#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Gray 5-Tier Heavy Duty Steel Garage Storage Shelving (36 in. W x 72 in. H x 16 in. D)

  • Enamel finish to reduce corrosion and chipping
  • Assembly required, tools sold separately
  • Adjustable shelves
  • View More Details
How to Get It

Product Overview

Get organized with this 5-Shelf Steel Shelving Unit. The sturdy steel construction is given an extra assist by an X-back brace and side braces to prevent swaying. It features double-bolt construction for strength, with 8 bolts per shelf. Adjust the shelves any way you like at 1.5 in. intervals. So versatile, you'll want several to get everything up off the floor.
  • 500 lbs. maximum capacity
  • 5 adjustable, ribbed shelves and posts built to hold the heaviest, bulkiest household items
  • Steel with smooth, gray baked enamel finish for rust protection
  • Tools required for nut and bolt assembly
  • Plastic floor protectors included
  • Assembly time 1+ hour

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer



Assembled Depth (in.)16 inAssembled Height (in.)72 in
Assembled Width (in.)36 inShelf Weight Capacity (lb)100 lb


Assembly RequiredYesAssembly TypeFull Assembly Required
Color FamilyGrayColor/FinishGray
FeaturesAdjustable ShelvesFrame MaterialSteel
IncludedSupport BracketsNumber of Shelves5 Tiers
Number of Shelves5Product Weight (lb.)20 lb
Returnable90-DayShelf MaterialMetal
Total Weight Capacity (lb.)500

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty1 Year Limited

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 2.8
    out of 345 reviews
  • 53%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 345 reviews
The unit was easy to assemble. And it seems very sturdy for my purposes.
The unit was easy to assemble. And it seems very sturdy for my purposes.
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Very flimsy and cannot hold any where near to the amount of weight it claims it can carry. The ma...
Very flimsy and cannot hold any where near to the amount of weight it claims it can carry. The material is very cheap and was missing many parts.
  • Verified Purchase
3 found this review helpful
DO NOT BUY --- Product came within a week, went to HD to pick it up today. Opened the package an...
DO NOT BUY --- Product came within a week, went to HD to pick it up today. Opened the package and the shelves were all bent and crushed. I opened up the box further and the shelves are literally like thick tin foil. A 2 liter bottle of soda would bend this shelf. I can't believe how bad and cheap this product is.
    9 found this review helpful
    Not complicated to put together, but time consumptive. Wish the metal was of a thicker constructi...
    Not complicated to put together, but time consumptive. Wish the metal was of a thicker construction. After it is together, it is sturdy and holds plenty of weight. I have tools and supplies on them. Some shelves have very heavy stuff. Overall, good value for the price. I initially ordered 2 and now I'm ordering 2 more.
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Two person assembly required
    Looked for an economical shelf to put in laundry room to put crock pot, ice cream churn, large pots and pans, and other big items on. The packaging was good, all parts included plus extra, and nothing was damaged. The instructions were difficult to read as it looks like they copied off the original and its in very fine print. I see many have posted that it was difficult to assemble and it did not go together properly. Follow the instructions and it will. DO NOT TIGHTEN ANYTHING UNTIL INSTRUCTIONS SAY TO DO SO. I believe this is the main problem people may be having. My twelve year old son and I put this one together in about an hour. AFTER ALL PARTS ARE ON THEN THE BOLTS CAN BE TIGHTENED.
      • Recommended
      7 found this review helpful
      Great purchase with a great price!
      The reviews I read on this product before purchase made me feel unsure about the quality of this shelf. However, the information I read sounded made everything sound much more difficult than it actually was. It takes a little while to place and tighten all those screws , but you already know that. I had my husband help me , so the unit was fairly easy to assemble with 2 adults holding pieces. I did not take too long and was not difficult which is excellent for what the piece cost. It is an industrial looking piece , but that is what we wanted. We are using as a bookshelf in a kids room. So far, so good. We had to push a few shelves to align with the screw holes , but no major bending. The shelves do lean in a little in the middle, but not a problem yet and the cost is excellent.
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      4 found this review helpful
      I wish "Ease of Setup" had negative stars
      Garage shelving project. (3) Home Depot, Edsel brand, 36"W x 72"H x 16"D Steel Commercial Shelving Units, one "Jackson" ea. (you get what you pay for) Total cost including shipping = about a "Franklin" All three assembled together into one big 9 foot wide unit. Set on cinder block wall ledge, and attached to the wall studs. (4) Special brackets (Thanks to a buddy at work) to support weight at the front. While assembling, I discovered how poorly manufactured the shelves are, specifically the shelf hole alignment from front and back to sides. This issue is partly corrected by unbending some of the rib in the shelves before assembly. (see pics) Time to finish, about 8 hrs. Would I recommend these shelves? No, pay another "Jackson" per unit and save a lot of headache and sweat. Am I pleased with the end results? Yes
      • Verified Purchase
      16 found this review helpful
      Inexpensive shelving that is sturdy if you have basic assembly skills and assemble correctly.
      I was a bit worried ordering these because of the negative reviews I saw on here, but my fears were unfounded. Great shelves if you can follow instructions and assemble things correctly. The shelves are light weight- they do great for storing garage materials, basic tools, and other miscellaneous. Don't expect to be able to use these to store transmissions, engine blocks, or large heavy objects. Assembly consisted of unpacking the shelves (5), post sections (8), back braces (4), corner braces (4) and a bunch of bolts. You create 4 posts by joining 2 post sections together with 2 bolts. You then proceed to attach the shelving to the posts LOOSELY. Stand the shelving on a LEVEL surface, attach the braces and tighten all the bolts. ****You can't rush and tighten everything down as you assemble or the entire unit will be out of square, causing it to lean, tilt, and generally be unstable and unusable.**** Total assembly per unit took me in the realm of 40-50 minutes. You might be able to do it faster-- I wasn't rushing, and a second set of hands would have helped speed things up. I was using a powered driver. Without one assembly would have taken longer and been slightly more frustrating. In response to other reviewers comments on parts not lining up and forcing parts into place I will warn people to double count holes between shelves to make sure things are lined up and to follow the instructions and bolt everything loosely to begin with. Looks good and works well
        • Recommended
        36 found this review helpful
        Embarrassingly Bad
        Instructions are poorly printed and unclear. Pieces are flimsy (like shelving made from soda cans!) with sharp edges galore. The holes for the main support poles do not align well with the bolts, and have doubled-over flaps of mysterious purpose that make it essentially impossible to tighten the nuts. This product was so bad I sarcastically commented during assembly, "What, was this made in the U.S.A. or something?" I was extremely disappointed to see it actually comes from Chicago. I am STUNNED at how bad this shelf is. I know it's cheap, but even so I can't believe they dare charge as much as they do. Now I have the hassle of throwing it away.
        Response from BJB Edsal Product SupportApr 27, 2020
        Thank you for reaching out and we appreciate your feedback. Please contact customerservice@edsal.com and we would be happy to address any assembly questions or concerns that you have. Edsal
          1 Star Review
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          Response from BJB Edsal Product SupportOct 9, 2019
          Thank you for the review and we are sorry to hear you had a poor experience with this item. Please reach out to customerservice@edsal.com so we can better understand your frustrations. Edsal
          • Verified Purchase
          Showing 1-10 of 345 reviews