#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202585783

Model #88552180

Store SKU #356031

2 cu. ft. Black Mulch

  • Provides 10% more color than previous Earthgro mulch
  • 3-in layer helps prevent weeds by blocking growth and sunlight
  • Helps conserve soil moisture
  • See More Details

Product Overview

Link to Mulch and Soil Calculator. Get the right amount the first time.
Earthgro by Scotts Mulch uses Scotts Color Advantage to provide year-long color, guaranteed. Made from forest products, Earthgro Mulch helps conserve soil moisture, moderate soil temperature and prevent weeds naturally by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3-in. depth. For longest color, keep mulch dry for 24 hours after application. To optimize color, it is recommended to turn or rake the top 1-in. of mulch every 3-4 months.
  • Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months
  • Helps beautify landscapes while deterring weeds by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3-inch depth
  • Shredded mulch beautifies landscape areas, and the wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature
  • For best results, keep mulch dry for 24 hours after application, and turn or rake the top 1- in. of mulch every 3-4 months
  • Available in 3 colors: brown, red and black



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area at 3 In. (sq. ft.)
8

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (cu. ft.)
2 cu ft
Color Family
Black
Material
Wood
Mulch Type
Shredded

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

168Questions50Answers

Price for a pallet of 2cu. Ft. Black earthgro mulch delivered

Asked by Tmp April 5, 2020
3
Answers

Due to CoVid-19 crisis, delivery was not available at the time.

how much does 2 cu. ft. weigh?

Asked by whatever February 12, 2020
3
Answers

There are a number of factors involved and this mainly depends on the type of wood used in the mulch. Cubic feet an volume and not a weight so it depends on the density of the material within the 2 c.f. bag.

Is this safe to use around kids and animals?

Asked by Jasper January 23, 2020
4
Answers

This mulch suck and their guarantee sucks worse. Thanks for sending me a reminder that I never got my money back.

Will this be on sale any time soon?

Asked by Joe November 7, 2019
4
Answers

Yes.

How much does an individual bag weigh?

Asked by gordzila55 August 30, 2019
5
Answers

Although I have never weighed a bag, I would estimate them to be between 25 to 30 pounds each.

what does 1 bag weigh

Asked by bill July 15, 2019
6
Answers

Depends if wet or not. I did not weigh them. Call store to ask

It says it can be used around vegetables Anybody have feedback

Asked by P23 June 24, 2019
5
Answers

I use a little around tomatoes

DOES THIS HAVE PREEN IN IT?

Asked by DICK June 17, 2019
6
Answers

This does NOT have preen in it.

Is the black earthgro mulch dyed black or is it natural?

Asked by Stephanie June 14, 2019
8
Answers

dye, trees are not this color in nature!

So I accidently mix the earth gro black mulch with the soil will it be safe to eat the vetgetable?

Asked by Birdy June 14, 2019
6
Answers

Thank you for your interest in Scotts Earthgro Black Advantage Color Mulch. Mulch can be used around vegetables to help suppress weeds and help the soil retain moisture. While mulches should not harm edibles, they should not be tilled into the soil, or used in the planting hole. This can rob the soil of nitrogen. Please contact us with any other inquiries that you may have: 877-220-3089.

2 cu. ft. Black Mulch - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 4,927 reviews
  • 71% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 4,927 reviews
White mold and debris in product
I bought this today and might be the worse product ever.
by MikeAintGotTimeToRemulch
Wouldn't recommend this mulch
I purchased an entire pallet from my local hardware store. I put down a weed barrier first and then put down the mulch. Several months later I notice weeds and a mold/fungus. Several months later the color started to change along with more weeds and more mold/fungus.
by Shawn F
Response from Consumer ServiceFeb 24, 2021
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Earthgro Mulch. Fungal spores are a natural part of soils and mulch. Under the correct conditions, spores can develop into fungus or mold. The fungus/mold only becomes a problem if there is an overgrowth. Overgrowth occurs when the mulch is too wet. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 888-270-3714.
Stinkhorn mushrooms
The mulch had mold in it and now I have Stinkhorn mushrooms growing in my beds Product is cheap
by
Response from Consumer ServicesOct 30, 2020
We apologize for the mold and mushrooms that you have found in your Scotts Earthgro Brown Color Advantage Mulch. Mulch is dead wood, and as it decomposes, it does attract and feed saprophytic fungi, some of which can form molds. The fungus that breaks down mulch, while unattractive, does not harm growing plants. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
Fungi and debris
I was hesitant on writing a review, but as time goes on, this brand of mulch gets worse. I have been a customer of this brand of mulch for a number of years, and I purchase approximately 100 bags a summer and distribute this mulch around our yard to beautify it. This year, I found "garbage/recycling debris in the bags of mulch, which I had to continually get rid of; I was just very disappointed. I have always found that when I placed the mulch down, I could look back at my yard and look at my yard with pride; but not this year. I have lost interest in sitting outside this year, as the more fungus I have to weed out of the mulch, I just get more sad; the fungus is totally overpowering everywhere I have placed the black mulch. Now I have to spend more money purchasing more products to kill the fungus on the mulch. I am totally disgusted. I feel the only way I am going to get rid of the fungus is pulling up all of the mulch and replacing it with something else. These "mushrooms" are literally everywhere. It appears next summer I will have to find another plan to take care of my lawn...no thanks to Earthgro........
by sherster64
Response from Consumer ServiceSep 8, 2020
We're sorry to hear that you had this experience with our Scotts Earthgro Color Advantage Mulch. Our mulch products are not sterilized, and may contain microorganisms such as fungus. However, fungus/mold has been scientifically proven to improve the growth of plants. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 888-270-3714 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review.
Not Happy
Bought a dozen this because of no construction debris. Some bags did and some didn't Maybe this is the new style of mulch that I am not familiar with. Pay extra and to get junk like the rest.
by Cooker 1222
Response from Consumer ServiceAug 7, 2020
We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with Earthgro by Scotts Mulch. Most of our soils are made of composted forest products and contain very little, if any, actual soil. These composted forest products provide high organic content and nutrients without the concern for soil compaction and allows for air to reach the roots of the plant which improves plant performance. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
I used this for 30 years but never will again.
I have bought this same mulch for my property for the past 30 years and never had a problem until this year. I bought 20 bags of the Red mulch, and moe than half of them were more Brown color than Red. The remaining bags were half Brown half Red. On the bright side, there was one bag that was red. I can only assume that there was some kind of problem during the manufacturing of this, but you would think that there would be some kind of quality control during the process.
by Patrick Robert
Response from Consumer ServiceJul 9, 2020
Patrick, we apologize for this experience with our Earthgro by Scotts Mulch. While we do make every effort to ensure consistency in our colored mulch sometimes there are bags that slip through. We are committed to making this right for you. Please contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca and refer to this review so we can further assist you.
Looks great in my flower beds
Looks great in my flower beds
by Leo
Going for a traditional look to my new home and this black mulch does the trick. It does come wit...
Going for a traditional look to my new home and this black mulch does the trick. It does come with large pieces of bark in it. We will see how long the color lasts.
by Trixies
The mulch was truly black, not brown like other brands. It spread nicely and did not clump. When ...
The mulch was truly black, not brown like other brands. It spread nicely and did not clump. When it was watered and when it rained I did not notice any black dye run off. I would recommend this product.
by 511
1 person found this helpful
I love the black color, as you will see in the picture, the left side I did some time ago (this s...
I love the black color, as you will see in the picture, the left side I did some time ago (this summer) but the right side was just recently done, fresh black mulch gives the whole area a nice clean look.
by Christine
Showing 1-10 of 4,927 reviews