Internet #305469772

Model # 500M.78

Store SKU #674761

0045242531578

Empire

78 in. Aluminum Magnetic I-Beam Level

$ 59 97
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The 500 Series I-Beam Level offers superior performance in all key areas of user needs and functionality. High contrast vial surrounds make viewing easier in all light conditions. This product series offers trusted accuracy of .0005 in. per in. in all working positions. The all metal, I-Beam frame construction guarantees long-life accuracy and is equipped with impact-resistant end caps to withstand the harshest jobsite conditions. For added utility, the 500 Series features a top-read window for clear overhead viewing and has built-in molded grip zones for enhanced portability. Magnetic models include a high-strength continuous magnetic edge which provides users maximum holding power when measuring door frames, steel studs, ferrous pipe and other common metal-working applications. Finally, these levels are backed by a limited lifetime warranty.
  • 0.0005 in. accuracy in all working positions
  • High contrast vial surrounds improve vial visibility
  • Top read window provides clear overhead viewing
  • Ergonomic, grip zones enhance comfort and portability
  • Impact resistant endcaps protect frame and vials
  • Hang hole for ease of storage
  • High-strength magnetic edge for hands-free use on pipe and other materials
  • Includes: (1) 78 in. magnetic aluminum i-beam level



Product Overview

Model #: 500M.78
Sku #: 674761
Internet #: 305469772

The 500 Series I-Beam Level offers superior performance in all key areas of user needs and functionality. High contrast vial surrounds make viewing easier in all light conditions. This product series offers trusted accuracy of .0005 in. per in. in all working positions. The all metal, I-Beam frame construction guarantees long-life accuracy and is equipped with impact-resistant end caps to withstand the harshest jobsite conditions. For added utility, the 500 Series features a top-read window for clear overhead viewing and has built-in molded grip zones for enhanced portability. Magnetic models include a high-strength continuous magnetic edge which provides users maximum holding power when measuring door frames, steel studs, ferrous pipe and other common metal-working applications. Finally, these levels are backed by a limited lifetime warranty.

  • 0.0005 in. accuracy in all working positions
  • High contrast vial surrounds improve vial visibility
  • Top read window provides clear overhead viewing
  • Ergonomic, grip zones enhance comfort and portability
  • Impact resistant endcaps protect frame and vials
  • Hang hole for ease of storage
  • High-strength magnetic edge for hands-free use on pipe and other materials
  • Includes: (1) 78 in. magnetic aluminum i-beam level



Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Empire Empire Empire Empire
Name 48 in. Aluminum I-Beam Level 78 in. Aluminum Magnetic I-Beam Level 48 in. UltraView LED Magnetic Box Level 96 in. Box Level
Price
Was $26.97
$24.97
Save $2.00 (7%)
$59.97
$74.97
$99.00
Ratings (38) (63) (100) (36)
Level Type I-Beam I-Beam Box Beam Box Beam
Level Length (in.) 48 78 48 96
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
78 in
Assembled Height (in.)
2.38 in
Assembled Width (in.)
3.5 in
Level Length (in.)
78

Details

Accuracy
.0005 in
Condition
New
Features
Magnetic
Hand Tool Type
Standard Level
Level Type
I-Beam
Material
Aluminum
Number of Vials
3
Package Quantity
1
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Hand Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited lifetime warranty on frame and vials.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
78 in
Assembled Height (in.)
2.38 in
Assembled Width (in.)
3.5 in
Level Length (in.)
78

Details

Accuracy
.0005 in
Condition
New
Features
Magnetic
Hand Tool Type
Standard Level
Level Type
I-Beam
Material
Aluminum
Number of Vials
3
Package Quantity
1
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Hand Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited lifetime warranty on frame and vials.

Questions & Answers

Can I read slope percentage with this level

Can I read slope percentage with this level
Asked by: Rogger
You can use this level to mark a HORIZONTAL plane but it does not have secondary bubble lines. Most tradesmen use a smaller level they can carry in the tool belt or pocket to figure slope. This level would be far more accurate though. If you were laying drainage pipe you could use this level with the shim method to set the slope of the pipe.
Answered by: ToSand
Date published: 2019-02-05
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_, sid_305469772, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

78 in. Aluminum Magnetic I-Beam Level is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfectly for longer shots. Putting in doors - this... Worked perfectly for longer shots. Putting in doors - this is the ticket.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ho much to say but it a great the level Easy to see Bubble ho much to say but it a great the level Easy to see Bubble
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great and love the magnet that is has. great... works great and love the magnet that is has. great buy
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is accurate and light weight. The product is accurate and light weight.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It’s a nice level works fairly well... It’s a nice level works fairly well
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fit my expectations and needs It fit my expectations and needs
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great American made product !... Great American made product !
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great... Great
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a specialty level that will appeal to a select group. At 6.5 feet long, it is far too big... This is a specialty level that will appeal to a select group. At 6.5 feet long, it is far too big for most normal uses. But, if you have a long span that possibly contains some warpage, or have a long distance to get as level and uniform as possible, then this is the perfect tool for you. Its long length will easily bridge many warped sections to get the "average" span either level or vertical. I'm going to be preparing long, up to 30 foot, footings for retaining walls and I need to have those footings as uniform and as level as possible. The level has two bubble vials near each end that can be used to check for vertical installation of posts and the magnetic strip along one side make attaching it temporarily to steel posts easy. An additional bubble level in the center of the device with a viewing window on the top of the beam makes it easy to check for level runs. Interestingly, there are no 45 degree vials, but I don't see this as a huge omission. This level will certainly replace much of your usage of line levels and I'm happy to recommend it.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is decent level that seems to be fairly accurate, I would have liked it to have had a 45 deg... This is decent level that seems to be fairly accurate, I would have liked it to have had a 45 degree level as well as the horizontal and vertical levels. There is a slot in the top for easy viewing of the horizontal level which is nice, and the hand holds that are built in are also handy. The vials are clear and the bubbles are easy to read. The magnet on the one side of the level is quite strong and it only takes about 16" of metal to support the entire weight of the level. I did notice that there is a fair amount of flex in the "I" beam and if you support the level on opposing corners while it is laying flat (wide side up) the levels at each end read differently indicating a fair amount of flex or twist. I didn't notice any problems when the level was standing up on the thin side. For most people the amount of flex would not be a problem, but if you are working on some exacting projects you would probably want to find a stiffer level. The level is about 1" wide, 2.25" tall and 78' long and weighs just under 4 pounds. All in all a decent level for you average person.
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Empire 78" extruded aluminum "I" beam level is an excellent and accurate measuring tool. I a... The Empire 78" extruded aluminum "I" beam level is an excellent and accurate measuring tool. I am very impressed with the manufacturer's claim that this level is accurate to .0005"/in and comes with a limited lifetime warranty and best of it is Made in USA! The full 78" magnetic edge strip is especially very handy when working on metal studs and other ferrous metals such as pipes. Both the level and plumb vials are large and easy to view when using the level. I especially like the 78" level length as it give me the ability to quickly pitch large surface areas such a patio. I also use it as an excellent straight edge to draw layout lines on drywall and I also use the large stable body of this level tool as an edge guide for my cordless circular saw when cutting plywood panels. Since has an aluminum body it is light weight and it will not rust or warp so therefore, I highly recommend this level.
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tradesman quality at a handyman's affordable price made right here in America. This level from Empire offers so many premium features; it is highly accurate, has a solid construction yet is lightweight, has a full-length recessed magnetic strip that holds firm in the vertical or horizontal position and there's no exposed hardware to loosen over time. Additionally, there's a cutout window for easy viewing of the horizontal bubble vial from overhead and the white bubble vial surround helps when viewing in low light. I also appreciate the large, comfortable plastic handgrip for carrying and the protective plastic bumpers at the ends of the aluminum I-beam frame. Empire has even provided a large cutout for easy hanging. Lastly, notice that there is a vertical acrylic vial mounted at each end of the level. This is so that you don't have to flip the tool when checking for plumb but this also means that you can't confirm 45-degree angles.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has been a very handy tool in my work shop. I am building a small boat and needed a very large le... Has been a very handy tool in my work shop. I am building a small boat and needed a very large level to make sure the frames are all the same and level. With easy to read bubble levels I can put this level on the back of the boat and easily see that it is level. Then When I am down in the hull again I can see that my stringers and frames are all the same. All the smaller levels I have this one is the most accurate and in some cases easier to use than laser levels. With it being aluminum and hard plastic it is very durable and I don't have to worry with the high humid air of Houston the bubbles being off.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can’t beat this 78 inch Aluminum level by Empire. I feel the magnet has more than enough pow... You can’t beat this 78 inch Aluminum level by Empire. I feel the magnet has more than enough power to hold the level up. I really like the extra length. I have several 48 inch levels and sometimes a shorter level just isn't accurate enough. The extra length is also nice when using the level as a straight edge say cutting sheetrock. If you have been looking for a 6 foot plus level this is a great value with good quality for the money. The bubbles are a good size and are easy to see even from a few feet away. Finally, this level is made in the USA.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An extruded aluminum I-beam provides rigidity and machined edges provide accuracy for this level.... An extruded aluminum I-beam provides rigidity and machined edges provide accuracy for this level. The magnetic edge works great on support columns and i-beams. The magnet also works on thicker gauge steel studs, I don't have any thinner gauge to try it on. The large hand holes make it easy to hold in all directions. Plastic end caps protect it from bumps. The vials are clear and easy to read. Be careful when using this because the length is deceiving and it is easy to bump against surroundings when moving it.
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this level. I needed something long to level up a shower door (glass) for the ordering ph... I love this level. I needed something long to level up a shower door (glass) for the ordering phase and this did the trick. I have had long levels in the past but they were often flimsy... not the case with this one. It feels sturdy and well built and will surely last a lifetime. It has several grips to use and the sight glasses are very clear and easy to see.
Date published: 2019-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This MADE IN USA Empire 78 inch Magnetic I-Beam Level is very accurate. I set it horizontally on ... This MADE IN USA Empire 78 inch Magnetic I-Beam Level is very accurate. I set it horizontally on my bench with my Empire 48 in.I-Beam level (previously checked for accuracy) on top of it. Both bubbles look to be exactly the same. The vertical bubbles also proved to be very accurate, though I couldn’t get pics of that. As an old pipefitter, I can’t stand it when things are not square and plumb! As a homeowner and DIY’er, I still like things that way, and this level will make some jobs much easier. Sometimes a shorter level just isn’t quite enough for the best work. When I hung new doors in the bed/bathrooms, I did not use pre-hung, but assembled them with stain-grade wood. Those jambs were installed to align with the walls. The level I used at that time was a quite old, pretty beat up 4 ft. mason’s level, and not true. Unfortunately, the walls in this house are not square and plumb. So, one of the doors has never wanted to stay open. I just used this new 78 inch level to check that jamb again and confirmed it to be out of plumb in 2 directions. Our house is cooled with evaporative cooling which causes wood doors and jambs to swell in the summer. One of those doors tends to stick in a couple of spots. This level also makes a great long straight edge and shows where that jamb has some high spots that need adjusting. It will also be great for framing and other construction work. The full length magnet for use with steel framing, pipe, etc. is a great feature with this level. Out of curiosity, I stuck it on the side of our upright freezer. That freezer can definitely be adjusted some. This is a high quality level.
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For an Inexpensive product this level is great for a homeowner to do jobs around the house. It ... For an Inexpensive product this level is great for a homeowner to do jobs around the house. It works just as good as one 2 to 3 times more expensive.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made in USA of high quality aluminum and has handles... Made in USA of high quality aluminum and has handles close to the balance point for easy handling.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was the right size I needed and was cheaper... It was the right size I needed and was cheaper the the other brand in that length.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great level. You can see gauge on the top or sides. Love it. Great level. You can see gauge on the top or sides. Love it.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed it to install Shiplap and it was easy and... Needed it to install Shiplap and it was easy and lightweight
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the magnet that comes with it. Works great.... I love the magnet that comes with it. Works great.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super sturdy, accurate & super strong magnet!... Super sturdy, accurate & super strong magnet!
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-13
  • y_2019, m_7, d_18, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_, sid_305469772, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT