Model # P2052

Internet #202556442

Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
0046396490636

Ryobi

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included

  • Over 70 ONE+ tools – all work with any RYOBI ONE+ 18V battery
  • Adjustable shaft and pivoting head: find your ideal cutting angle
  • Battery and Charger Not Included
$49.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This string trimmer has a 12 in. cutting swath and a telescoping, rotating shaft and is versatile and lightweight. You can set the trimmer's height and flip it over to convert to an edger. It works with any Ryobi ONE+ batteries you already own, ni-cad or lithium-ion (battery not included).

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries
  • Adjustable 10-12 in. cutting width for longer run time
  • Adjustable length for user comfort
  • Rotating shaft for comfortable edging
  • Auto-feed string head with 0.065 in. single line
  • 6.65 lbs.
  • Battery and charger not included

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

26 Questions167 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
12 answers

Does this come with a string cartredge?

This question is from ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 1, 2015
I was wondering if I will also need to be string for this right away or if it will come with some to get started?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Way Up North
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2015
Answer: 
It comes with trimmer line
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it comes with a string cartridge already loaded. But, be sure to have more on hand since this cordless trimmer reloads string automatically when needed - just let it come to a stop, and when you start back up you have just the right amount of string every time!
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Worth, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 2, 2015
Answer: 
The trimmer comes with ONE cartridge pre-loaded with .065 string. I suggest picking up a large .065 line refill. If you're not patient with installing your own line, they sell pre-loaded cartridges, but that can get quite expensive if you have a medium sized yard.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 29, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, the product does come with a trim line cartridge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
N. Ridgeville, OH
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2015
Answer: 
There is string loaded in the spool, but you will need to buy replacement .065 string. The instructions tell you how to wind it.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2015
Answer: 
It comes with 1 string cartridge. Mine lasted years before needing a second one.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

June 16, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it comes with a cartridge. Just minor assembly then snap on battery and it's ready.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Virginia
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2015
Answer: 
It comes with a cartridge that can be restrung or you can buy the 3 pack pre-strung cartridges for $18
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Perry, NY
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it does come with a string cartridge and is ready for use right out of the box.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Colfax,La.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
Yes mine came with a full spool
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 2, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, a string cartridge is included.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Broomfield colorado
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2015
Answer: 
Yes one spool
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
12 answers

New line dispensing or manual?

This question is from ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
Asked by
PA
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2015
hi, does the string comes out automatically or each time it breaks i have to open the cover and pull it out manually? my old trimmer breaks the like every 5 minutes and i spend more time fixing it than wacking the grass... i saw the trimmers which dispense a piece of new line by pressing a button.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 16, 2016
Answer: 
You can either dispense more line automatically by pressing the trigger and releasing it for at least two seconds and it will automatically advance at least to the full length, or you can press the line advance button and release it and it will advance about 1/2 inch per press and release cycle, providing that you are pulling out on the string at the same time as you perform a press and release cycle. Read More
You can either dispense more line automatically by pressing the trigger and releasing it for at least two seconds and it will automatically advance at least to the full length, or you can press the line advance button and release it and it will advance about 1/2 inch per press and release cycle, providing that you are pulling out on the string at the same time as you perform a press and release cycle. (Obviously, the manual press and release has to be done when the head is not rotating.)
I found with my three trimmers (one new, two used) that the automatic feed went through a lot of line quickly. The two used trimmers actually spun out a spool in about five minutes of operation. As a result, I replaced the spring in the head underneath the spool with a standard click-type ball-point pen spring. This disables the auto line feed so that I use a lot less line. I learned that I have to either listen to the pitch of the weed whip to hear when to advance line or watch how close the head has to approach the weeds/grass being trimmed and advance line when the head is getting too close or I have to take the spool retainer off if the line breaks off too short. If you run your trimmer constant like to trim a small lawn, this may not be the option for you, but if you start and stop the trimmer a lot (lots of trees or posts), this really saves a lot of line.
Compared to a Black and Decker string trimmer (my wife's parents own one that continuously feeds and they are a challenge to attempt any repairs due to the centrifugal action of the auto line feed), the auto feed function works much better on these trimmers, and it has the bonus of being easily disabled and re-enabled as desired.
Finally, remember that the cutting action of all string trimmers occurs at the outer edge of the rotating string - just like a circular saw. For longest string life, do not hold the trimmer head closely against a tree or a wall. You will just cause the string to wear faster and can girdle a young tree by doing this. Instead, hold the trimmer and approach the tree or wall smoothly until you can see that you are barely making contact. Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
N. Ridgeville, OH
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2015
Answer: 
New line is extended automatically each time you turn it off and back on. Do not tap it on the ground as with other line trimmers - it will void the warranty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2015
Answer: 
It goes a little longer each time you start it. If it is real short just start it briefly and then again until it is long enough but unless you hit something hard that would break it off you usually do not have to think about it. I usually look at it before using it and decide if it needs a quick on and off to make it longer or not.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Virginia
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2015
Answer: 
Has a little button on the side of the cartridge. Just press and pull the string to whatever the length- as simple as that
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
It has a auto feed that seems to feed out when trigger is pulled (from a stop). Works pretty good so far for me but have only used it 3 times and haven't had to replenish the line yet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Warfordsburg PA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2015
Answer: 
auto-loads line.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
Dispensing is automatic when line breaks. A quarter inch every time you hold and release trigger for 2 seconds.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Midwest
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
It has an automatic line feed. It does this every time you pull the trigger and start the trim head from a stop, if you need it or not. I recommend holding the trigger as long as possible until you are done with the area you are trimming or you need more line.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Austin, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
It dispenses automatically simply by pulling the trigger quickly several times. No banging it on the sidewalk like some of the older, other brands.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
San Diego, CA
Read all my Q&A
May 5, 2015
Answer: 
Every time you release the trigger button, the spool feeds out about 3/8" of line. If your line snaps off or wears all the way down, pulse the trigger a few times to get it to feed out again. The drawback is that you don't want to keep starting and stopping work, or you'll end up wasting line.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
So. Cal.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 1, 2015
Answer: 
Hello:
When the line is too short,let go of the trigger for two seconds, pull the trigger again, and the line will automatically extend and be trimmed to the proper length. (note: When it's time to refill the line,save some money and buy the yellow "twist" line: .065 in. dia.,instead of the pre-wound spools. It's far cheaper and much stronger! It's also 275 ft. long, compared to about 20ft.long! It'
Read More
Hello:
When the line is too short,let go of the trigger for two seconds, pull the trigger again, and the line will automatically extend and be trimmed to the proper length. (note: When it's time to refill the line,save some money and buy the yellow "twist" line: .065 in. dia.,instead of the pre-wound spools. It's far cheaper and much stronger! It's also 275 ft. long, compared to about 20ft.long! It' really simple to hand wind an empty spool.)
drayn Read Less
+17points
17out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful0

May 1, 2015
Answer: 
This has an automatic line dispensing system.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
 
12 answers

how much with battery and charger

This question is from ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
Asked by
tn.
Read all my Q&A
December 18, 2013
sale
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2015
Answer: 
The battery will cost about $40 more and the same for a charger.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Massachusetts
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2014
Answer: 
The typical price with battery and charger is about $100.00 and can be found on sale for around $90.00.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 3, 2014
Answer: 
Your question needs more info. How much for what?
-10points
0out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful10

Asked by
Maine
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
This model does not come with a battery or charger but you can upgrade to the next trimmer available for $99 and not only get a battery and charger but you get a slightly upgraded trimmer as well. Check out my video review below!
User submitted video
+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1

Asked by
Charlottesville VA
Read all my Q&A
May 21, 2014
Answer: 
I bought the Ryobi One Plus Supercharger with Lithium-Ion Compact Battery which cost 118.00 I have a lot of Ryobi tools so it was worth the price. A two pack Battery would cost a round 100.00
but well worth it they last a very long time.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 7, 2014
Answer: 
Sorry, I bought without batt and charger (already had ryobi tools). However, I believe total package with batt and charger is approx $100.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Oregon, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Batteries vary some due to type. Determine the type of battery you want/need. Nicads are ok but heavy and they steadily lose power. Lion batteries can cost more but recharge quick and dont lose power just sitting around. Lion provides power to near the end of use. Consider buying tools you need with batteries and charger included.
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2

Asked by
Oregon
Read all my Q&A
April 9, 2014
Answer: 
$99
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2014
Answer: 
I already had a Battery, but I have bought 1+ batteries and they are reasonable & reliable less than 100.00.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Didn't buy one with this b/c my dad already has 3 of them from other products. Sorry I can't help you with that. I think it was an extra $50 or so to get one with the battery and that.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3

Asked by
San Diego Ca
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 27, 2013
Answer: 
$119.00
Ryobi One+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Hybrid Cordless and Corded String Trimmer
Model # P2210
Internet # 203710648
Store SKU # 715305
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

December 19, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, we do not stock this item with the battery and charger. These items must be purchased separately and are listed under the "Accessories" section of the product page. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
 
11 answers

Does this trimmer use a common size string or is it unique to this trimmer?

This question is from ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
Asked by
KC
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
KENTUCKY
Read all my Q&A
September 15, 2016
Answer: 
nitwitnetworked ''Slightly slimmer .065 instead of .080. I have not tried the thicker version on this model.'' Yes you are right , but fyi , it comes with ''Round'' trimmer line. I was ready to take ours back until I ran across Craftsman Commercial Grade Patented 6 Bladed Shape .065 Trimmer Line and it made all the difference in the world..''Try it , You will like it'' Yes , I had to go to Sears to find Read More
nitwitnetworked ''Slightly slimmer .065 instead of .080. I have not tried the thicker version on this model.'' Yes you are right , but fyi , it comes with ''Round'' trimmer line. I was ready to take ours back until I ran across Craftsman Commercial Grade Patented 6 Bladed Shape .065 Trimmer Line and it made all the difference in the world..''Try it , You will like it'' Yes , I had to go to Sears to find a .065 line with some edges on it. That was 2 years ago and hopefully Home Depot carries some too by now , but at the time they only carried edged trim line in the larger diameters .
LuckyCB says...''DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE A LARGER LINE''''The (RPM's) Rotations Per Minute of the trimmer are not fast enough to cut the larger line, and you will experience line feeding issues with the larger line.''. LuckyCB...I will let you know how it works out in the long run...Every since I tried some ''Shakespeare UGLY LINE 0.08-in Trimmer Line '' My wife doesn't want to go back to the smaller 0.065 ! I can not notice any problem with the RPM'S . Maybe it is due to the triangler shape of the UGLY LINE. She says that what use to take her two passes , she can now do in only one. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Columbia, MO
Read all my Q&A
July 28, 2015
Answer: 
Uses .060 string, available everywhere. Spool is re-fillable.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Syracuse, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2015
Answer: 
This trimmer uses a common string that is readily available at Home Depot and other stores.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Worth, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 2, 2015
Answer: 
The 18-VOlt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger uses .065 string line. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE A LARGER LINE. The (RPM's) Rotations Per Minute of the trimmer are not fast enough to cut the larger line, and you will experience line feeding issues with the larger line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 29, 2015
Answer: 
The trim line is a standard size. You can find this in the specifications (0.065 line).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
N. Ridgeville, OH
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2015
Answer: 
It uses standard .065 trimmer line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2015
Answer: 
Slightly slimmer .065 instead of .080. I have not tried the thicker version on this model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Virginia
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2015
Answer: 
Common string
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Warfordsburg PA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2015
Answer: 
uses a standard .065 in, string size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
It uses .65 mm string only...I believe that is common to most trimmers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 12, 2015
Answer: 
This model uses .065-in single line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:48:51.230-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202556442, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 293ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 746.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ryobi trimmer I did not know that it was a string trimmer. Will look into finding 2 string spool. Have tree saw, drill, skill saw, impact, flashlight, and saws all. All use same battery and no ropes to pull or gas to keep.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer for small spaces Easy to put together, had it up and running in less than 5 minutes. Lightweight, easy to use for a short person with all of the adjustments! I have such a small amount of lawn I even use it to mow the grass.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 18V cordless string trimmer/edger works as well as any gas or electric trimmer/edger I have ever used. 18V battery lasts a reasonable length of time. Battery could be difficult for a person with very little strength to remove. I love this !
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't last--piece of junk Purchased 8/31/2015 to replace Ryobi trimmer that failed after four years of use; used newly purchased trimmer less than 10x; motor failed 5/4/16; 3-year warranty a joke due to shipping costs. Enough said.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done The trimmer gets the job done. When using the edging option, the shaft has a little flex in it making the effectiveness inconsistent. The battery life lasts a lot longer than my previous trimmer (B & D).
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well, but serious battery compartment problems The Ryobi string trimmer has a serious design/quality control problem regarding the battery compartment. The One Plus battery is very difficult to insert and remove from the compartment because of the extremely tight fit. My Ryobi leaf blower and Ryobi Impact drill both work fine with this battery, but the string trimmer is a serious problem. I returned this string trimmer 2 times to Home Depot with this identical problem, each time hoping the replacement would work. Unfortunately this was never the case except for the 3rd trimmer, which was somewhat easier to replace the battery. Nevertheless, my wife could still not replace the battery, because it still requires a significant of effort to remove and replace the battery. Home Depot each time replaced the defective unit no questions asked, giving me a whopping 10 & 15 percent discount for my inconvenience. Ryobi, on the other hand ignored my online feedback on the trimmer.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer. Lightweight and easy to handle. My first one of these lasted seven years of hard, grass and weed trimming. Well pleased with this model. Only downside is that the string does not always advance automatically.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Acceptable Replacement Assembly was very easy with very little time involved. This is a good replacement for my gas powered string trimmer that I can no longer handle due to a shoulder replacement.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from stringless weed trimmer the big problem is NO information about what string to use for replacement. Went back to store...no one knows anything about it...what do I use when it runs out ??????
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Trimmer! I highly recommend getting this, and be sure to get the larger battery pack, so that if you have to edge AND trim, you won't run out of juice!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trimmer by Ryobi Great item for the price. Already have many Ryobi tools and batteries. Battery more than ample to do my entire yard.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from small yard This is perfect for a smaller yard. There is no mixing or storing gas. Easy to use, just plug in a battery and go.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My review It runs for a long time on a charge, but it's too short and the string doesn't feed as well as I would like.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Battery lasts long enough to plow down a large garden patch of weeds and more. String lasts as well...
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just enough power none to spare. Easy to use. Convenient ready to go when needed. Refill expensive
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect addition Nice trimmer for the money. There no cons to this purchase.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far I've only used it once but it performed just fine.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too bad This is actually a really good trimmer. Got it in a combo pack and have good run time. I have a corner lot with a sidewalk and 30ft driveway (re: a lot of edging), and the larger 2.6mAh battery will typically handle it and trimming around the house/trees/mailbox before needing a fresh battery. It bogs down a bit on large clumps of broad leaf grasses (e.g. monkey grass), and isn't great for brush though it will take down 1/8" tree/bush saplings, but it's a trimmer not a brush cutter. Otherwise, this thing is great for knocking down stuff growing against the fence line, house, etc. It's pretty light and easy to handle. I was also happily surprised with the edging ability given the single cutting string and size (.065). The previous owners of my house hadn't edged in years, so the yard (and dirt) grew over the curb. It took a while, but it was able to cut the roots and knock the dirt off the curb - something my dedicated gas edger couldn't and wasn't meant to do. For all people who say it's bad at edging, you probably need to have a professional service use metal bladed edger to properly edge the yard in the spring, then this trimmer to keep it fresh. Only con is the auto-feed system. It works, but every time you let the motor wind down it will feed line, so I end up having to keep the trimmer running between areas of the yard in order to not waste string. It's also a bit annoying to have to basically stop the motor when you're "in the groove" to get fresh string, especially when you need to do it two-three times because it broke close to the spool. Overall, it's a really good trimmer for the average homeowner.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great string trimmer for the price A very good string trimmer. Does a good job on smaller trimming projects but not as well on large yards since it runs through the battery in about 15 minutes. Light weight and portability of this cordless trimmer are great features since you don't have to drag around extension cord for electric trimmer or mess with adding gas and starting up gasoline model. Just put in a fresh battery, pull the trigger and start trimming. Cuts very well except for heavier growth which takes a little more effort with the smaller trim line and tends to run down the battery. Keep a fully charged spare battery available and you can finish most trimming projects.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from She loves it ! I bought this to replace my wife's gas and electric trimmers since they are to heavy for her . We bought this without a battery and charger since we already had one from her hedge trimmer . I would recommend buying one with a battery .
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi for the Win My oldest son gave me a Ryobi nail gun, and I bought the charger and several batteries - which meant of course that I just had to acquire more uses for the batteries. (BTB, I LOVE the nail gun - I'm wandering around looking for trim projects.) The string trimmer replaces my electric cord using weed whacker. On my 1/2 acre with just little bits to trim here and there, lugging that 100 ft cord around, making certain I didn't whack it, and then having to roll it up and store it, was getting to be more of a chore than it should have been. The Ryobi makes edging and bits of trimming along our pathways FUN. I keep the charger on a shelf attached to my clothes dryer - very handy. I'm looking forward to MORE Ryobi tools. One of the really neat features is the extendable pole - I'm 5'-10" and most gardening tools make me bend. This is adjustable for my height. Wonderful!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Love the Trimmer I purchased this trimmer mainly for me - the woman of the house - because I didn't want to wrestle with the gas-powered trimmer. Due to the season, I've only used it a couple of times but so far, just love it. The battery fits very snugly (when we first tried the battery we thought it didn't fit because it is so snug, but it is just the design/newness). There's lots of power, the "goodies" like the swing-down trimmer guard with the rotating shaft and the automatic string feed work great. I have no doubt that it will keep performing up to my standards for as long as I need it!
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor batterys Lasted one season, now charger says defective battery. I looked on Amazon for another batteryb it after reading the negative reviews on such poor battery life I decided to email the company, and surprise surprise they don't stand behind there batteries. What a waste of my money
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it is I bought this trimmer for my 1/4 acre suburban yard after years of using gas trimmers. I was tired of dealing with the hassles of oil/gas mixtures and trying to maintain a good running engine, but I didn't want to deal with extension cords either. Since I already have One+ batteries, this was a logical choice. I opted for this model and not the hybrid since I have plenty of batteries already and don't want to bother with extension cords at all. That saved me ten bucks. The power is adequate for maintenance trimming, but if things get overgrown, it is short on power to tackle tall stuff with any speed. I will usually need two batteries to finish the whole yard, including edging. The flip around feature for edging is nice, but again; if things are overgrown, this thing struggles. Overall, I'm satisfied with the product. It works well and was what I expected. It's not as powerful as gas, but not as much of a hassle either. The auto-feed works well, too. I'm guessing the people who had problems with it didn't read the manual to know how it works.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool just what i needed for my yard! First of all, if your yard is a mess with 5-7 foot tall weeds and grass, knock it down first with something more powerful. After that this trimmer does a great job at maintaining it. After my first charge the battery lasted an hour or so. I don't get why people are complaining about the string advance, I love it compared to the B&D feeder which decides on it's own when to spit out string. I usually just leave my finger on the trigger most of the time and waste no string at all. When the string whining gets too high, I just stop and start a couple times to get the string out and resume my work. It's very lightweight. I could see how the safety switch would bother some, but for me it's not much of a problem since I hold my finger on the trigger most of the time. All in all a nice trimmer, in which I got the added bonus of the lightweight blower which will be perfect for blowing leaves out of the gutter.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "This product is everything I expected and more The performance is very good and the battery lasts for my large front yard and my second battery takes care of my back yard. The automatic line feed works just fine. The light weight is much easier on my arms.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ideal for the small lawn. I purchased this trimmer, because I already possessed the Ryobi Lithium +One hedge trimmer and the Ryobi Lithium + One chain saw. Both of these before mentioned products have exceeded my expectations and I expected nothing less from this one as well. Without the battery and charger it was a very reasonably priced product. In use, it cut soft weeds up to 3/8" and gave sufficient run-time to trim my entire lawn, before the battery ran down. The nature of these Ryobi battery packs is that they just stop with no warning as they use up the charge, so it might be good to have an additional "charged" battery pack ready Being a tallish person, I enjoy the adjustability features, being able to extend the handle to avoid bending over to use.. I can lay the handle flat to get under my stairs and turn the shaft to edge my lawn as well. Changing the string can be a little challenging, as it requires cutting a piece of line approximately 9' long and then wrapping it around the spool. The centrifugal line-feed is a nice feature, however.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from battery sucks I paid about $50 for the trimmer including the Lithium 18 V battery. Battery lasted 1 season (actually drained in the battery charger over the winter). A new battery is $80. seriously?!@? gotta go back and buy a new trimmer from home depot...it definitely will NOT be a Ryobi product!!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive reliability As with all my one plus tools it has proven to be great value for the money. Light weight and easy to use for light to moderate trimming jobs.Home cordless power tools have come a long way and ryobi is a great example of an affordable and versatile range of tools that are actually capable of handling small and large jobs while allowing average homeowners to achieve professional results.  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handy for moderate jobs. Very handy machine. I can trim my entire lawn edge (not a very large lawn) on one battery. Auto line feed works well, but looks pretty light duty when taken apart. Handle is adjustable for both length and rotation, but is not very secure feeling. Time will tell. Battery is difficult to snap out to replace, not smooth in action like my drill. Some adjustment to contacts may fix. Handles and balance are very pleasant.
Date published: 2016-07-13
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_746
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT