#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #308486729

Model #500501

1 gal. #SC-102 Slate Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

  • Resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete
  • Creates textured/extratextured, slipresistant, waterproof coating
  • Best results require proper cleaning and preparation of surfaces
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

BEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete and features even better adhesion and cracking resistance. This latest formula utilizes an advanced 100% acrylic resin to create a durable waterproof coating for your tired and worn out deck while rejuvenating its look. It has an easy, splatter resistant application.
  • Textured or extra textured finish provides a unique look
  • Higher viscosity formula helps conceals splinters and cracks up to 1/4 in.
  • Do not apply when conditions are below 50° F or above 90° F
  • Slip resistant, waterproof solid color coating
  • Covers up to 75 sq. ft. in 2 coats per gallon
  • Apply with 1/2 in. nap roller cover or with the DECKOVER Extra Textured Roller Cover
  • Recoat in 4-6 hours
  • For use on properly prepared wood and concrete surfaces in sound condition
  • Available in 54 colors with custom color matching available
  • Durable, mildew resistant finish
  • Allow wood to be completely dry for a minimum of 24 hours prior to applying coating
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online Price includes a Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

current product
1 gal. #SC-102 Slate Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
1 gal. #PFC-63 Slate Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating1 gal. #SC-330 Redwood Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating1 gal. #PFC-25 Dark Walnut Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
BrandBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER
Name1 gal. #SC-102 Slate Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating1 gal. #PFC-63 Slate Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating1 gal. #SC-330 Redwood Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating1 gal. #PFC-25 Dark Walnut Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
Price
Ratings
(80)
(104)
(307)
(227)
TransparencySolidSolidSolidSolid
Container Size1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
Paint/Stain FeaturesAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Stain & Sealer In OneNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
75
Product Depth (in.)
7.2
Product Height (in.)
7.8
Product Width (in.)
7.2

Details

Application Method
Brush,Roller
Color Family
Black
Color/Finish
Slate
Dry to the touch (hours)
4
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Maximum Optimal Temperature (F)
90
Minimum Optimal Temperature (F)
50
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Features
Abrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Wood Deck Restoration Coating
Product Weight (lb.)
12.5
Recommended Number of Coats
2
Returnable
90-Day
Stain & Sealer In One
No
Substrate Condition
Finished Wood,Old/Reclaimed Wood,Pressure Treated Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Usage Type
Composite,Concrete,Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Solid
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

11Questions12Answers

Can this be used on deck fencing as well?

Asked by Apple September 22, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Apple, thank you for writing in with your question. Yes, the Textured DeckOver can be used on fences as well. Good luck with your project! -Giovanna

I applied a 1st coat of textured DeckOver, but it is too textury. Can I apply a second coat of Non-Textured DeckOver?

Asked by Daniel September 20, 2020
1
Answer

Hi DANIEL, Thank you for writing in. You can certainly apply a second coat of (non-textured) Smooth DeckOver on top of Textured DeckOver. I hope this information was helpful. Please feel free to reach out with any additional questions you may have. Best of luck with your project! ~Doris

Can you put a third coat on? We put 2 coats of Desert Sand on our concrete sidewalk and steps

Asked by Cheridee September 13, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Cheridee, I am sorry to hear the color didn't come out as expected. You can apply a third coat of a different color if you prefer. However, it would be best to let the coating dry for at least 72 hours before doing so. If you need help with this, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly; we'd love to help in any way we can. -Edith

Has anyone used the slate color on their deck? It is too dark? If so can you send a picture.

Asked by 0514 June 7, 2020
1
Answer

Hi 0514 - Thanks for your question! We recommend checking out the physical swatch for the color Slate for a more accurate idea of the color. Our DeckOver colors can also be mixed into our Solid Color Waterproofing Stain & Sealer samples so you can test them on your project before making a larger purchase. Click here to view the sample for Slate SC-102: https://www.homedepot.com/p/BEHR-Premium-8-oz-SC-102-Slate-Solid-Color-Waterproofing-Exterior-Wood-Stain-and-Sealer-Sample-501316/203728594. Best wishes for your project! - Sara

I’ve been purchasing the deck slate grey and no texture and it was a stain by Behr iOS that avail...

Asked by Gene June 3, 2020
2
Answers

Hi Gene, To better answer your question, we suggest reaching out to the HD.com customer service department directly at 800-430-3376 any day between 6 am and 2 am EST. They can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store for details on product availability. Best – Sara

Why is the BEHR Premium Advanced DeckOver sold online but not available in ANY Home Depot stores ...

Asked by Bev May 28, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Bev, To better answer your question, we suggest reaching out to the HD.com customer service department directly at 800-430-3376 any day between 6 am and 2 am EST. They can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store for details on product availability. Best – Sara

will this be textured if i put it down with a regular roller? And is it easy to sweep?

Asked by Portho November 1, 2019
1
Answer

Hi Portho, Thanks for your interest in our products! The Advanced DeckOver coating is still going to have a slightly textured finish (regardless of what you use). It isn't extremely textured and the coating can still be swept, but because it is a bit rough it does trap dirt stains a bit easier. I hope this was informative, and please feel free to reach out directly to our Customer Care Department if you have any other questions or concerns. Have a good rest of your day, and best of luck with your project - Vince

Can I use this to paint indoor stairs for better traction? The are currently wood and my dog slip...

Asked by Olivia September 30, 2019
1
Answer

Hi Olivia, thanks for writing in with your question. Yes, the Advanced Textured DeckOver can be used to paint indoor wooden stairs. The surface should be clean, dry, and scuff sanded to remove dead wood fibers and gloss. Have a great day! -Giovanna

Will this work on old outdoor tile ?

Asked by Jenn September 16, 2019
2
Answers

Hi Jenn, thank you for your question. Our Advanced DeckOver coating can be used on unglazed clay, and/or Mexican/Satillo tile. However, we would not recommend using it on glazed tile. Hope this info helps. Best of luck with your project! -Joanna

Could this be used on wooden wheel chair ramp to improve traction?

Asked by sd March 31, 2019
1
Answer

Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,We have reached out to the manufacturer and their reply is,Thanks for writing in with your question. You can use Advanced DeckOver Textured on a wheelchair ramp. The texture can help with traction but keep in mind that the wheelchair traffic may reduce the longevity of the coating, and touch-ups may be necessary.

1 gal. #SC-102 Slate Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 80 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 80 reviews
Love this new color and texture. I am actually resurfacing our outdoor patio. The old drab wash...
Love this new color and texture. I am actually resurfacing our outdoor patio. The old drab washed out color is now a slate colored feels like a rubber mat with a texture. It does not show the dirt, and the leaves will blow off easier. The old blue stamped concrete always looked dirty, and that is embarresing when we have people over. The paint itself is very thick, the consistancy of Maypo, so it poors out very slowly and hard to spread. The associate at Home Depot helped me pick out the correct roller. The edging was done with a brush. The paint is 100% resin, like rubber and is waterproof and should wash easily. Next time I will use a corner roller for the stamped concrete trim lines.
by MITCHIE
5 people found this helpful
Had to remove product.
This product was WAY to thick to spread. My wife started and complained that it was very thick and difficult to spread. Instead of believing her, I told her that it is supposed to be a little thicker than paint. However, after she had painted nearly all the rails and spindles, I helped her and realized that we never should have used the product. It was the consistency of drywall mud. It wouldn't pick up on a 3/8" nap paint roller, and when it did, it wouldn't apply to the surface. A paint brush was manageable for about 5 minutes until the product filled the brush so much that the brush wouldn't apply product any longer. I returned to the store to ask if this was normal. They said yes. We opened a new can to see if it was the same consistency as the can I bought. The new can was much thinner, similar to paint. The store said that when this product is tinted, it can thicken like mine did, but it should still apply OK. They sold me one of the Behr mesh roller covers that is specialized for this project. The roller worked only marginally better then regular rollers. The best way to apply was use this roller (which makes the surface look like a very thick stamped ceiling), and then smooth it out with a brush. When the mesh roller cover didn't work, we quit using the product. However, we had to spend an entire Saturday sanding down all the spindles and railings that we had already "painted". We are going to use standard exterior paint on the rails and spindles. We are now farther behind on this project than when we started and wasted nearly $100 on this product, just to spend more time removing it. Again, Home Depot mentioned that adding tint to this product can cause it to thicken. But mine changed from thick paint to drywall mud. I would NOT recommend adding tint, but if you do, check the consistency before you leave the store.
by tmk1
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 25, 2021
Hi tmk1, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear the Advanced DeckOver you used seemed too thick and was hard to apply and remove; that's not the performance we expect from our products.

Our DeckOver coating is thicker than our other wood/concrete coatings, as it provides a textured slip-resistant finish. However, it should be spreadable. To ensure proper consistency during your application, we recommend stirring the coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application.

Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great rest of your weekend.
Poor quality
Bought 6 gallons of this product, plenty for our deck. Cleaned & Prepped area prior to applying. It’s been barely 3 weeks and it’s coming off. Not only was this expensive but the color did NOT match the product label. Cape Cod Gray looks like white. Awful product, I’m so disappointed after all the money we spent not to mention the work involved that this looks like this. NEVER, again!
by Avery
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 14, 2021
Hi Avery- Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color didn't turn out as expected and the finish is coming off after only 3 weeks! I've reached out to you via email to learn more about your project and help you get your deck back on track. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
Overall Great Deck Finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This was my 2nd time using this product over a 5 year old treatd wood deck. First time was likely too early on deck wood life. This time, after preparing the surface and primer, looks like it will be the charm. The 2nd time has only been down 6 months.
by Radioman
Very Very Very Very UPSET.
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am 74 Yrs. old and for all interior painting and outdoor staining projects I have always used Behr products. In this case I have $90.00 worth of stain that is so thick It can not be applied and will not soak into properly prepared wooden deck stairs and floorboards, and an unfinished project.
by Jimbo 3147
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 4, 2021
Hi Jimbo 3147, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear our Advanced DeckOver coating was thicker than expected.

To ensure proper consistency, we recommend stirring your coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application. Keep in mind our DeckOver coating is thicker than other wood coatings, as it's meant to provide a textured slip-resistant finish.

Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. We hope you have a great rest of your weekend.
Great finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Worked great! And looks great 1 year later. I wish the instructions recommended using the non-textured product for the first coat. The texture does limit coverage and if you’re not careful you can miss spots “below” the texture. a starter coat could prevent any misses. And adding the texture for the second coat would still look awesome.
by KMack
Beauty with protection
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We retired in Oregon where the weather exacts a heavy toll on unprotected exterior wood railings. We purchased Deckover after extensive preparation on our railings. I tried several different application methods. The coverage and wood adherence was excellent. I followed the directions for application and after almost two years, the railings look as good as when the Deckover was first applied. I was skeptical of the 25 year coating life, but in spite of over sixty inches of rain a year, I believe that Deckover was the best choice I could have made. Instead of an eyesore, our railings are a real asset to the exterior of our home.
by John Ebbe
Awful
Deck was painted 2 months ago. It is a mess because foot prints, dog prints, dirt, you name it, all stick to it. The deck was previously painted with the older formulation.
by Ralph 1
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareFeb 9, 2021
Hi there - Thank you for reviewing our Advanced DeckOver Textured. I'm so sorry to hear about the foot and paw prints on your deck, and how dirt and debris are sticking to the surface. Because of the non-skid texture, this coating may hold on to dirt and debris more than a regular smooth deck stain or paint. However, the surface can be easily cleaned with soap and water or our wood cleaner. I've also reached out to you via email to make sure your project is taken care of. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
It’s only been on our porch for a little over...
It’s only been on our porch for a little over a month, but it looks great! It’s very thick and will definitely require more than you think you’ll need! We love it so far.
by TS
by KEL
Showing 1-10 of 80 reviews