Model # 731001

Internet #100657671

Store SKU #781111

Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
0077924081484

Weber

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

$399.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Detailed image of smoker.

The large fuel door makes it easy to add wood or charcoal.

Detailed image of smoker.

The large 726 sq. in. cooking space gives you plenty of room to put items on the grill.

Detailed image of smoker.

The bowl and lid are made of porcelain enamel to retain heat and for durability.

Grill width in inches.
Grill height in inches.
Grill depth in inches.

The Weber 22 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker boasts a whopping 726 sq. in. of cooking space across two plated-steel grill grates-enough room to smoke a full-size bird and several slabs of ribs simultaneously. This charcoal smoker has a built-in lid thermometer with a smoke-zone sweet-spot identifier between 200 and 275 degrees F that makes it easy to monitor heat and regulate accordingly with air dampers and briquette adjustments. To keep foods moist and flavorful, a porcelain-enameled water pan is included for high-humidity slow-cooks that produce juicy, tender, restaurant-quality results every time.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes (2) plated-steel cooking grates comprising a combined 726 sq. in. of cooking area
  • Bowl and lid constructed with porcelain-enamel for supreme heat retention and overall durability
  • Large aluminum fuel door allows grill masters to easily add charcoal
  • Outfitted with (4) rust-resistant dampers-(1) upper, (3) lower-each with (4) air vents
  • Lid is equipped with (2) glass-reinforced nylon handles
  • Built-in analog lid thermometer displays internal temperature
  • Includes: (1) porcelain-enameled water pan, (1) porcelain-enameled charcoal chamber, (1) steel charcoal grate, (1) silicone temperature grommet and (1) premium-grade form-fitting smoker cover
  • Weber's warranty varies by component; please see user manual for specific details regarding this model
  • For questions regarding replacement parts or service inquiries, please contact Weber customer service at 1-800-446-1071 or email Support@WeberStephen.com

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

17 Questions112 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
 
11 answers

Can't decide 18.5 or 22.5

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
crodon963
Visalia,Ca
August 19, 2012
I'm new to smoking food. I have tried it on my weber genesis grill which turned out fine but I want to smoke turkeys for thanksgiving and I think WSM would be the better way to go but what size should I get? I've read that the 22.5 burns alot of fuel and is hard to maintain temps. where as the 18.5 wont hold large meats like whole racks of ribs you have to cut them in half which is no big deal but will it hold a turkey? Or turkeys?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
crodon963,
By all means get the 22.5" model, you won't be sorry! It's better to have a little to much room than not enough when you need it. You can Barbecue small or large on the 22.5' Smokey Mountain Cooker, use less fuel to cook smaller amounts of food! Hope this helps with you're question!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 28, 2014
Answer: 
Bigger is better. I have both sizes but a rack of ribs fits much better in the larger grill.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 4, 2013
Answer: 
The 22-1/2 inch is very large, but the other day I made 4 racks of ribs and 5 pounds of chicken wings at the same time. It's great to be able to make all that if you have room to store the grill. btw: Wings on the smoker are unbelievable! If you have never tried them, you don't know what you're missing.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Buffalo, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
get the 22.5 it does not burn a lot of fuel. no more I am guessing than the 18.5 as for the temp, it took me the first time about 15 minutes to get it locked in at 225 and stayed there for 5 1/2 hrs. it was so easy I thought the temp gauge was not working correctly, but it was. also with this one it is really big, you could easily fit 2 whole turkeys in this this, my first cook, I fit a 6 lb. chix, a Read More
get the 22.5 it does not burn a lot of fuel. no more I am guessing than the 18.5 as for the temp, it took me the first time about 15 minutes to get it locked in at 225 and stayed there for 5 1/2 hrs. it was so easy I thought the temp gauge was not working correctly, but it was. also with this one it is really big, you could easily fit 2 whole turkeys in this this, my first cook, I fit a 6 lb. chix, a 10lb. chix, 7 lbs. of chix thighs, and 6lbs. of polish sausage and still had room to spare. don't cut yourself short, because you are going to wish you bought the larger one. that extra space is nice. lets put it this way this thing is big enough where at the end of the summer I plan on smoking a whole suckling pig, probably about 30 lbs. or so. I saw a guy do it on you tube. he curled it up in a circular shape and tied his feet together. took him about 6-8 hrs. So my recommendation, buy the larger one, better to have the space and not need it than need the space and not have it. you won't be sorry Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
I had the same question before I bought my 22.5. If you plan on smoking some serious turkeys or even large meats like brisket, then go with the 22.5. Temperature hold is superb and fuel consumption is not bad. I've had 10 hour cooks with one large bag of charcoal and wood chunks. Plus you can always use less if cooking less. And think about this: you can never add more cooking space to your smoker, but Read More
I had the same question before I bought my 22.5. If you plan on smoking some serious turkeys or even large meats like brisket, then go with the 22.5. Temperature hold is superb and fuel consumption is not bad. I've had 10 hour cooks with one large bag of charcoal and wood chunks. Plus you can always use less if cooking less. And think about this: you can never add more cooking space to your smoker, but you can always decrease it. If you have the storage space and budget for the 22, then get it. Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Alta Loma, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2013
Answer: 
We have two WSM units that we use for competition BBQ and I would recommend the 22" version. Yes, the 22" version does burn more fuel as their is more volume to heat inside the unit, but does give you the greater flexibility to do turkey's and whole racks of ribs. If you use lump hardwood charcoal like hickory or mesquite, you will find that it lasts much longer and gives the food a much better flavor Read More
We have two WSM units that we use for competition BBQ and I would recommend the 22" version. Yes, the 22" version does burn more fuel as their is more volume to heat inside the unit, but does give you the greater flexibility to do turkey's and whole racks of ribs. If you use lump hardwood charcoal like hickory or mesquite, you will find that it lasts much longer and gives the food a much better flavor than using regular charcoal briquettes. With a little bit of practice, definitely not a bad thing, I think you will be very happy with the WSM 22" unit. Read Less
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
West Haven, UT
Read all my Q&A
March 26, 2013
Answer: 
I have the 22.5 and have not had any problem with it using a lot of fuel or maintaining temperatures. If you use the Minion Method for building your fire, it will go for 12 to 14 hours easily. You can find out more about the Minion Method on the Internet.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 29, 2013
Answer: 
If you want to smoke turkeys pick the 22.5
If you only want to smoke one turkey - 18 is fine.
The 22.5 does burn a lot of fuel, but it gives you the option to smoke a lot of meat at once. Just buy some hardwood charcoal to mix with your dry wood.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Camillus, NY 13031, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2012
Answer: 
I have the 22.5 Weber, and it is not hard to keep a steady temp, especially using the minon method. Fill up the pan with as much charcoal as you need and scoop out about 1/2 a chimney full and light that and then return that to the rest of the charcoal and you'll be able to hold low temps for longer periods and burn much less fuel. I went though one bag and a 1/4 doing a 17 hr cook on 2 pork butts. It Read More
I have the 22.5 Weber, and it is not hard to keep a steady temp, especially using the minon method. Fill up the pan with as much charcoal as you need and scoop out about 1/2 a chimney full and light that and then return that to the rest of the charcoal and you'll be able to hold low temps for longer periods and burn much less fuel. I went though one bag and a 1/4 doing a 17 hr cook on 2 pork butts. It held temp overnight unwatched for 7 hrs while i slept and dropped a whole 5 degrees overall. I was very impressed with this. If your gonna spend the money, get the 22.5 and be absolutely happy with the ability to do large turkeys or whole racks of ribs. I did 8 full baby back ribs over the summer with 4 on top and 4 on the bottom all laying down without the need for cramming them into rib holders, so much easier and a much more even smoke throught. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Scottsboro, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 28, 2012
Answer: 
I recently bought the 22.5 and smoked a 20# turkey, 2 hens, 2 ribs and 8 short ribs in 9 hours. I used a 15# bag of charcoal with chestnut sood for smoke. I could have easily have smoked 4 smaller turkeys in this smoker at one time.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

August 20, 2012
Answer: 
Thank you for your question. It’s really a matter of preference and what will work best for you and your needs. Both models work extremely well. The 18.5” is fairly deep when the top cooking grate is removed. This should allow for one average size turkey of 12 to 14 pounds to fit properly. If you have any further questions, please contact Weber Customer Service at 1-800-446-1071.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
 
11 answers

how much is the cover for this?

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
leroylynn
April 11, 2012
weber221/2 in smokey mountain
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 17, 2014
Answer: 
The cover was included in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
It comes with a cover.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
leroylynn,
The Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker comes with a fairly decent cover. It is packed with the unit when you purchase it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Francisco, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It comes with a cover
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 4, 2013
Answer: 
A cover came with my Weber 22-1/2 inch Smokey Mountain Cooker. It seems quite adequate for the job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
The cover is included. I'm not sure how much an extra one would cost.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Alta Loma, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2013
Answer: 
We just purchased two of these WSM 22" units and included in the package is a cover. It is actually well made for a manufacturer's provided "free" cover.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camillus, NY 13031, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2012
Answer: 
The cover is included with your purchase
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Indiana
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
It comes with a cover when you buy the 22.5" version
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Youngstown, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2012
Answer: 
It is free comes with grill
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

April 12, 2012
Answer: 
Weber includes a premium-grade cover with the purchase of the 18" and 22" Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker. If you have any additional questions or need to order a replacement cover for your smoker, please give us a call at 1-800-446-1071.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
 
10 answers

There is no tray for wood chips on this model? Can I use wood chips?

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2014
I am buying this for my brothers bday and it will be his first smoker. He loves to grill large for his huge family and likes to use wood chips. With no tray, can he still use the chips?

Can I have this shipped his house in GA, is there a fee? Also, is this difficult to assemble? If yes, can I pay for the smoker to be assembled?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 28, 2016
Answer: 
I tried chips, but found the chunks worked better for me. Chips might work if you used some sort of box to hold them. When I used chips by themselves they burned up rather quickly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 26, 2016
Answer: 
I put my wood chips in a small foil tray on top of the charcoal.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 15, 2016
Answer: 
I wouldn't. It is designed to use wood chunks...about fist size. Chips are a waste of money anyway, as they just burn up without much smoke.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Lincoln, Nebraska
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2015
Answer: 
Yes you can use wood chips. No, it is not difficult to assemble at all.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 17, 2014
Answer: 
I prefer wood chunks mixed into the coal. No tray needed. Also chips will have a higher chance of over smoking your food. Once you switch to chunks, it's much easier!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
I soaked my chips, and threw them in on the hot coals. I soak mine overnight.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, you can use wood chips for added smoking flavor...I would recommend watching a few videos on YouTube regarding the smoker as the tray for wood chips is really more of a cheaper smoker option. The Brinkman's and some other cheaper smokers have you soak wood and then put them in a tray...not really the best option for smoking come to find out...Weber suggests starting the coals, adding the wood and Read More
Yes, you can use wood chips for added smoking flavor...I would recommend watching a few videos on YouTube regarding the smoker as the tray for wood chips is really more of a cheaper smoker option. The Brinkman's and some other cheaper smokers have you soak wood and then put them in a tray...not really the best option for smoking come to find out...Weber suggests starting the coals, adding the wood and letting them sit for a bit before smoking...(this is the abbreviated answer).
The smoker assembles really quickly...one person can assemble it in roughly fifteen minutes.
Also, Weber runs their own site for the smoker with a tremendous amount of tips and tricks for people - great info... Read Less
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 2, 2014
Answer: 
GiftForBro,
It's not really good to use wood chips on this model, use large chunks or split log wood, it'll truly serve you better plus it will last much longer than chips. This unit is a real Barbecue Pit, it's not a grill & it's very well made & should last you for many years with a little care! I hope this helps answer your question.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 28, 2014
Answer: 
You want to use wood chunks directly on the fire at the bottom. Chips are used more for the kettle grills where the fire is closer to the food
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

April 28, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many specialty department professionals at your local Home Depot store. For any other questions, please visit your nearest local Home Depot store or call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
 
10 answers

Can I use it with natural gas?

This question is from 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker
Asked by
BIG--AUK
FAYETTEVILLE,TN 37334
March 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lincoln, Nebraska
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2015
Answer: 
Nope.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 8, 2015
Answer: 
No, out of the box it's not rigged for natural gas use. I know some people have gone far to rig up their cooker with a gas line and burner... I'd say if you're going through that much trouble, you should just buy a different cooker.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
No. This i s a charcoal/ wood model
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Francisco, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. This is a charcoal smoker
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

November 10, 2013
Answer: 
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Buffalo, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
no this designed to be used with charcoal and a hardwood
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2013
Answer: 
Absolutely not. Charcoal and wood chunks and chips should be the only fuel with this particular unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Alta Loma, Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Weber Smokey Mountain is for charcoal only. It is truly a smoker and not a grill. It is designed for low and slow. The ultimate temperate would be 225-250 degrees. I would suggest hardwood charcoals such as Hickory or Mesquite and not briquettes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
West Haven, UT
Read all my Q&A
March 26, 2013
Answer: 
No. It uses charcoal and wood. It is not designed to use any form of gas. It works beautifully, and I use it often, turning out great smoked meats. But, only with charcoal and wood.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

March 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello BIG—AUK and thank you for your question.
The Weber 22-1/2 in. Smokey Mountain Cooker Smoker is designed for use with charcoal only. The charcoal chamber capacity is 300 briquettes.
Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T13:34:11.366-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100657671, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 108 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic... Ordered this online at HomeDepot.ca - received VERY quickly and vey easily. The WSM Smoker is the best there is for the money, and this 22" ne simply adds to the lineup (the 18" would satisfy all but us BBQ nuts.) Thanks HD for the pleasant buying experience, and thanks Weber for the product! April 25, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weber Quality Weber has a great following of people who only buy Weber products and for a good reason. Their products are of the best quality and will last a long time. I use mine for smoking ribs and have no problem controlling the heat. I have easy access to add more coals or water and the grilling area is large enough to grill 4 complete racks of ribs. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The smoke created makes you hungry. I added wheels to help with moving the smoker from storage to the outdoors. I suggest the swivel wheel set in the Home Depot storage shelves area. I then broke in the new smoker with one 20# turkey, 2 hens, 2 slabs of ribs and 8 short ribs. All cooked to perfection in 9 hours. Hint, do not add water until the temp is in the smoke range otherwise, the smoker will take longer to cook the meat. August 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weber Smokey Mountain Smoker/Cooker This Weber Smokey Mountain BBQ is OUTSTANDING! As was there order process & service from Home Depot! May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great smoker - easy to use The smoker is large enough for just about smoking "project". We used it twice in the first week and are still getting used to regulating the temperature but are very pleased with the results so far. July 2, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best there is Simply so much better than the competition that is worth every penny...I added an IQ10 temperature controller and nothing but perfect resulst with no babysitting required...just light it, go away and it will be ready when you return...very economical on charcoal if you use an IQ10...there is enough rack space to do 8 backs of baby back ribs or 10 lbs of jerky at one time...it is everything you could ask for June 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this smoker! Love the smoker! It assembled fast and is well made. Love the water bowl as it helps keep meat juicy on those super long smokes like Boston Butt or brisquet. It has plenty of room for large roasts and birds (we smoked a Boston Butt and a 11 pound chicken on the same rack!). It maintains the heat level and the temperature gauge in the lid is great! Love my Smokey Mountain! Happy smokin' y'all! July 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Product I am very happy with my Weber Smoker. It is easy to use and is a great smoker for someone starting out or for someone who has been smoking for a long time. The 22in is worth the extra price becuase you can place 3 full racks of ribs flat on the grate. Easy assembly. I would highly reccomend this to anyone. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use, fabulous results So far I cooked a brisket, baby back ribs, and chicken wings. All were unbelievably great! Cooker was easy to assemble and easy to use. Keeping the temperature to the proper level was no problem. I look forward to my next project since food on the smoker is so much better than on the gas grill. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by this cooker is easy to master this is actually my second one (nothing wrong with the first one) a breeze to master. not comparable to a gas or electric- must own this smoker!!! May 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big Bad Smokey Mountain First off, it’s solidly built and all the parts fit together well. The only slight disappointment is fuel door, which is poorly made. It sadly seems like an afterthought, as its flimsy and does not fit well. However, it can be bent into place, and over multiple cooks it starts to seal itself to the shape of the smoker. As far as I am concerned, it has not had a noticeable impact on cooking, but it is more annoying than anything. On the positive side, the charcoal bowl system, and multiple dampers allow for easy adjustments to temperature. After having used less expensive smokers, where I struggled to adjust the temperature, this is so easy that it feels like cheating. You can set it and it will stay locked in easily within a 5-10 degree range. The only downside temperature wise I have experienced is that it’s been difficult keeping the temperature below 265-275. I have however only used the smoker twice, and as I have heard from other reviewers that as the smoker becomes seasoned after many uses it becomes easier to control. I also caution you to be aware of the size, surprisingly 22.5” model is substantially bigger than 18.5” model, and subsequently the cleaning and temperature control is a little harder to handle. I had to order this and have it delivered to my Home Depot store, so I did not see it until I got it home and out of the box. My advice is to see the smoker first in person before purchasing. You can get quite a bit of mileage out of the 18.5” with 1-2 rib racks, or even if you are cooking on the 14.5” if you configure it right, you can get decent mileage out of your cooking volume. The 22.5” in my opinion is built to cook for a small army, which makes it awesome, but a bit cumbersonme. My advice is to see them in person and see what would best fit your cooking needs size wise. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Smoker for the money I smoked a 15lb of pork butt, I had it split into 2 different chunks. It turned out great. I thought i would use more charcaol than i did ....smoke time was 12 hours and I only used about 2/3 of bag of charcoal. i was easy to adjust the tempature of the unit. the thermometer that comes with the unit is worthless, need to buy a good digital smoker to monitor the tempature accuratly. September 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great! Finally moved out of an apartment and into a house and decided to get a smoker to celebrate. Cooked an 11 lb brisket on the ol' girl that turned out amazing. Easy to assemble, held temperature well and it doesn't take up near as much space as an offset smoker. Home Depot shipped it for free and it actually came in two days early. Couldn't be more pleased with this purchace. July 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great purchase Set it and forget it. Once you get a little used to this product and understand the air flow you can easily walk away from it for 4 hours, easily. I was able to put 8, 5 lb butts on it with no problem, set it up, took a shower, adjusted it and went to work. Got home late afternoon and threw a little more lump on and bam! Pulled pork for 70 people. July 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product / Large Smoker Great Product, really handles a lot of meat, broke in very nicely. Great servcie in ordering this through Home Depot January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great quality smoker, great smoked meat! With very limited experience, was able to produce some great smoked meat from the WSM out of the box! The 22.5" is big (maybe too big for what I need on a regular basis), but the extra size doesn't hamper my smaller smoke batches, plus I will easily be able to smoke two large turkeys at the same time for Thanksgiving! November 13, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid Smoker! If you're looking for a smoker that's pretty much set it and forget it, this is for you. Solid design and quality parts we've come to expect from Weber. Let this smoker "season" for a few cooks, and the part interface leaks will seal right up. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Smoker HANDS. DOWN. Can't say enough good things about the WSM 22.5". Set up was a snap, and we were smoking the same day. It's like it comes out of the box at 250 degrees and holds it temps like no other smoker I've ever owned. If you're serious about your BBQ, you need a WSM. February 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As expected, very good product, very Weber. July 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cannot go wrong with Weber Great smoker. Easy to use even for beginner. I used it 3 times since. 4 racks of ribs, or 2 racks + 9 lb pork butt with no problem. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worth it I have used it twice and am very pleased with it. The temperature stays fairly uniform requiring less management time. Still learning the ropes of smoking and this is proving to be a good one to learn on. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeds all my expectations Easy to load, easy to add water, huge capacity....only negative I can think of is that it's hard to move from its storage spot to where I want to use it because of its heavy duty construction. ...wheels on it would be nice. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a great smoker Great smoker well made this smoker is built to last weber makes great products October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints New to smoking but so far I have already made some of the best bbq I have ever had and the WSM makes it easy. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality doesn't cost it saves you in the long run I'm sure you can find other smokers at a lower cost but the quality of Weber's manufacturing process makes this smoker one that will last for a long time. It arrived on schedule, and was easy to assemble. I'm very happy with this purchase. June 11, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weber stands up to its name of quality Much better than the less expensive canister smokers...I am a firm beliver in you get what you paid for, and this product does not dissapoint...its huge, well built and maintains temp for hours January 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Smoker!! This thing is a must have for all grillers. Very easy assembly, very easy to work! Smoked some ribs the first night I got it, they were cooked great!! I ordered this smoker on a wednesday and got it on friday, very fast shipping!!! November 21, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THE GREATEST I bought the WSM online and it was at my front door within 3 days. Assembly was a breeze. I smoked a brisket 2 days after opening the box and let me tell you....AMAZING! This is my 3rd Weber product and they still have not let me down. April 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly what I was looking for Talked to several people that currently own a WSM and everyone recommended it highly. Now you can add me to that list. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth it! Fantastic smoker. After experimenting with foil balls on the grill, then using the classic bullet smoker that everyone has because of the price - this thing is a Rolls Royce. The Brinkman was small, and I did a lot of modifications just to get decent BBQ. Now, with the WSM our BBQ's have become a tradition with friends. Extremely well put together, durable, moveable (although I'd recommend taking it apart in the sections and moving). The only two downsides are that the thermometer reads about 19 degrees lower than actual temp (but that is much better than the "warm/ideal/hot" on the Brinkman) plus you really need a quality meat thermometer anyways. My only other issue is that you need 2 hands to take the top off. Maybe that's just because the quality is so good that it locks itself in place? Only "modifications" I've done here were placing a 9 inch stone in the center of the grate and horseshoe my coal around that. Dump your hot coals on the one end and you have great fuel for several hours. I also purchased a gasket kit. May be overkill but we use this thing a ton. I can't recommend this enough. Spring for the larger one, as I feel you may regret not getting it once you use the 18in and get addicted. I can't stress enough how well the temperature control is on this. August 25, 2013
  • 2016-09-08 T13:09:07.035-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_108, tr_108
  • loc_en_US, sid_100657671, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 111ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT