Model # P2052

Internet #202556442

Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
0046396490636

Ryobi

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included

  • Over 70 ONE+ tools – all work with any RYOBI ONE+ 18V battery
  • Adjustable shaft and pivoting head: find your ideal cutting angle
  • Battery and Charger Not Included
$49.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This string trimmer has a 12 in. cutting swath and a telescoping, rotating shaft and is versatile and lightweight. You can set the trimmer's height and flip it over to convert to an edger. It works with any Ryobi ONE+ batteries you already own, ni-cad or lithium-ion (battery not included).

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries
  • Adjustable 10-12 in. cutting width for longer run time
  • Adjustable length for user comfort
  • Rotating shaft for comfortable edging
  • Auto-feed string head with 0.065 in. single line
  • 6.65 lbs.
  • Battery and charger not included

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does this come with a string cartredge?

I was wondering if I will also need to be string for this right away or if it will come with some to get started?
Asked by: Brandon
It comes with trimmer line
Answered by: WayUpNorth
Date published: 2016-01-14

New line dispensing or manual?

hi, does the string comes out automatically or each time it breaks i have to open the cover and pull it out manually? my old trimmer breaks the like every 5 minutes and i spend more time fixing it than wacking the grass... i saw the trimmers which dispense a piece of new line by pressing a button.
Asked by: alina
You can either dispense more line automatically by pressing the trigger and releasing it for at least two seconds and it will automatically advance at least to the full length, or you can press the line advance button and release it and it will advance about 1/2 inch per press and release cycle, providing that you are pulling out on the string at the same time as you perform a press and release cycle. (Obviously, the manual press and release has to be done when the head is not rotating.) I found with my three trimmers (one new, two used) that the automatic feed went through a lot of line quickly. The two used trimmers actually spun out a spool in about five minutes of operation. As a result, I replaced the spring in the head underneath the spool with a standard click-type ball-point pen spring. This disables the auto line feed so that I use a lot less line. I learned that I have to either listen to the pitch of the weed whip to hear when to advance line or watch how close the head has to approach the weeds/grass being trimmed and advance line when the head is getting too close or I have to take the spool retainer off if the line breaks off too short. If you run your trimmer constant like to trim a small lawn, this may not be the option for you, but if you start and stop the trimmer a lot (lots of trees or posts), this really saves a lot of line. Compared to a Black and Decker string trimmer (my wife's parents own one that continuously feeds and they are a challenge to attempt any repairs due to the centrifugal action of the auto line feed), the auto feed function works much better on these trimmers, and it has the bonus of being easily disabled and re-enabled as desired. Finally, remember that the cutting action of all string trimmers occurs at the outer edge of the rotating string - just like a circular saw. For longest string life, do not hold the trimmer head closely against a tree or a wall. You will just cause the string to wear faster and can girdle a young tree by doing this. Instead, hold the trimmer and approach the tree or wall smoothly until you can see that you are barely making contact.
Answered by: Scooter
Date published: 2017-03-19

how much with battery and charger

sale
Asked by: beaneye
The battery will cost about $40 more and the same for a charger.
Answered by: nitwitnetworked
Date published: 2016-08-07

Does this trimmer use a common size string or is it unique to this trimmer?

Asked by: BigAl
nitwitnetworked ''Slightly slimmer .065 instead of .080. I have not tried the thicker version on this model.'' Yes you are right , but fyi , it comes with ''Round'' trimmer line. I was ready to take ours back until I ran across Craftsman Commercial Grade Patented 6 Bladed Shape .065 Trimmer Line and it made all the difference in the world..''Try it , You will like it'' Yes , I had to go to Sears to find a .065 line with some edges on it. That was 2 years ago and hopefully Home Depot carries some too by now , but at the time they only carried edged trim line in the larger diameters . LuckyCB says...''DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE A LARGER LINE''''The (RPM's) Rotations Per Minute of the trimmer are not fast enough to cut the larger line, and you will experience line feeding issues with the larger line.''. LuckyCB...I will let you know how it works out in the long run...Every since I tried some ''Shakespeare UGLY LINE 0.08-in Trimmer Line '' My wife doesn't want to go back to the smaller 0.065 ! I can not notice any problem with the RPM'S . Maybe it is due to the triangler shape of the UGLY LINE. She says that what use to take her two passes , she can now do in only one.
Answered by: BOZ
Date published: 2017-02-12
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_28
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 26ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 754.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good string trimmer. Me being an old geezer of 78 years, I have had several battery powered pieces of yard equipment that all ended up in a dumpster after a use or 2. This one is different. I purchased it because I needed something light and easy to use. I can no longer always get a gasoline trimmer to start and it's difficult to drag a long heavy power cord around. I had obtained a battery powered Pole Saw (Roybi) several months ago and it is awesome. I also purchased a 3/8" drill using the same batterys. It was also very good. This string trimmer uses the same batterys and I can swap them around when needed. This unit is light weight and has good cutting ability... not quit as much as a gasoline powered one but enough to do all the trimming around our home.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ordered from homedepot.com and received a very used product! Covered with grass and dirt! Definit... Ordered from homedepot.com and received a very used product! Covered with grass and dirt! Definitely not a new product! The local home depot gave a difficult time trying to return it. Second time I have received an obviously used product from homedepot.com. Can't say much about the trimmer because not offered by my local home depot. Had to buy from Target instead.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have used this tool for a few seasons and have been pleased overall. It's lightweight, easy to ... I have used this tool for a few seasons and have been pleased overall. It's lightweight, easy to switch the trimmer orientation, and doesn't use much power - I can complete my yard in one charge. The only downside is that it eats a lot of line, or at least that appears to be the case compared to other trimmers I have owned. It does a good job.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For small areas and small alley ways this is great. This is my second Ryobi string trimmer and I ... For small areas and small alley ways this is great. This is my second Ryobi string trimmer and I expect it to work as good as the old one did, I just finally wore out the old one, ( I had used it on parking lots and my own alley and yard for almost five years), so for the money and my needs this is a great trimmer!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out of the box you only have to put together a few parts and you're good to go. It works great w... Out of the box you only have to put together a few parts and you're good to go. It works great with the battery I already had, it's strong and does the job well. Has an easy to adjust handle and the head turns around so you can do edging. It's very convenient and it's great to not have to worry about cords.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does a decent job on a small yard. Last about 20-25 minutes on a full battery. My only complaint ... Does a decent job on a small yard. Last about 20-25 minutes on a full battery. My only complaint is that the string does not come out with ease, you need to do push the switch several times for the string to have some slack. Not powerful enough to knock down thick bundles of grass.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The batteries are a little difficult to get on, we... The batteries are a little difficult to get on, we really have to push in while squeezing the finger buttons on the sides of the batteries. Also, it would rally be helpful to have an AC adapter for plugging in a heavy duty outdoor extension cordto the battery compartment.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use and store but it needs more power. My yard doesn't require a lot of edging so this trimmer is ok. With 2 Ryobi One+ batteries, I can edge about 80' of sidewalk and driveway and trim about 120' around the house. It doesn't do well in thick grass. Each battery lasts about 15 minutes and they still have power to run my drill but not enough to trim. It is easy to use. The replacement reels are expensive; about 10 times more expensive than 100' of .065 string. I haven't had any problems with the auto line feed and, after 2 uses, I've still got some of the original string left. I would recommend this for a small yard because it is so convenient but I wouldn't have bought it if I didn't already have 2 batteries. That said, so far, it meets my needs.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was xmas gift for husband. He loved it, put it together without any issues. Has battery but nee... Was xmas gift for husband. He loved it, put it together without any issues. Has battery but needs a charger for it. It is winter season where we live so unable to use it at this time. He is looking forward to sping/summer to use it.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Light Weight Trimmer Fantastic trimmer for light duty edging around the yard after mowing. Two of the smaller batteries is sufficient for front and back yard. Really glad I purchased this product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi Trimmer I like the Ryobi brand, and have the 18v. batteries & chargers. When I needed a trimmer, I thought I'd try it. It's a little under powered, which expected in an 18v., but it's a good low-cost solution for around the house.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for smaller yards This trimmer has plenty of power for my needs. I'm able to trim and edge the thickest part of my yard with no issues. The battery life is about 15 minutes with the small lithium battery or the standard NiCad. I have a small yard (patio home) so 15 min of runtime works for me but obviously may not work for others. For those complaining about the replacement costs of the spools, do yourself a favor and just buy .065 line and refill it yourself. I think they run for 10 bucks and should last forever. To conclude, I'd recommend this for smaller yards or for those who have more than one battery available to complete larger jobs.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement Trimmer head My original string trimmer head stopped working so I got this replacement to make the repair. Product arrived in 2 days and works perfect. This was a internet only product as the stores do not sell this.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool. I have 2 1/2 acres to trim and it really does the job. This is my second one. I hav... Great tool. I have 2 1/2 acres to trim and it really does the job. This is my second one. I have all the Ryobi tools. They have never disappointed.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great trimmer/edger. This is my 2nd trimmer I broke my other one . That is why I bought... This is a great trimmer/edger. This is my 2nd trimmer I broke my other one . That is why I bought just a trimmer . I love it , very easy to use.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small yards. We have just less then an acre and this works great. I have other Ryobi power tools so this was prefect since I just used the same battery.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good trim-short life Easy to maneuver and change positions. Bought this one to replace one that only lasted 3 seasons. Hope this lasts longer
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Purchased as a gift for friend with a bad back. Only used once. Very light weight. Seems to wo... Purchased as a gift for friend with a bad back. Only used once. Very light weight. Seems to work fine.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good condition The appliance works wellI have a set of appliances and I'm trying as I work
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the price Very lightweight worked on a full charge for a half an hour good item
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love all of my Ryobi tools, will recommend them to all my friends.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a great weed eater. The strings cost a lot. But it works great It's a great weed eater. The strings cost a lot. But it works great
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want more Ryobi stuff The Trimmer was awesome, no power cords, just go!!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought it for my husband. He loves it!... Bought it for my husband. He loves it!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the adjustable head angle I like the adjustable head angle
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this weed trimmer is fantastic. this weed trimmer is fantastic.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and does the job. Light and does the job.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 18 Volt Cordless String Trimmer. This is a light easy to use string trimmer. I love the fact that there is no noise whaling out of it like a gas trimmer or chainsaw sound. It will trim grass not heavy weeds or anything tough. It is not an edger. It is a good lightweight string trimmer. its great for trimming where you can't get with the mower. My yard is just over 1 acre and 1/4 and it takes me just one battery to get everything done. my favorite feature is the low noise.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fun to wack the weeds! and convenient with the battery We have been using Ryobi battery powered tools for years, so it was a no brainer to purchase this weed wacker that uses the same battery as our tools. LOVE IT!!! I now go the extra 10 minutes to finish the lawn edges - use to only do it twice a year because of the hassle of a corded wacker. BTW, I also bought the battery powered lawn mower. I cannot say enough good things about the ease of use, quiet motor, lightness of the mower making it easy to maneuver. Uses a larger battery, but that is ok. We have a large city lot and it finishes the job on a single charge. Enjoy! ~ amanda
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good except the string slips back in the container from time to time I really like this trimmer. It is light weight and has excellent battery life. I have experienced one day when the string retracted into the housing instead of going out. I had to open up the housing 3 times to finally get it to work properly. I have not had any problems since the. It was a small annoyance.
Date published: 2016-06-07
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_754
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT