charge; I have a 3/4 acre lot, with the backyard being the larger area; The front yard had already been cut, so only the back needed cutting. The mower was able to cut the backyard in 25 minutes, and I had three lights (*80%) power left after I was done; This was achieved while using the self propelled mechanism 80% of the time, and also having to cut through several patches of high grass (5 in); The strength of the Ryobi was on par with a gas mower;, the height adjustment procedure was easy, It was also nice having the battery indicator readily available; starting was a breeze - no pull string, just press the button and go, and it looks great! I read where there was a concern about the speed of the mower while using the self propelled feature; I found the pace slightly brisk but pleasant. The big battery gives it juice to power through tall grass, and I feel it will have enough of a charge to cut the back and front yards with one use; Quieter than a gas mower, no gas, oil, air filter, or spark plug to buy, and it does not pollute like a gas combustion engine does. All in all I am very pleased with this mower.
Date published: 2011-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid mower. Some drawbacks I purchased the floor model for this mower a few months ago. I was reluctant from some reviews but since I got a deal I decided to roll the dice. Here is what I've found: Pros: easy use. Decent power. No gasoline needed. Cons: battery charge time 10hrs. Width of cut. Bogs a bit in heavy grass. Overall pretty awesome for a device that plugs in like a blender.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great electric mower - Easy to assemble. Ready to go straight from the box w/in minutes and no tools needed. - Easy to use. Straight foward design and easy to follow instructions for starting and using. - Fairly quick charge/recharge. Plug it in overnight, it'll be ready to go the next day. The charger does stop after the battery is fully charged, which prevents over-charging and shortening battery life. It was ready to go straight from the box and I managed to do a majority of my lawn w/o an initial overnight charging. (Probably NOT recommended though.) - Versatile. Bag collection, mulching, or side discharge. Whichever you prefer. Bag is a bit small and needs to be emptied after about 5 minutes... maybe 10 minutes maximum. Side discharge seems to put the cut grass into next cutting path, which could bog down the mower, especially if the battery power starts to run low. Did not try the mulching option, but may be the best of the three options. The varying height control is great and easy to use. - Control. Difficult to control at first, but quick to figure out how to control it. The separate blade control and propulsion control make it easy to stop the propulsion part and do turns and semi-detailed work around obsticles, such as trees. - Fairly quiet. MUCH more quiet than a gas mower. No need for ear protection. Overall: GREAT purchase for all those who are Green conscience and/or don't want to spent $10 in gas to mow the lawn. It IS rated for about an acre, so it's good for a fairly good size lawn. If you want to use it for larger lawns, would recommend getting a extra battery. About 1 battery per acre you wish to do. If you have more than 2 or 3 acres, you may want something larger. Would Ryobi consider making a battery-powered riding mower for larger lawns?
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped working This lawnmower was delivered to me. I put it together and used it four times with no problem. It seemd to work well. Then the fifth time I tried to use it it refused to start. Ryobi said take it to the authorized repair shop and they would repair it. I said to heck with that and took it back to home depot where they refunded my money in full.
Date published: 2011-11-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_460
  • loc_, sid_202042176, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 148ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT