#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100658163

Model #18656

Store SKU #381245

Store SO SKU #1000058329

Alex Plus 10.1 oz. White Acrylic Latex Caulk Plus Silicone (12-Pack)

Includes 12 tubes ($2.12 /tube)
$25.38 /case
  • Long lasting, all purpose acrylic latex caulk plus silicone
  • Waterproof seal makes it ideal for interior and exterior projects
  • Paintable within 30 minutes of application
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$2538

Product Overview

DAP ALEX PLUS acrylic latex caulk plus silicone is an excellent quality, all purpose caulk ideal for sealing a wide variety of interior and exterior surfaces. It contains silicone additives for greater flexibility and adhesion and it shrinks less for a durable, 100% waterproof seal. Paint ready in only 30 minutes to finish the job faster. It is easy to apply and tool, low in odor and cleans up easily with water. Ideal for sealing cracks and gaps around windows, doors, baseboards, molding and trim.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Individual size (oz.)
10.1

Details

Caulk Form
Standard Tube
Caulk Type
Latex
Color/Finish
White
Coverage (linear ft.)
55
Cure Time (hours)
168
Dry Color Family
White
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Features
Moisture Resistant,Mold and Mildew Resistant
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor/Outdoor
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Kit
No
Longevity
5 years
Longevity (years)
5
Number of Tubes Included
12
Paint Tool Product Type
Caulk
Professional Paint Supplies & Values
Pro Supplies
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
ASTM Compliant
Manufacturer Warranty
Warranty Information: If you are not satisfied with this product’s performance when used as directed, return used container and sales receipt to DAP Inc., Technical Customer Service, 2400 Boston Street, Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21224 for product replacement or sales price refund. DAP will not be liable for incidental or consequential damages.

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 1,106 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,106 reviews
terrible product
Shrinks beyond belief. Makes you work three times as hard. Never again.
by
Response from DAPProductExpertSep 27, 2021
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance. As is the case with all acrylic-latex (water based) sealants, volume loss will occur as the product dries, this is a normal characteristic for this type of formula. Only non-water/solvent-based sealants are capable of "low/no volume loss" performance; however, these types of sealants will require the use of solvent (mineral spirits/paint thinner) for clean-up, likewise, some of these sealants are not paintable. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
    Tired of this horrible product!
    You CANNOT get a clean bead when the tip is cut any smaller than 3/16 of an inch. I’ve installed windows and painted for decades, and have caulked thousands of windows, doors, and walls. If you’re a pro and used to high quality sealants, this product will drive you up a wall. Additionally, caulk continues to seep out despite the fact that there’s no pressure being appkied by the gun. Useless!!!
    by
    Response from DAPProductExpertJun 23, 2021
    Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Alex Plus. We are not clear as to your commentary indicating: "You CANNOT get a clean bead when the tip is cut any smaller than 3/16 of an inch." At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information regarding your experience and to offer some additional application guidance. DAP
      • Recommended
      1 person found this helpful
      Garbage product
      Caulked my entire solarium. 2 weeks later all the caulking cracked
      by
      Response from DAPProductExpertApr 22, 2021
      Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any project details, such as: application surfaces, surface preparation, application conditions or application technique, it is difficult to provide a proper response in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain this additional information from you and to determine how best to proceed. DAP
        3 people found this helpful
        My favorite caulking for all jobs!!
        I use this caulking for so many different applications. Any gaps less then 1/8” are good to be filled with this caulking. I typically wait a few hours before I actually paint over it. Use a wet sponge for the cleanest application. Run a small bead of caulking and then go over it with a wet sponge and you get a very clean and even caulking line.
        by
          • Recommended
          4 people found this helpful
          Whole room cracked within days. Ruined paint job.
          I will start this off by saying that I am a contractor that specializes in high end cabinetry and finishes. I have used this product before without issue but will absolutely never use it again. I spent the better part of a week prepping and painting a room in my own house to be used as a nursery only to have every single caulked joint in the room crack wide open in less than a week. Paint and primer were standard latex off the shelf at Home Depot. Primer went on before caulk. The only thing I can think of is that this was a bad batch from the factory. I don’t even care about the $40 box of caulk. It’s the repair time I’ll never get back. Very frustrating.
          by
          Response from DAPProductExpertFeb 22, 2021
          Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any background or details about your use of the product, it is difficult to provide a proper explanation for the issue that you have described in this format. Based on your commentary regarding "cracking" in such a short period of time, it would appear that the application (joints/materials) that you are using the DAP ALEX PLUS on, may be experiencing a significant amount of movement/instability. Joints/materials that are prone to experience significant expansion/contraction forces may require higher performance products, such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP EXTREME STRETCH. These types of more specialized elastomeric joint sealants offer several times the amount of flexibility offered by DAP ALEX PLUS. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience and to discuss alternate product options. DAP
            3 people found this helpful
            This white acrylic latex caulk + silicone was cheap, easy...
            This white acrylic latex caulk + silicone was cheap, easy to use, easy to clean & applied very smoothly. I have used this for many jobs in & around my home & am 100% satisfied with this product. I do recommend this & I give it 5 stars. I will purchase again.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Bad caulk, didn't last a year!
            We prepped our house, pressure washed it and let it dry. We re-caulked every crack, joint and seam with this caulking. After a year, it has come apart and has failed. We have included 3 pictures of the many seams we have to redo. We are now having to remove this caulking and re-caulk again, after painting the whole house and garage. Very disappointed in Dap in not making a good product. The caulking we bought says it has a 35 year durability guarantee. It didn't even last a year. Now, scrape this junk off, re-prime and try to blend the paint where it doesn't look too bad. Does anyone know a good company that makes good caulking?
            by
            Response from DAPProductExpertSep 8, 2020
            Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Based on the photographs that you have posted (depicting your application), it would appear that the product has been applied to "butt joints". As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "Not for continuous underwater use, filling butt joints, surface defects, tuck-pointing or expansion joints." Product applied in these types of conditions/joint assemblies, will not perform as designed. For joints where more flexibility is required (such as butt joints), more specialized elastomeric sealants such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP EXTREME STRETCH would be recommended. Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
              6 people found this helpful
              This is a good cheap caulk, I use it primarily for filling gaps between trim and walls before painting.
              I have also used it for window applications to which it performs well. The caulk does shrink a little but is paintable in 30 minutes. I usually wait an hour or so. I can cap it and it still works great a few months later. Clean-up is easy compared to full silicone caulk. Caulk dries an off-white color with a matte finish.
              by
              • Recommended
              1 person found this helpful
              Easy to work with. Easy clean up. Looks great. Lasts a long time.
              Easy to work with. Easy clean up. Looks great. Lasts a long time.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 person found this helpful
              Outdoor Cracks
              Recently replaced an exterior door. Used this product for the interior and exterior trim. Interior is holding up just fine. Exterior has been done twice with the same outcome after cures CRACKING! Applied on June 10 then again on June 13th. I’m located in Marylnad. Temp high was 85 and a low of 70.
              by
              Response from DAPProductExpertJun 17, 2020
              Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. The photographs that you posted in your review depict the use of the product in "butt joints". As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "Not for continuous underwater use, filling butt joints, surface defects, tuck-pointing or expansion joints." For this type of application ("butt joints"), we would recommend the use of a more flexible (elastomeric) product, such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP DYNAFLEX ULTRA. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss your project, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
                5 people found this helpful
                I've been using this product for at least 25 years. On our most recent jobs, we kept having consi...
                I've been using this product for at least 25 years. On our most recent jobs, we kept having consistent problems with the paint cracking/withdrawing (I would not really call it a crack, because the paint withdraws as it drys, forming what appears to be a crack, more like what you might expect when trying to paint over a pure silicone caulk). This has happens occasionally with siliconized caulks, but I've never seen anything like this - about 50% of all joints are affected. We've bought this caulk from both here and places other than Home Depot, so it appears to be a problem with the caulk's formulation itself. From what I've read on professional forums, DAP's quality control has diminished in the past decade, and many professionals won't use DAP products, period, and I will never use DAP products again, and I'd advise others not to too. We contacted DAP, and all they could say was return them to the seller. Also, they told us one batch number we bought from HD on July 4th expired at the end of that month, so we where apparently using it past it's "shelf life" in September, but the tubes had no date on them, so how where we to know HD was selling us an about to expire product! By the way, this happened with both flat paints and semigloss, and the cracking stopped when we switched to a different brand. Yes, the caulk was completely dry.
                by
                Response from DAPProductExpertOct 30, 2019
                Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP ALEX PLUS. We are not clear as to the intent off your post, as you appear to be describing multiple issues/concern, references prior communication and to "third party professional forums", but share no details about your application conditions, application surfaces, surface preparation, application technique, or primer/paint used. Without those details there is no way for DAP to provide a properly reply in this format. Should you wish to discuss your concerns or would be willing to provide product for evaluation, please contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
                  12 people found this helpful
                  I bought this yesterday at home depot and wanted clear and tube says clear and it was all white ....
                  I bought this yesterday at home depot and wanted clear and tube says clear and it was all white .I did not want white and a 30+ minute drive back to the store and how can I tell that the other tubes will not be white .It was really important to the new vinyl plank flooring I put down that it was clear not white .Now I am stuck with this .I ended up putting it where I cannot see it and will need to get more and hoping it will be clear and how can I tell that
                  by
                  Response from DAPProductExpertOct 4, 2019
                  Thank you for posting your feedback. As indicated on the product package label as well as supporting product literature, DAP ALEX PLUS (Clear) applies white and dries clear in 7-14 days (depending on joint depth, temperature and humidity). Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
                    • Recommended
                    4 people found this helpful
                    Great product for the price point. Easy to apply and clean up. Takes paint well and does not shr...
                    Great product for the price point. Easy to apply and clean up. Takes paint well and does not shrink. Apply correctly and make sure to fill the voids completely. Using a damp lent free cloth to clean up will leave a professional finish.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Is just great product , good combination with silicone
                    Is just great product , good combination with silicone
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Great for filling / penetrating checks and smaller cracks on weathered logs on a log cabin.
                    Great for filling / penetrating checks and smaller cracks on weathered logs on a log cabin.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    Great for interior work such as trims, baseboards and many other application.
                    Great for interior work such as trims, baseboards and many other application.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    Exelente
                    Exelente
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    This is a solid product at a fair price. We have used/tried several silicone based or silicone p...
                    This is a solid product at a fair price. We have used/tried several silicone based or silicone plus products and brands over the years, with differing levels of success. Not all products adhere well to the work surfaces and all too often the bottles are not working properly. After much trial and error... Alex Plus Clear Acrylic Latex Caulk Plus Silicone has provided us with the most overall: (1) fair price, (2) works on many surfaces, (3) dependable applicator bottle and (4) works over a pretty good temperature range. So far... this has been a pretty dependable caulk product, and we use a good amount of it.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    Great for. exterior siding joints and ends.this. caulk rocks.Its great for so many applications.
                    Great for. exterior siding joints and ends.this. caulk rocks.Its great for so many applications.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Depends on the job being used on, it didn't take the color of my stain as advertised .
                    Depends on the job being used on, it didn't take the color of my stain as advertised .
                    by
                    Response from DAPProductExpertAug 31, 2017
                    Thank you for posting your feedback. DAP ALEX PLUS can be coated with oil or latex based paints/primers. It is not labeled or recommend for use with stain products. DAP
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 person found this helpful
                    No task to big or small
                    this was my first time using this, so let picture tell the story
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    SUPERB PRODUCT! RENEWED THE LIFE OF MY RANCH HOUSE!!!!
                    We have an older ranch house and had a terrible time with the 40 year old wood siding having cracks and having cupped and pulled away from the house. These issues allowed all the flies and bugs within miles to migrate into the house for winter hibernation. We had to deal with bugs all fall and winter. We also wanted to repaint the house. We needed a superior product that would seal the cracks and openings caused by the cupping of the boards. We also needed a product that would allow us to paint over it so the new paint job would look good. The product was superb and superior in every way. It blocked the flies and bugs from the house and the paint covered the Alex Latex Caulk. We could not be happier with this product and buy it by the cases. Next project is the barn!!!! Thank you! Susan & Mike Dickson
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      4 people found this helpful
                      Disappointing shrinkage
                      The experts guided me to this product for exterior work pre-painting my 1939 single-wall hawaiian house. I prepped the walls thoroughly, removing old caulk and paint. The new caulk was applied with great care, and eventually paint was applied. Two coats. Within two weeks, the new DAP caulk started cracking. I had to refill cracks and repaint.
                      by
                      • DIY
                      7 people found this helpful
                      Alex plus caulk
                      Very good product, for indoor, or outdoor use. It is paintable and last for years without cracking. Clean up is simple, just use water. Projects: windows (indoor & out), crown molding, flooring, door frames, hobbies, picture frames, also works as a very flexible glue on ceramics.
                      by
                      • DIY
                      • Recommended
                      This stuff is garbage
                      We used this caulk on our woodwork before painting everything white. The coverage seemed good at first, but a year later, it's cracked in many places and we need to re-caulk. Wish we would have used a better quality product!
                      by
                      • DIY
                      38 people found this helpful
                      I love this caulk. It’s easy to use, dries fast...
                      I love this caulk. It’s easy to use, dries fast and is paintable.
                      by
                        by
                          by
                            Good products
                            A good product it does exactly what it says it will do works great.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            by
                              Showing 1-30 of 1,106 reviews