#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203709646

Model #SLGS14HC1501

Store SKU #438178

Moisture Retaining Garden Soil Mix

  • Organic with no artificial chemicals
  • Manure-free
  • Moisture retaining
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Product Overview

EcoScraps Soils are truly organic with no artificial chemicals or manure added. EcoScraps soils contain nutrient levels as high or higher than chemical or poop based alternatives, but without the chemicals or the poop. EcoScraps soils boast extremely high levels of microbial activity coupled with manure-free organic matter. EcoScraps soils are premium quality, safe, and environmentally friendly. Learn more about EcoScraps and the positive impact that your purchase has on the environment at their website.
  • Premium quality soil, use in your fruit and flower gardens, raised beds, and anywhere you need fantastic soil
  • No poop and no chemicals
  • 100% safe for people, pets, and planet
  • Premium quality soils with high nutrient levels
  • Made from over 25 different fruits and veggies that otherwise would go to the landfill
  • Each bag purchased reduces greenhouse gas emissions the equivalent of parking a car for 2 weeks
  • Click here to view the Types of Soil Buying Guide

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

Compare Similar Organic Garden Soil

8 qt. Concentrated Seed Starting MixTop Rated1CF Composted Cow ManureBest Seller1.5 cu. ft. All Purpose Garden Soil
current product
Moisture Retaining Garden Soil Mix
BrandBurpeeBlack KowMiracle-GroEcoScraps
Name8 qt. Concentrated Seed Starting Mix1CF Composted Cow Manure1.5 cu. ft. All Purpose Garden SoilMoisture Retaining Garden Soil Mix
Buy 30 or more $5.37
Ideal For GrowingFlowers,Fruits & Vegetables,Succulents,Trees & ShrubsFlowers,Fruits & Vegetables,Lawns,Trees & ShrubsFlowers,Fruits & VegetablesFlowers,Fruits & Vegetables
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.2
    out of 25 reviews
  • 58%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
Not good
My son was helping me plant our garden he found little white balls in a cluster and thought they were rocks...he started to pinch them and they burst out with some sick liquid oozing out. Then we noticed everyday there were like little mushrooms my son was picking out. We never had these issues with our other organic soils.
  • DIY
1 found this review helpful
Got this soil based on reviews. Completely disappointed. 1)Smell - chemical and artificial (hard to describe) 2)A LOT (!) of pieces of plastic, paper, big branches and roots etc Not sure if it's safe to use.
    5 found this review helpful
    Bought this a few months back & finally used it. It' really good! Much better tnan te Kellog prod...
    Bought this a few months back & finally used it. It' really good! Much better tnan te Kellog products we'd used in past. It's much more like our own home- made compost, which is the best. We mixed it into different places in our landfill-coral-sand-clay (in places) back yard. It worked with the red dirt, the dark, but gritty, soil (from which we removed aggragete & we added a small amount of Black Gopld Organic Potting Soil just to lighten up the heavier places. Mixed together, it looks dark, rich & the transplants we put in are really thriving. Unfortunateely it's not i n stock at our local store.
      • Recommended
      We had had really good luck with our raised vegetable bed and decided to get even better results ...
      We had had really good luck with our raised vegetable bed and decided to get even better results adding this soil mix. What a mistake. My husband has planted seeds three times and they will not come up and if they do, they are stunted and fail to thrive. We had planted seedlings also that have done poorly too. We know it must be a soil issue because we planted the exact same seeds and seedlings in another garden (not raised but regular) and those did really well. Maybe we just got a bad batch of garden soil - not sure, but we won't be using this again. In fact. we are going to try to get our money back by showing before and after photos to our local Wal Mart. Wish us luck!
      Response from HawthorneCustomerCareAug 4, 2017
      We are sorry that you have been disappointed with the EcoScraps Moisture Retaining Garden Soil, Nezzie. Because this soil is designed to be used as an amendment to native soils, we don't recommend using it in a raised bed alone, as the soil is too dense. If you choose to use the product in a raised bed, we recommend mixing it 50/50 with potting soil. Please contact us at 877-220-3089 and refer to this product review when calling. Scotts_Hawthorne
        Terrible, do not waste your money. I planted my plants in containers and the next morning there ...
        Terrible, do not waste your money. I planted my plants in containers and the next morning there was white mold like stuff on top of the soil. A few days later I had mushrooms. Will not use this product again.......................
        Response from HawthorneCustomerCareMar 10, 2017
        We are sorry to hear this. Mold and mushrooms can develop in soil, especially in moist conditions. While neither should harm your plants, we want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us at 877-220-3089. Please refer to this product review when calling. Scotts_Hawthorne
          Very bad soil for gardening
          Purchased several bags of this soil with a final price tag close to $200 for raised garden beds. Transplanted our healthy zucchini and pepper plants into the bed. Also started some beans from seed. The beans sprouted and stopped browning at around 6 inches tall. All of the plants grown from seed and transplanted into the soil have turned yellow and stopped growing. The plants in the beds built last year but filled with different soil are thriving but the stuff in the EcoScraps dirt is no good. Very upset and disappointed at spending $200, the time and effort, and ultimately the fact that we need to take out all this dirt and throw it away and replace it.
          • DIY
          1 found this review helpful
          Dont waste your money
          I bought this and its HORRIBLE! I had three difderent tyoe of mushrooms sprout daily, and then i had bugs. I couldnt figure out why i woukd come home and find 10+ flys daily in my house. Then i was tossing the soil out and found more bug eggs IN the soil...freaking GROSS. This spil had way to much growing on it besides my plants.
            I did not have good results
            I have three raised beds for my vegetables. I tried this product in the largest of my beds. The plants are pale and not producing. When I water this bed the water will not penetrate the soil. I will not buy EcoScrap soil again and will have to amend that bed. The other two beds are producing nice healthy plants and veggies. I think that consistency in their product may be a problem. Very unhappy I spent $60.00 for a bad product!!
              1 found this review helpful
              Works well in containers.
              This company gathers people's vegetable scraps to make their products. Buying it is a great contribution to sustainability.
                • Recommended
                2 found this review helpful
                All my transplants died
                Transplanted all healthy starts into this soil and they all wilted and died within two days. The soil seems to have retained all moisture and has zero drainage. Complete garbage of a product would highly recommend not using this soil.
                  3 found this review helpful
                  Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews