Model # 54250V

Internet #100558618

Store SKU #440809

Vigoro 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
0048834000278

Vigoro

0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles

$3.75 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Improve your yard with help from the 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles. Use the pebbles for landscaping around trees, shrubs, decks or driveways to accent your yard. These pebbles help to control erosion to help protect your landscape, and their natural stone look resists fading for long-lasting beauty.

  • Use for landscaping around trees, shrubs, decks or driveways to accent your yard
  • Controls erosion to help protect your landscape
  • Multi-color resists fading for long-lasting beauty
  • Natural stone look offers design versatility
  • Retains moisture
  • Resists wood pests such as termites and ants
  • Covers up to 1 sq. ft.
  • Note: Product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

38 Questions55 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
5 answers

IF PUT ROCK DOWN AT 2INCH IN DEPTH OVER A 500 SQ FEET AREA HOW MANY BAGS WILL IT TAKE

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
WORCESTER MA
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 22, 2016
Answer: 
one cubic foot = 1 foot deep by 1 x 1 . Simple math,
Covering an area of 500 square feet with bags is sort of like paving the freeway with hand-mixed concrete using a shovel and wheel barrow.
Get a truckload.
Gravel is generally sold by the yard (3 ft. 3 ft. by 3 ft. = 27 cubic foot) Sometimes by the ton.
Bags are listed by .5 cubic foot. 500 divided by 6 = 83 + (always get more to account for inaccurate
Read More
one cubic foot = 1 foot deep by 1 x 1 . Simple math,
Covering an area of 500 square feet with bags is sort of like paving the freeway with hand-mixed concrete using a shovel and wheel barrow.
Get a truckload.
Gravel is generally sold by the yard (3 ft. 3 ft. by 3 ft. = 27 cubic foot) Sometimes by the ton.
Bags are listed by .5 cubic foot. 500 divided by 6 = 83 + (always get more to account for inaccurate measurement)
At around $5 per bag (don't forget Governor's lunch money) looks like >$400 !
Don't forget about disposing the plastic bags and bits.
Read Less
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

July 31, 2015
Answer: 
166 bags
-3points
2out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful5

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2015
Answer: 
Around 170
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2015
Answer: 
500 sq feet x 12 inches = 500 cu feet. So 2 inch deep would be 1/6 of 500. Therefore 500 cu feet divided by 6 = 84 cu feet. If the bag covers 1/2 (0.5) cu ft as it says then you would need 84 times 2 or 168 bags of rocks.
+9points
11out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2015
Answer: 
Generally, a cubic yard of mulch covers 100 sq feet while stone covers 80 to 100 sq feet depending on size of stone. So you will need about 300 bags. that's a lot of trips if you only have a standard pickup truck
-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
4 answers

how many bags make a cubic yard

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 10, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

July 31, 2015
Answer: 
54
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2015
Answer: 
Around 54
-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2015
Answer: 
I think it says that the bag is 0.5 cu. ft., so to get a cu. yard (27 cu. ft.), you would need 54 bags.
+21points
21out of 21found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful0

May 10, 2015
Answer: 
Each bag covers 1 square foot so it would take 27 bags to make 1 cubic yard.
-25points
5out of 35found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful30
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
3 answers

how many bage to cover 32 sq. feet 4 inches deep?

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
ozark al.
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

August 17, 2015
Answer: 
Without knowing both the length and width, I cannot give you an amount. Please visit the Pavestone website below to figure out how many bags you will need using our Estimator:
http://www.pavestone.com/estimators/retail-landscape-stone-estimator/
-12points
4out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful16

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Looks like around 22 bags give or take.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

August 15, 2015
Answer: 
You would want 22 bags for your project.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
 
3 answers

40 square feet to cover

This question is from 0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles
Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2015
how many bags do I need to cover 40 square feet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

July 27, 2015
Answer: 
2” depth, you will need 14 bags. 3” depth you will need 20 bags.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2015
Answer: 
Depends on depth about 7 bags per inch of thickness.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
You will need 40 bags to cover 40 square feet of space.
-8points
3out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful11
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T22:34:02.646-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100558618, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 26ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

0.5 cu. ft. River Pebbles is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used to place over landscape fabric around the foundation of the house, to prevent weeds and ease... Used to place over landscape fabric around the foundation of the house, to prevent weeds and ease of removing fall leaves as an alternative and more permanent solution to mulch
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from When I picked up the product, it did not in anyway resemble the picture on line. I was looking fo... When I picked up the product, it did not in anyway resemble the picture on line. I was looking for reddish and the stones were dirt colorored.I received a refund.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super easy to cover up any landscaping area that you want to be low maintenance. 1 bag covers a ... super easy to cover up any landscaping area that you want to be low maintenance. 1 bag covers a good area. I needed about 10 bags total but good price overall.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What can I say - these are rocks. They were exactly as pictured here and that was what I wanted.... What can I say - these are rocks. They were exactly as pictured here and that was what I wanted. Thank you Home Depot for offering these.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from River pebbles Just what I wanted exactly. I recommend them. Beautiful color.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with my rocks I bought these to fill the space around my walking steps and to be able to mow around them with out it all being displaced - like the mulch I had used previously. These stones are larger than pebbles but they were perfect for my project.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Disappointed I used this product about 5 years ago for a portion of my garden and it looked great. Over time, debris built up such that the stones looked like they were sinking into the ground. So I went to Home Depot to buy some more to fill on top and refresh the look. The former product was nicely graded into pebbles from about 1/2 inch to about 1 inch. The current bags I purchased contain a great deal (half by measure) of pea pebble size stones. Pea pebbles are a separate product. If this was a mistake I would like to know where I can get properly sized river pebbles. If it is not a mistake, it is a deliberate cheapening of the product. In the photos shown, it is easy to tell the previous product from the current offering.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat disappointed in color Purchased 10 bags (500 lbs) of this product based on past purchases of River Rock. This color shown here is brown or tan. The rock I purchased when placed are VERY light gray, almost white unless they are wet of course. And..... 50 % of each bag had small pebbles mixed in with the larger rock size. NOT what I thought I was getting. Even @ 3.47 a bag, they look awful After placing them, thinking they were tan in color ~ boy was I bummed :( Can't move them and HATE the color.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a natural "woods" setting Bought 20 bags to add an inch to crushed rock patio nestled in the spruce woods, looks very natural with many browns, tans, off-white. Don't just look at the stones in the bag. In the bags they look dull and monotone. Try to find a ripped bag in the store that has been exposed to the rain to see the true color. Avoid if you want a blue/grey palate.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and inexpensive patio My husband and I used this river rock and pavers to build a patio in our muddy, grass-less backyard. We outlined a 10 x 10 ft. area with the pavers, and filled in the center with rock and sand. This size rock drains very well, and the rocks keep our patio furniture from getting muddy.
Date published: 2010-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a garden path Created a nice garden path through our backyard with these pebbles. Have a lot of trees and didn't want to damage roots by pouring concrete. They look tan in the bag, but that is just the sand that is covering them - they are multi-colored and look really nice once they are washed. Phase 1 of my project was 15 feet by 3 feet by 1.5 inches deep - it took 13 bags to complete. Make sure you use some kind of edging to keep the pebbles in place and a weed blocking fabric under the pebbles.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Rock! This rock has beautiful tans, whites, and rose colors with some darker colors thrown in. Large, medium and small pieces in the same bag. I just poured it from the bag onto landscaping fabric, raked it and stepped on it to level it, and hosed it off to see the wonderful colors. I used it between the back wall of my house and the patio. Looks fabulous.
Date published: 2010-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great on the outdoor decor We bought this product to decor our outdoor stairs and it looks great! Not only it is great to be outside but it also holds well during raining days.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't Recommend Disappointing. Too varied in size. Over priced compared to similar products out there. Low supply at this store for everything
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect landscaping rocks! These rocks work perfectly for flower beds! I put some weed barrier down, then these rocks on top! Made a huge difference to the look of the flower bed. Definitely getting more!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for aquaponics I purchased about 30 bags of these rocks to fill my indoor aquaponics system and have been happy with them so far. There was a lot of dirt in the bags so they did need to be washed well but they have been working great in the system. You can see several videos showcasing this rock on my YouTube channel listed with the review.
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly pretty I looked at the pictures and had some reservation. I bought them anyway. After putting them down and gave them a rinse, they look much better without the sand residue.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best size rock for borders/edging Would have been able to buy by the yard if sales associate had said that was an option after I explained that I would be using over 200 bags! Otherwise product is actually not grey-it is tan/brown- which was the color pallet I was trying to match. Easy to use. Uniform in color and size.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome look! Great appearance and easy to maintain.I need more of this for my side yard.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Really "Pebbles" Advertised as "pebbles". These are really medium sized rock.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Be careful what you buy online I thought I was getting more of a gray stone, but this is mostly a rusty color. Does not match the picture in the least. I was trying to get gravel that would mix well with some I already had. I can use it in another location. I didn't want to drive 50 miles back to the store to return it. All in all, not a pleasant experience. DO NOT buy natural materials sight unseen.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive covering We used this to cover a portion of a garden we pulled up, so that we could set up a seating area. It was inexpensive--which was important to us, since we were leasing our home--but I would have loved to have used a smoother rock. Overall, very satisfied.
Date published: 2010-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty! If you just need a bit of rock these are very nice, small, even sized and after they got rained on a pretty color. I just needed them where the gutter drains come off my house to prevent erosion and they work very well, heavy enough not to float off and keep the grass away from the end of the drain. If you need a lot of rock it is much cheaper to by it bulk but for small projects these work fine.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for the landscape project. I think it matches very well with our gray decking. Very pretty colors-mostly blacks and grays with a few dark reds and cream colors. The only complaint I have is that my husband is always picking through them to find "oddball shapes" or "gems" and stacking these up along the drive.......I am seriously considering finishing the rest of my project with stepping stones and bricks.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting I love this product not only because it's long lasting but it also features a chart on the front of the package that is great in helping you determine how many bags you need for a particular area. Very satisfied!
Date published: 2010-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Landscape pebbles and stepping stones Good product to keep weeds down and mud at bay! I used this in a small courtyard at the entrance to my house to surround the stepping stones....works great and cleans up to look like the more expensive pebbles.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Definitely not grey! I've just picked up my order and these stones may be fine, but they are as yellow as can be!. Not remotely grey.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good size and color Used it for my potted palm and also for my weight bag in photography. Works great for both.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just perfect for my project! I've never purchased rocks or pebbles before but these worked great.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied with this purchase These pebbles are the perfect accent to my retaining wall. The bags were light enough for me to handle without help. They appear a bit pink, but I like it! I will buy more of these in the future.
Date published: 2014-09-02
  • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_, sid_100558618, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT