Ryobi 5 in. Random Orbit Sander-RS290 - The Home Depot
Discontinued

Ryobi

Model # RS290

Internet # 100599175

Store SKU # 681477

5 in. Random Orbit Sander


Ryobi 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$39.97 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # RS290

Internet # 100599175

Store SKU # 681477

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 5 in. Random Orbit Sander. This tool features a powerful 2.6-Amp motor and 12,500 orbits per minute to deliver a smooth performance in a variety of sanding applications and an ergonomic design for comfort as you work. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. California residents: see Proposition 65 information

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.)  12 in  Assembled Height (in.)  7.5 in 
Assembled Width (in.)  4.75 in  Product Depth (in.)  9 in 
Product Height (in.)  7 in  Product Width (in.)  5 in 
Details
Amperage (amps)  2.6  Color Family  Blue 
Cord Length (ft.)  Corded Tool Type  Finishing Sander 
Cordless/Corded  Corded  Dust collection type  Bag 
Maximum Speed (rpm)  12500  Power Tool Product Type  Corded 
Product Weight (lb.)  4 lb  Random orbit  Yes 
Reconditioned  No  Returnable  90-Day 
Tools Product Type  Power Tool  Variable Speed  No 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings  1-UL Listed  Manufacturer Warranty  3 Year Warranty. 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.0 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad for Ryobi I purchased this sander 2 years ago. I am a painting contractor and I use this very often. I haven't had any problems with it yet and still works well. The sand paper sticks fine. Dust collection with the bag is bad but the sander makes it easy to attach a vacuum hose which then works very well to collect dust. I know there are better sanders out there, but for the price this one is worth it. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works fine for small jobs Fine little product, don't need the cordless one because the chord doesn't really get in the way especially for the type and size of jobs one would be doing with this machine. March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great portable sander The product is simple to use. I had trouble when first using it, but I guide it across my project now like I would a floor polisher. It works. March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's worth the price It's not fair to compare this tool to a more expensive competitor and make it all negative. This is a "get what you pay for" kind of tool. For it's price category I would rank it near the top for quality and endurance. If you need a sander for some light applications or projects that don't require a 100% professional finish then this sander is perfect for you. If you are a professional or even an avid DIYer who strives for perfection then this tool will most likely disappoint. It's dust collection is average at best. Great for course work but it can not handle the fine dust from 220 or higher and will start to make a mess with or without a vacuum. Even worse if it is used upside down. The lack of variable speed will also frustrate those wanting more removal control but makes the machine easier for amateurs and hassle free for first timers. It has very little "wandering" and doesn't require a tremendous amount of strength to control the directions. The machine does take longer then average to slow to a stop but sandpaper changing could not be easier. As with most tools by this brand, I highly recommend it to those getting their first sander or for those who occasionally tackle projects that require sanding. But if you really are a professional who is going to be needing a sander daily for some strenuous projects then you should know better then to choose this tool as it is obviously not intended for that. March 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice little sander this is a better sander than the old stile, handles well , smooth operation. We will see how long it will last!! February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by dust bag keeps coming off dust bag keeps coming off..over all it is ok but I feel like I should have spent a litte more and got a better product. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little sander It works great. The only thing I would say is frustrating is the dust catcher keeps falling off and spilling the dust. But it's better than one without a dust catcher. Very good value compared to other more expensive sanders. It does the job and is very easy to use. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWSOME TOOL this palm sander it light and easy to handle and the sand papper does not rip in pieces while you use it and the sanding papper works equill, It has a nice design and its not loud January 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by orbit sanders You get what you pay for! This sander is really good for the price but the backing pad and conversion pad need changing over time. The reason for it not orbiting is because the backing pad needs replacement and the reason for the sand paper, hook and look velcore, not sticking is the conversion pad needs replacing. You can by the kit for $12.00 which contains both pads. November 28, 2008
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by You get what you pay for The sander sprayed dust everywhere despite the attached collector. This was the reason I purchased something I thought was both affordable and adequate for the job, however I was disappointed. I was able to return it but was left with the opened sandpaper disc I purchased. If dust is not an issue for you this item is a fair product to purchase. I began to wonder if it placed a vacuum hose on the end would that have helped because its been over a month and I'm still finding crevices that the dust flew into to. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Quality for the cost I purchased this Ryobi random orbital sander for a kitchen counter top project. I'm not an avid wood worker and haven't encountered many projects that I couldn't just take care of with a sanding block, so I didn't want to spend alot of money. This product got the job done and has exceeded my expectations. Ryobi offers a warrenty that replaces the product(cash card) if anything goes wrong with it. Pros: Quality, Reliable, Affordable, and backed by a good warrenty. Cons: The exhaust vents tend to build up with the fine dust of what ever you are sanding when using the debris collector. I continuously felt the need to blow it out with an air compressor to avoid any issues. P.S. Watch your corners. They disappear quite quickly! June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Sander We use the sander to refinish my kids dressers. It worked wonderful for what we needed it to do. It was able to be used by all of us, including the kids. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome tool easy to use, does the job very well with minimal pressure and effort. i would not hesitate to give this as a gift for one of my friends. January 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lasted 5 years, replacement parts cost more than a new RS290 I purchased my RS290 from Home Depot in 2009 because it was cheap and so am I. It worked very well for me and 5 years later, the hook and loop base was worn and would no longer keep sand paper adhered very well. I made numerous products with this, so overall I'm pleased. I bought the extended warranty, which gave me 24 months of coverage, and I never needed to use it. The dust collector is garbage. It worked-sort of. It would get caked with saw dust and usually fell off, so I would leave it off with most of the sanding I did and had a dust collection system nearby to knock the dust particles out of the air. It does have a slight vibration and I noticed after extended use, my hand would go numb, but to me that is not a huge deal, and has only happened a couple of times. I priced the replacement hook and loop deck and it would cost about $7 less with shipping than it would cost me to buy a brand new unit (about $17 total with shipping, compared to $25 as priced today with my military discount at HD). If you are looking for a no frills, bottom line random orbital sander, this one is great. If you don't mind having to replace it every 5 years, it would still be cheaper than buying a more expensive lifetime warranted ROS. January 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good for 10 Hours...then... This product worked great for 10 hours of use, then it crapped out. I will be returning this product. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great electric hand sander! This sander makes a hand sanding job that would take an hour and turns it into a 10 minute job, without your arm dropping off. I love it! Kinda wish I'd bought the one with a point to get into tight corners, but they are not expensive and could always go back and get that one too. My daughter is refinishing baby furniture and she has used it and loves it as well! The salesman told me that 80 grade sanding discs are really too rough and will rub a hole into what you're sanding. But I find it easier and faster to use and am cautious about oversanding. Works great! May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This work horse This truly is a work horse. For a very small R/O sander it is a great sander. It is comfortable to hold and very little vibration. The sand lines are not hardly there so there is very little sanding after using it. I is a GREAT little work horse. December 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Try it out as soon as you get it! Right out of the box it wasn't working correctly,like the clutch wasn't working right as it bounced more than sanded and you really had to hang on to it? Returned for another and this one is doing ok so far; kind of lost confidence in it for now though!. First time I had a problem with a ryobi tool but it was replaced with no problem by Home Depot. December 30, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Replacement For Older Ryobi Orbital Sander Replaces Existing Ryobi Sander which gave me good service, hoping this one does also. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice little workhorse This sander holds up to some pretty tough use. Pads are easy to replace and fairly cheap on Ebay. Cord is quite long for a power tool which makes it convenient. Bag fills quickly (at least with 50 grit sanding) and is a bit hard to empty, but efficient and can be rinsed. Comfortable grip but on/off buttons a bit inconvenient. I like the blue glowing light when powered. Great tool for the weekend remodeler. March 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little sander this sander was perfect for the task at hand. Used it after staining new hardwood floors to get a smooth finish. Was impressed with the outcome. Does not produce a lot of dust like others I have used. Sanding sheets stuck well and were relatively cheap. Will get a lot of use out of it! Just wish the cord was a bit longer, only downfall so far. December 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied This is my first sander, and it took a little practice to get used to using it. I have gone through the grits with two woodworking projects (a coat rack and a bookcase), and I haven't had any troubles with it. I used it for probably three hours intermittently in one morning, and the only issue I had was my arms getting tired. January 31, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat performance and price Used it many times and it works exceptional. If you want to spend more money on a different brand. go ahead and throw your money away. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Buy A good tool at a very affordable price. I have run this sander for several hours at a time and have never had a problem with it. I recently used it to strip and refinish a dresser. Together with the Ryobi Corner Cat I was able to do 99% of the sanding; only a very little bit of hand sanding was necessary. There is no better random orbit sander in this price range. September 28, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All the sanders look and function about the same. I like the Roybi tools. I have several and am satisfied with all of them. The cord on the sander is too stiff, however all the cords are. And, I wish the sand paper discs were not so expensive. January 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice I have use this sander for the past three month and I find it very quiet and powerful. it grips well into my hands. February 21, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This sander is a good little tool This sander was easy to use and it worked great once I used it in sanding a small wooden bench I was building. The price for the sander was good and it offers a good value. I enjoyed using this tool. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This tool was well worth the price.Bought this to sand the outside of the house, after shaving the 4 layers of paint off.The only issue was the dust collector was too small. They should have an addaptor so that you can attach it to a shop vac. September 5, 2010
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good General Purpose Sander Purchased this sander for various uses around my remodel project home. It is lightweight, easy to manipulate and change paper. The dust port bag works well, but is rather small and difficult to empty. The sander is quiet and the on off switch is very handy. Didn't get too hot after extended use has plenty of cord. July 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Handle TOO weak The clips that hold the sandpaper in place are about 1mm thick and snap very easily. I would find a better product and pay the extra buck. November 10, 2009
  • 2015-04-18T11:35:52.578-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_153, tr_153
  • loc_en_US, sid_100599175, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


Orders for this item may be expedited for an additional fee.


Other Delivery Options:

Express and Expedited shipping options are also available. Estimated arrival times are available in checkout.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.