#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203405976

Model #414DC-SF

Store SKU #285189

Scotch 1 in. x 1.66 yds. Permanent Double Sided Extreme Mounting Tape

  • Delivers a strong, permanent, and weather resistant bond
  • Use on finished/painted surfaces, metal, tile, plastic and more
  • Use instead of nails or screw for mounting up to 30 lbs.
  • View More Details
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated

Product Overview

For your toughest jobs, go for our strongest hold-Scotch-Mount Extreme Double-Sided Mounting Tape with its 3M industrial strength adhesive. Equipped with our powerful permanent adhesive, this double-sided tape defies gravity, holding an item up to 30 pounds. It's weather resistant for a long lasting bond, indoors and outdoors. So whether you're mounting shelves in your new apartment, or adding wall organization to the garage, Scotch-Mount Extreme Double-Sided Mounting Tape does the job quickly, easily and without the hassle of tools.
  • Maximum strength - our strongest tape delivers a superior, conformable bond on contact
  • Intended for indoor and outdoor use
  • Holds up to 30 lbs. with 3M industrial strength adhesive, to hold 1 lb. use 2-inches, to hold 30 lbs. use 60-inches
  • Designed for: painted drywall, painted/finished wood, metal, acrylic, smooth stone, and painted concrete
  • INDOOR OR OUTDOOR USE: Application temperature 50°F to 100°F
  • EASY TO APPLY DESIGN: Great for do-it-yourself projects
  • NO MESS OR TOOLS: Use instead of nails and screws
  • APPLICATION TIPS: Ensure your surface is smooth, clean and dry for the best bond
  • MADE IN: U.S.A. with globally sourced materials
  • SIZE: 1 in x 60 in roll
  • COLOR: Black
  • For Outdoor Use: 3 in. tape to hold 1 lb. Finished Wood; 3 in. to hold 1lb. Laminate


Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.



Core Diameter (in.)1.88Tape Length (ft.)4.98
Tape Width (in.)1


Adhesion levelHighColor FamilyGray
Color/FinishGrayFeaturesMoisture Resistant,UV Resistant
IncludedNo Additional Items IncludedIndoor/OutdoorIndoor/Outdoor
KitNoMaximum application temperature (F)100
Minimum application temperature (F)50Number of Rolls Included1
Pack Size1Paint Tool Product TypeDouble Sided Tape
Recommended SurfacesMetalReturnable90-Day

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 857 reviews
  • 77%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 857 reviews
Great holds
Wow! Great holds! Great product!
  • Verified Purchase
I bought this to hang a decorative shelf. I used all the roll on the back of the shelf except for about 3 inches. Shelf is maybe 10lbs tops. The shelf fell off in the middle of the night leaving peices that look like they melted. (I keep my house at 72° and 70° at night) I can't get it off my wall and it ruined my shelf. I followed all the instructions, it held for about a week and a half and now is just ruined.
Response from PACE Social TeamJun 10, 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will be sure to forward your comments. If you have any additional feedback or questions, please feel free to reach out to our team at 1-800-494-3552 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT and reference your case number 33284513.
    It held very well, but didn’t resolve my problem.
    • Verified Purchase
    Do not buy this "Extreme" tape.
    ABSOLUTE RUBBISH. That's the only way I can describe this product. Right on the package it says it can adhere to drywall & metal, and that it could support up to 30 Lbs. I thought : Great! I only need it to support a 1 Lb. commercial paper towel dispenser. You know, the kind you find in restaurant washrooms? I was trying to avoid drilling into the wall, and having to resort to using screws. Feel free to look up the specs of the dispenser. It's very lightweight. Brand Name : Frost. Model #: 101 It's literally 1 Lb. (excluding the weight of the paper towel, but the paper towel weighs less than the dispenser). On the directions, it says to make sure that both surfaces are clean. CHECK! It says to hold the two surfaces together for 60 seconds. CHECK! In fact, I stood there for 3:10 just to be safe. As soon as I let go, it fell off. As you can see in the images I uploaded, I covered the back of the dispenser very well! This wasn't the first time I've been burned by a Scotch product, but it's certainly the last time! I'm done with their inferior products. I'm out $12.96 & I had to drill into my wall. I obviously can't get a refund because I used the entire product.
    Response from ScotchSep 2, 2021
    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear of the trouble and we do not expect the product to be as described. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and offer potential resolutions. Our team can be reached at 1-800-364-3577 Mon - Fri 8 am - 5 pm (EST). Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
      Waste of money
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this to hand a curtain rod to so that I wouldn’t have to put holes in the wall. Didn’t work, now I have two ugly patches on the wall that I have to go buy paint for to fix. Do not buy, a waste of money
      Response from PACE Social TeamJul 19, 2021
      Thank you for leaving your review. We are sorry to learn and see you are having trouble. At this time we do not currently offer a product that we can recommend for hanging curtains due to its weight and how far it sticks out from the wall. If you wish to discuss further, please contact our support team so we can gather more information to better assist. Our team can be reached at 1-800-494-3552 Monday - Friday 8:00am-4:30pm CT and reference this case id#25306855.
        Misleading product!!
        This product description is very misleading and false . To make my complaint short as I have already written your corporate office . It claims to hold up to 10 lbs , I Purchased it hold Christmas garland that could not have weighed more than 5 lbs . My garland kept falling and I had to keep hanging it back up . I finally got sick and tired of rehanging it I gave up . And yes I used plenty of multiple strips to distribute the weight for the tape . Now it has left the tape residue permanently to my brand new homes walls!! The tape does not complete come off!! I specifically purchased this product because it says does not remove paint. I was mislead thinking it would be easy removal. That is not the case !! I hope they will offer some type of resolution to the damages . I am never one to complain , so for me to write this I really feel this company has mislead the consumer with their product and have given false guarantee to the product’s performance.
        Response from Social CareJan 11, 2021
        Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the product, and would love to gather some details about your experience. Please connect with our team at 1-800-537-9514 Mon-Fri 8am-5pm CT. Also, please note that this product is a permanent adhesive, so we would not expect damage free removal.
          Needed away to keep my portable air compressor from vibrating around the floor when it is on, sin...
          Needed away to keep my portable air compressor from vibrating around the floor when it is on, since the original rubber feet on the bottom of the compressor are long gone, I used two large strips of rubber sheet and held them on with the 3M extreme mounting tape. So far, so good and a lot less expensive than four new rubber foot pads for a old compressor.
          • Pro
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Works Great. Used it to install a rear spoiler on...
          Works Great. Used it to install a rear spoiler on my 2018 Chrysler 300S. Didn't want to drill into rear trunk lid, so I opted for the 30lb Tape.
          • Verified Purchase
          This tape is very good in our household use to...
          This tape is very good in our household use to secure frames on the wall and other things.
          • Verified Purchase
          I was advised to use this product to install emblems both inside and out of my car by staff at Ho...
          I was advised to use this product to install emblems both inside and out of my car by staff at Home Depot, I thoroughly cleaned both surfaces with rubbing alcohol but after a couple of days they have all started peeling off. Even the cell phone holder would not stay on my dashboard without the phone attached. Basically I am out of $ 20 because I cannot peel it off and get a refund.
          Response from 3M Social CareAug 29, 2019
          Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear of the trouble and would love to gather some additional details about your application and experience. Please connect with our team at 1-800-494-3552 Mo-Fri 8am-5pm CT. 3m-country-catalog
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          Showing 1-10 of 857 reviews