Internet #202088377

Model # 5020S14

Store SKU #707965

0099713033634

Everbilt

140 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack)

$ 29 48

Overview

The Overbuilt 140 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack) are made of spring steel and designed to be mounted perpendicular above the horizontal track of the garage door. They stretch to provide lifting power for the garage door. The springs have a safety cable inside to prevent injury in case of accidental breakage.
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Overbuilt 140 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack) are made of spring steel and designed to be mounted perpendicular above the horizontal track of the garage door. They stretch to provide lifting power for the garage door. The springs have a safety cable inside to prevent injury in case of accidental breakage.
  • Suitable for 2-car garage doors
  • Safe length when stretched of 67 in. according to ansi/dasma 103
  • Able to lift garage doors up to 140 lbs.
  • Color-coded blue to indicate weight-bearing capacity
  • Durable and tested to open and close the door at least 10,000 times
  • Installation guidelines and hardware included

Product Overview

Model #: 5020S14
Sku #: 707965
Internet #: 202088377

The Overbuilt 140 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack) are made of spring steel and designed to be mounted perpendicular above the horizontal track of the garage door. They stretch to provide lifting power for the garage door. The springs have a safety cable inside to prevent injury in case of accidental breakage.

  • Suitable for 2-car garage doors
  • Safe length when stretched of 67 in. according to ansi/dasma 103
  • Able to lift garage doors up to 140 lbs.
  • Color-coded blue to indicate weight-bearing capacity
  • Durable and tested to open and close the door at least 10,000 times
  • Installation guidelines and hardware included

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Everbilt Everbilt E900 HARDWARE Everbilt
Name 90 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack) 110 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack) P728 28 in. Plug-End Extension Spring (0.177 in. No. 7 Wire) 140 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack)
Price
$17.58
$19.98
$22.81
$29.48
Ratings (88) (69) (16) (75)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
2.2
Product Height (in.)
2.2
Product Width (in.)
25

Details

Garage Door Part/Accessory Type
Extension Spring
Product Weight (lb.)
8.5lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
N/A

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
2.2
Product Height (in.)
2.2
Product Width (in.)
25

Details

Garage Door Part/Accessory Type
Extension Spring
Product Weight (lb.)
8.5lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
N/A

Questions & Answers

Are these similar in size and strength as those from 40 years ago? I need a 2" diameter x 22" uns...

Are these similar in size and strength as those from 40 years ago? I need a 2" diameter x 22" unstretched.
Asked by: Ed
Probably no guarantee they are the same. You need to weigh the door, then review required spring needed at an on-line spring manufacturers site before you order. Before attempting your replacement, inspect your lifting cables to see if they are frayed anywhere and especially at the point attached to the frame. Mine were and because my door was very old I had to buy new cable (same diameter/safe weight limit) and make my own lifting cable. This was primarily because my door tracks did not provide the required anchor points and standard lifting cable lengths that you can buy at a hardware store were too short.
Answered by: turboslobo
Date published: 2018-05-16

cant tell color is light blue or blue so old

the color is light blue or blue cant tell light blue is for 90 lbs blue is for 140 lbs can you put the 140 on if you cant tell
Asked by: tasman
If it's a standard single-car 7 ft high WOOD sectional door, it's probably the 140 lb springs. If it's a single-car 7 ft high STEEL (the thin stuff) sectional door, it's probably 90 lb springs. The only absolute way to get the proper springs is to weigh the door. My advice: Weigh the door, look up the door specs online, or get a professional.
Answered by: Gmrad
Date published: 2018-06-11

Can I use 140 LB extension springs instead of 130 LB springs as long as I change both for a single car garage

The current spring (broken) is color coded yellow for 130 LB springs. I see that the local store has the 140lb in stock. Is the 140LB spring better for a single car garage door than 130LB Thanks
Asked by: Ravi
Yes - but it maybe more spring than you need. If a spring is too strong you will have to pull your door down and it may not want to stay down.
Answered by: Poncho
Date published: 2018-12-19

Can this unit be used with an 8ft tall garage door?

Asked by: ST
You need to weigh the door, then review required spring needed at an on-line spring manufacturers site before you order. Alternatively, if your old spring has a color code and the door opener worked fine, order a spring with the same color markings. I reviewed install videos on Youtube, they are numerous. Before attempting your replacement, inspect your lifting cables to see if they are frayed anywhere and especially at the point attached to the frame. Mine were and because my door was very old I had to buy new cable (same diameter/safe weight limit) and make my own lifting cable. This was primarily because my door tracks did not provide the required anchor points and standard lifting cable lengths that you can buy at a hardware store were too short.
Answered by: turboslobo
Date published: 2018-05-16
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_202088377, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 105ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

140 lbs. Extension Springs (2-Pack) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm ... Worked like a charm
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to do a little research to figure out which springs to buy for my door. The paint was so fad... Had to do a little research to figure out which springs to buy for my door. The paint was so faded on them I couldn't tell what color code they might have been. It came down to weighing the door on the bathroom scale where it came in at 139.5 pounds. These 140 pound rated springs were adequate to the task and maybe the heft of the door is required for proper operation of an electric opener but it is still pretty hefty to get started for manual operation. I used 150 pound springs on the other identical door and it operates much easier yet still closes properly.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are too strong for my door. Returned for the... They are too strong for my door. Returned for the 90 lbs ones (light blue coded), which work perfectly.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality springs, just make sure you use 140 lb. Eye bolts! Good quality springs, just make sure you use 140 lb. Eye bolts!
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install. Work great. Easy to install. Work great.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit perfectly work great. ... Fit perfectly work great.
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very difficult to fasten What I expected to be a fifteen to twenty minute job changing two springs, turned into almost two hours. It took about a minute to connect the pulley to the spring. Just unscrew the bolt, pass it through the spring and you are done. The nice thing about that step is that you can do it standing on the floor. It was the other end that was a real pain. Instead of having a hook that you can pass through the hole in the holding bracket, there are three painted coils that you somehow have to part and insert into the hole. Up on the ladder, next to the ceiling with little space and no way to get your hands in, I labored and labored with a screw driver and needlenose pliers to separate the one coil and thread it through the hole.What a waste of time and effort! If I had known what was involved, I would have bought a simple bracket similar to the pulley bracket, passed it through the spring and hole, attached the nut and I would have been done. Such a bracket should have been included with the spring, same as the safety cable is included. Once that process has been simplified, then the spring is an easy 5 star.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I replaced the springs in my first Garage door two years ago, and replaced the springs in my seco... I replaced the springs in my first Garage door two years ago, and replaced the springs in my second garage door today. These 140 lb springs were easily installed and, after a slight balance adjustment, I now have both my garage doors opening and closing with less than 10 lbs of effort. I replaced the rollers in both doors last week with sets of nylon rollers I ordered online for pick-up-in-store (free shipping to store), and they made the doors smooth and quiet. With the new springs, the doors are very light to raise and lower.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working as expected. Only been up a couple weeks now with no issues. Hopefully will last many y... Working as expected. Only been up a couple weeks now with no issues. Hopefully will last many years.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good double looped springs... good double looped springs
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eazy install . Works great Eazy install . Works great
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springs worked fine. ... Springs worked fine.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great... Great
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tip to save a return trip. You will also need to replace extension spring cables (not just includ... Tip to save a return trip. You will also need to replace extension spring cables (not just included safety cables) and should replace the pulleys while you’re at it. You’ll also want to pick up some new hooks. Everbilt should print what is and is not included on the box and update their instructions, which do not exactly represent the product inside. Read the on-line instructions and make a check list of hardware. Replacing extension springs is not easy to do, it’s a dirty job & can be very dangerous. Use safety clamps whenever you’re working on springs or safety cables. I replaced extension springs on my 2 garage doors and added safety cables in about 7-8 hours, because of redos to align cables making 3 more trips to HD for hardware not included. Springs and cables are fine.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price , easy to install , fyi cables that... Great price , easy to install , fyi cables that come with the springs are the safety cable not the cable that lifts the door up.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect, once I figured out each spring needs to be... Perfect, once I figured out each spring needs to be a 160 lb spring (same weight as door).
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little bit of installation information included in box would... A little bit of installation information included in box would be helpful.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Springs were the perfect replacement and did an excellent job. These Springs were the perfect replacement and did an excellent job.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well finished, not greasy. Safety cables are a nice addition.... Well finished, not greasy. Safety cables are a nice addition.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smaller diameter than existing 140’s but got the job done... Smaller diameter than existing 140’s but got the job done
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well.... Worked well.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect... Perfect
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springs come in a wide assortment of weight ratings (you need to disconnect your door and let it ... Springs come in a wide assortment of weight ratings (you need to disconnect your door and let it rest on a set of scales to determine which weight you need). I like the fact that new retention cables are included. Fairly easy to install.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There seems to be an aura of mystery around garage door maintenance, which probably means you'll ... There seems to be an aura of mystery around garage door maintenance, which probably means you'll pay dearly for someone else's 'expertise'. This really couldn't be much simpler - match the color on your existing spring to the selection in the store. installation is simple and there are videos on the web showing all the steps. I had mine replaced in less than 90 minutes and that includes the trip to HD! These fit and function perfectly and now both of my garage doors are much quieter.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well, install was easy, instructions good. Worked well, install was easy, instructions good.
Date published: 2018-05-16
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_, sid_202088377, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT