0048834000278

Vigoro

Model 54250V

Internet #100558618

Store SKU #440809

0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles

$3.68 / each
If you buy 32 or more
$3.31 / each
  • Great for landscaping around trees, shrubs, decks, driveways
  • Controls erosion to help protect your landscape
  • Gray color resists fading for long-lasting beauty

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Improve your yard with help from the 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles. Use the pebbles for landscaping around trees, shrubs, decks or driveways to accent your yard. These pebbles help to control erosion to help protect your landscape, and their natural stone look resists fading for long-lasting beauty.

  • Use for landscaping around trees, shrubs, decks or driveways to accent your yard
  • Controls erosion to help protect your landscape
  • Multi-color resists fading for long-lasting beauty
  • Natural stone look offers design versatility
  • Retains moisture
  • Resists wood pests such as termites and ants
  • Covers up to 1 sq. ft.
  • Note: Product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

36 Questions54 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
5 answers

IF PUT ROCK DOWN AT 2INCH IN DEPTH OVER A 500 SQ FEET AREA HOW MANY BAGS WILL IT TAKE

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
WORCESTER MA
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 22, 2016
Answer: 
one cubic foot = 1 foot deep by 1 x 1 . Simple math,
Covering an area of 500 square feet with bags is sort of like paving the freeway with hand-mixed concrete using a shovel and wheel barrow.
Get a truckload.
Gravel is generally sold by the yard (3 ft. 3 ft. by 3 ft. = 27 cubic foot) Sometimes by the ton.
Bags are listed by .5 cubic foot. 500 divided by 6 = 83 + (always get more to account for inaccurate
Read More
one cubic foot = 1 foot deep by 1 x 1 . Simple math,
Covering an area of 500 square feet with bags is sort of like paving the freeway with hand-mixed concrete using a shovel and wheel barrow.
Get a truckload.
Gravel is generally sold by the yard (3 ft. 3 ft. by 3 ft. = 27 cubic foot) Sometimes by the ton.
Bags are listed by .5 cubic foot. 500 divided by 6 = 83 + (always get more to account for inaccurate measurement)
At around $5 per bag (don't forget Governor's lunch money) looks like >$400 !
Don't forget about disposing the plastic bags and bits.
Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

July 31, 2015
Answer: 
166 bags
-3points
2out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful5

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2015
Answer: 
Around 170
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2015
Answer: 
500 sq feet x 12 inches = 500 cu feet. So 2 inch deep would be 1/6 of 500. Therefore 500 cu feet divided by 6 = 84 cu feet. If the bag covers 1/2 (0.5) cu ft as it says then you would need 84 times 2 or 168 bags of rocks.
+8points
10out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2015
Answer: 
Generally, a cubic yard of mulch covers 100 sq feet while stone covers 80 to 100 sq feet depending on size of stone. So you will need about 300 bags. that's a lot of trips if you only have a standard pickup truck
-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
4 answers

how many bags make a cubic yard

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 10, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

July 31, 2015
Answer: 
54
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2015
Answer: 
Around 54
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2015
Answer: 
I think it says that the bag is 0.5 cu. ft., so to get a cu. yard (27 cu. ft.), you would need 54 bags.
+18points
18out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful0

May 10, 2015
Answer: 
Each bag covers 1 square foot so it would take 27 bags to make 1 cubic yard.
-20points
5out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful25
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
3 answers

how many bage to cover 32 sq. feet 4 inches deep?

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
ozark al.
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

August 17, 2015
Answer: 
Without knowing both the length and width, I cannot give you an amount. Please visit the Pavestone website below to figure out how many bags you will need using our Estimator:
http://www.pavestone.com/estimators/retail-landscape-stone-estimator/
-12points
4out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful16

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Looks like around 22 bags give or take.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

August 15, 2015
Answer: 
You would want 22 bags for your project.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
3 answers

40 square feet to cover

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2015
how many bags do I need to cover 40 square feet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

July 27, 2015
Answer: 
2” depth, you will need 14 bags. 3” depth you will need 20 bags.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2015
Answer: 
Depends on depth about 7 bags per inch of thickness.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
You will need 40 bags to cover 40 square feet of space.
-8points
3out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful11
2 3 »
  • 2016-08-29 T14:43:34.601-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100558618, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looks great on the outdoor decor We bought this product to decor our outdoor stairs and it looks great! Not only it is great to be outside but it also holds well during raining days. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy with my rocks I bought these to fill the space around my walking steps and to be able to mow around them with out it all being displaced - like the mulch I had used previously. These stones are larger than pebbles but they were perfect for my project. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly pretty I looked at the pictures and had some reservation. I bought them anyway. After putting them down and gave them a rinse, they look much better without the sand residue. September 27, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Recommend Disappointing. Too varied in size. Over priced compared to similar products out there. Low supply at this store for everything August 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by River Pebbles Beautiful natural colors! I used these in several places in my yard, next to the foundation around some bushes, and in a shrub grouping. The river pebbles are better for long term application rather than mulching every year. I put down landscaping fabric, and poured the rocks on top to keep them from sinking into the dirt. For more texture, and interest, I got some bags of the larger egg rocks, and sprinkled them around on top of the river pebbles here and there. Sometimes I get a few weeds growing in the rocks, but it's from weed seeds blowing into the rocks and sprouting, not a result from weeds growing up through the rocks and landscape fabric, so a treatment of weed killer is needed once in a while. February 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a garden path Created a nice garden path through our backyard with these pebbles. Have a lot of trees and didn't want to damage roots by pouring concrete. They look tan in the bag, but that is just the sand that is covering them - they are multi-colored and look really nice once they are washed. Phase 1 of my project was 15 feet by 3 feet by 1.5 inches deep - it took 13 bags to complete. Make sure you use some kind of edging to keep the pebbles in place and a weed blocking fabric under the pebbles. May 26, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Really "Pebbles" Advertised as "pebbles". These are really medium sized rock. July 20, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointed in color Purchased 10 bags (500 lbs) of this product based on past purchases of River Rock. This color shown here is brown or tan. The rock I purchased when placed are VERY light gray, almost white unless they are wet of course. And..... 50 % of each bag had small pebbles mixed in with the larger rock size. NOT what I thought I was getting. Even @ 3.47 a bag, they look awful After placing them, thinking they were tan in color ~ boy was I bummed :( Can't move them and HATE the color. April 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty! If you just need a bit of rock these are very nice, small, even sized and after they got rained on a pretty color. I just needed them where the gutter drains come off my house to prevent erosion and they work very well, heavy enough not to float off and keep the grass away from the end of the drain. If you need a lot of rock it is much cheaper to by it bulk but for small projects these work fine. April 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good size and color Used it for my potted palm and also for my weight bag in photography. Works great for both. May 11, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Love the rocks, but... I am in the process of adding these beautiful rocks to a large flower bed. I've been going by my local Home Depot and getting 4 bags at a time as that's all I feel safe putting in the trunk of my car. I went again yesterday and the price increased over a dollar a bag. Not happy as I need at least 20+ more bags. May 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just perfect for my project! I've never purchased rocks or pebbles before but these worked great. May 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome look! Great appearance and easy to maintain.I need more of this for my side yard. February 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice for the landscape project. I think it matches very well with our gray decking. Very pretty colors-mostly blacks and grays with a few dark reds and cream colors. The only complaint I have is that my husband is always picking through them to find "oddball shapes" or "gems" and stacking these up along the drive.......I am seriously considering finishing the rest of my project with stepping stones and bricks. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfied with this purchase These pebbles are the perfect accent to my retaining wall. The bags were light enough for me to handle without help. They appear a bit pink, but I like it! I will buy more of these in the future. September 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Be careful what you buy online I thought I was getting more of a gray stone, but this is mostly a rusty color. Does not match the picture in the least. I was trying to get gravel that would mix well with some I already had. I can use it in another location. I didn't want to drive 50 miles back to the store to return it. All in all, not a pleasant experience. DO NOT buy natural materials sight unseen. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best size rock for borders/edging Would have been able to buy by the yard if sales associate had said that was an option after I explained that I would be using over 200 bags! Otherwise product is actually not grey-it is tan/brown- which was the color pallet I was trying to match. Easy to use. Uniform in color and size. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looks nice Placed about 300 bags of these rocks and they look nice except I have a short palm tree and under it, some turned a black color. So maybe a acidic problem, tried to power wash them but they just turned over. So bought a few more bags cut back the tree and will see what happens. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for aquaponics I purchased about 30 bags of these rocks to fill my indoor aquaponics system and have been happy with them so far. There was a lot of dirt in the bags so they did need to be washed well but they have been working great in the system. You can see several videos showcasing this rock on my YouTube channel listed with the review. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by River Pebbles The pebbles did what they were supposed to do - decorate my garden. The store associates, without hesitation, helped load them into the car. And, the packaging was strong enough to last until I opened the bag to use them. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product Rocks are beautiful after they are rinsed off. Some are large in size and other's are small. Great product July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by works! bought this product for a small walk path, works great for the money and looks good too June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a natural "woods" setting Bought 20 bags to add an inch to crushed rock patio nestled in the spruce woods, looks very natural with many browns, tans, off-white. Don't just look at the stones in the bag. In the bags they look dull and monotone. Try to find a ripped bag in the store that has been exposed to the rain to see the true color. Avoid if you want a blue/grey palate. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is exactly what I was looking for. I had them in another area of the yard for a few years and was very pleased. The rocks are very attractive and neat. Great value June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Inexpensive landscaping enhancement These river stones are a great landscaping enhancement at a great price. I used these stones over an existing gravel stone garden and the improvement on the appearance of the garden was fabulous. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Rock! This rock has beautiful tans, whites, and rose colors with some darker colors thrown in. Large, medium and small pieces in the same bag. I just poured it from the bag onto landscaping fabric, raked it and stepped on it to level it, and hosed it off to see the wonderful colors. I used it between the back wall of my house and the patio. Looks fabulous. September 24, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Landscape pebbles and stepping stones Good product to keep weeds down and mud at bay! I used this in a small courtyard at the entrance to my house to surround the stepping stones....works great and cleans up to look like the more expensive pebbles. September 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect colors. Ordering was easy. My products were all ready when I arrived and the customer service was great! Thank you October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and inexpensive patio My husband and I used this river rock and pavers to build a patio in our muddy, grass-less backyard. We outlined a 10 x 10 ft. area with the pavers, and filled in the center with rock and sand. This size rock drains very well, and the rocks keep our patio furniture from getting muddy. September 5, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly met my expectarions Nice range of colors and sizes; water drains through appropriately; easy to handle. October 22, 2013
  • 2016-08-28 T19:45:25.031-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_42, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_100558618, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT