Ryobi 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED-RY14110A - The Home Depot
Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

Ryobi

Model # RY14110A

Internet # 202042176

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Ryobi 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$369.00 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # RY14110A

Internet # 202042176

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Removable and rechargeable 48-Volt battery for convenience
  • Rear-wheel drive reduces fatigue while mowing
  • 20 in. cutting path offers optimal mowing
  • 1-1/2 - 4 in. adjustable height for a manicured lawn
  • Side and rear discharge and mulch options meet your seasonal needs
  • Home Depot Protection Plan:

    Home Depot Protection Plan

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
59 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
40 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
21 in 
Blade Length (In.) 
19.5 in 
Rear wheel size (in.) 
Size of Yard 
1/2 - 1 Acre 
Details
Charge time (hours) 
12 
Cutting Options 
Bag,Mulch,Side-Discharge 
Cutting Width 
20 in 
Drive type 
Rear-wheel Drive 
Electric Mower Type 
Cordless 
Features 
Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Mulch Switch,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments 
Fuel Type 
Rechargeable Battery 
Included 
Bag Kit,Batteries 
Lawn Mower Type 
Walk Behind 
Maximum cutting height (in.) 
Minimum cutting height (in.) 
1.5 
Mulching Capability 
Yes 
Number of Blades 
Number of adjustable handlebar positions 
Product Weight (lb.) 
95 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Run time (min.) 
45 
Start Type 
Electric 
Terrain 
Flat with Obstacles 
Voltage (volts) 
48 
Walk Behind Mower Type 
Self Propelled 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 year 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 461 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Battery died. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT I have had the same experience as other users. The mower worked great for about 6 months. Then, all of a sudden, the battery burst and died. I was out of warranty and out of luck. Piece of junk cost me $400. November 23, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Self-propelled feature broke <1yr, Battery life is terrible Started out ok from the package and then downhill from there. Just under a year of use (not heavy, just standard yard) and the self-propelled feature no longer seems to work no matter what I do. The battery is supposed to be a 48V which should mean more power or longer life (i.e. bigger yard) however it routinely only cuts about half of our yard or about 1/6 of an acre. If the grass is super short during the dry part of the season we might get lucky and be able to cut the whole thing on a single charge, but we are talking maybe twice. Otherwise it is back in the house for an extended charge and then back out again. Basically this turns what should be an hour long process into a day project or spread out over two days. I have been very happy with other Riyobi products but this one falls way short. From other reviews of electric mowers I just don't think they are ready for primetime yet. April 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Of Breed Bought this mower after reading the reviews of others. It was a great choice. I already have other Ryobi lawn tools and they are the best I've ever used. This mower is the same. The others complained about the self propelled speed. That is a problem. Way too fast. It's gear driven, so I was thinking about trying to install a smaller gear on the drive wheel. But overall, it's well worth the money and very quiet (almost "fun", almost) June 11, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase I'm impressed! Easy set up. Charged the battery overnight and put the mower to work. Cut a fairly tall and dense lawn cleanly and efficiently. My lawn is about 1/3 of an acre and quite hilly. I was able to finish half of the lawn on the initial charge; then finished the next day after recharging. The next week I completed 2/3 of the lawn with a full charge. I'll be interested in seeing whether the run time will crank up a bit more but at my age having the self-propelled feature, mulching and the ease of operation are acceptable trade-offs for splitting the task into two sessions. The 45 volt battery seems to provide plenty of power to handle my mowing needs. May 1, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Heavy, awkward turning, rear wheel drive Turning becomes an issue due to weigth and rear wheel drive. It couldn't make it thru our corner lot on one charge and the lot is not that big. When adjusted to the lowest setting it could not push itself thru the back yard grass. I did extensive research prior to purchase and thought this was the right one but the first cutting proved otherwise. June 14, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by battery life I have used this mower twice and both times the battery expired within 20 minutes. I have a small yard and expected to get it done on one charge. It will take at least three charges, which is a lot of time. It uses a lot of power in self propel mode and is difficult to manage if you have a lot of shrubs and trees in your yard. After about 10 minutes as the power winds down the mower becomes tamer. It is quiet and cuts well during the short time that it worked. They say that the battery will last longer after three or four charges...I hope so. If not I will seek a refund or credit on this unit because it is not as advertised. April 30, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This electric mower works well! This is my second electiric lawnmower and I like the Ryobi better than the first one I had. It is easy to charge and I can mow my entire yard in about 40 minutes and there is still battery power left. I have a slight rise in the front yard and it easily handles it. When engaging the self propel feature, it sometimes tends to jerk or pull but settles in quickly -- sometimes I think it could be me. The self propel feature sets an easy pace to walk with. One of my neighbors has watched me with it and just ordered one. I have only used it five times, but so far am extremely pleased with its mowing and handling. I am a 61 year old who enjoys doing her own yard work. June 6, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Opinions Change The first summer of use we had no problems with this mower, it was easy to use and worked great! Now it is a year later and we are regretting ever spending money on this mower. The battery doesn't even hold a charge long enough to finish half of our backyard before it dies! I've mowed three times so far this summer, and it seems every week the battery has less of a charge than the week before. UGHHH!!!! May 12, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An average product The self-propelled is great when up hill, but there is no speed control. I bought 1st one it is too fast, I bought 2nd one, it is too slow. I broke the 1st one after the blade incidentally chopped an iron pipe cover on ground. After a year or two, you need to buy a new battery. Each time you buy new battery, it come with new charger. Now I have two set of them. The battery is heavy, 45 lbs. the machine is also 45 lbs., so total is 90 lbs. With full charge, it only last less than a hour, not enough for my 0.25 acre lawn, so it is good to have 2 sets of battery. You can easily change a new blade by yourself. May 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointing handling capability I am very disappointed. I wanted to stop paying for gas and stop polluting the air, but this machine handles so terribly I had to take it back today. I am a healthy 57 YO woman who has been cutting her own grass for decades without a problem. This "self-propelled" electric Ryobi had me exhausted each time I tried it. It has only 1 speed=too fast! Plus only one of the hard plastic rear wheels is actually propelled while the other rear wheel just follows along; making it hard to turn corners. I have my lawn designed in curves so I don't have to stop at the end of a row and go back. So I tried the round course and it was so fast I was exhausted chasing after it. So then I tried a row by row approach; but because you can't slow down when you get to the end of a row, you have to struggle to get it onto the next row and then throw your body against the handle to get it moving again since the 1 plastic wheel that actually moves often gets hung up on slippery blades of grass or any small bump in the lawn and just spins in place. I gave up and bought a gas Toro Personal Pace mower today and am quite happy with it. Sorry atmosphere :-( Good news is that Home Depot accepted the return without a problem; not even a restocking fee. May 19, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cuts more accurately than gas mower I've used gas mowers for most of my teenage years. I've even cut greens professionally for our local golf course. There are definitely certain types of mowers for certain types of jobs, however, as battery technology advances, we may find more of these in our neighborhoods and golf ranges. The things I look for in a mower, are accuracy in the way it cuts, along with maintainability. This mower has a more accurate cut than my residential gas lawn mower, and I was surprised at how long the battery lasts. I cut my entire 1/4 acre lawn on one charge with spare power left over. Even if I had run out of power, I could easily just swap out the battery, rather than spend money on gas. There is no mess too, as there is no oil to change, filters to replace or spark plugs to clean. Just charge it over night, and you're ready to go the next day. The charge really only takes about an hour or two, to fully charge however. September 6, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty nice mower I have a fairly small yard and have been researching electric mowers for the past 2 months. Although there are several models out there worth looking at very few are self-propelled and even fewer that are 48V if any. I would say if you have 1/2 an acre to 3/4 of an acre that this mower is more than up to the task. Ease of use, fairly quiet operation, no oil, no gas, no spark plugs, no pull cords to start, plenty of cutting level adjustments. I found this mower on sale as a return for $270 because the previous owner could not start the thing. I have no idea why - it has started every single time I have tried. If you can find this thing on sale - BUY IT!!! Anything around $300 is a steal. As I mentioned, there are not many (if any) 48v electric mowers let alone self-propelled. The only thing I think could be better our of the box is a sharper blade. We will see how this thing holds up after repeated use. April 25, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not too heavy I wanted to add to my review and respond to what some other people keep mentioning. Several people have complained that it is too heavy at 95 lbs. One reviewer said it was too heavy so they bought a Honda mower. The Honda mover weighs in at 97 lbs.!!!! Some of the cheaper small mowers weigh in at a little over 70 lbs., EMPTY but when you fill them with gas and oil the weight goes up. Weight just isn't an issue with a self propelled mower. The mowing deck is the same as used on every other mower with 4 wheels. The battery and bag are in the back to it is easy to lift up and turn where as a gas engine sits more forward and makes it harder to lift up. I think some people just complain about everything and are not pleased. If you have a really large yard and plan to mow for several hours then you will need a gas mower. If you have a small yard and can mow it quickly then this is a great option. May 6, 2010
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good but.... I loved the fact that there was no oil to change or gas to purchase. The fact that these mowers, electric, weigh in at 80 plus pounds required a self propelled model. For the first three months I cannot complain. I have learned just how far the battery will take me and how I can assist in extending by pushing on the flats. However, from day one, the drive train seemed a bit strange. The unit does not like to turn either with self propel or without. The wheels just did not like to free flow in a direction other than straight which makes turning around a bit hard. Then last week, one of the rear wheels stopped working. Now I am left with an 85 pound machine that wants to drive itself in circles and a company that expects me to pay for freight to and from their repair facility. So the $400+ for this mower is already increasing and who know how long I will be without a mower. Choose another mower. July 19, 2010
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Product, Great Ryobi Customer Service I purchased the mower on 9/7/10 and have not had any problems...until 2 weekends ago. The mower usually works great and I can usually mow my lawn 4 times without the need to recharge the battery. Now for the downside...like many other reviews, the battery charger malfunctioned and overcharged the battery. The battery got very hot, emitted a sulfur smell, and leaked a clear fluid which I assumed to be battery acid. Since the mower is still under warranty, I contacted Ryobi customer service to inquire about obtaining a replacement battery. The online support was user friendly and I received a response the same night. I received my new battery and charger today, free of charge, 10 days after my initial inquiry to Ryobi. I think the mower works well, and Ryobi customer service is great. However, due to this recurring problem, I would not recommend this particular model to a friend. On the other hand, I have other Ryobi products and wouldn't hesitate buying other Ryobi products in the future. May 24, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lawn mower will tear the grass when turning Design of transmission causes rear wheels to slide, not turn while making a turn. Very hard to manuver, and the rear wheels dig in when making a turning because of the transmission design. Try this product before purchasing. I would not recomend buying this. I did, and now regret it. March 28, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a reliable mower Two months after using this mowere- the starter sytem failed. It was fixed finally by Home Depot. Now , one year later and with very light use , the battery has failed. Wish I had stayed with Neuton!!! July 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worthless!!! Garbage, worthless, better off w/a box of bricks and machete!!! September 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Electric Mower I purchased this product because it did not emmit fuse, does not require an extension cord or buying gas. Like the electric trimmer I own, this product is missing alot of torque, especially when it comes to high grass areas. It tends to slow down and almost shuts off when the grass is higher than normal (anything over 12 in). It is a bit heavy, mainly because of the rechargable battery. The battery charge indicator is very confusing. It seem to always read full until you start using it. I have owned it over a month but it seems sturdy. It gets the job done, but it lacks power when compared to the gas models. Not bad if you don't want to deal with buying gas or the exhaust fumes. September 8, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent mower, great value I was a little nervous about a cordless mower...I have a 1/5 acre lot, but its hilly and I was worried the battery wouldn't cover front and back. I have mowed 5 times already and the charge lasted the whole time with no lag or issue. I had 2 lights left on the charge meter. It is heavy, but no heavier than my gas mower...I try not to use the power assist until i get a better idea of battery life, but I use it about 15% of the time with no problems. Overall very happy not having to worry about gas or oil or tune ups. One thing to echo an earlier review, it isn't as quiet as I thought. Certainly not as loud as a gas mower, but not a whole lot quieter either. Start/stop is a cynch! June 27, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The mower couldn't be started. Had to return it. I was very disappointed: Following step by step of the manual, the mower wouldn't start. Took it to Home Depot to get help. Four men tried but to no avail. Had to return it. Customer service at Ryobi stinks. September 20, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower! I lived in a condo for the past few years and truly enjoyed not doing yard work. Times have changed and I now work a job where I don't get outside as much as I'd like. I recently got into a house and needed to start doing the yard or hire someone to take care of it. The things I used to dislike about yard work related mainly to the loud, unreliable, annoying gas engines that all of my old tools had. My new gear is all electric- with this mower being the star of the fleet. This thing is sweet! It moves at a great pace and makes short work of my 1/2 acre, hilly yard. The battery holds charge well (though I have a small yard, admittedly) and I have no complaints. Highly recommended! September 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use, long battery life, great product We are very happy with the mower. Lawn is 5000 square feet and we are able to mow the entire lawn on one charge. Easy to push, nice grip, one button start is so much nicer than trying to start a gas mower. June 1, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Quit working after one day! Had trouble with it the first time I used it and it quit completely the second time. Flat lawn, only a few inches high. No reason for the failure other than workmanship. And the fuse door spring fell off, too. April 24, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent lawn mower I love this lawn mower. It exceeds my expectations.....This is equivalent to the gas mowers. Great product. The battery lasts for 30 minutes non stop use which is plenty for my lawn. July 8, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by works great--easy to, use i'm 70 yeard old and i can handle this mower easier than any mower i've .owned it does my hole yard on one 90-x150 charge.i highly recommend this product A. Waxman . June 12, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Battery problems, Do not buy! Bought this in August 2011, here I am 8 months later and my mower is broken. Used for very normal use in a very small yard (0.15 acre). It appears there is something wrong with the battery, it will not turn on. Ryobi is of no help, and because we did not save the receipt they will not honor the alleged 3 year warranty. Long story short, if I could turn back time I would just have bought an old fashioned gas powered mower. Now that this one is dead that is exactly what we will do. Almost $400 wasted on a mower to only last 8 months? Will NEVER buy Ryobi product again. April 8, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs improvement I bought this at the beginning of the 2010 mowing season (snows in winter here), and it did fairly well. My lot is 0.14 acre and it woulld just barely have enough juice to mow on one charge. It can struggle a little at the end of a charge in dense grass. I left the battery in an attached garage over the winter and now it has half the battery capacity; It now takes two charges and I have to run it beyond recommended charge state to get it done in two charges (lowers the battery life further). Cutting got uneven toward the end of the season and had I to sharpen the blade for this year. Overall, I'd recommend not purchasing a cordless electric mower until lithium-Ion becomes the standard. April 11, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well Built and Durable I wanted this mower for my wife actually who likes mowing the yard for some reason. We live on a ranch and I have acres to mow with a farm tractor and riding mowers. I fenced off an area behind the house and planted high end Bermuda grass for the (small) dogs and family recreation. It is probably twice the size of a city dwellers front and back yard combined. This powerful little mower cut it with power to spare. Even using the well performing self-propelled (and it's not too fast) feature it held it's charge. I just didn't want another engine, oil change, gas hole to maintain. This fits the bill. May 28, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unless your lawn is really small, stay away If you are looking for a battery-powered mower, you should know than none of them yet use lithium batteries, so they just don't have much juice even with very heavy batteries. This is supposedly one of the best mowers you can get, but it still will only mow for about 15 minutes on a charge. It was very pleasant to use and did an OK job, but the blade speed is a bit low compared to a gas mower, so the grass wasn't cut as cleanly. When lithium-powered mowers show up, I'd look again, but right now you are better off with gas or corded mowers if you have more than a very small patch of grass to mow. May 23, 2010
  • 2015-05-25T11:39:35.684-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_461, tr_461
  • loc_en_US, sid_202042176, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 17 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


Orders for this item may be expedited for an additional fee.


Other Delivery Options:

Express and Expedited shipping options are also available. Estimated arrival times are available in checkout.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.