Model # P2052

Internet #202556442

Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
0046396490636

Ryobi

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included

  • Over 70 ONE+ tools – all work with any RYOBI ONE+ 18V battery
  • Adjustable shaft and pivoting head: find your ideal cutting angle
  • Battery and Charger Not Included
$49.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This string trimmer has a 12 in. cutting swath and a telescoping, rotating shaft and is versatile and lightweight. You can set the trimmer's height and flip it over to convert to an edger. It works with any Ryobi ONE+ batteries you already own, ni-cad or lithium-ion (battery not included).

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries
  • Adjustable 10-12 in. cutting width for longer run time
  • Adjustable length for user comfort
  • Rotating shaft for comfortable edging
  • Auto-feed string head with 0.065 in. single line
  • 6.65 lbs.
  • Battery and charger not included

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does this come with a string cartredge?

I was wondering if I will also need to be string for this right away or if it will come with some to get started?
Asked by: Brandon
It comes with trimmer line
Answered by: WayUpNorth
Date published: 2016-01-14

New line dispensing or manual?

hi, does the string comes out automatically or each time it breaks i have to open the cover and pull it out manually? my old trimmer breaks the like every 5 minutes and i spend more time fixing it than wacking the grass... i saw the trimmers which dispense a piece of new line by pressing a button.
Asked by: alina
You can either dispense more line automatically by pressing the trigger and releasing it for at least two seconds and it will automatically advance at least to the full length, or you can press the line advance button and release it and it will advance about 1/2 inch per press and release cycle, providing that you are pulling out on the string at the same time as you perform a press and release cycle. (Obviously, the manual press and release has to be done when the head is not rotating.) I found with my three trimmers (one new, two used) that the automatic feed went through a lot of line quickly. The two used trimmers actually spun out a spool in about five minutes of operation. As a result, I replaced the spring in the head underneath the spool with a standard click-type ball-point pen spring. This disables the auto line feed so that I use a lot less line. I learned that I have to either listen to the pitch of the weed whip to hear when to advance line or watch how close the head has to approach the weeds/grass being trimmed and advance line when the head is getting too close or I have to take the spool retainer off if the line breaks off too short. If you run your trimmer constant like to trim a small lawn, this may not be the option for you, but if you start and stop the trimmer a lot (lots of trees or posts), this really saves a lot of line. Compared to a Black and Decker string trimmer (my wife's parents own one that continuously feeds and they are a challenge to attempt any repairs due to the centrifugal action of the auto line feed), the auto feed function works much better on these trimmers, and it has the bonus of being easily disabled and re-enabled as desired. Finally, remember that the cutting action of all string trimmers occurs at the outer edge of the rotating string - just like a circular saw. For longest string life, do not hold the trimmer head closely against a tree or a wall. You will just cause the string to wear faster and can girdle a young tree by doing this. Instead, hold the trimmer and approach the tree or wall smoothly until you can see that you are barely making contact.
Answered by: Scooter
Date published: 2016-09-10

how much with battery and charger

sale
Asked by: beaneye
The battery will cost about $40 more and the same for a charger.
Answered by: nitwitnetworked
Date published: 2016-08-07

Does this trimmer use a common size string or is it unique to this trimmer?

Asked by: BigAl
nitwitnetworked ''Slightly slimmer .065 instead of .080. I have not tried the thicker version on this model.'' Yes you are right , but fyi , it comes with ''Round'' trimmer line. I was ready to take ours back until I ran across Craftsman Commercial Grade Patented 6 Bladed Shape .065 Trimmer Line and it made all the difference in the world..''Try it , You will like it'' Yes , I had to go to Sears to find a .065 line with some edges on it. That was 2 years ago and hopefully Home Depot carries some too by now , but at the time they only carried edged trim line in the larger diameters . LuckyCB says...''DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE A LARGER LINE''''The (RPM's) Rotations Per Minute of the trimmer are not fast enough to cut the larger line, and you will experience line feeding issues with the larger line.''. LuckyCB...I will let you know how it works out in the long run...Every since I tried some ''Shakespeare UGLY LINE 0.08-in Trimmer Line '' My wife doesn't want to go back to the smaller 0.065 ! I can not notice any problem with the RPM'S . Maybe it is due to the triangler shape of the UGLY LINE. She says that what use to take her two passes , she can now do in only one.
Answered by: BOZ
Date published: 2017-02-12
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_28
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 749.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great trimmer/edger. This is my 2nd trimmer I broke my other one . That is why I bought... This is a great trimmer/edger. This is my 2nd trimmer I broke my other one . That is why I bought just a trimmer . I love it , very easy to use.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good trim-short life Easy to maneuver and change positions. Bought this one to replace one that only lasted 3 seasons. Hope this lasts longer
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Purchased as a gift for friend with a bad back. Only used once. Very light weight. Seems to wo... Purchased as a gift for friend with a bad back. Only used once. Very light weight. Seems to work fine.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good trimmer Lightweight with good power. Only bad thing is that the battery and charger cost more than the trimmer.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very fast deliver First one lasted 8 years but I have 3 acres to take care of, so it was time for a new one.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WON"T WORK GOING BACK It wont run with any battery I tried. It was ran for one second then stopped.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good condition The appliance works wellI have a set of appliances and I'm trying as I work
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the price Very lightweight worked on a full charge for a half an hour good item
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love all of my Ryobi tools, will recommend them to all my friends.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a great weed eater. The strings cost a lot. But it works great It's a great weed eater. The strings cost a lot. But it works great
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want more Ryobi stuff The Trimmer was awesome, no power cords, just go!!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought it for my husband. He loves it!... Bought it for my husband. He loves it!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the adjustable head angle I like the adjustable head angle
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and does the job. Light and does the job.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More than I expected I wasn't expecting much based on the critical reviews and battery operation but my mom happened to buy one and really likes it so I got one too. It made short work of grass, weeds and plants growing where the mower couldn't reach. Also edged the lawn that hasn't been done in years. Plenty of power and battery. I have a couple of these batteries from my impact drivers. String feed seems fine though I wasn't trying to consume string by waving against rocks to much.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 18 Volt Cordless String Trimmer. This is a light easy to use string trimmer. I love the fact that there is no noise whaling out of it like a gas trimmer or chainsaw sound. It will trim grass not heavy weeds or anything tough. It is not an edger. It is a good lightweight string trimmer. its great for trimming where you can't get with the mower. My yard is just over 1 acre and 1/4 and it takes me just one battery to get everything done. my favorite feature is the low noise.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fun to wack the weeds! and convenient with the battery We have been using Ryobi battery powered tools for years, so it was a no brainer to purchase this weed wacker that uses the same battery as our tools. LOVE IT!!! I now go the extra 10 minutes to finish the lawn edges - use to only do it twice a year because of the hassle of a corded wacker. BTW, I also bought the battery powered lawn mower. I cannot say enough good things about the ease of use, quiet motor, lightness of the mower making it easy to maneuver. Uses a larger battery, but that is ok. We have a large city lot and it finishes the job on a single charge. Enjoy! ~ amanda
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good except the string slips back in the container from time to time I really like this trimmer. It is light weight and has excellent battery life. I have experienced one day when the string retracted into the housing instead of going out. I had to open up the housing 3 times to finally get it to work properly. I have not had any problems since the. It was a small annoyance.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included Bought it for my son to use while I am running the Ryobi 4 stroke string trimmer. The good thing about the trimmer is it doesn't spin so fast that it embeds your pant legs with grass clippings, which is GREAT! While I was using trimmer I would have to say it does a good job trimming around objects without damaging them. The draw back to this trimmer, actually any trimmer, is the length is too short for me which hurts my back. I am 6'5" just to let you know for reference. I did not use the edging feature. I use my gas trimmer with the edger attachment for that.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Trimmer I already had a couple other battery powered Ryobi tools, so I thought, why not? Get a trimmer too! Plus I was sick of toting around an extension cord and/or smelling like gasoline (I'm a girl, so...). I put this thing through a workout! I have a rather large yard and had 20 trees removed, so there's lots of dirt and now weeds growing up pretty tall and I really needed to use a trimmer. It lasted through almost all of the trimming before the battery finally gave out. It definitely got the job done, and I think it will be great once I get the yard in order and only need it for normal trimming. One thing I totally fail at is re-stringing weedeaters, and I haven't had to do that yet with this one, so I may check back once I'm done with it.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tons better than my old gas powered unit I purchased this unit to replace a leaky, messy, heavy, and unreliable gas powered unit. It leaked fluids everywhere, was a pain to start, and was not balanced very well. The new battery operated unit is lighter, easier to use, is not messy or leaky, and uses the same battery as my other battery operated tools. I could not be happier with it. I was a little worried about the small diameter trimming string but it does the job well for my small urban yard. If I had a bigger yard I would probably recommend a heavier duty trimmer.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice little trimmer in the Ryobi product family This trimmer has three different tilt angles to make it easy to cut cleanly along pavement. It is battery-operated and I can nearly always trim the front and back yards on one full battery (lot size is a little over 7000 sqft). It has constant steady power the whole time I use it and instead of the power drooping as the battery drains, it will just shut off when it gets too low. Battery goes from empty to full in about 2 hours. It is lightweight and has a no-bump line feed. It's a great little trimmer and I hope it lasts a long time. (I already owned 2 of the Ryobi ONE Plus batteries.)
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent trimmer I got this when my Husquivarna decided it didn't want to work anymore. This little Ryobi works great! It doesn't have quite as much ability to tackle little trees and thick grass but it will do the latter if you just do it gradually. When working steadily a little battery lasts about 20 minutes. I may get a couple big ones but this isn't bad. I use 2 to 3 to do our yard if I edge everything. Line advance works well. No complaints. I see no need for a gas trimmer.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price For the money likely one of the best trimmers out there. I typically get about 40-45 minutes constant use from a 4ah high capacity battery until it gets weak. Any stick thicker than 1/8th inch breaks the string, and you have to stay on the trigger most of the time because releasing the trigger will feed more string. However it will cut normal grass up to 2 ft high if you swipe side to side, allowing it to speed back up. Although it is slower and less powerful than gas, it will do it well. I have 3 acres of land and two 4ah batteries is enough for all the weedeating I need to do and it does it very well. A gas one will be faster for sure, but considering I already had the batteries and I got this model for $50, its pretty good. If it had attachments that can last longer than an hour before breaking then it would be 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last for whole yard. Read some of the reviews and was impressed with what I had read so I bought one. First thing it is EASY to put together no screws or any tools needed. Second and this was a problem was the lower handle it was loose when installed. I used a piece of rubber behind the clamp and that solved the problem but it was a little frustrating to have the handle slip up and down the shaft while using it the first time. The one I bought did not come with batteries because I have a full set of Ryobi tools. This lasted on a full charge for the whole yard with plenty of charge left to do it half over again. The auto feed is the first one I have used that actually worked! That was a big plus because it was one thing I was leery of. Over all a great price and great tool. It is NOT a professional tool but it will do for the average home owner and last for years.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This purchase was a GREAT idea!! TESTED TOUGH IN ALASKA !!! This Ryobi Weed Trimmer is perfect for the many lawns I use it on. The fact that the 18V battery fits my drills, flashlight, saw, and now my Weed Trimmer is a bonus. I cant wait to receive my 18V Leaf Blower!!!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi cordless weed eater Very easy to put together and light weight. Self feed work well, all you have to do is hold a small button on the bottom and pull the line out as YOU NEED IT, that way there is no waste of line. Battery charges in it's charger which is sold seperatly and comes to a full charge in about 15 minutes. Wow what a wonderful product , I can do my whole lawn in about 30 minutes with only 1 recharge. Tapping the trigger makes it exptional for hard to reach spots and very easy on small flower beds. again can't go wrong with this product. Even my Wife can use it very well. We are both in our retirement ages. Way to go Homedepot!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Basic Edger Great edger for basic trimming and holding back ivy that's trying to take over my bushes. It does the job all in one charge. Make sure you have a full charge before doing an entire yard. It is a little difficult getting the battery in and out, and the other reviewers are correct about of holding down the trigger and safety lock--it's annoying and makes your fingers tired. Overall, the edger is pretty easy to use after playing with the handle levels and different placements for edging or trimming. The edger is also a pretty compact for storage. At 5lbs, the edgers is also light enough for the ladies.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product value but... I bought this to replace a previously owned Ryobi trimmer (same model). I like the product but the adjustable "ring" handle needs to swivel 360 like The old one. The way I hold the trimmer for edging, the "ring" handle function is limited. It actually works against me and makes holding the trimmer very uncomfortable while edging.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Deal!! I bought this string trimmer to replace my old gas trimmer that had finally bit the dust. I don't have a big yard any more so I no longer needed the gas model to " weed whack" for only ten minutes each time. Since I already have a slew of Ryobi one+ power tools and two batteries, I decided to buy this model w/o the battery and charger. I have never been disappointed or let down with my Ryobi tools so I expected nothing less with this trimmer. Well, no disappointments here! Having used the gas trimmer for so long I expected to be covered in grass trimmings from head to toe. Not so with the Ryobi. It easily and precisely trimmed the whole yard in the same amount of time without sending all the trimmings onto my legs and into my wife's flower beds. (Happy wife, happy life.) The ease at which the Ryobi trimmer adjusts for balance and height makes using the tool much more pleasurable. I haven't tried the edger feature yet so I won't comment here about it. The trimmer is light weight and easy to use with the automatic line feed. No more bumping. I can see where it could get a bit costly if you were to buy the pre-wound spools but I have always re-wound my own spools with bulk string which can be purchased right there at Home Depot. All in all I can say that the Ryobi String trimmer is a well built, sturdy tool that will stand the test of time.
Date published: 2015-06-10
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_749
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 128ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT