#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #308486592

Model #500505

5 gal. #SC-137 Drift Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

  • Resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete
  • Creates textured/extratextured, slipresistant, waterproof coating
  • Best results require proper cleaning and preparation of surfaces
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

BEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete and features even better adhesion and cracking resistance. This latest formula utilizes an advanced 100% acrylic resin to create a durable waterproof coating for your tired and worn out deck while rejuvenating its look. It has an easy, splatter resistant application.
  • Textured or extra textured finish provides a unique look
  • Higher viscosity formula helps conceals splinters and cracks up to 1/4 in.
  • Do not apply when conditions are below 50° F or above 90° F
  • Slip resistant, waterproof solid color coating
  • Covers up to 375 sq. ft. per 5 Gal.
  • Apply with 1/2 in. nap roller cover or with the DECKOVER Extra Textured Roller Cover
  • Recoat in 4-6 hours
  • For use on properly prepared wood and concrete surfaces in sound condition
  • Available in 54 colors with custom color matching available
  • Durable, mildew resistant finish
  • Allow wood to be completely dry for a minimum of 24 hours prior to applying coating
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online Price includes a Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

current product
5 gal. #SC-137 Drift Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
5 gal. #SC-365 Cape Cod Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #PFC-63 Slate Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-159 Boot Hill Grey Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
BrandBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER
Name5 gal. #SC-137 Drift Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-365 Cape Cod Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #PFC-63 Slate Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-159 Boot Hill Grey Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
Price
Ratings
(91)
(156)
(104)
(79)
TransparencySolidSolidSolidSolid
Container Size5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon
Paint/Stain FeaturesAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Stain & Sealer In OneNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
5 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
375
Product Depth (in.)
12.25
Product Height (in.)
15
Product Width (in.)
12.25

Details

Application Method
Brush,Roller
Color Family
Gray
Color/Finish
Drift Gray
Dry to the touch (hours)
4
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Maximum Optimal Temperature (F)
90
Minimum Optimal Temperature (F)
50
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Features
Abrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Wood Deck Restoration Coating
Product Weight (lb.)
52.6
Recommended Number of Coats
2
Returnable
90-Day
Stain & Sealer In One
No
Substrate Condition
Finished Wood,Old/Reclaimed Wood,Pressure Treated Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Usage Type
Composite,Concrete,Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Solid
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

23Questions14Answers

Can I paint the exterior of my house with DeckOver?

Asked by CarlosS June 7, 2020
1
Answer

Hi CarlosS - Thanks for your question! This product can be applied to vertical wood and concrete surfaces. We recommend applying 2 thin coats at a spread rate of 400 sq. ft. per gallon for vertical surfaces. Best - Sara

My deck was coated with this product 3 years ago and needs to be painted again... do I have to re...

Asked by JohnnyMac April 13, 2020
1
Answer

Hi JohnnyMac, Thank you for your question. Loose sections should be removed with a floor sander/grinder. However, it's okay if some sections remain. As long as they're well-adhered, DeckOver can adhere to them. Please feel free to reach out with any additional questions you may have. ~Doris

how far does a gallon cover? does it peel easily? Is it a good application for a wooden pool deck?

Asked by Pete April 6, 2020
2
Answers

Hi Pete, Great questions! Each gallon of Textured DeckOver covers up to 75 sq ft. This product offers great adhesion and is ideal for older decks but is also an excellent choice for newer wood surfaces, including pool decks. Best of luck with your project! ~Doris

Can this product be used over an elatomeric rubber base coat ?

Asked by Dave November 23, 2019
1
Answer

Hi Dave, thank you for your question. To determine whether our Advanced DeckOver can go on the base coat, please reach out to us directly; we'd like to get more details before we can recommend the product to use. Also, it may be best to reach out to the manufacturer to ensure it can be top-coated with a water-based product. We hope to hear from you. -Edith

Can this be used on marine grade plywood in the interior of an enclosed trailer?

Asked by Melt November 12, 2019
2
Answers

Hi melt, As it turns out, we don't have floor coatings available that are recommended for plywood flooring or trailers. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this may cause. I recommend working with your local Home Depot to find the ideal coating for your project. Best of luck! ~Doris

I painted my patio with Behr Deckover and it is bubbling. What is the cause?

Asked by newpainter October 8, 2019
1
Answer

Hi newpainter, I'm sorry to hear about the bubbling on your patio. We'd like to learn more about your project and see what we can do to help. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at your convenience. - Sara

I am looking at Granite Grip and Deck Over, both Behr products, for my concrete porch deck. I hav...

Asked by billgator September 14, 2019
2
Answers

Answering this to myself. I used Deck Over and it was just what I wanted. Did great on my concrete deck.

Some have said that this product is too thick to apply with a roller etc. and it is the consisten...

Asked by Bubby August 15, 2019
2
Answers

I applied this product with a roller on concrete. I used a 3/8" nap rather than the recommended 1/2" as the the 1/2" left a much more textured surface on the concrete than I desired. You have to use a lot of pressure so if you use a stick or rod use a wooden one rather than a plastic extension as it may break the screw in part due to the extra pressure. I ended up on my knees rolling wearing knee pads. Finished job looks great. You also can apply this product to step risers or a concrete porch edge despite what the Behr people will say. I expect they have never actually used this product.

When this is applied to a new deck, how long will the paint last in full sun on the East Coast wi...

Asked by RetiredEngineer August 4, 2019
1
Answer

Hi RetiredEngineer, Thank you for your questions! This is a restorative product that was designed to hold up to to outside elements; however, the lifespan of the coating will depend on the condition of the surface it's applied to. The Textured DeckOver is also covered by a 1-year warranty (from the purchase date). If you run into any performance issues with this product at any time, please feel free to reach out to us directly - we'd be happy to help. Best - Sara

Will the stain and finish stripper remove old paint as well?

Asked by BJ July 25, 2019
1
Answer

Hi BJ, Thank you for your question! We do not recommend using our Wood Stain & Finish Stipper to remove the Textured DeckOver. To remove this product completely, we recommend using a power sander with coarse (40-60 grit) sandpaper. Best - Sara

5 gal. #SC-137 Drift Gray Textured Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 91 reviews
  • 78% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
This covers flaws in the wood deck beautifully. I would recommend!!
This covers flaws in the wood deck beautifully. I would recommend!!
by MintHill
5 people found this helpful
I used this product on my 340 sq. ft. CONCRETE covered front porch. I had some hairline cracks th...
I used this product on my 340 sq. ft. CONCRETE covered front porch. I had some hairline cracks that needed to disappear and I knew from past experience how paint can radically change a blah area into a much more attractive one. I prepainted the cracks as the label suggests. I had concerns about painting the 4" vertical deck lip. Fortunately a reviewer with product experience answered my question. So yes, despite what the Behr people will say, this product applies well on a stair riser or concrete deck lip with either a brush or roller. I also used a 3/8" nap roller rather than the recommended 1/2" nap as the 3/8" gave me a smoother finish. I would have both on hand when you start the job. I started with an extension roller that had a plastic screw in part to the roller handle. It broke quickly due to the extra pressure used to spread this thick paint. Get a wood rod for your roller or knee pads. I used knee pads. I taped plastic sheet over my brick house front,siding, and around the column bases when I applied the muriatic acid wash, power wash step, and painting step. I used Frog tape (painters tape) around the column bases. I would recommend just freehand around column bases as the paint dries so thick that it will peel off after dry when you pull the painters tape. Not a killer moment though, just a little extra work for me. Follow the label on dry times for recoating, temperature and humidity levels. Do not paint when the deck is in the sun or hot. I worked in the mornings and early evening. All in all, between deck prep and application, I spent parts of 3 days doing this but the finished job greatly improved the porch appearance. Between the deck and the brick house front there had been some settling and a crack had developed. I filled the crack with foam rod, caulked with gray mortar caulk, taped the brick, and after caulk was dry, applied the paint to the caulk. I am very happy with the finished job.
by Billgator
4 people found this helpful
It's like painting with peanut butter!
This product is as thick as drywall mud. Repeated attempts to roll it on to a surface were frustrating to say the least. Now I must resort to a paint brush to get any sort of coverage. Completely different than the product video where it pours out and is easily applied like paint. That's not what is in my can...
by Chuck
Response from BehrJun 25, 2019
Hi Chuck, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the product is too thick and hard to roll. This is not typical. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance, our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
Had to remove product.
This product was WAY to thick to spread. My wife started and complained that it was very thick and difficult to spread. Instead of believing her, I told her that it is supposed to be a little thicker than paint. However, after she had painted nearly all the rails and spindles, I helped her and realized that we never should have used the product. It was the consistency of drywall mud. It wouldn't pick up on a 3/8" nap paint roller, and when it did, it wouldn't apply to the surface. A paint brush was manageable for about 5 minutes until the product filled the brush so much that the brush wouldn't apply product any longer. I returned to the store to ask if this was normal. They said yes. We opened a new can to see if it was the same consistency as the can I bought. The new can was much thinner, similar to paint. The store said that when this product is tinted, it can thicken like mine did, but it should still apply OK. They sold me one of the Behr mesh roller covers that is specialized for this project. The roller worked only marginally better then regular rollers. The best way to apply was use this roller (which makes the surface look like a very thick stamped ceiling), and then smooth it out with a brush. When the mesh roller cover didn't work, we quit using the product. However, we had to spend an entire Saturday sanding down all the spindles and railings that we had already "painted". We are going to use standard exterior paint on the rails and spindles. We are now farther behind on this project than when we started and wasted nearly $100 on this product, just to spend more time removing it. Again, Home Depot mentioned that adding tint to this product can cause it to thicken. But mine changed from thick paint to drywall mud. I would NOT recommend adding tint, but if you do, check the consistency before you leave the store.
by tmk1
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 25, 2021
Hi tmk1, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear the Advanced DeckOver you used seemed too thick and was hard to apply and remove; that's not the performance we expect from our products.

Our DeckOver coating is thicker than our other wood/concrete coatings, as it provides a textured slip-resistant finish. However, it should be spreadable. To ensure proper consistency during your application, we recommend stirring the coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application.

Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great rest of your weekend.
Poor quality
Bought 6 gallons of this product, plenty for our deck. Cleaned & Prepped area prior to applying. It’s been barely 3 weeks and it’s coming off. Not only was this expensive but the color did NOT match the product label. Cape Cod Gray looks like white. Awful product, I’m so disappointed after all the money we spent not to mention the work involved that this looks like this. NEVER, again!
by Avery
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 14, 2021
Hi Avery- Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color didn't turn out as expected and the finish is coming off after only 3 weeks! I've reached out to you via email to learn more about your project and help you get your deck back on track. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
Overall Great Deck Finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This was my 2nd time using this product over a 5 year old treatd wood deck. First time was likely too early on deck wood life. This time, after preparing the surface and primer, looks like it will be the charm. The 2nd time has only been down 6 months.
by Radioman
Very Very Very Very UPSET.
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am 74 Yrs. old and for all interior painting and outdoor staining projects I have always used Behr products. In this case I have $90.00 worth of stain that is so thick It can not be applied and will not soak into properly prepared wooden deck stairs and floorboards, and an unfinished project.
by Jimbo 3147
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 4, 2021
Hi Jimbo 3147, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear our Advanced DeckOver coating was thicker than expected.

To ensure proper consistency, we recommend stirring your coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application. Keep in mind our DeckOver coating is thicker than other wood coatings, as it's meant to provide a textured slip-resistant finish.

Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. We hope you have a great rest of your weekend.
Great finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Worked great! And looks great 1 year later. I wish the instructions recommended using the non-textured product for the first coat. The texture does limit coverage and if you’re not careful you can miss spots “below” the texture. a starter coat could prevent any misses. And adding the texture for the second coat would still look awesome.
by KMack
Beauty with protection
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We retired in Oregon where the weather exacts a heavy toll on unprotected exterior wood railings. We purchased Deckover after extensive preparation on our railings. I tried several different application methods. The coverage and wood adherence was excellent. I followed the directions for application and after almost two years, the railings look as good as when the Deckover was first applied. I was skeptical of the 25 year coating life, but in spite of over sixty inches of rain a year, I believe that Deckover was the best choice I could have made. Instead of an eyesore, our railings are a real asset to the exterior of our home.
by John Ebbe
Awful
Deck was painted 2 months ago. It is a mess because foot prints, dog prints, dirt, you name it, all stick to it. The deck was previously painted with the older formulation.
by Ralph 1
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareFeb 9, 2021
Hi there - Thank you for reviewing our Advanced DeckOver Textured. I'm so sorry to hear about the foot and paw prints on your deck, and how dirt and debris are sticking to the surface. Because of the non-skid texture, this coating may hold on to dirt and debris more than a regular smooth deck stain or paint. However, the surface can be easily cleaned with soap and water or our wood cleaner. I've also reached out to you via email to make sure your project is taken care of. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews