Model # 731001

Internet #100657671

Store SKU #781111

Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
0077924081484

Weber

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

  • Equipped with two cooking grates for double the grilling capacity
  • Porcelain-enameled lid and bowl retain heat for superior grilling
  • Built-in thermometer to monitor internal temperature of smoker
$39900 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Detailed image of smoker.

The large fuel door makes it easy to add wood or charcoal.

Detailed image of smoker.

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill.

Detailed image of smoker.

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain enamel to retain heat and for durability.

Grill width in inches.
Grill height in inches.
Grill depth in inches.

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates-enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275°F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers-(1) upper, (3) lower-each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: 1 porcelain-enameled water pan, 1 porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, 1 steel charcoal grate, 1 silicone temperature grommet and 1 premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
24 in
Assembled Height (in.)
48.5 in
Assembled Width (in.)
23 in
Cooking space (sq. in.)
726

Details

Accessories Included
Grill Cover
Cooking Features
No Additional Features
Grill Color Family
Black
Grill Wheels
None
Grill/Smoker Category
Vertical Smoker
Grill/Smoker Features
No Additional Features
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type
Charcoal
Ignition Type
Manual
Material
Steel
Number of Cooking Racks
2 Racks
Outdoor Living Product Type
Smoker
Product Weight (lb.)
68lb
Returnable
90-Day
Total BTU
0 Btu

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
ANSI Certified,CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

There is no tray for wood chips on this model? Can I use wood chips?

I am buying this for my brothers bday and it will be his first smoker. He loves to grill large for his huge family and likes to use wood chips. With no tray, can he still use the chips? Can I have this shipped his house in GA, is there a fee? Also, is this difficult to assemble? If yes, can I pay for the smoker to be assembled?
Asked by: GiftForBro
Wood Chunks work better. But chips can also be used. I threw my chips on the coals, but it seems like it gets consumed way too fast. So I have seen on the internet that some users filled a coffee can with chips and placed that in the middle of the charcoal pan, and then surrounded the coffee can with lit coals.
Answered by: MrStik
Date published: 2016-12-30

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
Asked by: Anonymous
crodon963, By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
Answered by: BBQNut
Date published: 2016-08-06

how much is the cover for this?

weber221/2 in smokey mountain
Asked by: Anonymous
The cover was included in mine.
Answered by: Steve
Date published: 2015-09-20

How difficult is it to add wood or charcoal during you cook?

Is there enough space between the water pan and the fire box to easily add fuel to the fire?
Asked by: Tigerbassin77
Not difficult at all. Just open the side door, and pop them in.
Answered by: Firsttimesmoker
Date published: 2016-12-06
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_9CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 92ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 161.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great smoker! I've been using a traditional offset smoker for about 5 years. Although I've grown accustomed to the rituals of maintaining a proper smoking temp in it, I've now realized how much work it really is. The first time I lit up this weber, I was amazed at how low-maintenance it is. For a short while I actually thought the thermometer was broken and stuck on 225; It does a phenomenal job at maintaining smoke temp without the babysitting. That means more sleep during overnight cooks. I've already cooked a few briskets and pork ribs with great results. Looking forward to cooking a variety of foods with this thing. BTW, I'm glad I chose the 22". Enough room for large briskets, turkeys, and entire rib racks without having to modify the meat. If you're on the fence, jump to this side. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker for the Money...but note my installation issues, or you may be sorry I love it and give the smoker 5 stars...where has it been all my life. First thing I made was pork butt......juicy lucy, unbelievable, then monster beef ribs, and pork baby backs....everything perfection!! However, I recommend to install it indoors and not on a deck. The leg assembly requires a washer to be placed between the leg metal and the base of the unit. Can't be done without it sliding out while you try to maneuver the screw in....They slip out, and fall on the ground. If you are working on the deck, like I did, the little buggahs find their way between the slats of your decking, thus making them irretrievable. And, no, they give no extras, exact amount that you need. So, either do it indoors, in a garage, or make sure you have some spare silicone washers around the house.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I have owned my WSM 22.5 for about a year now. This smoker is simply amazing! It gets up to temp very quickly and is easy to control using the vents. Very glad I spent a little extra for the 22.5, because I know I would have wanted to upgrade by now. You cannot go wrong with this if you are serious about smoking some of the best bbq of your life.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My product arrived on the wings of the Valkyrie's winged horse granting me the powers of the Nors... My product arrived on the wings of the Valkyrie's winged horse granting me the powers of the Norse Gods to create magical items of the smoked food nature. Once the item was put together (easy directions praise Odin) and the spirit of Thor was placed in my magical item created smoke to the heavens that lasted all day on a single bag of charcoal. While some may complain that the door on the side is of flimsy material and allows the smoke of the gods to escape I like to believe that my offering is being shared with me as well. I look forward to using this device for many years to come and it joins the pantheon of many smokers residing in my backyard offering golden delicious meals and smells to all who worship.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Smoker You Will Need Weber has answered the call with this one. I love this Smoker. Even comes with a cover. Very easy to use, break down and clean. Large access door for adding water, fuel or wood. Plenty of room for large racks of ribs, briskets, turkeys or anything you can throw at it. By using the "Minion Method" you can get 14+ hours without refueling. Temperatures can be dialed in using the bottom vents with ease. Compared to other Smokers that require constant attention, this one can be set and forgot for hours. The only issues I have is the vents sometimes stick. That can be fixed with a little vegetable oil. The bottom vent stop tabs hit the charcoal grade interfering with closing them. Just break off the 2 two top tabs and all is good. Great product and combined with Weber's proven long lasting quality this one is a no brainer.
Date published: 2009-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great smoker. Great smoker. Heed the advice and get a chimney starter. Also, it will consume more wood than you think you need. If your temperature starts running hot, remember to check your water level to see if it is low. I would buy this again.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid cooker, but needs some improvements This is a great cooker but I'm surprised that given all the well-known leak issues that Weber have not made any improvements to the design. The aluminum door doesn't sit flush with the cooker and also doesn't help retain heat as well. There were still leaks from where the lid sits on the cooker after a half dozen cooks. What you'll need to get is the stainless steel door and some nomex insulation tape to make this cooker super solid. On a 15.4 lb bag of Kingsford blue, I've been able achieve around 15 hours at 225F.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Set it and Leave it I have 5 grills and smokers. This one is well thought out and built great for cooking\smoking all kinds of meat, fish, poultry and is big enough to smoke a Turkey. The best thing about it is you do not have to babysit it. Start the fire, put on the meat and leave it alone. The water bowl does a great job of controlling the temperature. Clean up is easy too. I put the 2 grills in the dishwasher which cleans them about 90%. Just a little hand washing to clean the stubborn left over.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker Available I am a certified barbeque judge and I have been using the WSM for about 4 years. It's by far the best smoker out there. Easy to light, easy to use, and with the large water pan and numerous vents controlling the temperature you can easily cook professional quality food. Once the temperature is locked in, you can pretty much go about your business and let the WSM do it's magic. Go a barbecue competition sometime and just count how many WSM's the pro's are using. If you want an easy to use smoker that will give professional results every time, get the WSM. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time user This smoker is so easy to use but the assembly instructions leave a lot to be desired. Once it's together, Add lots of unlit charcoal in the bottom. Dump prelit coals ontop, put the center section, cooking grates and lid on, adjust vents for desired heat, slap your meat on and your smoking!! I made 4 racks of baby back ribs in 4 1/2 hours and they tasted like I was a pit master! You can not go wrong with this water smoker. It holds temperature forever also!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used this for several months now I bought the 22" WSM as my first smoker after doing much research on many barbecue forums. I am glad I did. It is easy to adjust heat levels and holds temperature well. I have cooked brisket flats , whole packer briskets, pork butts, pork and beef ribs and chickens which all came out great. Once you get the "feel" for the vent control you can get a long , slow smoke for 12-14 hours at 225-250 A piece of advice is to run it in the shade out of the wind as wind and direct sun can affect temps up or down. This smoker is well built, well designed and can turn a novice into a barbecue meister in a very short time. I am so glad I didn't buy an offset smoker.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. My son in law has one and uses it in competition BBQ contests. The only issue I ... Great product. My son in law has one and uses it in competition BBQ contests. The only issue I had was to buy the 18" or 22". He talked me into the bugger unit. I had it shipped to the local Home Depot store and they put it all together. The only thing I had to do was start smoking.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker This smoker is great! I added a guru control, gasket kit, lid hinge kit, and a guru control. This thing holds temp right on the money. I have cooked ribs and chicken so far All had great smoke taste and nice and juicey! Love this grill so much I bought my dad one to.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooker It holds steady temps and the food has great flavor. I did buy a different, more heavy duty door for it that I found online and will add a BBQ Guru to make temp control even easier. I may add a hinge assembly for the lid too, but that's it. Great cooker...
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent smoker Meets all our expectations, get the thermpro thermometer for perfect results. Smoked a pork roast that was so tender using the thermpro which tells you the temp of the meat and the smoker and it is portable up to 300 feet!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We originally introduced ourselves to smoking using the Weber grill and the smokenator.... Love it! We originally introduced ourselves to smoking using the Weber grill and the smokenator. After a year of smoking we decided to upgrade to a "real" smoker. The 22 1/2 in is huge and we can get a lot of meat on it.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker ever! This Smoker is great. You can control the temperature so easily, which we found not to be the case with a smoker with a side box. The brisket my husband smoked turned out so juicy and good. Next test: ribs!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smoker My husband researched smokers and this was his choice for a Christmas gift. We have not been disappointed - we are able to smoke 2 chickens, a 14 lb turkey, 8 lb ham and 2 racks of ribs all at the same time. The food comes out tasty and moist - no need to add charcoal or mess with it once you get it started. One note: when assembling- there are 2 slightly different sizes of racks, so the smaller one goes in first (on the bottom). I also purchased the charcoal starter which works like a charm!
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased this on Black Friday and after 2 weeks of anxiously waiting. I finally got to use it... I purchased this on Black Friday and after 2 weeks of anxiously waiting. I finally got to use it. I found this smoker very easy to set up and very easy to use. Use the Weber Chimney to start a pile of charcoal, load up the charcoal pan and assemble. Once it gets to the desired temperature, just play with the intake dampers to dial in the temp, and load up the meat. I found that once the temperature is set, that it holds up very well. I smoked a couple of Tri Tips for a couple hours and they turned out perfect. Usual complaints that were well documented before I made the purchase were the thermometer. I use a probe BBQ thermometer as I am well aware that these stock ones (on all grills and smokers) are never accurate. So that was a non issue as I had already invested in a good thermometer for other purposes already. Also the door, seemed very poorly made and didn't seal. I found out that during the first cook, that it leaked a lot, but as it "seasoned" during the cook, that it started to self seal. The second cook, the door was practically sealed. Overall I am extremely happy with this product.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality equipment and results Easy to assemble. Was missing a small piece that Weber overnighted to me when I called. Smoked a turkey in it for Thanksgiving in about 6 hours. Best ever.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well built product - Only down side is the access door. Other than the access door product is gr... Well built product - Only down side is the access door. Other than the access door product is great and Weber service is excellent.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Smoker!!!! Top notch product! Meats come out tender, smoky, and delicious. Easy to use and a great design. I couldn't ask for a better smoker.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh yeah! Best smoker thus far. Love the product. The size and quantity of meats that fit is amazing. 10!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love my smoker great smoker work like a champ. I have used it 5 times with great results every time.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This smoker was easy to assemble but the heat shield... This smoker was easy to assemble but the heat shield was mistakenly not included.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy assembly, cooks well. Temp gauge nice compared to older models without. Easy assembly, cooks well. Temp gauge nice compared to older models without.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loves this smoker! beats all the ones he has had! My husband loves this smoker! beats all the ones he has had!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a Christmas gift. I'll know after 12/25 This is a Christmas gift. I'll know after 12/25
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love my WSM Absolutely love my WSM
Date published: 2017-01-31
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_160
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT