Model # 731001

Internet #100657671

Store SKU #781111

Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
0077924081484

Weber

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

  • Two plated steel cooking grates
  • Porcelain-enameled bowl, lid, center section and water pan
  • Silicone temp grommet allows monitoring internal temp of smoker
$399.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Detailed image of smoker.

The large fuel door makes it easy to add wood or charcoal.

Detailed image of smoker.

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill.

Detailed image of smoker.

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain enamel to retain heat and for durability.

Grill width in inches.
Grill height in inches.
Grill depth in inches.

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates-enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275°F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers-(1) upper, (3) lower-each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: 1 porcelain-enameled water pan, 1 porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, 1 steel charcoal grate, 1 silicone temperature grommet and 1 premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

There is no tray for wood chips on this model? Can I use wood chips?

I am buying this for my brothers bday and it will be his first smoker. He loves to grill large for his huge family and likes to use wood chips. With no tray, can he still use the chips? Can I have this shipped his house in GA, is there a fee? Also, is this difficult to assemble? If yes, can I pay for the smoker to be assembled?
Asked by: GiftForBro
Wood Chunks work better. But chips can also be used. I threw my chips on the coals, but it seems like it gets consumed way too fast. So I have seen on the internet that some users filled a coffee can with chips and placed that in the middle of the charcoal pan, and then surrounded the coffee can with lit coals.
Answered by: MrStik
Date published: 2016-12-30

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
Asked by: Anonymous
crodon963, By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
Answered by: BBQNut
Date published: 2016-08-06

how much is the cover for this?

weber221/2 in smokey mountain
Asked by: Anonymous
The cover was included in mine.
Answered by: Steve
Date published: 2015-09-20

How difficult is it to add wood or charcoal during you cook?

Is there enough space between the water pan and the fire box to easily add fuel to the fire?
Asked by: Tigerbassin77
Not difficult at all. Just open the side door, and pop them in.
Answered by: Firsttimesmoker
Date published: 2016-12-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 35ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 131.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22 1/2 " Weber Smoker Great smoker. Does an great job and very easy to use. And, does not take up a lot of room.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Finally moved out of an apartment and into a house and decided to get a smoker to celebrate. Cooked an 11 lb brisket on the ol' girl that turned out amazing. Easy to assemble, held temperature well and it doesn't take up near as much space as an offset smoker. Home Depot shipped it for free and it actually came in two days early. Couldn't be more pleased with this purchace.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Smoker! If you're looking for a smoker that's pretty much set it and forget it, this is for you. Solid design and quality parts we've come to expect from Weber. Let this smoker "season" for a few cooks, and the part interface leaks will seal right up.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker HANDS. DOWN. Can't say enough good things about the WSM 22.5". Set up was a snap, and we were smoking the same day. It's like it comes out of the box at 250 degrees and holds it temps like no other smoker I've ever owned. If you're serious about your BBQ, you need a WSM.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weber stands up to its name of quality Much better than the less expensive canister smokers...I am a firm beliver in you get what you paid for, and this product does not dissapoint...its huge, well built and maintains temp for hours
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for Talked to several people that currently own a WSM and everyone recommended it highly. Now you can add me to that list.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I got the 22 1/2 inch...probably could have gone with the 18 as I'm not cooking for 50 people, but I love it. Easy to set up, use, and clean up.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smoker. Very easy to use and great results. Very glad I spent a little more on the 22.5 inch model. Allows me go smoke two things at once. I love it.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! Fantastic smoker. After experimenting with foil balls on the grill, then using the classic bullet smoker that everyone has because of the price - this thing is a Rolls Royce. The Brinkman was small, and I did a lot of modifications just to get decent BBQ. Now, with the WSM our BBQ's have become a tradition with friends. Extremely well put together, durable, moveable (although I'd recommend taking it apart in the sections and moving). The only two downsides are that the thermometer reads about 19 degrees lower than actual temp (but that is much better than the "warm/ideal/hot" on the Brinkman) plus you really need a quality meat thermometer anyways. My only other issue is that you need 2 hands to take the top off. Maybe that's just because the quality is so good that it locks itself in place? Only "modifications" I've done here were placing a 9 inch stone in the center of the grate and horseshoe my coal around that. Dump your hot coals on the one end and you have great fuel for several hours. I also purchased a gasket kit. May be overkill but we use this thing a ton. I can't recommend this enough. Spring for the larger one, as I feel you may regret not getting it once you use the 18in and get addicted. I can't stress enough how well the temperature control is on this.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice smoker assembled easily. holds smoke well. vary pleased. heat is even and steady.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality doesn't cost it saves you in the long run I'm sure you can find other smokers at a lower cost but the quality of Weber's manufacturing process makes this smoker one that will last for a long time. It arrived on schedule, and was easy to assemble. I'm very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Im new to smoking but so far eveything Ive done in the WSM has been delicious. Very happy with it.
Date published: 2011-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easier to use than I even expected This smoker was incredible. I used this product on memorial day for the first time. I went onto you-tube to get some pointers on how to use it. It took me about 20 minutes to get the temp to 225, and it locked in on that steady for 5 1/2 hrs. I barely had to touch the vents. At first I thought the temp gauge was not working right because it was so easy. Everything cooked right on the money, chicken thighs and polish sausage took about 3 hrs, and a 6 lb. chicken and a 10 lb. chicken took about 5 hrs. everything was very moist and delicious! This smoker is incredible, and worth every penny! You can get less expensive ones but you wont get the ease and the performance you will with this one. While everything was cooking I was able to just sit back and play scrabble with my kids, and 5 hrs later we ate!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Webber smoking mountain This is a smoker it has 2 racks for more meat and a water pan it holds temperature really good the wind will effect the temperature gauge on the top by 15 to 25 degrees there are a lot of websites and information about this smoker check out vertualweberbullet.com they have all the information you need on a weber
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First ever smoke I thought I smoked too long but,... WOW!!! My first ever smoke was spare ribs. I smoked them for 5 ½, almost 6 hours. I had to leave towards the end and when I came back everything was just fine. I used a brown sugar based rub so it created an awesome bark. It started off a little hot but after about 45 minutes It STAYED between 225 and 250. I used a flat base of un-lit Stubbs all natural charcoals and a full weber chimney of lit charcoal. I smoked 3 full racks of ribs. I did not turn or flip them at all. The ribs turned out perfect. My family loved them. I'll be doing a lot more for Memorial Day 2015.
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy and great results This thing lives up to all of the hype. It allows you to finally achieve the barbecue products that you've been trying to emulate on a conventional grill, but never been satisfied with. It's super easy to use, and use correctly to produce delicious food! 5 stars!
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best!!!! This smoker will take your cooking to another level!!!You WIll Not BE SORRY for buying this smoker!My Chicken and Ribs were Amazing!!!
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Easy to assemble. Great to use. Just follow the recipes and you will enjoy some great smoked food!
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Last Meal" Delicious Ribs The size of the 22-1/2 inch Smokey Mountain Cooker can handle large quantities of meat and go the distance to prepare delicious pulled pork, baby back ribs, beef ribs, and turkeys. Very soon I will try beef brisket!
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weber Quality Weber has a great following of people who only buy Weber products and for a good reason. Their products are of the best quality and will last a long time. I use mine for smoking ribs and have no problem controlling the heat. I have easy access to add more coals or water and the grilling area is large enough to grill 4 complete racks of ribs.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best there is Simply so much better than the competition that is worth every penny...I added an IQ10 temperature controller and nothing but perfect resulst with no babysitting required...just light it, go away and it will be ready when you return...very economical on charcoal if you use an IQ10...there is enough rack space to do 8 backs of baby back ribs or 10 lbs of jerky at one time...it is everything you could ask for
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent smoker! Awesome, easy to use smoker! Very consistent temperature control makes cooking with this smoker a breeze!
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, fabulous results So far I cooked a brisket, baby back ribs, and chicken wings. All were unbelievably great! Cooker was easy to assemble and easy to use. Keeping the temperature to the proper level was no problem. I look forward to my next project since food on the smoker is so much better than on the gas grill.
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds all my expectations Easy to load, easy to add water, huge capacity....only negative I can think of is that it's hard to move from its storage spot to where I want to use it because of its heavy duty construction. ...wheels on it would be nice.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth it I have used it twice and am very pleased with it. The temperature stays fairly uniform requiring less management time. Still learning the ropes of smoking and this is proving to be a good one to learn on.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Bad Smokey Mountain First off, it’s solidly built and all the parts fit together well. The only slight disappointment is fuel door, which is poorly made. It sadly seems like an afterthought, as its flimsy and does not fit well. However, it can be bent into place, and over multiple cooks it starts to seal itself to the shape of the smoker. As far as I am concerned, it has not had a noticeable impact on cooking, but it is more annoying than anything. On the positive side, the charcoal bowl system, and multiple dampers allow for easy adjustments to temperature. After having used less expensive smokers, where I struggled to adjust the temperature, this is so easy that it feels like cheating. You can set it and it will stay locked in easily within a 5-10 degree range. The only downside temperature wise I have experienced is that it’s been difficult keeping the temperature below 265-275. I have however only used the smoker twice, and as I have heard from other reviewers that as the smoker becomes seasoned after many uses it becomes easier to control. I also caution you to be aware of the size, surprisingly 22.5” model is substantially bigger than 18.5” model, and subsequently the cleaning and temperature control is a little harder to handle. I had to order this and have it delivered to my Home Depot store, so I did not see it until I got it home and out of the box. My advice is to see the smoker first in person before purchasing. You can get quite a bit of mileage out of the 18.5” with 1-2 rib racks, or even if you are cooking on the 14.5” if you configure it right, you can get decent mileage out of your cooking volume. The 22.5” in my opinion is built to cook for a small army, which makes it awesome, but a bit cumbersonme. My advice is to see them in person and see what would best fit your cooking needs size wise.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker!! This thing is a must have for all grillers. Very easy assembly, very easy to work! Smoked some ribs the first night I got it, they were cooked great!! I ordered this smoker on a wednesday and got it on friday, very fast shipping!!!
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cannot go wrong with Weber Great smoker. Easy to use even for beginner. I used it 3 times since. 4 racks of ribs, or 2 racks + 9 lb pork butt with no problem.
Date published: 2013-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great addition Much larger than I had thought prior to order, arrived perfectly, smoked 6 racks of ribs on the first go, smiles all around. Another quality product from Weber
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Had a small brinkman used to splike all the time this doesnt. Set temp and it stays there. Holds 7lbs of sausage links on one rack
Date published: 2012-05-02
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_130
  • loc_, sid_100657671, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT