Internet #203207922

Model # E4S36SA

Store SKU #1000034730

0034778281026

36 in. x 80 in. 400 Series Sandtone Universal Self-Storing Aluminum Storm Door with Brass Hardware

  • Prepped for easy installation in about 2 hours
  • Universal handing accommodates left and right hand installation
  • Brass handle set included
$ 276 17
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Prepped for easy installation in about 2 hours
  • Universal handing accommodates left and right hand installation
  • Brass handle set included
The EMCO 400 Series 36 in. Sandtone Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Brass Hardware is one of our premium line of partial light storm doors offering you a wide variety of features and options for your home. This 3/4 light panel style storm door offers classic looks, along with our most convenient features as well as low maintenance and durability. Convenient anytime ventilation by lowering upper moving glass panel which easily moves up and down with only one hand.
  • Universal door handing accommodates left- and right-hand installation allowing flexibility when installing
  • 2 Hour easy install - prepped for easy assembly and installation requiring only basic skills and tools with no sawing
  • SlideAway retractable insect screen conveniently rolls into the upper part of the door and out of sight for unobstructed view when not in use
  • Heavy-duty aluminum construction for long wear
  • Weather stripping on top and sides of the door with an additional layer on the handle side to enhance weather-tightness and energy efficiency
  • Heavy-duty steel, adjustable metal closer
  • Built-in forged steel deadbolt lock for enhanced security
  • Kit available to rekey storm door to match entry door
  • Thermally tempered glass is stronger and safer than regular glass
  • Brass handle set included
  • 10-Year limited structural warranty; 1-year limited component warranty

Product Overview

  • Prepped for easy installation in about 2 hours
  • Universal handing accommodates left and right hand installation
  • Brass handle set included
Model #: E4S36SA
Sku #: 1000034730
Internet #: 203207922

The EMCO 400 Series 36 in. Sandtone Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Brass Hardware is one of our premium line of partial light storm doors offering you a wide variety of features and options for your home. This 3/4 light panel style storm door offers classic looks, along with our most convenient features as well as low maintenance and durability. Convenient anytime ventilation by lowering upper moving glass panel which easily moves up and down with only one hand.

  • Universal door handing accommodates left- and right-hand installation allowing flexibility when installing
  • 2 Hour easy install - prepped for easy assembly and installation requiring only basic skills and tools with no sawing
  • SlideAway retractable insect screen conveniently rolls into the upper part of the door and out of sight for unobstructed view when not in use
  • Heavy-duty aluminum construction for long wear
  • Weather stripping on top and sides of the door with an additional layer on the handle side to enhance weather-tightness and energy efficiency
  • Heavy-duty steel, adjustable metal closer
  • Built-in forged steel deadbolt lock for enhanced security
  • Kit available to rekey storm door to match entry door
  • Thermally tempered glass is stronger and safer than regular glass
  • Brass handle set included
  • 10-Year limited structural warranty; 1-year limited component warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Door Height (in.)
80
Door Thickness (in.)
1 in
Door Width (in.)
36
Fits Opening Height (in.)
80 to 81
Fits Opening Width (in.)
35 3/4 to 36 3/8

Details

Bottom Door Sweep
Single
Color Family
Sandtone
Color/Finish
Sandtone
Door Handing
Universal/Reversible
Door Type
Storm
Features
Built-in Keyed-Lock,Tamper-Proof Hinges
Finish Type
Painted
Handleset Finish
Brass
Included
Handle Set,Screen
Material
Aluminum
Product Weight (lb.)
65 lb
Returnable
90-Day
Type of Weatherstripping
Single
View Type
Mid-view

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
10 Year limited warranty that covers paint adhesion, hinges and frame with a 1 year limited warranty on most other components

Specifications

Dimensions

Door Height (in.)
80
Door Thickness (in.)
1 in
Door Width (in.)
36
Fits Opening Height (in.)
80 to 81
Fits Opening Width (in.)
35 3/4 to 36 3/8

Details

Bottom Door Sweep
Single
Color Family
Sandtone
Color/Finish
Sandtone
Door Handing
Universal/Reversible
Door Type
Storm
Features
Built-in Keyed-Lock,Tamper-Proof Hinges
Finish Type
Painted
Handleset Finish
Brass
Included
Handle Set,Screen
Material
Aluminum
Product Weight (lb.)
65 lb
Returnable
90-Day
Type of Weatherstripping
Single
View Type
Mid-view

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
10 Year limited warranty that covers paint adhesion, hinges and frame with a 1 year limited warranty on most other components

Questions & Answers

Can both glass panels be removed during the warmer months to allow more air in?

Can both glass panels be removed during the warmer months to allow more air in?
Asked by: toolchick
No - the upper window slides down in front of the lower window bringing the screen down. This is the feature I like best - it prevents children and critters from damaging the screen.
Answered by: OPHomeowner
Date published: 2019-02-24

Does this door come with a chain what stops it from swinging all the way open in windy weather???

Does this door come with a chain what stops it from swinging all the way open in windy weather???
Asked by: kimmy
I asked this question because when i moved into my house there were already 2 of these exact doors on the house. the piston on the door does NOT hold it if there is a big wind and i have had my door slam open and break the piston which i had to replace and put on something to stop it from happening again. I just bought this door because i was adding a new door onto my house and wanted all of them to match. i do love this door. but no the piston thing does not help with the wind and the door swinging open i know this for a fact. so my question was answered no it does not come with a wind safety chain. so i will be buying on and installing it. so this door does not swing open to far and break. I think most doors would swing open and need a safety chain when its really windy and you are not holding it or it isnt latched. i just wanted to know if one was included. thank you everyone
Answered by: kimmy
Date published: 2019-05-25

I cannot move top glass down

I cannot move top glass down
Asked by: 1933
Simply press in the two Gray push button latches hidden underneath the top pane at the same time and then carefully let the windows slide down the track offering it support from the weight and when you get it to where you want it if not all the way down just released the two buttons on the latch and it should hold in several of the available notches. Or let it go all the way down so both windows are shut. I've had many of those doors and after a few years the latches usually one of them break so you're stuck keeping it in one position if you wanted it open you could put a screw in there sheet metal screw, and it would hold in place of the latch.
Answered by: Mike
Date published: 2019-02-23

does the lock only come on the left side of door? I need to have one on the right side

does the lock only come on the left side of door? I need to have one on the right side
Asked by: LC
Description states: Universal door handing accommodates left- and right-hand installation allowing flexibility when installing
Answered by: Alan
Date published: 2019-01-04
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_278
  • loc_, sid_203207922, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 60ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

36 in. x 80 in. 400 Series Sandtone Universal Self-Storing Aluminum Storm Door with Brass Hardware is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1115.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made door from the EMCO folks. Installation is straightforward if you read and follow the in... Well made door from the EMCO folks. Installation is straightforward if you read and follow the instructions. Take your time and you be rewarded with a fine storm door install. EMCO has done a remarkable job engineering this door to accomodate variations in door frames and tolerances for fine tuning the fit and finish. ***NOTE*** If you don't own a 1/2 and 3/4 drill but. you will need one of each to install this door. The bits are needed to install the lock kit. The 1/8 bit included with the hardware kit is kinda flimsy so go easy on the little guy so he can make it through the installation. Otherwise you'll need one of those too.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This door was fairly easy to install and I was able to do it without any help. It was a bit heav... This door was fairly easy to install and I was able to do it without any help. It was a bit heavy since the instructions did not allow for the removal of the glass. That would have made it a lot lighter and easier to manage. My only real issue came to the part where I had to install the handles on the left side of door and had to drill out the holes for that. I didn't have a drill bit large enough (3/4 in) and had to make an additional purchase for a drill bit. I've had the door up for a few weeks and it has really enhanced the appearance of my house.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Storm Door Chain Stop and Can't Install i installed 5 of the 400 series doors at my home. they do not come with Storm Door Chain Stops. the wind blows the doors back bending the piston, creasing the door frames, effecting the proper operation and making the doors look like crap. anderson sayes if i install an aftermarket Storm Door Chain Stop it will void my warranty. there's $1500 wasted in 5 doors. if they are not going to include Storm Door Chain Stops or allow you to install them, they should make a piston that prevents the slightest breeze from blowing the door like a kite.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even 5 yrs old door rotting from inside out I called Andersen and the HomeDepot store i bought the unit at. The product has a lO year warranty which Andersen will not honor. Went back to the store for help and even with the receipt and says 10 yr warranty they will not step in to help with this issue. Recepit 0370 07 8390$ 11/01/2019 and door serial number is 1403280547. Do not buy this door it is a waste of money as it is rotting from the inside and Andersen will not stand behind its product.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I installed two of these this past month. The first one was a learning curve and definitly took m... I installed two of these this past month. The first one was a learning curve and definitly took more than 2 hours to install. The second one was bent, and I had to return it and get a new one. We finally put in the second one last night, and it was MUCH easier this time! I really like how the screen works. I was looking at other doors with this feature, and they cost two or three times as much. I am very pleased with this door. :-)
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the door of the year!!! I have two big dogs (German shepherd) they can see out of the bo... This is the door of the year!!! I have two big dogs (German shepherd) they can see out of the bottom half which has glass all the time. The top half also has glass, but here is the kicker .you pull down the top half of the glass it become a screen. The dogs and the cats can not push the screen out. Now read the instruction twice. take your time. The price for this storm door is very reasonable.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife and I bought the EMCO 400 door for our garage front enterance. It was easy to install an... My wife and I bought the EMCO 400 door for our garage front enterance. It was easy to install and I like the looks better than the full light versions of Anderson as the 3/4 light like these are more like the traditional doors. Still, either type from Anderson or EMCO ( both from same manufacturer) are excellent choices and installation instructions are very good.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There were not any directions in English in the box.... There were not any directions in English in the box. The template to drill the holes for the handle and lock was not the right template. Did not fit the door. Now I have an extra hole in my new door. The package had been opened previously but Home Depot put it back on the shelf so I trusted it would have all of the proper parts and instructions.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Started installing door following all instructions,Had pieces up on door frame. Door was too smal... Started installing door following all instructions,Had pieces up on door frame. Door was too small. Checked my measurments again and again. i was shipped to small of a door after waiting for 3 months. Called and was put on hold. Would not recommend purchasing this door. Had to Make modifications to make the door work with my home.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This door is really nice and sturdy and easy to install. I did have to install firing strips to ... This door is really nice and sturdy and easy to install. I did have to install firing strips to my brick moulding b/c my house is older and of course everything I buy today has to modified to fit correctly. It took me about 4 hours to install but I took my time with it. Can't wait to install the other one on the front door.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are very pleased with this door and how easy it was to install, would recommend to anyone tha... We are very pleased with this door and how easy it was to install, would recommend to anyone that needs a new door. We love the retractable screen in the top, it prevents the animals from trying to get out and is very easy to operate. Would buy another one if I needed it. Thank you for such a superior product.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Storm door installation The Installation if my storm door was terrible .. It does not shut at all the rubber on the bottom of the door is coming off and it’s not sealed at all .. The inspector said to open the door all the way back and let it shut that’s the way this door is made . How crazy is this. I do not recommend this product..
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the few storm/screen doors with a keyed door. Its a really nice looking door This is my s... One of the few storm/screen doors with a keyed door. Its a really nice looking door This is my second one. I've had the first for almost a year. I love the window screen set up. No effort! Easy up easy down. No need to remove and replace seasonally. I have two more doors that I will be upgrading with EMCO .h
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice looking door for the price. I really like... Very nice looking door for the price. I really like how the screen is safely stored away until the open the window. I just replaced a 10 year old Enco storm door. Looks very fresh now with the new door on. It also seals good. No foggy windows in the morning. I will be buying another after this one.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like the door. If I had one complaint... I really like the door. If I had one complaint it is that The instructions were difficult to comprehend. The drawings made it especially difficult. I recently installed two other storm doors from another company and found the instructions much easier to understand and a quicker install.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At first, we didn't think it would fit, as the original door was an odd size. Perfect fit. We put... At first, we didn't think it would fit, as the original door was an odd size. Perfect fit. We put one in another door and loved the ease of screen to storm, and knew that we need another. It really is great not putting a screen/storm window in at the beginning and end of the seasons.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed by this door. Missing an important piece which... Not impressed by this door. Missing an important piece which the company is mailing to me. The instructions were a bit hard to read and after opening holes for the hardware. I had to move my dead bolt and knob on my door so the two knobs wouldn’t be in the way of each other.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ordered this screen door as a replacement for an older wooden screen door. The door is a beaut... I ordered this screen door as a replacement for an older wooden screen door. The door is a beautiful sand color which makes it blend with the brick. A bit of assembly with drilling of the door lock and handle. Chose this door over another brand due to reviews.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I own a few rental properties and have probably installed... I own a few rental properties and have probably installed over 30 storm doors over the past years. I must say, they did an incredible job to make it as easy as possible. There were spacers and templates to make sure everything fit right before screwing.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This storm door is simply amazing I read all the reviews and compared the negative ones with the ... This storm door is simply amazing I read all the reviews and compared the negative ones with the same door I already had installed and thankfully I had none of those problems that's the reason I ordered a second door for another door of my house
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I hire a contractor to install the doors because they are a bit to heavy for me and even the cont... I hire a contractor to install the doors because they are a bit to heavy for me and even the contractor took almost 7 hours to install 2 doors. I like the doors pretty much the handles the dead lock and specially the window screen access
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The quality of the Emco series 400 storm door is exceptional. Installation takes about an hour w... The quality of the Emco series 400 storm door is exceptional. Installation takes about an hour with the easy to follow instructions. My clients like the self-storing hidden screen feature. Highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is simple to install and looks really nice. I especially like the loaded screen funct... The product is simple to install and looks really nice. I especially like the loaded screen function. It is so easy to use and when it gets colder I can simply lift up the screen and the window moves into position.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Door is excellent. I like the way the window pulls down easily to have the screen open. I was abl... Door is excellent. I like the way the window pulls down easily to have the screen open. I was able to have my handyman pick it up at Home Depot for me. It took longer to install than we anticipated.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The door is nice and appealing to the eye. I... The door is nice and appealing to the eye. I was just upset the frame of the door had to be assembled. I was unaware that it had to be assembled. That is not what I was told by the associate.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instructions could have been more helpful on how to position the door during installation in vari... Instructions could have been more helpful on how to position the door during installation in various size openings. Once installed properly, it is an excellent and convenient storm door.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Install instructions were a little vague. Nearing completion found parts... Install instructions were a little vague. Nearing completion found parts missing. Had to contact vendor for missing parts. Not a pleasant experience. Still awaiting delivery of parts.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Door went in without a problem.Looks and works well.Didn't need... Door went in without a problem.Looks and works well.Didn't need to drill larger holes for door handle and lockset.Cleared inside door handle enough to stay with "left hand" mounting.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice sturdy door. Took about 3 hours to assemble and went very smooth. Like the looks & the ... Very nice sturdy door. Took about 3 hours to assemble and went very smooth. Like the looks & the quality. I may buy another one for my back door. No complaints about this purchase.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this door! It is secure, it updates my... I love this door! It is secure, it updates my space completely. Like that is has keyed hardware and the screen is on the top and it’s stored inside the door! Just slide to adjust!
Date published: 2019-05-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1115
  • loc_, sid_203207922, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 83ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT