Model # CS3310

Internet #205427964

Store SKU #1000333373

Store SO SKU #639830

0043033561650

Cub Cadet

3 in. 250 cc 2-in-1 Upright Gas Chipper Shredder

  • Powerful capacity turns branches into mulch with a 3 in. chipper
  • Reduces your yard waste from 10 bags to 1
  • Features a tow hitch and semi-pneumatic wheels for easy mobility
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+

Product Overview

  • Powerful capacity turns branches into mulch with a 3 in. chipper
  • Reduces your yard waste from 10 bags to 1
  • Features a tow hitch and semi-pneumatic wheels for easy mobility
The Briggs & Stratton 250 cc OHV engine provides the precise amount of power so that you get cleaner, more fuel-efficient results. Easily turn your debris and tree branches to mulch, compost or wood chips with the efficient 2-way feed system. A 5-bushel collection bag allows you to handle longer jobs so you’ll be faster and more efficient when clearing yard debris. Dispose of branches and twigs up to 3 in. in diameter chipping capacity, this saves you time from having to manually dispose of branches. The 10 in. semi-pneumatic wheels and tow bar provide easy mobility and the standard tow hitch offers easy transportation.
  • 250 cc Briggs & Stratton OHV engine provides reliable and durable power to chip or shred even the toughest yard debris
  • 3 in. chipper capacity turns branches into mulch for compost or easy disposal
  • 12 flails with chromium steel chipper knives stay sharper longer and last longer to devour debris
  • 10:1 reduction ratio reduces yard waste from 10 bags to 1
  • 10 in. semi-pneumatic wheels and tow bar for easy mobility
  • Ideal for turning lawn debris into mulch or compost to save time and money with yard cleanup
  • Choose Cub Cadet with confidence, backed by a 3-years limited residential warranty
  • Model # 24A-424M756
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Powerful capacity turns branches into mulch with a 3 in. chipper
  • Reduces your yard waste from 10 bags to 1
  • Features a tow hitch and semi-pneumatic wheels for easy mobility
Model #: CS3310
Sku #: 1000333373
Internet #: 205427964

The Briggs & Stratton 250 cc OHV engine provides the precise amount of power so that you get cleaner, more fuel-efficient results. Easily turn your debris and tree branches to mulch, compost or wood chips with the efficient 2-way feed system. A 5-bushel collection bag allows you to handle longer jobs so you’ll be faster and more efficient when clearing yard debris. Dispose of branches and twigs up to 3 in. in diameter chipping capacity, this saves you time from having to manually dispose of branches. The 10 in. semi-pneumatic wheels and tow bar provide easy mobility and the standard tow hitch offers easy transportation.

  • 250 cc Briggs & Stratton OHV engine provides reliable and durable power to chip or shred even the toughest yard debris
  • 3 in. chipper capacity turns branches into mulch for compost or easy disposal
  • 12 flails with chromium steel chipper knives stay sharper longer and last longer to devour debris
  • 10:1 reduction ratio reduces yard waste from 10 bags to 1
  • 10 in. semi-pneumatic wheels and tow bar for easy mobility
  • Ideal for turning lawn debris into mulch or compost to save time and money with yard cleanup
  • Choose Cub Cadet with confidence, backed by a 3-years limited residential warranty
  • Model # 24A-424M756
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand PowerSmart Sun Joe Yard Machines Cub Cadet
Name 1.6 in. 15 Amp Electric Chipper Shredder 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder 2 in. 208 cc Tip-Down 3-in-1 Gas Chipper Shredder 3 in. 250 cc 2-in-1 Upright Gas Chipper Shredder
Price
$102.99
$117.74
$677.99
Ratings (206) (668) (61) (89)
Commercial No No No No
Power Type Electric Electric Gas Gas
Chipper capacity (in.) 1.625 1.50 2 3
CA (CARB) Compliant CARB Compliant CARB Compliant
Engine Displacement (cc) 208 250
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
37
Product Height (in.)
53
Product Width (in.)
30

Details

Bag/maximum load capacity (bushels)
5
CA (CARB) Compliant
CARB Compliant
Chipper blade material
Chromium steel
Chipper capacity (in.)
3
Commercial
No
Engine Displacement (cc)
250
Engine Torque (ft.-lb.)
11.5
Engine Type
Horizontal OHV
Feed capacity (in.)
3
Fuel Tank Capacity (oz.)
96
Housing Material
Steel
Power Type
Gas
Product Weight (lb.)
206lb
Reconditioned
No
Reduction Ratio
10:1
Returnable
30-Day
Self-Feeding
Yes
Start Type
Manual
Translucent fuel tank
No
Wheels
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
3-year limited residential warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
37
Product Height (in.)
53
Product Width (in.)
30

Details

Bag/maximum load capacity (bushels)
5
CA (CARB) Compliant
CARB Compliant
Chipper blade material
Chromium steel
Chipper capacity (in.)
3
Commercial
No
Engine Displacement (cc)
250
Engine Torque (ft.-lb.)
11.5
Engine Type
Horizontal OHV
Feed capacity (in.)
3
Fuel Tank Capacity (oz.)
96
Housing Material
Steel
Power Type
Gas
Product Weight (lb.)
206lb
Reconditioned
No
Reduction Ratio
10:1
Returnable
30-Day
Self-Feeding
Yes
Start Type
Manual
Translucent fuel tank
No
Wheels
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
3-year limited residential warranty

Questions & Answers

Has anyone had difficulty restarting the chipper immediately after having run it for a good while? Seems hard to start when the engine is warm.

Asked by: DoItMyselfer
Ours starts right up when we stop and empty the bag.
Answered by: Cindy
Date published: 2018-03-01

I hear a clanging noise when I the chipper is shutting down, as though there's some bit of metal ...

I hear a clanging noise when I the chipper is shutting down, as though there's some bit of metal bouncing around somewhere in the bottom, yet I can't hear it when I shake the unit when it's off. Is this normal?
Asked by: ScrewLoose
If you are speaking of the same noise mine makes, I believe it to be the chipper blades. The blades pivot somewhat and rattle as engine comes to a full stop. Nothing to worry about
Answered by: stude54
Date published: 2018-05-12

What type of oil does this take?

We bought this as a recon item and it looks like we were given the wrong user manual. If I click the user manual listed on this product, it brings up the Troy Bilt manual.
Asked by: Hw
Mine has a B&S 1150 series engine, and they recommend regular 30w.
Answered by: James
Date published: 2018-12-27

will this chipper shred manure?

will this chipper shred manure?
Asked by: jake
Um, I wouldn't try it. It will clog up. No easy way to clean it out.
Answered by: Sbrz
Date published: 2018-08-09
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_, sid_205427964, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. 250 cc 2-in-1 Upright Gas Chipper Shredder is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I bought this chipper over Memorial Day Weekend. From the first afternoon I was very impressed with how much brush I was able to work through. I can't wait to try it out in the fall with leaves. Judging by the chips it throws out for branches, I think it should make a very fine leaf mulch. My only knock relates to the starting process. The machine starts easily when the engine is cold. If you have been running it for awhile, stop and then try to restart, it is difficult to restart it. I've had to wait for the engine to cool down before attempting to restart. All in all, I'm glad I bought it and would recommend it to others.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what a beast this chipper has exceeded my expectations. bought this on 4-4-2015, used for 6 hours and was amazed at the work that was done.amazing. chewed up blackberry stalks.leaves,twigs,limbs,grass. a wonderful machine. only fault I found, was to force limbs into chipper hooper and engine stalled. choked it, pulled starter one time, open choke, one more pull and she started. no problem, can"t force limbs into hooper. take your time and enjoy your machine. very well built,with no plastic,like a lot of the others. love the air tires, and the towbar. happy chipping.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Workhorse I'm impressed. I upgraded from a 6.5 HP C-S, and this one's a bear. The manual cautions to hold with both hands when feeding the chipper. Be sure you do for largest branches: feeds so aggressively that it will jam itself; smaller stock not a problem. Feed the big end first so you can let go when you have to. Makes nice shredded mulch, too. Starting effort = to 6.5 HP B&S. Have seen comments about hard to start when warm. Mine took 4 pulls to start warm, always starts on 2nd when cold. (I'm 68, 5-11, 172. I have 3 machines with 6-7 HP B&S engines.)
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine needs some fine tuning The tow bar is a must if you live on hilly terrain. The oil check/fill port is very cumbersome, does Briggs know how their engine is utilized in this application? The bag to catch the shredded leaves needs some improvement: the bag material is very slippery and hard to hold onto, handles would be nice; the capacity needs to be increased; a zipper along the seam would make emptying much easier; due to the size opening of the bag a good seal is not possible without added mechanical devices (I used a hand clamp to help seal the area). An electric start needs to be offered, my wife cannot start and I bought it for her use, so now it is my machine to use. It does a nice job of shredding leaves but the limited capacity of the bag means shutting down to empty and then restarting.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful machine Came fully assembled, added oil and gas and it started on the second pull. I guess I haven't got the choke/gas combo figured out yet for warm starts as they always seem to take several tries. It does eat branched very well. Only stalled it out once and that was with a fresh cut 2+ inch vine maple stem over 6 feet long. Had it for a couple of months, clearing brush, so far so good. I may remount the axle to give me more ground clearance.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yard chipper Purchased the CS3310 model. Went right to work with it. It performs as designed. Not a industrial chipper, this is a home owner type chipper. We dropped several trees and used a rental chipper and this chipper for smaller limbs. It did a fine job. I read reviews and I have not had the same negative experiences. My purchase was left over stock. Not started in at least a year +. Couple pulls we were ready to chip away. Starts fine for me. I recommend this for home owner use. Caution with outdoor storage. Rain Water collects in chopper chamber and can freeze. This will lock up the unit.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product and Delivery. This really seems to be a great chipper/ shredder. It is made of heavy grade sheet steel and looks very solid. It does what the manufacturer says it does, which is to chip wood up to three inches in diameter. This is the bulk of what we have at our place. Anything bigger we just stack. After cutting branches to chip you do need to cut off heavier branches near the stem, before feeding them into the machine. Then those can be chipped individually. This is where a chain saw is handy. It starts easily, even when it is warm. I have had no starting problems. I use the choke, put it on fast, pull the rope once, and it starts. All that said, this is not a toy. While I have seen some other chipper/shredders for a little less money they look rather small next to it. I think the Cub Cadet is probably needed, if you have more work to do. Here are a few things to watch out for. You have to fill the engine with oil they provide. It does not have oil in it when it arrives, so be sure to put the provided oil in the engine before starting it. The engine, also, has a gear reduction box. I was somewhat confused about whether this, also, needed oil. Apparently it is a sealed gear box with oil already in it. The instruction manual covers a number of engines and one model gear box needs to have oil added before use. This one does not, hence my confusion. As with anything new it pays to study the instructions thoroughly before doing something you might be sorry for later. For me, the engine manual was not always clear. Also, be sure to follow all safety rules, the same as any machine. Although you can walk it to location with the provided handle bar. the machine comes with a tow bar for towing behind a lawn tractor. It also comes with goggles, which you need. You will need to buy ear protection and gloves. This is a loud branch eater. It came on a trailer truck with a tail gate on the back of it. This is good, since it is a heavy machine. The driver unloaded it and even brought it up by our garage, which is not that close to the road at our place. I thought they would leave it at the curb. As a plus, it only cost about fifty five dollars for delivery. The packaging was heavy cardboard on a pallet. I totally recommend it. We can now use these downed branches as wood chips in our garden and flower beds.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very pleased with my purchase I bought this about a month ago and have used it about a dozen times during this period. I had read that one reviewer found it difficult to start but it generally starts for me on the first pull of the cord. If not on the first, then definitely on the second pull. It's not an effortless pull, but it's not difficult. The engine runs smoothly and has more than enough power to chip and shred all the branches that I've fed into it. Although it can chip up to 3" diameter material, I try to limit what I feed it to about 2" and under, because I don't want to cause accelerated wear and tear. But I'm impressed with how many branches I can shred up until the detachable bag is nearly filled. The other (large hopper) feed end of the shredder has a 1/2" diameter capacity and can quickly convert a 45 gal. trash cans fill of small branches, twigs, pine cones or leaves into a fine mulch of garden ready fill material. I have caused the shredder to stall out twice because I dumped in too large of a clump of very wet compacted leaves, but except for that (operator learning curve), its chewed through everything else with power to spare. The only potential negative about this machine is that at some point, something I didn't notice will be fed into the shredder, perhaps a piece of rope or wire, and it looks like I might have an hour or two of disassembly of the machine housing to get at whatever might be clogging the chipper/shredder blade area. In summary, I am very pleased with this purchase and am glad that I chose to buy this, rather than to rent something similar to clean up several trees and large branches that fell on our property during this past winter's ice storms.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looked at many chippers with-in the same size as the 3310 and I decided to go with the Cub Cadet. I did see that some people had said they had trouble starting, but I have yet to have that issue. Starts every time with one pull and chews up everything I put in it up to about 3 or 4 inches. You do have to feed slowly so not to stall the motor out. For what it is intended for I would say it's great, I love it.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This little tank of chipper is great. I know people have posted about the twig and branches (less... This little tank of chipper is great. I know people have posted about the twig and branches (less the 1/2") shoot being a little cumbersome, and it is. But if make a push rod to assist the branches to the blade. and also for the main branch shoot, it work out perfectly even if the wood is green.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Machine This is great machine. very well package for shipping the Freight guy delivered it to the end of the driveway it came fully assembled after about an hour of reading the manual I added the oil, fuel and fired it up it started at the first try. I used it for about 30 minutes and the results are great no problem when my wife came home I fired it up to show her and it start it up once again in the first try. I have a big job this weekend and I'm glad I bought this unit. P.S. I love the tow bar great to tow around my property with my riding tractor.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has performed flawlessly and has done so without issue. Whether the leaves are dry o... This product has performed flawlessly and has done so without issue. Whether the leaves are dry or wet, no problem. No bogging down when putting 3" (maximum size accepted) wood into the appropriate chute. Highly, highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid and Powerfull Chips 2" 20 foot long saplings without stalling. 3/4 throttle works fine for 1" to 1 1/2" so you don't have to run at "max" power very often. Only improvement would be larger tires to make rough ground transport more effective.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I have only had this a short time but it has exceeded everything that I had heard abut it. Starts easy and works hard. I like it.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 3 inch chipper I bought this several weeks ago and it functions okay, as far a 3 inch chipping.. not so much! It struggles with green 2 inch and smaller green branches, the bark gets stuck around the drive shaft for the blades ,, now your going to spend a hour taking the shoot off and trying to dig stringy Burke from around the shaft. It’s fine with dead wood
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made chipper shredder and EASY TO START Many bad reviews say this is hard or impossible to start when warm. It has a manual choke. If you understand how to use the choke it starts every time, usually on the first pull. For a cold start set the choke all the way on. As soon as it starts immediately move the choke at least part way off, if the weather is cold, and all the way off if the weather is warm. If it is cold out you may need to keep the choke part way on for a few seconds to keep the motor running until it warms up but don't start using it until the choke is all the way off or it will not reach full power. If it fires once but doesn't start on the first pull move the choke part way off and pull again. It should start. If you have been using the chipper and turn it off to empty the bag it will be a warm start. Leave the choke all the way off unless it took you a really long time and the motor has cooled quite a bit. Then you may need to set the choke part way on. This will depend on how much the motor has cooled and also the ambient temperature. If the chipper ran out of gas, after refilling, you will need to set the choke all the way on and pull a few times to get the gas flowing. As soon as it fires once(or starts) turn the choke off if the motor is still warm and it should start on the next pull. If you just refueled a cold motor that had run out of gas you may need to leave the choke part way on even after it fires once (or starts) but only for a few seconds. In any case if you leave the choke on after it fires at least once and pull a few more times you can flood the motor. To clear a flooded motor turn the choke off and pull a few times to clear the excess fuel. With practice, and understanding how the choke, engine temperature, and ambient temperature affect starting, you can usually start it with the first pull.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome chipper/shredder. Bit in the heavy side but runs through wood like a chainsaw. Pretty eas... Awesome chipper/shredder. Bit in the heavy side but runs through wood like a chainsaw. Pretty easy to start and not as noisy as some others. Easy to use and looks great and doesn't have a large footprint. Very impressed with Cub Cadet.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This unit does not work well With a large treed yard, I thought this chipper would quickly convert branches and other yard debris into mulch and chips. Quickly is not part of this units vocabulary! Small branches are meant to go into the hopper section. However there is a short radius bend just before the blades. Branches will not easily go around the sharp bend therefore not making contact with the blades. Very frustrating! Larger pieces, up to 3" diameter are meant to be inserted into the other side of the unit. You have to push the sticks very hard to make any progress with chipping. I was told that the unit would virtually suck the wood in so I would need to hold it back to prevent the motor from stalling due to overload. You actually need to push very hard. Just not worth the money!
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Purchased for a clean up project about 1/2 acre in size. The chipper starts very easy and runs r... Purchased for a clean up project about 1/2 acre in size. The chipper starts very easy and runs really well. Unfortunately it clogs with the smallest of branches. I know it says it shreds limbs up to 3" in diameter and it will if they're extremely straight and free of any smaller branches that will make feeding it into the chipper just about impossible. For the time invested in re-cutting almost every branch and force feeding the chipper it would have made much more sense financially and from a time management point of view to just haul the branches away.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Questionable quality After purchase, neither myself or my husband could start the chipper. We returned it to the local store, and the associates could not start the motor either. We got a new machine, and had them start the replacement before we took it home. Upon arriving home, neither of us could start the motor. We returned it to the store, and they finally were able to start it, but it took several minutes of a VERY strong young man pulling the cord before it would start. We asked for and received a refund. The employees were GREAT. They tried several maneuvers to start the machine, but even they were frustrated with the impossibly difficult pull cord. I would NOT recommend this model of chipper. It was impossible to start, so we were never able to even try it out.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am handicapped and relegated to a power chair. I designed and had fabricated a Tow hitch for th... I am handicapped and relegated to a power chair. I designed and had fabricated a Tow hitch for the chair.Over the yearsI have experienced the damage of hurricanes to the property Which as many trees.I have no help so the Chipper was the answer to disposing of so much wood debris. Once I became familiar with how it functionsI became an expert at what I could do with it.I see other people having problems with restarting the machine after running with blockages.In my opinion that is a problem with operator situational awareness concerning what is going into the machine. If you are completely familiar with this machines capabilities you will have no problems with it, ever! This machine starts every single time with one Pull of the cord. No matter if the machine is cold or hot it starts.I am extremely happy with it.I especially love the debris bag collection system.It is easy to install and very easy to remove.As I said, I am handicapped so this would've been almost impossible without the tow hitch.I am very pleased with this machine and I would recommend it to anyone whether he'll be healthy or impaired.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fed a couple small pine trees through it and it chewed them up like they were nothing, just finis... Fed a couple small pine trees through it and it chewed them up like they were nothing, just finished feeding all the branches of a very large Oak Tree through this machine, it had to work a little but did very good job, It was hard to start the first time a little better the second time but after three or four starts it fires up on the first or second pull. Very good machine.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chipper shredder review Well built, but very dissatisfied. Constantly jams and will not self feed. I have owned several Cub Cadet products and have always been pleased, but this was a waste of $700 dollars. The design of the chutes are the flaw, plenty of power but too curved and narrow at the bottom. I spend more time clearing out the jams than actual work. I threw hard earned money away on this purchase.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says Exceptional piece of equipment. Shreds little stuff no problem bigger needs a little assistance but not much. Didn't experience hard starting I read in other reviews it took awhile the first start but that is to be expected. Only bad thing I didn't like is the chute for the chipper is long so branch has to be almost start to go through it but other than that would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product once you get the hang of it Unit was easy to set up. Read the instructions a few times to get comfortable with it. Had some issues the first time i used it, but once i got the hang of how to feed the machine it does a fantastic job. Really the only complaint I have is the capacity of the bag. you have to stop every 30 minutes or so to empty it. But all in all a great machine for the money.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out of the carton, it started with one pull. It continues to operate better than expected. Handle... Out of the carton, it started with one pull. It continues to operate better than expected. Handles 3" bamboo with ease. This chipper saved me much time and effort. I would recommend it highly.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money This chipper definitely will handle anything that will fit in the chute even the hardest of woods. It does take some muscle to start it but that is normal for a fairly heavy duty machine.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five thumbs up Works great! Perfectly happy so far. Makes great mulch
Date published: 2018-08-05
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_, sid_205427964, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 113ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT