Internet #202638987

Model # 45-0294

0052613452943

Agri-Fab

40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

$ 80 99

Overview

Agri-Fab 40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher is perfect for the larger gardens with its 20 heat treated tines that are 3/16 in. diameter. Ideal for bringing matted layers of thatch and large clippings to the surface. Has a simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering.
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Agri-Fab 40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher is perfect for the larger gardens with its 20 heat treated tines that are 3/16 in. diameter. Ideal for bringing matted layers of thatch and large clippings to the surface. Has a simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering.
  • Assembled dimension: 41 in. W x 40 in. D x 41 in. H
  • Universal hitch easily attaches to any lawn tractor regardless of brand
  • Twenty heat treated spring tines provide durability
  • 7 in. x 1.5 in. semi pneumatic tires allow for smooth transport
  • Simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering
  • 40 in. weight tray holds up to seventy pounds for deeper and improved thatch removal
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Need help with assembly; check out the Agri-Fab youtube brand page for step by step assembly videos

Product Overview

Model #: 45-0294
Internet #: 202638987

Agri-Fab 40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher is perfect for the larger gardens with its 20 heat treated tines that are 3/16 in. diameter. Ideal for bringing matted layers of thatch and large clippings to the surface. Has a simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering.

  • Assembled dimension: 41 in. W x 40 in. D x 41 in. H
  • Universal hitch easily attaches to any lawn tractor regardless of brand
  • Twenty heat treated spring tines provide durability
  • 7 in. x 1.5 in. semi pneumatic tires allow for smooth transport
  • Simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering
  • 40 in. weight tray holds up to seventy pounds for deeper and improved thatch removal
  • 3-year limited warranty
  • Need help with assembly; check out the Agri-Fab youtube brand page for step by step assembly videos

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Agri-Fab Brinly-Hardy Brinly-Hardy Brinly-Hardy
Name 40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher 40 in. Tow-Behind Dethatcher 38 in. Front Mount Dethatcher for RYOBI Electric Riding Mower 48 in. Front Mount Dethatcher for ZTR Mowers
Price
$80.99
$89.00
$224.10
$339.00
Ratings (200) (328) (8) (27)
Refurbished No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
40 in
Assembled Height (in.)
41 in
Assembled Width (in.)
41 in
Working Width (in.)
40

Details

Application Type
Lawn Care
Assembly Required
Yes
Features
Adjustable Height,Dual Tine Tips
Fits Brands
Universal
Included
Weight Tray,Wheels
Material
Steel
Number of rows
2
Number of tine tips
20
Product Weight (lb.)
45 lb
Refurbished
No
Returnable
30-Day
Riding Mower Features
No Additional Features

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
3 Year Limited Warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
40 in
Assembled Height (in.)
41 in
Assembled Width (in.)
41 in
Working Width (in.)
40

Details

Application Type
Lawn Care
Assembly Required
Yes
Features
Adjustable Height,Dual Tine Tips
Fits Brands
Universal
Included
Weight Tray,Wheels
Material
Steel
Number of rows
2
Number of tine tips
20
Product Weight (lb.)
45 lb
Refurbished
No
Returnable
30-Day
Riding Mower Features
No Additional Features

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
3 Year Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

Will this Agri-Fab 40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher fit a John Deere 42" riding mower?

Asked by: JR
Yes... just overlap a bit!
Answered by: dglfalls
Date published: 2018-04-17

Would this unit be a good tool to use to remove moss from my lawn?

Would this unit be a good tool to use to remove moss from my lawn?
Asked by: Walt
Not likely to work to your satisfaction. The tines will just create linear divots in the moss...
Answered by: James
Date published: 2019-03-20

Can it loosen compacted soil to prep for grass seeding ?

Can it loosen compacted soil to prep for grass seeding ?
Asked by: Tony
No, it would not be useful for that. Anything loose on top of your grass it is very useful.
Answered by: laura
Date published: 2019-05-02

Can it be used as leaf rake?

Asked by: gunny
Probably not. The leaves would still come out the back end. All you would do is move them around.
Answered by: Bassman
Date published: 2019-03-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_14, h_10CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_, sid_202638987, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

40 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 198.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price Works well, considering the price. Couple things I would change, such as staggering the tines to get more thatch, making the side of the top higher to hold weights better without falling off, and maybe a stronger raise/lower bar. But it works well and certainly beats renting every year
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Piece of Equipment Initially thought it wouldn't be very effective but wow was I surprised! This thing is fantastic! Really breaks up the thatch that's choking the yard. Even scarifys bare spots and breaks up the surface with multiple passes.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy Tool The de-thatcher came complete and all parts were there to assemble. Instructions were straight forward and easy to follow. I will extend the review as soon as we have the opportunity to use it on the acreage!
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is a gem This is easy to assemble. I actually see no way you can do it wrong. All of the bolts are twice as long as they need to be, and there are over two dozen. The nuts are self locking so if you have a drill, run sockets on it or eat your Wheaties before hand. The parts come in a cardboard tray. Save that tray. When you are done, cut a hole on the center for the adjustment arm and place the cardboard tray in the metal tray, it's a snug fit. Then place a 16x8x2 or 4 concrete block in the tray. It's a snug fit, no rattle, no vibration, no need to tie down. The assembly instruction says to adjust the mount for the adjustment arm so there is side tension when in the up position. Take that seriously or you'll find out how poorly this thatches gravel, pavement etc. Once positioned correctly, you can tow this all over the farm. As for the thatching job - it cleaned up a big area where a mouse colony had lived under a snow bank all winter in no time, plus giving new life to the rest of the lawn. The tines actually smoothed out the ruts the mice had made enough that they will grown back in well. I used a 16x8x2 block for weight.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works okay. Its awkward and difficult to reach behind while... Works okay. Its awkward and difficult to reach behind while remaining seated on the mower, to lift up the carrier to clear the tines of thatch. Be prepared to stop, get off, and clear the tines.
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AgriFab 40” De-Thatcher Easy to set up, first run pulled behind a 38” Husqvarna mower with no issues. Was surprised how much junk it pulled up, several dual bagfuls easily. Highly recommend for the DIY homeowner.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was a little jumpy with no additional weight but two small, flat cinder blocks later and it wa... It was a little jumpy with no additional weight but two small, flat cinder blocks later and it was dethatching like a champ. Excellent product for the money.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Works great! I had to put a couple cement blocks on the back, to make it really dig in, other than that- it made raking my 5 acre yard a piece of cake!
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works good and cost less than hiring someone once It works pretty good. Raked one way and then the other and it removed about 80% of thatch. I'll do it again this fall and try and remove the rest.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Works great. Assembly was morevtime consuming than it needed to be but when complete it did what it was supposed to. Good price too.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected Great product. Assembly instructions very detailed and easy to follow. Does a very good job with 2 concrete blocks for weight.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool. Worked better than expected. Easy to assemble. Awesome... Great tool. Worked better than expected. Easy to assemble. Awesome price. Built to last.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great. I put 80lbs. of weight on it and... Worked great. I put 80lbs. of weight on it and it dug in good.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome little thatcher. Didi exactly what I needed it to... Awesome little thatcher. Didi exactly what I needed it to do
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid product that will help with your grass Work well on my zero-turn. I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Dethatcher worked really will. Well worth it.... This Dethatcher worked really will. Well worth it.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Duty Very happy for the price the 40 inch is a good buy
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth its weight in gold!... Worth its weight in gold!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good useful product I recently bought the 40" de-thatcher to help revitalise a half acre lawn. The manufactured quality of the product seems good, and the assembly instructions were OK. I did have to keep the hitch quite loose as the de-thatcher appears to be designed for a hitch height lower than that of my mower. At max adjustment it's only just OK. In operation the de-thatcher worked a treat. As I was using it in spring I used it without additional weights, and this was fine. The de-thatcher quickly raked out thatch and moss, and lifted the grass stems up for a good mowing cut. A nightmare manual job was transformed into a simple de-thatch run, followed by a mow. I'm looking forward to enjoying the results this summer
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting the weight right for the ground conditions makes it... Getting the weight right for the ground conditions makes it work better
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well. Clogs a lot The dethatcher worked well. Judging by the amount of debris (and green grass, by the way) it had caught in its tines, it was effective. Not sure if clearing the tines is necessary to get an effective dethatching; if it does, then this product is too labor intensive - it clogged early and often. Assembly using the video instructions AND the printed material went well. You can't just use one or the other; use both in tandem. The video didn't have the exact model and parts that came in the box. The manual itself was unclear on a couple of steps (specifically, when to tighten nuts or how loose to make things or which side of fixture to attach a bracket. In assembly, there is a step to use a screwdriver to bend the tray's points down to attach the tines. A few of those tabs did not come with enough of an angle, which required me to hit them with a punch/hammer enough to allow the screwdriver finishing technique to work.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item This is a great dethatcher easy to assemble and works great. Just after you get it go to the building dept and get a couple 11"x8" blocks to put on top, to wieght it down. You don't even need to tie them down. Great price to. And the handle raises up so it will roll around like going over driveways.
Date published: 2011-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with product, works as advertised I used the video during assembly and had no problems. Once I set the height and added two blocks it worked great. I do have a slight hill in the yard which was a non issue. The speed in which you pull makes a huge difference. Now looking at other Agri-Fab product for my lawn care needs.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from moss killer The de-thatcher worked perfectly for me. It is light weight, but it got the job done for me. I used it to break up the moss in my yard from all the wet weather we've had.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value I considered renting a de-thatcher since only use it a couple times a year. Found it was cheaper to purchase it on-line through Home Depot rather than rent one for a day through the nearest HD store.Assembly took a little time but directions are clear. Unit is reasonably well made and it did the job without adding weight to the bed. Tried adding blocks but tines dug too deep into lawn. Better to make two passes in cross pattern.
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_198
  • loc_, sid_202638987, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 132ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT