#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100634326

Model #12348

Store SKU #106282

DryDex 16 oz. Dry Time Indicator Spackling Paste

$748
  • Repairs holes and cracks in dry wall, plaster, wood, and stone
  • Drydex spackling is Ideal for both indoor and outdoor projects.
  • Applies pink, dries white to show when the surface is paint ready
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

++
Price:
$748

Product Overview

DAP DryDex Spackling, America's #1 seller, offers a unique Dry Time Indicator that goes on pink and dries white helping identify when a patched surface is dry and ready to be sanded and painted. This patented technology eliminates the guesswork and reduces the chance of errors. It's ready-to-use formula spreads easily for fast, professional repairs.
  • Won't shrink or crack
  • Ideal for filling holes and cracks in surfaces such as drywall, plaster, wood, brick and stone
  • Ideal for interior and exterior projects
  • Can be used for small or large hole repairs
  • Easily sandable
  • Provides professional results
  • Can be sanded and painted
  • Ready-to-use formula
  • Easy water clean-up



  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)3.88Product Height (in.)4.25
Product Size (oz.)16Product Width (in.)3.88

Details

Color When DryWhiteFeaturesPaintable,Sandable,Shrink Resistant
IncludedNo Additional Items IncludedInterior/ExteriorExterior,Interior
KitNoPack Size1
Paint Tool Product TypeSpackling PastePatching & Repair Product TypeSpackling Paste
Product Weight (lb.)2.03Returnable90-Day

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 3,107 reviews
  • 79%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 3,107 reviews
OK for patchup jobs. Terrible for taping.
This stuff is OK for filling up small holes and only that. I tried this with drywall tape, multiple times, and the tape would always lift or the compound would crack. I even watered down the compound, and/or wet the tape prior to application and the tape would always lift or cracks would appear - even after multiple layers to cover it up! I redid the same two joints at least 4 times and always got the same results. A different joint compound worked fine on the very first application.
by
Response from DAPProductExpertJun 14, 2022
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Premium Lightweight Joint Compound. Based on your commentary indicating: "the tape would always lift or the compound would crack.", it would appear that you are describing product that is too dry/thick to properly "wet in" (potentially aged/expired material). At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience. When calling in please have the product package available, as we will need to collect product information from it to determine its age. DAP
    Product shrinks tremendously
    I don't know how they can claim this product does not shrink. If using it to fill even a screw hole, two applications are necessary.
    by
    Response from DAPProductExpertJun 13, 2022
    Thank you for posting your feedback, we're sorry to see your low star review on DAP DryDex Spackling. This product is designed, marketed, and labeled for use on minor cosmetic repairs, such as: nail/screw holes, cracks, etc. (not for large format repairs). When filling deep, but narrow defects (such as a screw/nail hole), the filler must be “packed” into the hole a thin layer at a time, with a drying interval between. The most common cause for the issue you describe as “shrinkage” results from application in excess of the recommended depth. As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "4. One application is usually sufficient for small repairs. For repairs deeper than 1/8”, apply two or more layers allowing spackling to dry between applications. 5. For a smoother finish, dip putty knife in water and lightly smooth spackling. 6. Spackling will change color to white when surface can accept a second application or is ready to be painted or sanded in 1 to 5 hours." Because you did not provide any background regarding your project, application technique or application conditions, it is difficult to provide a more detailed response in this format. Should you wish to provide us with this information, so we can better address your concerns, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
      I use for Art
      I use this product to make texture art. I due little paint work and recently learn that this product can be use to make texture painting. Which I am loving it
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Great
      Easy to use. Great product!
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Worked perfect on my drywall
      I don't understand some of these reviews they're using it like spackle it's NOT spackle to repair holes , it's joint compound it's for the joints on drywall and for that it works perfect !!
      by
        • Recommended
        3 found this review helpful
        Worked perfect on my drywall
        I don't understand some of these reviews they're using it like spackle it's NOT spackle to repair holes , it's joint compound it's for the joints on drywall and for that it works perfect !!
        by
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          5 stars? Not my experience!
          Have to redo spackling and painting since paint wouldn't stick to spackle. Roller pulled paint from wall wherever there was spackle.
          by
          Response from DAPProductExpertJan 18, 2022
          Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP DryDex Spackling. The issue that you describe (delamination), can result from force being applied to the product prior to reaching full performance and/or from dust left on the surface from sanding. Because you did not provide any background regarding your project, application technique or application conditions, it is difficult to provide a more detailed response in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information regarding your experience and to offer some application guidance. DAP
            Dap DryDex- Great Multiple Use Product!
            It worked so well on a DYI plaster paris lamp project I made!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            100% nope!
            Doesn't stick to tape or itself. Cracks and pulls away after drying, regardless of how many layers. Waste of money.
            by
            Response from DAPProductExpertJan 4, 2022
            Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Premium Lightweight Joint Compound. Based on our commentary indicating: "Doesn't stick to tape or itself. ", it would appear that you are describing product that is too dry/thick to properly apply (potentially aged/expired material). Because you did not provide any details about your application, it is difficult to provide a more details response in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience. When calling in please have the product package available, as we may need to collect product information from it. DAP
              1 found this review helpful
              Pealed after painting
              I applied 2 coat on compound, sanding in between , left dry overnight. Painted the next day this flat latex and second coat a day later. When applying the second coat I noticed a little lifting. lifted about everywhere the was joint compound
              by
              Response from DAPProductExpertNov 15, 2021
              Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see you low star review on DAP Premium Lightweight Joint Compound. The issue that you describe typically results from attempting to sand/paint the compound prior to reaching a fully dried state. Sanding/painting prior to reaching a fully dried state will lead to undesirable results. Because you did not provide any details regarding your project, it is difficult to provide you with a more specific response or product usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience and to offer additional application/finishing guidance. DAP
                3 found this review helpful
                Showing 1-10 of 3,107 reviews