#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #308486590

Model #500505

5 gal. #SC-131 Pewter Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

  • Resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete
  • Creates textured/extratextured, slipresistant, waterproof coating
  • Best results require proper cleaning and preparation of surfaces
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

BEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete and features even better adhesion and cracking resistance. This latest formula utilizes an advanced 100% acrylic resin to create a durable waterproof coating for your tired and worn out deck while rejuvenating its look. It has an easy, splatter resistant application.
  • Textured or extra textured finish provides a unique look
  • Higher viscosity formula helps conceals splinters and cracks up to 1/4 in.
  • Do not apply when conditions are below 50° F or above 90° F
  • Slip resistant, waterproof solid color coating
  • Covers up to 375 sq. ft. per 5 Gal.
  • Apply with 1/2 in. nap roller cover or with the DECKOVER Extra Textured Roller Cover
  • Recoat in 4-6 hours
  • For use on properly prepared wood and concrete surfaces in sound condition
  • Available in 54 colors with custom color matching available
  • Durable, mildew resistant finish
  • Allow wood to be completely dry for a minimum of 24 hours prior to applying coating
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online Price includes a Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

current product
5 gal. #SC-131 Pewter Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
5 gal. #PFC-63 Slate Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-365 Cape Cod Gray Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-330 Redwood Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
BrandBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER
Name5 gal. #SC-131 Pewter Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #PFC-63 Slate Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-365 Cape Cod Gray Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-330 Redwood Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
Price
Ratings
(85)
(104)
(270)
(160)
TransparencySolidSolidSolidSolid
Container Size5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon
Paint/Stain FeaturesAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Stain & Sealer In OneNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
5 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
375
Product Depth (in.)
12.25
Product Height (in.)
15
Product Width (in.)
12.25

Details

Application Method
Brush,Roller
Color Family
Gray
Color/Finish
Pewter
Dry to the touch (hours)
4
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Maximum Optimal Temperature (F)
90
Minimum Optimal Temperature (F)
50
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Features
Abrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Wood Deck Restoration Coating
Product Weight (lb.)
52.6
Recommended Number of Coats
2
Returnable
90-Day
Stain & Sealer In One
No
Substrate Condition
Finished Wood,Old/Reclaimed Wood,Pressure Treated Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Usage Type
Composite,Concrete,Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Solid
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

5Questions5Answers

Is this comparable to Restore 10x Advanced Deck & Concrete. Pewter in color, texture

Asked by Casey June 18, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Casey - Thanks for your question! Advanced DeckOver was designed to resurface weathered wood and concrete by filling in cracks, taming splinters, and extending the life of your deck. This is a water-based coating that will dry to a textured, non-skid finish that will resist mildew growth and moisture. Hope this helps! - Sara

Can I apply smooth deckover over 4 year old textured deckover. ( same color) I feel like it would...

Asked by Carol May 17, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Carol, Thanks for your question! Smooth DeckOver can be applied over the Textured version. Due to the thick consistency of this product, it may cover some of the texture of the old coating. We recommend applying the smooth version in a small test area to make sure you're happy with the overall finish before applying it to the whole area. Best wishes for your project! - Sara

what primer do you use for this behr textured deck coating

Asked by jeff May 8, 2020
1
Answer

Hi jeff, Thanks for your question! Applying a primer beforehand isn't necessary; however, our Multi-Surface Primer & Sealer is a great option and can be topcoated with Advanced DeckOver. Best - Sara

Could this be used a porch with outdoor tiles?

Asked by Melissa May 5, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Melissa, Thank you for your question. The DeckOver can be applied to unglazed clay or Saltillo tiles. To ensure the best adhesion, we recommend scuff sanding the surface and making sure the floor is clean and dry before applying 2 coats of DeckOver. If your porch tiles are glazed or porcelain, we recommend reaching out to your local Home Depot for a similar product that will adhere properly to the surface. Best - Sara

WHAT ROLLER DO YOU SUGGEST

Asked by Kirk March 14, 2019
1
Answer

Hi Kirk, thanks for writing in. It's best to use a 1/2" nap roller when applying the Advanced Textured DeckOver, But if you want a smoother texture, you can use a brush or thinner nap roller (1/4"). -Takhari

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 85 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews
I LOVE this product! I saw the mixed reviews and took a chance on it...I was not disappointed! My...
I LOVE this product! I saw the mixed reviews and took a chance on it...I was not disappointed! My deck boards were super old and splintering, but this paint restored them and gave me at least another year or two before I need to replace them!
by Heather
3 people found this helpful
I used this product on concrete and was pleased with the results. Color and coverage was good. ...
I used this product on concrete and was pleased with the results. Color and coverage was good. I think most of the bad reviews may be due to lack of surface preparation. I pressure washed the heck out if it and scrubbed it with an etching cleaner before applying. I don't recommend their roller as the finish was way too textured and spiky. I switched out to a 1/2" nap after only a few passes. Still ended up with a mild textured finish that was perfect. Recommend stirring before re-filling the roller tray as the grit seemed to fall back to the bottom of the can quickly. Two coats is recommended for sure. If your taping off areas, I would pull the tape while the product is wet and re-tape before applying the second coat. I didn't and had to use a razor blade and cut the product as I pulled the tape in order to keep it from peeling the product away from the surface. So far it has been two months and all seems well.
by DoItYourselfer
Had to remove product.
This product was WAY to thick to spread. My wife started and complained that it was very thick and difficult to spread. Instead of believing her, I told her that it is supposed to be a little thicker than paint. However, after she had painted nearly all the rails and spindles, I helped her and realized that we never should have used the product. It was the consistency of drywall mud. It wouldn't pick up on a 3/8" nap paint roller, and when it did, it wouldn't apply to the surface. A paint brush was manageable for about 5 minutes until the product filled the brush so much that the brush wouldn't apply product any longer. I returned to the store to ask if this was normal. They said yes. We opened a new can to see if it was the same consistency as the can I bought. The new can was much thinner, similar to paint. The store said that when this product is tinted, it can thicken like mine did, but it should still apply OK. They sold me one of the Behr mesh roller covers that is specialized for this project. The roller worked only marginally better then regular rollers. The best way to apply was use this roller (which makes the surface look like a very thick stamped ceiling), and then smooth it out with a brush. When the mesh roller cover didn't work, we quit using the product. However, we had to spend an entire Saturday sanding down all the spindles and railings that we had already "painted". We are going to use standard exterior paint on the rails and spindles. We are now farther behind on this project than when we started and wasted nearly $100 on this product, just to spend more time removing it. Again, Home Depot mentioned that adding tint to this product can cause it to thicken. But mine changed from thick paint to drywall mud. I would NOT recommend adding tint, but if you do, check the consistency before you leave the store.
by tmk1
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 25, 2021
Hi tmk1, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear the Advanced DeckOver you used seemed too thick and was hard to apply and remove; that's not the performance we expect from our products.

Our DeckOver coating is thicker than our other wood/concrete coatings, as it provides a textured slip-resistant finish. However, it should be spreadable. To ensure proper consistency during your application, we recommend stirring the coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application.

Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great rest of your weekend.
Poor quality
Bought 6 gallons of this product, plenty for our deck. Cleaned & Prepped area prior to applying. It’s been barely 3 weeks and it’s coming off. Not only was this expensive but the color did NOT match the product label. Cape Cod Gray looks like white. Awful product, I’m so disappointed after all the money we spent not to mention the work involved that this looks like this. NEVER, again!
by Avery
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 14, 2021
Hi Avery- Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color didn't turn out as expected and the finish is coming off after only 3 weeks! I've reached out to you via email to learn more about your project and help you get your deck back on track. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
Overall Great Deck Finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This was my 2nd time using this product over a 5 year old treatd wood deck. First time was likely too early on deck wood life. This time, after preparing the surface and primer, looks like it will be the charm. The 2nd time has only been down 6 months.
by Radioman
Very Very Very Very UPSET.
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am 74 Yrs. old and for all interior painting and outdoor staining projects I have always used Behr products. In this case I have $90.00 worth of stain that is so thick It can not be applied and will not soak into properly prepared wooden deck stairs and floorboards, and an unfinished project.
by Jimbo 3147
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 4, 2021
Hi Jimbo 3147, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear our Advanced DeckOver coating was thicker than expected.

To ensure proper consistency, we recommend stirring your coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application. Keep in mind our DeckOver coating is thicker than other wood coatings, as it's meant to provide a textured slip-resistant finish.

Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. We hope you have a great rest of your weekend.
Great finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Worked great! And looks great 1 year later. I wish the instructions recommended using the non-textured product for the first coat. The texture does limit coverage and if you’re not careful you can miss spots “below” the texture. a starter coat could prevent any misses. And adding the texture for the second coat would still look awesome.
by KMack
Beauty with protection
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We retired in Oregon where the weather exacts a heavy toll on unprotected exterior wood railings. We purchased Deckover after extensive preparation on our railings. I tried several different application methods. The coverage and wood adherence was excellent. I followed the directions for application and after almost two years, the railings look as good as when the Deckover was first applied. I was skeptical of the 25 year coating life, but in spite of over sixty inches of rain a year, I believe that Deckover was the best choice I could have made. Instead of an eyesore, our railings are a real asset to the exterior of our home.
by John Ebbe
Awful
Deck was painted 2 months ago. It is a mess because foot prints, dog prints, dirt, you name it, all stick to it. The deck was previously painted with the older formulation.
by Ralph 1
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareFeb 9, 2021
Hi there - Thank you for reviewing our Advanced DeckOver Textured. I'm so sorry to hear about the foot and paw prints on your deck, and how dirt and debris are sticking to the surface. Because of the non-skid texture, this coating may hold on to dirt and debris more than a regular smooth deck stain or paint. However, the surface can be easily cleaned with soap and water or our wood cleaner. I've also reached out to you via email to make sure your project is taken care of. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
What a waste of money. Ordered pewter, in the pictures it looked like a medium dark grey. It was ...
What a waste of money. Ordered pewter, in the pictures it looked like a medium dark grey. It was more of a light grey. Not what we wanted at all. Ended up going to Lowe’s and getting different paint to cover it. Waste of money.
by Liz
Response from BehrOct 23, 2020
Hi Liz,

Thank you for reviewing Behr DeckOver. I'm very sorry to hear about the color issue experienced, as it certainly isn't typical or what we want our customers to go through. Please contact Behr's Customer Care Department for further assistance with this matter. We'd love to find a way to help.

Kindest regards,

Doris Behr
Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews