Model # 14113411708

Internet #202530243

Store SKU #893749

Sheetrock UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
0081099027833

Sheetrock

UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

  • Lightest 1/2 in. gypsum board available
  • Easier to lift, carry and install
  • Certified & building code approved for all ceiling installations
$10.98 / each
If you buy 34 or more
$9.33 / each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Sheetrock Brand UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board is the first and lightest 1/2 in. wallboard panels available. ICC-certified for sag resistance, they eliminate the need for separate wall and ceiling panels. Because they weigh up to 30% less than traditional 1/2 in. drywall, the panels are easier to lift, carry and install, allowing you to work more safely and more efficiently. Panels feature tapered long edges for easy finishing.

  • Intended for non-fire rated applications
  • The non-combustible core is encased in 100% recycled face and back paper
  • Score and snap easily
  • Tapered edges for easily concealed joints
  • For interior applications
  • Use in new residential, and repair and remodel construction
  • Click to learn how to select the right drywall for your project

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can this b used in bathroom? is it like blue board? moisture and mold resistant?

Asked by: Anonymous
Use green (or blue) board for walls. Use regular (this stuff) for the ceiling. Green board on the ceiling traps moisture and will be problematic.
Answered by: Jake
Date published: 2016-07-09

Can ultra light be used on a ceiling?

Asked by: Anonymous
Probably the best application of this product would be ceilings. Since it is lightweight, it would be easier holding it overhead, but be carefull. It is lightweight, but it may break easily if you are not careful in handling it.
Answered by: Wes
Date published: 2016-01-27

Can one panel be transported in an empty SUV ?

Asked by: Chris
For a 2015 Honda Pilot, you will not be able to do so. The 3rd row cup holder lack one extra inch! It is only 47" wide. For a 2016 Ford Explorer, the trunk is even narrower by a few inches. Consider buying (and spending a little more money) on either a 3x5 board, a HD delivery ($60-70), or renting a truck from HD ($20 / 75 minutes)
Answered by: ColoradoDIYer
Date published: 2017-01-06

Do I use nails or srews to hang it I have wood studs

Asked by: Electricman
Can use either. Im a DIYer and screws were easier with a Bocsh drywall bit and cordless drill (recommended). Mfr recommends 8" centers. I used 8-10" spacing on ceiling. 15" center on walls with good results.
Answered by: Don1
Date published: 2017-03-14
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_74
  • loc_, sid_202530243, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 19ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 86.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff Light, good price, easy to work with. I say don't think about it,just get it
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The product worked out well, but no non ultra light... The product worked out well, but no non ultra light version was available
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my project It was easy to cut and handle for my partition project. Sold in pairs
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sheetrock Great product to work with, light, easy to split, and good price
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 100% happy, love this wall! Nice and light, would get again!
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product, scores easily and easy to handle Excellent product, scores easily and easy to handle
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drywall Great product, always use this for all my projects
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very light and easy to work with! Very light and easy to work with!
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad product. I bought some of this to replace some 35 year old drywall. It is light, but very very fragile. Every screw on the edge breaks chunks off, or when you find a void, it will just pull the screw thru. Going to be pulling it all back down and replacing with standard board if I can even find it. The old stuff that I took off was much much more durable than this junk. There is about 200 bucks worth of drywall that will go in the dumpster. i wouldn't use this for the inside of a closet let alone a ceiling. Total trash.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lighter does not always mean stronger The sheet is somewhat lighter than the standard drywall sheets, but their claim that it is stronger is incorrect. I kept wondering why it was so easy to fracture corners from normal handling and break through edges when installing drywall screws. I was surprised at how easily the material crumpled instead of breaking up into larger chunks. So, I snapped a piece in half (much easier than standard 1/2" drywall) and noticed the manufacturer injected air into the base material. That will make it lighter, but also much weaker.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EVEN WHEN YOU CHANGE YOUR MIND IT WORKS. I BOUGHT THE GYPSUM BOARD TO DO OUR LIVING ROOM CEILING BUT, MY HUSBAND TOOK IT FOR HIS SHOP. SO IT STILL WORKED OUT GREAT FOR HIS WALLS TO KEEP HIS SHOP COOLER THIS SUMMER. NOW HIS AIR WILL NOT HAVE TO WORK SO HARD. . IT WAS VERY EASY TO INSTALL SEEING HOW HE ONLY CAN USE ONE HAND SINCE HIS STROKE. NOW I HAVE TO BUY MORE TO DO OUR LIVING ROOM CEILING. THANKS: ME
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality material at a great price! This drywall is very easy to work with and is very lightweight. One thing I appreciated about this drywall was the paper. Given a good knife, the paper cut easily and didn’t tend to tear. In fact, I really only had to score it before snapping my cut. I also used a couple of different saws on this material with very good results. My keyhole saw works great for manual cutting, and my dremel saw can be set to cut very precisely because the consistency of dimension is perfect every time. This material was easily lightweight enough for me to maneuver by myself. I could actually pick up two sheets with ease and move them around my shop. For the price, this is a great buy. I highly recommend this drywall for all size construction projects. Home Depot is very competitive on price and this is a quality material that is easy to work with.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light but Sturdy Was completely surprised with how light and sturdy this sheetrock is. Initially thought it wouldn't hold up once I started cutting it. Did walls and ceiling with it with the help of my wife. Held up quite well and takes mud just as good.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will cover 2nd floor walls & ceilings! We are in the process of putting this Ultra-Light gypsum board up on our 2nd floor which is approx. 600 sq. feet. We could not do this on our own, however, if we did not have a Home Depot panel lifter! It makes it an EZ one-man job! Because we are in no hurry, we started a few months ago with 10 panels and are now working on the next ten. We only buy and pick up a few each month so by Aug of 2015, we will have our final inspection and will then get our Certificate of Occupancy for our second floor! No dry wall is light as air, but trust me - this is as light as it's going to get! It's extremely sturdy also, however, unless you treat it roughly - than that's on you! We will continue to purchase this item from our local Home Depot until such time as we are done! August 2014
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from junk it is to brittle crumbles is the worst wallboard i have ever use will not buy again will get the regular board even if it is heaver
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well....it's light. Sure it's lighter than the traditional drywall but supposedly it has the same strength. Not quite. If you take a piece of old drywall and dig your fingernail into the gypsum, you can't scratch out anything. If you do the same thing to these new ultralight boards, you can dig it out which concerns me. Doesn't take much to break it either. As I was turning it around, I bumped it against the wall which ended up breaking part of it. Not a big deal since i had to cut it down to size anyway but still. I know we're not suppose to be kicking our walls but they should be able to take some punishment.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultralight Drywall Ultralight Drywall is really a great product and in my opinion is a long time coming. I have personally installed millions of feet of drywall, everything from lead backed in x ray rooms, to 1/4 inch flex in round entry ways.. Every type and brand there is, I have worked with. Not only is is lighter, it is easier to work with, more rigid that the original. And I do believe when installed correctly it does make a flatter surface. As anyone will tell you drywall in itself is not a perfect product and the results depend entirely on who is working with it. Lightweight drywall does not have and problems the original doesn't. I used 14,000 feet in my personal house.. No sagging on lids, no cracks. All I can say is Thank You and its a long time coming!
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for applications where lighter weight is a plus. This product is great for applications where sound transmission is not a concern, but reduced weight is an advantage. I have had too haul several sheets of these up a ladder into an attic; the reduced weight is appreciated. Other than that, it is just like any othe gyp board.
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product. I own Blagdon's Construction LLC I mainly do Remodeling so I'm always doing drywall and this is a great product to work with!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Material does not need my support; it sells itself. This material did the job it was purchased to do. It was very easy to cut and install. The finish was smooth.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for one-time customers only. Yes, this is easy to carry, cut, and install. Less clean up as dust is minimized via this new "whipped" formulation. HOWEVER....I would never use this in my own home or properties. Nor would I use for any long-term customer. The low density has very poor acoustic dampening/absorption and poor insulating quality. Worse, once this is installed, product scratches and dents with almost ANY normal contact such as brushing an arm while walking by, etc. If this needs patching, you have to get the exact same brand and type as the thickness is not true or universal.
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great for small Jobs Hung 163 sheets of 4' X 8'. and 4' X 12' some in a large room. The product is weak and expands and contracts far to much with minimal temperature changes. thus cracking the compund and tape at the joints. I have hung and finished 1000........s of sheets and I won't use this product again.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product its standard sheetrock it did its job the value is good
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will not use anything but this! Very easy to work with. The weight difference is incredible. It cuts and finishes just as good IF NOT BETTER than regular board. Very little rasping on cuts, most of the time it is not even needed. I would and do recommend this to everyone.
Date published: 2011-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yes it's light, BUT............... I feel like it's a lot lighter and easy to hang on a ceiling by myself, BUT, it does expand and contract enough for All of my seams to have cracked by the next day. In another area where I used regular drywall, no cracks at all. I will not use it again because of this. caused me twice the work in taping!
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from skeptic turned believer The lightweight was nice, especially being the one that had to haul it into the house and downstairs. Apparently studies claim this isn't lighter than the standard, but I beg the differ, after having to carry both types down a set of stairs. It does score and snap easier then the original. Overall, I would definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice lightweight using this for a ceiling in a workshop, lightweight is a plus.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but can be brittle The sheetrock is definitely lighter weight than the old stuff, or should I say standard drywall. This is a whipped type of sheetrock, incorporating more air bubbles into the product, hence the lighter weight. It does therefore cause the drywall to be more brittle and crack easier. I found this out by attempting to drywall a ceiling. The weight did make it easier to install on a ceiling though. So it has its pros and cons.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Product This is a very poor product. It has been out for several years now and it still suffers from the same problems that it had initially: (1) very brittle and hence cracks easily and is generally not durable, (2) there are voids between the gypsum and the backing paper on every sheet. In fact, there are voids throughout this product. The quality control is horrible for a company the size of USG. I would never use it again it is not worth any weight savings for the brittleness, voids in the gypsum, problems with the backing paper adhering, and its lack of durability.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's sheet rock. It's sheet rock. It didn't break, it was straight.
Date published: 2014-10-14
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
  • loc_, sid_202530243, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT