#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #204342322

Model #40084

Store SKU #1000027574

Store SO SKU #1000118793

Classic 400 48 in. W x 74 in. H Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Shower Wall Surround in High Gloss White

$38800
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • 3-piece shower wall panels install direct to stud
  • Shower kit designed with the strength and durability of acrylic
  • Shower stall includes 7 built-in shelves for maximum storage
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated
+
+
Price:
$38800

Product Overview

Classic 400 34 in. x 48 in. 3-Piece Shower Surround offers strength without sacrificing design or style. It was designed for direct-to-stud installation for a long-lasting and secure unit. It has built-in, reinforced support and a center drain design.
  • Exact dimensions: 47.88 in. W x 72.25 in. H x 32.75 in. D
  • Premium high-gloss and nonporous acrylic surface that is durable and easy to clean
  • Bright white finish to match porcelain fixtures
  • Mildew-resistant surface
  • Easy to handle with no fiberglass backing
  • No mortar bed required, saving you time and money
  • Pairs with the delta classic 400 34 in. x 48 in. single-threshold shower base in high gloss white (model 40074 - sold separately) for the complete shower look
  • 10-year limited residential manufacturer warranty, 1-year limited commercial manufacturer warranty
  • Shower surround only
  • Recommended adhesive: DAP 3.0, RD 3000, and eco-bond
  • Complete your purchase with a Delta Classic 400 single-threshold shower base in high-gloss white (204342317)
  • Skip the shower curtain - click the banner below to design your custom shower door (sold separately)





Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Alcove Shower Walls & Surrounds

current product
Top RatedClassic 400 48 in. W x 74 in. H Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Shower Wall Surround in High Gloss White
Accord 36 in. x 48 in. x 55-1/8 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall in WhiteJetcoat 32 in. x 60 in. x78 in. 5-Piece Easy-up Adhesive Alcove Shower Surround in SlateTop RatedPassage 32 in. x 60 in. x 72 in. 4-Piece Glue-Up Alcove Shower Wall in Pewter Travertine
BrandDeltaSTERLINGForemostAmerican Standard
NameClassic 400 48 in. W x 74 in. H Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Shower Wall Surround in High Gloss WhiteAccord 36 in. x 48 in. x 55-1/8 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Shower Wall in WhiteJetcoat 32 in. x 60 in. x78 in. 5-Piece Easy-up Adhesive Alcove Shower Surround in SlatePassage 32 in. x 60 in. x 72 in. 4-Piece Glue-Up Alcove Shower Wall in Pewter Travertine
Price
$38800
$40241
$74900
$83820
Ratings
(373)
(38)
(27)
(101)
ConstructionThree pieceThree pieceFive pieceFour piece
MaterialAcrylicCompositeStyreneLaminate
Shower TypeAlcoveAlcoveAlcoveAlcove
Number of Shelves7400
Wall Height (in.)7455.1257872
Wall Installation TypeDirect-to-studDirect-to-studGlue UpGlue Up
FeaturesShelvesNo Additional FeaturesNo Additional FeaturesNo Additional Features
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
32.75 in
Wall Height (in.)
74
Wall Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
White
Color/Finish
High Gloss White
Construction
Three piece
Features
Shelves
Included Shower Components
No additional components included
Material
Acrylic
Number of Panels
3
Number of Shelves
7
Product Weight (lb.)
50.99 lb
Returnable
90-Day
Shower Type
Alcove
Style
Modern
Surface Type
Smooth
Wall Installation Type
Direct-to-stud

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
IAPMO Certified
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 10-year Warranty

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 373 reviews
  • 84% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 373 reviews
Had the shower unit professionally installed and it looks awesome,...
Had the shower unit professionally installed and it looks awesome, just waiting for shower doors to come in and be installed.
by
    Buyer beware! It is NOT 32"
    I bought this whole set up. It isn't installed yet but even measuring it, you can't get anywhere close to 32". I'm very upset about it. I ordered it, waited and had someone drive 11 hours to help install and now I'm stuck with it.
    by
    Response from DeltaFaucetSep 20, 2021
    Hi YankeeGirl,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I apologize for the dimensions issue you are experiencing with this Delta Faucet model 40104 Classic 400 60 in. W x 74 in. H Three-Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Shower Wall Surround in High Gloss White. We recommend returning to where purchased for an exchange or refund at this time. As the manufacturer, we are committed to supplying consumers with a quality product that delivers the expected performance. We appreciate your loyalty to Delta Faucet Company.

    Best Regards, Tim
    Digital Communications Specialist
    (800) 345-3358
    customerservice@deltafaucet.com DeltaFaucet
      The shower was an easy install with step by step...
      The shower was an easy install with step by step easy to follow instructions. It was a perfect fit in the space the old tub used to be.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Design problems and not made for a renovation
      The panels are well made and of good quality and look nice. The problem comes during installation. If you are doing new construction, then you can frame the walls to match the instructions. If you are renovating and installing this where a tub or shower used to be, the instructions show adding multiple studs into the walls. This is not easy to do in existing walls even when they are open to studs. After adding the studs, you will then find that there is no reason to add two of the studs to the back wall as they will never contact the back of the shower wall. The instructions show placing adhesive on these two studs for absolutely no reason since they don't contact anything. Also, the shower surround needs to be secured by adhesive which is hard to use and requires bracing that is very difficult to achieve while installing all three walls. The sections also need to be sealed with sealant at the same time, so you have adhesive and sealant going at the same time while trying to fit and brace the panels. Also, The design is not as functional as other enclosures. One problem is that the alcoves slope in quickly, so shampoo and other bottles want to fall off the ledges. Another problem is that there are few flat surfaces that can be used to attach grab bars, or even a wash cloth bar.
      by
      Response from DeltaFaucetMar 17, 2021
      Hello Engineer! Thank you for your review regarding the Delta Classic 400 32 in. x 60 in. x 74 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Surround! I do apologize that you find this surround difficult to install, but I will be more than happy to help! Your feedback is important to us, as it helps us refine our products and services. Feel free to contact us directly if you need further assistance with this matter or if you have installation questions. Thank you for being a loyal Delta Faucet customer. Best Regards, Antoine DeltaFaucet
        • Recommended
        10 people found this helpful
        Awesome
        We did exactly what the instructions said was simple as long as everything is square . We love it thank you delta
        by
        Response from DeltaFaucetMay 6, 2021
        Hello Larry,
        Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with your Delta Faucet Classic 400 60 in. W x 74 in. H Three-Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Shower Wall Surround in High Gloss White. With any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. Thank you for being a loyal Delta Faucet customer.

        Best Regards,
        Carrie DeltaFaucet
          • Recommended
          3 people found this helpful
          Great shower walls easy installation
          Very straight forward to install. These will not fit over drywall so dont try it
          by
            • Recommended
            DIYer
            Recently installed the Delta shower wall surround and delta shower base. We also installed the recommended shower door. We are happy with the overall look. I do wish the shelves were deeper with a ridge on the edge to keep the larger shampoo bottles and soap bars from sliding off the shelves. Since the only recommended cleaners are soap and soft cloth, I'm concerned for soap scum build up. I'm hoping that vinegar water solution will do the job. I just wish I could use Scrubbing Bubbles or over the counter cleaning products.
            by
            Response from DeltaFaucetDec 31, 2020
            Hi BRG! Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you are so satisfied with your new shower surround! We apologize for any inconvenience if you feel unsure about the ability to effectively clean the surround without Scrubbing Bubbles. Your feedback is important to us, as it helps us refine our products and services.

            Best Regards, Tim DeltaFaucet
              • Recommended
              2 people found this helpful
              I installed this surround with the Delta shower base and sliding glass doors that came recommende...
              I installed this surround with the Delta shower base and sliding glass doors that came recommended as a three-part package. In all, I am very pleased however, the frame for the doors is too wide to properly fit the rail cap to the formed jamb on the surround. A straight, less ornate track would be a better fit.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              5 people found this helpful
              The delivered item did fit on the Delta 32 x 60 floor pan exactly and was dimensionally correct b...
              The delivered item did fit on the Delta 32 x 60 floor pan exactly and was dimensionally correct but still allowed for the shower space being slightly out-of-square. I was able to keep my old doors from the shower which we replaced. The alcove and pan pieces were light weight and easy for 1 person with occasional help to put up. Direct-to-stud installation was a time-saver and Instructions included were fairly good and complete. Finished it offers a bright and comfortably-sized space to shower and maybe include a small shower chair. The shelves are impressive but I'm not sure we will use all of them. There was a slight (2") hairline crack in one of the upper corners on the back of one of the sides when it was delivered, which does not show - I fixed it with plastic glue to make sure the crack wouldn't spread while assembling. The curved-in sides near the top were a bit of a challenge for mounting the shower head within the shower shell which I overcame by raising the shower head to just over the top of the enclosure. This curved side arrangement made mounting the shower-caddy and hanger for the hand sprayer wand slightly awkward but we figured it out. We just finished the final installation including doors etc. last night. It has a solid overal feel and meets our expectations for quality and value especially for a DIY installation. Using this product and the matching floor pan probably saved me well over $5K to $6K for the whole project, compared to having a shower installation done commercially by somebody else locally.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              10 people found this helpful
              We love our shower. We have plenty of room to move around and the shelves don’t get in the way. P...
              We love our shower. We have plenty of room to move around and the shelves don’t get in the way. Packaging was excellent and there was no damage to it, very beautiful made.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 people found this helpful
              Changing from a tub/shower enclosure was easier than expected and the instructions were very good...
              Changing from a tub/shower enclosure was easier than expected and the instructions were very good. Delta makes quality and this is no exception!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              7 people found this helpful
              well made and packaged. went together fine and directions were pretty good. as long as your walls...
              well made and packaged. went together fine and directions were pretty good. as long as your walls are plumb and square you will be fine. The best job outcome comes when the prep is done with care and don't rush.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              9 people found this helpful
              This shower kit was stright forward and easy to install.
              This shower kit was stright forward and easy to install.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              6 people found this helpful
              Good product. Be sure to put plenty of bracing in the walls before install and follow the directi...
              Good product. Be sure to put plenty of bracing in the walls before install and follow the directions on taping the silicon and let set for 24 hours before removing or you will have a big mess. Very happy with the way it turned out.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              10 people found this helpful
              The installation was fairly easy... drain assembly was the most complex. Drain does not come wit...
              The installation was fairly easy... drain assembly was the most complex. Drain does not come with the unit, so we had to find something compatible. I love the built in shelves. We added the folding door that is a compatible piece and a full body spa shower system all from Home Depot. The result looks very good. The floor does squeak a bit. Hence the 4 of 5 star rating. It is just installed... not used yet. Still need to do some caulking.
              by
              Response from DeltaFaucetMar 13, 2020
              Hello Nene,

              Thank you for your review on the Delta Classic 400 - 36" X 36" Shower Wall Set.

              I am pleased to hear that you are pleased with the appearance of your new surround and that the installation process was fairly easy!

              I apologize that your base is squeaking, over time and after use the base should settle into place and should no longer squeak.

              Please do not hesitate to give us a call on our warranty line at 800-355-2721 if we can assist you with anything going forward.

              Thank you,

              Brandy DeltaFaucet
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              2 people found this helpful
              Item was as described. Nice build quality.
              Item was as described. Nice build quality.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 person found this helpful
              The shower base and walls were of high quality and instructions made it easy 2 put together. I es...
              The shower base and walls were of high quality and instructions made it easy 2 put together. I especially liked the foam base underneath that supported the floor of the shower pan completely. Materials were strong and directions clear on how to complete all assembly to assure strength throughout.
              by
              Response from DeltaFaucetMar 13, 2020
              Hello Tom,

              Thank you for your review on the Delta Classic 400 34 in. x 48 in. x 74 in. 3-Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Surround. Any feedback that we receive is greatly appreciated.

              I am very glad to hear that you are pleased with the quality and construction of your new Delta Surround. Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and share your experience with us.

              If you ever have any questions, concerns, or require anything further please feel free to give us a call at 800-345-3358 and we will be happy to assist you in any way that we can.

              Thank you again!

              Matthew
              Delta Faucet Company
              Consumer Care DeltaFaucet
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              7 people found this helpful
              Easy install. No caulk no clue no mess!
              Easy install. No caulk no clue no mess!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 person found this helpful
              I purchased this unit (Model # 40094L & Model # 40104) and installed it in a remodeled bathroom i...
              I purchased this unit (Model # 40094L & Model # 40104) and installed it in a remodeled bathroom in September 2016. I purchased the matching shower doors we also purchased at the same time as a modular set (Model # SD2832947 ). All were purchased at Home Depot. Sadly, I installed the same system in a second bathroom I added this last summer. This is the only in store product offered by Home Depot and it is an incredibly poor quality product. In both showers there is literally no amount of caulking you can do to prevent this system from leaking along the track where the shower door track installs to the shower pan. It is a horrible design. The problem for contacting you today is that the original install of unit 1 in September 2016 has cracked in the corners. (Pictures Attached) But the look of the cracks you would thing it was due to settling. But the areas around the shower remain level and there are no seam splits in the drywall in the corners or in the adjoining rooms so no apparent settling has occurred. The unit just has too little reinforcement and flexes way too much to be viable. I love Hope Depot and frankly I really do not have much choice in my market place even if I didn't like them. But this is all they offer and it is a wretched product with poor quality and indignant customer service from Delta. Do not buy this grouping of products.
              by
              Response from DeltaFaucetMar 13, 2020
              Hello kenwlund,

              Thank you for your review on the Delta Classic 400 60" x 32" Shower Wall Set. Any feedback that we receive helps us to create better products and is greatly appreciated.

              I am very sorry to hear that you have had such a negative experience with this shower base, and I apologize for any inconveniences these issues may have caused.

              If these issues have not yet been addressed please give us a call on our warranty line at 800-345-3358 and we will be happy to assist you in any way that we can to come to a solution.

              Thank you again!

              Matthew M.
              Delta Faucet Company
              Consumer Care DeltaFaucet
                17 people found this helpful
                Easy install and great quality.
                Easy install and great quality.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                1 person found this helpful
                The walls were very easy to install and looks fabulous....
                The walls were very easy to install and looks fabulous.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 person found this helpful
                relatively easy and looks great
                almost didn't buy because of the reviews but glad we did. Reviews mentioned feeling flimsy so we added blocking between studs and glued there and all other areas of contact. install was relatively easy.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  7 people found this helpful
                  I'm very pleased with this shower. We also purchased the base that goes with it, and the whole pa...
                  I'm very pleased with this shower. We also purchased the base that goes with it, and the whole package made for a fairly easy installation and a professional looking result. Completely satisfied
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  6 people found this helpful
                  Nice design but poor functionality
                  Looks great but many flaws. The middle surround curves in too much so you tend to hit it with your elbows. So many shelves but the middle sides and lower sides can only fit soap and very short bottles due to the curves as well. The stud installation for the middle surround is poor, only the middle stud needs the most adhesive and the outer studs don't even touch the shelves. I would rather just tile the surround next time as this product has many functional flaws for practical use. The drastic curve inwards really ruins the experience.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    3 people found this helpful
                    WORKS WELL IN A SMALL BATHROOM
                    WORKS WELL IN A SMALL BATHROOM
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 person found this helpful
                    Delta shower walls
                    The shower,surround was easy to install. Per my contractor. It has a great modern look, and so easy to clean. I would recommend to everyone . Plenty of shelves for storing shampoos and soaps. As you see I'm already using it
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    10 people found this helpful
                    Wall Shower Set
                    This set along with the matching base and other upgrades were the pride of our new bathroom. Any problems we encountered were not the fault of the Classic 40, just normal encounters with stud placement and the removal of the old surround and base. The wall shower set is very sturdy and slides into place with no problems. The set is truly a showpiece. We just finished with the new drywall and paint and look forward to the shower.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    by
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      Response from DeltaFaucetOct 8, 2021
                      Hi HomeDepotCustomer,

                      Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you are so satisfied with your Delta Faucet model 40064 Classic 400 36 in. W x 74 in. H Three Piece Direct-to-Stud Alcove Shower Wall Surround in High Gloss White! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and your loyalty to Delta Faucet Company! Best Regards, Tim DeltaFaucet
                        Great Shower
                        Perfect for Apartments
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Showing 1-30 of 373 reviews