Model # 731001

Internet #100657671

Store SKU #781111

Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
0077924081484

Weber

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

  • Two plated steel cooking grates
  • Porcelain-enameled bowl, lid, center section and water pan
  • Silicone temp grommet allows monitoring internal temp of smoker
$39900 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Detailed image of smoker.

The large fuel door makes it easy to add wood or charcoal.

Detailed image of smoker.

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill.

Detailed image of smoker.

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain enamel to retain heat and for durability.

Grill width in inches.
Grill height in inches.
Grill depth in inches.

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates-enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275°F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers-(1) upper, (3) lower-each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: 1 porcelain-enameled water pan, 1 porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, 1 steel charcoal grate, 1 silicone temperature grommet and 1 premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

There is no tray for wood chips on this model? Can I use wood chips?

I am buying this for my brothers bday and it will be his first smoker. He loves to grill large for his huge family and likes to use wood chips. With no tray, can he still use the chips? Can I have this shipped his house in GA, is there a fee? Also, is this difficult to assemble? If yes, can I pay for the smoker to be assembled?
Asked by: GiftForBro
Wood Chunks work better. But chips can also be used. I threw my chips on the coals, but it seems like it gets consumed way too fast. So I have seen on the internet that some users filled a coffee can with chips and placed that in the middle of the charcoal pan, and then surrounded the coffee can with lit coals.
Answered by: MrStik
Date published: 2016-12-30

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
Asked by: Anonymous
crodon963, By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
Answered by: BBQNut
Date published: 2016-08-06

how much is the cover for this?

weber221/2 in smokey mountain
Asked by: Anonymous
The cover was included in mine.
Answered by: Steve
Date published: 2015-09-20

How difficult is it to add wood or charcoal during you cook?

Is there enough space between the water pan and the fire box to easily add fuel to the fire?
Asked by: Tigerbassin77
Not difficult at all. Just open the side door, and pop them in.
Answered by: Firsttimesmoker
Date published: 2016-12-06
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Smoker!!! I have used my new Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker several times already and I could kick myself for not listening to every other reviewer of this product. I could have saved myeslf a lot of time, effort and meat. I have 4 other smokers and I can tell you this...I will never use one of them again. The build quality on the Weber is great. Heavy steel with every part fitting like a glove. Temp control is constant plus or minus 5 degrees for over 12 hours and never had to add more charcoal!! The absolute PERFECT smoker!!! Do yourself a favor and spend the little extra money and get it right the first time!
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got what I expected. I've used this smoker in the past and was looking forward to getting my hands on a real smoker once again. The 22 1/2" is big enough that I could cook 6 pork butts at once if I want, but not so big that it is a waste of fuel for dinner for 2. So happy I got this size instead of the 18". I love the adjustable sausage hanging rack I bought along with it. I have been smoking my own Kielbasa, Landjagers, bacon, and natural cased wieners right after I seasoned it. I did 3 practice burns with scrap meat to season it in and get some smoke and grease in it, It has been getting a heavy workout in just a few months. I just love it. works fantastic
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this smoker! Love this smoker so much that I ran out and purchased a second one! I would recommend using high quality natural wood charcoal and not briquettes when smoking. The hardwood charcoal, like Hickory or Mesquite, will give your food a much better flavor as well as last much longer. Major two thumbs up on the WSM 22"
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! My smoker was delivered in perfect condition. I made my first trial run on it yesterday with just 2 racks of baby back ribs and they were perfect! I got the vents dialed in to 230 degrees, threw the meat on and 6 hours later had fall of the bone baby backs! I checked the temp often and it never budged. It also never needed any more water. Great Weber smoker!
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, works great I am in love. Have had this smoker for less than a month and have used it at least twice a week since I got it. I find my self looking for excuses to head to the meat counter or the butcher shop. Food cooked on it is awesome. It is easy to assemble, use, and maintain. The water pan is very helpful in keeping the temperature steady. I have never had a smoker so I cannot compare it to any others, but if this ever wears out I will get another.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite New Cooking Tool I have to say that I did my research and looked at the electric smokers. I am so glad I bought an actual wood smoker and not a pellet one. I have used it twice so far and the food comes out incredible. The temp stays right within range with minor vent adjustments when adding charcoal or wood. Comes right up to temp within minutes. I love this product and can not say enough. The only thing I would suggest is if you are buying this for your family, you may want to consider the smaller version. I bought the 22" and while it is great for a lot of stuff, my family of four would have a hard time eating 20 chicken legs, 4 cuts of salmon, 10 pieces of corn, a tray of potatoes and a handful of carrots. You just use more charcoal than you might want to for a single chicken. I do not mind though, just cook for friends etc.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great smoker! I've been using a traditional offset smoker for about 5 years. Although I've grown accustomed to the rituals of maintaining a proper smoking temp in it, I've now realized how much work it really is. The first time I lit up this weber, I was amazed at how low-maintenance it is. For a short while I actually thought the thermometer was broken and stuck on 225; It does a phenomenal job at maintaining smoke temp without the babysitting. That means more sleep during overnight cooks. I've already cooked a few briskets and pork ribs with great results. Looking forward to cooking a variety of foods with this thing. BTW, I'm glad I chose the 22". Enough room for large briskets, turkeys, and entire rib racks without having to modify the meat. If you're on the fence, jump to this side. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker for the Money...but note my installation issues, or you may be sorry I love it and give the smoker 5 stars...where has it been all my life. First thing I made was pork butt......juicy lucy, unbelievable, then monster beef ribs, and pork baby backs....everything perfection!! However, I recommend to install it indoors and not on a deck. The leg assembly requires a washer to be placed between the leg metal and the base of the unit. Can't be done without it sliding out while you try to maneuver the screw in....They slip out, and fall on the ground. If you are working on the deck, like I did, the little buggahs find their way between the slats of your decking, thus making them irretrievable. And, no, they give no extras, exact amount that you need. So, either do it indoors, in a garage, or make sure you have some spare silicone washers around the house.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I have owned my WSM 22.5 for about a year now. This smoker is simply amazing! It gets up to temp very quickly and is easy to control using the vents. Very glad I spent a little extra for the 22.5, because I know I would have wanted to upgrade by now. You cannot go wrong with this if you are serious about smoking some of the best bbq of your life.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Smoker You Will Need Weber has answered the call with this one. I love this Smoker. Even comes with a cover. Very easy to use, break down and clean. Large access door for adding water, fuel or wood. Plenty of room for large racks of ribs, briskets, turkeys or anything you can throw at it. By using the "Minion Method" you can get 14+ hours without refueling. Temperatures can be dialed in using the bottom vents with ease. Compared to other Smokers that require constant attention, this one can be set and forgot for hours. The only issues I have is the vents sometimes stick. That can be fixed with a little vegetable oil. The bottom vent stop tabs hit the charcoal grade interfering with closing them. Just break off the 2 two top tabs and all is good. Great product and combined with Weber's proven long lasting quality this one is a no brainer.
Date published: 2009-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great smoker. Great smoker. Heed the advice and get a chimney starter. Also, it will consume more wood than you think you need. If your temperature starts running hot, remember to check your water level to see if it is low. I would buy this again.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid cooker, but needs some improvements This is a great cooker but I'm surprised that given all the well-known leak issues that Weber have not made any improvements to the design. The aluminum door doesn't sit flush with the cooker and also doesn't help retain heat as well. There were still leaks from where the lid sits on the cooker after a half dozen cooks. What you'll need to get is the stainless steel door and some nomex insulation tape to make this cooker super solid. On a 15.4 lb bag of Kingsford blue, I've been able achieve around 15 hours at 225F.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22 1/2" WSM My first attempt at smoking involved a 13 lb. brisket. My WSM was up to temp by 7am and I pulled the brisket off at 4:00pm once the meat reached an internal temp of 200". It turned out fantastic thanks to this simple and reliable smoker. It was easy to set up and fool proof once I dialed in the temperature. What I really like about this smoker is the size. I can clean it out and have it tucked back into my garden shed in no time. Set up is simple and the amount of meat I can smoke is perfect for my family.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Set it and Leave it I have 5 grills and smokers. This one is well thought out and built great for cooking\smoking all kinds of meat, fish, poultry and is big enough to smoke a Turkey. The best thing about it is you do not have to babysit it. Start the fire, put on the meat and leave it alone. The water bowl does a great job of controlling the temperature. Clean up is easy too. I put the 2 grills in the dishwasher which cleans them about 90%. Just a little hand washing to clean the stubborn left over.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker Available I am a certified barbeque judge and I have been using the WSM for about 4 years. It's by far the best smoker out there. Easy to light, easy to use, and with the large water pan and numerous vents controlling the temperature you can easily cook professional quality food. Once the temperature is locked in, you can pretty much go about your business and let the WSM do it's magic. Go a barbecue competition sometime and just count how many WSM's the pro's are using. If you want an easy to use smoker that will give professional results every time, get the WSM. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DO IT....JUST BUY IT....YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT We got this about a month ago. We have used it every weekend. We've done full racks of ribs, 10 lb pork butt, chick thighs, 10 lb prime rib (OMG Soooooooo good), bacon...just put the whole pound package on with whatever else you are smoking....delicious. We love it. Easy to set up (once you get the legs on the base---easier with two sets of hands for that part). Easy to use (really recommend you google "minion" lighting to get it going faster). Easy to maintain the temp. Hardest part is not peeking at the delicious stuff happening inside. Just buy it....and if you are back and forth between the 22 and the 18 inch....buy the bigger....you can smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving plus whatever else you want and it will all fit and come out perfect!
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time user This smoker is so easy to use but the assembly instructions leave a lot to be desired. Once it's together, Add lots of unlit charcoal in the bottom. Dump prelit coals ontop, put the center section, cooking grates and lid on, adjust vents for desired heat, slap your meat on and your smoking!! I made 4 racks of baby back ribs in 4 1/2 hours and they tasted like I was a pit master! You can not go wrong with this water smoker. It holds temperature forever also!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use smoker I already owned the 18 which is really good and works perfect. I just wanted something a little bigger for ribs and large briskets. I sold an academy wood burner to by this one, the ease of use of these smokers just cant be beat. I loaded it up with ribs over the weekend and it set on 225-250 the whole time. Just set your vents before you get to your desired temp.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker ever The instructions tell you how many briquettes to use for each type of meat you're going to cook and it is spot on. I've cooked pork butt and ribs, never had to add any briquettes and both came out perfect. I put a digital grate thermometer on the top grill where my meat was going to be and found out the thermometer on the hood was 25 degrees cooler so don't trust it. It also gets condensation on the glass which makes it hard to read sometimes. The WSM comes up to temperature really fast and takes about 1/2 hour to adjust the dampers to stay at the cooking temperature you want. The first cook I wasn't sure about it so I stayed close to check the temperature throughout the cook. The second time, when I got it adjusted to 225 degrees, I felt comfortable enough to go to bed and leave it alone. About 6 hours later I checked it and had only lost 2 degrees. Once you get it set you can do other things and not have to worry about it.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love our Weber smoker! This smoker is worth the investment. It is easy to use, it holds huge amount of meat, and the water pan is very large. This means, you don't have to constantly refill and add water. The smoker cooks evenly and does a good job retaining heat. We have not smoked in winter yet, so we have no idea how it will perform in cold wearherr.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used this for several months now I bought the 22" WSM as my first smoker after doing much research on many barbecue forums. I am glad I did. It is easy to adjust heat levels and holds temperature well. I have cooked brisket flats , whole packer briskets, pork butts, pork and beef ribs and chickens which all came out great. Once you get the "feel" for the vent control you can get a long , slow smoke for 12-14 hours at 225-250 A piece of advice is to run it in the shade out of the wind as wind and direct sun can affect temps up or down. This smoker is well built, well designed and can turn a novice into a barbecue meister in a very short time. I am so glad I didn't buy an offset smoker.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the smoker We ordered the Weber smoker online and it was delivered to our local Home Depot in a couple of days free of shipping charges. We picked it up, brought it home, set up and started smoking. It was super easy to set up and came with accessories like a cover it works great, smokes delicious meats, and is fun to use.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. My son in law has one and uses it in competition BBQ contests. The only issue I ... Great product. My son in law has one and uses it in competition BBQ contests. The only issue I had was to buy the 18" or 22". He talked me into the bugger unit. I had it shipped to the local Home Depot store and they put it all together. The only thing I had to do was start smoking.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker This smoker is great! I added a guru control, gasket kit, lid hinge kit, and a guru control. This thing holds temp right on the money. I have cooked ribs and chicken so far All had great smoke taste and nice and juicey! Love this grill so much I bought my dad one to.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I mean…its a weber!!! Its actually my first smoker so i have no frame of reference for comparison but i doubt ill ever get anything else!!! Great smoker!! Smoked a pork shoulder for 13 hrs on one bag of kingsford blue bag and was still rolling hot!! Nuff said!!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment ever Absolutely the best smoker, if you're debating whether or not to get the 22.5" just do it you will not be disappointed. I was able to smoke a 12 lb brisket and 3 racks of baby backs with no problem, definitely a winner in my opinion.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker My husband researched smokers and this was his choice for a Christmas gift. We have not been disappointed - we are able to smoke 2 chickens, a 14 lb turkey, 8 lb ham and 2 racks of ribs all at the same time. The food comes out tasty and moist - no need to add charcoal or mess with it once you get it started. One note: when assembling- there are 2 slightly different sizes of racks, so the smaller one goes in first (on the bottom). I also purchased the charcoal starter which works like a charm!
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality equipment and results Easy to assemble. Was missing a small piece that Weber overnighted to me when I called. Smoked a turkey in it for Thanksgiving in about 6 hours. Best ever.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Smoker!!!! Top notch product! Meats come out tender, smoky, and delicious. Easy to use and a great design. I couldn't ask for a better smoker.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality , better than expected. Good service Easy to assemble, impressed that weather cover came with product. Up and running, very good smoker.
Date published: 2016-08-09
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_155
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 254ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT