#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #317618637

Model #18103

Alex Plus 10.1 oz. White Acrylic Latex Caulk Plus Silicone (2-Pack)

Includes 2 tubes ($3.58 /tube)
$7.16 /case
  • Long lasting, all purpose acrylic latex caulk plus silicone
  • Waterproof seal makes it ideal for interior and exterior projects
  • Paintable within 30 minutes of application
caret

Product Details

If you need to seal cracks or gaps around windows, doors, baseboards, molding and trim, this Alex Plus White Acrylic Latex Caulk by DAP is an ideal solution. This caulk offers a 100% waterproof seal that is easy to apply and emits low odor. It cleans up quickly with water and has silicone additives for improved adhesion, greater flexibility and reduced shrinking for long-lasting durability. Finish the job faster with this caulk's 30-minute paint-ready setting time.

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

176Questions
caret
Q:can this be used with standing water on the inside corner of a pool
by|Nov 7, 2022
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. DAP ALEX PLUS is not recommended for pool/hot tub/spa application or for below waterline (submerged) applications. As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: “Not recommended for continuous underwater use...”. Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

by|Nov 22, 2022
    3 found this answer helpful
    caret
    Q:Can this be used for wood paneling baseboards without painting over it?
    by|Oct 30, 2022
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. While the product is colorfast and the application of paint is not required by DAP, it would certainly improve overall performance (product protection, color fastness/cosmetic uniformity). Of note, while the sealant may be a good color match upon initial application, as dissimilar materials age, one or both materials (sealant, paint, wallpaper, trim, siding, etc.) in direct contact may shift in color over time, resulting in a loss of the original color match. Should you have any questions or require further assistance, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

    by|Nov 26, 2022
      7 found this answer helpful
      caret
      Q:Can this be used in a greenhouse that gets up to 200 degrees in the Texas summer?
      by|Oct 25, 2022
      3 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. DAP ALEX PLUS is not rated for high temperature applications/environments. For the application as described, we would recommend DAP 100% Silicone Rubber Sealant. Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

      by|Nov 22, 2022
        7 found this answer helpful

        A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. The DAP Alex Plus Acrylic Latex Caulk Plus Silicone is not designed, marketed, labeled, or recommended for use as a "glazing compound" (glass or other plastic windowpane material). The application as described ("greenhouse") would require the use of specialized Window Glazing Compounds. Additionally, the maximum temperature the product is able to withstand is 180 degrees Fahrenheit. Should you have any additional questions or wish to discuss this further, please free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

        by|Nov 22, 2022
          8 found this answer helpful

          A:  Thank you for your quick answer to my question AND for letting me know the correct product to purchase.

          by|Nov 21, 2022
            5 found this answer helpful
            caret
            Q:Is this the right stuff to use to seal up cracks between a tub and wall tile?
            by|Oct 18, 2022
            2 Answers
            Answer This Question

            A:  I have used on the tub walls and it worked great. Not sure about your use.

            by|Nov 22, 2022
              6 found this answer helpful

              A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. DAP ALE XPLUS is designed, marketed, labeled, and recommended for use as a general-purpose trim sealant. It is not designed, tested, marketed, labeled, or recommended for use as a kitchen and bath sealant, as general-purpose formulas do not offer the same level of hot water resistance and mold/mildew resistance. For kitchen and bath applications, we would recommend the use of a more specialized kitchen and bath product such as: KWIK SEAL ULTRA, DAP AMP Advanced Modified Polymer Waterproof Kitchen, Bath and Plumbing Sealant, Silicone Max 100% Premium Kitchen and Bath Silicone Sealant. Should you have any questions or require further assistance, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

              by|Nov 26, 2022
                7 found this answer helpful
                Showing 1-4 of 176
                caret

                Customer Reviews

                4.4 out of 5
                (1,340)
                • 4.4
                  out of 1,340 reviews
                • 78%recommend this product
                Filter by:
                Showing 1-10 of 1,340 reviews
                Love DAP for all kinds of applications. I have used...
                Love DAP for all kinds of applications. I have used many cases inside & out on my old farmhouse I've been refurbishing. It fills in nicely & smooths well, holds paint well, & it just is a very good product that I like a lot. And I like getting it delivered to my door too! I've used it around windows, woodwork, bathtub, filling in all the spaces in the outside asbestos shingle my house is covered with, fixed a few leaks, around counter top, you name it. It stays put. I think it might be holding my whole house together! LOL!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                2 found this review helpful
                terrible product
                Shrinks beyond belief. Makes you work three times as hard. Never again.
                by
                Response from DAPProductExpertSep 27, 2021
                Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance. As is the case with all acrylic-latex (water based) sealants, volume loss will occur as the product dries, this is a normal characteristic for this type of formula. Only non-water/solvent-based sealants are capable of "low/no volume loss" performance; however, these types of sealants will require the use of solvent (mineral spirits/paint thinner) for clean-up, likewise, some of these sealants are not paintable. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
                  8 found this review helpful
                  Tired of this horrible product!
                  You CANNOT get a clean bead when the tip is cut any smaller than 3/16 of an inch. I’ve installed windows and painted for decades, and have caulked thousands of windows, doors, and walls. If you’re a pro and used to high quality sealants, this product will drive you up a wall. Additionally, caulk continues to seep out despite the fact that there’s no pressure being appkied by the gun. Useless!!!
                  by
                  Response from DAPProductExpertJun 23, 2021
                  Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Alex Plus. We are not clear as to your commentary indicating: "You CANNOT get a clean bead when the tip is cut any smaller than 3/16 of an inch." At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information regarding your experience and to offer some additional application guidance. DAP
                    • Recommended
                    16 found this review helpful
                    Garbage product
                    Caulked my entire solarium. 2 weeks later all the caulking cracked
                    by
                    Response from DAPProductExpertApr 22, 2021
                    Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any project details, such as: application surfaces, surface preparation, application conditions or application technique, it is difficult to provide a proper response in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain this additional information from you and to determine how best to proceed. DAP
                      10 found this review helpful
                      My favorite caulking for all jobs!!
                      I use this caulking for so many different applications. Any gaps less then 1/8” are good to be filled with this caulking. I typically wait a few hours before I actually paint over it. Use a wet sponge for the cleanest application. Run a small bead of caulking and then go over it with a wet sponge and you get a very clean and even caulking line.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        41 found this review helpful
                        Whole room cracked within days. Ruined paint job.
                        I will start this off by saying that I am a contractor that specializes in high end cabinetry and finishes. I have used this product before without issue but will absolutely never use it again. I spent the better part of a week prepping and painting a room in my own house to be used as a nursery only to have every single caulked joint in the room crack wide open in less than a week. Paint and primer were standard latex off the shelf at Home Depot. Primer went on before caulk. The only thing I can think of is that this was a bad batch from the factory. I don’t even care about the $40 box of caulk. It’s the repair time I’ll never get back. Very frustrating.
                        by
                        Response from DAPProductExpertFeb 22, 2021
                        Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any background or details about your use of the product, it is difficult to provide a proper explanation for the issue that you have described in this format. Based on your commentary regarding "cracking" in such a short period of time, it would appear that the application (joints/materials) that you are using the DAP ALEX PLUS on, may be experiencing a significant amount of movement/instability. Joints/materials that are prone to experience significant expansion/contraction forces may require higher performance products, such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP EXTREME STRETCH. These types of more specialized elastomeric joint sealants offer several times the amount of flexibility offered by DAP ALEX PLUS. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience and to discuss alternate product options. DAP
                          23 found this review helpful
                          This white acrylic latex caulk + silicone was cheap, easy...
                          This white acrylic latex caulk + silicone was cheap, easy to use, easy to clean & applied very smoothly. I have used this for many jobs in & around my home & am 100% satisfied with this product. I do recommend this & I give it 5 stars. I will purchase again.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          37 found this review helpful
                          Bad caulk, didn't last a year!
                          We prepped our house, pressure washed it and let it dry. We re-caulked every crack, joint and seam with this caulking. After a year, it has come apart and has failed. We have included 3 pictures of the many seams we have to redo. We are now having to remove this caulking and re-caulk again, after painting the whole house and garage. Very disappointed in Dap in not making a good product. The caulking we bought says it has a 35 year durability guarantee. It didn't even last a year. Now, scrape this junk off, re-prime and try to blend the paint where it doesn't look too bad. Does anyone know a good company that makes good caulking?
                          by
                          Response from DAPProductExpertSep 8, 2020
                          Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Based on the photographs that you have posted (depicting your application), it would appear that the product has been applied to "butt joints". As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "Not for continuous underwater use, filling butt joints, surface defects, tuck-pointing or expansion joints." Product applied in these types of conditions/joint assemblies, will not perform as designed. For joints where more flexibility is required (such as butt joints), more specialized elastomeric sealants such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP EXTREME STRETCH would be recommended. Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
                            18 found this review helpful
                            This is a good cheap caulk, I use it primarily for filling gaps between trim and walls before painting.
                            I have also used it for window applications to which it performs well. The caulk does shrink a little but is paintable in 30 minutes. I usually wait an hour or so. I can cap it and it still works great a few months later. Clean-up is easy compared to full silicone caulk. Caulk dries an off-white color with a matte finish.
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            31 found this review helpful
                            Easy to work with. Easy clean up. Looks great. Lasts a long time.
                            Easy to work with. Easy clean up. Looks great. Lasts a long time.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            24 found this review helpful
                            Showing 1-10 of 1,340 reviews

                            Frequently Bought Together

                            +
                            +
                            Price:
                            $716