Internet #203026196

Model # 14-651

0069554146534

1/2 HP Bench Top Mortising Machine

  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer
$ 399 00
/box $449.97

Save $50.97 (11%)

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer
Accurate, easy to setup and operate, the Delta 3/8 in. Bench Top Mortising Machine is designed for the professional user. Including a multi-position hand lever and rotating mortising head for off-table projects, this machine also has adjustable height for added versatility. Powered by a 1/2 hp, 120-volt, 60 hz single-phase induction motor, this machine produces smooth-sided, burn-feed results. Built to handle your toughest jobs, the heavy-duty cast-iron base with center through hole ensures stability, while an adjustable stop makes repeat mortises easier.
  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for quick bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole for strength and stability
  • Adjustable rack and pinion fence and rack and pinion head raising and lowering
  • Mortising head column can be turned 180-degrees and remounted for off-table mortising
  • Includes: 1 mortiser, 3/8 in. capacity chuck and key, four mortising chisels and bits, tool and chisel holder and riser block
  • 5-year warranty on parts and labor
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer reduces motor vibration

Product Overview

  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer
Model #: 14-651
Internet #: 203026196

Accurate, easy to setup and operate, the Delta 3/8 in. Bench Top Mortising Machine is designed for the professional user. Including a multi-position hand lever and rotating mortising head for off-table projects, this machine also has adjustable height for added versatility. Powered by a 1/2 hp, 120-volt, 60 hz single-phase induction motor, this machine produces smooth-sided, burn-feed results. Built to handle your toughest jobs, the heavy-duty cast-iron base with center through hole ensures stability, while an adjustable stop makes repeat mortises easier.

  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for quick bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole for strength and stability
  • Adjustable rack and pinion fence and rack and pinion head raising and lowering
  • Mortising head column can be turned 180-degrees and remounted for off-table mortising
  • Includes: 1 mortiser, 3/8 in. capacity chuck and key, four mortising chisels and bits, tool and chisel holder and riser block
  • 5-year warranty on parts and labor
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer reduces motor vibration

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer
Accurate, easy to setup and operate, the Delta 3/8 in. Bench Top Mortising Machine is designed for the professional user. Including a multi-position hand lever and rotating mortising head for off-table projects, this machine also has adjustable height for added versatility. Powered by a 1/2 hp, 120-volt, 60 hz single-phase induction motor, this machine produces smooth-sided, burn-feed results. Built to handle your toughest jobs, the heavy-duty cast-iron base with center through hole ensures stability, while an adjustable stop makes repeat mortises easier.
  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for quick bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole for strength and stability
  • Adjustable rack and pinion fence and rack and pinion head raising and lowering
  • Mortising head column can be turned 180-degrees and remounted for off-table mortising
  • Includes: 1 mortiser, 3/8 in. capacity chuck and key, four mortising chisels and bits, tool and chisel holder and riser block
  • 5-year warranty on parts and labor
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer reduces motor vibration

Product Overview

  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer
Model #: 14-651
Internet #: 203026196

Accurate, easy to setup and operate, the Delta 3/8 in. Bench Top Mortising Machine is designed for the professional user. Including a multi-position hand lever and rotating mortising head for off-table projects, this machine also has adjustable height for added versatility. Powered by a 1/2 hp, 120-volt, 60 hz single-phase induction motor, this machine produces smooth-sided, burn-feed results. Built to handle your toughest jobs, the heavy-duty cast-iron base with center through hole ensures stability, while an adjustable stop makes repeat mortises easier.

  • Easy and open access to drill chuck for quick bit changing
  • Large cast-iron base with center through hole for strength and stability
  • Adjustable rack and pinion fence and rack and pinion head raising and lowering
  • Mortising head column can be turned 180-degrees and remounted for off-table mortising
  • Includes: 1 mortiser, 3/8 in. capacity chuck and key, four mortising chisels and bits, tool and chisel holder and riser block
  • 5-year warranty on parts and labor
  • Gas-filled head-stabilizer reduces motor vibration

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Base Length (in.)
16.5
Base Width (in.)
13.5
Product Depth (in.)
16.25
Product Height (in.)
30
Product Width (in.)
13.5

Details

360- Degree Swivel
No
Amperage (amps)
9.8
Bench & Stationary Tool Type
Mortiser
Built-In Light
No
Chuck Capacity
3/8 In.
Chuck Key Storage
Yes
Color Family
Gray
Condition
New
Cord Length (ft.)
5
Maximum Speed (rpm)
1720
Minimum speed (rpm)
1720
PT Horsepower (Hp)
1/2
Pivot Head
No
Portability
Bench
Product Weight (lb.)
74lb
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool
Voltage (volts)
120

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
5 Year Parts and Labor

Specifications

Dimensions

Base Length (in.)
16.5
Base Width (in.)
13.5
Product Depth (in.)
16.25
Product Height (in.)
30
Product Width (in.)
13.5

Details

360- Degree Swivel
No
Amperage (amps)
9.8
Bench & Stationary Tool Type
Mortiser
Built-In Light
No
Chuck Capacity
3/8 In.
Chuck Key Storage
Yes
Color Family
Gray
Condition
New
Cord Length (ft.)
5
Maximum Speed (rpm)
1720
Minimum speed (rpm)
1720
PT Horsepower (Hp)
1/2
Pivot Head
No
Portability
Bench
Product Weight (lb.)
74lb
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool
Voltage (volts)
120

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
5 Year Parts and Labor

Questions & Answers

IS THERE A VICE THAT CAN GO ON IT

Asked by: BIG DOG
You could, but it would take some adapting to do it. To put a vise on it, and we are talking about a drill press vise, you would have to take the fence off of the machine, and there is no way you could use a mechanics' vise, as they are way too tall. So, you could use a drill press vise, or maybe a cross-feed vise made for a good sized floor model drill press, but again, you'd have to take the fence off of the machine, as well as the hold down fork and post which holds it. Now you could also put the extension in place (making the rack & pinion which moves the fence useless), and use your drill press vise for the fence and hold down.
Answered by: Moose
Date published: 2017-02-15

Is this item available in a store?

Asked by: Goose
I ordered mine online, but you may be able to go to customer service, and special order it.
Answered by: Moose
Date published: 2017-02-15

max height of adjustment

i am looking to make a table with beard board ends, will this machine fit a 5 inch tall piece?
Asked by: prc61
With the 1/2" chisel & drill, the height above the table is 4.5" above the table. The smaller size drill/chisels increase that clearance as they get shorter as they get smaller. The 1/4" has about 6" clearance from the table. If you install the 2" riser add 2" to the clearance.
Answered by: Moose
Date published: 2017-02-15

can you mortise in the end of boards? I need to mortise in the end of 7' long 2x6.

Asked by: knucklehead
I would not recommend it! You will need a Horizontal boring machine! A short cut to this is to mark the area, drill out majority of material and then use a wood chisel to square it up. This is of course the mortise you’re attempting is not very deep!
Answered by: Woody
Date published: 2019-04-10
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_203026196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Delta 1/2 HP Bench Top Mortising Machine is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was building a cradle for our great grand son,... I was building a cradle for our great grand son, the plans required 74 mortise joints. My drill press mounted mortising tool was not accurate enough to make consistent mortises so I opted to purchase a dedicated mortising machine. This machine was on sale and the price was with in my budget, I couldn't be happier. Once it was cleaned and set up I was able to complete all the required mortises in no time flat. Just had to do some fine tuning with a chisel and I was assembling my project. Grandson and granddaughter are very happy with the cradle and hopefully it will stay in the family for a long time.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First thing to note in this review is that the machine is NOT a 3/8" machine. It is a 1/2 Horsepo... First thing to note in this review is that the machine is NOT a 3/8" machine. It is a 1/2 Horsepower machine, and will mortiss (with the drill bit/square chisels provided in the box) from 1/4" - 1/2" square holes, and works very well for this purpose. If you set up the machine by following the instruction manual, you should have no problems cutting your mortises. You could also use the machine for a small drill press, although the range of stroke is not very long, because the machine's drill chuck has a 1/2" capacity, meaning you can chuck up to 1/2", but you can also use larger drill bits 1/2 thru 1" with reduced shanks, such as Silver & Deming types...The biggest drawback with the machine is that if you install the 2" riser set up (with the other extended parts that go with it), the rack & pinion (controlled by the knob at the base) that moves the fence back & forth, doesn't work any more with out making a part to extend up the rack & pinion as well. Other than that, this is a very good machine. You can make mortises for window frames, door frames, face frames for cabinets, boxes, etc, etc. Enjoy. I've had the machine for 2.5 months, and feel that is well worth the money, and is a way better machine than the one from Harbor Freight; the base of the Delta machine is wider and deeper, and heavier, which makes it much more stable than the cheaper model.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased this product to help with mortising table legs. I was surprised how complete this pr... I purchased this product to help with mortising table legs. I was surprised how complete this product was. Within a few minutes, I had the bits in and trying out my firsat test run. This machine is very sturdy and very well set up. I'm very happy with my choice to purchase this on over the Jet mportiser. I have to give a thumbs up to Home Depot as well. I have now made several purchases from them on-line and the products are shipped and received in great shape. The time estimate for delivery has been higher than the actual delivery date. Last, the product is exactly what you ordered, with no surprises.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The machine works very well. Easy to setup and use.... The machine works very well. Easy to setup and use. The adjustments are easy to use and the chisels are sharp. It is fun to make square holes!The only issue was that one of the small screws in the motor housing was missing.Richard
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The choice came down to this or the bench top Jet machine. There are pros and cons to each but t... The choice came down to this or the bench top Jet machine. There are pros and cons to each but they looked largely equivalent to me. The price on this was less which became the decider. In operation I have no complaints. I like the high fence and cast iron base. Very sturdy and stable. I don't have mine bolted down and it does not need to be. Hold down is solid. The depth stop works well. After pounding mortises by hand for years this seems too easy.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Machine was well packaged and coated with oil. Assembly was easy. Instructions, all but the riser... Machine was well packaged and coated with oil. Assembly was easy. Instructions, all but the riser block installation, were clear. Machine is heavy and solid. Machining was a disappointment. The chisels did not fit the head they had to be polished and oiled to get to fit. The fence is 2 degrees from square with the table and chisels
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I little disappointed in the machine. 1) Casting of the body... I little disappointed in the machine. 1) Casting of the body is not great. 2) Lift cylinder was really hard to install, and one of the ball pins broke first use. Delta ignores emails 3) Chuck is cumbersome to get to
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delta mortiser This came in just in time for a project I was working on. Two days early. It took a few minutes to set up and get adjusted but once I did it worked great. Very happy with this unit.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tool required some additional time square up the mortiser head... Tool required some additional time square up the mortiser head unit to the fence. Otherwise it is very well built. I'm very happy with performance of the equipment. I made eight 6" mortises in 15 minutes on my current project. Mortises required very little clean up with chisel.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its easy to assemble it has the power to do the job and its nice and quiet very pleased with it Its easy to assemble it has the power to do the job and its nice and quiet very pleased with it
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fair The detail assembly instructions are not the best. In fact I still have not gotten the entire machine assembled and will invite a friend over to help me understand the instructions. I swear they hire these people to write the instructions whose brains live in a different dimension than the rest of the world!
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sturdy machine I wanted a good mortising machine but didn't want to pay big money for it. I chose this Delta and it hasn't disappointed. It works great and is sturdy enough for the most demanding jobs. The only complaint I night have is that the hold downs on the fence are plastic and cheap. I feel that if I turn them just a little too much they'll surely break. But other than that I would recommend this machine for anyone needing one at a really good price
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Received this item last week. Must say, I was shocked by the quality and thought they put into i... Received this item last week. Must say, I was shocked by the quality and thought they put into it. It is very sturdy, came with everything they said it would, easy to assemble and I had the first test cut done within 30 minutes from the time I opened the box. It is everything I would expect from a quality tool.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I usually drill my mortise and square them with a... I usually drill my mortise and square them with a chisel. But the project I’m working on requires many m&t’s. It’s working out just fine. A lot quicker and more accurate.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Mortiser is great for a weekend woodworker and the... This Mortiser is great for a weekend woodworker and the seasoned professional. It’s a great compliment to my powermatic tenoning jig.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best price ever This was not for me, so I can not say anything about it, however the owner was very happy and still is with his new machine. He told me that now he can finish the job he always dreams about.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Went together okay, HATED the oily mess to clean up! Product performed quite admirably. Went together okay, HATED the oily mess to clean up! Product performed quite admirably.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived exactly as described, assembled that same evening without a... Arrived exactly as described, assembled that same evening without a problem. Works as expected. Great buy.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool Very impressed with power and accuracy, easy to assemble and went to work within an hour of opening the box.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a great job. Set up was easy . The machine was packaged very well. Does a great job. Set up was easy . The machine was packaged very well.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product My husband purchased this tool for his workshop. He likes the mortise machine.
Date published: 2015-04-14
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_, sid_203026196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT