Fire Safety Laws by State

Many states have passed laws requiring the use of carbon monoxide alarms. See the list below to find the carbon monoxide legislation for your state.

Alabama

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Alaska

Bill/Code I.D.
Chapter No. 60, SLA 2004, House Bill 351 (JUD), AS 18.70.095

Occupancy Classification
New and existing dwellings

Effective Date
January 1, 2005

Placement
Minimum one per building

Arizona

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Arkansas

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

California

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Colorado

Bill/Code I.D.
House Bill 09-1091

Occupancy Classification
New and existing dwellings

Effective Date
July 1, 2009

Placement
Place within 10 feet of a sleeping area

Connecticut

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Delaware

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Florida

Bill/Code I.D.
Fla. Stat. §509.211
Fla. Stat. §553.885

Occupancy Classification
509.211: New commercial buildings where a portion thereof is used for sleeping purposes, including hospitals. 553.885: New one- and two-family homes and town homes (dwellings) of three stories or less. Building code ruling on how 553.885 applies to existing structures

Effective Date
509.211: July 1, 2007
553.885: July 1, 2008

Placement
509.211: Every room with a fuel-burning appliance and integrated with the fire alarm system. 553.885: Within 10 feet of any sleeping area

Georgia

Bill/Code I.D.
Georgia State Amendments to the International Residential Code (IRC) for Oneand Two- Family Dwellings (2006 Edition); Section R313

Occupancy Classification
New one- and two-family homes and town homes (dwellings) of three stories or less

Effective Date
January 1, 2009

Placement
Carbon monoxide alarms shall be installed in the general vicinity of each sleeping area

Hawaii

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Idaho

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Illinois

Bill/Code I.D.
Public Act 094-0741 House Bill 5284

Occupancy Classification
New and existing single- and multi-family dwellings with a fuel-burning appliance. Dwellings without a fuel-burning appliance or an attached garage are not required to have a CO detector

Effective Date
January 1, 2007

Placement
Every structure that contains more than one dwelling unit shall contain at least one approved carbon monoxide alarm in operating condition within 15 feet of every room used for sleeping purposes

Indiana

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Iowa

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Kentucky

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Kansas

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Louisiana

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Maine

Bill/Code I.D.
Public Law, Chapter 162 LD 550

Occupancy Classification 
Single-family dwellings and multi-apartment buildings sold or newly constructed

Effective Date
October 31, 2009

Placement
Install by the manufacturer’s requirements at least one approved carbon monoxide detector in each area within, or giving access to, bedrooms

Maryland

Bill/Code I.D.
House Bill 401

Occupancy Classification
New single- and multi-family dwellings and non-dwelling’s, including hotels, motels, and dormitories

Effective Date
January 1, 2008

Placement
Install within a certain distance from a central location outside of each sleeping area within certain dwellings or, under certain circumstances, within a certain distance (25 feet) from carbon monoxide–producing fixtures and equipment within certain dwellings

Massachusetts

Bill/Code I.D.
Chapter 123 of the Acts of 2005

Occupancy Classification
New and existing single- and multi-family dwellings, boarding houses, hotels, motels, dorms, apartments, and adult and child care facilities

Effective Date
March 31, 2006 (battery-powered)
January 1, 2007 (hardwired)

Placement
Locate detectors in conformance with the requirements of the board of fire prevention regulations

Michigan

Bill/Code I.D.
Act 376: House Bill 4730
Act 377: House Bill 5341

Occupancy Classification
HB 4730: New non-dwelling structures such as boarding houses, hotels, and motels, HB 5341: New and existing single- and multi-family dwellings

Effective Date
HB 4730: December 23, 2008
HB 5341: March 23, 2009

Placement
HB 4730: A minimum of one detector per building installed at the fuel-burning appliance. HB 5341: A carbon monoxide device shall be located in the vicinity of the bedrooms, which may include one device capable of detecting carbon monoxide near all adjacent bedrooms; in areas within the dwelling adjacent to an attached garage; and in areas adjacent to any fuel-burning appliances. NOTE: The act does not mandate the installation of a CO device. Instead it gives authority to the Code Commission to adopt rules for the mandatory installation of a CO device

Minnesota

Bill/Code I.D. 
299F.51

Occupancy Classification
New and existing single- and multi-family dwellings  Placement  Minimum one detector per building within 10 feet of any sleeping area

Effective Date
January 1, 2007 (new dwellings)
August 1, 2009 (existing dwellings)

Placement
Minimum one detector per building within 10 feet of any sleeping area

Mississippi

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Missouri

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Montana

Bill/Code I.D.
Senate Bill 161 

Occupancy Classification
New and existing dwellings

Effective Date
October 1, 2009

Placement
No details for location of CO devices

Nebraska

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Nevada

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

New Hampshire

Bill/Code I.D.
House Bill 120-FN-Local

Occupancy Classification
Single-family dwellings and multi-apartment buildings substantially rehabilitated or newly constructed

Effective Date
January 1, 2010

Placement
Minimum one detector per building on every floor level and in each common stairway and in each common hallway of a multi-unit dwelling

New Jersey

Bill/Code I.D.
Chapter 44 amending and supplementing:
Public Law 1975, Chapter 217
Public Law 1999, Chapter 15

Occupancy Classification
Existing single- and two-family homes

Effective Date
April 16, 2003

Placement
Within 15 feet of sleeping areas in buildings with appliances that may emit CO

New Mexico

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

New York

Bill/Code I.D.
Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code Section 1225.2 Title 19

Occupancy Classification
New and existing one and two-family dwellings and multi-family dwellings, hotels, and dormitories having a fuel-burning appliance, system or attached garage

Effective Date
February 23, 2010

Placement
At least one carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided in each dwelling unit. The required carbon monoxide alarm shall be installed in the immediate vicinity of bedroom(s) on the lowest floor level of the dwelling unit containing bedroom(s)

North Carolina

Bill/Code I.D.
Session Law 2008-219
Senate Bill 1924

Occupancy Classification
Residential rental properties

Effective Date
January 1, 2010

Placement
Landlords to provide a minimum of one carbon monoxide detection device per unit and per level

North Dakota

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Ohio

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Oklahoma

Bill/Code I.D.
Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC)340:110-3-97

Occupancy Classification
Child day care facilities

Effective Date
May 25, 2000

Placement
In the same room used for child care

Oregon

Bill/Code I.D.
House Bill 3450

Occupancy Classification
New and existing one-, two-, and multi-family dwellings, rental dwellings and Group R occupancies (hotels, motel dormitories) having a CO source

Effective Date
April 1, 2011

Placement
Minimum one detector per building and covering all sleeping areas

Pennsylvania

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Rhode Island

Bill/Code I.D.
Fire Safety Code General Provisions 23-28.1-2

Occupancy Classification
New and existing dwellings and non-dwellings (hotels, dormitories)

Effective Date
January 1, 2002

Placement
Minimum one detector per building in sleeping areas

South Carolina

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

South Dakota

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Tennessee

Bill/Code I.D.
Tennessee Code Annotated, Sect. 71-3-502

Occupancy Classification
Child day care facilities

Effective Date
June 20, 2006

Placement
Corridors, lounges, interior recreation areas, and sleeping room of child care centers

Texas

Bill/Code I.D.
Texas Human Resources Code - Section 42.060

Occupancy Classification
Child day care facilitiesPlacement One detector per floor

Effective Date
January 1, 2004

Occupancy Classification
Child day care facilities Placement One detector per floor

Utah

Bill/Code I.D. 
Utah Administrative Code R156-56-801 (26)
Utah Administrative Code R156-56-802 (16)

Occupancy Classification
R156-56-801: R2, R3, R4, I1 buildings. R156-56-802: One- and two-family dwellings

Effective Date
July 1, 2008

Placement
R156-56-801: Carbon monoxide alarms shall be installed on each habitable level of a dwelling unit or sleeping unit equipped with fuel-burning appliances R156-56-802: Carbon monoxide alarms shall be installed on each habitable level in buildings with fuel-burning appliances.

Vermont

Bill/Code I.D.
H. 243 No. 19 Chapter 77

Occupancy Classification
New and existing (upon sale) dwellings and public buildings where people don’t sleep

Effective Date
July 1, 2005

Placement
One or more carbon monoxide detectors in the vicinity of any bedrooms in the dwelling in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions

Virginia

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.

Return to Top

Washington

Bill/Code I.D.
Substitute Senate Bill 5561

Occupancy Classification
New dwellings (exempts owners from having to install CO alarms in existing homes, except when offered for sale)

Effective Date
July 1, 2010

Placement
No details for manner and location of CO devices

West Virginia

Bill/Code I.D.
West Virginia Code Section 29-3-16a

Occupancy Classification
New dwellings with a fuel-burning appliance and existing buildings connected to newly built buildings with a fuel-burning appliance

Effective Date
July 1, 1998

Placement
Minimum one detector per building

Wisconsin

Bill/Code I.D.
2007 Senate Bill 289: Act 205

Occupancy Classification
New and existing hotels, tourist rooming houses, and bed and breakfasts (any public building used for lodging)

Effective Date
Act 205: April 7, 2008

Placement
Within 15 feet of sleeping areas in public lodging buildings with a fuel-burning appliance. In the basement, in a room with a fuel-burning appliance

Wyoming

Currently, there is no legislation for your state. Check back later for an update.  

Return to Top