Ryobi Expand-It Universal Cultivator String Trimmer Attachment-RY15550 - The Home Depot
Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

Ryobi

Model # RY15550

Internet # 100013409

Store SKU # 819524

Expand-It Universal Cultivator String Trimmer Attachment

Ryobi Expand-It Universal Cultivator String Trimmer Attachment
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$89.97 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # RY15550

Internet # 100013409

Store SKU # 819524

Use the Ryobi Expand-It Universal Cultivator Attachment for String Trimmer to convert a grass string trimmer into a tiller. The attachment features adjustable 7 - 10 in. steel tines and a durable gear box.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Assembled dimension: 12.5 in. W x 33 in. D x 13 in. H
  • Fits Ryobi, Toro, weed eater and troy built attachment-capable trimmers
  • Adjustable 7 - 10 in. steel tines for strong performance
  • Durable gear box for a long life
  • Tines can be changed easily and quickly without tools
  • Adjusts without tools
  • Use to convert a string trimmer into a tiller

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
13 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
30 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
11 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
12.5 
Product Height (in.) 
33 
Product Width (in.) 
13 
Recommended line diameter (in.) 
Details
Automatic line-advance system 
No 
Fits brands 
Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater, Troy Bilt 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Shaft type 
Straight 
Trimmer Attachment Type 
String Trimmers 
Trimmer head type 
Fixed 
UV Protected 
No 
Weatherable 
No 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
90 Day 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It works well if you can handle it. I am pleased! I purchased the Ryobi expand-it cultivator attachment because it has better reviews than more expensive brands, Also, buying it cost less than renting a tiller for a day. It attached easily to my cub cadet 4 cycle power head. I added 5 pounds extra weight to the attachment which makes for a heavy combination. The extra weight reduces the bouncing of the cultivator. Don't consider this attachment if you have back or shoulder problems. Using this cultivator gives them both a work out. Pulling it backwards works best. Rocking it side to side helps it penetrate hard soil. Be warned! When it hits large roots, rocks, or tough soil, it can bounce hard! Otherwise, I am pleased with its performance. It tilled a 20 x 20 foot garden of loose soil in 30 minutes. New ground takes at least twice as long. Don't try to force it. Be patient, it will till a garden, and you will get a good work out. As for reliability, I have only run it for about 8 hours so far. Hopefully, it will last several years. May 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best attachment... so far. Some assembly required. Directions helpful. Tilled well for size. It will clog and stop if run through recently overturned sod. Throttling is necessary as it will try to run away from the operator. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great extension attachment I have a gas powered tiller but this one is better and more powerful and easier to use than the gas tiller I think I am going to pawn! May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The product was very easy to use. I used this in my garden last week and I was amazed at how well it worked in both the areas that have been watered and the dry areas. It broke up the ground great and was very easy to use. May 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent Addition to my multi-purpose Ryobi Utility Head. I was thinking of ordering a Mantis and saw that Ryobl had this cultivating head for my multi-purpose Ryobi Utility Head. It accomplishes the same function at a fraction of the cost. May 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! Was skeptical on purchasing. Was on sale for $81.00 . Did a fantastic job on hard compacted flower beds. I can not believe what a wonderful job it did. It will work out your forearms though. Would definitely buy again! Used it on a Ryobi 4-stroke 875R power unit. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product This cost just a little more than renting a machine for the day and it worked really great! Chugged right through our Bermuda grass and Georgia clay, which is no easy task. Got my flower beds ready for planting in just a few minutes....my husband and I are very impressed with this item! April 22, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by works great Works great in small the medium rocky soil and clay but lager diameter rocks will get stuck in the tines but all in all for the price it is solid and easy to use attachment May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for tilling up small areas. All around tool for what it's meant for. Not good for tilling clay top soil but after it's been done a topsoil or other stuff has been added, it works great. May 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great Idea, Bad Implementation I bought this to replace my old Mantis that has given nearly 20 years of great service. I have four Expand-It attachments for my Toro powerhead, but this one is going back for a refund. In the way of small cultivators, this Ryobi attachment falls short. This is for you IF you have a small garden area that is well-established. The cultivator worked great in those areas with no rocks at all. It makes quick work digging down to about 6" or 7". However, areas of my garden have rocks that kept jamming the tines. The tines jammed on rocks the size of a golf ball to the size of my palm. This is a design flaw where the gear box is too close to the axle, and very little clearance between the tines and the hood. I spent more time tapping off the tines with a mallet (do not use a regular hammer or the end of the axle will flare - the axle is not hardened steel) than I spent actually working the soil. I am going back to Mantis. May 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome tool Very pleased with quality, capability and flexibility. Totally love the 4cycle engine - always hated 2cycle mix - no more, no longer, yahoooooooo. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very Pleased Well made. A bit heavy. I have a small Toro power head that has no trouble digging with this unit. It is NOT designed to bust sod. An established garden or flower bed is a piece of cake. April 30, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and Bad The GOOD part is that the attachment works very well in hard soil with rocks, roots, weeds, etc. with out damage to the tines. It does a very good job cultivating even the hardest of soils I encountered and it does it quickly. The BAD part is that the gear box is no longer functioning. The tines will rotate slowly when the cable is turned slowly by the engine. When speed is increased the tines begin to seize and stall the engine. The case has two hex screws that look like they are for gear oil but when removed it appeared that grease was inside the gear case. I split the case to examine the gears and found what appeared to be a great amount of particulate in a grease substance. The spiral gear material appeared to have been the source, as the gear showed signs of wear, particularly at the upper end. I searched on line for parts and information regarding OEM lubricant but had no luck on Ryobi's site or other parts sites. Thus, I will not be able to repair this attachment. Date information on the attachment is 11-6-08, so no warranty. Since no parts or as one person mentioned the gear box replacement was more than the attachment, I have one unusable attachment. Now, the question is do I buy another or try competitors product? I also have a Mantis tiller but enjoy the option of using either one. April 30, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the Expand-It line of garden tools! Very easy to attach to power handle. I used it on hard soil for a minimum of 35 minutes non stop before it needed recharged. It worked better than the 31 cc gasoline rototiller I have now retired. The gasoline rototiller will not run continually for 35 min without refueling. Immediate power. Easy to convert from 4 to 2 tines. Fits in trunk of sports car with 3 other Expand-It tools to transport to other properties. Instead of wasting money on mulch every spring then blowing it away cleaning up leaves in the Fall I refresh the soil around shrubs and roses with Expand-It rototiller. Looks just as good. Nice little detail is plastic cap provided for the end of the handle to hang it up. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great! I'll have to admit that I had some reservations before purchasing this. Would it work with my trimmer (Ryobi 875r)? Yes. Would it be powerful enough to do what I wanted it to? Yes. The main reason I got this was to weed my vegetable garden. I have a rather large garden (10 feet by 100 feet or so) and I hate having a lot of weeds almost as much as I hate doing the weeding. This tiller worked GREAT for what I wanted! It took me about 15 minutes to till up around the vegetables. It had plenty of power - in fact as the manual suggested I found that I did not need to run the engine at full throttle. The shaft was still cool to the touch when I was done. It worked exactly as I had expected and hoped. One thing I would say to other people who may consider buying this is to make sure you won't be asking this product to do more than it was intended to do. My soil had already been tilled up about 3 months ago by a much larger, tractor mounted, 3 point hitch tiller. This was not hard packed clay. I also wasn't looking to till down 6 inches, just the top 2-3 inches at most. This little tiller will not do the same job as some of it's bigger cousins. It was not intended to till large areas of hard soil. I would also say that this product was slightly physically demanding to use. I'm 6'3" 220 lbs and was able to use it without a problem, but my 5'4" 120 lbs mother was not able to use it when she tried, even though she wanted to be able to. She said it was to heavy for her to use. All in all, I give this product 5 stars. Very easy to set up, no maintenance to speak of required, well built, and worked great! July 2, 2007
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by use extension for tall people Easy to use. Works well. Different to use without extension, too short for me. I didn't want to bend down, it pains the back. With extension i just lean pole on my shoulder and it works fine for me. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by easy enough to assemble works well for small areas, can get heavy after some time April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Addition To Your Lawn Tool Arsenal I moved into a new house about 6 months ago and finally decided to address the overgrown and neglected backyard. There were several areas where I wanted to either plant grass or start a new bed. Since the soil was hard and compacted it needed to be cultivated and supplemented with new soul. I thought about just renting a cultivator from Home Depot but decided to give this a try since I thought I'd be using it more than once. Amazingly, it fits perfectly on my Husqvarna 128DJ trimmer head and based on other reviews it also fits other makes/models too. The unit performs very well and was able to break up the top 3 or so inches of soil. You need to give is some muscle but it works. Be sure to configure the tines to match your application. If you have a large area to do this will take a while but for smaller sections this works very well even in hard and rocky soil. The cultivator is very easy to set up and only took about 10 minutes. Check out the owners manual for setting up the tines for different applications. This also comes with a nice handle, its's metal construction with a foam handle. Assuming this lasts and proves durable, I would have no trouble recommending this for light to medium duty cultivating. The price is very reasonable as well. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly powerful and sturdy I was skeptical when I bought this, but the price convinced me. I put it on the end of my 4-cycle Ryobi trimmer and man, did it take off. It had no problem churning through a thick layer of grass, soil, and even clay. Couple that with the 3-year warranty, and I don't see how you could go wrong. It's tiring on the arms and hands, but that just gives you an excuse to take frequent breaks from your gardening! May 23, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does the small jobs very well I have had the Ryobi Expand-it for over 10 years and with the addition of the tiller attachment now have most all relative to Lawn & Garden. I purchased the tiller to clear a specific area (9x12) for a patio & Flower bed. It did the job with mininal effort. I wouldn't recommend it if planning on doing a whole north 40, but for the small jobs it is the perfect tool. September 15, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great idea Killed my back, had to use it at right or left side. Pulling it put me in an awkward position. Had to return it. If I was younger & not a bad back, it would probably do the job. Priced good but just didn't work for me. Also needs the soil tilled deep before using this product, sorry I had to return it. I have a varity of Ryobi products all work for me but this one May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by tiller attatchment Purchased this at Home Depot during summer time at regular price. I wanted to use this for the garden to help clear the weeds in between my plants and turn dirt around. First off the unit looked good and did require a little assembly. It is a little heavy when attached but comes with a strap and heavy duty handle that clips on to the power head.I also noticed by reading the instructions that the time have 2 different ways they can be installed, wide or narrow cut. So I tried it in the garden and really tore into the soil pretty good. After around 10 minutes of so I notice the motor was a little hot, so I gave it a break and checked the tines. The tines had weeds all wrapped around like hair in a vacuum cleaner, I needed to cut them out with a hook knife. I am still New and learning to garden but those long stringy weeds are tough.The tiller is a great idea and works great to turn soil with a good amount of power but be keep an eye on your tines if you have crawling weeds. It is still a very handy tool to have. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This thing really works! I bought this online to add to my ryobi set and was skeptical at first. After assembling the head i started it up and tried it out and I was very impress with how well it works. I have a small lot and it is perfect for tilling up my old lawn. Definitely worth checking out. April 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tiller Attachment Great little product, easy to use. It works great as you can move it around easy and adjust the speed with more control. Gets into small spaces and works great for planting areas in the woods for deer feeding plots. May 15, 2006
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Something I needed Received it in a reasonable time. attached quickly. Ground was hard and dry so it was hard to control at first but after I broke up the soil a bit, it was fine. In looser soil it works fine but in soil not broken up yet it's hard to contoll. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great machine! A well built machine. Fits perfectly between rows in the garden. And What a value! You could go buy yourself a purpose built mini tiller for twice as much as it costs your for this, plus an excellent string trimmer. The only downside is its heavy, and you need to take it easy or you will have a very sore back as I did, but not near as sore as if you removed weeds the old fashioned way, with a hoe. Plus you're done in minutes, not hours...back to enjoying your yard in no time! Great, well built tool and a great value. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product I originally bought this attachment to remove some sod in a 100 sq ft area that I wanted to install pavers in. I was unsure that it would be up to the job, but I thought I'd give it a shot, the worse that could happen is it wouldn't work on the sod and I'd still have a decent tiller for my wife's garden. So I coupled it to my Cub Cadet string trimmer and cranked it up. Less than 1/2 hour later, the thick Florida St. Augustine sod was nothing more than mulch. This thing far exceeded my expectations and dug down to about 3" with relative ease. I'm pretty sure that if I wanted to, I could have easily gone another couple of inches down. My only complaint is that it is slightly heavy, and it's a bit awkward to use, but that's to be expected for a string trimmer attachment. Some sort of way to bolt on a set of wheels to the shaft in a "tripod" configuration would be nice to alleviate some of the weight. If you're on a budget and you're looking for a small garden tiller that's capable of chewing up some sod if need be, this is it! August 4, 2008
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Small Tiller I just tilled up an area in my back yard about 12'x12'. The tiller went through the grass and went down about 3 inches with little effort. This is a whole lot better than getting out there with a shovel. March 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lasted for years! I had one of the first models of the Ryobi Click-Link Trimmers for 6 years and used it for trimming and cultivating ALL the time. The motor died this year, so I bought a new powerhead. They changed the name of the attachments to "Expand-it", however the old attachments work on the new gas model power heads. Today, the cultivator finally failed when the drive shaft broke. I'd buy replacement parts and fix it if they still made the old tiller, but for $90.00, I'm going to get a new tiller. I abused the old one and it still tore up the soil really well. For hard clay, it works best if I wet the soil first. The new power head takes regular gas. No oil mixing which is great! Should get lots of work from the new one. Definitely a great value for the price! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This small tiller is absolutely fantastic. First of all.... The expand-it system is wonderful. You can change the various accessories in just a few minutes. The tiller is great for small jobs such as a small garden. The area I use mine on is about 25 feet by 15 feet. The tiller is very powerful and can get a bit hard to hold on to if the ground is dry and rocky. It will get clogged up if there is too much heavy grass and you let it take too much bite. It is easy to get cleaned again however. It is one of my best tools for working the soil. EXCELLENT!! June 27, 2014
  • 2015-05-21T12:23:37.759-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_145, tr_145
  • loc_en_US, sid_100013409, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


Orders for this item may be expedited for an additional fee.


Other Delivery Options:

Express and Expedited shipping options are also available. Estimated arrival times are available in checkout.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.