Model # A9FS8R1

Internet #202078676

Store SKU #105770

Ryobi Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)
0033287147540

Ryobi

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
$19.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will this forstner bit set work with my ryobi hand drill?

Asked by: Dency
Yes, it should work fine in your Ryobi. I used a 1/2" dewalt cordless with the 1 3/8" bit without a problem
Answered by: Ben
Date published: 2017-02-21

diameters in set

diameters in set
Asked by: cannoneer
1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 5/8", 3/4", 7/8", and 1"... then a 1 3/8"...
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-03-22

Do forstner bits come in the 1/4' siza?

Asked by: Larry
This is the one that I got.
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-03-22

What are the recommended drilling RPM for your bits? Would like to know for both soft and hardwoods. Thank You

Asked by: keith
for softwoods 1/4" thru 5/8" - 2400 rpm's 3/4" thru 1" 1500 rpm's 1-1/8" thru 1-1/4" 1000 rpm's 1-3/8" and above 500 rpm's Hardwoods 1/4" thru 3/8" 700 rpm's 1/2" thru 1" 500 rpm's 1-1/8" and above 250 rpm's Remember to raise bit often and clear chips, makes for a cleaner hole and keeps bit cooler to prevent burning and prolong tool life.
Answered by: BodaciousLawn
Date published: 2017-03-12
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece) is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 108.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you only need to make a few pockets then this set will work for you. If you are working with ... If you only need to make a few pockets then this set will work for you. If you are working with soft woods these set will work great, hard woods will be a challenge. I used them to make pockets in a slab of purple heart. These bits had problems after the second plunge.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was looking for a single bit when I found this 8 piece kit. The cost was the same to get all 8... I was looking for a single bit when I found this 8 piece kit. The cost was the same to get all 8. I've used it to make about 75 flat-bottom holes. It works fine in my corded drill, although a drill press would give you a perfectly flat hole without user error.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are missing a lot of things a "good" set of Forstners have. For example the securing tips, ... They are missing a lot of things a "good" set of Forstners have. For example the securing tips, too short and is not rifled. So there still a tenancy to jump from a mark. But that being said, they do the job. They are sharp makes holes just fine.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This being my first experience with Forstner bits, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was using them... This being my first experience with Forstner bits, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was using them...primarily the 1-3/8, to hollow out a log (approx 10" dia x 10" deep). While the logic was sound and the bit(s) were good for the first 4" of depth, I found I had to sharpen them after each couple of inches. I don't know if this is normal for these types of bits. Thankfully, per the youtube video I watched, sharpening isn't that involved and takes less than a minute. To get the rest of the depth, I have ordered a 3" Forstner bit which is longer and will certainly move more wood than the smaller Ryobis. Being a different brand, the larger bit may (or may not) give me an idea if the constant sharpening is common among all of these types of bits or just the Ryobis. We shall see. I like that the set came organized in a case. They hang nicely on the peg-board by my drill press, next to my spade bits. I'm sure they will come handy from time to time on less demanding, perhaps more 'conventional' projects...for that reason, I'm glad I have them.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from With only limited use of the bits so far, it appears that the "X-wing" design does not produce as... With only limited use of the bits so far, it appears that the "X-wing" design does not produce as clean a hole as a the typical more enclosed Forstner bit design. Nevertheless, based on the limited use the set appears to be a good value.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi Forster Bit Set I love Ryobi products and these have kept that high quality. Built very well and extremely sharp. Drilled accurate through holes as well as flat bottom partials. With proper care should last many years. For drill press only.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Haida. Immediate need for one bit and chose to buy this set because of the excellent price/valu... I Haida. Immediate need for one bit and chose to buy this set because of the excellent price/value. I was completely satisfied with the performance and glad that I now have a whole set of sizes next time I need one.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always wanted a set like this for my workshop. Then one day I saw it on the shelf at Home Depo... I always wanted a set like this for my workshop. Then one day I saw it on the shelf at Home Depot and grabbed it. Did exactly what I needed to do at that time. Price was no object but happily it was a bargain!
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To tell the truth I have not used them yet as I purchased them for a project but have not started... To tell the truth I have not used them yet as I purchased them for a project but have not started it yet. I have had Ryobi products before and have never been disappointed. Don't believe I will be this time.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very cheesy, took forever to drill a hole... I could've... Very cheesy, took forever to drill a hole... I could've drilled out 4-5 holes with my porter cable set in the time it took to get one with these... very dissatisfied in this purchase, they will be going back
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't push it particularly (I drilled a bunch of holes in pine lumber, but no hardwoods) but t... I didn't push it particularly (I drilled a bunch of holes in pine lumber, but no hardwoods) but the bits worked great in that application. No noticeable difference between the first hole and the 30th.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the fact there are more variety of the standard bits available with this package. I've Ryo... I like the fact there are more variety of the standard bits available with this package. I've Ryobi products before and find them very good. I bought during Christmas sale and find it very useful
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for clean cut holes I have use this type bit in commercial applications as well as home use. Its length allows for cuttingholes in tight places addedto a right angle drill give an even small profile.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used one bit so far on my drill press and it ran true with no wobble. I'm a novice at wood worki... Used one bit so far on my drill press and it ran true with no wobble. I'm a novice at wood working and don't do precision work, so I think it's a good deal for my purposes.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit set for the price. They make clean holes with lots of chip clearance. They have a hea... Great bit set for the price. They make clean holes with lots of chip clearance. They have a heavy point to keep the bit on target when starting to drill.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picked up the Forstner Bit Set for a simple project at home. Went in easily to my screw driver a... Picked up the Forstner Bit Set for a simple project at home. Went in easily to my screw driver and worked quickly and easily to the depth that I needed.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems like they, especially the smaller bits will clog up on soft pine, more than the Freud I hav... Seems like they, especially the smaller bits will clog up on soft pine, more than the Freud I have. Otherwise I will recommend. Good buy for starters.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results. Perfectly cylindrical holes. They do get hot with denser woods, but as long as y... Great results. Perfectly cylindrical holes. They do get hot with denser woods, but as long as you don't push the speed too hard, it's not an issue.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid construction and acceptable edge quality. I've only insecbone bit... Solid construction and acceptable edge quality. I've only insecbone bit so far so cannot say how well they will hold up to continued use
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked beautifully. Needed to drill a hole through acrylic and wood for a pipe. It shoots the cut... Worked beautifully. Needed to drill a hole through acrylic and wood for a pipe. It shoots the cut materials everywhere though.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bits This is a nice set of the right sizes at a very affordable price. I have used 3 of them so far and they cut great.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great set of bits. However, when I opened the set... Great set of bits. However, when I opened the set it looked like someone used one then returned it.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used this product for a specific project and only used them for a moment but they performed well I used this product for a specific project and only used them for a moment but they performed well
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bits are sharp and durable. In general, I have yet to be disappointed by Ryobi products. Bits are sharp and durable. In general, I have yet to be disappointed by Ryobi products.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've only used the small bit so far but it... I've only used the small bit so far but it doesn't seem very sharp for being brand new.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding value! Great addition to my arsenal of shop tools. Outstanding value! Great addition to my arsenal of shop tools.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from they worked wonderfully ... looking to get the next size... they worked wonderfully ... looking to get the next size up
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast Fast and clean cuts easy start with go point location
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good Worked as intended and made job easier!!!!!!!!!!!?
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes. They work well and were a great value.... Yes. They work well and were a great value.
Date published: 2017-04-04
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_108
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 162ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT