0033287148622

Ryobi

Model # P551

Internet # 202611233

Store SKU # 994678

ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

$99.00 /each
  • Over 50 great ONE+ tools work with the same 18V battery platform
  • Any 18V ONE+ blue or green tool works with any 18V ONE+ battery
  • Provides cordless convenience with use of 18V ONE+ battery

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # P551

Internet # 202611233

Store SKU # 994678

Designed for bench and stationary use, the powerful Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw offers miter angle stops at 0 Degree , 15 Degree , 22.5 Degree , 31.6 Degree and 45 Degree to both the left and right. It cuts through a maximum thickness of 1-1/2 in. The saw also features a laser guide to help you achieve precision in a variety of cutting jobs.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Blade Diameter 
7-1/4 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
20.5 in 
Product Height (in.) 
12.6 in 
Product Width (in.) 
13.4 in 
Details
Arbor Size 
5/8 
Batteries Included 
No 
Battery Amp Hours 
0.0 
Battery Power Type 
Lithium Ion 
Battery Size 
Lithium Ion 
Bevel Type 
Single 
Charger Included 
No 
Color Family 
Green 
Cordless Tool Type 
Miter Saw 
Cordless/ Corded 
Cordless 
Dust Collection 
Yes 
Keyless/keyed blade change 
Keyed 
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 
1.5 
Maximum Degree Miter Cuts - Left 
Maximum Degree Miter Cuts - Right 
Miter Saw Type 
Compound 
Number of Batteries Included 
Power Tool Features 
No Additional Features 
Power Tool Product Type 
Bench & Stationary 
Product Weight (lb.) 
17.4 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Voltage (volts) 
18 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Cordless/ Corded: Cordless
Miter Saw Type: Compound
Bevel Type: Single
Power Tool Features: No Additional Features
Price: $50 - $100
Brand: Ryobi
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Search
23 Questions99 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
11 answers

How large of a board can it cut?

This question is from ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Cohoes, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 24, 2013
The description says maximum cut depth is 1 1/4 inches. Does this mean that it cannot cut through a 2x4? (I realize that a 2x4 is actually 1.5 x 3.5).
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Frost,Minnesota
Read all my Q&A
March 25, 2015
Answer: 
I will cut anything up to x4. When you get to cutting the angels its a bit small. . Overall its a really nice saw. Very portable. As with any tool match it to the work. .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Dieg
Read all my Q&A
March 25, 2015
Answer: 
It will cut a 4 1/4" board by 1 1/2". I cut some 1 x 5 boards ( 3/4" x 4 1/2") by turning the board around.
Also I have used it extensively to cut 2 x 4's with no problem. It will cut 1.5" thick boards.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
north carolina
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 13, 2015
Answer: 
I cut through 2x2 and 2x4 material with ease.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
scituate ma
Read all my Q&A
January 13, 2015
Answer: 
this is for casing work and small baseboard, i believe it will cut up to a 1x6 which is about 51/2 inches.
lowes has a nice slicing miter saw for about $129 which will cut about a 10 inch board, it is not cordless but it is light and easy to manage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Shawnee Ks.
Read all my Q&A
January 8, 2015
Answer: 
Yes no problem I just cut through a green treat 2x4 with a diablo framing blade like it was a bar of chocolate. Quite too!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Detroit
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
I have used it to cut 2 x 6's with no problems
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Felida, Washington
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2014
Answer: 
A 1x 6" board is about as large a board you can cut, I get around it by flipping the board over and using the Red Laser to line up he cut to finish. No problem with a 2x4 for me.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Chillicothe, MO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
According to the manual with mine, it can cut up to 1 1/2" thick and 4 1/4" wide
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

July 1, 2014
Answer: 
you can cut 2x4's with it. just take it slow. I cut alot of 3.5 trim and I have to use the compound to cut a 45. but works great. great little saw
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 20, 2014
Answer: 
Yes but only if you cut it from both sides one cut would be a scoring cut and the next a finish cut with the good side down.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 30, 2013
Answer: 
Hi DEcks, I took a look at the manual and this saw will cut 1-1/2 inch thick or 4-1/4 wide. The info in the product overview needs updating.
You can find this info on page 8 & 9 of the use and care guide, located on the web product page.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
 
7 answers

does this plug into the wall also?

This question is from ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
June 12, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
oregon city
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 18, 2016
Answer: 
No, 18V Battery only
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Eatonville, Wash
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 15, 2016
Answer: 
No. Unfortunately, the One+ Miter Saw is not a dual power system like LED Light and Fan. I had talked with the Ryobi Engineering team about a month or so ago when I was trying to get a optional part for another tool; suggesting they consider making the Miter Saw and a few other more demanding tools dual power. Along with some other suggestions for tools. It would be cool if HD established a suggestion Read More
No. Unfortunately, the One+ Miter Saw is not a dual power system like LED Light and Fan. I had talked with the Ryobi Engineering team about a month or so ago when I was trying to get a optional part for another tool; suggesting they consider making the Miter Saw and a few other more demanding tools dual power. Along with some other suggestions for tools. It would be cool if HD established a suggestion site to funnel back ideas to Ryobi. Read Less
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
White Creek, WI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2016
Answer: 
Nope. The P551 is One+ Battery only. Hopefully soon they will offer a "hybrid" (One+ or cord). But - please Ryobi - make that one a sliding miter saw!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 14, 2016
Answer: 
Hi frozenwalkway, This unit is battery operated and does not have a power cord. Thanks for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Anaheim, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2016
Answer: 
No, it's not a hybrid - cordless, battery operated only.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2016
Answer: 
No. Just use the biggest battery and it will last a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 13, 2016
Answer: 
This only is cordless.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

does this come with a blade

This question is from ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Asked by
va
Read all my Q&A
December 7, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Columbia, SC
Read all my Q&A
April 22, 2016
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
yes, a 24 tooth contractors blade. when I do trim work I switch to a higher tooth count
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
clifford township, PA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 31, 2015
Answer: 
Yes it comes with a cheap general blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
oregon
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 23, 2015
Answer: 
Yes it comes with a blade..but if you want quality cuts buy a new blade, try a 60 tooth "Diablo" ultra finish..
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Sandy Springs, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
One of the really great things about this saw is that it uses 7 1/4" blades. That's the most common size for circular saw blades too, so there are dozens of wood-cutting blades available to you at very reasonable prices. If you need blades with more teeth, laser vent notching, or non-stick coatings - you aren't likely to spend more than 10 dollars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

December 8, 2015
Answer: 
Hi 03. Yes! This unit does come with a blade. Thanks for asking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

If i change the blade to a 7.25" metal cutting blade, will this have the power to cut it?

This question is from ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 18, 2015
The manual says not for cutting metal, but im not sure if it means just with the provided blade or what. I bought a 7.25" metal cutting blade with the 5/8" arbor as the saw has, but that was before i read the manual. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
oregon city
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 25, 2016
Answer: 
Not a good idea, you will melt the gaurd, and probably not enough power for cutting steel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Columbia, SC
Read all my Q&A
April 22, 2016
Answer: 
Safety rules included with the instructions state that you should not cut metals, ceramics and masonry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Worth Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, it will cut metal if you get a metal cutting blade. Just don't force it, let the saw do the work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Anaheim, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 21, 2015
Answer: 
As others have said, I doubt it will work well. I tried cutting metal on a larger corded miter saw and it didn't work that great. Sparks and metal splinters will put holes in your dust catcher bag, If you do try it - remove the bag! Instead I bought a 14 inch Ryobi corded metal cut off saw on sale at HD for about $99. I don't see it anymore on their website, but maybe your store will have one - Mine Read More
As others have said, I doubt it will work well. I tried cutting metal on a larger corded miter saw and it didn't work that great. Sparks and metal splinters will put holes in your dust catcher bag, If you do try it - remove the bag! Instead I bought a 14 inch Ryobi corded metal cut off saw on sale at HD for about $99. I don't see it anymore on their website, but maybe your store will have one - Mine works great - it's nice to have the right tool for the job! I did see several on the HD site for just over $100, maybe you'll find one of those on sale. Hope it works out. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

November 20, 2015
Answer: 
Hi KEn. Unfortunately it will not. Our products are designed specifically for cutting wood. Thanks for asking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 20, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it will have the power to cut it but it will take a long time. I believe there is a thermal cut off on the saw because if it gets hot it will stop working for a time. I have had this happen twice. If you attempt to cut metal on this it will use a lot of power and could overheat the motor.
This saw was not meant for the use that you are attempting. It was designed for small pieces of wood like Read More
Yes, it will have the power to cut it but it will take a long time. I believe there is a thermal cut off on the saw because if it gets hot it will stop working for a time. I have had this happen twice. If you attempt to cut metal on this it will use a lot of power and could overheat the motor.
This saw was not meant for the use that you are attempting. It was designed for small pieces of wood like mounding, thresholds, transitions, and 2x2's/2x4's for small jobs. I have used it for all of those jobs and used it to cut light aluminum channel for making window screens (with a 140 tooth wood blade). It does really well for those jobs.
I have even cut some 2 inch schedule 40 plastic electrical conduit with was beyond what was expected for the saw. It bound up easily and I had to cut slowly and make sure the pipe did not move to prevent binding. My options were a reciprocating saw or this. This uint gave me a much better cut that was cleaner and more even but it did push the saw to it's limit and beyond.
In my mind I can see cutting metal with this saw. Lots of sparks and noise for a long time and replacing at least one battery in the process. I would look for other options. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-06-26 T17:17:14.656-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202611233, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 203ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect smaller saw This saw is the perfect companion to my larger and much heavier miter saw. Great for grab and go quick jobs yet plenty accurate for smaller fine trim jobs. I did upgrade the blade to a 60t right away for a finer cut. I highly recommend this saw if you feel it fits your needs. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! I love this little saw. But don't let "little" fool you. It handles most anything you would want to cut. I've used it for 2x4s, pvc conduit, fence boards, etc. Great for when you need a few, quick cuts (especially when you don't want to haul out the big sliding miter saw). April 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by works well Easy to use. I wanted to miter a 5" board but the saw couldn't cut through. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very handy the best things about this saw is it is small, light, and battery powered by the batteries that I already have. It met all of my expectations. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by amazing power for size This chop is beast. Ultra portable, with a ton of features. Exacta line laser , 18v power, carry handle, lightweight, etc. Battery lasts for a half a day with regular use. I can't get used to its ease of use and power. Ryobi has done it again. April 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I like the size and convenience This is a great saw for it's size and convenience and that is what I wanted it for. The only problem I have found is that if you don't use a silver battery it acts like the switch is bad and won't allow the motor to start. April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great tool for cutting molding A go anywhere tool for all your cutting needs and Ryobi has made a very good tool again! August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good product Saw does great job cutting. Light to carry around and good speed a good but September 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The battery operation makes it so convenient to take it where it is needed on the job The Ryobi maintains the power needed to do the job. Shopping for the product was easy and customer service was more then expected. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw for small jobs. I bought this saw for a job in my carport area, which has no electrical power outlet. The saw handles 2X3's and 2X4's quite well. I could not get it to run using the larger P104 battery, but it performed quite well using the smaller P100's that I already had for my drill and sander. October 2, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of a kind This is the only battery powered mitre saw I know of . It is truely portable , well made , lots of features , great design and uses all 18v Ryobi batteries . The laser is a nice bonus . Add one to your collection ! April 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great little saw. I am a Carpenter, that got tired of hauling my 70lbs. 12 inch Dewalt slider out of the van to cut a few pieces of trim. I use it daily to cut trims and toe kicks. With a good finish blade and slowly dropping the blade through the wood, it does a great job! September 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This thing Is excellent! I have been using all kinds of chop saws in the last 20 years and, for smaller stuff up to 2x4 this portable little saw is the best I'v had! If you use miter saws this is an absolute must! buy it buy it buy it!! October 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good tool for light work Not used it too much yet, but it does exactly what it should do, as long as you keep to light duty jobs. New Lithiium ion batteries are plenty strong. May 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as advertised Ibought this for putting up siding on my house, I love how portable it is, and the cuts are great,quality of the product is what you would expect maybe a little better. The only thing I can complain about is I just wish it would come with a battery. August 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw!!!! I Love this saw! I use it everyday to cut aluminum window frame and screen door frame. It is light and easy to move. It is alot easier than unloading my Dewalt saw and extension cord and carrying it to my customers back yard, then finding a plug to plug into. May 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by this is the perfect size I have used this saw for @ years now I cut just about everything you can think of from dowls to 6 inch fenceing great saw jeff pgh. pa. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Portable Outstanding tool added to my shop. Very easy to take anywhere with you. January 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by super saw!!! i work in property maintaince and this saw is perfect for doing trim work. its a whole lot lighter than my dewalt 12 inch and cuts just as good. April 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by this is a great portable miter saw This saw works great for crown molding, baseboards, and other small projects. September 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect this product is perfect for my small projects cant beat it I have all the One plus tools June 6, 2012
  • 2016-06-29 T17:35:16.273-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_149, tr_149
  • loc_en_US, sid_202611233, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT