Model # FPR200

Internet #100661366

Ryobi Duet Power Paint Tool System
0000111111114

Discontinued Ryobi

Duet Power Paint Tool System

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Ryobi DUET Electric Power Paint Tool System is a 2-person painting kit that promotes a fast and easy paint job. This power roller kit allows 2 users to roll and do trim work simultaneously. It features FLUID Technology to keep fresh paint flowing back and forth between the paint source and applicators to help reduce clogging.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

how do you remove the old roller from the two end plastic pieces?

It says i can use any 9 inch roller. Need the two plastic pieces off to place on a new roll.
Asked by: hjc0414
Just lift on the side where the roller has a simple push and click in the hole. Simple detach.
Answered by: Bob
Date published: 2016-11-10

I bought this power roller from Home Depot. Where can I get the roller cover?

Asked by: mike
Hi Mike. Unfortunately, we do not have a cover for the rollers.
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2015-12-13
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_, sid_100661366, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Duet Power Paint Tool System is rated 2.1 out of 5 by 86.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work out of box, but I fixed it. I read the reviews, but my options were very limited. I figured I'd give it a shot. After using it for one night I'll say this. The directions are very vague and don't detail why you have to do certain things. From the start....the paint flowed very very slowly thru the tube to the handle. Once at the handle it stopped....Both handles. I'm a technician by trade, so I took one of the handles apart. The handle's trigger works by crimping the hose. Being crimped for so long (in the box), the hose became sealed. Once reassembled, the flow was fine. Painting was a breeze. I could do a whole wall in minutes. Now....the hose clamps are weak and found they leaked. Simple fix....stronger hose clamps....check. Reading the reviews I saw cleanup was a challenge. Again, directions were not helpful at all. To work the reverse, the trigger must be pulled, otherwise the paint will not flow back. Once the paint is sucked back thru the hose, the easiest way I found to clean the hose is using a paint can filled with warm water. Now run it in forward and the water will easily clean the machine. Even the roller assembly comes apart easily to make washing easy. It probably took an hour or so to clean the first time because I had to figure all this out.....directions lacking....come on Ryobi.....how much does it cost to prepare a nice document to go along with the machine. I'm sure the next time I clean it....today....it will be a snap.
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome time saver with some quirks Bought today and over all I am completely pleased with this little system. It has some quirks that once you remember make the whole experience so much easier. 1) Like the instructions say, after you plug in the tube to the base or the wand give it a little tug to verify it's secure. 2) When using the trimming sponges, keep the dial set on MINIMUM paint. A little goes a long way, and too much will drip off the sides. 3) Avoid turning the hand wands upside down. That's the easiest way to knock the tube loose. 4) If you need to change out a painting head i.e. change the corner trimmer for the roller, reverse the paint for a couple seconds to empty the wand of paint otherwise it will spill. 5) It *does not *come with a bucket so buy a clean empty paint can for easy clean up. These are minor best practices that just make using the whole system work better. We, 2 people, painted a full bed room in less than 10 minutes with ridiculously easy cleanup.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nightmare Machine --- Save Your Money! I should have read the reports for this tool before wasting my time. I loaded the first gallon of paint and turned it on and the motor worked for about two seconds and then seized. Figuring that I got "Swap-a-ronied" by someone bringing back a used model I the turned the original unit for a replacement. The second unit worked great for a gallon of paint. When I went to the second gallon the unit started to stall. The stalling became worse and then the second unit froze up as well. Trying to clean up the unit was a nightmare without the vacuum provided by a working motor. I finished up with a roller. Any timed saved with this tool was lost four-fold with the hassles of poor quality.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! I purchased this product over the weekend and after reading the manual I was very surprised with the ease of use and the quick clean up! I just put the 1 gallon paint can, attached the connections, which were a no-brainer and closed the included lid and locked it into place. I was up and painting in less than 3 minutes. The clean up was a snap! Just use and empty paint can which I purchase with the machine and fill it with warm water. Run the machine the same as if you are about to paint. Clean up was done in 5 minutes. Reading the manual was key because you can adjust the flow of the paint and avoid any mess. Great tool, but read first!!!
Date published: 2011-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from piece of junk For 99 bucks you get a plastic pump, 2 clear plastic hoses, cheap plastic connectors, and 2 rollers. The power cord is only a foot long, cannot even plug it in and set it on the floor without an extension cord. The first roller pumped paint out of the connection at the handle and roller base. The other roller was better, but the hose would disconnect every ten minutes or so, pumping paint all over the floor or myself. Wasted at least half a gallon of paint, made a HUGE mess. At least I was painting the garage, I wouldn't even think of using this inside around nice floors. This piece of junk had me cursing like a sailor, I stopped after the first gallon. Don't waste your money, I'll never buy Ryobi again.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Success I (my daughter) had quite good luck with this.. We did only use only 1 roller. I did throw a little duck-tape on the hoses . Yes, cleaning was lengthy, but not bending over to fill the roller made it well worth having, and a much, much quicker painting time. When done painting, clean well. The cleaner it is, the better it will work next time (There is no such thing as too clean). There are many mixed review, but we found it helpful, and worth the the cost. 2 rooms done, and 2 to go. After cleaning, squeeze the clamps, and remove the nibs from the hose to drain them. BTW, this uses a standard $2.98 9 inch roller.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult to use I really didn't like this product. The fittings came off easily (when I was painting), spraying paint everywhere, plus there were no instructions or tips on exactly HOW to clean it. It still has paint from the one and only time I used it. I will definitely never buy a product like this again!
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I painted every room in the house! We cant sell our house and decided to rent it. We needed to give most of the rooms a fresh coat of paint to make it more neutral and easier to rent. We bought this Ryobi roller tool to speed things up (my husband hates painting!). Our intention was to paint the dining room, living room and hallway all beige. It went so fast he sent me back to homedepot for more paint and we did the bedrooms! I think cleaning up was just as easy as a roller tray. And it uses regular roller covers so we were able to use up the ones we had. We were pleasantly surprised and happy with this painter. I recommend this and we didn't see other ones like it in a store. We are in Pensacola, FL.
Date published: 2011-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Good to Be True It was easy to setup. However, when in use, a paint puddle formed underneath the machine. To make matters worse, it takes forever to clean with paint oozing from all three side vents. Major disappointment and resulted in me purchasing rollers, brushes, and paint trays anyway. Not to mention, I did not finish the number of rooms I had hoped to complete because this machine caused such a mess.
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I just purchased a home about a month ago. The house needed updating and thus painting is a part of that. I had used hand rollers in the past and was looking for something that would not be as time consuming. I viewed several different brands and models of power paint rollers and decided to purchase the Ryobi Duet. One thing that intrigued me about this product is that two persons can paint at the same time and you can use any type roller without having to purchase a special one from the manufacturer. Rather than reading the directions in the box I viewed the demo(s) on YouTube. Seemed straight forward. The assembly of the unit was easy. As the trigger was depressed on the wand paint started to fill the tube and move up to the roller. The paint evenly coated the roller and I began to paint the walls of the bedroom. The process was easy and I finished the first coat of paint on the 20x20 room in less than 30 minutes. This would have taken a great deal longer if I was using a hand roller having to stop and load the paint. Further, I used a little more than a gallon of paint to put on two good coats of paint. Cleanup was not difficult, just a little time consuming. "You will need a clean empty paint can when it comes to cleanup" You will have to fill the can with water or solvent, and place the included feeder top on the paint can so water can circulate through the unit. As with a regular roller, you can discard the used roller in the trash. For the price I would highly recommend this product. ***A word of warning to the consumer: Before you purchase this product or any other product PLEASE look in the box and ensure that all the parts are contained therein. Don't just assume that because the box is taped or appears to be unopened that all the parts are there. I learned this the hard way with a paint sprayer purchased at HD.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bad! There are three huge problems with this product: short power cord, extremely unreliable hoses, and grueling clean-up. The short power cord dose not allow for mobility without an extension cord. The hoses (HORRIBLE design) detach with the slightest pull sending paint EVERYWHERE. In my case, all over the tarp, carpet, and nearby furniture. Cleaning this product is almost impossible. During clean up, paint got all over my deck and decorative rocks. As if this product wanted sensed my displeasure, paint got all over the back of my car when taking this product back to HD for return. I am a big Ryobi fan but this product is very bad. HD accepted the return with no problem.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the quality I'd expect from Ryobi! First, I have to admit, I did read the other reviews and it was mixed, the product was a discontinued model and it was selling for $ 19.99. To keep my review brief, the unit worked great applying the paint however one of the connectors did break and allowed paint to leak out. Purchase at your own risk for $ 19.99.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even worth it for only $20 Got this on 80%-off clearance for $20. Worked great for about 25 minutes, then pump stopped working. Motor still spins, but pump completely failed. Only made it through half a gallon of paint. Worthless.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pump broke after 20 minutes of use Worked great for 20 minutes. Then the motor jumped to a high speed constant whir with NO pumping. Garbage. Disappointing Ryobi put their name on it.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever item received was used not new and did not work well.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money or prepare to spend more on clean ups. I used to trust Ryobi but not for anything paint related. It worked well for about 15 min. Then it clogged. I tried to clean it, didn't work. I tried it again and it sprayed out of each connection, but nothing to the pad in the roller head. In the end there was more paint on my floor than on my wall.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from works but slower than expected I used the duet to apply primer to three rooms. I paint a lot, it was slower than I would have thought. With a single roller you run at about 1/2 of the speed you run a normal roller. I don't see any way it could run two rollers. I used Zinsler primer which is thick, that could been part of the problem. It pumps slowly and takes a long time to get the roller saturated enough to paint with it. I diluted the primer slightly and set the pump on a 4 foot cabinet. This seemed to help a bit. the foam pads apply paint fast. Do horizontal passes then vertical passes then stop the paint flow and roll it out. If your paint is thick thin it slightly. Do not use it unless you have a big job. It is slow to get started then is only a little faster than loading a roller and rolling as you would normally. Cleanup took about 20 minutes. I did not get many drips. I carried a damp rag to wipe the roller frame periodically to catch the few drips that were forming .
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Duet Power Paint Tool System The system works great and I was pleased except the clamps on the hoses are to weak and one blew off and I lost paint on the floor. I would recommend this product with the warning to get better clamps for the hoses.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works fine, what's all the complaining about? This item works well if you are careful and read the instructions. I don't understand how so many of these reviews talk about paint leaking or spilling, if you attach everything correctly and follow instructions, there is no problem. I painted the entire interior of a 1200 sq foot apartment in 2 days by myself. I didn't use the edging/corner tools as they seemed a bit crude compared to a brush or manual edging tool. 8 gallons of paint. The only issue I had was if the flow was turned up too high, the roller dripped a bit if I didn't roll fast enough. But there is flow adjustment, so I really don't see what the problem is. Pretty neat little unit, and for the price, you can't really go wrong.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great when it works. Used it to paint two rooms, a bed and a bath and it broke. My husband (a mechanic) tore it apart and discovered what was wrong...only problem is you have to order an entire motor assembly to fix it. Save your money.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked for me Let's start with the problems - no instructions, instructions from web are substandard, and photo on website includes a corner piece that is not included. I thought this device did not work much like others who posted. Not strong enough pump to even get the paint to the roller. Reread the instructions - no hints or troubleshooting section so I just stared at the machine. then i realized the flow control on the handle was dialed down to zero and i was not holding the trigger open. That solved it! Full disclosure - only used one of the rollers at a time. Still not convinced the pump would drive two of these rollers.... One other problem is that the hose did pop off creating the potential for a big mess. do think this is a design flaw. On the positive - bought this to replace (mid project) a Wagner that I really liked. I prefer the Wagner, but probably because I've used their models for 10+ years. This worked fine if you have some patience with the machine. My style is to apply as little paint as possible to the roller to minimize splashing and such which worked well. there was a strong odor from either the paint or the pump or weird combination of the two. Cleanup did take a while but very similar to Wagner. It is nice to have the "extra" pieces since i don't expect to ever have two going at once. Would get higher rating but the cons were VERY frustrating and time consuming to solve.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great, saves time painting Read the other reviews here and other websites. For the price, you just can't beat it. Take precautions and use duct tape on all connectors so that the connectors will not spray paint all over that place. Duct tape is cheap. Rolling is a breeze once you get the hang of it. Not a single drip if you apply the trigger properly. This paint will first appear as lines on the wall as you first roll it on, then I go back over the first pass and the lines are gone and the coverage is perfect. Again, you need to learn how to use the trigger sparingly. Much better than tray dipping, rolling the wall, tray dipping, rolling the wall, etc. The cutting pad is something else(useless). I gave up trying to use it. Just roll the entire room then go back with a brush to finish up the the corners and around the windows. Cleanup is as expected of ANY paint system, a chore BUT the time you save on "dipping/rolling/dipping" makes it worth this chore.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money! I put mine in the dumpster after 1/2 hour. The pump is too weak, once the head receives paint (this is IF the paint makes it past the poor connection of the hose to the handle) it continuously drips. Poor design - not enough control - cheap components and FAR TOO SHORT of a handle to be useable.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Biggest piece of junk Purchased this to repaint walls thinking this was a quicker, simpler, way. Boy was I wrong. Fittings leaked and came off easily spilling and spraying paint everywhere. Leaked everywhere. Caused more hassle then anything. Had to go back over and hand roll over everything since it made a mess on everything despite my taping and covering. Normally I am a fan of Ryobi, but they missed the mark on it big time with this product.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I would not recommend this product to anyone Product seems to be poorly constructed. One hose never worked and no paint would start into the hose. The other hose worked but the paint came out unevenly. The roller would not distribute the paint across the width and we would get a glob in the center. Trying to clean the hose and pump system was another issue. Must have run 20 gallons of water through hose before it would look clean. I plan on returning product.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from sadly disappointing I bought this product based on the fact that DIY's "Cool Tools" show put it in their Top 10 tool list. After getting home it was horrible. Zero paint flow. Checked hose and it was clear and not crimped. Put gauge on max to allow max paint flow and still very little flow. My wife was next to me using the good ol fashioned method and she finished two walls before I had even 1/4 of one done. Called HD and they said return it, most people that had bought it were also. Don't waste time or money on this.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deal or no deal... I purchased this product in December. I have used 4 gallons of paint with this. At first I saw it was a little slow to get the paint to the roller, but when it got there it was smooth. The little square sponge caused more mess than good. My solution was to use the roller and a normal paint brush for edge work. Simple plan. Today I turned it on and no noise and no power. I agree with others that cleanup takes a while. Long story short save your money and buy a manual roller and pan.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't work Bought one, took it home and the paint would not pass through the handle...either one. Called Ryobi for assistance..they were no help. Took item back to Home Depot and exchanged it. Got home and prepared to use it; loaded paint can into position and locked it in. Hooked up the hoses and handle/roller and turned it on. The paint was pumping towards the handle when the hose became separated spewing paint all over the place,...wall, carpet and dog....very dissatisfied.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It lasted 40 minutes The product worked fine for the first 40 minutes then the motor started to make a terrible noise. I returned it to Home Depot and will purchase something else.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible device Don't waste your money. After purchacing this it took me an hour to set up, not because it is complicated, but because the hoses in the handles had been sealed closed by the trigger. I had to disassemble the handle, remove the hose and reverse it so the trigger wouldn't seal it again. Once it was working, it often disconnected the feed hose from the handle. I took it back and told them I'd rather chew glass than use it. Avoid Avoid Avoid.
Date published: 2012-03-20
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
  • loc_, sid_100661366, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 257ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT