Model # 731001

Internet #100657671

Store SKU #781111

Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
0077924081484

Weber

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

  • Two plated steel cooking grates
  • Porcelain-enameled bowl, lid, center section and water pan
  • Silicone temp grommet allows monitoring internal temp of smoker
$399.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Detailed image of smoker.

The large fuel door makes it easy to add wood or charcoal.

Detailed image of smoker.

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill.

Detailed image of smoker.

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain enamel to retain heat and for durability.

Grill width in inches.
Grill height in inches.
Grill depth in inches.

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates-enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275°F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers-(1) upper, (3) lower-each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: 1 porcelain-enameled water pan, 1 porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, 1 steel charcoal grate, 1 silicone temperature grommet and 1 premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

There is no tray for wood chips on this model? Can I use wood chips?

I am buying this for my brothers bday and it will be his first smoker. He loves to grill large for his huge family and likes to use wood chips. With no tray, can he still use the chips? Can I have this shipped his house in GA, is there a fee? Also, is this difficult to assemble? If yes, can I pay for the smoker to be assembled?
Asked by: GiftForBro
Wood Chunks work better. But chips can also be used. I threw my chips on the coals, but it seems like it gets consumed way too fast. So I have seen on the internet that some users filled a coffee can with chips and placed that in the middle of the charcoal pan, and then surrounded the coffee can with lit coals.
Answered by: MrStik
Date published: 2016-12-30

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
Asked by: Anonymous
crodon963, By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
Answered by: BBQNut
Date published: 2016-08-06

how much is the cover for this?

weber221/2 in smokey mountain
Asked by: Anonymous
The cover was included in mine.
Answered by: Steve
Date published: 2015-09-20

How difficult is it to add wood or charcoal during you cook?

Is there enough space between the water pan and the fire box to easily add fuel to the fire?
Asked by: Tigerbassin77
Not difficult at all. Just open the side door, and pop them in.
Answered by: Firsttimesmoker
Date published: 2016-12-06
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_22
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 135.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22 1/2" WSM My first attempt at smoking involved a 13 lb. brisket. My WSM was up to temp by 7am and I pulled the brisket off at 4:00pm once the meat reached an internal temp of 200". It turned out fantastic thanks to this simple and reliable smoker. It was easy to set up and fool proof once I dialed in the temperature. What I really like about this smoker is the size. I can clean it out and have it tucked back into my garden shed in no time. Set up is simple and the amount of meat I can smoke is perfect for my family.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker Available I am a certified barbeque judge and I have been using the WSM for about 4 years. It's by far the best smoker out there. Easy to light, easy to use, and with the large water pan and numerous vents controlling the temperature you can easily cook professional quality food. Once the temperature is locked in, you can pretty much go about your business and let the WSM do it's magic. Go a barbecue competition sometime and just count how many WSM's the pro's are using. If you want an easy to use smoker that will give professional results every time, get the WSM. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DO IT....JUST BUY IT....YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT We got this about a month ago. We have used it every weekend. We've done full racks of ribs, 10 lb pork butt, chick thighs, 10 lb prime rib (OMG Soooooooo good), bacon...just put the whole pound package on with whatever else you are smoking....delicious. We love it. Easy to set up (once you get the legs on the base---easier with two sets of hands for that part). Easy to use (really recommend you google "minion" lighting to get it going faster). Easy to maintain the temp. Hardest part is not peeking at the delicious stuff happening inside. Just buy it....and if you are back and forth between the 22 and the 18 inch....buy the bigger....you can smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving plus whatever else you want and it will all fit and come out perfect!
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use smoker I already owned the 18 which is really good and works perfect. I just wanted something a little bigger for ribs and large briskets. I sold an academy wood burner to by this one, the ease of use of these smokers just cant be beat. I loaded it up with ribs over the weekend and it set on 225-250 the whole time. Just set your vents before you get to your desired temp.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker ever The instructions tell you how many briquettes to use for each type of meat you're going to cook and it is spot on. I've cooked pork butt and ribs, never had to add any briquettes and both came out perfect. I put a digital grate thermometer on the top grill where my meat was going to be and found out the thermometer on the hood was 25 degrees cooler so don't trust it. It also gets condensation on the glass which makes it hard to read sometimes. The WSM comes up to temperature really fast and takes about 1/2 hour to adjust the dampers to stay at the cooking temperature you want. The first cook I wasn't sure about it so I stayed close to check the temperature throughout the cook. The second time, when I got it adjusted to 225 degrees, I felt comfortable enough to go to bed and leave it alone. About 6 hours later I checked it and had only lost 2 degrees. Once you get it set you can do other things and not have to worry about it.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love our Weber smoker! This smoker is worth the investment. It is easy to use, it holds huge amount of meat, and the water pan is very large. This means, you don't have to constantly refill and add water. The smoker cooks evenly and does a good job retaining heat. We have not smoked in winter yet, so we have no idea how it will perform in cold wearherr.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used this for several months now I bought the 22" WSM as my first smoker after doing much research on many barbecue forums. I am glad I did. It is easy to adjust heat levels and holds temperature well. I have cooked brisket flats , whole packer briskets, pork butts, pork and beef ribs and chickens which all came out great. Once you get the "feel" for the vent control you can get a long , slow smoke for 12-14 hours at 225-250 A piece of advice is to run it in the shade out of the wind as wind and direct sun can affect temps up or down. This smoker is well built, well designed and can turn a novice into a barbecue meister in a very short time. I am so glad I didn't buy an offset smoker.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the smoker We ordered the Weber smoker online and it was delivered to our local Home Depot in a couple of days free of shipping charges. We picked it up, brought it home, set up and started smoking. It was super easy to set up and came with accessories like a cover it works great, smokes delicious meats, and is fun to use.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weber Smokey mountain grill I recently purchased the weber smokey mountain and the smoker is awesome with (1) exception a $400.00 smoker with a $2.00 door unacceptable. I had seen reviews on the door on line but until I received my grill I couldn't believe how cheap and uneven the door is I love the grill but hate the door.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker My husband researched smokers and this was his choice for a Christmas gift. We have not been disappointed - we are able to smoke 2 chickens, a 14 lb turkey, 8 lb ham and 2 racks of ribs all at the same time. The food comes out tasty and moist - no need to add charcoal or mess with it once you get it started. One note: when assembling- there are 2 slightly different sizes of racks, so the smaller one goes in first (on the bottom). I also purchased the charcoal starter which works like a charm!
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker This smoker is great! I added a guru control, gasket kit, lid hinge kit, and a guru control. This thing holds temp right on the money. I have cooked ribs and chicken so far All had great smoke taste and nice and juicey! Love this grill so much I bought my dad one to.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smoker Like most all of Weber's products, the quality is outstanding. Be prepared for a learning curve when you start smoking and most of all, be patient. Unlike a gas smoker, things move slowly and you need to tend to things. Do it right and you will definitely be rewarded.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I mean…its a weber!!! Its actually my first smoker so i have no frame of reference for comparison but i doubt ill ever get anything else!!! Great smoker!! Smoked a pork shoulder for 13 hrs on one bag of kingsford blue bag and was still rolling hot!! Nuff said!!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment ever Absolutely the best smoker, if you're debating whether or not to get the 22.5" just do it you will not be disappointed. I was able to smoke a 12 lb brisket and 3 racks of baby backs with no problem, definitely a winner in my opinion.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but lacking I bought this and Home Depot delivered it before the Memorial Day Holiday, which was great because it was not suppose to get here till the 5/26.I always buy Weber products and have been satisfied, but this is lacking as a smoker. The door is a huge issue it leaks heat and of course smoke and so does the lid. In smoking those are important. The door needs replacing with a after market one that is formed correctly and make out of stainless steel and then the lid needs a gasket and a good idea for the door also. I find it hard to believe Weber does not know this, and I feel if one has too spend another $75.00 to make it work correctly then the price should be lowered or even better yet fix the problems!!! Did it work yes but used more fuel than it should of. Weber dont cheap out and send sub par parts on your products. Home Depot Thank you for the Great service.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22" WSM Love smoking on the WSM. Holds temp really well and it's easily adjustable when necessary. And LOTS of room for whatever you wan't to cook.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality , better than expected. Good service Easy to assemble, impressed that weather cover came with product. Up and running, very good smoker.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker I love this smoker makes some of the best BBQ I have ever made and simple enough to get used to it
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smokey Mountain is heavenly Great product. Easy to use and the meat comes out perfectly. Also easy to clean afterwards.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoker is awesome! Great item! Shipping was faster than expected. Fairly easy to construct. Works wonderfully!
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love my smoker great smoker work like a champ. I have used it 5 times with great results every time.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smoker I have had this smoker for about two weeks now, and it is great. It holds a large quantity of meat, so you don't have to smoke as often. The water pan is huge, and adds moisture to keep meat from drying out. Using the Minion method, I can keep it going with very little attention for 12 to 14 hours easily. For hot smoking, this is the only smoker you'll ever need. Very well built and sturdy. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in smoking meat.
Date published: 2009-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I love it! Beef rids and chicken, Check! Working my way up to a brisket! Good smoke, temperature was easy to maintain and plenty of room. The only negative think I have is the door. It not a flush fit when closed which allows smoke out and might change air flow. Putting on a gasket is a easy fix to the door leakage!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The smoke created makes you hungry. I added wheels to help with moving the smoker from storage to the outdoors. I suggest the swivel wheel set in the Home Depot storage shelves area. I then broke in the new smoker with one 20# turkey, 2 hens, 2 slabs of ribs and 8 short ribs. All cooked to perfection in 9 hours. Hint, do not add water until the temp is in the smoke range otherwise, the smoker will take longer to cook the meat.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Set it and forget it. Once you get a little used to this product and understand the air flow you can easily walk away from it for 4 hours, easily. I was able to put 8, 5 lb butts on it with no problem, set it up, took a shower, adjusted it and went to work. Got home late afternoon and threw a little more lump on and bam! Pulled pork for 70 people.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Over all with a few minor adjustments needed. Another Great Weber Product!! Could use a better fitting fuel door that seals completely. Also, upon the dry run, I noticed a lot of smoke was able to escape from the lid and the door, after a few cooks, the door has sealed well, but the lid or the center piece is def out of round and the lid is tough to remove and allows a decent amount of smoke to escape on one side. I'm sure after a few more cooks, the lid will also have enough coating on it to seal up better. Besides those two minor things, it works perfect! For the money, it is top notch!
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME PRODUCT A little expensive. BUT you get what you pay for, as always in life. Junk is cheap, this product is well worth the CASH. It is FAR from junk. We did a few Chickens, Pork, Turkey, Chicken Wings. BY FAR THE MOST MOIST MEAT WE EVER ATE. If your reading this to make up your mind. STOP. Buy it YOU will not be sorry.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definetly a step up and in the right direction I decided to step up from a cheap smoker and what a difference the right equipment makes! Nothing epitomizes the phrase go big or go home quite like the 22-1/2”. I started out with a 9 pound Brisket and a 8 pound pork butt on the same grate! I didn’t even need the lower level grate. The only detractor I have to say about this smoker is the aluminum door is on the flimsy side. But considering I had to use self-tapping screws to reattach the fuel door on my cheapo smoker this is still a big step up. The only cost you will be considering after purchasing this product will be where can I find enough meat to feed this beast!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this smoker! Love the smoker! It assembled fast and is well made. Love the water bowl as it helps keep meat juicy on those super long smokes like Boston Butt or brisquet. It has plenty of room for large roasts and birds (we smoked a Boston Butt and a 11 pound chicken on the same rack!). It maintains the heat level and the temperature gauge in the lid is great! Love my Smokey Mountain! Happy smokin' y'all!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality smoker, great smoked meat! With very limited experience, was able to produce some great smoked meat from the WSM out of the box! The 22.5" is big (maybe too big for what I need on a regular basis), but the extra size doesn't hamper my smaller smoke batches, plus I will easily be able to smoke two large turkeys at the same time for Thanksgiving!
Date published: 2011-11-13
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_134
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 211ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT