0046396490346

Suggested Replacement

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Electric Lawn Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery
  • Ryobi
  • Model # RY40180
  • Internet # 206481611

20 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless Electric Lawn Mower with 5.0 Ah Battery

$399.00 /each

Compare to Discontinued Model View Product

Discontinued Model

Discontinued

Ryobi

Model # RY14110A

Internet # 202042176

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Removable and rechargeable 48-Volt battery for convenience
  • Rear-wheel drive reduces fatigue while mowing
  • 20 in. cutting path offers optimal mowing
  • 1-1/2 - 4 in. adjustable height for a manicured lawn
  • Side and rear discharge and mulch options meet your seasonal needs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.) 
59 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
40 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
21 in 
Blade Length (In.) 
19.5 in 
Front wheel size (in.) 
Rear wheel size (in.) 
Size of Yard 
1/2 - 1 Acre 

Details

Assembly Required 
Yes 
Charge time (hours) 
12 
Cutting Options 
Bag,Mulch,Side-Discharge 
Cutting Width (in.) 
20 
Drive type 
Rear-wheel Drive 
Features 
Bagger,Battery level indicator,Foldable handle,Mulch Switch,Mulching Capable,Rust resistant deck,Single-lever height adjustment,Tool-free adjustments 
Included 
Bag Kit,Battery(s) 
Lawn Mower Type 
Self Propelled Mower 
Maximum cutting height (in.) 
Minimum cutting height (in.) 
1.5 
Mower Size Type 
Standard 
Number of Blades 
Number of adjustable handlebar positions 
Power Type 
Battery 
Product Weight (lb.) 
95 lb 
Refurbished 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Run time (min.) 
45 
Start Type 
Electric 
Terrain 
Flat with Obstacles 
Voltage (volts) 
48 
Walk Behind Mower Type 
Self Propelled 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 year 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

1 Question1 Answer

Customer Questions & Answers

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
 
1 answer

where can i get a charger at for my ryobi self propell lawn mower 48v iran over mine

This question is from 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Asked by
pennsauken nj
Read all my Q&A
April 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

April 28, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Oscar! This battery can be purchased from homedepot.com only. The Model # is OP401A.
Thanks for your question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-07-28 T15:20:13.644-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202042176, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 461 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Drive Bail snapped in the first year. No replacement available. The Drive Bail lever snapped the first summer. I looked for a replacement on line and it was always on back order. It must have been a common defect. Now it is "no longer available from manufacturer" with no alternative part to replace it. I can't believe Ryobi is still selling this model knowing it will be self propelled for a limited time. Ryobi obviously does not care about it's customers. April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worthless!!! Garbage, worthless, better off w/a box of bricks and machete!!! September 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great concept, really bad battery I've had this mower for only one season. I loved the quiet sound and it cut well. The mower is very heavy, so cutting on a hill was a problem. Even with my small lawn, the battery died before the lawn was cut. By the end of the summer however, the battery was dead! It leaked acid and had to be replaced. Of course, a new battery was both expensive and...not available until spring. I bought a new gas mower and sent this mower to the landfill after only one season. Not environmentally friendly. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ryobi rules Another great product from Ryobi. Quiet and easy to operate. A plus for the environment compared with gas engines. Only one speed of self propelled drive but a very comfortable pace, I don't feel rushed but it's fast enough to be getting the job done. I was concerned about that before I bought it based on other reviews but speed is not a problem. cuts well. Very powerful. Battery seems to last long enough but I've had to use it 30 minutes at a time so I don't know its total time from full charge to empty battery. Really great tool. I looked hard for other brands/choices before buying and this is one of few self-propelled and seems to be a clear best-of-class. I also can't say enough good things about a Ryobi electric log splitter (about $300) which is as slick as this mower. October 19, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best lawn mower for a small yard First keep your battery inside and not out in the sun and it will last a few years. I have a oversized lot and for the first year it mowed the whole thing on one charge. my second year it mowed aboit 9/10's of the yard and and its went down about 10% since then. But charges fast so i would go eat lunch and then finish. Geat thing out this mower, no prep, no oit to check, and there is no trips to the gas station. Every year ive had it, I just pull it out of store charge the battery and go!!! February 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst lawn mower ever, keep looking elsewhere Bought this 2 years ago. Had a problem after 8 months of battery not re-charging. Ryobi support told me this was MY fault, because I had left the lawn mower plugged in for more than 2 hours. They sent a new battery and charger 5 weeks later and told me to never again charge the lawn mower for more than 2 hours. Now the lawn mower just wont start. Battery says it's charged, the lawn mower is dead and won't do anything. I'm not dealing with with the poor support at Ryobi again. This was a waste of hundreds of dollars, I will NEVER buy another Ryobi product again. In addition to this lawn mower malfunctioning, it barely cuts grass. Seriously, if the grass is more than 3" long the lawn mower would chug and struggle to cut it. It was ridiculous. I have a tiny, little yard and this lawn mower was a bad investment. July 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible battery life after 1 year. Replacement battery on HD is $129... not worth it! Bought this mower in 2012 from Home Depot - used 1 season approx 25 times bat life was approx 1 hour. Worked for my front yard. Used it in 2013 and battery won't hold a charge past 20 min of use! What a waste of $$$. I was under the impression the battery could stay plugged in for 24 hours between uses - now I'm reading reviews in the Ryobi 48 volt replacement battery section that you must unplug the bat after 10 hours otherwise it over charges and diminishes the over all life. Poor design for such an expensive mower. Wish I had read the reviews about the replacement bat before I purches the mower. I also had a minor problem w/ the power switch - the spring weakend and it no longer allowed the switch to work. I had to remove the cover and pull of the switch manually (same as pulling the bar to start it). June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 48 Volt Propelled Lawn Mower I like all the features concerning this 48 Volt Propelled Mower. You can recharge the battery which is an important plus. The mower is not hard to push extremely easy for women who must do their own yardwork. And the rear bag collects all the tall grass eliminating the need to rake the lawn when your done with the mowing. Easy to operate, and start, with ease of maintenance with the life of the battery. I would recommend this Mower to all my friends and family in a heartbeat. Sylvia .........Covington, GA April 7, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worked great when it worked This mower is easy to use and intuitive. I have a fair amount of lawn in downtown Phoenix and the mower could cut the front and back in one charge. The lawn is flat with Bermuda. The self propel feature was useful to get it going in the direction you wanted as the lawn mower is heavy due to the battery. The problem is the complete lack of Ryobi customer service and the incredibly poor battery life. I echo the many other reviews in saying Ryobi customer service is nonexistent. The charger will overcharge your battery if not careful and then you are paying $130 a year for a battery as a year is the expected lifespan. If anyone in Phoenix is interested in this lawn mower for parts, I've got one. I bought a lawn mower from Sears yesterday where I know where I can get my mower repaired if needed. May 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't worry After reading the other reviews and having the same issue I called ryobi customer service. I explained that after only 1 year of use the battery refused to charge. I asked if the battery was recalled or if I was just out 130 bucks on a new one. Turns out the charger was recalled, a brand new charger and battery is on the way to our home as I type this message. While the initial issue is a bad one, the mower itself is a great product and I hope the replacement parts last me years to come. January 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cuts and Bags Well, Slick wheels hurt Self Propel This mower works very well and the 48 volts really shows up when you are cutting extra heavy grass -- it powers through! Easy to operate and charge. Don't be discouraged by length of running on first charge. We started out only getting half the yard done. Two months later I finish the whole yard with charge left to spare. To extend battery life, don't use the self propel on flat or downhill segments. I use it on a very steep part of the front yard and my only complaint is the hard wheels don't bite in well to get you going. A firm push and the self propel takes over and takes me all the way up the bank. Bag works well and is easy to remove and replace. The white carry handle is well balanced. Really love that I no longer have to store gasoline or clean carburetors after the winter. September 9, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great alternative to gas/oil It starts up easily; has a decent amount of power, especially when the propel feature is first activated; and cuts great. I bought it for ease of use/maintenance and I expect it will be great for that. 2 things to note: (1) as the directions indicate, the first couple of charges may not give as much run time. But by the third cut, I was getting over an hour on the battery. (2) if grass is stuck in/around the blade (e.g. if grass is too long), it may not start. I was nervous because it was my second use, the battery was fully charged, and it would not start. But i pulled the grass out from the blade underneath and it started right back up. it is not very "heavy duty" in that regard (i.e., with grass about 2 weeks overdue for a cut). But for regular cuts, does exactly was it purports to do. May 16, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to Use! I used my mower today for the first time. It worked just like a gas mower. Maintaining this mower will be easier than the gas mower. I also like that it does not give off harmful fumes. The battery is removable and can be charged separately from the mower, which is convenient for me. The only thing I did not like is you have to hold the upper bail (gray bar) while holding the mower handle to keep the motor on. I am looking forward to future lawn care instances this spring/summer with my new mower! April 30, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's great for small yards. I got my this mower about 2 months ago and I like it. I have a small yard, prob 500 sq ft so it is just right. Larger ones may and it may run out of battery although I usually can mow twice with one charge. My only complaint is flimsy foam handle which tore on each edge the first time I used it. Also the handle for the wheel power is a little difficult to use but is manageable. I am fairly satisfied with it, eliminating, using gas, also environmentally friendly and convenient with no electric cords. May 12, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and powerful We've been using this mower for a month now and love how it's electric (quiet) and powerful. My son, who is 12 and doesn't use one arm (it's in a cast) can mow our yard with this because of the self propelled feature (he insisted). It is propelled at a pace that should be slow enough for anybody who can maintain a normal walking pace, I'm guessing about 2 mph. We use it's mulcher to return nutrients to the yard and prevent several trips to the yard waste can. Our yard is about 6,000 square feet and it can mow all of it on one charge in self propelled mode. You could increase that area if you don't constantly use it's own power to propel it. We have a small incline in our front yard of about 30 degrees, and it easily climbed that incline in tall (6") grass even though it was a little damp. May 14, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing I just bought this two weeks ago but I already love it. It was my first mow of the season and the the grass was tall. It handled the job as well as my old Honda, except when you get into grass that is choking it, the motor doesn't die. Push a button and it is running, let go of the handle and it isn't. My front yard has a pretty steep incline and the self propel climbed right up it without a problem. I had no problem mowing the entire yard on a single charge. I heartily recommend this mower. March 2, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed bag Cuts well, but battery life is so-so. I love having no gas fumes, quiet motor, all the benefits of electric. I can do either my front yard or back yard on a charge but not both, especially if I use the self-propelled mode (which given the heavy weight of the mower is preferable). Self-propelled it goes very fast, you can't really adjust the speed which can be annoying. Anyway, overall I'm still happy to be electric, and cordless. Just have to accept a few limitations versus a high-end gas mower. May 28, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Battery Powered Push Mower My property is a little over an acre so I bought an extra battery. Each battery lasts about 45 minutes even if the dry grass is a little high. The self-propel mode makes the mowing quite easy, especially since my property isn't completely flat. It comes with the options of mulch, bag or side distribution. Another one of the great features is that I don't have to put up with the loud noise or mess of a gas mower. It's probably a notch above a large box fan. I'm very pleased with this mower. September 24, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER. The charger and battery are no good. The mower is dead again just like last spring. After six weeks in the repair shop, they fixed it and gave us a new charger and said it overcharges the battery? This spring, we mow the lawn once and the battery and charger die. This will last you exactly one summer as many other reviewers have stated. Go with something else. Next year I won't have a warranty and I'm out of luck. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER. March 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Battery Mower mows our 5,600 sq ft yard just fine. Almost as good as our old gas. I don't use the self propel function, as I like the exercise. Battery is horrid. One day it stopped working. Upon opening the battery I found one of the two batteries had ruptured. This is horrid quality and dangerous to have around. I believe it's a moral issue for the company, to sell such poor quality to families. I've never seen any battery do this - and I've had SLA batteries that have lasted 10x's as long. July 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice power, great cutting, a bit heavy when push only This is a cool way to go as far as lawnmowers go. Love the quiet sound, compared to a gas engine. Some people don't like the pace, but I find it perfect to keep up with. Feels heavy if the self-propelled motor is not engaged. This is because of the heavy battery, which goes about 45 min or so before it gives up. Charge up is simple. Shipping was free (even though it probably cost a bundle for Home Depot to ship). Got it in 3 days. Completely satisfied at this point after 3 lawn cuttings. June 13, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by self propelled - good but died young I was excited to get a cordless self propelled mower. I had an electric corded mower that had lasted for many years. I decided to get a cordless self-propelled mower. This is one I bought. It almost cuts my yard which is average size. However, I bought the lawn mower last summer and the battery has died this summer. I have hardly cut the grass due to drought this summer. It is very premature to have to replace the battery. I am back to using my electric mower that is 15 years old. August 12, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 2 Dead Batteries in Under 3 Years! I initially purchased this mower in 2012, just after the 1 year mark (after warranty expired), the batter died so I bought a replacement one. Less than a year later the 2nd battery is dead too. It was great when it worked and if the batter lasted more than 9-12 months, this may have been worth it. I'm either going to get an corded electric (no battery) or gas. February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This is a very well-designed unit. It has plenty of power and does a good job of cutting the grass. This mower has been thoughtfully designed and has many good features. The battery system is very solid and easy to use. The battery is heavy, but it has to be to hold the current density needed to mow a whole lawn. And yes, it did mow my whole lawn on a single charge; but I should add that I have a small lawn. The self-propelled feature is great and makes up for the fact that the unit is somewhat heavy. But all-in-all, it's a great mower. August 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by If you live in the Northwest don't bother I love the mower for it's features ~ self propelled, battery operated (i.e. environmentally friendlier, etc) however the battery simply can not do the job for grass that grows like ours in Portland. Despite the advertised 1/2 to 1 acre per charge I have yet to completely mow my backyard on one charge, which makes up the majority of my 1/4 acre lot. Though I like the mower it has severely disappointed me and not met my needs. I must charge it 3-5 times to even get a moderate length cut on my grass. This makes mowing my lawn take a ridiculously long time and creates excessive inconvenience. I am seriously considering returning it, especially as the cost of an extra battery is $129, extremely disproportional to the cost of the mower itself. I wish it were what I was lead to believe and what I had hoped for. May 28, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This product is reliable and easy to use I have had my mower for two years and other than myself leaving it in the rain and shorting the battery (which was covered under the 3yr warrenty) it has worked perfect each time. I do not use the self-propell feature as the mower is easy to push without it. Cuts grass without leaving "stray blades", easy to clean, charge and store. Charge lasts a long time in my opinion...have to charge it about once a month in the summer, but I mow a couple of times a week. May 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good till it lasts Here is my synopsis after 1 year of usage: The good: - it does a quite good job cutting and mulching the lawn The not so good: - quite heavy - the battery does not last as advertised; mine does about 35-40 minutes - handle foam cracked in 2 months; the wheels are annoyingly squeaking The really bad: - it stopped working after 1 year. I contacted one of the RYOBI authorized servicers, and they said that the charger overcharges the battery and renders it defective after a while. The servicer didn't have the parts and so they ordered it from RYOBI. 3 weeks later and still didn't arrive. I called RYOBI directly and I got a very nasty customer support representative which told me I had no grounds to complain cuz the normal wait time is at least 14 business days. I am still waiting for the parts to arrive. October 14, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FANTASTIC MOWER I have only mowed twice with this wonderful machine, but can really tell already that it is definitely a keeper. It is so easy to operate. After charging, you just insert the fuse key, press the white button and pull down on the upper wire and it starts immediately. No filling a gas tank, no pulling a rope or adjusting anything and no fumes or loud noise. This lawn mower is a power house! I am 72 years old and have no problem mowing with this incredible machine. I love it. August 6, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I miss my gas-powered mower The 2 positive things I can say about this is that it's a whole lot quieter and it doesn't use gas or oil. I've had it for less than 3 months and the fuse in the key and the left self-propelled wheel stopped pulling. The battery holds charge for less than an hour and it takes 6 hours to charge plus it is very heavy. When the self-propelled feature is engaged, it pulls faster than it actually should. It may be environmentally-friendly but definitely not user-friendly. August 30, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice idea, but needs a lot of improving As a first-time homeowner, I loved the combination of ease of use offered by the mower (I didn't like the idea of having to put in gas and struggle to get a mower started) and environmental friendliness. But I really hope that the technology improves over time on this. The battery leaked and started losing its charge after having it for about a year. And the battery is VERY HEAVY and unwieldy, making the mower very heavy and unwieldy. Plus, the lower bar on the handle to self-propel is ill-fitting and constantly falls off. I have high hopes that someday a mower like this will be manufactured that works better. I spent a lot on this mower because I thought it would be our mower for life, but now that I find out that I'm going to have to keep shelling out more money for replacement batteries, I wish I wouldn't have bought it. October 27, 2012
  • 2016-07-24 T19:55:55.270-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_461, tr_461
  • loc_en_US, sid_202042176, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 17 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 133ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT