#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #306641586

Model #18387

Store SKU #1001392632

5 oz. Ultra Clear All Purpose Waterproof Sealant

$8.98
  • Strong adhesion to most conventional surfaces
  • Water ready in 30 minutes for both indoor and outdoor projects
  • Non-yellowing formula makes it clearer than silicone
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated
+
+
Price:
$898

Product Overview

DAP Ultra Clear flexible sealant is a premium all purpose, ultra-elastic, ultra-clear sealant for sealing and patching a wide variety of surfaces and projects. Use it to seal out air, water and moisture for a durable, 100% waterproof and weatherproof seal. Stays exile and crackproof even in cold weather. Sealant does not yellow and is clearer than silicone.

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

Specifications

Dimensions

Individual size (oz.)5

Details

Color/FinishClearCoverage (linear ft.)55
Cure Time (hours)168Dry Color FamilyClear
Dry to touch (min.)10 minFeaturesMoisture Resistant,Mold and Mildew Resistant,Paintable,Permanently Flexible
Indoor/OutdoorOutdoorInterior/ExteriorExterior
KitNoLongevity0 years
Number of Tubes Included1Returnable90-Day
Sealant FormSqueeze TubeSealant TypeSpecialty
TransparencyTransparent

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and ListingsASTM CompliantManufacturer WarrantyWarranty Information: If you are not satisfied with this products performance when used as directed, return used container and sales receipt to DAP Inc., Technical Customer Service, 2400 Boston Street, Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21224 for product replacement or sales price refund. DAP will not be liable for incidental or consequential damages.

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 1,058 reviews
  • 82%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 1,058 reviews
Tube Leaks
I was wondering why the caulk was getting all over my hands. The bottom of the tubes are so cheap that the caulk breaks through. What a mess.
by
Response from DAPProductExpertJun 21, 2022
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on the DAP Kwik Seal Plus. Given that the packaging did not perform as designed, the product may returned to the point of purchase (DAP will issue a credit to the retailer for the returned item) or alternately, the product (with proof of purchase) can be returned directly to DAP for a refund of your purchase price. DAP Products Inc., Attn: TCSV, 2400 Boston Street, Suite #200, Baltimore, MD 21224. Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
    Dried clear and looks like a tight bond
    Used this to mount granite backsplash to granite countertop in bath and to seal the backsplash backs to the wall to prevent water penetration at the edge. Also secured the bottom of the granite to the vanity to prevent movement.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Granite counter
    Sealed new granite backsplash. Didn't need larger gun tube. Had plenty seal shower at floor trim piece too. Worked great.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Bad experience
    I applied this to the perimeter of my shower. I hadn’t used the shower for 2 weeks, wanted to ensure there was no moisture present. The day following the Dap application, I noticed it was not adhering. It simply came out of all the corners I had applied it to. I’ve been using different sealants for 30 years as a professional, I never had a problem with this product when it was made by Lexel. I allowed 48 hours for proper curing before using the shower. Before ever using the shower, the product simply came out of the crevasses by itself. Not cool. I replaced it with GE clear silicone, no problem since.
    by
    Response from DAPProductExpertMar 16, 2022
    Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ULTRA CLEAR. DAP ULTRA CLEAR can take several days to fully dry through, to develop full performance. Tampering with the freshly applied sealant (< 24 hours) will typically result in a loss of adhesion, as the produce is still several days from full performance development. Likewise, based on your description indicating a complete loss of adhesion to the substrate application, could also likely indicate that there may be a bond-breaker on the existing surface (silicone sealant or its residue). At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you and so that we can provide you with a recommendation for a sealant that is more appropriate for use under these conditions. DAP
    • Verified Purchase
    1 found this review helpful
    Final touch to the kitchen counter and sink install
    Used this ultra clear sealant on a new countertop and sink install for the kitchen. Went on surprisingly well and was able to get a very nice completed job out of it. This is one of those 'finishing' products so the entire job can be summed up by how good the final sealant looks. Was all good, very happy.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    It does not bond silicone
    It does not bond silicone
    by
    Response from DAPProductExpertFeb 19, 2021
    Thank you for posting your inquiry. Given that all silicone-based products, as well as their residues, act as bond breakers (surfaces that will not permit other products to properly adhere), we would not expect that this product or any similar caulk/sealant, would bond/adhere properly. As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "APPLICATION - Surface Preparation: Surface must be clean, structurally sound and free of all old caulk, dirt and other foreign material." Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
    • Verified Purchase
    Peels off like a Post-It note
    This is an amazing product, as long as it remains undisturbed. Applies beautifully and looks pristine, but as mentioned in other reviews, it peels off as easily as a Post-It note. This observation was made in a controlled production environment, with clean virgin materials, and in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. Before using on your project, please test it first on a small portion! Let it cure for several days, then try rubbing it VERY gently. Now, ask yourself if you want the rest of your project to peel off that easily the first time you try to wash it? Having tested many similar products in our own manufacturing facility, I am disappointed that DAP advertises Ultra Clear as having "Strong, multi-surface adhesion" when it fails to properly adhere to any of the materials commonly encountered by caulk (bare wood, painted wood, composite boards, aluminum, vinyl). Aside from this crucial failure, Ultra Clear is a great Crystal Clear concept caulk! The formula needs to be adjusted to address adhesion, and until then, should be marketed as a REMOVABLE sealant.
    by
    Response from DAPProductExpertOct 30, 2020
    Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Ultra Clear Flexible Sealant. Because you did not provide sufficient details regarding your application, it is difficult to provide you with a more detailed reply in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you and to provide you with guidance on how to best proceed. DAP
      2 found this review helpful
      So far so good. Easy to use. Used it to...
      So far so good. Easy to use. Used it to seal the “folds” of wavy plastic roofing on my kids treehouse. I like that it will stay clear because I hate the look of yellowing caulk!
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      Is not waterproof!
      I purchase this product to seal my door vapor barriers in my car after I noticed some water on the carpet. Dried clear and left door panels off over night in garage to let set. After one day of rain I noticed white residue trickling out from the bottom of each door. This stuff failed miserably after day 1. Couldnt imagine using this in an outdoor application....do not buy!
      by
      Response from DAPProductExpertDec 3, 2019
      Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review regarding DAP Ultra Clear Sealant. We are not clear as to your commentary indicating "After one day of rain I noticed white residue trickling out from the bottom of each door." as the product you reference is not capable of "turning white" when exposed to water, nor is this product water soluble (in either the uncured or cured form). Based on your commentary, it would appear that you were working with an acrylic-latex (water-based) formula, as all of the characteristics that you describe match that chemistry. At your convenience, please contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information regarding your project and to provide you with a recommendation for an appropriate product for this type of application. DAP
        3 found this review helpful
        This is a very viscous sealant as it dispenses out of the tube. It dispenses crystal clear and re...
        This is a very viscous sealant as it dispenses out of the tube. It dispenses crystal clear and remains clear as it cures. I used this product to adhere my fish finder transducer to the bottom of my kayak, and it works perfectly; this is the second kayak I used with this product. The product remains very flexible even weeks after from first dispensing. The photograph shows Grey/green Plumber's Putty boundary/ring use to hold the DAP Sealant as it cures. The photograph also shows the Fish Finder Transducer pushed down into the DAP Sealant.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Showing 1-10 of 1,058 reviews