Model # 731001

Internet #100657671

Store SKU #781111

Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
0077924081484

Weber

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

  • Two plated steel cooking grates
  • Porcelain-enameled bowl, lid, center section and water pan
  • Silicone temp grommet allows monitoring internal temp of smoker
$39900 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Detailed image of smoker.

The large fuel door makes it easy to add wood or charcoal.

Detailed image of smoker.

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill.

Detailed image of smoker.

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain enamel to retain heat and for durability.

Grill width in inches.
Grill height in inches.
Grill depth in inches.

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates-enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275°F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers-(1) upper, (3) lower-each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: 1 porcelain-enameled water pan, 1 porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, 1 steel charcoal grate, 1 silicone temperature grommet and 1 premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

There is no tray for wood chips on this model? Can I use wood chips?

I am buying this for my brothers bday and it will be his first smoker. He loves to grill large for his huge family and likes to use wood chips. With no tray, can he still use the chips? Can I have this shipped his house in GA, is there a fee? Also, is this difficult to assemble? If yes, can I pay for the smoker to be assembled?
Asked by: GiftForBro
Wood Chunks work better. But chips can also be used. I threw my chips on the coals, but it seems like it gets consumed way too fast. So I have seen on the internet that some users filled a coffee can with chips and placed that in the middle of the charcoal pan, and then surrounded the coffee can with lit coals.
Answered by: MrStik
Date published: 2016-12-30

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
Asked by: Anonymous
crodon963, By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
Answered by: BBQNut
Date published: 2016-08-06

how much is the cover for this?

weber221/2 in smokey mountain
Asked by: Anonymous
The cover was included in mine.
Answered by: Steve
Date published: 2015-09-20

How difficult is it to add wood or charcoal during you cook?

Is there enough space between the water pan and the fire box to easily add fuel to the fire?
Asked by: Tigerbassin77
Not difficult at all. Just open the side door, and pop them in.
Answered by: Firsttimesmoker
Date published: 2016-12-06
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 103ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh yeah! Best smoker thus far. Love the product. The size and quantity of meats that fit is amazing. 10!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoker is awesome! Great item! Shipping was faster than expected. Fairly easy to construct. Works wonderfully!
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love my smoker great smoker work like a champ. I have used it 5 times with great results every time.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a Christmas gift. I'll know after 12/25 This is a Christmas gift. I'll know after 12/25
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smoker I have had this smoker for about two weeks now, and it is great. It holds a large quantity of meat, so you don't have to smoke as often. The water pan is huge, and adds moisture to keep meat from drying out. Using the Minion method, I can keep it going with very little attention for 12 to 14 hours easily. For hot smoking, this is the only smoker you'll ever need. Very well built and sturdy. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in smoking meat.
Date published: 2009-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I love it! Beef rids and chicken, Check! Working my way up to a brisket! Good smoke, temperature was easy to maintain and plenty of room. The only negative think I have is the door. It not a flush fit when closed which allows smoke out and might change air flow. Putting on a gasket is a easy fix to the door leakage!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The smoke created makes you hungry. I added wheels to help with moving the smoker from storage to the outdoors. I suggest the swivel wheel set in the Home Depot storage shelves area. I then broke in the new smoker with one 20# turkey, 2 hens, 2 slabs of ribs and 8 short ribs. All cooked to perfection in 9 hours. Hint, do not add water until the temp is in the smoke range otherwise, the smoker will take longer to cook the meat.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Set it and forget it. Once you get a little used to this product and understand the air flow you can easily walk away from it for 4 hours, easily. I was able to put 8, 5 lb butts on it with no problem, set it up, took a shower, adjusted it and went to work. Got home late afternoon and threw a little more lump on and bam! Pulled pork for 70 people.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but lacking I bought this and Home Depot delivered it before the Memorial Day Holiday, which was great because it was not suppose to get here till the 5/26.I always buy Weber products and have been satisfied, but this is lacking as a smoker. The door is a huge issue it leaks heat and of course smoke and so does the lid. In smoking those are important. The door needs replacing with a after market one that is formed correctly and make out of stainless steel and then the lid needs a gasket and a good idea for the door also. I find it hard to believe Weber does not know this, and I feel if one has too spend another $75.00 to make it work correctly then the price should be lowered or even better yet fix the problems!!! Did it work yes but used more fuel than it should of. Weber dont cheap out and send sub par parts on your products. Home Depot Thank you for the Great service.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Over all with a few minor adjustments needed. Another Great Weber Product!! Could use a better fitting fuel door that seals completely. Also, upon the dry run, I noticed a lot of smoke was able to escape from the lid and the door, after a few cooks, the door has sealed well, but the lid or the center piece is def out of round and the lid is tough to remove and allows a decent amount of smoke to escape on one side. I'm sure after a few more cooks, the lid will also have enough coating on it to seal up better. Besides those two minor things, it works perfect! For the money, it is top notch!
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definetly a step up and in the right direction I decided to step up from a cheap smoker and what a difference the right equipment makes! Nothing epitomizes the phrase go big or go home quite like the 22-1/2”. I started out with a 9 pound Brisket and a 8 pound pork butt on the same grate! I didn’t even need the lower level grate. The only detractor I have to say about this smoker is the aluminum door is on the flimsy side. But considering I had to use self-tapping screws to reattach the fuel door on my cheapo smoker this is still a big step up. The only cost you will be considering after purchasing this product will be where can I find enough meat to feed this beast!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME PRODUCT A little expensive. BUT you get what you pay for, as always in life. Junk is cheap, this product is well worth the CASH. It is FAR from junk. We did a few Chickens, Pork, Turkey, Chicken Wings. BY FAR THE MOST MOIST MEAT WE EVER ATE. If your reading this to make up your mind. STOP. Buy it YOU will not be sorry.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this smoker! Love the smoker! It assembled fast and is well made. Love the water bowl as it helps keep meat juicy on those super long smokes like Boston Butt or brisquet. It has plenty of room for large roasts and birds (we smoked a Boston Butt and a 11 pound chicken on the same rack!). It maintains the heat level and the temperature gauge in the lid is great! Love my Smokey Mountain! Happy smokin' y'all!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality smoker, great smoked meat! With very limited experience, was able to produce some great smoked meat from the WSM out of the box! The 22.5" is big (maybe too big for what I need on a regular basis), but the extra size doesn't hamper my smaller smoke batches, plus I will easily be able to smoke two large turkeys at the same time for Thanksgiving!
Date published: 2011-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smoker for the money I smoked a 15lb of pork butt, I had it split into 2 different chunks. It turned out great. I thought i would use more charcaol than i did ....smoke time was 12 hours and I only used about 2/3 of bag of charcoal. i was easy to adjust the tempature of the unit. the thermometer that comes with the unit is worthless, need to buy a good digital smoker to monitor the tempature accuratly.
Date published: 2012-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Finally moved out of an apartment and into a house and decided to get a smoker to celebrate. Cooked an 11 lb brisket on the ol' girl that turned out amazing. Easy to assemble, held temperature well and it doesn't take up near as much space as an offset smoker. Home Depot shipped it for free and it actually came in two days early. Couldn't be more pleased with this purchace.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker Very, very happy with the WSM 22-1/2 inch smoker. It was easy to assemble, and is very well built and designed. After just a couple of test burns I was able to keep the termperature range right in the sweet spot for smoking. Also got the Weber chimney starter and it is must-have; got the coals started in about 10 minutes for the Minion method. You'll be very happy with this smoker!
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker HANDS. DOWN. Can't say enough good things about the WSM 22.5". Set up was a snap, and we were smoking the same day. It's like it comes out of the box at 250 degrees and holds it temps like no other smoker I've ever owned. If you're serious about your BBQ, you need a WSM.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22 1/2 " Weber Smoker Great smoker. Does an great job and very easy to use. And, does not take up a lot of room.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Smoker! If you're looking for a smoker that's pretty much set it and forget it, this is for you. Solid design and quality parts we've come to expect from Weber. Let this smoker "season" for a few cooks, and the part interface leaks will seal right up.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weber stands up to its name of quality Much better than the less expensive canister smokers...I am a firm beliver in you get what you paid for, and this product does not dissapoint...its huge, well built and maintains temp for hours
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for Talked to several people that currently own a WSM and everyone recommended it highly. Now you can add me to that list.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smoker. Very easy to use and great results. Very glad I spent a little more on the 22.5 inch model. Allows me go smoke two things at once. I love it.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I got the 22 1/2 inch...probably could have gone with the 18 as I'm not cooking for 50 people, but I love it. Easy to set up, use, and clean up.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! Fantastic smoker. After experimenting with foil balls on the grill, then using the classic bullet smoker that everyone has because of the price - this thing is a Rolls Royce. The Brinkman was small, and I did a lot of modifications just to get decent BBQ. Now, with the WSM our BBQ's have become a tradition with friends. Extremely well put together, durable, moveable (although I'd recommend taking it apart in the sections and moving). The only two downsides are that the thermometer reads about 19 degrees lower than actual temp (but that is much better than the "warm/ideal/hot" on the Brinkman) plus you really need a quality meat thermometer anyways. My only other issue is that you need 2 hands to take the top off. Maybe that's just because the quality is so good that it locks itself in place? Only "modifications" I've done here were placing a 9 inch stone in the center of the grate and horseshoe my coal around that. Dump your hot coals on the one end and you have great fuel for several hours. I also purchased a gasket kit. May be overkill but we use this thing a ton. I can't recommend this enough. Spring for the larger one, as I feel you may regret not getting it once you use the 18in and get addicted. I can't stress enough how well the temperature control is on this.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Weber Smokey Mountain Smokers Should Cost Twice as Much I've been smoking meat on an offset stick burner for years...and it has done well. The problem is, it worked me to death, because it wouldn't hold temp for very long. That is not the case with this 22.5" WSM. I've cooked on it 4 times so far, including two overnight cooks, and it has been amazing. On both overnight cooks, I went to bed and left it alone all night...no problem, still holding temp the next morning. I could never do that with an offset. The last overnight pork butt I smoked was a 9 pounder that took 14 hours at 235*. The WSM never waivered. I did use one large bag of Kingsford, but only one of my normal post oak splits that I use on the offset, cut up into fist sized chunks. For a 14 hour smoke on the offset, I would've used 22-25 splits. It has almost twice the cooking surface of the XL BGE, but at 1/3 the price. I added the wheels myself...very simple mod. The only problem I see with the 22.5" WSM is it's making me lazy.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with my decision to go with the Smoky Mountain Cooker I bought my Weber Smoky Mountain Cooker about six weeks ago and I have used it every weekend since. Assembly wasn't bad and the smoker is definitely the quality I've come to expect from Weber. I did have to drive a little to find the 22.5" model since most stores in my area stock only the 18.5" but I feel like the extra cooking area was well worth the drive and extra $100. So far, ribs, brisket, wings, whole chickens and Boston butt have all been successes. The only issue I see is that my Weber Genesis gas grill is getting a little jealous.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality doesn't cost it saves you in the long run I'm sure you can find other smokers at a lower cost but the quality of Weber's manufacturing process makes this smoker one that will last for a long time. It arrived on schedule, and was easy to assemble. I'm very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Im new to smoking but so far eveything Ive done in the WSM has been delicious. Very happy with it.
Date published: 2011-06-09
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_155
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 226ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT