#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #311613385

Model #88659180

Store SKU #1004864778

  • Year-long color with Color Advantage
  • 3-in. layer helps prevent weeds by blocking growth and sunlight
  • Helps conserve soil moisture
  • See More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

Exclusive
+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Earthgro by Scotts Mulch uses Scotts Color Advantage to provide year-long color, guaranteed! Made from forest products, Earthgro Mulch helps conserve soil moisture, moderate soil temperature and prevent weeds naturally by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3 in. D. for longest color, keep mulch dry for 24-hours after application. To optimize color, it is recommended to turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-months to 4-months.
  • Color advantage helps maintain color for up to 12-months
  • Helps beautify landscapes while deterring weeds by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3 in. D
  • Shredded mulch beautifies landscape areas and the wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature
  • Best results, keep mulch dry for 24-hours after application and turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-months to 4-months
  • Available in 3 colors: brown, red and black



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

1.5 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area at 3 In. (sq. ft.)
8 ft²

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (cu. ft.)
1.5 cu ft
Color Family
Brown
Material
Wood
Mulch Type
Shredded

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 2,393 reviews
  • 54% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 2,393 reviews
Horrible in every way
Bought a total of 35 bags. The color of the mulch was drastically different between groups of bags. Was supposed to be brown mulch & some bags were a reddish brown while others were dark brown. And some bags had big chunks of mulch inside them that had no color/dye at all and were just a light natural wood color. To add insult to injury, the color completely faded in a couple of weeks despite it not raining for days after the mulch was put down. All that time, money and effort and my landscaping looks ridiculous
by How
Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 2, 2021
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgro Mulch and we'd like to help. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
    1 person found this helpful
    Very disappointed!!!
    Scotts Earthgro Brown has changed and is no longer the same color or same consistency as what it has always been. Found out the hard way after ordering 325 bags to be delivered and 75 bags was the same as what it used to be and the rest were completely different!!! Unfortunately, I can not get any more bags that match what we currently have and will now have to research to find a new mulch to use! It has been a huge investment of time and frustration. I really wish they would have kept it the same and not changed!!!
    by MK
    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 31, 2021
    We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Earthgro Brown Mulch. Our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, at your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do to help. We can be reached at 888-270-3714. Scotts
      worst mulch
      This year this product is the absolute worst. Color is lost and spurge is all over the mulch. Worst ever. Will have to pay again to put a different mulch.
      by ElyMart
      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 29, 2021
      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Earthgro Brown Mulch. Our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, at your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do to help. We can be reached at 888-270-3714. Scotts
        • Recommended Product
        Color Warranty
        I purchased this product because it had a 12-month color warranty. I put down 25 bags, and within one month the color faded to a point where it looked like it had been there a full year. I coated the entire area again with the same mulch, and again the color did not last more than 6 weeks. There is no way Scott's should be warranting this product to maintain color more than a few months .. never mind 12 months. I also assume there is no ramifications for this false advertising because they would need to replace every bag anybody ever purchased throughout the year as I am sure I am not the only one impacted.
        by Mike
        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 20, 2021
        We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. When you apply the mulch, please make sure to apply it when no rain is expected in the next 24 hours. We recommend turning the top inch of mulch every 3 to 4 months for optimum color. The loss of colorant is usually isolated to the top 1 to 2 inches of the mulch. We’d like to get some additional information and fill you in on our product guarantee. Please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
          1 person found this helpful
          funky fungus growth
          The mulch overall ok for its value. The mulch looks great right after you lay it down. Having it in the bags makes it really waay to carry around the yard without having to use a wheelbarrow and shovel/rake. Now time for the downside, it does not hold its color for very long, within a few weeks its starting to loose its color and it grows some very funky looking fungus or something. It gets about 2 foot round and is bright yellow then after a few days it turns to a dark brown and when you try to clean it up it turns to a dust. It also grows some crazy large mushrooms, which dont last long.
          by diyhome
          Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 22, 2021
          Thank you for your feedback. Our products carry a consumer guarantee. To ensure a year-long color, make sure to turn the mulch every 3 months. If you would like any further assistance or to find out more about our product guarantee please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can be of assistance. Scotts
            • Recommended Product
            The quality from one bag of this mulch to the next is inconsistent
            The quality from one bag of this mulch to the next is inconsistent. And as such, my yard looks like a weird patchwork of color and texture. Do not buy this mulch. While off-brands have texture and color that is not as good, as least those are consistent from bag to bag
            by JoanieB
            Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 9, 2021
            We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. The color and texture of the mulch can slightly differ depending on where the product was made and the supplies available. We’d like to get some additional information and fill you in on our product guarantee. Please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
              Buyer beware, Have used this product before with great results. Purchased 80 bags from the Home D...
              Buyer beware, Have used this product before with great results. Purchased 80 bags from the Home Depot customer service was excellent. Paid for delivery and due to age someone to spread it. Most of the bags had mold inside whiter than white. It wasn't the stores problem It was Earthgrow. Per there website sent info in for refund of faulty product. Ninety days later no response, and color fading. Does not meet expectations.
              by Ted
              Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 9, 2021
              We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. Mold and fungus spores are a natural part of growing media products. It just takes the right conditions for the mold to develop. The mold is not harmful to people or plants. It will dissipate after being exposed to sunlight and air. We’d like to get some additional information and fill you in on our product guarantee. Please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
                1 person found this helpful
                Lacking Quality
                Bought 30 bags of brown mulch. The color is already fading. The mulch contained large pieces of wood (4-5 inches long), and shreds of plastic. One bag even contained a ripped rubber glove. Will not use again.
                by KM
                Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 28, 2021
                We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the performance of your Earthgro Brown Mulch. All of our products are backed by a No Quibble Guarantee, so if you are dissatisfied for any reason, you can reach out to our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089 and we'd be happy to help troubleshoot and issue a refund. Scotts
                  2 people found this helpful
                  I never write reviews, but this was too poor quality to not warn others. Colors are not even clos...
                  I never write reviews, but this was too poor quality to not warn others. Colors are not even close to being similar. I purchased 80 bags, all on the same trip, and the color is so off between bags that my yard looks like a checker board now. There is also big chunks of wood in these bags, not just “mulch”. I’m hoping with some time the colors will blend a little better. The big wood chunks can obviously be picked out, but it shouldn’t be necessary to do. Some pieces of plastic and wrappers were in it too, but not enough to really mention. This is basically just wood that went through a chipper, and color was added. That’s not, in itself, necessarily a bad thing, but the quality control definitely lacks on this product. The bag says “Proud to be locally made”. I’d like to see the person that’s proud of making this product. I need another 60-80 bags, but it looks like I’ll be going back to Vigoro, which is what I’ve used in the past. Figured Scott’s would have been a safe bet, but I learned my lesson.
                  by Sondre
                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                  We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                    2 people found this helpful
                    Excellent Quality at a Great Price
                    Other reviewers complained about trash and bad mulch, but I picked up 80 bags last weekend and every single bag was good. No trash, and the color was very consistent. It looks really good. I am sure if you get a bad bag or two Home Depot will replace them free of charge. You can't expect perfection in every bag. But I had no issues at all.
                    by Mike
                      • Recommended Product
                      1 person found this helpful
                      Showing 1-10 of 2,393 reviews