Model # P2052

Internet #202556442

Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
0046396490636

Ryobi

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included

  • Over 70 ONE+ tools – all work with any RYOBI ONE+ 18V battery
  • Adjustable shaft and pivoting head: find your ideal cutting angle
  • Battery and Charger Not Included
$4997 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This string trimmer has a 12 in. cutting swath and a telescoping, rotating shaft and is versatile and lightweight. You can set the trimmer's height and flip it over to convert to an edger. It works with any Ryobi ONE+ batteries you already own, ni-cad or lithium-ion (battery not included).

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries
  • Adjustable 10-12 in. cutting width for longer run time
  • Adjustable length for user comfort
  • Rotating shaft for comfortable edging
  • Auto-feed string head with 0.065 in. single line
  • 6.65 lbs.
  • Battery and charger not included

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

New line dispensing or manual?

hi, does the string comes out automatically or each time it breaks i have to open the cover and pull it out manually? my old trimmer breaks the like every 5 minutes and i spend more time fixing it than wacking the grass... i saw the trimmers which dispense a piece of new line by pressing a button.
Asked by: alina
The auto feed seems stupid to me .... each time you start it autofeeds, whether you need it or not. I'm looking for another version without this "feature".
Answered by: Coach
Date published: 2017-05-13

Does this come with a string cartredge?

I was wondering if I will also need to be string for this right away or if it will come with some to get started?
Asked by: Brandon
It comes with trimmer line
Answered by: WayUpNorth
Date published: 2016-01-14

Does this trimmer use a common size string or is it unique to this trimmer?

Asked by: BigAl
I have used both 0.065 and 0.080 line for several years in three of these trimmers. Both work, but if you use 0.065 line, buy it online and look for the commercial line, otherwise you use up a spool in ten minutes or less. The 0.080 line definitely outlasts the 0.065 line. I also replace the auto feeding spring on this model with a spring from a ball point pen. It disables the auto feed which was wasting a lot of line on my first unit.
Answered by: Scooter
Date published: 2017-06-16

how much with battery and charger

sale
Asked by: beaneye
The battery will cost about $40 more and the same for a charger.
Answered by: nitwitnetworked
Date published: 2016-08-07
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_10CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 837.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little weed eater.... Great little weed eater.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!... Love it!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There are pros and cons. Pros: I like the cordless convenience a lot. Less noise than my gas tr... There are pros and cons. Pros: I like the cordless convenience a lot. Less noise than my gas trimmer. My gas trimmer covers my legs in grass debris, but this cordless one does not because it's less aggressive, but still gets the job done. I like the feature to spin the head around for sidewalk edging. The automatic feed is pretty cool and is actually working for me - although the line doesn't advance for me when I spin the head around for sidewalk edging, so I have to manually advance the line using the button on the spool. Cons: Maybe it's just mine, but the battery clips in too tightly and is hard to remove. The line breaks off pretty easy when it hits cement. The weighting and balancing of the unit makes my forearms hurt while using it. I've used many trimmers over the years and never had this problem. I wish there was a trigger lock - that may relieve some of the forearm pain. I'm really unimpressed with the battery life. I only have a quarter acre lot and go through two fully charged batteries and still can't finished. There must be something wrong with my batteries because other reviews don't seem to have my same problem. The batteries are from my 18V drills that I only bought 5 months ago and haven't used much. Overall, you can't beat the convenience of going cordless.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 18 Volt Cordless String Trimmer. This is a light easy to use string trimmer. I love the fact that there is no noise whaling out of it like a gas trimmer or chainsaw sound. It will trim grass not heavy weeds or anything tough. It is not an edger. It is a good lightweight string trimmer. its great for trimming where you can't get with the mower. My yard is just over 1 acre and 1/4 and it takes me just one battery to get everything done. my favorite feature is the low noise.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tons better than my old gas powered unit I purchased this unit to replace a leaky, messy, heavy, and unreliable gas powered unit. It leaked fluids everywhere, was a pain to start, and was not balanced very well. The new battery operated unit is lighter, easier to use, is not messy or leaky, and uses the same battery as my other battery operated tools. I could not be happier with it. I was a little worried about the small diameter trimming string but it does the job well for my small urban yard. If I had a bigger yard I would probably recommend a heavier duty trimmer.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice little trimmer in the Ryobi product family This trimmer has three different tilt angles to make it easy to cut cleanly along pavement. It is battery-operated and I can nearly always trim the front and back yards on one full battery (lot size is a little over 7000 sqft). It has constant steady power the whole time I use it and instead of the power drooping as the battery drains, it will just shut off when it gets too low. Battery goes from empty to full in about 2 hours. It is lightweight and has a no-bump line feed. It's a great little trimmer and I hope it lasts a long time. (I already owned 2 of the Ryobi ONE Plus batteries.)
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choice After moving to a new home with a much larger yard, I decided to replace my 40 year old corded trimmer. My only decision was gas or battery operated and, because I already have an arsonal of Ryobi one plus tools that have performed admirably, the choice was easy. The trimmer was easy to assemble and adjusts quickly for operator height. It is light and well balanced making it very comfortable for the 45 min I need to use it. Once I made sure it was working and feeding line correctly, I replaced the included .065 line with twisted .080. It still feeds line just fine but now lasts much longer and is able to take down light brush and vines easily.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent trimmer I got this when my Husquivarna decided it didn't want to work anymore. This little Ryobi works great! It doesn't have quite as much ability to tackle little trees and thick grass but it will do the latter if you just do it gradually. When working steadily a little battery lasts about 20 minutes. I may get a couple big ones but this isn't bad. I use 2 to 3 to do our yard if I edge everything. Line advance works well. No complaints. I see no need for a gas trimmer.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Precision, Ease, and NO GAS If you're old, have hand problems (I qualify for both), or are just sick of mixing gas and oil, this trimmer is the answer. The light weight, lack of vibration, self advancing line, wire trim guide...they make edging and trimming a breeze. The batteries are quick charging and long lasting. I have around 5000 sq ft of lawn with sidewalks, a driveway, and a large patio, and 1 large battery does it all with power to spare. I'm probably approaching the age and physical limitations where I'll have to hire someone for my lawnwork, but until I do I'll be using Ryobi cordless lawn tools. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another in a growing list of..... Another in a growing list of Ryobi tools!!! It really is as good as some would believe!! Not tugging a rope to start a gas engine....not pulling a 100 foot cord around our 3/4 acre yard REALLY GOT TIRESOME!!! After watching a guy helping do yard work at our church with his "battery toy", I knew then it was my time to enter the next millennium and make my life easier. The only thing I need now a big glass of sweet tea! :)
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last for whole yard. Read some of the reviews and was impressed with what I had read so I bought one. First thing it is EASY to put together no screws or any tools needed. Second and this was a problem was the lower handle it was loose when installed. I used a piece of rubber behind the clamp and that solved the problem but it was a little frustrating to have the handle slip up and down the shaft while using it the first time. The one I bought did not come with batteries because I have a full set of Ryobi tools. This lasted on a full charge for the whole yard with plenty of charge left to do it half over again. The auto feed is the first one I have used that actually worked! That was a big plus because it was one thing I was leery of. Over all a great price and great tool. It is NOT a professional tool but it will do for the average home owner and last for years.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This purchase was a GREAT idea!! TESTED TOUGH IN ALASKA !!! This Ryobi Weed Trimmer is perfect for the many lawns I use it on. The fact that the 18V battery fits my drills, flashlight, saw, and now my Weed Trimmer is a bonus. I cant wait to receive my 18V Leaf Blower!!!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product value but... I bought this to replace a previously owned Ryobi trimmer (same model). I like the product but the adjustable "ring" handle needs to swivel 360 like The old one. The way I hold the trimmer for edging, the "ring" handle function is limited. It actually works against me and makes holding the trimmer very uncomfortable while edging.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Basic Edger Great edger for basic trimming and holding back ivy that's trying to take over my bushes. It does the job all in one charge. Make sure you have a full charge before doing an entire yard. It is a little difficult getting the battery in and out, and the other reviewers are correct about of holding down the trigger and safety lock--it's annoying and makes your fingers tired. Overall, the edger is pretty easy to use after playing with the handle levels and different placements for edging or trimming. The edger is also a pretty compact for storage. At 5lbs, the edgers is also light enough for the ladies.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good string trimmer. Me being an old geezer of 78 years, I have had several battery powered pieces of yard equipment that all ended up in a dumpster after a use or 2. This one is different. I purchased it because I needed something light and easy to use. I can no longer always get a gasoline trimmer to start and it's difficult to drag a long heavy power cord around. I had obtained a battery powered Pole Saw (Roybi) several months ago and it is awesome. I also purchased a 3/8" drill using the same batterys. It was also very good. This string trimmer uses the same batterys and I can swap them around when needed. This unit is light weight and has good cutting ability... not quit as much as a gasoline powered one but enough to do all the trimming around our home.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Be As Good As The One You Are Replaceing This is a replacement of one that lasted 5 or 6 years with moderate use. Never had a complain with the old one and looking for to the same with the new one?
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value for the money I waited a year to buy this and finally took the plunge after moving to a new house which has more trimming needs in the yard. This is a good basic trimmer. The power output is okay but don't expect anything amazing here. If you already have the 18-volt batteries then it's a great addition to your Ryobi collection. I'd much prefer a more powerful unit but it "does the job" so I can't complain. At first I thought I had to buy Ryobi line already spooled, but that's not the case. You can refill with a bulk line spool from any manufacturer.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ryobi one 18volt cordless string trimmer/edger Great product to have. I will recommend this item to anyone.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Works great. Lightweight. Easy to assemble and use.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second time is a charm? Purchased this trimmer to replace the previous one purchased 4 years ago. I put it through some hard usage for those 4 years and had few complaints until one day the motor seized completely up. The original one worked well with one major complaint In that it wouldn't advance the string when twisted into edging mode. The new one seems to be working fine in both modes. Hoping this one lasts a good four years too! Love the fact that the batteries from one fit all the other products as well. Only down side is that the batteries can be difficult to remove for someone without hand strength or arthritis.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi cordless weed eater Very easy to put together and light weight. Self feed work well, all you have to do is hold a small button on the bottom and pull the line out as YOU NEED IT, that way there is no waste of line. Battery charges in it's charger which is sold seperatly and comes to a full charge in about 15 minutes. Wow what a wonderful product , I can do my whole lawn in about 30 minutes with only 1 recharge. Tapping the trigger makes it exptional for hard to reach spots and very easy on small flower beds. again can't go wrong with this product. Even my Wife can use it very well. We are both in our retirement ages. Way to go Homedepot!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - I already had 2 batteries so opted for the less expensive, no battery included trimmer. Minor assembly required, was easily and quickly completed. I haven't completely discharged a battery yet going around my 9000 sq ft lot. (my batteries are 1 year old) The trim line seems to be holding up ok, trimming around the cement foundation, good size asphalt parking area, and fence lining the back yard. Light and easy to handle, used it 4 times since purchase and have no complaints. I don't have heavy brush and I'm not sure this trimmer is intended for that purpose, same for the edging, but it suits my needs. It's a good quality general purpose trimmer/ edger, and a great value for the money.
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Deal!! I bought this string trimmer to replace my old gas trimmer that had finally bit the dust. I don't have a big yard any more so I no longer needed the gas model to " weed whack" for only ten minutes each time. Since I already have a slew of Ryobi one+ power tools and two batteries, I decided to buy this model w/o the battery and charger. I have never been disappointed or let down with my Ryobi tools so I expected nothing less with this trimmer. Well, no disappointments here! Having used the gas trimmer for so long I expected to be covered in grass trimmings from head to toe. Not so with the Ryobi. It easily and precisely trimmed the whole yard in the same amount of time without sending all the trimmings onto my legs and into my wife's flower beds. (Happy wife, happy life.) The ease at which the Ryobi trimmer adjusts for balance and height makes using the tool much more pleasurable. I haven't tried the edger feature yet so I won't comment here about it. The trimmer is light weight and easy to use with the automatic line feed. No more bumping. I can see where it could get a bit costly if you were to buy the pre-wound spools but I have always re-wound my own spools with bulk string which can be purchased right there at Home Depot. All in all I can say that the Ryobi String trimmer is a well built, sturdy tool that will stand the test of time.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for small yards I live in a townhouse and have a very small yard to cut. Just a few things to trim around. Price was failry good, since it didn't come with battery/charger, but I have plenty of them from other purchases. Assembly was easy. Use is easy. The cons are that there is only one trimmer line that comes out of the head. Therefore it doesn't trim very well. The line is very flimsy so that contributes to its lack of cutting ability. I wish I had bought the better model with two lines. It is barely adequate for my purposes, I suppose.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Repeat buyer I had my last one for 3 years. It seen lots of use not only weed eating but edging as well. My only complaint is the metal fold-down guide should have been designed to use a replacible plastic protector to keep the guide from being "sanded" down from continual use on the concrete. But otherwise still a great value for the cost. Just as a heads up. The reason for the replacement is that the motor almost burned up. Cheaper to buy a new one than to fix it.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong, durable. I do recommand this product I step in ONE+ line, the trimmer was the logical link. I previously used trimmer from different brand. So I call my self as mildly experienced coddles trimmer user. The power and endurance with 5Ah battery is outstanding. Auto feeding function seems to be problem for many users, as I can see in reviews. I was also a bit curious. But it take just a minutes of use it, now I see it as positive feature. Only concern was related to manufactured quality standards. The sliding/tilting handle could not be tighten and secured in position. The actual handle was too vide in place, where it does fit to clamp. It take me a tenths of minutes to work the spline down with my scalpel. But this was still easier solution, compare to handle back procedure, as I got mine over the net. I like this ONE+ idea a lot. I can scrap the wide array of chargers I kept until now.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works Pros: Inexpensive, but works well. Fairly light even with NiCd installed. Don't have to bump. NiCd lasts a long time. Shares batteries with power tools. Cons: No bump necessary; the string advances every time the motor starts. I don't know how long the spool will last. Doesn't come with a strap.
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer for the money! Trimmer works well. I was happy to be able to order without the battery and charger as I have several chargers and batteries already. The trimmer was easy to assemble and even easier to use. In typical fashion I did not read the instructions until after I put it together! It is also much lighter than my old gasoline powered trimmer. I am able to complete the trimming and edging with one battery.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More than I expected I wasn't expecting much based on the critical reviews and battery operation but my mom happened to buy one and really likes it so I got one too. It made short work of grass, weeds and plants growing where the mower couldn't reach. Also edged the lawn that hasn't been done in years. Plenty of power and battery. I have a couple of these batteries from my impact drivers. String feed seems fine though I wasn't trying to consume string by waving against rocks to much.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like my trimmer I bought my first Ryobi trimmer 2 years ago and then one day it didn't work; I thought it was the trimmer itself and figured oh well, I didn't pay much for it so it probably doesn't work for long, so I bought a new one without the battery charger. But this new trimmer didn't work with the old "charged" battery, so I decided I had to buy a new charger and battery - and turns out it was the battery that was no good, not the original trimmer! Now I own two of these trimmers, but I'm not sorry, the price is low and the trimmer is easy to use and very lightweight. It will handle thick weeds and grass; it's not as powerful as a gas-powered trimmer but it's also safer and it doesn't tend to throw clippings 20 feet away either. As I am older having it run for only 30-45 minutes or so is fine; and I can take a rest or do something else while it's charging. The new charger only takes a half hour and I'm ready to weed-eat some more!!
Date published: 2016-08-02
  • y_2017, m_6, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_837
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 262ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT