#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #311613385

Model #88659180

Store SKU #1004864778

  • Year-long color with Color Advantage
  • 3-in. layer helps prevent weeds by blocking growth and sunlight
  • Helps conserve soil moisture
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

Exclusive
++
Price:

Product Overview

Earthgro by Scotts Mulch uses Scotts Color Advantage to provide year-long color, guaranteed! Made from forest products, Earthgro Mulch helps conserve soil moisture, moderate soil temperature and prevent weeds naturally by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3 in. D. for longest color, keep mulch dry for 24-hours after application. To optimize color, it is recommended to turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-months to 4-months.
  • Color advantage helps maintain color for up to 12-months
  • Helps beautify landscapes while deterring weeds by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3 in. D
  • Shredded mulch beautifies landscape areas and the wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature
  • Best results, keep mulch dry for 24-hours after application and turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-months to 4-months
  • Available in 3 colors: brown, red and black



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area at 3 In. (sq. ft.)
8 ft²

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (cu. ft.)
1.5 cu ft
Color Family
Brown
Material
Wood
Mulch Type
Shredded

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 2,429 reviews
  • 54% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 2,429 reviews
Horrible in every way
Bought a total of 35 bags. The color of the mulch was drastically different between groups of bags. Was supposed to be brown mulch & some bags were a reddish brown while others were dark brown. And some bags had big chunks of mulch inside them that had no color/dye at all and were just a light natural wood color. To add insult to injury, the color completely faded in a couple of weeks despite it not raining for days after the mulch was put down. All that time, money and effort and my landscaping looks ridiculous
by
Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 2, 2021
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgro Mulch and we'd like to help. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
    1 person found this helpful
    Very disappointed!!!
    Scotts Earthgro Brown has changed and is no longer the same color or same consistency as what it has always been. Found out the hard way after ordering 325 bags to be delivered and 75 bags was the same as what it used to be and the rest were completely different!!! Unfortunately, I can not get any more bags that match what we currently have and will now have to research to find a new mulch to use! It has been a huge investment of time and frustration. I really wish they would have kept it the same and not changed!!!
    by
    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 31, 2021
    We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Earthgro Brown Mulch. Our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, at your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do to help. We can be reached at 888-270-3714. Scotts
      1 person found this helpful
      worst mulch
      This year this product is the absolute worst. Color is lost and spurge is all over the mulch. Worst ever. Will have to pay again to put a different mulch.
      by
      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 29, 2021
      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Earthgro Brown Mulch. Our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, at your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do to help. We can be reached at 888-270-3714. Scotts
        • Recommended
        1 person found this helpful
        Color Warranty
        I purchased this product because it had a 12-month color warranty. I put down 25 bags, and within one month the color faded to a point where it looked like it had been there a full year. I coated the entire area again with the same mulch, and again the color did not last more than 6 weeks. There is no way Scott's should be warranting this product to maintain color more than a few months .. never mind 12 months. I also assume there is no ramifications for this false advertising because they would need to replace every bag anybody ever purchased throughout the year as I am sure I am not the only one impacted.
        by
        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 20, 2021
        We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. When you apply the mulch, please make sure to apply it when no rain is expected in the next 24 hours. We recommend turning the top inch of mulch every 3 to 4 months for optimum color. The loss of colorant is usually isolated to the top 1 to 2 inches of the mulch. We’d like to get some additional information and fill you in on our product guarantee. Please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
          2 people found this helpful
          funky fungus growth
          The mulch overall ok for its value. The mulch looks great right after you lay it down. Having it in the bags makes it really waay to carry around the yard without having to use a wheelbarrow and shovel/rake. Now time for the downside, it does not hold its color for very long, within a few weeks its starting to loose its color and it grows some very funky looking fungus or something. It gets about 2 foot round and is bright yellow then after a few days it turns to a dark brown and when you try to clean it up it turns to a dust. It also grows some crazy large mushrooms, which dont last long.
          by
          Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 22, 2021
          Thank you for your feedback. Our products carry a consumer guarantee. To ensure a year-long color, make sure to turn the mulch every 3 months. If you would like any further assistance or to find out more about our product guarantee please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can be of assistance. Scotts
            • Recommended
            2 people found this helpful
            The quality from one bag of this mulch to the next is inconsistent
            The quality from one bag of this mulch to the next is inconsistent. And as such, my yard looks like a weird patchwork of color and texture. Do not buy this mulch. While off-brands have texture and color that is not as good, as least those are consistent from bag to bag
            by
            Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 9, 2021
            We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. The color and texture of the mulch can slightly differ depending on where the product was made and the supplies available. We’d like to get some additional information and fill you in on our product guarantee. Please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
              1 person found this helpful
              Buyer beware, Have used this product before with great results. Purchased 80 bags from the Home D...
              Buyer beware, Have used this product before with great results. Purchased 80 bags from the Home Depot customer service was excellent. Paid for delivery and due to age someone to spread it. Most of the bags had mold inside whiter than white. It wasn't the stores problem It was Earthgrow. Per there website sent info in for refund of faulty product. Ninety days later no response, and color fading. Does not meet expectations.
              by
              Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 9, 2021
              We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. Mold and fungus spores are a natural part of growing media products. It just takes the right conditions for the mold to develop. The mold is not harmful to people or plants. It will dissipate after being exposed to sunlight and air. We’d like to get some additional information and fill you in on our product guarantee. Please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
                3 people found this helpful
                Lacking Quality
                Bought 30 bags of brown mulch. The color is already fading. The mulch contained large pieces of wood (4-5 inches long), and shreds of plastic. One bag even contained a ripped rubber glove. Will not use again.
                by
                Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 28, 2021
                We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the performance of your Earthgro Brown Mulch. All of our products are backed by a No Quibble Guarantee, so if you are dissatisfied for any reason, you can reach out to our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089 and we'd be happy to help troubleshoot and issue a refund. Scotts
                  3 people found this helpful
                  I never write reviews, but this was too poor quality to not warn others. Colors are not even clos...
                  I never write reviews, but this was too poor quality to not warn others. Colors are not even close to being similar. I purchased 80 bags, all on the same trip, and the color is so off between bags that my yard looks like a checker board now. There is also big chunks of wood in these bags, not just “mulch”. I’m hoping with some time the colors will blend a little better. The big wood chunks can obviously be picked out, but it shouldn’t be necessary to do. Some pieces of plastic and wrappers were in it too, but not enough to really mention. This is basically just wood that went through a chipper, and color was added. That’s not, in itself, necessarily a bad thing, but the quality control definitely lacks on this product. The bag says “Proud to be locally made”. I’d like to see the person that’s proud of making this product. I need another 60-80 bags, but it looks like I’ll be going back to Vigoro, which is what I’ve used in the past. Figured Scott’s would have been a safe bet, but I learned my lesson.
                  by
                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                  We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                    4 people found this helpful
                    Excellent Quality at a Great Price
                    Other reviewers complained about trash and bad mulch, but I picked up 80 bags last weekend and every single bag was good. No trash, and the color was very consistent. It looks really good. I am sure if you get a bad bag or two Home Depot will replace them free of charge. You can't expect perfection in every bag. But I had no issues at all.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      1 person found this helpful
                      Brought Stinkhorn Fungus To My Soil
                      A few months after putting this down in my flower beds, my yard started to smell like dead, rotting flesh. I thought there must be a dead animal in my yard but there wasn't. What I did discover was Lantern Stinkhorn Fungus growing up through the mulch. I had never seen it before and I have lived in my home in Southern California for nearly 20 years. The mulch must have had the spores on it. There is no way to get rid of the fungus once you have it, from what I've read. I had to remove all mulch and a few inches of of top soil in the hope of getting all the egg shaped fungus pods out, as well as some of the plants it grew under (that I planted from seed) in trying to get rid of the spores. Totally disgusted with this mulch. I will never buy it again.
                      by
                      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                      We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                        3 people found this helpful
                        Poor Quality Control
                        I purchased 10 of these brown mulch bags at the same time. Five of the bags had brown mulch in it and five had black mulch in it. You'll clearly see from my photo where I had to put some black much where the brown mulch was. Clearly poor quality control on the part of Scott's. Never again will I buy Scott's mulch!
                        by
                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                        We are sorry the color of your Earthgro mulch was unsatisfactory. Our mulch is produced regionally, so it is not uncommon for there to be slight variations in the color. That being said, your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. Therefore, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                          2 people found this helpful
                          Large Color Variation Bag to Bag
                          The color variation was more than unpleasing. Large Variation. I bought 80 bags of this and workers have already laid it and it looks awful. I almost thought the much darker ones that were being used first must have accidently snagged some black mulch. Nope checked the bags these are supposed to be the same. Also don't be fooled into thinking this is same price as it has always been the bags are now 1.5 Cu Ft down from 2 Cu ft in the past. Avoid! Came from same pallet on same day too! Waste of $$$
                          by
                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                          We are sorry the color of your Earthgro mulch was unsatisfactory. Our mulch is produced regionally, so it is not uncommon for there to be slight variations in the color. That being said, your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. Therefore, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                            5 people found this helpful
                            bad color
                            Bought 10 bags and colors dont match. Double checked bags and all are brown
                            by
                            Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 30, 2021
                            We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                              • Recommended
                              2 people found this helpful
                              Huge pieces of wood not mulch
                              I bought 36 bags of scotts brown because it was on sale and now I need about that many more. I don't want to put more $ into same product. Wood chips are huge and some bags even have sticks in them. I bought viagaro brown to mulch an elderly neighbors yard. It was beautiful brown shredded mulch, not wood chips. Wish I'd used viagaro on my yard. Don't buy scotts just because it's on sale!!
                              by
                              Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                              We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                                2 people found this helpful
                                Poor quality mulch, contains large wood pieces with some discoloration
                                This is low quality mulch. I am surprised Scott put its name on it. Mulch contains a lot of large wood pieces. Some of the pieces have a white substance on it.
                                by
                                Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                                We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                                  2 people found this helpful
                                  Poor storage and consistency
                                  The way this is kept at stores pretty much ruins the product before its even purchased. It's either faded from sitting in direct sunlight or drenched with the color washing right off from the rain. You have to literally sort through the bags before purchasing. Even then, if you buy multiple bags, most likely they won't match as you can see. Brown looked black with just one bag looking the way it should.
                                  by
                                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 22, 2021
                                  miker, we're sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgro Brown Mulch and we appreciate your feedback. Reach out to us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
                                    2 people found this helpful
                                    Scott's brown mulch
                                    There is no consistency in the size and quality of the mulch. Some of the bags had nicely shredded mulch that looked great and the rest of the bags were mostly chunks of bark. I verified that the bags were the identical product
                                    by
                                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                                    We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                                      3 people found this helpful
                                      Mulches Shredded to Powders
                                      The mulches are shredded too much to a degree that 80% in a bag are reduced to like powers, which will easily be washed away by the rain. You can see the size difference between discolored old mulch from last year and new Scotts Brown Mulch on top in the picture.
                                      by
                                      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 22, 2021
                                      We are sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts Earthgro Brown Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                        2 people found this helpful
                                        Some bags are red and have debris in them
                                        The price was great and I bought 150 bags of the Scotts (smaller bags than Viagro, but I chose Scott this year since they are easier to carry). The problem is some bags of the Scotts mulch were a redish color and did not match the brown. There were ~ 12 out of 150 with the wrong color. You could not tell the color was wrong without opening the bag. Also, a couple of bags had construction debris in them. The Scotts was the same price as the Viagro, but with 25% less mulch ... my key learning here is I should have stuck with the Viagro which I have used for years .... Scotts cost more, and has inconsistent colors
                                        by
                                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 30, 2021
                                        We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                                          3 people found this helpful
                                          Not what I paid for
                                          Here are some pictures of the quality of this product.
                                          by
                                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                                          We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                                            7 people found this helpful
                                            NO
                                            One day of light rain and it looks old and it faded. WORSE OF THE WORSE
                                            by
                                            Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 13, 2021
                                            Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read of your disappointment with this product. We are dedicated to ensuring that all of our consumers have a positive experience with our products, so if you are unsatisfied in any way, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                                              • Recommended
                                              10 people found this helpful
                                              I have used Scotts Earthgro for the past four seasons. I started with one house, this year I did ...
                                              I have used Scotts Earthgro for the past four seasons. I started with one house, this year I did the neighbors, and I think next year we'll go one neighbor further. I find it easy to spread to a good depth (2-3"), and the color holds out well. I prefer the brown for its natural, clean, and simple appearance. I don't love that the bag sizes have gotten smaller while the price stayed the same, but I was able to purchase during the spring sale so that was not a big deal. I don't love dealing with the plastic bags, but my local HD has a plastic bag receptacle this year, so again no big deal. This mulch is usually in stock at my local store, so I can repair kid damage, animal digging, and planting damage easily. I find this mulch attractive, functional, and easy to use for my DIY landscaping.
                                              by
                                              • Verified Purchase
                                              • Recommended
                                              4 people found this helpful
                                              Great Value
                                              We have used this mulch multiple times. It looks great and holds up all year. Will continue purchasing!
                                              by
                                                • Recommended
                                                1 person found this helpful
                                                These are wood chips and not mulch
                                                I was told my regular brown mulch was not available and they recommened this. It is just wood chips that float away and not good for trees.
                                                by
                                                Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 13, 2021
                                                Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read of your disappointment with our Earthgro Mulch. We are dedicated to ensuring that all of our consumers have a positive experience with our products, so if you are unsatisfied in any way, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  7 people found this helpful
                                                  check beofre you buy
                                                  These are my go to wood chips and I will still buy them. Check the bag before you buy. Clearly it matters where you buy. The store in Riverside, Ca is crap. I bought 30 bags and now I’m stuck with 30 bags of dry light brown saw dust. If anyone has gone to that store they will agree that is very busy and unorganized. And the clearly don’t care aboit quality. You can see the differnce
                                                  by
                                                    • Recommended
                                                    2 people found this helpful
                                                    Mold
                                                    Very disappointed to open the bags and see the mulch covered in mold.
                                                    by
                                                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 15, 2021
                                                    LS, we're sorry there was mold in your Scotts Earthgro Brown Mulch. This can happen when the mulch gets wet in the bag and should go away on its own within a few days of applying. Reach out to us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
                                                      11 people found this helpful
                                                      Examine each bag
                                                      I had 10 bags that were great-larger nugget style not shredded. Got 15 more (same bag, same bar code) and they all are shredded, which I didn’t want. I will now go into the garden dept and handpick each bag. Poor QC
                                                      by
                                                      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 15, 2021
                                                      Barbara, we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with Scotts Earthgro Mulch. Mulches are produced regionally so it's possible you purchased mulch that was produced at 2 different plants, which can account for a difference in color or texture. Reach out to us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
                                                        • Recommended
                                                        6 people found this helpful
                                                        Great product that I've used for years!
                                                        I've mulched beds for fifty years and this product is the best for the price. For all you mulch rookies, mulch is made from wood. Of course there's going to be chunks of larger chips. I pick those out and toss them in the next space I'm going to spread mulch over. As far as those of you complaining about being wet, that's normal with bagged or bulk. Once spread the mulch drys out and it compacts to make a weed barrier and keeps weed seeds out. Once I spread it in a bed I walk over it to speed the compression process. I've spent big bucks on triple shredded mulch that decomposes and has to redone the next year. I get two years from the Earthgro and it's available in all states. Other brands that have different chemicals added are banded from sale or use in some states. Check the manufacturers web site for details.
                                                        by
                                                          • Recommended
                                                          6 people found this helpful
                                                          Not Consistent & much smaller bag
                                                          So I've been buying Scott's products for decades. Usually the quality is very good, especially their fertilizers. But this year when I went to purchase the Scott's Mulch as I have for many years, the quality & the color is inconsistent. Not only the color, but the type of mulch was different between purchases. I went on Sunday to buy 25 bags - which was just about what my Flex could hold, and then went back to the same store the very next day, and the type & color of the mulch had changed. See picture. Where is the quality control Scott's & Home Depot ?
                                                          by
                                                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 12, 2021
                                                          Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to ensuring that all of our consumers have a positive experience with our products, so if you are unsatisfied in any way, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts is dedicated to delivering a high quality product at a value price, so please give us the opportunity to address this issue with you.” Scotts
                                                            3 people found this helpful
                                                            Showing 1-30 of 2,429 reviews