Internet #100493605

Model # 21412

Store SKU #358813

0070798214125

DAP

Plastic Wood 4 oz. White Solvent Wood Filler

  • Can be stained, cut, drilled, planed or sanded
  • Formulated to look and act like real wood upon hardening
  • For Interior and exterior furniture, doors, plywood, and more
$ 4 98
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Can be stained, cut, drilled, planed or sanded
  • Formulated to look and act like real wood upon hardening
  • For Interior and exterior furniture, doors, plywood, and more
DAP Plastic Wood Professional Wood Filler is Fast, Strong and Easy to use. This high performance, heavy-duty, solvent-based wood filler hardens to give a surface and body that looks and acts like real wood. Ideal for filling and repairing nail holes, gouges, gracks, scratches and imperfections on any wood surface. Plastic Wood Solvent can also be stained.
  • Stainable
  • Easy handling - no mixing, spreads smoothly and evenly
  • Thick, knife-grade formula can be molded and sculpted
  • Ideal for vertical surfaces and corners
  • Shrink, crack and crumble resistant
  • Dries fast
  • Strong nail and screw anchoring
  • Interior/exterior use
  • Available in 6 popular wood shades: white, natural, light oak, pine, golden oak, walnut
  • Stainable and paintable
  • Stainable and paintable
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Can be stained, cut, drilled, planed or sanded
  • Formulated to look and act like real wood upon hardening
  • For Interior and exterior furniture, doors, plywood, and more
Model #: 21412
Sku #: 358813
Internet #: 100493605

DAP Plastic Wood Professional Wood Filler is Fast, Strong and Easy to use. This high performance, heavy-duty, solvent-based wood filler hardens to give a surface and body that looks and acts like real wood. Ideal for filling and repairing nail holes, gouges, gracks, scratches and imperfections on any wood surface. Plastic Wood Solvent can also be stained.

  • Stainable
  • Easy handling - no mixing, spreads smoothly and evenly
  • Thick, knife-grade formula can be molded and sculpted
  • Ideal for vertical surfaces and corners
  • Shrink, crack and crumble resistant
  • Dries fast
  • Strong nail and screw anchoring
  • Interior/exterior use
  • Available in 6 popular wood shades: white, natural, light oak, pine, golden oak, walnut
  • Stainable and paintable
  • Stainable and paintable
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Can be stained, cut, drilled, planed or sanded
  • Formulated to look and act like real wood upon hardening
  • For Interior and exterior furniture, doors, plywood, and more
DAP Plastic Wood Professional Wood Filler is Fast, Strong and Easy to use. This high performance, heavy-duty, solvent-based wood filler hardens to give a surface and body that looks and acts like real wood. Ideal for filling and repairing nail holes, gouges, gracks, scratches and imperfections on any wood surface. Plastic Wood Solvent can also be stained.
  • Stainable
  • Easy handling - no mixing, spreads smoothly and evenly
  • Thick, knife-grade formula can be molded and sculpted
  • Ideal for vertical surfaces and corners
  • Shrink, crack and crumble resistant
  • Dries fast
  • Strong nail and screw anchoring
  • Interior/exterior use
  • Available in 6 popular wood shades: white, natural, light oak, pine, golden oak, walnut
  • Stainable and paintable
  • Stainable and paintable
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Can be stained, cut, drilled, planed or sanded
  • Formulated to look and act like real wood upon hardening
  • For Interior and exterior furniture, doors, plywood, and more
Model #: 21412
Sku #: 358813
Internet #: 100493605

DAP Plastic Wood Professional Wood Filler is Fast, Strong and Easy to use. This high performance, heavy-duty, solvent-based wood filler hardens to give a surface and body that looks and acts like real wood. Ideal for filling and repairing nail holes, gouges, gracks, scratches and imperfections on any wood surface. Plastic Wood Solvent can also be stained.

  • Stainable
  • Easy handling - no mixing, spreads smoothly and evenly
  • Thick, knife-grade formula can be molded and sculpted
  • Ideal for vertical surfaces and corners
  • Shrink, crack and crumble resistant
  • Dries fast
  • Strong nail and screw anchoring
  • Interior/exterior use
  • Available in 6 popular wood shades: white, natural, light oak, pine, golden oak, walnut
  • Stainable and paintable
  • Stainable and paintable
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand DAP DAP DAP DAP
Name Plastic Wood 4 oz. White Solvent Wood Filler Plastic Wood 4 oz. Natural Solvent Wood Filler Plastic Wood 1.87 oz. Natural Solvent Wood Filler Plastic Wood 16 oz. Natural Solvent Wood Filler
Price
$4.98
$4.98
$4.98
$8.88
Ratings (76) (60) (67) (209)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
4 OZ-Ounce
Product Depth (in.)
2.5
Product Height (in.)
2
Product Width (in.)
2.5

Details

Color/Finish
White
Features
Mildew Resistant,Paintable,Stainable
Pack Size
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Wood Filler
Patching & Repair Product Type
Wood Restoration
Product Weight (lb.)
.4lb

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Warranty Information: If you are not satisfied with this product’s performance when used as directed, return used container and sales receipt to DAP Inc., Technical Customer Service, 2400 Boston Street, Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21224 for product replacement or sales price refund. DAP will not be liable for incidental or consequential damages.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
4 OZ-Ounce
Product Depth (in.)
2.5
Product Height (in.)
2
Product Width (in.)
2.5

Details

Color/Finish
White
Features
Mildew Resistant,Paintable,Stainable
Pack Size
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Wood Filler
Patching & Repair Product Type
Wood Restoration
Product Weight (lb.)
.4lb

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Warranty Information: If you are not satisfied with this product’s performance when used as directed, return used container and sales receipt to DAP Inc., Technical Customer Service, 2400 Boston Street, Suite 200, Baltimore, MD 21224 for product replacement or sales price refund. DAP will not be liable for incidental or consequential damages.

Questions & Answers

can I get this in white? I am repairing a countertop that has a large chip in it and it's white.

Asked by: Anita
DAP Plastic Wood is available in white under DAP item number 7079821412 (4 oz.). DAP Plastic Wood is not recommend for use on HPL (High Pressure laminate, such as Formica) or similar engineered counter-top surfaces.
Answered by: DAPProductExpert
Date published: 2017-11-30

will wood glue stick to repaired area?

will wood glue stick to repaired area?
Asked by: Zeke
Once the DAP Plastic Wood has fully dried, wood glue, similar adhesives. as well as wood finishing products such as: stains, primers, paints and protective coatings will function as if they were being applied to natural wood products.
Answered by: DAPProductExpert
Date published: 2019-01-24
  • y_2019, m_9, d_14, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_, sid_100493605, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 17ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Plastic Wood 4 oz. White Solvent Wood Filler is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I really want to love this This is my second tube. The first was a liquid, or so I thought. I used it to fill in hardware holes, but as I got half way down the tube, the product was really dry. It appears as though the liquid was supposed to be mixed in with the dry material, however, it must have separated while in the store shelf. I kneaded the product before use too, but I guess that didn't work. I just purchased a second tube this morning. Began working on my project, kneaded the tube, pressed the product into the nail hole, and it burst open from the top, aiming for my forehead and hair. I'm just glad it didn't get in my eyes. It's too bad because this product is exactly what I need! Stainable, durable and can be screwed again after it dries. I will give it one more try, but first I will return it back to the store.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from College Dorm Doors I am using this to repair missing laminate on dorm room doors. I did add some acetone to make it more pliable and easier to spread, I am applying it in thin layers, sand smooth and reapply to get desired thickness. So far I am very content with this product, it also helps to apply it to a clean dry surface, after all it is meant to bond to wood.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DAP Plastic Wood works wonders!!! I use DAP Plastic Wood wood filler all the time for building props and set pieces in the entertainment industry. Many of the negative reviews I've seen here are based on not understanding the product or how to properly use it. Used correctly, this stuff is fantastic! It cures quickly, sands beautifully, and takes paint with ease. Thanks, DAP, for producing a terrific and reliable product. Keep up the good work!!! (Oh, and for those complaining about the can being 'half empty'... that's how it's supposed to be! The space is for mixing/thinning with acetone and adding color.)
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plastic Wood, in the original tin can. Great product. I use it only for structural repairs, not c... Plastic Wood, in the original tin can. Great product. I use it only for structural repairs, not cosmetic repairs. Perfect for fixing door jambs where the hinge screws have ruined the wood, or if you need to reset a door latch plate. You have to mix it up first, and do it quickly because this stuff dries out in a hurry. Then, still working quickly, I cram a lot of it into the worn-out screw hole as fast as I can. Once it's completely dry, you can then re-drill the hole for the screw. The screw will then hold tight, good as new. Structural repair done. Or if your screen door hinges won't tighten up because the wood underneath is ruined- this product will fix those ruined screw holes and allow you to re-drill and reset the screen door hinges.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Buying This Product For Over Fifty Years I have been using Dap Plastic Wood for over fifty years. Never a problem. Has always done the exact job it is designed to do. Always store can upside down as per instructions. Great product.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I WILL BE PURCHASING THIS AGAIN This was my first experience with Plastic Wood. The product was better than expected in its ease of use. It wasn't messy in my opinion. I used it to fill some deep holes in exterior siding and window frames.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sands and Stains like wood This stuff is the best in permanent wood repair. Sands and stains like real wood. I wish they had more species to choose from. Purple Hart, Mahogany and the like.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This filler dried hard enough to sand in 15 min.... This filler dried hard enough to sand in 15 min. A good product to use on white prepainted interior trim. Sands well. My only beef is that the working time is very short, only 1-2 min after you remove it from the can.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cans half full The cans are only half full,I bought four cans and there was an air pocket in every can
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Messy installed crown molding that was already stained and lacquered to cabinets. Used the walnut Plastic Wood to fill the nail holes and what a mess. This stuff sticks to lacquer like crazy. Impossible to wipe off. My intent was to fill the holes, lightly sand and then hit with stain and buff so as to not have to re-lacquer. Now, I have to wet sand with 400 grit just to get the excess filler off and will have to touch-up spray after finishing to get the sheen back. Any tips on how to avoid such a mess next time? Is there a solvent or something that will take this stuff of lacquer instead of elbow grease?
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dap solvent base review I use the solvent based in my acoustic drum building. I can drill through it, sets fast and dries very hard. I keep acetone on hand to keep it pliable and for clean up. By far the best product on the market. Takes stain well and sands very nicely. Extremely volatile, so keep it well ventilated or use a good mask
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The tube is fine if you follow the directions Others hate the tube, but I thought it was fine. The directions say to knead it prior to use, which is a must. Before cutting the tip, I threw it in the microwave for 10 seconds -- probably not recommended, but it worked perfectly for me!
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from no Only half a can. Won't purchase again. Kinda pricey for the amount you get. Works OK.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too dry. Absolutely useless. I purchased this to fill in deep scratches on my wood cabinets. the color match was great, but it doesn't stick. At all. Everywhere I tried to put it, it just crumbled and fell off. Yes, I stirred it throughly. I want my money back!
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Like trying to spread dried peanut butter Bought a can of this stuff. Big air pocket in the center and the can was half full. Stuff was difficult to spread, dried within a matter of seconds and flaked everywhere. Leave a lid off a jar of peanut butter for a few days and try to spread it and you'll get the experience of what working with this product is like.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wouldn't take a stain-Frustrating We filled an area about the size of a half dollar and not very deep on the door of an old hutch of my mom's that we are refinishing. It went on great, hardened well, and sanded just fine. Went to put stain on--MinWax Wood stain-- and it just won't absorb it. When I go to wipe off the excess, almost all the stain comes off. Just a few specks left. I have left it on for a few minutes and tried many times; left it on up to an hour. Still didn't work. Then I tried putting on some Howard's refinish, then stain. Sill not sticking. I am very unhappy! This area is on the door which is in the front of the hutch and quite visible. It isn't raining or too cold or too hot or high humidity or out in the sun. All I can think of to do is to chisel it out and try someone else's product but I risk damaging the rest of the door doing that. Any ideas?
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from barely usable I should have read the reviews before using this on a scratch built cabinet project. The product is way too difficult to manipulate into holes from an 18ga brad. It's like trying to spread frozen butter on a slice of wonder bread. It just sticks to itself and pulls itself out of the hole. Also, you have to account for shrinkage. So, it drags itself out of the crevice, leaving a slight detent in the surface. Then, it shrinks even more. Leave it on the shelf and get something else.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Long time user.....disappointed! As a custom cabinet builder, I've use this product for years. The last tub I bought wasn't even half full! The one side was only about a 1/2" deep. I wish I would've weighed it but I had 6 cabinets waiting for paint.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update easy to use filling in Ok so i sanded and applied my 2nd layer sanded again after just an hour and added a little in the divets i let that dry again an hour and sanded...pics below This piece i used it on is 1950's and shabby chic'd no need for it to absolutely flawless (justifying)....however i was able to build the bottom and fill in this cavity ...the big chunk of wood missing that made this piece ugly is now in the past...just need to do a little more sanding, chalk painting and its as good as the rest of the original wood....smooth as a babys butt :)
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stuff I like this product. I have been using all this product for more than 40 years and so far plastic wood work great. I yet need to try and stains on it.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the professional I have been a cabinet maker for 20 years. This is by far one of the best wood putties i have ever used! It's about speed in my line of work and this is the fastest drying putties out there!
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Walnut color works well with teak Used the product which comes in a small metal can. Works just fine applied with a putty knife. I found the walnut color matches the teak in the interior of my boat quite well.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Stainable Product is very dry and crumbly. It says that it is stainable, but it actually repelled the stain. Do not buy! It completely ruined a project for mother's day.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from "Stainable" If "stainable" means repels stain, then yes, 5 stars. If you are trying to stain a patch to match the surrounding wood, forget it. 0 stars.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Waste Your Money This stuff is the worst I have ever used. Compared to Elmer's Wood Putty it's not even close. Don't waste your money or time. Takes forever to dry, crumbles, cracks, like using thick syrup. HD dropped Elmer's Wood Putty very disappointed in there decision. I ended up remove the junk and when purchased some Elmer's Wood Putty it so much so much better. Dries quick, harder, stronger, takes least layers to repair deeper holes stays in place when curing. I replace a fairly deep hole on my front porch over 7 years ago it's still there. I attempted to repair a much smaller hole with this stuff. Had to remove and replace with Elmer's all good as usual.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product dries out Wood filler in can dried out easily, even when can was stored upside down. Is there any way to add something like acetone to it to bring it back to a workable paste?
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looked Like A Professional Did The Job DAP Plastic Wood Solvent Professional Wood Filler is exactly what I needed for repairs around my parents condo. I recently inherited it, and I am in the process of fixing it up. There is a lot of wood trim in the house that needs to be repaired and painted and this DAP filler is working great. It is really easy to work with, applies without any problems, easy to sand and paint over, and the finished product looks like a pro did it. I've used other fillers in the past, but this worked better. I would have no problem buying this product in the future, and I would definitely recommend it to others. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good grief, do something about the container simple patching of nail gun holes. While squeezing the product from the tube , as others have noted, the crimped end burst open. After using probably 2% of the product, the rest is useless. Expect way better from DAP. Apparently this is a common problem. Will warn off friends.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST THERE IS! I am soooo happy I found this stuff in my local home dept, now all I need is t get the white and I am set! looooove this stuff, dries fast as I hav no time to wait nor patience :) but its very durable and waterproof and plain AWESOME! thank you dap u ROCK!
Date published: 2016-08-01
  • y_2019, m_9, d_14, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_, sid_100493605, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 119ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT