Internet #100065446

Model # BWD12-120C

Store SKU #130781

Store SO SKU #1000895759

0717301121203

Basement Watchdog

1/3 HP Big Dog Computer-Controlled AC/DC Battery Backup Sump Pump System

  • Boasts an easy-to-use control panel
  • Thermoplastic construction for corrosion resistance
  • Features a dual float switch
$ 495 00
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

  • Boasts an easy-to-use control panel
  • Thermoplastic construction for corrosion resistance
  • Features a dual float switch
When you simply want what’s best for your basement, The Basement Watchdog Big Dog Connect is the system for you. It will protect your basement from a power outage, primary pump or float failure, provide extra pumping capacity when needed, and can even take over for your primary pump indefinitely when AC power is available. It will sound an audible alarm and give a visual warning on the control box pinpointing needed maintenance or irregularities with the battery, pump, or power conditions. This system is part of The Basement Watchdog Connect line, giving it the ability to communicate with a Basement Watchdog Connect Module (WiFi module BW-WiFi or Home Automation Module BW-HZM). When connected to The Basement Watchdog WiFi Module the system will send a text, email alert or a notification through the Basement Watchdog App to alert of any irregularities. The Big Dog is designed with reliability in mind. With its dual float switch, easy to understand alarms, weekly self-test, 2200 GPH pump, and long-lasting battery, you can feel safe that The Basement Watchdog is watching out for you.
  • Pumps 2,200 GPH at 10 ft. lift and 3,500 GPH at 0 ft. lift
  • USB port allows for connection to a Basement Watchdog module (BW-WiFi or BW-HZM), giving you real time alerts (text, email, or through the Basement Watchdog app)
  • Remote terminal allows the ability to connect with a home security system, or other device
  • User friendly control panel detects irregularities, sounds an alarm, and pinpoints problems and solutions
  • Powerful 20 Amp charger charges the battery quickly and shuts off completely to prolong battery life
  • Runs the pump weekly to ensure it is working properly
  • Compatible with maintenance or maintenance free AGM batteries
  • Can take over for your primary pump indefinitely when AC power is available
  • Increase run time by connecting two standby batteries (30HDC140S or BW-27AGM) using the Basement Watchdog parallel jumper cable (PJC)
  • Easy to install
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

  • Boasts an easy-to-use control panel
  • Thermoplastic construction for corrosion resistance
  • Features a dual float switch
Model #: BWD12-120C
Sku #: 130781
Internet #: 100065446

When you simply want what’s best for your basement, The Basement Watchdog Big Dog Connect is the system for you. It will protect your basement from a power outage, primary pump or float failure, provide extra pumping capacity when needed, and can even take over for your primary pump indefinitely when AC power is available. It will sound an audible alarm and give a visual warning on the control box pinpointing needed maintenance or irregularities with the battery, pump, or power conditions. This system is part of The Basement Watchdog Connect line, giving it the ability to communicate with a Basement Watchdog Connect Module (WiFi module BW-WiFi or Home Automation Module BW-HZM). When connected to The Basement Watchdog WiFi Module the system will send a text, email alert or a notification through the Basement Watchdog App to alert of any irregularities. The Big Dog is designed with reliability in mind. With its dual float switch, easy to understand alarms, weekly self-test, 2200 GPH pump, and long-lasting battery, you can feel safe that The Basement Watchdog is watching out for you.

  • Pumps 2,200 GPH at 10 ft. lift and 3,500 GPH at 0 ft. lift
  • USB port allows for connection to a Basement Watchdog module (BW-WiFi or BW-HZM), giving you real time alerts (text, email, or through the Basement Watchdog app)
  • Remote terminal allows the ability to connect with a home security system, or other device
  • User friendly control panel detects irregularities, sounds an alarm, and pinpoints problems and solutions
  • Powerful 20 Amp charger charges the battery quickly and shuts off completely to prolong battery life
  • Runs the pump weekly to ensure it is working properly
  • Compatible with maintenance or maintenance free AGM batteries
  • Can take over for your primary pump indefinitely when AC power is available
  • Increase run time by connecting two standby batteries (30HDC140S or BW-27AGM) using the Basement Watchdog parallel jumper cable (PJC)
  • Easy to install
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Basement Watchdog Basepump Basepump Basement Watchdog
Name Emergency Standby Battery 725 GPH Residential Water Powered Backup Sump Pump with Water Alarm 725 GPH Premium Residential Water Powered Backup Sump Pump with Water Alarm and Install Kit 1/3 HP Big Dog Computer-Controlled AC/DC Battery Backup Sump Pump System
Price
$113.32
$210.87
$314.95
$490.81
Ratings (56) (6) (11) (50)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
5
Product Height (in.)
8.25
Product Width (in.)
8.75

Details

Amperage (amps)
10
Battery Life (hours)
50 h
Battery Type Required
12-volt
Housing Material
Thermoplastic
Included
Control Box,Hardware,Pump Hookup
Number of Batteries Required
1
Product Weight (lb.)
5lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage
12v

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
2 Year Limited

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
5
Product Height (in.)
8.25
Product Width (in.)
8.75

Details

Amperage (amps)
10
Battery Life (hours)
50 h
Battery Type Required
12-volt
Housing Material
Thermoplastic
Included
Control Box,Hardware,Pump Hookup
Number of Batteries Required
1
Product Weight (lb.)
5lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage
12v

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
2 Year Limited

Questions & Answers

Can this battery backup system be used in a basement apartment if we use an AGM battery? We also ...

Can this battery backup system be used in a basement apartment if we use an AGM battery? We also have a kerosene monitor that has an open flame igniter that is within 5 feet of the sump pump.
Asked by: homeowner
Yes you can use it with an AGM battery, the battery water sensor will have to be attached to the positive terminal to bypass the monitoring circuit. However it is not a cost effective solution. AGM batteries cost 4 to 5 times more than lead acid batteries. Interesting to note, the basement watchdog systems are designed to be used with a Lead acid battery. The big dog system uses an advanced controller to maintain the battery, so most times it will not be in continuous charging, which means least amount of emission form the battery. How much hydrogen will the battery emit? One lead acid battery probably not enough to be of any concern. With an open flame nearby? Hydrogen like helium rises rapidly, so if the flame is closer to the floor, five feet away, it would probably not be an issue. I would add a fan in the room to ventilate the area where the charging system and battery are located. Alternatively, the wires from the controller to the battery which consist of positive, negative and battery water sensor can be extended to place the battery in another location further away from the open flame. Which is still a more economical solution than purchasing an AGM battery.
Answered by: Abe
Date published: 2019-04-21

What’s the difference between this and the 1/2 hp big combination

Asked by: ShDelma
Its my understanding that the Big Combo essentially uses the “Special”-grade DC only pump/controller whereas the BigDog is AC/DC pump/control unit with advanced electronics/monitoring capabilities including periodic self-test, etc.
Answered by: Fixer
Date published: 2019-03-17

Does this come wifi ready for alerts? Spec said it needed a module but i couldnt locat that product

Asked by: JeepOJim
You need to connect Basement Watchdog Connect WiFi Module with this unit to receive remote notification.
Answered by: CommunityAnswer
Date published: 2018-04-05

Is this unit compatible with Basement Watchdog Maintenance Free (AGM) Standby Battery Model# BW-2...

Is this unit compatible with Basement Watchdog Maintenance Free (AGM) Standby Battery Model# BW-27AGM?
Asked by: Bourg
A new BigDog is; an older BigDog unit may not be. Check Glentronics website for mfg date/serial number compatibility
Answered by: Fixer
Date published: 2019-03-17
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_, sid_100065446, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

1/3 HP Big Dog Computer-Controlled AC/DC Battery Backup Sump Pump System is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy In General-Low Water Indication Not Working -I have been happy with this unit since I installed in in 2007. -Couple of times when the power went out this pump gave me peace of mind not being concerned with getting power (generator) hooked up. -The add water light(alarm) never went off but today another light(alarm) went off telling me to check connections ... replace battery. Well I see the battery is desperately low on water and likely the root cause of the alarm. Shame on me I been thinking I should check the battery but the light(alarm) never went off indicating water level is low and this unit has a separate water level probe. Hence my reason for 4 and not 5 star rating. -The pump is easy to hook up. I ran a separate line out the back wall since it is rare that this pump runs. Additionally, mounted this pump on a shelf just above the primary pump to keep it out of the water.
Date published: 2010-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basement Watchdog Big Dog I bought this unit in the beginning of July, 2010. The installation was very easy to follow and went without a hitch due to very good documentation. On July 22, 2010 the system got a good workout due to heavy rains in the Milwaukee, WI. area (7" of rain). The electric power got knocked out for 4 hrs. The Big Dog system handled the sump system without a problem. I would recommend this system to anyone.
Date published: 2010-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I own two older versions of this system which I installed in family members’ homes.  I decided to... I own two older versions of this system which I installed in family members’ homes.  I decided to update for a few reasons:  The new version is compatible with maintenance free (AGM) batteries, has a dry contact remote terminal to connect to an auto dialer or a home security system and the new system even has a USB port to connect to the Basement Watchdog WiFi Module (new product).  I have two AGM batteries connected to the system for extra protection.  I had two wet cell batteries before.  I had the extra battery cable to connect the batteries to the controller.  The new system was easy to install and has the same construction, alarms and capacity as the previous version.  The Wifi Module was easy to set up and get notifications.  Overall I would highly recommend this product.  It has saved basements time and time again. 
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable! I've had this unit for over 10 years and it has worked flawlessly. The first battery lasted at least 7 years. The unit has good alarming and monitoring capabilities. It's done it's job on numerous occassions. It's not cheap, but has certainly paid for itself over the years! I'd buy it again and have recommended it to many people.
Date published: 2010-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from watchdog pump We are replacing our existing pump with the exact model we had. We were completely satisfied with it that we chose to purchase same model. We have never had a problem with it until recently. We surely got our money's worth from it.
Date published: 2010-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality and reliable system. I bought mine in summer of 1998 and it has been reliable. The battery from this company was extra but lasted about ten years. Used other other brands of deep cycle batteries which didn't last very long. Interstate battery has been lasting longer than Duralast. Found so far that keeping an analog volt meter across the terminals, it keeps a tiny load on the battery which better regulates the charging intervals.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unit quit working after 1 year and manufacturer refused to warranty it. I spent over $500 for the big dog system and the company would not warranty it because it was coming up as an older serial number. Apparently you need to check the number of the unit you buy. Bad customer service.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9 years and running!!! I had home depot install it, so I can't rate the ease of installation. I would HIGHLY recommend this product. While neighbors and family also have battery back up pumps, mine kept working. I've learned to fill the battery with water, which is easy to do, to make sure it'll last me a few more years.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watchdog Excellent system, it monitors the battery and cycles the pump all on its own. Battery is expected to last seven years. Last backup system I owned did not monitor the battery, how do you know when to replace it! Well worth the money for peace of mind.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Watchdog has battery problems I would recommend looking at another system. My first battery lasted less than two years. I just purchased a replacement battery and it only shows a "6 hour" charge after being fully charged. I know what you may be thinking: I didn't service them properly. No, I filled them with battery acid exactly as you're supposed to (I'm pretty fussy about doing it right). The terminals are spotless. On the first battery, I regularly checked the fluid levels and never let them go low (the unit has a fluid level alarm also, but that never needed to go off). Very disappointing in a battery that costs $100 + $16 for acid and is supposed to last 5-7 years. I'm hoping that my controller is truly OK. I was first alerted to the problem when the 25 amp fuse blew and the alarm went off. I checked the battery and unit, replaced the fuse and reset it and several hours later the fuse blew again and all sorts of warning lights went on. I called Glentronics - they were very helpful and said it was probably the controller, not the battery, and suggested I send the unit in. I did so - they were very fast in turning it around. However, they sent it back with only a receipt showing they had recalibrated something and that it was OK and instructing me to hook it up again. So I did so and got all sorts of alarm lights again. I suspected the battery, so I went to the Depot and got a new battery. It hooked up OK and I don't have any warning lights, but after 24 hours, shows a less than full charge (6 hours). So to recap: after a lot of time turning off alarms, reading the instructions and resetting the unit, a trip to the store to get fuses, disconnecting the unit and shipping it off, rehooking it up, another trip to the store for another battery, rehooking the unit up again, etc. I have a unit that seems to be working, but likely has battery troubles. Very frustrating. I would recommend looking elsewhere.
Date published: 2007-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Batteries I've had problems with two batteries purchased for the unit and a misdiagnosis of the problem by their service department. The first battery went bad after 2 years (it's supposed to last 5-7 years). My guess is that it wouldn't recharge, because it started blowing 25 amp fuses on the controller unit and setting off alarms lights on the unit. I called Watchdog service; they thought the problem was the controller. So I packaged it up and sent it in. They sent it back quickly, but said they only needed to "recalibrate" it. So I hooked it and again had warning lights and a blown fuse. So I went back and bought another battery (good money after bad?). It works and I'm not getting warnings or blown fuses on the controller. The only problem is the battery is only charging to 6 hours (should be 7.5). Will it go early like the last one? Watchdog was helpful and quick, just misdiagnosed the problem. The experience, however, was a hassle: mulitple alarms going off, trip to the store to get fuses, shipping, waiting, rehooking up the unit, going back to the store for a battery, setting up the unit again. One more note. I have been very good about making sure the battery fluid levels are OK. I check almost every month and never had a problem. I was also careful on the new battery to keep the levels where they should be. I don't think sloppiness was a problem here.
Date published: 2007-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watch Dog Big Dog-Excellent Product I had this product installed by a licensed plumber. It took him less than an hour. It was a fast, easy installation. I had to go to a competitor to purchase the battery for this product as Home Depot did not sell it in their store. However, that was only a minor inconvenience. I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a battery back-up sump pump system.
Date published: 2008-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not all that's it's cracked up to be... I've owned this thing for a few years, and thought all was well. I've checked it from time to time, and it always says everything is fine. While the pump works fine, and I do catch the pump being tested from time to time, I found the maintenance of the battery is horrible. Evidently, it must overcharge the battery, as all through the water level indicator showed good, I decided to check anyway, and found the battery 1/2 gallon low. Ergh! I call and the tech says the water level indicators are notoriously unreliable so you have to check the batteries every 3 months. Well, how about fixing the sensor so it actually works right? Or, remove the feature so people don't rely on it. So I fill up the battery, charge them over night with my automotive charger, and let it rest a bit and find it's only holding around 12.2v. Great, a ruined battery. So, before I go to buy a new one, I hook up back up just to have something in the interim, and find that the system is indicating 12.2v is 100% !!! What? 12.2v fully charged is less than 25% capacity bordering on junk! Wow, it's pretty clear the charging and maintenance portion of this unit is garbage. I'd suggest that you do NOT rely on the battery level sensor and check it manually - and frequently. Then I'm going to find a way to disable the charging function and just use a battery tender so I'm sure they are being properly charged. You know, the thing that really gets me is, you spend top dollar because you want the piece of mind that your finished basement is protected. It's really irritating when you find out that your investment is just a mirage, as although it's showing all's well, the reality is, if I had had a long outage, this thing probably would have only lasted a few minutes due to improperly maintaining and ruining the battery. IMHO, you are much better off just getting a manual switched system, and use a battery tender as all of the fancy features of this expensive unit don't work correctly once you peel back the flimsy veneer. Better yet, use the ~$600 you'd spend on this system with the required battery and tax, and use that as a down payment on a NG backup generator that will offer real protection. When you factor in burning through $150 batteries every couple of years, its a no brainer. I've attached a photo of the control panel showing all's well, and the battery charge level is 100%, while the next photo shows the connected battery only has 12.20 Volts. Junk, Imho.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deceptive description Describing this product as an AC/DC battery system is not accurate since the battery and acid to power the system is not included in this kit. I spent an additional $125 for a battery and $25 for acid to put in the battery. There is a censor that needs to be installed and the electrical path so the battery only runs when the home power is off can be confusing. I had a plumber install this system ($125) including adding the acid to the battery just to be sure it was installed correctly. I live on the waterfront and need a dependable pump for daily use. This is the 2nd system I've had to install in 11 years.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk !!!! Purchased a combo unit 4 years ago only to have the main pump Rot out. I'm talking HUGE holes in the sides. Home Depot replaced it, only to have the exact same thing happen. Never,ever again will I spend over $500 on this complete piece of junk. Spend your time and money on a better product.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pump and Backup - beware of the snow Warning. Here in Colorado the sump pump line empties out at least 10 feet from house. In cold weather this line may freeze. If the pump operates too long with the frozen drain, the pump will fail and require replacement. Wrap the pipe with electric thermal tape or make sure the drain line is in the sun and out of the snow. Otherwise this is a great product.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what it says it is I tested the claim on the pping power and tested it at 13 gallons per minute at ten feet, just over a third of the manufacturers claim. I returned it immediately. Five stars on Home Depot's return policy though, completely hassle free.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relatively expensive product but has several functions that should prove valuable if all perform ... Relatively expensive product but has several functions that should prove valuable if all perform as expected. Installation was well documented, straightforward and completed in about two hours. I chose to do the direct discharge output with no connection to the primary pump discharge pipe and no check/backflow valve required. I used the Watchdog Maintenance Free battery and tested the unit successfully. Water discharge was quiet and efficient. I was surprised that the control unit cooling fan ran continuously for several days which seemed to indicate that a charging process was occurring but now the fan is off and a low humming sound can be heard ( standby mode ??).
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my second unit in many years. This unit... This was my second unit in many years. This unit operates better than the first one but they both worked very well.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purchased this unit in 2001. The only thing we've replaced in 16+ years was the battery. Once. We... Purchased this unit in 2001. The only thing we've replaced in 16+ years was the battery. Once. We use this unit as it is intended for. A backup in case the power goes out. We have two sump pumps and this is a secondary pump. We have lost power many times and have faith in this unit.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This purchase was a replacement for an older model Basement... This purchase was a replacement for an older model Basement Watch Dog that was installed about 15 years ago. I was pleased to find that Home Depot also carried a module that connects to your home WiFi that alerts you via an app when the pump is activated or if there is a power failure.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This unit was very easy to install, lightweight and not noisy (compared to the old one). I asked one of the stock guys for assistance at the store before I bought the sump pump and he told me about the battery and battery acid sold separately, if he didn’t tell me I would have assumed that it was all in there. However, the sump pump is a little pricey but I read these reviews and seemed like the right way to go. The sump pump worked for about 2 hours straight once I got it installed and I feel more at ease knowing there is a backup if the power goes out.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a pleasure I can't tell you what a pleasure it is to know that my basement won't flood when I'm away. We only spend a few weeks a year at the house and flooding was always a problem with the fieldstone wall. We arived once to find a river running through the basement because the breaer tripped off. That's when we decided to get the watchdog. Now we don't even worry about it. If the main pump shuts off the watchdog picks up the slack. It was easy to install and works like a dawg.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Battery needs to be replaced too often In an earlier review someone mentioned having to replace the battery every 2 years. I have the same issue. I have replaced the battery 3 times in the past 5 years. I am very careful to prepare and maintain the battery yet it still loses the ability to charge in too short of a period of time. It should last longer than 1.5 -2 years. It works well otherwise.
Date published: 2009-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big waste of money I purchased this system last Spring (2013). By this the Fall (2013) he main pump was shot. My sump pump runs a lot - as many as 12+ times per day during the Spring and several times per day during the Summer, unless it is very dry out. For others, whose sump runs only a few times per season, this product might be alright, but I won't buy one again Went back to Wayne. Had one original to the house. 10+ years of good service. Rodents chewing on wiring brought it down. Gave it to my neighbor who fixed it and it's still going.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought one about 10 years ago and the control module went out. Had to buy a whole new unit whic... I bought one about 10 years ago and the control module went out. Had to buy a whole new unit which is not good you would think they would have parts available.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY TO SET-UP, COMPACT UNIT FIT THE EXISTING SUMP. GOOD OPTION IF YOU DON'T HAVE ROOM IN THE SUMP FOR BOTH A PLUG-IN & BATTERY PUMP
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BIG DOG BATTERY BACKUP SUMP SYSTEM WORKS GOOD, INSTALL WAS EASY BUT SHOULD COME WITH BACK UP VALVE
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without it. Peace of mind. Installed two batteries for added reserve power. Replaced earlier model with this newer model for equipment refresh after about ten years.
Date published: 2012-12-19
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_, sid_100065446, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT