#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203709646

Model #SLGS14HC1501

Store SKU #438178

Moisture Retaining Garden Soil Mix

Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Product Overview

EcoScraps Soils are truly organic with no artificial chemicals or manure added. EcoScraps soils contain nutrient levels as high or higher than chemical or poop based alternatives, but without the chemicals or the poop. EcoScraps soils boast extremely high levels of microbial activity coupled with manure-free organic matter. EcoScraps soils are premium quality, safe, and environmentally friendly. Learn more about EcoScraps and the positive impact that your purchase has on the environment at their website.
  • Premium quality soil, use in your fruit and flower gardens, raised beds, and anywhere you need fantastic soil
  • No poop and no chemicals
  • 100% safe for people, pets, and planet
  • Premium quality soils with high nutrient levels
  • Made from over 25 different fruits and veggies that otherwise would go to the landfill
  • Each bag purchased reduces greenhouse gas emissions the equivalent of parking a car for 2 weeks
  • Click here to view the Types of Soil Buying Guide

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (cu. ft.)
1.5 cu ft
Ideal For Growing
Flowers,Fruits & Vegetables
Organic
Yes
Returnable
90-Day
Soil Matter
Organic
Soil Type
Garden

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.2
    out of 25 reviews
  • 58% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews
Not good
My son was helping me plant our garden he found little white balls in a cluster and thought they were rocks...he started to pinch them and they burst out with some sick liquid oozing out. Then we noticed everyday there were like little mushrooms my son was picking out. We never had these issues with our other organic soils.
by
  • DIY
1 person found this helpful
TERRIBLE!
Got this soil based on reviews. Completely disappointed. 1)Smell - chemical and artificial (hard to describe) 2)A LOT (!) of pieces of plastic, paper, big branches and roots etc Not sure if it's safe to use.
by
    5 people found this helpful
    Bought this a few months back & finally used it. It' really good! Much better tnan te Kellog prod...
    Bought this a few months back & finally used it. It' really good! Much better tnan te Kellog products we'd used in past. It's much more like our own home- made compost, which is the best. We mixed it into different places in our landfill-coral-sand-clay (in places) back yard. It worked with the red dirt, the dark, but gritty, soil (from which we removed aggragete & we added a small amount of Black Gopld Organic Potting Soil just to lighten up the heavier places. Mixed together, it looks dark, rich & the transplants we put in are really thriving. Unfortunateely it's not i n stock at our local store.
    by
      • Recommended
      We had had really good luck with our raised vegetable bed and decided to get even better results ...
      We had had really good luck with our raised vegetable bed and decided to get even better results adding this soil mix. What a mistake. My husband has planted seeds three times and they will not come up and if they do, they are stunted and fail to thrive. We had planted seedlings also that have done poorly too. We know it must be a soil issue because we planted the exact same seeds and seedlings in another garden (not raised but regular) and those did really well. Maybe we just got a bad batch of garden soil - not sure, but we won't be using this again. In fact. we are going to try to get our money back by showing before and after photos to our local Wal Mart. Wish us luck!
      by
      Response from HawthorneCustomerCareAug 4, 2017
      We are sorry that you have been disappointed with the EcoScraps Moisture Retaining Garden Soil, Nezzie. Because this soil is designed to be used as an amendment to native soils, we don't recommend using it in a raised bed alone, as the soil is too dense. If you choose to use the product in a raised bed, we recommend mixing it 50/50 with potting soil. Please contact us at 877-220-3089 and refer to this product review when calling. Scotts_Hawthorne
        Terrible, do not waste your money. I planted my plants in containers and the next morning there ...
        Terrible, do not waste your money. I planted my plants in containers and the next morning there was white mold like stuff on top of the soil. A few days later I had mushrooms. Will not use this product again.......................
        by
        Response from HawthorneCustomerCareMar 10, 2017
        We are sorry to hear this. Mold and mushrooms can develop in soil, especially in moist conditions. While neither should harm your plants, we want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us at 877-220-3089. Please refer to this product review when calling. Scotts_Hawthorne
          Very bad soil for gardening
          Purchased several bags of this soil with a final price tag close to $200 for raised garden beds. Transplanted our healthy zucchini and pepper plants into the bed. Also started some beans from seed. The beans sprouted and stopped browning at around 6 inches tall. All of the plants grown from seed and transplanted into the soil have turned yellow and stopped growing. The plants in the beds built last year but filled with different soil are thriving but the stuff in the EcoScraps dirt is no good. Very upset and disappointed at spending $200, the time and effort, and ultimately the fact that we need to take out all this dirt and throw it away and replace it.
          by
          • DIY
          1 person found this helpful
          Dont waste your money
          I bought this and its HORRIBLE! I had three difderent tyoe of mushrooms sprout daily, and then i had bugs. I couldnt figure out why i woukd come home and find 10+ flys daily in my house. Then i was tossing the soil out and found more bug eggs IN the soil...freaking GROSS. This spil had way to much growing on it besides my plants.
          by
            I did not have good results
            I have three raised beds for my vegetables. I tried this product in the largest of my beds. The plants are pale and not producing. When I water this bed the water will not penetrate the soil. I will not buy EcoScrap soil again and will have to amend that bed. The other two beds are producing nice healthy plants and veggies. I think that consistency in their product may be a problem. Very unhappy I spent $60.00 for a bad product!!
            by
              1 person found this helpful
              Works well in containers.
              This company gathers people's vegetable scraps to make their products. Buying it is a great contribution to sustainability.
              by
                • Recommended
                2 people found this helpful
                All my transplants died
                Transplanted all healthy starts into this soil and they all wilted and died within two days. The soil seems to have retained all moisture and has zero drainage. Complete garbage of a product would highly recommend not using this soil.
                by
                  3 people found this helpful
                  I like this stuff!
                  I originally bought this stuff to mix with Kellogg's patio plus soil that I usually use for my containers. As soon as I opened it up, I was impressed! It's dark, rich, smells strongly of pine needles and there was NO, I repeat...NO big sticks, wood pieces, other junk in there that wasn't supposed to be there. It was all finely composted, rich soil, ready to go. NO fungus mold on top, nada! I really gotta say, this stuff is really good. I've used it for my transplants and they're all doing fine, really fine! I'm back to order more. Yes, it would be nicer to get it in larger bags, but then again, I can barely lift the bags it comes in now, but mostly because I'm old and weak and use a medical scooter to move around, so lifting with one hand is not something I can easily do. But it's really great stuff, I would recommend this to ANYONE! And, ordering it online and having it waiting for me right at the customer service desk, is tooo easy! Home depot is the best at this ordering online or ship to store option, better than any other store I've ever ordered online from! You really won't go wrong in buying this stuff, I'm on a very low fixed income and can't afford to make a mistake on soils or things for my garden because I have only a tiny bit of money to work with, but I can't stop raving about this stuff!
                  by
                  • DIY
                  • Recommended
                  4 people found this helpful
                  Excellent product
                  Was what I was looking for to finish my planting for the season.
                  by
                  • DIY
                  • Recommended
                  Apparently unsuitable for houseplants in Denver
                  Yes, it was cheap. But every single plant repotted with this mix immediately developed pest infestations, while the others did not (until infected by the repotted plants). Now I have to repot every plant in my house, bake all the containers, and treat with chemicals. So my "good buy" really wasn't.
                  by
                  • DIY
                  Organic Soil
                  This organic soil seems to be doing the job it was advertised to do by retaining the moisture I mixed it in with my present planting soil and then planted some grasses and so far they are doing fine
                  by
                  • DIY
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  1 person found this helpful
                  Lots of weeds
                  This soil appears to be good and rich, but as soon as I watered it, it turned green with little weed seedlings. Really surprised by this because of all the good reviews, but the batch I got was sure full of live seeds -- I've got my work cut out for me.
                  by
                  • DIY
                  Disappointed...
                  I was glad to finally find a "bagged" soil that didn't consist of composted human waste or all kinds of chemicals... but after purchasing and dumping 30 bags for my raised garden beds, I quickly found that the soil contained a lot of plastic fork and spoon pieces, stickers and plastic bag pieces. It is also mostly "mulch". It is time to start composting and mixing your own soil folks! I won't purchase again...
                  by
                    8 people found this helpful
                    Very good product
                    Very good product! I usually purchased a more expensive soil, thinking it was better, but product was just as good if not better!
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    Excellent product
                    After putting in three new raised beds, I went to Home Depot looking for some good soil and found this product. Talked to their rep and found it was made here in Oregon, it is organic without animal waste and retains moisture. I bought several bags and my veggies are very happy! Also very happy to report that it does retain water very well from one day to the next and have even skipped a day because of this. I would buy again and did end up purchasing a total of 12 to fill my beds. They are a bit more expensive than other soils with 1.5 cubit feet but I like to support local companies and if their product is good, then I also want people to know that it is worth the price! I am happy with my purchase and love that it is organic.
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    6 people found this helpful
                    Well watered and good stock and green
                    Plants were green and healthy and well watered and have transplanted and doing well.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    4 people found this helpful
                    If you can't compost yourself...
                    This is a great alternative. My plants love this soil. It has a rich dark color and no horrible smell of animal fertilizers. Everything I have planted in it is doing very well: no shock issues, quick growth, new flowers.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    3 people found this helpful
                    richest soil
                    absolutely the best no weed s does not burn my starts all around best buy i have found thanks ecoscrapes
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      2 people found this helpful
                      great value
                      Spreads very easily, needed that for grass coverage.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      2 people found this helpful
                      AFTER I TRIED THE COMPOST I HAD TO TRY THIS
                      WE JUST PUT IN RAISED BEDS FOR OUR FRONT FLOWER BEDS. WE TRIED THE COMPOST IN OUR GARDEN AND HAD SUCH AMAZING RESULTS I WANTED TO TRY THIS STUFF. MY WIFE AND I ARE AVID GARDENERS I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PRODUCT. FLOWERS LOOK GOOD!
                      by
                      • DIY
                      • Recommended
                      9 people found this helpful
                      Awesome Product
                      This Soil is awesome (i got 22 bags). I am going to re-order 10 more bags pretty soon!
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      13 people found this helpful
                      FINALLY....THANKS
                      This is a wonderful garden mix. It's high quality and rich. I have used other organic garden soils and this is the best store bought there is. I saw one of the company's reps at a local home depot and she told me about the company and the soil. I said I would try it and bought 4 bags. I AM IMPRESSED!!! Great texture and full of nutrients. I also like the fact that it's produce waste and NO yard waste....that is huge in my book. I will be buying more when I get my raised beds cleaned out by the weekend. Love it!! Thanks
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        14 people found this helpful
                        Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews