Internet #300615901

Model # 490-850-0006

Store SKU #1002174553

0037049945115

Arnold

Universal Lawn Mower Blade Sharpening Kit

  • Helps keep your lawn healthy and manicured
  • Keeps your blade sharp for season after season
  • Includes easy-to-follow instructions for equipment maintenance
$ 7 98
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Helps keep your lawn healthy and manicured
  • Keeps your blade sharp for season after season
  • Includes easy-to-follow instructions for equipment maintenance
Arnold has everything you need to keep equipment running the way it should season after season. With Arnold you can be confident of a reliable product with accurate fit, design, material, and construction. In addition to reliable parts and accessories, Arnold's easy-to-follow instructions and extra tips will ease your equipment maintenance and assure that you get the job done right.
  • For lawn tractor and walk-behind mower blades
  • Fits any 1/4 in. or 3/8 in. electric drill
  • Includes blade sharpener and static blade balancer
  • Extends the life of mower blades
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Helps keep your lawn healthy and manicured
  • Keeps your blade sharp for season after season
  • Includes easy-to-follow instructions for equipment maintenance
Model #: 490-850-0006
Sku #: 1002174553
Internet #: 300615901

Arnold has everything you need to keep equipment running the way it should season after season. With Arnold you can be confident of a reliable product with accurate fit, design, material, and construction. In addition to reliable parts and accessories, Arnold's easy-to-follow instructions and extra tips will ease your equipment maintenance and assure that you get the job done right.

  • For lawn tractor and walk-behind mower blades
  • Fits any 1/4 in. or 3/8 in. electric drill
  • Includes blade sharpener and static blade balancer
  • Extends the life of mower blades
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
2.75
Product Height (in.)
9.75
Product Width (in.)
6.75

Details

Fits Brands
AYP,Bolens,Craftsman,Cub Cadet,Exmark,Huskee,Husqvarna,Hustler,John Deere,MTD,Poulan Pro,Troy-Bilt,Yard Machines,Yard-Man
Fits Models
Universal
Included
Blade Balancer
Returnable
90-Day
Used with Equipment Type
Push Mower,Riding Mower

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
None

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
2.75
Product Height (in.)
9.75
Product Width (in.)
6.75

Details

Fits Brands
AYP,Bolens,Craftsman,Cub Cadet,Exmark,Huskee,Husqvarna,Hustler,John Deere,MTD,Poulan Pro,Troy-Bilt,Yard Machines,Yard-Man
Fits Models
Universal
Included
Blade Balancer
Returnable
90-Day
Used with Equipment Type
Push Mower,Riding Mower

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
None

Questions & Answers

Would this be a good to use on a reel push mower?

Would this be a good to use on a reel push mower?
Asked by: Jack
Yes
Answered by: Mark
Date published: 2019-06-04

Will this work on a curved blade?

My lawnmower blade curves up a little as it heads into the middle of the mower. Can this work on a curved edge? Or does it only work on flat edges?
Asked by: GJ
Yes, it should work with curved blades.
Answered by: HS
Date published: 2019-04-02

Blade Sharpening Kit: Is there a user instruction manual with use tips?

Blade Sharpening Kit: Is there a user instruction manual with use tips?
Asked by: piloto
Yes. I had never sharpened before and felt like the instructions clearly lined me up for success.
Answered by: Dave
Date published: 2018-10-31

Can you leave the blade on the mower to sharpen or do you have to remove the blade?

Can you leave the blade on the mower to sharpen or do you have to remove the blade?
Asked by: Red
Yes, but I recommend removing the blade (if possible) for a more thorough sharpen blade
Answered by: Pete
Date published: 2018-10-10
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_8
  • loc_, sid_300615901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Universal Lawn Mower Blade Sharpening Kit is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 114.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not efficient.... Not efficient.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tool!... Awesome tool!
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good... Works good
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool great tool
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Works
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sharpening tool. I always wanted to sharpen my own... Great sharpening tool. I always wanted to sharpen my own mower blade but was concerned that i would get the wrong angle and worse get the blade out of balance. This tool takes out all the guess work in sharpening a mower blade. Very happy and will save tons of money from buying new blades prematurely. All directions included except how to re-balance the blade if it gets unbalanced. Took a bit of thinking but just sharpen the side that is dropping lower than the higher side to make it liter.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I sharpened a regular lawn mower blade and a mulching blade. I found it easier to control the sh... I sharpened a regular lawn mower blade and a mulching blade. I found it easier to control the sharpener by first setting my drill on the lower speed (400 rpm max), making several passes, and then changing the setting on the drill to the higher speed (1500 rpm). I did not attempt to use the sharpener on any rounded areas because of the increased difficulty, probably much more wear and tear on the stone, and it is easy enough to use a regular file on those areas. After using the sharpener, it was very easy/quick to take a regular file to touch-up the very end of the blade and make the leading edge extra sharp.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a great job sharpening lawn mower blades. Does take... Does a great job sharpening lawn mower blades. Does take some practice with getting the drill at a good angle as to keep it from running away from you.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this intending to sharpen my mower's 21" mulching blade with it. It worked on the flat ... I bought this intending to sharpen my mower's 21" mulching blade with it. It worked on the flat portion of the blade, but is not designed to handle the sharply curved cutting portion of a mulching blade. If you have a standard flat blade, this is an acceptable device, for the money. If not, you will be disappointed. Also, the balancer is designed to accomodate a blade with a circular center hole, not a star center hole, like my Troy-Bilt has.
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of Time can not hold steady, i spent 2 hrs and ended up using a file instead. i watched YouTube videos before attempted to do this but no sucess. the balancer is the only thing that works. i wasted my money on this, could have saved my 8 bucks and spend it on a new blade.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a nice job. Easy to use.... Does a nice job. Easy to use.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Did the job. Easy to use. Did the job.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great product
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I worked pretty good. I had to spend extra time... I worked pretty good. I had to spend extra time to sharpen it as I haven’t done it at the local lawn mower repair shop in a few years. I think if I dhatien it at the start of each season it will take less time. Anyway fir less than the cost to take the blade to be sharpened, you can do it yourself
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If your blade has dents and nicks this product is... If your blade has dents and nicks this product is for you. If your blade is maintained no dents and you just need a sharpening it gets the job done to. A little hard to control at times so adjust your drill accordingly.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best mower blade sharpening systems that I have found. It worked as advertise... This is one of the best mower blade sharpening systems that I have found. It worked as advertised right out of the box and did a wonderful job sharpening my mower blade.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Arnold Universal Lawn Mower Blade Sharpening Kit, I was only able to use the sharpener, but i... The Arnold Universal Lawn Mower Blade Sharpening Kit, I was only able to use the sharpener, but it was so easy to use. I couldn't get the blades off the mower, so I simply left them on the mower, thus didn't use the balancing gadget. I fit the sharpener to my electric drill, followed the directions that I found on Youtube. I am very happy with the results of my sharpened blade. The cost was SO minimal compared to taking the mower to the shop and having the blade sharpened. I am delighted.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frankly, didn't buy this for the sharpening stone, I bought it for the balancer. Looking at the s... Frankly, didn't buy this for the sharpening stone, I bought it for the balancer. Looking at the sharpener I don't see how you could possibly keep a consistent angle and edge so I will most likely never use it. Balancer works great though so it accomplished what I needed it to.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was really surprised how fast and well this little gizmo worked. I've sharpened my blade with a... I was really surprised how fast and well this little gizmo worked. I've sharpened my blade with a file before, and it took forever. With this kit, it took longer to remove/replace the blade than to sharpen it and the results are pretty good. Took my blade from butterknife to utility edge in a couple minutes.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works quite well for a nominal price. I like it. The front of the grinding stone is used to debur... Works quite well for a nominal price. I like it. The front of the grinding stone is used to deburr the flat side of the blade, then it is placed over the blade, with the flat side of the blade against the plastic disc, so the grinding stone has the correct angle to grind the blade sharp. The balancing tool is a little bit of thin plastic that works surprisingly well to verify that the blade is balanced.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It easily did the job. I installed the sharpening stone in the drill chuck, and then - contrary t... It easily did the job. I installed the sharpening stone in the drill chuck, and then - contrary to the instructions - I secured the drill itself in the vise. Then I manipulated the mower blade against the spinning stone by hand. This allowed for better stability and accuracy.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Grinder worked well. Sharpening the blade was quick and easy. The balancer is really not ... The Grinder worked well. Sharpening the blade was quick and easy. The balancer is really not needed and an unnecessary expense from my viewpoint. Sharpening only requires removal of a very small amount of metal so balance of the blade stays true.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is made of plastic , you can purchase metal for about the same price. I do not recommend. This is made of plastic , you can purchase metal for about the same price. I do not recommend.
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It seems to do what it's designed to do, but I'd much rather get a regular grinder to sharpen law... It seems to do what it's designed to do, but I'd much rather get a regular grinder to sharpen lawn mower blades. If you only need a touch up, it may work ok.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn’t last long, sharpened three blades before it wore down far enough to make it difficult. Wo... Doesn’t last long, sharpened three blades before it wore down far enough to make it difficult. Worked like a charm though.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this product, it took a lot of guess work out of sharpening my blades. A couple of set bac... I like this product, it took a lot of guess work out of sharpening my blades. A couple of set backs are, it takes some practice and if you have been using another tool or method it may take a couple uses to reset the blade geometry to get really sharp. Use a drill as the manufacturer suggests; other rotary type tools lack the power to sharpen a mower blade.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It surved its purpose It was very hard to control but it did surve its intended purpose.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well. Get the blade clamped down before grinding. The balance tool is a nice addition.... Works very well. Get the blade clamped down before grinding. The balance tool is a nice addition. Other kits don't always include one (especially that works as well as this one).
Date published: 2017-10-25
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_114
  • loc_, sid_300615901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 122ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT