Model # WF42H5000AW

Internet #204993473

Store SO SKU #1000044944

Samsung 4.2 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
0887276962887

Samsung

4.2 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

  • Smart Care lets you troubleshoot with your smartphone
  • Self Clean+ keeps your washer fresh without using harsh chemicals
  • VRT Technology reduces noise and vibration
Was  $799.00
$719.10 /each

Save $79.90 (10%)  through 04/12/2017

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 03/23/2017 - 04/12/2017
10% off Appliances Offer ends January 7. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This Samsung front load washing machine helps you save time by fitting more into each load. Its Diamond Drum is gentle on your clothes to help them last longer, while the self-clean mode helps keep the drum itself sanitized with cleaning reminders every 40 cycles. Plus, with Vibration Reduction Technology (VRT), you’ll experience an incredibly quiet wash cycle every time.

  • Diamond Drum Design – Extends clothing life by treating fabrics gently during cycles
  • Direct Drive Motor – Works without belts or gears, making the washer quieter and more durable
  • 1200 RPM Maximum Spin Speed – So you can get more laundry done even faster
  • 8 Preset Wash Cycles – Covers almost any cleaning need for you active family
  • 9 Options – Let you choose the best setting for you wash cycle and get more out of each load
  • Child Lock – Allows you to lock the buttons on your machine so the cycle you've chosen can't be changed mid-cycle
  • Door Lock – Keeps cycle from being interrupted
  • Dispenser Trays – Main Wash, Softener, Bleach
  • 4 Temperature Settings – Hot, Warm, Eco Warm, Cold
  • 4 Spin Settings – High, Medium, Low, No Spin
  • 3 Soil Settings – Heavy, Normal, Light
  • Flexible Installation Options – Let you stack, place side by side, or use pedestals depending on your space
  • Warranty – One (1) year parts and labor; one (1) year control board; three (3) years stainless steel drum; ten (10) years direct drive motor
  • Matching Dryer Available – Search for product DV42H5000EW (electric) or DV42H5000GW (gas)
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
Was $899.00
Special Buy $665.00
$598.50 /each
Save $300.50 (33%)
Was $799.00
$719.10 /each
Save $79.90 (10%)
Was $799.00
$719.10 /each
Save $79.90 (10%)
$799.00 /each
Name 4.2 cu. ft. Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR 4.2 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR 4.2 cu. ft. High Efficiency Front Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
Brand Samsung Samsung Whirlpool Maytag
Ratings (1186) (939) (112) (1031)
Stackable Yes Yes Yes Yes
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 4.2 4.2 4.2 4.3
Product Depth (in.) 33 33 31.5 32.94
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Product Width (in.) 27 27 27 27
Steam Function Yes No No Yes
Savings Center Special Buys Special Buys
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Is this electric or gas?

Asked by: Shandirae93
electric
Answered by: Homeowner
Date published: 2017-02-04

Can I use powder detergent in this machine?

I know it says HE detergent but can I use powder or does it have to be liquid?
Asked by: Amberb
I don't see why it can't be powder, but I will warn you that powder detergent when exposed to humidity will gunk up and harden, this can have deleterious effects on how your washer operates.
Answered by: seematt
Date published: 2017-03-23

Can the door be reversed?

Asked by: w6m2
NO. Not on the washer (only swings open left). But the dryer door IS reversible. I looked everywhere for a front loading washer with a right swing or reversible door. THE ONLY manufacturer which makes a right swing or reversible door on their WASHER is ELECTROLUX. All the other manufacturers make washers with left swing doors only. Most manufacturers do make reversible DRYER doors, however.
Answered by: Cocoa
Date published: 2017-03-11

are they stackable

are they stackable
Asked by: charlie
Yes you can.
Answered by: annitajj
Date published: 2017-03-21
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_163
  • loc_, sid_204993473, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4.2 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 940.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought this washer with a matching dryer and immediately noticed a very loud rattle inside the dr... Bought this washer with a matching dryer and immediately noticed a very loud rattle inside the drum and the washer shook like crazy! Very loud and annoying. Had to have service out 3 times before one repairman found the drum to be warped. Had machine replaced with a new one and it does the same thing! Luckily I bought it through Home Depot and they are graciously taking both the washer and dryer back with a full refund. Product is terrible - Home Depot is not!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted 2 years Purchased this unit along with its stackable partner in Fall of 2014. Both worked quite well until it would no longer power on in Dec 2016. Being an electrical engineer my educated guess was that the interface board was no longer functioning. Called the warranty company with which I had a 5 year plan with. Over the course of 3+ weeks they would set up a repair company and then I would be 'stood up', happened with 3 different companies. Finally the 4th company came out just to tell me the interface board or relay have gone bad and he will order the parts. They will not be available to fix the machine until mid January 2017. That puts us out of a washer for over a month. In summary; beware of this unit and more importantly the appliance warranty company HD works with - absolute nightmare. I made it very clear the unit was a Samsung stacked unit but it took them 4 repair companies to work on it, let alone my multiple days off work waiting for them to show.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is a nice washer, gets the clothes cleaner than the top load washer I had. The only disappoint... It is a nice washer, gets the clothes cleaner than the top load washer I had. The only disappointment with it is the shaking it does when spinning the clothes. I have reduced loads and changed settings.....it still has the loudest, roughest spin cycle of any washer I have ever owned.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from when spins...although level...rattles entire house...also still some odor in machine and only use... when spins...although level...rattles entire house...also still some odor in machine and only used four times...hope it dissipates and not a reconditioned one sent to me. loved my matching Sears ones I had for 8 years until I moved...
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke on the 5th load Unfortunately, this washer broke on my 5th load of laundry, giving me an "AE6" error, which according to the user manual means a communication error between the two logic boards. The door stayed locked, and I had to manually drain out the water from a hose near the bottom. I called Samsung support and we are working on replacing the parts through the warranty service. However, I have had this unit for over three weeks, and they have still be unable to fix the correct part. Really a big disappoint and pain that this machine had fatal errors just days old and now I am in the wonderful world of warranty tech support. Regret buying this machine.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This washer has destroyed 4 shirts. There is no true delicate setting on this washer, even on the... This washer has destroyed 4 shirts. There is no true delicate setting on this washer, even on the lowest settings, I have torn apart 4 shirts. Delicate means nothing on this washer, at best all of my clothes are in a huge knot that takes 15 minutes to untangle and the wrinkles do not go away with the matching dryer. I have gone from using a dorm laundry room to laundromats, to a starter home washer and dryer from the 80's - this is the first washer and dryer I have purchased and I regret it every time I do the wash - buy any other washer, any other washer and dryer.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product Bad Service This washer has only been installed for three weeks and we are already on our second service call. The washer hasn't worked right since fhe first wash. Parts have had to be replaced and now the machine is having the same problems and not spinning. Home Depot will not take the produce back, even though it is less than three weeks installed because, stating we need to go through the warranty service to have it "fixed" again. I should not have to have a brand new appliance "fixed"! Home Depot should immediately arrange for an exchange. I am very dissatisfied.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don’t Think BUY THIS WASHER and DRYER SET!! The washer going full tilt is very quiet and the dryer is equally as quiet. The washer is very spacious and cleans very well. The dryer has a sensor that prevents you from over drying your clothes but if you want to over dry them it’s possible to override the sensor. Also the dryer can be hooked up to a water line to have a steam cycle. I don’t have to tell you that Samsung is top of the line with electronics. Even after the cycle is done (washer and dryer) they play a little tune to indicate the cycle is done, not like the old laundry mats annoying BUZZZZ when they are done.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Washer from Samsung Replaces Samsung Top load fom Voluntary Recall I applaud Samsung for voluntarily recalling Top Load Washing machines. The rebate is reasonable. I bought another Samsung Washer because this model received good reviews and I got a additional $150 back if I bought a Samsung. I bought a Front Load Model this time. So far seems to work well and is much quieter than the top loader ever was. I hope that Samsung appreciates a second chance on my list of products I trust. Keep on the task -by improving products, voluntary recalls, rebates that are fair to all and responding to customer complaints courteously.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The washer worked perfect for the first 2 months. After the second month, the washer started leak... The washer worked perfect for the first 2 months. After the second month, the washer started leaking water whenever I set it to bedding. Even though it was just a small blanket, the water still leaked. My garage was flooded with water every time I washed the blanket. Contacted Samsung but the wait time was more than an hour. Now I regretted that I bought Samsung Washer. Will not recommend this Samsung washer to anyone. Samsung Washer model WF42H5000AW.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Take out the shipping bolts! They don't tell you about them when they set up the machine and the ... Take out the shipping bolts! They don't tell you about them when they set up the machine and the installation instructions are not as clear as they could be. There are three of them that must be removed from the rear of the machine before you use it. It makes the difference between a loud, shaking, horrid banging that makes the laundry room sound like an airplane is taking off and a quiet, reliable, quality washer. I've had the washer about a month. It works great, is easy to use, and cleans clothing well.
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Washer The saleswoman and my friend almost had me talked into a top load, but I chose this model. Wow, it's huge (my old front load must have been tiny), I could probably fit 2 large comforters with ease! My wash is done right in half the time. It has built in handles on each side for easy lifting (to pedestal), has a trap door to lower trap for draining excess water from the drum (like if we go on vacation, or if you only do 1 or 2 loads a week). I liked my old front load, but I love this one!
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Water-saver deluxe Compared to my 20 year-old front loader that uses about 25 gallons per load, this machine barely gets the clothes wet, yet they come out just as clean, and preposterously dry. It uses so little water that the discharge hose has been reduced in size. After spinning, many items can be hung up indoors to dry quickly without a dryer. Also, while my older washer cleaned a smaller load, it can vibrate significantly during the spin cycles. This machine barely trembles while spinning at over 1000 rpm, and quietly I might add. The electronic controls take some getting used to if you grew up with knobs and fewer options, so studying the user's manual is recommended.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average at best This washer uses not enough water to wash clothes properly. I understand that the intention is to save water, however in order to make my clothes clean, I need to run two or three cycles for the more soiled clothes (of my two kids coming back from playground!) - yetl do not get the results!. When I wash sneakers they never come out clean - so later I need to wash them manually in sink. I used to have LG front loading washer for the last 12 years and it was superb - everything was coming out perfectly clean EVERY TIME. This Samsung model looks nice but the performance is average at best. I would not buy it again.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far a great washer We have been using this washer for about a month and so far it has met all expectations. We use pods so we don't use the dispensers and everything has been great - clothes very clean. We also use it to wash horse laundry and it is better than our last more expensive model. Like the idea of not having so many choices in cycles. I have found that most of those don't work well anyway. This is more a basic model and it does very well.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full function, excellent price for this washer All I can say is how good it washes, all kinds of things. Pillows, large blankets, small loads and normal. The functions have it all. Don't have to go through the entire cycle to get spin only, rinse only, etc. I was surprised the door is not convertible to open from either side. Don't know if you can specify direction when you order it. But all-in-all I am very satisfied and recommend it even for the high end consumer.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Purchased at $499 during a year end online sale. Have seen the same model advertised for $799 el... Purchased at $499 during a year end online sale. Have seen the same model advertised for $799 elsewhere. Rated 4 stars based on only have had the washer for one week now. Would give 5 stars based on purchase price and purchase experience. The capacity is more than adequate for my three person family, it looks great, it's quiet, and I've enjoyed the flat top surface as a new workspace for prep and folding. I was a little surprised with the duration of the cleaning cycle, it seems to be between 1:15 and 1:35 depending on the cycle settings. I am also surprised with how little water is used during the cleaning cycles. At the end of the day, my cloths have been cleaned well, its quiet, and it looks good. I'm now considering the matching dryer. Hope they hold up...my first experience with Samsung appliances. And......I had a Note 7 and still bought this washer, don't let me down Samsung.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has exceeded our expectations even though we have only had it less than a month. I... This product has exceeded our expectations even though we have only had it less than a month. It is efficient and cleans our toughest dirt. What also is appreciated is the ease of doing this all on-line at homedepot.com. Besides the information needed to make an informed decision about which product to buy, Home Depot delivery made it easy to get and install. The entire process was "painless".
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Samsung Washer -- Great Product This is the first Samsung washer (or product of any kind by Samsung) that we have owned and I must say that it lives up to its advertising -- super quiet (you hardly know it is running except for the swish of the water), ultra efficient, and incredibly easy to use (intuitive controls make it easy). I would highly recommend this product -- great machine and super value!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed The washer makes a loud screeching noise when on the spin cycle. The manual says the washer has to be properly leveled and it has been, using a Level, many times. The problem persists. Calls to Samsung have been unproductive. This is an unacceptable situation. I believe Home Depot should be responsible for correcting this problem.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy I bought this to replace a 6 yr old front load washer. Wasn't going to replace with front loader but already had the pedestals and the price was so good, I decided to give them one more try. Much happier with this one. Guess in the 6 yrs they've worked out some kinks....much quieter.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this washer So far I have found this washer easy to use and Energy efficient. I would suggest that you do follow the manufactures suggestion and use "HE Turbo" detergents and they are little bigger then my old ones, wasn't sure it would fit in my laundry room space. But we made it work.
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Granted it's only been a couple of weeks so I would expect this to work flawlessly - and it does.... Granted it's only been a couple of weeks so I would expect this to work flawlessly - and it does. And it's even getting the clothes clean - go figure! At this point I'd give it a 5 Star rating and hopefully over time it will prove Consumer Reports high rating correct.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware! Don't buy this machine Purchased this disapointing machine last week. There is a definite design problem with this model. It vibrates, shakes and dances all over the floor. It has been leveled by the store's technicians to no avail. It is going back to the store as soon as my new LG arrives.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer beware junk We Wash a load less than once a week. Bought it in January 2013 January 2017. Repairmen said circut board went out. He told me parts would be $538 before labor. We gave him the honor of listening us purchasing a NEW Westinghouse over over over phone from Home Depot.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems decent for an inexpensive front loader. Washing machine shakes more than other front loaders I've had. This is probably at least in part due to the light weight (flimsier) construction. It cleans well and has lots of features, but given the light weight construction, I'm not confident in its longevity.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant Design/Quality Just bought this washer in conjunction with it's mate electric dryer. I really like the digital display the smart care feature and all the bells and whistles. It is quite and does a great job. I am so far pleased with the purchase and the price was right!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great at cleaning This washer does an amazing job at getting the clothes clean. I haven't even pretreated stains and they come right out. It is light years above my old washer. I have only had it a month, so I"m hoping it stands the test of time.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective Our washer ceased operating properly less than two weeks after it was installed. Machine provides error codes that stop wash half-way through due to improper water flow/pressure. Water pressure checked, hoses replaced. Repair guy has visited three times replacing, valves, computer board, etc. Now waiting on 4th repair visit and six weeks later and all we can do is use the rinse and spin cycle. From what I understand, this is a design flaw that Samsung is aware of and may be not be fixable. Second Samsung, first lasted 6 years. DO NOT BUY THIS WASHER - unless you like appliances that don't function and enjoy piles of dirty clothes.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Washer Great washer, easy to use, lots of cycle choices. Washes well. I leave the door open when not in use and that seems to help with mildew/smell problem I've seen others have issues with.
Date published: 2017-01-03
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_940
  • loc_, sid_204993473, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT