Model # P2052

Internet #202556442

Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included
0046396490636

Ryobi

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included

  • Over 70 ONE+ tools – all work with any RYOBI ONE+ 18V battery
  • Adjustable shaft and pivoting head: find your ideal cutting angle
  • Battery and Charger Not Included
$49.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This string trimmer has a 12 in. cutting swath and a telescoping, rotating shaft and is versatile and lightweight. You can set the trimmer's height and flip it over to convert to an edger. It works with any Ryobi ONE+ batteries you already own, ni-cad or lithium-ion (battery not included).

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools and batteries
  • Adjustable 10-12 in. cutting width for longer run time
  • Adjustable length for user comfort
  • Rotating shaft for comfortable edging
  • Auto-feed string head with 0.065 in. single line
  • 6.65 lbs.
  • Battery and charger not included

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

New line dispensing or manual?

hi, does the string comes out automatically or each time it breaks i have to open the cover and pull it out manually? my old trimmer breaks the like every 5 minutes and i spend more time fixing it than wacking the grass... i saw the trimmers which dispense a piece of new line by pressing a button.
Asked by: alina
The auto feed seems stupid to me .... each time you start it autofeeds, whether you need it or not. I'm looking for another version without this "feature".
Answered by: Coach
Date published: 2017-04-14

Does this come with a string cartredge?

I was wondering if I will also need to be string for this right away or if it will come with some to get started?
Asked by: Brandon
It comes with trimmer line
Answered by: WayUpNorth
Date published: 2016-01-14

how much with battery and charger

sale
Asked by: beaneye
The battery will cost about $40 more and the same for a charger.
Answered by: nitwitnetworked
Date published: 2016-08-07

Does this trimmer use a common size string or is it unique to this trimmer?

Asked by: BigAl
nitwitnetworked ''Slightly slimmer .065 instead of .080. I have not tried the thicker version on this model.'' Yes you are right , but fyi , it comes with ''Round'' trimmer line. I was ready to take ours back until I ran across Craftsman Commercial Grade Patented 6 Bladed Shape .065 Trimmer Line and it made all the difference in the world..''Try it , You will like it'' Yes , I had to go to Sears to find a .065 line with some edges on it. That was 2 years ago and hopefully Home Depot carries some too by now , but at the time they only carried edged trim line in the larger diameters . LuckyCB says...''DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE A LARGER LINE''''The (RPM's) Rotations Per Minute of the trimmer are not fast enough to cut the larger line, and you will experience line feeding issues with the larger line.''. LuckyCB...I will let you know how it works out in the long run...Every since I tried some ''Shakespeare UGLY LINE 0.08-in Trimmer Line '' My wife doesn't want to go back to the smaller 0.065 ! I can not notice any problem with the RPM'S . Maybe it is due to the triangler shape of the UGLY LINE. She says that what use to take her two passes , she can now do in only one.
Answered by: BOZ
Date published: 2017-02-12
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_29
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

ONE+ 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - Battery and Charger Not Included is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 762.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just enough power none to spare. Easy to use. Convenient ready to go when needed. Refill expensive
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money, great value Easy to use and assemble. Really like the self feed feature
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cordless Trimmer Works great. Easy to use. Easy to set up. Great purchase.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works very well, battery lifegood easy to handle and use, light weight, long battery life.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Flip-down metal guide has changed! Ryobi has change this trimmer from the one I bought three years ago. My 3-year old trimmer still works, and works well -- with the exception that the plastic "collar" of the two holes which hold the flip-down guide finally cracked and broke off after years of use. So the metal guide is now extending out too far, such that the trim line slaps against it. (I had successfully used the flip-down guide on my old trimmer to very accurately trim my sidewalks and driveway with a near perfect line.) So I thought, "Well, I'll just buy a new trimmer. I'll use the old one for horizontal trimming (around the house foundations, fences, etc.), and use the new one with the flip-down guide solely to make clean lines beside paved surfaces." WRONG !!! The flip-down guide of the new trimmer is positioned such that, when extended, it cuts grass about three inches from the sidewalk/driveway. Are you kidding me? There's enough width cut that I could lay down a line of paver bricks end-to-end. I read one review where the user manually bent the guide so that the trimmer would not cut so far from paved surfaces. Well, good for him. But I won't do that, nor should I have to. This new trimmer is going back to Home Depot. BTW, it's not Home Depot's fault. Ryobi should have done due diligence with their R&D.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too bad This is actually a really good trimmer. Got it in a combo pack and have good run time. I have a corner lot with a sidewalk and 30ft driveway (re: a lot of edging), and the larger 2.6mAh battery will typically handle it and trimming around the house/trees/mailbox before needing a fresh battery. It bogs down a bit on large clumps of broad leaf grasses (e.g. monkey grass), and isn't great for brush though it will take down 1/8" tree/bush saplings, but it's a trimmer not a brush cutter. Otherwise, this thing is great for knocking down stuff growing against the fence line, house, etc. It's pretty light and easy to handle. I was also happily surprised with the edging ability given the single cutting string and size (.065). The previous owners of my house hadn't edged in years, so the yard (and dirt) grew over the curb. It took a while, but it was able to cut the roots and knock the dirt off the curb - something my dedicated gas edger couldn't and wasn't meant to do. For all people who say it's bad at edging, you probably need to have a professional service use metal bladed edger to properly edge the yard in the spring, then this trimmer to keep it fresh. Only con is the auto-feed system. It works, but every time you let the motor wind down it will feed line, so I end up having to keep the trimmer running between areas of the yard in order to not waste string. It's also a bit annoying to have to basically stop the motor when you're "in the groove" to get fresh string, especially when you need to do it two-three times because it broke close to the spool. Overall, it's a really good trimmer for the average homeowner.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from She loves it ! I bought this to replace my wife's gas and electric trimmers since they are to heavy for her . We bought this without a battery and charger since we already had one from her hedge trimmer . I would recommend buying one with a battery .
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well, but serious battery compartment problems The Ryobi string trimmer has a serious design/quality control problem regarding the battery compartment. The One Plus battery is very difficult to insert and remove from the compartment because of the extremely tight fit. My Ryobi leaf blower and Ryobi Impact drill both work fine with this battery, but the string trimmer is a serious problem. I returned this string trimmer 2 times to Home Depot with this identical problem, each time hoping the replacement would work. Unfortunately this was never the case except for the 3rd trimmer, which was somewhat easier to replace the battery. Nevertheless, my wife could still not replace the battery, because it still requires a significant of effort to remove and replace the battery. Home Depot each time replaced the defective unit no questions asked, giving me a whopping 10 & 15 percent discount for my inconvenience. Ryobi, on the other hand ignored my online feedback on the trimmer.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi for the Win My oldest son gave me a Ryobi nail gun, and I bought the charger and several batteries - which meant of course that I just had to acquire more uses for the batteries. (BTB, I LOVE the nail gun - I'm wandering around looking for trim projects.) The string trimmer replaces my electric cord using weed whacker. On my 1/2 acre with just little bits to trim here and there, lugging that 100 ft cord around, making certain I didn't whack it, and then having to roll it up and store it, was getting to be more of a chore than it should have been. The Ryobi makes edging and bits of trimming along our pathways FUN. I keep the charger on a shelf attached to my clothes dryer - very handy. I'm looking forward to MORE Ryobi tools. One of the really neat features is the extendable pole - I'm 5'-10" and most gardening tools make me bend. This is adjustable for my height. Wonderful!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Love the Trimmer I purchased this trimmer mainly for me - the woman of the house - because I didn't want to wrestle with the gas-powered trimmer. Due to the season, I've only used it a couple of times but so far, just love it. The battery fits very snugly (when we first tried the battery we thought it didn't fit because it is so snug, but it is just the design/newness). There's lots of power, the "goodies" like the swing-down trimmer guard with the rotating shaft and the automatic string feed work great. I have no doubt that it will keep performing up to my standards for as long as I need it!
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor batterys Lasted one season, now charger says defective battery. I looked on Amazon for another batteryb it after reading the negative reviews on such poor battery life I decided to email the company, and surprise surprise they don't stand behind there batteries. What a waste of my money
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it is I bought this trimmer for my 1/4 acre suburban yard after years of using gas trimmers. I was tired of dealing with the hassles of oil/gas mixtures and trying to maintain a good running engine, but I didn't want to deal with extension cords either. Since I already have One+ batteries, this was a logical choice. I opted for this model and not the hybrid since I have plenty of batteries already and don't want to bother with extension cords at all. That saved me ten bucks. The power is adequate for maintenance trimming, but if things get overgrown, it is short on power to tackle tall stuff with any speed. I will usually need two batteries to finish the whole yard, including edging. The flip around feature for edging is nice, but again; if things are overgrown, this thing struggles. Overall, I'm satisfied with the product. It works well and was what I expected. It's not as powerful as gas, but not as much of a hassle either. The auto-feed works well, too. I'm guessing the people who had problems with it didn't read the manual to know how it works.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool just what i needed for my yard! First of all, if your yard is a mess with 5-7 foot tall weeds and grass, knock it down first with something more powerful. After that this trimmer does a great job at maintaining it. After my first charge the battery lasted an hour or so. I don't get why people are complaining about the string advance, I love it compared to the B&D feeder which decides on it's own when to spit out string. I usually just leave my finger on the trigger most of the time and waste no string at all. When the string whining gets too high, I just stop and start a couple times to get the string out and resume my work. It's very lightweight. I could see how the safety switch would bother some, but for me it's not much of a problem since I hold my finger on the trigger most of the time. All in all a nice trimmer, in which I got the added bonus of the lightweight blower which will be perfect for blowing leaves out of the gutter.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product just got to get used to not bumping the head to advance the line Takes a while to not to bump the head to advance trimmer line
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "This product is everything I expected and more The performance is very good and the battery lasts for my large front yard and my second battery takes care of my back yard. The automatic line feed works just fine. The light weight is much easier on my arms.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ideal for the small lawn. I purchased this trimmer, because I already possessed the Ryobi Lithium +One hedge trimmer and the Ryobi Lithium + One chain saw. Both of these before mentioned products have exceeded my expectations and I expected nothing less from this one as well. Without the battery and charger it was a very reasonably priced product. In use, it cut soft weeds up to 3/8" and gave sufficient run-time to trim my entire lawn, before the battery ran down. The nature of these Ryobi battery packs is that they just stop with no warning as they use up the charge, so it might be good to have an additional "charged" battery pack ready Being a tallish person, I enjoy the adjustability features, being able to extend the handle to avoid bending over to use.. I can lay the handle flat to get under my stairs and turn the shaft to edge my lawn as well. Changing the string can be a little challenging, as it requires cutting a piece of line approximately 9' long and then wrapping it around the spool. The centrifugal line-feed is a nice feature, however.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from battery sucks I paid about $50 for the trimmer including the Lithium 18 V battery. Battery lasted 1 season (actually drained in the battery charger over the winter). A new battery is $80. seriously?!@? gotta go back and buy a new trimmer from home depot...it definitely will NOT be a Ryobi product!!!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great string trimmer for the price A very good string trimmer. Does a good job on smaller trimming projects but not as well on large yards since it runs through the battery in about 15 minutes. Light weight and portability of this cordless trimmer are great features since you don't have to drag around extension cord for electric trimmer or mess with adding gas and starting up gasoline model. Just put in a fresh battery, pull the trigger and start trimming. Cuts very well except for heavier growth which takes a little more effort with the smaller trim line and tends to run down the battery. Keep a fully charged spare battery available and you can finish most trimming projects.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for? I loathe yard work but had to fire yard maintenance crew, so now I'm stuck doing the work when everything is growing and flourishing in this Pacific NW summer (loads of rain and sun). I don't know much about doing yard work, but I don't think a trimmer/edger should stop every 3 - 4 seconds like this one does. I want to return it for a better product, but partner in yard crime thinks it's fine to stop every few seconds.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handy for moderate jobs. Very handy machine. I can trim my entire lawn edge (not a very large lawn) on one battery. Auto line feed works well, but looks pretty light duty when taken apart. Handle is adjustable for both length and rotation, but is not very secure feeling. Time will tell. Battery is difficult to snap out to replace, not smooth in action like my drill. Some adjustment to contacts may fix. Handles and balance are very pleasant.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from String Cartrage issue I have been using this tool for over a year now and it works great. A recent issue that that just appeared is I believe that they have redesigned the string cartridge. I bought a new 3 pack cartage. My old string cartridge ran out. I replaced it with the new cartridge. I was doing some edging with the tool. I went to a whole cartridge of string in one edging. I noticed that it seemed that the string was feeding out on its own. After investigating. I noticed that the new cartridge only has about 1/2 the teeth on it as the old one did. I decided to take the string off of the new cartridge and wind it onto the old cartridge and it works fine again. Hopefully the old cartridge does not break. I will be looking for replacement cartridges with the proper feed teeth on the bottom of it and buy them and hold onto them. Then I will buy line to feed onto them. Other than this new issue I love the tool.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and easy to use The battery seems to last long. For a standard size lot the battery last for quite a while. Only having to start and stop the trimmer to advance the string is much easier than the units that must be bounced. We have had those. Biggest benefit is no cord or gas. Very tall weeds slow the trimmer down. But, it gets through them. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi One + 18 volt cordless trimmer This is the best trimmer ever!! I owned a corded trimmer for years and never realized just how inconvenient it was until now. With this cordless Ryobi I don't mind getting out there and completing the yard!! I love how I can do both yards with 1 battery charge. Awesome!!
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It Works It is light weight and easy to use. You can adjust the height which is good for my 9 yr old to use. Only reason I gave it a 3 is I'm not sure how well this is built. The battery is very difficult to get back out when you need to recharge. I have multiple Ryobi cordless tools. None of them are difficult to get the battery out...except this trimmer
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good for light work Ive used the trimmer for over a year now and the trimmer has worked well. The automatic string release works perfect. Using the pre stringed replacement pools is easy and simple. They are a bit expensive but simple to replace. Ive also bought my own string and respooled them myself. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice trimmer for light jobs The trimmer works very well on light trimming jobs. It is easy to assemble. It is light and easy to handle. My only complaint is the automatic line feed every time the trigger is pulled. It wastes string. I find I just keep the trigger pulled when walking to different patches to trim. Hence the average rating on features.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not real happy The trimmer works OK. Not a lot of power but enough. The problem comes when I flip the head to use it as an edger. The line cuts about 2 inches into the grass (away from the sidewalk). And the line will not feed when I used it as an edger. My old trimmer worked great both ways. I had to buy an edger.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from does a good job, but... I wish it didn't auto-feed the line 1/4th inch every time you stop and start the trimmer. much prefer the tap-to-advance. Since it's electric, and the places where I need to trim aren't all right next to each other, I tend to let off the trigger and save battery as I'm walking around the yard. I'm wasting line and leaving 1/4" bits of string lying around the yard every time I do this though. I'm going to jam a piece of plastic into the spring-load mechanism that auto-feeds the line to prevent this and see if it really necessary.
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont buy it This product is light weight good concept. however it is also a defective product. I had only owned this for about a month when I started having problems with this. The string will wrap around the barrel and you have to cut it off checked for loose parts non.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer for most households. This is my second Ryobi trimmer. The first one lasted four years then died but it was a refurbished unit to be fair. So far the new one's working great. I do recommended getting the larger 18 volt battery if you have anything other than a small yard.
Date published: 2016-06-28
  • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_762
  • loc_, sid_202556442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 117ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT