Model # DCH4831L

Internet #203568956

Dimplex 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
0781052053427

Dimplex

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
$10299 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
The Dimplex heavy duty portable construction heater provides maximum durability for work site conditions where temporary heat is required. 160 CFM offers quiet running operation. This 4800-Watt electric heater also offers thermal overheat protection for complete safety. The 6 ft. cord and plug stores around the handle for easy storage and transportation to and from workshops, construction sites and maintenance jobs.
  • Running lights indicate when the unit is operating if thermal cut-out is engaged
  • 6 ft. cord stores around the handle
  • Controls - double pole thermostat is built-in temperature range of 7-25°C (45-77°F)
  • Portable heat for workshops, garages, construction sites and home construction spaces

Product Overview

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
Model #: DCH4831L
Internet #: 203568956

The Dimplex heavy duty portable construction heater provides maximum durability for work site conditions where temporary heat is required. 160 CFM offers quiet running operation. This 4800-Watt electric heater also offers thermal overheat protection for complete safety. The 6 ft. cord and plug stores around the handle for easy storage and transportation to and from workshops, construction sites and maintenance jobs.

  • Running lights indicate when the unit is operating if thermal cut-out is engaged
  • 6 ft. cord stores around the handle
  • Controls - double pole thermostat is built-in temperature range of 7-25°C (45-77°F)
  • Portable heat for workshops, garages, construction sites and home construction spaces

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Cord Length (in.)
72
Product Depth (in.)
7.5
Product Height (in.)
11.75
Product Width (in.)
9

Details

Amperage (amps)
30
Area Heated (Sq. Ft.)
400
Color
Almond
Color Family
Browns / Tans
Heater Controls
Thermostat
Heater Type
Fan Heaters
Heating Product Type
Electric Portable Heater
Heating Technology Type
Convection
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Material
Metal
Number of Heat Settings
Variable
Portable Heater Features
Automatic Shutoff,Thermostat
Power/Fuel Type
Electric
Product Weight (lb.)
9.7lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
240
Wattage (watts)
4800

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year limited warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Cord Length (in.)
72
Product Depth (in.)
7.5
Product Height (in.)
11.75
Product Width (in.)
9

Details

Amperage (amps)
30
Area Heated (Sq. Ft.)
400
Color
Almond
Color Family
Browns / Tans
Heater Controls
Thermostat
Heater Type
Fan Heaters
Heating Product Type
Electric Portable Heater
Heating Technology Type
Convection
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Material
Metal
Number of Heat Settings
Variable
Portable Heater Features
Automatic Shutoff,Thermostat
Power/Fuel Type
Electric
Product Weight (lb.)
9.7lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
240
Wattage (watts)
4800

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year limited warranty

Questions & Answers

is this heater equipped with a 110 or 220 cord?

Asked by: johnny
The heater is 220 volt single phase. It come with a 220 plug that has 2 horizontal flat prongs over a round neutral prong. You can either have yourself or an electrician install an outlet for it can be wired directly into circuit box.
Answered by: ThisOldGarageNJ
Date published: 2017-12-29

DOES THIS HEATER BLOW OUT HOT AIR.

I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS HEATER ACTUALLY BLOWS OUT HOT AIR... OR DOES IT JUST HEAT UP. I WOULD LIKE ONE THAT HEATS UP AND BLOWS OUT HOT AIR
Asked by: JERICHO
Nope, blows cold air. Here's your sign!
Answered by: Commonsense
Date published: 2017-12-30

is this a good heater to use in a one car garage?

Asked by: tina
is this heater good for 3 car garage and plug into garage out let
Answered by: jim
Date published: 2018-01-07

What voltage is required ?

Asked by: royS
220
Answered by: woodworker
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2018, m_1, d_16, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_40
  • loc_, sid_203568956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This fan does a good job in my 24 by... This fan does a good job in my 24 by 30 workshop, despite its small size. Thermostat works well. Good value.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent little heater! Great solid construction! This heater replaces a heater twice its size. It performes very well In my shop.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice heater This small heater in size is great in performance.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SIMPLE HEAT This is a lot of heat from a little unit. I had to change the plug to fit my needs and also made an adjustment to the heating coil so it would vibrate. (IT WAS VERY NOISE PRIOR TO THIS) But that was an easy fix and I raised my 800 sq ft shop temp by 10 degrees in 1 1/2 hrs. It would be nice if the fan ran after it reached temperature as it remains very hot, but other than that it works well.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I need. I cannot write a full review on performance. I do not yet have 230 volt access in the shop. I am having my shop wired and will install it then. (I plugged in to another area of my home and it worked fine, threw a lot of heat and was relatively quiet. Quieter than I expected it to be.) My woodshop is only 166 sq ft, purpose built. I fully expect that the heater will be ample to heat the shop on the coldest days.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product work well Works well, noise level slightly high. When this unit shuts down the top gets very hot. It needs to have a fan delay.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good heater for us I brought this heater for the purpose of providing safe temporary heat in our garage when I have projects. We are still in the 60s at this time of year when I tested it and it raised the temp in the garage to about 70 in fifteen min so I know it works. The garage where it will be used is attached to the house on two sides with an insulated door and I don't think that this heater will have any issues with maintaining the temperature. I also understand the limitations of 4800btus so if necessary I have a 30,000btu bullet heater to take the chill off quickly and then switch to electric.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great little heater great little heater gets hot to touch nice air flow
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome heater A serious heater this heater has an element like a stove eye that gets red hot measured at 250° it has warning labels on it to be extremely careful because the unit gets so hot I can't touch the outside when it's running I have searched for years to find a heater like this and for the price I don't think a better heater can be found I use it as a primary heat source in a 16×80 mobile home temperatures have been down to 15° heater keeps it a nice 72° this is the best heater period!!!
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor information - recieved this product & promptly returned it. Didn't mention that 220 ou... Very poor information - recieved this product & promptly returned it. Didn't mention that 220 outlet was needed which I didn't have!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does the job- I am heating a 20x12 well insulated hobby room in my shop. So far I am pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4800 watts Great heater says 500 sf but it's keeping a 1700 sf house warm. Does need 220 I'm using my dryer plug
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to return this product as it exceeded the electrical availability the recipient had availa... I had to return this product as it exceeded the electrical availability the recipient had available. Ordering it as a Christmas gift I was hesitate but the return was the easiest return I EVER experienced and a prompt refund of money paid. Well done Home Depot! I will not hesitate to order from you in the future!!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most of the time the heater is putting out heat and the fan does not make to much noise. Once in... Most of the time the heater is putting out heat and the fan does not make to much noise. Once in awhile when it is close to shutting off the fan makes a lot of noise.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good heater for the money Economic little heater. Puts out quite a bit of heat for such a small unit. I'm an electrical contractor and bought 2 for using on remodel jobs. Upon opening the box, I found that the heater had a 230V 30A plug. Not a big deal being a 30, it is just a configuration that no one uses around here (two horizontal prongs and a ground.) So to the Home Depot I went and purchased a 287-T. This enabled me to plug into a clothes dryer outlet. Plugged in, turned thermostat up, fan came on, started heating and a minute later bam, high limit opened. Got the other one out, cut the plug off and changed and worked beautifully. Called Dimplex and told them I had a bad high limit and they UPS'd me a new high limit. Very happy about my purchase, just thought that problem should have been caught before it was boxed up at the factory. Will probably buy a few more of these next winter.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good heat. The fan wasn't that powerful. But in due... Good heat. The fan wasn't that powerful. But in due time it gets the job done. Not very loud too. I'm happy with it.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wife ordered this and we took it back to the store. It is wired for 240 not 110. Not useful to ... Wife ordered this and we took it back to the store. It is wired for 240 not 110. Not useful to a homeowner.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is fairly quiet and puts out an amazing amount of heat for its size. It is fairly quiet and puts out an amazing amount of heat for its size.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forced air This heater is a lifesaver.I will be a great help this winter
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very pleased with performance This unit takes a few minutes to get up to a nice heat output with my garage temp at 40 degrees. I will start the heater 5 min before I work in the area. The plug is a 30amp 220v but I only had a 20amp 220v circuit, connected it and took a amperage reading of 11amps and is working fine.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact efficient heater This heater works well, not too heavy, well constructed, reasonably priced. The only problem I had was the plug, which I have never seen in western Canada. I had to replace it ($15.00, Home Depot) with one that would fit my welder extension cord.
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice little heater nice quality heater for its small size. Heating coil rattles here and there but no big deal. Going to buy another so I can get big garage toasty when it is 10 degrees outside in Maine woods.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good I use it in a 12x24 shop, no fumes and a good temp. gain
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little unit. Heater was not to hard to hook up, probably lost the warranty because I cut the plug end off and put a different 240V plug end on to suit my needs to make it portable with my Generator. But the little heater unit easily heated up my 400 sqft work shop.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent heater!! Smaller heaters were not cutting it; this heater for the price is excellent.!! Thanks.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very good, even for the money I got this unit a year ago to replace a unit with a broken blower fan. From the first, the temperature cut-out circuit only kept the heater working half the time. Finally, just after warranty lapsed the heating element failed. No sense trying to repair this one, as it would cost nearly as much as a new heater. I replaced it with a Dr. Heater 5600W unit, which so far, is much better. It doesn't shut down intermittently from the cut-off, and throws heat further with its fan. Every electric heater converts electricity into heat, and gets the same BTUs from each KW. When comparing electric heaters, 4 1500W space heaters will do the same job as 1 6000W commercial unit, regardless of cost. So when comparing electric space heaters, It's just durability and other features that you need to compare.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bang for your buck The Heater is quiet and heats my insulated 2 car garage in no time even on a cold winter night (Montreal QC) and I have 12 ' cielings. I find it great value for money so far. I'm not sure how it will last long term as I only just got it but it seems well made. That being said I intend to find my own thermostat that I can leave inline with the heater as a backup. (I had a friend with a similar heater who came home to find his heater thermostat failed and it was running constantly. The plug was melting and he had to turn it off at the braker)
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok, but a little loud. Purchase process left a little to be desired. I am adapting this portable construction heater to heat the top floor of my barn, which has an area of about 400 square feet. So far, the heater works adequately and seems to be of reasonably good quality. The price was fair and I appreciated the free shipping to the store. The main issue with the heater is that the fan is kind of loud and it may not work out in the long run, as we play music in this section of my barn and I am concerned that the fan noise will be obnoxious when we are between songs. The method of purchase left no opportunity to test the unit beforehand, so I had to take a chance and buy it to see if it was adequate. In reality, had this unit been displayed as operational at Home Depot, I would not have purchased it due to the fan noise. The only way for me to find out if it was going to work was to purchase it, bring it home, wire it up (at a cost of around $60 in supplies and 2 hours labor), and then test it. Even if I return it now, I am still stuck with the cost and effort of wiring it. Not an ideal situation.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very hot I have an uninsulated 500 sf shop. Outside temp is 30 degrees, inside is 41 with heater cranked up. Keeps liquids from freezing, but not warm enough to work in.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy The product serves the area that I wanted it to serve quite well
Date published: 2016-01-26
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_79
  • loc_, sid_203568956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 400ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT