Internet #100043245

Model # 58679

Store SKU #422071

0090489027865

DeckoRail

4 in. x 4 in. Copper Pyramid Post Point

  • Copper post cap fits 4 in. x 4 in. post
  • Post cap protects wood post from weather
  • Nicely finishes wood fence or decks
$ 3 97
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Copper post cap fits 4 in. x 4 in. post
  • Post cap protects wood post from weather
  • Nicely finishes wood fence or decks
Simple and sophisticated, this copper point nicely finishes wood deck or fence posts. The lacquered copper cap also protects the post from sun, rain, and snow, so it will last longer. An elegant and easy way to add value to your deck.
  • Perfect for deck or fence projects
  • Protects the top of wood posts
  • Perfect blend of beauty and value
  • Post cap fits nominal 4 in. x 4 in. wood post (Actual post dimensions 3-1/2 in. x 3-1/2 in.)
  • Post cap is copper plated stainless steel
  • Customize deck, fence or railing
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Copper post cap fits 4 in. x 4 in. post
  • Post cap protects wood post from weather
  • Nicely finishes wood fence or decks
Model #: 58679
Sku #: 422071
Internet #: 100043245

Simple and sophisticated, this copper point nicely finishes wood deck or fence posts. The lacquered copper cap also protects the post from sun, rain, and snow, so it will last longer. An elegant and easy way to add value to your deck.

  • Perfect for deck or fence projects
  • Protects the top of wood posts
  • Perfect blend of beauty and value
  • Post cap fits nominal 4 in. x 4 in. wood post (Actual post dimensions 3-1/2 in. x 3-1/2 in.)
  • Post cap is copper plated stainless steel
  • Customize deck, fence or railing
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand DeckoRail Veranda Veranda
Name 4 in. x 4 in. Pressure-Treated Wood Post Skirt 4 in. x 4 in. Copper Pyramid Post Point 4 in. x 4 in. White Pyramid Post Cap with Glue 4 in. x 4 in. White New England Post Cap with Glue
Price
$2.97
$3.97
$3.98 /piece
$6.98
Ratings (29) (111) (25) (57)
Cap/top style Flat Pyramid Pyramid Beveled
Features Pressure Treated Prefinished UV Protected,Water Resistant UV Protected,Water Resistant
Material Wood Metal Vinyl Vinyl
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
4
Product Height (in.)
1.5
Product Width (in.)
4

Details

Cap/top style
Pyramid
Color Family
Copper
Color/Finish
Copper
Features
Prefinished
Fencing Product Type
Post Cap/Top
Fits Nominal Post Size
4x4
Material
Metal
Product Weight (lb.)
0.5lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
See store for details

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
4
Product Height (in.)
1.5
Product Width (in.)
4

Details

Cap/top style
Pyramid
Color Family
Copper
Color/Finish
Copper
Features
Prefinished
Fencing Product Type
Post Cap/Top
Fits Nominal Post Size
4x4
Material
Metal
Product Weight (lb.)
0.5lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
See store for details

Questions & Answers

squirrel deterrent?

squirrel deterrent?
Asked by: bvail
Squirrel deterrent? Not sure what you are looking for. They are attractive and and nicely cover the cut end of the post. Two years in and the retain there bright copper color and that is going threw a winter with snow.
Answered by: jwm
Date published: 2019-05-27

I used an exterior grade adhesive but the caps were easily removed after a day of cure. Next I us...

I used an exterior grade adhesive but the caps were easily removed after a day of cure. Next I used liquid nails , duct taped down for 24 hours, but the caps were easy to remove. I tried using copper colored nails but the stainless steel was too strong and the nails bent. My electric drill won't handle such a small bit. What next? Caulk, foam insulation spray? Or?
Asked by: judrob
I used exterior caulk and they stay on in storms etc. You can pull them off which is what I wanted for repainting the posts with a sprayer.
Answered by: Coyote
Date published: 2018-11-05

What are the exact measurements of how far down the cap goes on to the 4 X 4. Or: how much wood will i need to leave above the top rail of the fence?

Asked by: Toni
Very shallow. about 1/4"
Answered by: Olddeckguy
Date published: 2018-07-17

Our posts are 3 1/4 by 3 1/4. Do we buy 4x4 to fit over? Or, do caps come in 3 1/4 by 3 1/4?

Asked by: Nana
I just let the cap overhang a little on the edge of the post. With glue, it does not need to fit exactly. Still look ok.
Answered by: Olddeckguy
Date published: 2018-11-13
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_100043245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 22ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4 in. x 4 in. Copper Pyramid Post Point is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 111.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Touch of Elegance They are inexpensive and makes the post look better. I have used these types of post point caps for 20 years on multiple properties that I have owned. The only negative is that eventually the clear coat deteriorates and the thin copper coating discolors. I think the underlying metal is steel. It is not solid copper so you cannot polish it to bring back the shine when it is new. But I find that an acceptable tradeoff with the low price.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price Base of cap measures 3-5/8 square - perfect for 4x4 (nominal) lumber. Simply add a dab of calk inside each of the four corners (to hold in place) and push onto post. Quite elegant actually.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good Easily scratched...so be careful. Forget trying to drill them in with a hole or something. I used RTV silicone adhesive and it worked out fine securing them to the fence post.
Date published: 2010-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used one of these copper post caps on a redwood post that I put in to hang a bird feeder. I use... I used one of these copper post caps on a redwood post that I put in to hang a bird feeder. I used a clear coat on the redwood to weatherproof it and just glued the cap to the top. After three years the whole thing (except the bird feeder!) looks like new. We have very hot dry summers and freezing nights in the winter.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product is NOT as described! The description of this product says "COPPER Pyramid"! The product is NOT COPPER! It is painted tin. I would not have bought this product if I had know it was painted tin. Your description of this product is VERY misleading!
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Although pretty when new they do oxidize some and lose their luster. I've used two different glu... Although pretty when new they do oxidize some and lose their luster. I've used two different glues and they still come loose after time. They should come with nails for attaching to the post.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, simple post cap. For the Northwest climate, it is best to spray them with 2 coats of ... Well made, simple post cap. For the Northwest climate, it is best to spray them with 2 coats of clear metal paint if you want the shiny copper color to last. The larger, mitred wooden post caps with the copper tops fail after a few years. After 6 years on my garden posts, these caps are still intact, but since they were not clear-painted, the copper patina look is the result.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are plated copper pyramids, that do dress up a... These are plated copper pyramids, that do dress up a fence nicely. The wood was rough cut so a couple of them fit the real tight and others a bit loose, but I believe that would happen with any fence post cap. In the end the price was phenomenal, and if one is damaged or lost I can easily replace.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs to fit on posts where inside raised edge is present for best fit. I glued edges to secure. ... Needs to fit on posts where inside raised edge is present for best fit. I glued edges to secure. Caps are attractive and thin but sturdy. Good value at a few bucks each. Asked for pictures. Took a couple nice ones but this review site said too large. C'mon!
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These post tops turned an already nice deck walkway into... These post tops turned an already nice deck walkway into a really outstanding one. Everyone comments on how nice they look. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just as I expected them to be. Haven’t installed yet,... Just as I expected them to be. Haven’t installed yet, but test fit looks good and finish is solid.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They match the two I had and will make the... They match the two I had and will make the top of the posts on the deck look the same.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A lot cheaper then the caps on wood, and easier... A lot cheaper then the caps on wood, and easier to install with liquid nails.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but high price. I have 30 + posts and... Good but high price. I have 30 + posts and they add $ up.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what's to say - they work All they're described to be - square and copper. You attach them with caulk. So far they are still there.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works fine product is simple and effective. don't expect the surface shine to last forever. This is my third replacement on 10 posts over 8 years. First tried adhering with liquid nails. This last a few years but as the caps blew off I now use gorilla glue; so far so good after 1+ year.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice finishing touch to fencing Post caps were easy to install and look great on a stained wood fence.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As advertised. Good quality copper-plated post points. Solidly made.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit and great finish. Perfect fit and great finish.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These copper caps on 4x4 fence posts are a smart look. It was simple to caulk them on. They det... These copper caps on 4x4 fence posts are a smart look. It was simple to caulk them on. They deter birds from landing there.
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit and finish. Good price. Slightly larger than top of standard 4x4. To attached, glue i... Good fit and finish. Good price. Slightly larger than top of standard 4x4. To attached, glue is the only option.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Know What You're Buying I purchased a pair of these several years ago to accent a decorative fence section. I installed these as recommended with a good adhesive caulk. Recently I decided to treat the fence and at that time noticed one cap was gone. Thief, critter or wind, who knows but the absent cap was nowhere in the vicinity. Unfortunately it was Fall and looking for a copper color cap among thousands of gold, brown and yellow leaves was next to impossible. Mowing was the next task and I kept a lookout. Didn't find it but something in the area "passed" through the mower. I later found the mangled cap along the property line fence. Off to HD for a replacement. I had checked the remaining cap and found that the seasonal changes in the wood post broke the adhesive bond so I decided to attach new and old with brass screws. The new cap easily drilled for a fastener but the old cap highly objected. With more effort I completed the hole but noticed the exposed edges were steel colored. A magnet was not attracted so I'm guessing copper flash over stainless (if that's possible). I was tempted to apply an acid wash to generate the patina process but since just how much copper is really present I'll leave them be. At least fasteners will insure they stick around this time.
Date published: 2012-10-25
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_111
  • loc_, sid_100043245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT