Internet #100628705

Model # SG1

Store SKU #199918

Store SO SKU #591523

0070686492352

Switch Guards (2-Pack)

  • Keeps switch secure in either the ON or OFF position
  • Perfect for preventing accidental device turn-off/turn-on
  • Easy to install with included screws
$ 1 99
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Keeps switch secure in either the ON or OFF position
  • Perfect for preventing accidental device turn-off/turn-on
  • Easy to install with included screws
Amerelle wall plates are designed to cover electrical boxes in the form of an easy and inexpensive decorative accent for any room. The Amerelle Switch Guards (2-Pack) cover standard toggle switches to help prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices. Sturdy plastic construction provides lasting strength and durability.
  • Covers a standard toggle switch to lock the switch in either the ON or OFF position
  • Helps prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices such as clocks, TVs, DVD players and more
  • Made of plastic for tough strength
  • Works with almost any standard toggle wall plate
  • Uses 2 screws for installation
  • Set includes 2 switch guards with screws

Product Overview

  • Keeps switch secure in either the ON or OFF position
  • Perfect for preventing accidental device turn-off/turn-on
  • Easy to install with included screws
Model #: SG1
Sku #: 199918
Internet #: 100628705

Amerelle wall plates are designed to cover electrical boxes in the form of an easy and inexpensive decorative accent for any room. The Amerelle Switch Guards (2-Pack) cover standard toggle switches to help prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices. Sturdy plastic construction provides lasting strength and durability.

  • Covers a standard toggle switch to lock the switch in either the ON or OFF position
  • Helps prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices such as clocks, TVs, DVD players and more
  • Made of plastic for tough strength
  • Works with almost any standard toggle wall plate
  • Uses 2 screws for installation
  • Set includes 2 switch guards with screws

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Keeps switch secure in either the ON or OFF position
  • Perfect for preventing accidental device turn-off/turn-on
  • Easy to install with included screws
Amerelle wall plates are designed to cover electrical boxes in the form of an easy and inexpensive decorative accent for any room. The Amerelle Switch Guards (2-Pack) cover standard toggle switches to help prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices. Sturdy plastic construction provides lasting strength and durability.
  • Covers a standard toggle switch to lock the switch in either the ON or OFF position
  • Helps prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices such as clocks, TVs, DVD players and more
  • Made of plastic for tough strength
  • Works with almost any standard toggle wall plate
  • Uses 2 screws for installation
  • Set includes 2 switch guards with screws

Product Overview

  • Keeps switch secure in either the ON or OFF position
  • Perfect for preventing accidental device turn-off/turn-on
  • Easy to install with included screws
Model #: SG1
Sku #: 199918
Internet #: 100628705

Amerelle wall plates are designed to cover electrical boxes in the form of an easy and inexpensive decorative accent for any room. The Amerelle Switch Guards (2-Pack) cover standard toggle switches to help prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices. Sturdy plastic construction provides lasting strength and durability.

  • Covers a standard toggle switch to lock the switch in either the ON or OFF position
  • Helps prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices such as clocks, TVs, DVD players and more
  • Made of plastic for tough strength
  • Works with almost any standard toggle wall plate
  • Uses 2 screws for installation
  • Set includes 2 switch guards with screws

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
0.748 in
Product Height (in.)
3.363 in
Product Width (in.)
1 in

Details

Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White
Electrical Product Type
Wall Plate
Returnable
90-Day
Wall Plate Accessory Type
Filler Plate

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Limited Warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
0.748 in
Product Height (in.)
3.363 in
Product Width (in.)
1 in

Details

Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White
Electrical Product Type
Wall Plate
Returnable
90-Day
Wall Plate Accessory Type
Filler Plate

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

does anyone know of one of these that does NOT have a side open?

does anyone know of one of these that does NOT have a side open? Something i can turn a switch either on or off then install and it'll keep the switch that way.
Asked by: Eugene
Hi Eugene, AmerTac switch guards are designed with the side opening to keep from accidental on/off, but allows you to operate the switch when needed. For industrial applications, there are "lock out" switch guards, but not from us.
Answered by: AmerTac
Date published: 2019-06-26

Can u turn switch off and on with this? Looking to be able to turn fire place on and off but were the 2 year old cant

Asked by: Chris
I believe opening is on side to access switch.
Answered by: LBD8
Date published: 2019-03-24

Can this be used on a switch the goes across instead of up and down

Asked by: Rescue4paws74
They attach by the screws that hold the switch's plate on. So if the distance between the screws on your horizontal switch is the same as on a regular vertical switch (2.5" or so; it's standard), then yes.
Answered by: seanmc
Date published: 2018-07-14

Do these come in light almond color?

Do these come in light almond color?
Asked by: Rich
More of an ivory color, see Home Depot SKU# 572080.
Answered by: dstyes
Date published: 2019-03-09
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_5
  • loc_, sid_100628705, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Amerelle Switch Guards (2-Pack), White is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item!... Great item!
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy fix to an annoying problem Like "Homesolution" stated above these are great little covers that are opened on one side so that you can still get to the switch if needed. These are perfect for those switches that can be easily turned off when you don't want them to be (ie motion sensors, entertainment centers, clocks) .... or worse yet, those lights that get left on and you don't see them right away (ie. the attic, garage, outdoor shed, work areas, etc)
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This guard works great for my child's room as her light switch is near her crib (see pictures). T... This guard works great for my child's room as her light switch is near her crib (see pictures). The guard covers two sides of the switch so she cant put on a 'light show' for us before/after naps/bedtime. After installing, she tried to turn the light on but eventually gave up. Without her flicking the light on and off constantly, the guard also ensures the switch isn't damaged. They make it a little more difficult for adults to turn on the light but it is still manageable. I am glad these were available because we cant move the crib over as she then pulls books off the shelf. The guard was very easy to install and they use the existing screws on the light cover. You don't even have to take the cover off to install it.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as described These switch guards were easy to install right over swith and plate. Opening on one side does make it possible to shut off. However, it can be seen, so you need to be sure to mount with the "solid" side where it will be seen by most so that the "open" side is hidden. Would have preferred the item to be completely enclosed, but I guess safety first!
Date published: 2009-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Switch Guard! It was easy to install, does what it should. Unfortunately, when my house was built instead of having electrical that is on all the time they installed light switch to turn it off and on. I stocked up on these and put them on those light switches so I do not accidentally turn them off.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase!! Great purchase if you have switches that should not be turned off! Also keeps little ones fingers off of important light switches!
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I hoped When I opened the package it appeared they would cuase the switch to be inoperable. Not so -- they do the inteded job perfectly.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less tacky than tape! So glad I found these after a quick Google search! These are perfect for keeping the switches on in our new home. They're a great alternative to the tape we were using out of desperation. I actually like that there's a cut-out on one side so you can still operate the switch if you intentionally need to do so. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still some issues So i bought this for my entertainment center which has a switch controlled outlet. worked just fine for a while. But in the hands of a exploring 2 year old, nothing is safe, and the fact that it is open on one side means that little fingers can turn off the switch when your watching TV or playing Xbox. it should really state in the descirption that it is open on one side as if i had known that i may not have purchased it.
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed In the past I had used adhesive tape or masking tape to cover light switches that I didn't want to be moved. But, the tape didn't look very nice and left adhesive residue. These covers are exactly what I was looking for. They blend in well with our white faceplates and switches. And, with one side being open, if you do need to throw the switch you can get your finger in there to do it.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We got these because our toddler (1 1/2 years) has started flicking the switches on the wall over... We got these because our toddler (1 1/2 years) has started flicking the switches on the wall over our bed. One of which controls an outside floodlight, which we might not find is on until hours later. So I got a pair of these and installed them. It took him less than 30 seconds to figure them out. In fact, his fingers fit in there a lot better than mine do, so this might do better as an adult-proofing measure. To the manufacturer's credit: He is a smart baby, and stubborn. Your average toddler on the street might give up after 45 seconds or so and look for something else to get into. This might be a one star product, but I will be able to duct tape over the holes so that NO ONE will be able to hit the switches, so one extra star for providing a scaffold for the tape.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are inexpensive yet very sturdy and have a contemporary... These are inexpensive yet very sturdy and have a contemporary look. They mount on the outside of the existing switch plate using the existing screws. Looks so much nicer than putting tape over a switch to prevent inadvertent shut down of anything electronic that you want to leave on.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Switch Guard Keeps someone from accidentally flipping switch. You have to think about it. Use it for where you have a clock plugged into a switch controlled wall outlet. You have to flip the switch lever from the side. Easy to install - just use the screws that are already in the wall plate.
Date published: 2010-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not As Advertised The advertising for this product is inaccurate and misleading. The package says it "Locks light switches in on or off positions" which is not true. It covers the switch and would prevent accidental operation, but does not actually lock the switch in place. A couple of other products actually do lock the switch in place, one is home-made. Should have done a little more research before making this purchase. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQ-6qF6iGgs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TlfDZJ4410
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SImple but genius Excellent if you want to avoid accidentally turning off a switch but you still need access to it! Simple, perfect for its mission and aesthetically pleasing.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Recommend: YES, but... it would be nice if the manufacturer offered this product in Light Almond... Recommend: YES, but... it would be nice if the manufacturer offered this product in Light Almond. Yes, you can paint white but it's just not the same.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to install. Has opening on side to permit switch... Simple to install. Has opening on side to permit switch operation but cover discourages casual or accidental switch operation.
Date published: 2018-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Agoodproductandeasyinstallation.... Agoodproductandeasyinstallation.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good hard to find item! These are light switch covers, and they are difficult to find anywhere. I only give 3 stars instead of 5 because these covers are open on one side, so they are not actually child proof etc, they are merely a "flag" to say "do not flip this switch" as opposed to physically stopping the flipping of the switch.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little product. Double light switch in the living room controls the light and all the netwo... Great little product. Double light switch in the living room controls the light and all the network/cable boxes. Always a pain when you hit the wrong switch and everything goes out. Simple to install and works great. One thing that may be an issue for some is that this doesn't completely disable the ability to turn the switch off. There is a cut out on the side where you can still flip the switch if need be so it doesn't completely cover the switch. Also these things seem to be hard to find in store .
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now can keep motion sensor light on without accidental turn-off.... Now can keep motion sensor light on without accidental turn-off. Also like that there is still access to the switch if needed, and looks good.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am recommending with a reservation. 4 stars because the screws that are supposed to accompany ... I am recommending with a reservation. 4 stars because the screws that are supposed to accompany these guards are not in the package. I bought two packages today and neither had screws. The guard works fine, one side gives access if you need to turn the switch off. I like the product just wish the advertising was correct.
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised Easy to install and works as advertised. The white plastic clashes a bit with my polished brass-colored light switch plate, but this guard keeps my wife and others from accidentally turning off the garage door from the inside of the house. I do like that you can still reach your finger in from the side to operate the switch intentionally if desired. Parents should be warned that if you're trying to avoid that happening then this product isn't for you.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality at a reasonable price. Once installed the switch can still be turn on/off throu... Very good quality at a reasonable price. Once installed the switch can still be turn on/off through the sides but are protected straight on (and on the other side). These come in white and almond to match the wall switch they are installed on. These fit your ordinary switches however these do not fit some larger (higher amp) switches. It would be nice if they made these for the larger switches.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These worked great. Easy to install. My one... These worked great. Easy to install. My one and a half year old can no longer mess with the light switches but I can easily turn them on and off as needed. Really glad they have a product like this.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed These are perfect to cover switches that you have automated with smart bulbs or outlets. They still allow you to turn off the switch should you need to, but prevent that automatic off as you walk out.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When you get tired of finding outside lights on because they have been turned on by mistake, you ... When you get tired of finding outside lights on because they have been turned on by mistake, you will find this a blessing. Simple to install and still have the ability to turn them on if you like. No more coming home and finding that the flood lights have been on all day.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed opening the package. The product wasn't not hard to install. It didnt smell ba... I really enjoyed opening the package. The product wasn't not hard to install. It didnt smell bad so that was a plus. I usually cut myself no matter what im doing but not this time. I cant wait until I need to guard switches in the future.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are perfect to cover your toggle switches - especially... These are perfect to cover your toggle switches - especially if you have smart light bulbs that you need to leave in the on position!
Date published: 2018-02-06
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_, sid_100628705, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT